[VIDEO] Matthew Hayden returns as team mentor for T20 World Cup

Hayden is a larger than life character. He would intimidate the hell out of the opposition. These characters are vital in the dressing room. Pakistans cricketing DNA has been infested with Misbahs defensive first attitudes, beliefs and tactics. Hayden will hopefully provide something different from that.

Pakistan did tuk ruk in the semifinal against Australia last year. Did anyone ask Hayden what happened in that game?

That’s the issue with this phony mentor roles. There is zero accountability and follow-up.

Hayden is here to do acting and praise the players on camera and for the fans to celebrate the presence of a big name white guy in the dressing room.

It is a waste of time.

Pakistan did tuk ruk in the semifinal against Australia last year. Did anyone ask Hayden what happened in that game?

That’s the issue with this phony mentor roles. There is zero accountability and follow-up.

Hayden is here to do acting and praise the players on camera and for the fans to celebrate the presence of a big name white guy in the dressing room.

It is a waste of time.

That's right. With the current Pakistani players and coaching staff lacking strong communication skills in English and can't properly express themselves, it must be a headache for the media people on how to promote this team and it's stars to a wider audience at a global ICC tournament. So, Hayden is basically doing a PR job...and doing it pretty well.

It is a waste of time.

Good point everything mostly is a waste of time it looks like with the Pakistan team they have already pre planned what is going to happen in terms of players selected team combination etc.

If one thing doesn’t work nothing changes same things are repeated over and over no flexibility stubborn captain and coaches trying to massage their own egos but actually costing the team and themselves success.

People brought in as mentors and analysts but basic errors in selection and other things keep happening no plan B regularly again it comes down to flexibility from the captain and coach to do what’s best for the team as being stubborn will ultimately cost the team and themselves.

Good point everything mostly is a waste of time it looks like with the Pakistan team they have already pre planned what is going to happen in terms of players selected team combination etc.

If one thing doesn’t work nothing changes same things are repeated over and over no flexibility stubborn captain and coaches trying to massage their own egos but actually costing the team and themselves success.

People brought in as mentors and analysts but basic errors in selection and other things keep happening no plan B regularly again it comes down to flexibility from the captain and coach to do what’s best for the team as being stubborn will ultimately cost the team and themselves.

Over the years Pakistani players have realized that a visit to Australia is just humiliation on the field so they have started treating it as good paid holiday. They look forward enjoying the free modern western culture.

Khushdil shah has enjoyed the beauties and luxuries of the Southern Hemisphere for longer than 95% of Pakistanis all around the globe

Does Hayden has some magic wand for this nonexistent middle order will be interesting to see

If he could just teach Babar and Rizwan to play over the top in the PP; it'd go a long long way.

Seeing Rizwan 0 from 8 against Afg has me worried. What's he going to do vs strong teams?

Hayden is a larger than life character. He would intimidate the hell out of the opposition. These characters are vital in the dressing room. Pakistans cricketing DNA has been infested with Misbahs defensive first attitudes, beliefs and tactics. Hayden will hopefully provide something different from that.

I agree for the most part. We need to go back to pre 2011 times batting wise. After 2011 WC we adopted a new found timid approach batting wise. Under Inzi we were still a pretty aggressive batting outfit in limited overs. Had plenty a batting shootouts with India across multiple series for 300+ scores, and this is when India arguably had possibly their best ever batting line up, while we had less talented batsmen (other than Inzi, MoYo) but we were still fiercely competitive in these series.

Definite culture shift under Misbah batting wise. You need characters like Hayden and Zaheer Abbas (way ahead of his time as a batsman) to get a positive mindset. Positivity is contagious, just like negativity. So just being around these players can be helpful.

If he could just teach Babar and Rizwan to play over the top in the PP; it'd go a long long way.

Seeing Rizwan 0 from 8 against Afg has me worried. What's he going to do vs strong teams?

Both Babar and Rizwan need a mindset shift. They have shown over the last 2 years that they definitely can score at a high SR. They are either feeling bogged down / under pressure, or they are too occupied with stat padding, or some other mental issue. They would have not made it this far if it was a technical issue.

I agree. I didn't mean that they actually do not know how to play that way. Recalling the last WC, in the game against India, both Babar and Rizwan were easily hitting shots over the circle...for some reason they've completely dismissed that idea.

