[VIDEO] "Indian media always stretches the truth": Wing Commander Abhinandan

Zeeraq

A new videotaped statement of Indian Air Force Wing Commander Abhinandan has been broadcast on national television, which shows him in his uniform.

The statement recounts his ingress into Pakistani airspace in search of a target, being shot down, being accosted by an angry mob and subsequent rescue by Pakistan Army officials, and his experience in Pakistani custody.

"My name is Wing Commander Abhinandan," he states for the record.

"I am a fighter pilot in the Indian Air Force. I was in search of the target when your [Pakistan] Air Force shot me down. I had to eject the plane which had sustained damage. As soon as I ejected and when my parachute opened and when I fell down, I had a pistol with me."

"There were many people. I had only one way to save myself: I dropped my pistol and tried to run," he is heard saying in the video.

"People chased me, their emotions were running high. Just then, two Pakistani Army officials came and saved me. Pakistani army captains saved from the people and did not let any harm come to me. They took me to their unit where I was administered first aid and then I was taken to the hospital where I further underwent a medical exam and received more aid," he says.

"The Pakistan Army is a very professional service. I see peace in it. I have spent time with the Pakistan Army [and] I am very impressed."

"Indian media always stretches the truth," he regrets. "The smallest of things are presented in a very incendiary manner and people get misled."

https://www.dawn.com/live-blog/

Oops - dont think he will be liked in India after saying that!

Open your eyes, India. The enemy you should be fighting is within your own country. It has taken over your media and if you do not make the smart decision during your elections, it will take over your entire country over the next four years. The enemy is fanatical nationalism.

Thank you for your kind words, Wing Commander. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Pakistan and I hope that the next time you enter Pakistani airspace, it will be in a commercial aircraft.

Obviously he isn't going to say anything else and risk his imminent freedom. When in Rome, say what the Romans want to hear.

Poor guy, he was definitely forced to say that.

Funny to see though that some people here are gullible enough to think that he willingly said that.

Tonight, he will reverse all his statements under the "Pressure" of GOI as well as Media.

Funny to see though that some people here are gullible enough to think that he willingly said that.

Obviously he isn't going to say anything else and risk his imminent freedom. When in Rome, say what the Romans want to hear.

He hasn't been forced to say anything no signs of torture or him being under distress. In the earlier videos, when he was asked things he did not want to share, he clearly said something to the effect of "I cannot tell you that".

More important would be what statements he gives in India, the joshilay type will come up with some other logic then. Maybe Pak Army implanted a chip in his brain and they are now forcing him to say things :))

Yes that is all well and good but then we have the Geneva Convention that protects the soldiers.
We also have a PM who the vast majority of people, and specifically the ones in India, feel is genuinely sympathetic.

Why would a trained Soldier, who would know the laws, make such statements when in an earlier video he rightly answered "Sorry I cannot comment on that"??

Why does everything have to be spinned by the Indians? Is there nobody who is willing to open their eyes and actually see through all the Indian propaganda?

I think only thing that is proven to be gullible are the Indian people.

Lahori Nashta :)

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FNashpatiTV%2Fvideos%2F766307653742492%2F&show_text=1&width=560" width="560" height="457" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" allow="encrypted-media" allowFullScreen="true"></iframe>

He hasn't been forced to say anything no signs of torture or him being under distress. In the earlier videos, when he was asked things he did not want to share, he clearly said something to the effect of "I cannot tell you that".

Just look at how many cuts there are. Of course he was forced to say that.

Gotta love South Indian people, if it weren't for them India would be worse than African countries. Peace loving hardworking and ambituous people. The north side and middle side of India is where all the gutter lies.

He is either a brilliant actor and should join the South Indian cinema after retirement, or he really means what he is saying.

His expressions and facial language clearly suggest that he has not memorized a script with a gun to his head.

What he said is obviously true.

Whether he meant to say it while in captivity or whether statements like these were part of some bargain offer by Pakistan army to him, we do not know. I guess we will wait for his statement once he is in India to know what all happened during his captivity. I hope there is no twist because i quite liked what i saw so far apart from maybe this last slightly forced/cringe worthy video that OP is referring to.

