[Video] Indian Comedian Munawar Faruqui Beaten Up, Arrested For Mocking Hindu Deities

Or you for that matter..have you ever taken a centrist approach? Whats your opinion on Jaffer issue?

Truth is somewhere in the middle in the Jaffer issue.

He was to be sacked because of poor performance. He pre empted it by labelling accusations at the secretary, who is a Muslim and selectors. They retaliated by bringing the religious activities he waa doing in the team.

If UCA had issues with his religious activities, why did they wait this long to sack him? Why did they went along with the wishes of Jaffer? Why did they allow maulanas into the Bio bubble?

If Jaffer had issues with selection, why didn't he speak out earlier? The squad list clearly says Iqbal Abdullah is captain. Why did he deny it?

https://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/squad/1245610.html

Jaffer was involved in some religious conversion activity during his time in UK local county cricket. He was with Inzy and Saqi in it.

No one is innocent in this. Both are trying to shift the blame.

Btw any thoughts on Rinku Sharma? See how that news isnt on PP, where they post even the smallest snippet if victim is muslim.

Touché!!

Point is that it is sinister agenda to term this as extremism, when proper law was followed. Not a single bone was broken, neither did he require a first aid, yes a few slaps were tendered. FIR was filed under the provisions of indian law and then over to judiciary.

It is fine if you would just ignore, but you must also accept that not everyone will have the patient to ignore when their religion is mocked relentlessly, and you must appreciate it that such people don't take laws unto their own hands.

Pin drop silence about the 3 hindus and 1 christian who were also arrested. If you still cannot see the agenda, then nothing to say.

Point is that it is sinister agenda to term this as extremism, when proper law was followed. Not a single bone was broken, neither did he require a first aid, yes a few slaps were tendered. FIR was filed under the provisions of indian law and then over to judiciary.

It is fine if you would just ignore, but you must also accept that not everyone will have the patient to ignore when their religion is mocked relentlessly, and you must appreciate it that such people don't take laws unto their own hands.

Pin drop silence about the 3 hindus and 1 christian who were also arrested. If you still cannot see the agenda, then nothing to say.

is this the law that was followed?

https://indianexpress.com/article/i...say-had-nothing-to-do-with-show-7181902/lite/

Its like watching a bollywood movie on jiski laathi uska law.

is this the law that was followed?

https://indianexpress.com/article/i...say-had-nothing-to-do-with-show-7181902/lite/

Its like watching a bollywood movie on jiski laathi uska law.

Judiciary is slow, and if you want to blame the judiciary it is valid criticism and it has been a problem since a long time. I was talking about the protestors ( I know one of them) who are being called extremists. Is this is what you think an extremist does?

What value do these idiots add by mocking religion? Calling this comedy is like calling porn cinema. True comedians were people like RK Laxman who put a mirror to the society and were agents of positive change and didn't select their object of criticism based on their party or religious affiliations.

What happened to the 3 hindus and 1 christian who were arrested? Were they released?

No one cares about the sidekicks. Only the boss matters.

How many people got thrashed during the freedom struggle? But I shed tears as a child when I saw Ben Kingsley getting beaten in Gandhi.

LOL at gandhi and freedom struggle. Till the age of 60 he was against freedom.

Do you know who gave the call of poorna swaraj? Gandhi wanted Su Raaj. Then dominion status.

You keep repeating that as if it's some major accomplishment.

Hugs them closer?

Which is your right, and as a right wing liberal, I accept it. Just like I also accept that it is valid and constitutional to oppose anyone who break the laws and to report it to law enforcement.

But the left loonee fascists want everyone to follow their diktat, that one must either stay silent or laugh when their religion is made fun of, otherwise their eco system will work overnight to brand you an extremist, even if you didn't break a bone(!)

Do people not see the problems with vigilantes stopping a show, dragging him to a police station, for a joke he made one year before????

If he broke the law they should have told the police, and the police could have made a determination. All those vigilantes are the ones that should be in jail.

And if one reads the joke, the joke did not insult any Hindu deity, it simply used a Hindu deity in a joke. BJP officials say far worse about Muslims.

