[VIDEO] IPL 2019 controversy : Rishabh Pant caught on stump mic making bizarre prediction

Rishabh Pant's enthusiastic chatter and wit behind the stumps has become the stuff of legends since the Australia tour.

However, the wicketkeeper-batsman has courted controversy after being caught on the stump mic making a bizarre prediction during the DC vs KKR IPL 2019 match at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Saturday.

When the franchise from the national capital hosted the three-time IPL champions KKR, Pant was caught on the stump mic, saying "yeh to waise bhi choka hai" in the fourth over. The very next ball was hit for a four by Robin Uthappa off the bowling of Sandeep Lamichhane.

The video of the incident started doing the rounds on social media with many fans claiming that the match was "fixed".

https://sports.ndtv.com/ipl-2019/ri...king-bizarre-prediction-fans-cry-foul-2015474

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 46.094%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/eswbt/wfkbut" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Should be investigated for sure. Who in their right mind says something like that.

to his own bowler!

Its one thing to sledge and say the batsman will be out next ball, but who says he will hit a four !

to his own bowler!

Its one thing to sledge and say the batsman will be out next ball, but who says he will hit a four !

ICC should investigate. I always have doubts over these leagues and I actually has a reason to raise doubts because two teams have already been banned for fixing in IPL. SPL, PSL and BPL all had issues like this in the past already.

Either fixing or not trusting his bowler.

ICC should investigate. I always have doubts over these leagues and I actually has a reason to raise doubts because two teams have already been banned for fixing in IPL. SPL, PSL and BPL all had issues like this in the past already.

No team in IPL ever got banned for fixing. Repeating a lie multiple times (albeit in an attempt of brown nosing) dont make it true. Meyappan was found guilty of betting with team composition and that caused CSK banned for couple of years. Betting with team charts is not match fixing.

Some people don’t understand match-fixing or spot-fixing to be presice.

A bowler can spot-fix no balls and wides, but you cannot predetermine how many runs are going to be scored on a given delivery because of the many variables involved.

If you predetermine that a certain delivery is supposed to be hit for a four or a six, you are demanding 100% precision from the batsman and the bowler who is not possible.

The bowler has to ensure that he lands the bowl on a spot where the batsman can execute a shot, and the batsman has to ensure that he hits the shot with enough timing, power and precision to get the desired result.

Furthermore, if the ball goes to a fielder, he just cannot let the ball go without pretending to make an effort to stop the ball.

This reminds me of the ridiculous match-fixing allegations when Warne predicted a tie between India and England before their World Cup match in 2011, where both teams scored 338.

Pant’s comment is nothing more than a prediction that almost everyone makes while watching the game.

I am sure everyone can recall instances where they correctly predicted the outcome of a delivery before it is bowled, which is often based on observing how the bowler is bowling and anticipating what he is going to do next. Same goes for batsmen as well.

Nonetheless, this news is a blessing for the people who have a phobia of IPL, and seek solace in the notion that it is a scripted league where the top players in the world play characters for money.

to his own bowler!

Exactly. Even if he could sense the batsmen would go for a boundary, he should have been like don’t give him flight or width. No one says it’s a four already.

This could all be a fluke but very curious situation.

I can almost correctly predict when Misbah will hit a six when a spinner is bowling.

Reminds me of Flintoff and his "Mind the windows" jibe/trolling to Tino Best. I suppose he was just daring or challenging the batsmen.

You can't cry "fix" at every juncture, tbh.

Exactly. Even if he could sense the batsmen would go for a boundary, he should have been like don’t give him flight or width. No one says it’s a four already.
Pant chided Cummins for not putting a bad ball away to boundary off ashwin's bowling in the India-aus test series a few months ago, I suppose pant was fixing then too.

If we look at the hand gestures of Pant he is moving his hands towards right side and reading the commentary I guess bowl was also bowled full outside off stump which was driven towards the off side. So it wasnt only prediction which surprises me but also where the bowl would be going.

Not sure what exactly it is but pretty odd.

No team in IPL ever got banned for fixing. Repeating a lie multiple times (albeit in an attempt of brown nosing) dont make it true. Meyappan was found guilty of betting with team composition and that caused CSK banned for couple of years. Betting with team charts is not match fixing.

Relax. IPL is clean. :inti

Bowler, batsman and fielder were all involved in this fixing deal and they also told the wicket keeper to broadcast it to whole world via stump mics....

It definitely needs a top level team from ICC to investigate....

He’s a psychic! Someone get me his number need to get the lottery numbers!