They were chasing a low score so taking some time is not an issues, especially because they are so consistent at scoring the bulk of the runs.

In a 150 chase, getting it down to 50 required from 6 overs even makes it a much lower chance of losing the game. Pakistan loose those games when they get bowled out.

Coaching in cricket is a bit overrated. At the end of the day it's the player who has to work hard on his game, go to the nets and bat and bowl and have the hunger to learn and practice more of his craft. That was how someone like Terry Jenner worked on Warne. Or look at Zaheer Khan on how a few sessions with Akram changed his approach towards bowling. He spent hours in the nets and learned all the nuisances of reverse swing. Or look at our Imran Khan he learned to bowl the leg cutter from his contemporary Marshall who himself learned it from Lillee during the 1981-82 tour.

If our players still have a school kid attitude then a coach no matter an Australian or a Pakistani won't make a difference.

Kuch bhi!! Marshall started touring Australia from 1984 and Imran hardly ever bowled a leg cutter.

Y’all don’t know about the LeBron effect. Having someone like Hayden around who was a) technically sound b) played exactly like how our players should play and c) is an Australian legend offering mentorship in Australia during a tournament taking place in Australia is great for morale at the very least and can give a window into his mind of how to be an aggressive batsman.

Will this make our batsmen able to score 200 in 10 overs overnight? Probably not. But cricket at the intl level is quite a bit of a mental game. And seeing that we made it to the semis and ended the jinx vs India in the last tournament, I’d say bring him again if we can afford it.

Idk if LeBron effect is known by some other name outside of the US, but to give a brief summary, in the NBA, whichever team LeBron is playing for has the rest of the players he’s playing alongside with perform at a higher level when he’s in the team. As soon as he transfers out to a different team, their stats dip back down.

They go from performing at a higher level individually, to performing at a lower level than we he was in the team, again, individually.

If Hayden can have a similar effect on Pakistan in the dressing room, then I’m all for it.

That’s because LeBron himself plays on the court, and not scream instructions from outside

Australia great Matthew Hayden will be the Pakistan team mentor for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, the Pakistan Cricket Board announced today.

The decision is a continuation of Hayden’s involvement with the national men’s side after he inspired them to the semifinals of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, defeating India, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia in the league matches.

Hayden will join the side in Brisbane on 15 October, the day Pakistan arrive from Christchurch after competing in the T20I series also involving Bangladesh and hosts New Zealand.

PCB Chairman Ramiz Raja: “I welcome Matthew Hayden back in Pakistan colours. He is a proven performer with his credentials acknowledged and recognised world-over. He brings with him wealth of knowledge about Australia conditions and I am confident his involvement will significantly benefit our extremely talented cricketers for the World Cup and future tours Down Under.

“I would like to offer my gratitude to Bank AlFalah who have once again partnered with us on this appointment and hope they will remain connected with the PCB.”

Matthew Hayden: “I am extremely excited to be reuniting with the Pakistan team as their mentor for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia and can’t wait to join the culture again and feel the spirit of One Nation One Passion.

“I have seen how Pakistan have been performing in the ACC T20 Asia Cup and Sunday’s win over India was brilliant.

“I think this Pakistan side has got what it takes to excel in Australia and the conditions will really suit them, both from a batting and bowling perspective. This team has all of its bases covered and I am sure it will light up the World Cup as it did in the UAE last year.

“I feel privileged to be given an opportunity to pass on all my experience and knowledge about all conditions in Australia and can’t wait to be back in the Pakistan dressing room.”

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/jrggyy" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

lol quick money will make you do things.
I am pretty sure he already knew that Pak team is uncoachable. It's a proven fact!

and lol at the cake cutting ceremony when Pak is out of the WC just after the first two games.

Kuch bhi!! Marshall started touring Australia from 1984 and Imran hardly ever bowled a leg cutter.

Just to correct you mate...Marshall did tour Australia in 1981-82, then he was a rookie, not a regular in an attack featuring Holdings, Roberts, Croft, Garner, Clarke etc.... and played a few games in the WSC (Check the tour squad in Cricinfo) And Imran did developed a leg cutter. His stock ball was always the late in-swinger and he used to bowl the leg-cutter as a variation. Btw, it's all well documented in Marshall's autobiography "Marshall Arts".

What does any mentor do other than quoting previously said inspirational statements?

Ramiz Looking fog Australian faces for free money

Hayden: Major bag alert! Major baaaag alert!