Read the headline. Its a lie.

The joke was not limited to that one line. It continued further.

https://youtu.be/FHWzzn0a-Mw

OK based on the complete video, he should have been arrested. I still see a problem with the vigilantes forcing him to go to a police station. The joke was one year old, they could have filed a complaint and let the police handle.

Bette title should for article be "How An Indian Stand Up Comic Found Himself Arrested for a Joke He Told One Year Ago"

OK based on the complete video, he should have been arrested. I still see a problem with the vigilantes forcing him to go to a police station. The joke was one year old, they could have filed a complaint and let the police handle.

Bette title should for article be "How An Indian Stand Up Comic Found Himself Arrested for a Joke He Told One Year Ago"

I believe statute of limitations is usually 2 years. Hey look at the bright side in some other country or if the joke was in some other context he might be missing a few limbs or even a head. Forget some other country it might have happened to him in India itself had his joke been on some other religious figure.

Don’t think he should have been arrested for a joke in poor taste though. That’s my personal opinion.

Anyway the larger question, why hasn’t any Pakistani or Muslim praised the tolerance of Hindu religion when movies like PK etc which take digs at Hindu culture become big hits?

However when something like this happens everyone talks about saffronization,Moodi,Hindutva etc :))

People have lost hands in India, Heads in France, lives in Pakistan and UK when it comes to jokes or articles in poor taste when it comes to other religions.

Is this the equivalent of Toilets and poor people argument to pacify oneself whenever one needs to mask the progress India makes albeit slower than its potential?

I believe statute of limitations is usually 2 years. Hey look at the bright side in some other country or if the joke was in some other context he might be missing a few limbs or even a head. Forget some other country it might have happened to him in India itself had his joke been on some other religious figure.

Don’t think he should have been arrested for a joke in poor taste though. That’s my personal opinion.

Anyway the larger question, why hasn’t any Pakistani or Muslim praised the tolerance of Hindu religion when movies like PK etc which take digs at Hindu culture become big hits?

However when something like this happens everyone talks about saffronization,Moodi,Hindutva etc :))

People have lost hands in India, Heads in France, lives in Pakistan and UK when it comes to jokes or articles in poor taste when it comes to other religions.

Is this the equivalent of Toilets and poor people argument to pacify oneself whenever one needs to mask the progress India makes albeit slower than its potential?

PK was produced by a Hindu. It had a Hindu director. It had a Hindu script writer.

If you felt it was offensive to Hindus, take it up with the Hindus who made it. Or is it Muslim Aamir khan job to do that. And i did watch that film, and if i recall it also made fun of Mullahs

Hindu liberals are tolerant. Hindu's conservatives are not. That is why people are talking about safforinzation, now that Modi is here.

PK was produced by a Hindu. It had a Hindu director. It had a Hindu script writer.

If you felt it was offensive to Hindus, take it up with the Hindus who made it. Or is it Muslim Aamir khan job to do that. And i did watch that film, and if i recall it also made fun of Mullahs

It also had a Indian Muslim megastar if you want to look at it that way. This is the guy who dictates his own scripts and sets his own ground rules. I am not saying Amir is a hinduphobe.

The movie was made a super hit by all Indians.

How come I didn’t read any post here about how tolerant Hindus are to allow such ridicule of their own customs?

Chalo, let’s start here, you said everyone involved in this movie and the people who made it a hit are Hindus, let’s give their tolerance and bravery for saying it like it is as a positive or Hindus as well then and May be call this an exception to the rule. Deal?

Hindu liberals are tolerant. Hindu's conservatives are not. That is why people are talking about safforinzation, now that Modi is here.

Saffronization is fine, no issues as long as it is not letting others practice their own religions and customs.

Muslims just got a grand mosque and a social evil
Like triple Talaq has been eliminated under Modi too for what it’s worth.

It also had a Indian Muslim megastar if you want to look at it that way. This is the guy who dictates his own scripts and sets his own ground rules. I am not saying Amir is a hinduphobe.

The movie was made a super hit by all Indians.

How come I didn’t read any post here about how tolerant Hindus are to allow such ridicule of their own customs?