Lol he was just sledging the batsman, instigating him to hit. Just because the batsman succeed doesn't mean fixing. Wicketkeepers goading batsmen to hit out falsely has been going on from the beginning of cricket. But I have to wonder at the amazing minds who think players involved in fixing will announce these things loudly during matches

the very next ball was driven for four runs.

Driving a ball for 4 is not that easy as the batsmen have to create a gap between fielders to get it through.

nothing suspicious.

I took it as a sarcastic sledge to the batsman challenging him to hit a four.

True clearly just instigating sarcastically ,but some posters wanting icc enquiry for that is hilarious and shows insecure $#$%%

You can't predict this man lol He does a lot of predictions i can says that even at the international level. Bizarre one. His chatters typically include putting bowler under pressure as well.

the very next ball was driven for four runs.

Driving a ball for 4 is not that easy as the batsmen have to create a gap between fielders to get it through.

nothing suspicious.

Considering that there are 3-4 boundaries every over in those overs, how is that surprising? But I love these conspiracy theories, very interesting

Bowler, batsman and fielder were all involved in this fixing deal and they also told the wicket keeper to broadcast it to whole world via stump mics....

It definitely needs a top level team from ICC to investigate....

Tell this to your IPL fans who are acting immaturely on twitter. Good luck stopping them from throwing match fixing related accusations on Pant. :inti

Uthappa was striking it well, I guess. May be just a comment made to try unsettle the batter.

BCCI statement on the matter

Iyoung wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant was on Sunday caught in the eye of a storm owing to an edited stump microphone clip from an IPL game which went viral on social media but was dismissed by the BCCI as "misconstrued".

The less-than-a-minute long clip was from Saturday night's match between Pant's Delhi Capitals and Kolkata Knight Riders.

It shows Pant, from behind the stumps, saying that "yeh to chauka hai" (this is a boundary) as KKR's Robin Uthappa took guard against Sandeep Lamichhane. Delhi won the match in Super Over after the scores were tied in the regulation overs.

"No one heard what Rishabh said before that particular sentence. He was apparently telling (Delhi Capitals captain) Shreyas Iyer to increase fielders on off-side to stop an imminent four," a top BCCI official told PTI.

The next delivery was pushed through the covers for a boundary and the edited clip of Pant's purported prediction started doing the rounds from unverified Twitter accounts, claiming to be cricket fans. What wasn't clear from the video clip was the context of Pant's comment.

It has been learnt that Hotstar, who hold the digital (streaming rights) rights of the IPL, have complained to various social media platforms for illegal use of their footage and are getting the clippings removed.

The BCCI official said that it was "very unfortunate" that social media ran an incomplete clipping. "Maligning a young cricketer without even knowing the details is so unfortunate. A section of media allowed the social media to insinuate and vilify a young talent without getting into details. This is so disgusting," said the official.

This isn't the first time that stump microphone has pushed Pant into the spotlight. During his highly successful tour of Australia, Pant's humourous teasing of rival batsmen, especially Aussie captain Tim Paine, went viral on social media.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.re...cial-media-heres-what-they-said.html?v=5.8.26

BCCI statement on the matter

Iyoung wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant was on Sunday caught in the eye of a storm owing to an edited stump microphone clip from an IPL game which went viral on social media but was dismissed by the BCCI as "misconstrued".

The less-than-a-minute long clip was from Saturday night's match between Pant's Delhi Capitals and Kolkata Knight Riders.

It shows Pant, from behind the stumps, saying that "yeh to chauka hai" (this is a boundary) as KKR's Robin Uthappa took guard against Sandeep Lamichhane. Delhi won the match in Super Over after the scores were tied in the regulation overs.

"No one heard what Rishabh said before that particular sentence. He was apparently telling (Delhi Capitals captain) Shreyas Iyer to increase fielders on off-side to stop an imminent four," a top BCCI official told PTI.

The next delivery was pushed through the covers for a boundary and the edited clip of Pant's purported prediction started doing the rounds from unverified Twitter accounts, claiming to be cricket fans. What wasn't clear from the video clip was the context of Pant's comment.

It has been learnt that Hotstar, who hold the digital (streaming rights) rights of the IPL, have complained to various social media platforms for illegal use of their footage and are getting the clippings removed.

The BCCI official said that it was "very unfortunate" that social media ran an incomplete clipping. "Maligning a young cricketer without even knowing the details is so unfortunate. A section of media allowed the social media to insinuate and vilify a young talent without getting into details. This is so disgusting," said the official.

This isn't the first time that stump microphone has pushed Pant into the spotlight. During his highly successful tour of Australia, Pant's humourous teasing of rival batsmen, especially Aussie captain Tim Paine, went viral on social media.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.re...cial-media-heres-what-they-said.html?v=5.8.26

This is not a statement from BCCI - its some random official talking to this source.