He even mentioned people's JOSH was quite high when he dropped in Pakistan's side of Kashmir. That was bit funny and ironical.

More important would be what statements he gives in India, the joshilay type will come up with some other logic then. Maybe Pak Army implanted a chip in his brain and they are now forcing him to say things :))

I am expecting a special show tonight from India TV 'Chamatkari Chai'. :inti

What he said is obviously true.

Whether he meant to say it while in captivity or whether statements like these were part of some bargain offer by Pakistan army to him, we do not know. I guess we will wait for his statement once he is in India to know what all happened during his captivity. I hope there is no twist because i quite liked what i saw so far apart from maybe this last slightly forced/cringe worthy video that OP is referring to.

He even mentioned people's JOSH was quite high when he dropped in Pakistan's side of Kashmir. That was bit funny and ironical.

That was low-key hilarious, self deprecation at it's best :)))

Thr guy is a good sport :19:

Highly edited video. Some of the statements are obviously right but you can see a cut right after Indian Media and baat. Most of the media has their own ajenda and want TRPs and I am not supporting Indian media. TBH it looks stupid for such a doctored media release

Earlier I thought he only gave lecture to Indian Army to emulate Pakistani counterpart.. we can tolerate that .. now he has attacked the nerve of our nationalistic media.. that's not acceptable. #Traitor.

Indian media always stretches the truth," "The smallest of things are presented in a very incendiary manner and people get misled.

I don't think any rational person can deny this. True words.

waiting for the loud mouth Aunty of India, Arnab, questioning his patriotism after spending 2 days in Pakistan.

On the other hand India killed a Pak prisoner a few days after Pulwama. This is why I did not want this Indian pilot released.

Edited or not, those are his words..

And its astounding that a trained pilot could be “forced” to even speak like that against his own media or utter some of the words that could be cobbled together to have the desired effect!

Either he was very effectively talked into it and is weak minded... or is really speaking his mind.. there are only the two possibilities!

Should be sent to a re education camp and kept under surveillance. Never trust Pakistan. They have sent back a manchurian candidate. His statement about the indian media is all I need to know that he is insane and brainwashed.

:)) Lets hope they dont ask for the removal of that chip.

As a son of a former fighter pilot who flew missions in 65/71/73, I cringe at looking at these videos.
It reminds me of when Saddam Hussain paraded all the captured allied pilots during Desert Storm and made them say how sorry they were. We may have not done the same and he maybe saying this freely, but it sensationalizes the whole thing.

All we needed to release was a single video that had him shown in good health and looked after medically and just stating his rank/name/serial number.

Should be sent to a re education camp and kept under surveillance. Never trust Pakistan. They have sent back a manchurian candidate. His statement about the indian media is all I need to know that he is insane and brainwashed.

ISI's best spy Adnan Sami is in India and nobody knows it. No Indian has a clue.

Highly edited video. Some of the statements are obviously right but you can see a cut right after Indian Media and baat. Most of the media has their own ajenda and want TRPs and I am not supporting Indian media. TBH it looks stupid for such a doctored media release

There is a full unedited video. A little googling can help you if you know how to.

Some of you are in too deep.

Doesnt he know Pakistan is already under pressure from the mighty India and he will be released anyway. Has he so little faith in his country that he is willing to play into the enemy's hand and deny his own achievement of shooting down a Pakistani F16? Surely he knows what damage IAF has inflicted on Pakistan therefore they must be on the verge of crumbling.

Where is his bravery and respect for Hind. Yesterday he was brilliantly avoiding giving too much details and responded with "I am not supposed to tell you that", why the sudden change.

This video is very very poorly edited with multiple cuts clearly visible. It undos positive PR generated by Imran with regards to Indians. Government has taken the video down now, I think.

Also this is against Geneva convention.

How can pakistan even dare to think of torturing and otherwise harming him when they are already crumbling infront of the mighty India. Don't they know once they release him he will tell Modi ji all about the torture and the desperate gesture of "peace" by weak Imran Khan to avoid anymore aggression from India would backfire and Modi ji would come for revenge!