As far as i remember the film made fun of regressive people in multiple religions, including Islam.

Chalo, let’s start here, you said everyone involved in this movie and the people who made it a hit are Hindus, let’s give their tolerance and bravery for saying it like it is as a positive or Hindus as well then and May be call this an exception to the rule. Deal?

People in Pakistan mock the Mullahs all the time. Same way people in India mock the sanghis/bhakths. To mock a Mullah or sanghis does not mean to insult Islam or Hinduism. And it does not take bravery, or is a show of their tolerance.

However I will certainly give credit to the Hindus involved in producing, writing, and directing the film for making a great movie.

What happened to the 3 hindus and 1 christian who were arrested? Were they released?

Now that I am paying attention, it is horrifying, how relentless the left loonies only care about one religion and don't care about justice for others. Such bigots.

It's not just one case though -look whats happening with Wasim Jaffer or the Rinku Sharma case where it is being falsely insinuated that he was murdered by Muslims because he was collecting funds for the Ram Mandir.

Why are Hindus doing this though-what is the end plan?

I have started following some Indian Muslims on twitter and what Indian Muslims face is like death by a thousand cuts- it's like the very existence of Indian Muslims is an affront to the BJP folks.

It's not just one case though -look whats happening with Wasim Jaffer or the Rinku Sharma case where it is being falsely insinuated that he was murdered by Muslims because he was collecting funds for the Ram Mandir.

Rinku Sharma's family has made the allegations. So according to you, the victims family cant even speak about their allegations because the accused are muslims?

Agree with you. It was a secular murder, but hindus are trying to make it a communal murder.

Problem is sometimes people believe the police over what the parents of the victims say, and sometimes they believe the kins and not the police, depending in the identity of the victim. From the choices we have, we pick the one which suits our biases, irrespective of what the facts may be.

Yes, it is totally believable that Delhi Police ,that champion of minority rights would propagate a false narrative to protect Muslims.

Delhi police has to maintain law and order too. Investigation hasn't been done yet. Preliminary statements are meant to not cause any law and order situation. But nice to see your logic: if someone is anti muslim, then his words which are pro muslim should be taken seriously. does this logic apply to someone who is pro muslim, and their words shouldn't be taken seriously?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pained to hear about the death of Rinku Sharma in Delhi reportedly by communal elements. My sympathies with the family of the deceased and I hope the state unleashes their complete wrath upon the killers who deserve the harshest of punishment.</p>— Abhishek Singhvi (@DrAMSinghvi) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrAMSinghvi/status/1360149306657755138?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 12, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Such a sweet and decent man and yet this is who the Sanghis vilify.

Sanghis cannot stop being afraid and it is their fear that makes them so susceptible to hate.

Being sweet and decent is a privilege. Those who are fighting for their basic rights it is a luxury for them. Our Gods were mocked. We knocked at the gates of justice. Yet we get vilified when we protest according to the laws of the country.

Thanks to the BJP, he now has more subscribers and his humour, which is pretty good, has a greater reach :rabada2

"I'm Done, Goodbye...": Comic After 12 Shows Cancelled In 2 Months

Bengaluru: Comedian Munawar Faruqui today indicated he may not do any more shows, after at least 12 of his shows were cancelled in the last two months due to threats from right-wing groups. The latest show to be cancelled was scheduled today in Bengaluru, where the police asked the organisers to call it off citing possible law and order problems.

Mr Faruqui spent a month in jail earlier this year on charges of "insulting Hindu gods and goddesses" during one of his comedy shows.

In today's Instagram post after his Bengaluru show was cancelled, Mr Faruqui said, "Nafrat jeet gayi, artist haar gaya (hate has won, artist has lost). I'm done, goodbye. Injustice."

Some of his fans requested him not to stop doing shows.

"Nope. You're not quitting. We won't let you," music composer Mayur Jumani posted in the comments section.

In a letter to the organiser Good Shepherd auditorium today, the Bengaluru Police referred to Mr Faruqui's show "Dongri to Nowhere" and said Mr Faruqui is a "controversial figure". Mohan Gowda of the Hindu Jagran Samiti in Bengaluru also said they won't allow the show to be held.