What is odd? Perhaps he is commenting on the field placement that it will definitely go for four.

Nothing to see here. People who have played even bit of cricket can tell what’s going on.

LOL

People are desperate to put a stain on IPL.

How do a you fix a four?

Even if you bowl a bad bowl - how can you be sure the batsman will put it away? And what if he mis hit it or hit it for six?

You can fix a no ball, wide, etc. How do you fix a four? People will jump at anything to discredit the IPL.

The keeper luring the batsman to go for a hit happens all the time.

he was being sarcastic towards the batsman, trying mind games, unless he is uber stupid and saying stuff like that in the open, i go with the former...

You can fix a no ball, wide, etc. How do you fix a four? People will jump at anything to discredit the IPL.

The keeper luring the batsman to go for a hit happens all the time.

If several players are in on it, it is definitely possible.

It seems like this guy thinks that he's funnier than he actually is. The Australian tour really got to his head. Most of his chatter is so cringey (that bit about Tim Paine being temporary captain, Uff!)

Really just seemed like he was just suggesting that the short ball would be a four anyway to his bowler. Could be a discussion about the field placements, or an instruction to ball fuller. So on.

Nothing unusual, people reading into nothing. To be fair, when I'm batting I always say "this next one is going for 6" and 9/10 times I get bowled, so read into that

So Rishabh Pant & Uthappa were connivingly involved in spot fixing but also dumb enough to announce it loud & clear. Great logic!

It could be fixing, it could be nothing but even if it is fixing the Indian cricket board will brush it under the carpet.

To those saying you cant bet on hitting a four do not understand how betting works. Every over punters are allowed to bet on the number of runs scored. Depending on the match situation you can bet higher or lower on a certain amount of runs. Mabye another four was required which the bowler was reminded of.

Lalit Modi the man who set up the IPL has called this out as fixing.

Risabh was in all probability daring/trapping the batter to hit a four but some would like to use it to call it ""fixing"" to suit their agenda.

Perhaps it was a code-word pre-decided in team meeting which only the bowler understood such as it actually meant ''bowl a bouncer'' or ''Bowl a yorker'', but to confuse the batter these words were used. After all its a known fact that wicket keepers and bowlers have code words or signs on which type of delivery needs to be delivered next , so wicket keepr can anticipate which side to move beforehand for stumping or to take an possible edge.

Logically, for it to be ""fixed"" three people would need to work in perfect co-ordination 1) the bowler to bowl a perfect ball to be hit 2) the batter to ensure he hits it in gaps and 3) a fielder or 9 fielders, to ensure inspired fielding dive save or a catch does not happen ( predicting where the batter will hit and which fielder will come into play will have at least 9 probabilities)
Anyway in this perfect scenario as well, the wicket keeper would be NOT part of the "fix" as he has no role in "" fixed actions to happen"".
Unless the fixer decides and says " Nine fielders ,bowler and batter know the script...so why leave out the poor wicketkeepr...lets inform him as well just to be fair "

If it was an outcome of spot-fixing then it means not only the keeper but batsman, bowler, and fielder were all involved which is extremely unlikely. Even if hypothetically they were all involved then still hitting a boundary cannot be guaranteed.

I think he made the remark reading the situation of the game like you can sometimes easily predict what the batsman or bowler is going to do next ball.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">is this a <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/joke?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#joke</a> or cannot believe this. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/matchfixing?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#matchfixing</a> to the highest order. when will <a href="https://twitter.com/iplT20?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iplt20</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/BCCI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@bcci</a>.tv <a href="https://twitter.com/ICC?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@icc</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/BCCI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@bcci</a>.cricket ever wake up. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/shameful?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#shameful</a> &#55357;&#56866;&#55357;&#56468;&#55357;&#56468;&#55357;&#56468;&#55357;&#56468;&#55357;&#56468; that all officials really dont care <a href="https://t.co/kjBdHhvD3s">pic.twitter.com/kjBdHhvD3s</a></p>— Lalit Kumar Modi (@LalitKModi) <a href="https://twitter.com/LalitKModi/status/1112546024944340993?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 1, 2019</a></blockquote>

Lalit Modi is trying to get even. He is basically a loser.

To those claiming it to be a fix, have you ever played cricket? People keep joking and try to break batsman's concentration all the time. Here he was pointing a gap in field placement.

By the same token, I would say that Modi knows more about what happens in cricket than many others.