What does any mentor do other than quoting previously said inspirational statements?

And that too in Australian accent English that is not understood even 0.01% by the players.

Look at the short video clip, Hayden is giving a speech and they are displaying a demeanor of being super bored and not interested in listening or trying to understand what the heck he is even saying?

lol, this is comedy.

what a waste of money, just bloody youtube or google a few motivational videos... karna toh is team ne kuch hota nhin hai...

Paying a lot of money for pep talk is PCB. Performance is everything. If you are not winning and playing like cowards, nothing will help.

the role of a mentor is quite overrated. It all depends on how good the team is. Everyone knew Pakistani middle order was an issue except BA, Rameez and TM. There is very little Hayden can do with the likes of Kushdil, Asif, Haider etc.

They have two greats of the game as batting coaches Mohammad Yusuf and Hayden.But still performance is below par. What role they actually play?

Cannot for a minute accept that Hayden is at all happy with the way Pakistani batters are performing in Australia.

I added to the point Mamoon made it definitely seems like Hayden had zero impact other than talking selfies and celebrating birthdays the idea was to try and help the team win changing tactics whatever it took Hayden should’ve done more.

Hayden can only make an impact if he was given the powers of Saqi & Babar.

That’s the problem Saqi and Babar thought they knew what they were doing after winning a few matches chasing in UAE when almost every team was winning chasing the flaws with the team are now in the open it’ll take a new coach and captain to try and fix the situation.

They have two greats of the game as batting coaches Mohammad Yusuf and Hayden.But still performance is below par. What role they actually play?

Saqlain who is a head coach was a legendary spinner but Pakistan doesn't have world class spinner since years. They lost the Australia test series at home because of lack of quality spinner

Cannot for a minute accept that Hayden is at all happy with the way Pakistani batters are performing in Australia.

Let's go easy on Hayden here. No coach can make much of a difference in one month. A coach needs at least a year to implement his strategies, vision, training and practice techniques on the squad and for the players to start replicating what they are practicing.

A different argument could have been made that Hayden should have acknowledged these realities and refused this role for one month.

Let's go easy on Hayden here. No coach can make much of a difference in one month. A coach needs at least a year to implement his strategies, vision, training and practice techniques on the squad and for the players to start replicating what they are practicing.

A different argument could have been made that Hayden should have acknowledged these realities and refused this role for one month.

Let's go easy?

Where am I saying it's Hayden's fault.

Lol he didn't make them mentally Strong.
It's not his fault that all these batsmen have got no skills.

Its up to the players to get as much as they can from a mentor, if the players feel the need to find out as much as possible from a mentor on issues like pitch conditions and any little 1% things like how far to stand in from the boundry, do the shadows affect anything, does the ball take long to move around and I'm sure there are other things that players would want to know then they have the option of speaking with the mentor.

Mentors are like bats, they have to be in the right hands to be effective.

Do mentors actually do anything significant?

The position seems unnecessary.

Do mentors actually do anything significant?

The position seems unnecessary.

They help the Australian side immensely, especially when the players are in foreign conditions. also most Australian players will have a past player as a dedicated mentor in his formation years.

Why not strike a deal sack Saqlain and Moyo and give the total responsibility to Hayden and Tait for Eng Series, damn sure we'll achieve something with Saqlain n Moyo we are in for a whitewash

Last time when Hayden was around the team MoYo was not there to tell them to save wickets all the time. Saqlain even was appointed temporarily so Pakistani players were far more better at that time plus middle order was quite settled as well with M. Hafeez and Malik around.

How many World Cup finals have Hafeez and Malik led Pakistan into over the last decade they wouldn’t have even played one innings of note in an important match.

To say they are an upgrade on the current middle order isn’t saying much only Hafeez at his best could do something in Australia but he wasn’t a big match player regardless in World Cups.

How many World Cup finals have Hafeez and Malik led Pakistan into over the last decade they wouldn’t have even played one innings of note in an important match.

To say they are an upgrade on the current middle order isn’t saying much only Hafeez at his best could do something in Australia but he wasn’t a big match player regardless in World Cups.

Well they did beat India, made semis and nearly beat Australia, they didnt lose to Zimbabwe and wont wet pants to chase 91 against Ned

Would take Malik and Hafeez anyday if the replacements are Khusdil and Asif (150six) Ali..