Following this, Mr Faruqui in the Instagram post said they had sold over 600 tickets for the Bengaluru event but the show has been cancelled due to "threats of vandalism".

"Putting me in jail for the joke I never did to cancelling my shows, which has nothing problematic in it. This is unfair. This show has gained so much love from people in India irrespective of their religion. This is unfair. We do have censor certificate of the show and it's clearly nothing problematic in the show. We called off 12 shows in the last two months because of threats to venue and audience," the comedian said in the long Instagram post.

"...I think this is the end. My name is Munawar Faruqui and that's been my time. You guys were wonderful audience. Goodbye, I'm done," he said.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/im-...nths-2627851#pfrom=home-ndtv_trendingtrending

This is really pathetic from sanghis.

Meanwhile, that serial hate merchant is spewing venom from all possible rooftops and this lame duck despotic regime doesn't balls to even reprimand her, let alone arrest her!

Bigot hai to mumkin hai!

Understandable that Hindu supremacist leadership in India is following footsteps of Taliban in banning mockery of religious deities in India. There seems to be quite a lot of common ground between BJP and Taliban, they should join the table at international conferences and pool their resources.

Bobe darae jungle tai khoech haptas, net aao wapas tai net aao wapas
Shuer aasan zenai tai luekh taravan drops, net aao wapas tai net aao wapas

[Mother went to the jungle and was terrorised by a bear, the internet has returned, the internet has returned
Even before children are born, they are being given (vaccine) drops, the internet has returned, the internet has returned]

In 2020, when 13-year-old Aatif Ahmad Wani uploaded his poem on YouTube, he had very little idea that his humorous take on restoration of the internet after 10 months would resonate so much with the people of Kashmir. Those were turbulent times in the Valley after Jammu and Kashmir was stripped of its special status and a communication blackout clamped to prevent potential unrest. as far as But unlike the deluge of protest poetry that had swamped the Valley during the time, Wani’s was a more simplistic and rustic view of life. And it was effective. The video of the teenager sitting in his room and reciting his own poetry has over four lakh views on YouTube and has been shared and ‘liked’ hundreds of times on Facebook.

For Kashmiris—caught for decades in the cyclical militant violence and counter-strike by security forces—it is easy to fall into the rabbit hole of doom and gloom. For many, however, the curveballs life throws at them become the source of their humour—sometimes self-deprecating, sometimes sarcastic, and sometimes tinged with poignancy. This has resulted in a unique Kashmiri version of stand-up comedy, delivered by people from rural backgrounds. Across the vast social media landscape—including YouTube and Facebook—Kashmiri content creators are sharing random jokes and witty one-liners, most of them in video format, to subtly convey the challenges faced by people every day in the conflict-hit region. And art is definitely imitating life in some of the most viral videos to have emerged from Kashmir.

In January this year, when Kar Shoab, 20, visited a reputed bank in Handwara—a small town about 70 km from capital Srinagar—he was told to come the next day as the branch had run out of cash. He also found that the “lunch hours” had been extended by quite some time and the guard at the entrance was not allowing any customer in. When he visited the bank ATM nearby, he was told it had been “looted”. The bitter experience resulted in a spoof which Kar produced with his partner Aatif Wani, both of whom run a YouTube channel named Kar Shoaeb.

Aatif played multiple roles in the video—that of a bank manager, a clerk, a security guard and a customer—to showcase how people face so many difficulties in dealing with bank staff. The video went viral—it had garnered half-a-million views and counting— as it reflected an everyday experience for most of the people. However, the video did not go down well with the bank, which asked Kar and Aatif to pull down the video and apologise. But they refused to relent and the video continues to leave people in splits. Their YouTube channel has 2.7 lakh subscribers and some of its videos have views in the millions.

Life…or Something Like It

Kar and Aatif—who are extended famil members —teamed up in 2017 but their most famous work came in March 2020, when the government restored communication after a long internet and 3G blockade. They produced a video titled Internet Zinda Hai, playing on the title of a hit Bollywood movie Tiger Zinda Hain starring Salman Khan. What started as an experiment for Kar and Aatif is now a revenue-earning venture. However, it is only Aatif who acts in the videos. Kar, who hasn’t revealed his face to the public so far, says he started his channel with just one goal. “In a place like Kashmir, we sell fun. We give some moments to people to laugh and are proud of it,” he tells Outlook.