He prob said worse things about India.

Good on him to speak the truth and expose the lies of his nation and their pathetic media.

Government handle(@pid_gov) which published the video has now deleted. It was in poor taste.

Dost, tell me one thing how can Pakistani armed force even dare to lay a hand on him when they, are so desperate to release him to get in Modi jis good book?

At one hand Pakistan is scared and under pressure from India and on the other hand they have the guts to torture him right before tjey let him go to Modi ji.

Can't you see the lies and contradictions you need to tell yourself to comfort your pride?

May be you are right but we should apply the same logic for Ajmal Kasab also. Shouldn't we?

Comparing a IAF commander that India supports to a terrorist Ajmal Kasab disowned by Pakistan. That's just too low even for you

It is violation of Geneva convention. What was the need after getting upper hand to upload that video. World media reacting to it as heavily edit. Anything spoken under captivity will not be taken seriously.

When are you joining the army MR Keyboard warrior? Indian army and airforce needs passionate people like you.

This whole saga is so shameful for India. On top of that their media only makes things worse.

They seem to be living in their own mini world.

Very cheap way of media.

Is he telling the truth ? Yes. But what is the chance that he was forced to tell ?

It is violation of Geneva convention. What was the need after getting upper hand to upload that video. World media reacting to it as heavily edit. Anything spoken under captivity will not be taken seriously.

It's just one-upmanship and part of propaganda.

If he was forced he will come and say it? Why are all Indians jumping the gun and calling it fake ?

So essentially Indians are saying that their pilot caved in to pressure within 2 days and started saying Pak Army is professional and indian media is crap.

OR

Abhi truly believes what he says and indian media is crap. :))

Yes, I'm sure a member of the Indian armed forces loves maligning India.

If I was in his shoes, I would be very upset with India. It took Pakistan to tell the world their pilot had been captured and a long while for India to admit this. The poor guy prob had a better meal in Pakistan than he ever has been given by IAF.

He most probably had no idea about what's going on in the outside world. I am pretty, sure pak army didnt give him access to twitter so he could follow the live updates.

From his perspective he just delivered Pakistan a mighty blow by shooting their F16 with his crap plane. He doesn't know DG ISPR was able to hide this from the world and that his fellow countrymen only have pieces of a missle as proof which no sane person would seebas proper evidence. He must be feeling great about his victory for Hind.

From his perspective India just killed 300 terrorists and is on the top. Surely he knows his brothers back home won't let pakistan have it easy and force Pakistan into surrender. Yet still he chooses to deny his own accomplishments and shows little confidence in his brothers back home and chooses to give the enemy a propaganda win.

Indians have been lying through their teeth. Pakistan had little choice to prove a pilot was in custody and to show he wasnt being harmed, otherwise the Indians would have made up more stories of torture, abuse etc. Pathetic media and government + most of the Indian people to this too.

Comparing a IAF commander that India supports to a terrorist Ajmal Kasab disowned by Pakistan. That's just too low even for you

I didn't expect you to use your pea sized brain so I am not surprised by your post. Any person with a brain will know that I am not comparing a terrorist to a commander.

You just compared the responses of a highly educated, trained IAF pilot to a illeterate terrorist under durress. Like I said..so low that the bottom isn't even visible

I asked myself the same question, what was the need for us to upload the video. I think more than Pak v India, its Pakistan v Indian Media. Until Pakistan shows the Indian Media exactly what’s going on, Indian media will continue to utter rubbish. I have A LOT of Indian friends and most of them hate the Indian media A LOT more than I do and are appreciative of the fact that Pakistan is uploading these videos to slap Indian media on their face. Even bollywood celebrities are sick of Indian media, who are we to complain.

You just compared the responses of a highly educated, trained IAF pilot to a illeterate terrorist under durress. Like I said..so low that the bottom isn't even visible

Exactly. So now you got it. The responses from a highly educated pilot from India are being rejected by some indians but the responses from a jaahil terrorist were accepted without asking any questions. Next time use your brain before quoting me. You are not that smart.