That same loser is the founder of IPL. :inti

Former Indian women's cricket team head coach Tushar Arothe was arrested in Vadadora in connection with an Indian Premier League betting racket.

According to a Times of India report, Arothe was taken into custody by the crime branch along with 18 other people, which included two of his business partners Hemang Patel and Nishcha Mitha during a raid on a cafe. All the 19 arrested people were later released on bail.

"We had received a tip-off about the betting activities at the Cafe Stock Exchange in Alkapuri where a big screen was placed to relay IPL matches. We kept a watch there and conducted a raid on Monday night. Some persons sitting in a shed next to the café were in online betting on the IPL match," said Jaydeepsinh Jadeja, DCP (crime).

The police also added that Hemang is in the business of cricket betting and he would accept bets on various mobile apps.

Before taking up the head coach job of Indian women's cricket team, the 52-year-old represented Baroda in Ranji Trophy, playing 114 First Class Matches. He scored 6,105 runs and took 225 wickets in his First Class career. Arothe coached Indian women's team from April 2017 to June 2018 and led India to the World Cup final in England.

"I don't know why I was arrested. If some customers come to my cafe and bet on mobile apps, how would I know that? As far as Hemang is concerned, he is a partner in the cafe but he always sat with his friends. I have no idea that he was placing bets. I have not committed any illegal activity and I will fight it out for my honour," Arothe said after getting released on bail.

https://www.firstpost.com/firstcric...e-arrested-in-ipl-betting-racket-6376251.html

Former Indian women's cricket team head coach Tushar Arothe was arrested in Vadadora in connection with an Indian Premier League betting racket.

According to a Times of India report, Arothe was taken into custody by the crime branch along with 18 other people, which included two of his business partners Hemang Patel and Nishcha Mitha during a raid on a cafe. All the 19 arrested people were later released on bail.

"We had received a tip-off about the betting activities at the Cafe Stock Exchange in Alkapuri where a big screen was placed to relay IPL matches. We kept a watch there and conducted a raid on Monday night. Some persons sitting in a shed next to the café were in online betting on the IPL match," said Jaydeepsinh Jadeja, DCP (crime).

The police also added that Hemang is in the business of cricket betting and he would accept bets on various mobile apps.

Before taking up the head coach job of Indian women's cricket team, the 52-year-old represented Baroda in Ranji Trophy, playing 114 First Class Matches. He scored 6,105 runs and took 225 wickets in his First Class career. Arothe coached Indian women's team from April 2017 to June 2018 and led India to the World Cup final in England.

"I don't know why I was arrested. If some customers come to my cafe and bet on mobile apps, how would I know that? As far as Hemang is concerned, he is a partner in the cafe but he always sat with his friends. I have no idea that he was placing bets. I have not committed any illegal activity and I will fight it out for my honour," Arothe said after getting released on bail.

https://www.firstpost.com/firstcric...e-arrested-in-ipl-betting-racket-6376251.html

This one calls for a thread of its own. Otherwise it can be seen as misleading the readers towards a particular judgement by playing on the subconscious mind.

Or we can merge all the IPL fixing suspicion threads into this one.

The IPL is the cleanest league in the world. No bookies or pundits ever place any bets in india which is a country that bans gambling. How can there be any form of gambling here? Just another sour grapes thread from PPers jealous of the IPL. I think we should worry about the PSL and pakistani cricket a bit more since we are the worst fixers and gamblers in the world. No other country has ever done what pakistan has done. I'm surprised we havent been banned yet. Ive never heard of any wrong doings eleswhere especially in india where they have an completley honest and paak society. We could learn alot from them. Just ask [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] who knows a helluva lot about these things. I mean each post is as enlightening as the last one.

Cleanest league in the world? think you meant the big bash or the Natwest Blast. This thread is all about discussion so i see nothing wrong with the OP. and for the record ask Sreesanth, Ajit Chandila or Ankeet Chavan if you think fixing does not happen in the IPL, CSK and RR were banned for 2 years for corruption but what do i know ey.

By the same token, I would say that Modi knows more about what happens in cricket than many others.

Indeed, he actually still owns the domain to the iplt20 website lol

That same loser is the founder of IPL. :inti

He is basically a pariah now so won't have any connections or inside sources who can share info with him about IPL. If there is a whistle blower they would be someone still connected to the IPL

Cleanest league in the world? think you meant the big bash or the Natwest Blast. This thread is all about discussion so i see nothing wrong with the OP. and for the record ask Sreesanth, Ajit Chandila or Ankeet Chavan if you think fixing does not happen in the IPL, CSK and RR were banned for 2 years for corruption but what do i know ey.

Bhai his post was sarcastic.