Speaking about their revenue, Kar says it varies depending on various factors. “What we earn varies from month to month. For example, if we earn Rs 40,000 in a month in winters, in summers we earn half of it. Views drop in the summer. Views plunge to minus when the internet is shut,” Kar says. What Kashmir’s content creators fear most is the long shadow of internet shutdowns hanging over the Valley. The government defends the shutdown as a necessary evil to maintain law and order. It is also precisely the reason why these Kashmiris avoid videos which could be construed as having political or ideological leanings. And plain humour allows them the freedom to sidestep any reaction from the authorities.

“We never make any political videos. We never make any video that goes against any religion,” says Yawar Ahmad Wani, 20, one of the most prominent YouTube content creators in Kashmir valley who sings and cracks jokes on his channel named Yawar Wani. Armed with Go-Pro cameras and other equipment needed for his craft, Wani travels far to find the perfect backdrop for his videos. A student of literature, Wani is from Mujgund along the Srinagar-Bandipora road. Yawar stepped into the world of content creation in November 2016 with his own group named Kashmiri Kalkhrab—Kashmiri Hotheads—but their first brush with stardom came a year later.

Life…or Something Like It

Yawar and his friends were sitting at a shopfront, observing customers asking for different items from the shopkeeper. His replies caught their attention and they made a video of him speaking in different voices. The video received accolades from viewers. “When we started Kalkhrab, people wanted to hear something new. They have had enough sad content all around. They wanted something they could laugh at. And we provided that,” Yawar says. His YouTube Channel, Yawar Wani, now has 1.27 lakh subscribers and more than 1.6 million views. However, Yawar says his goal is to get more subscribers from outside Kashmir. “If the internet is shut for a longer period, then we can go out and make our videos. It shouldn’t impact our reach.”

Amid the China-India standoff in the Ladakh region last year, Yawar travelled to the picture-postcard Pangong Lake in Ladakh to shoot a video song; it was not so much about the conflict but about the lament of a young man whose lover has forgotten her promises. His song has over a million views till date. But his biggest hits are his ‘family dramas’ in which he plays different characters. “Initially my family was shocked to see me acting as a daughter-in-law and a wife in one of our videos. But gradually they got used to it and they now appreciate what I do,” Yawar says, chuckling.

The Curveballs Life Throws At Them Become The Source Of Their Humour—Sometimes Self-Deprecating, Sometimes Sarcastic, And Sometimes Tinged With Poignancy.

Waris Wani, 28, an engineering graduate of the Tral area of South Kashmir, also produces skits and plays the characters of father, mother, daughter and daughter-in-law. Waris’s videos have over a million views on Facebook and he is seen as one of the top comedian-actors and directors in Jammu and Kashmir. Waris has 1.3 million Facebook followers of his Funny Kashmir page and nearly one lakh subscribers on You*Tube. Some of his videos have lakhs of views on his YouTube channel of the same name. Waris says people ask him to raise drug addiction, suicides, break-ups, sufferings of daughters-in-law and anxieties of mother*s-in-law, girl and child education. His videos on suicides have over a million views on Facebook.

“I have been sort of an actor since childhood. I would do skits in school and even in college in Kurukshetra where I have studied B.Tech. I have a habit of expressing myself without ann*oying a listener and funny things come naturally to me,” Waris says, adding that he earns “decent money” out of his videos which enables him to pay his actors. “People are suffering from anxiety. They are very sad. This place reeks of sadness and we are providing them humour,” adds Waris who writes his own scripts.

His series titled Panun Dostna—our friendship—on his YouTube channel is a prime example of his mixing humour to raise social issues. One of the episodes shows him visiting his friend and finding him crying. Thinking that the friend’s father has died, Waris too starts wailing, before saying, “I had told him to give up cigarettes!” When the friend says that his father is fine but he has suffered a break-up, Waris says in a deadpan expression, “Even the internet is not cut in Tral as fast as you are facing your break-ups.”