The video upload from us was unnecessary. That said, this man and his family owes us his life. If it were up to his own country’s leadership and media, they would have denied his very existence and their idiot countrymen would have believed it.

I asked myself the same question, what was the need for us to upload the video. I think more than Pak v India, its Pakistan v Indian Media. Until Pakistan shows the Indian Media exactly what’s going on, Indian media will continue to utter rubbish. I have A LOT of Indian friends and most of them hate the Indian media A LOT more than I do and are appreciative of the fact that Pakistan is uploading these videos to slap Indian media on their face. Even bollywood celebrities are sick of Indian media, who are we to complain.

Exaxtly.

I am oretty sure those who came up with the video are aware of Geneva convention. Quite frankly at this point who cares about some convention when India violates our airspace and is provoking the whole region into a war.

They take each and every good step from us and spin it around and exploit it for their own benefit and ego.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have just now been told that Wing Cdr Abhinandan Varthaman recorded the video of his own will, just as he was about to be released. His criticism of warmongers on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Indian?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Indian</a> TV resonates. &#55358;&#56631;&#55356;&#57339;*♂️</p>— Husain Haqqani (@husainhaqqani) <a href="https://twitter.com/husainhaqqani/status/1101530871545454593?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 1, 2019</a></blockquote>

The cuts are from the phainty he got from Pakistani villagers. I assure you that if the armed forces wanted to hurt him, he'd be in a far worse state.

Yes, I'm sure a member of the Indian armed forces loves maligning India.

He said nothing negative against India. You don't have to be a traitor to criticize your media and the warmongers that consume their content. You should try it too. Show us all that you are not a blind nationalist and call out your media for their lies.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have just now been told that Wing Cdr Abhinandan Varthaman recorded the video of his own will, just as he was about to be released. His criticism of warmongers on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Indian?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Indian</a> TV resonates. ����*♂️</p>— Husain Haqqani (@husainhaqqani) <a href="https://twitter.com/husainhaqqani/status/1101530871545454593?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 1, 2019</a></blockquote>

This guy should be given Pakistani citizenship when he is inevitably maligned in his own country. A brave man like him deserves to be on the side of Pakistan, not India.

Exactly. So now you got it. The responses from a highly educated pilot from India are being rejected by some indians but the responses from a jaahil terrorist were accepted without asking any questions. Next time use your brain before quoting me. You are not that smart.

You missing your own point there :)) Why in the name of anything holy are you comparing the responses of a Trained pilot with a terrorist? You are saying people should either believe the pilot or not depending on whether they believe an illeterate terrorist. That's just classless.

On the other hand India killed a Pak prisoner a few days after Pulwama. This is why I did not want this Indian pilot released.

Don't be so gullable. Do you think this is the first soldier that is caught on the other side and is released on both sides, no. Likewise there are many cases where the soldiers caught on the other sides and got killed on both sides.

By cuts I mean the video cuts.

Apparently, there is an unedited video out there. Also, cuts are very common in such videos, you don't want the main points overshadowed by someone's rambling. Even Imran Khan's videos are heavily edited... Oh wait, do I smell a conspiracy here?

Cuts or not, those are his words.. a soldier should keep quiet.. he knew he was getting released.. either he means it or shouldnt have said anything.... simple!

This violates the Geneva Convention no?

A very vulgar display by Pak army.

And quite a pointless video too.

1. Proving Indian media is horrible is NOT going to help Pak much.

2. Even if it did, getting a statement from Abhi under captivity doesn't count. Stuff like this will not even be considered as proof in a court of law.

3. He has stated nothing else of great importance in his video. Plus there are cuts in the video. Not sure why.

4. All those who are using this statement now, will they accept it if he comes home and says he downed an F16?

If anything this was a horrible PR move by Pak. :))

They have been doing many things right in the PR front but this wasn't one of them.

2. Even if it did, getting a statement from Abhi under captivity doesn't count. Stuff like this will not even be considered as proof in a court of law.

3. He has stated nothing else of great importance in his video. Plus there are cuts in the video. Not sure why.

4. All those who are using this statement now, will they accept it if he comes home and says he downed an F16?

They have been doing many things right in the PR front but this wasn't one of them.

It was a fantastic move. Seeing and hearing an IAF pilot bash the Indian media was "fantastic".

It is pretty obvious that the only parts that have been cut out are the description of WC Abhinandan describing hid encounter with the Kashmiri villagers. That and the questions that he was asked. You can figure this out by listening to this and then comparing it to the officials reports of Abhinandan's capture.

This thread should be at the top. This video should be played on every indian channel.

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, praising the courage and valour of the captured Indian Air Force pilot who returned to India from Pakistan, today said the word "Abhinandan" used to mean welcome, but its meaning would change now.

"The world takes note of what India does... India has the strength to change the meaning of words in the dictionary... Abhinandan once used to mean welcome. And now the meaning of Abhinandan will change", PM Modi said this morning in Delhi, in an apparent reference to Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman.

The 35-year-old Air Force pilot was shot down on Wednesday while flying a MiG-21 fighter in a dogfight with Pakistani aircraft and captured. His first words when he walked across from the Pakistani side through the Attari-Wagah border were, "It is good to be back in my country", an official told reporters last night.

PM Modi had welcomed the Wing Commander back with a tweet last night. "Welcome Home Wing Commander Abhinandan! The nation is proud of your exemplary courage. Our armed forces are an inspiration for 130 crore Indians. Vande Mataram!" the PM had tweeted.

Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan's announcement that he would be released as a "peace gesture" signaled a thaw after rapid escalation this week. The announcement marked a dramatic shift in mood after the two countries engaged in an aerial clash for the first time in nearly 50 years on Wednesday.

The confrontation erupted after the February 14 Pulwama attack by Pakistan-based terror group Jaish-e-Mohammed, in which over 40 soldiers were killed. India's air strikes on Tuesday targeted a huge Jaish training facility in Pakistan's Balakot, around 80 km from the Line of Control.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/abh...nandan-varthaman-2001607?pfrom=home-topscroll

AFAIK the Geneva Conventions apply to POWs, and last I checked, we're not at war, and hopefully never.

Dont need a declaration of war for it to applicable

The Conventions apply to all cases of armed conflict between two or more signatory nations, even in the absence of a declaration of war. As long as the combatant is uniformed and carrying identity papers he is protected by it

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, praising the courage and valour of the captured Indian Air Force pilot who returned to India from Pakistan, today said the word "Abhinandan" used to mean welcome, but its meaning would change now.

"The world takes note of what India does... India has the strength to change the meaning of words in the dictionary... Abhinandan once used to mean welcome. And now the meaning of Abhinandan will change", PM Modi said this morning in Delhi, in an apparent reference to Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman.

The 35-year-old Air Force pilot was shot down on Wednesday while flying a MiG-21 fighter in a dogfight with Pakistani aircraft and captured. His first words when he walked across from the Pakistani side through the Attari-Wagah border were, "It is good to be back in my country", an official told reporters last night.

PM Modi had welcomed the Wing Commander back with a tweet last night. "Welcome Home Wing Commander Abhinandan! The nation is proud of your exemplary courage. Our armed forces are an inspiration for 130 crore Indians. Vande Mataram!" the PM had tweeted.

Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan's announcement that he would be released as a "peace gesture" signaled a thaw after rapid escalation this week. The announcement marked a dramatic shift in mood after the two countries engaged in an aerial clash for the first time in nearly 50 years on Wednesday.

The confrontation erupted after the February 14 Pulwama attack by Pakistan-based terror group Jaish-e-Mohammed, in which over 40 soldiers were killed. India's air strikes on Tuesday targeted a huge Jaish training facility in Pakistan's Balakot, around 80 km from the Line of Control.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/abh...nandan-varthaman-2001607?pfrom=home-topscroll
Are Indians and Indian media still believeing they attacked jem outlet and killed 350 Muslims... height of denial in my opinion.