Humour, after all, is the best medicine. More so for Kashmir seeking a balm for its wary soul and body.

(This appeared in the print edition as "Life...or Something Like It")

https://www.outlookindia.com/magazi...hmiri-stand-ups-in-viral-acts-magazine-188202

The Supreme Court on Monday transferred all FIRs against comedian Munawar Faruqui, lodged against him for allegedly making remarks on Hindu deities during a show and hurting religious sentiments, to Indore in Madhya Pradesh.

A bench of Justices BR Gavai and Sanjay Karol also extended Mr Faruqui's interim protection for three weeks with regard to the production warrant in Delhi.

The top court clarified that it has not commented on the merits of the plea for quashing and if any plea is filed, it shall be considered as per law on its merits.

The top court had on February 5, 2021 released Mr Faruqui on interim bail, staying the Madhya Pradesh High Court order under which he was refused release.

Denying him bail, the Madhya Pradesh High Court had then noted that promoting harmony is one of the constitutional duties.

According to the FIR, the comedy show, where the remarks now under scrutiny were made, was held at a cafe in 56 Dukan area of Indore on January 1, 2021.

Eklavya Singh Gaud, son of BJP MLA Malini Laxman Singh Gaud, had filed a complaint against Faruqui and others.

Mr Gaud in his complaint said that he and some of his associates had gone to watch a show where jokes were made about Hindu gods and goddesses and Union Home Minister Amit Shah and he forced the organisers to stop the event.

Mr Faruqui and others were arrested for the alleged offences punishable under various sections of the Indian Penal Code, including section 295-A which deals with deliberate and malicious acts intended to outrage religious feelings of any class.

They were also accused of holding the show amid COVID-19 pandemic without permission and were booked under other relevant provisions of the IPC.

NDTV

Indian Premier League TV broadcaster Star Sports has landed in hot water with several groups and viewers who raised objection to the presence of stand-up comedian Munawar Faruqui on air on May 12.

Faruqui, who was arrested and released on bail in 2021 for allegedly hurting religious sentiments, featured in Star Sports’ coverage of the May 12 IPL match between Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Titans. His presence led several Twitter users to question why the channel gave him air time, with many calling for the boycott of Star Sports India.

Accused of making remarks on Hindu deities during a show and hurting religious sentiments, the comedian was arrested in January 2021 and lodged at the Indore jail in Madhya Pradesh.

According to the FIR, the comedy show, where the remarks now under scrutiny were made, was held at a cafe in 56 Dukan area of Indore on January 1, 2021.

Eklavya Singh Gaud, son of BJP MLA Malini Laxman Singh Gaud, had filed a complaint against Faruqui and others. Gaud, in his complaint, said that he and some of his associates had gone to watch a show where jokes were made about Hindu gods and goddesses, and he forced the organisers to stop the event.

Faruqui and others were arrested for the alleged offences punishable under various sections of the Indian Penal Code, including section 295-A which deals with deliberate and malicious acts intended to outrage religious feelings of any class.

They were also accused of holding the show amid Covid-19 pandemic without permission and were booked under other relevant provisions of the IPC.

Denying Faruqui bail, the Madhya Pradesh High Court had then noted that promoting harmony is one of the constitutional duties. But the Supreme Court on February 5, 2021 released Faruqui on interim bail, staying the High Court order.

On April 24 this year, the Supreme Court transferred all FIRs against Faruqui to Indore in Madhya Pradesh. A bench of Justices BR Gavai and Sanjay Karol also extended Faruqui’s interim protection for three weeks with regard to the production warrant in Delhi.

The top court clarified that it has not commented on the merits of the plea for quashing and if any plea is filed, it shall be considered as per law on its merits.

A year after his release on bail, the Faruqui, who is also a rapper, went onto join and ultimately win ALTBalaji and MX Player’s reality show Lock Upp, which was hosted by actor Kangana Ranaut

CricNext

More evidence that many Hindus in India yearn for the clarity and respect for religious values which they see in Islam.