There are better players in Pakistan than this parchi lot..Had 1 year to plan, Wasim, Babar and Saqi wat a disastrous desi combo..

Wait for the SA match and see how they gonna maul this bunch of nothing players.....

Hayden is a player who grew up on bouncy pitches in Qld and became famous because he learned to adjust down and play well in India.

Logically the ideal mentor for Pakistan would not be one who made that adjustment DOWN- but a coach from NZ or England who have started on moderate bounce pitches and learned to make the adjustment UP to bouncier and quicker pitches.

I'm talking about the mind set of the players specially Rizwan and Babar are no where near the way they were playing.. Since the Asia Cup Babar can't score runs freely the way he used to do that before.. Except for one hundred which he made..

Not the magic bullet

Hafeez CT final!

@Saj

Can you please confirm if he is getting paid $70,000 for three weeks of cheerleading with no accountability and follow up?

Absolutely ridiculous if true. No wonder he could not care less. No one would in his position.

No coach can make much of a difference in one month but more importantly, no coach will care to make much of a difference when he is not going to face accountability or be held liable for the team’s performance.

As per reports, Hayden is getting paid $70,000 for this tournament and since he will leave after it is over, no one is going to question him on the batting performance and even if a miracle happens and someone does, the justification would be that he didn’t have enough time to work with the players.

Secondly, you can’t blame him. Why would he or anyone refuse a job that will pay a fortune for a month and where you are not required to perform. You have to absolute bonkers to say no.

No coach can make much of a difference in one month but more importantly, no coach will care to make much of a difference when he is not going to face accountability or be held liable for the team’s performance.

As per reports, Hayden is getting paid $70,000 for this tournament and since he will leave after it is over, no one is going to question him on the batting performance and even if a miracle happens and someone does, the justification would be that he didn’t have enough time to work with the players.

Secondly, you can’t blame him. Why would he or anyone refuse a job that will pay a fortune for a month and where you are not required to perform. You have to absolute bonkers to say no.

It is important for Hayden to make a difference because if he wants more roles with other teams then he needs the PCB to be happy with his services. Like any professional if you don't perform then you get less opportunities.

His skin color and name is all that matters to PCB. They will happily employ him in the future just like they were happy to employ him this year.

I can't see how his skin color is even mentioned, his name does matter because of the experience that goes with it. You can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink.

Hayden is overrated. Not doing any improvement in Pak batting. He is getting free salary. Cheerleading every fours and six hit by Pakistani batsman.

I can't see how his skin color is even mentioned, his name does matter because of the experience that goes with it. You can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink.

He is a big name, white guy. That is enough to get a mentor type phony role with the Pakistan team.

As mentioned these short term stints won't make much impact. You cannot transform frontfoot dominant batsmen who've grown up on slow, low wickets into cutting and hooking machines in a matter of weeks simply because they're being mentored by an aggressive Australian batsman.

Hayden isn't to be blamed whatsoever. Few would turn down an easy 70k for glorified cheerleading. The blame is with the Chairman and his simplistic theories.

If I could see a distinct change in batting approach then perhaps, just perhaps his hiring could be justified but we have seen Pakistan go backwards.

Our openers look even more meek than they did in recent series, it's like the shackles that should have come off have just been tightened.

There is a complete inability to rotate the strike. I saw Shan Masood against India turn 2s into singles on 3 occassions, who knows a fumble or loose throw and one of those could have gained extra runs.

Our middle order is a complete pile of waste, so I can't blame him if he's unable to turn them into De Villiers overnight. However the lack of common sense here indicates either he's not a good match reader or they're not listening. For example Shadab's brainless wicket against Zimbabwe.

I am actually not impressed with Hayden - he hasn't done enough yet.

Matthew Hayden's speech after Pakistan's win against SA in Sydney

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/p69yz9" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Giving Babar and Co. a pep talk following their late revival at the grandest stages of them all, Hayden fired a massive warning to title contenders India, New Zealand and England.

"Boys, we are dangerous, just understand and appreciate that"

"The moment Pakistan cricket fires off with intent and starts to reveal its teeth, we become a real threat. There will be no one in this world and this competition that would want to face us right now. not one,"

"They thought they got rid of us, but now they are not going to get rid of us. We are here, dug in and I actually love how we have gone about this compared to the last World Cup because the expectations were enormous in the last World Cup. We blew everyone off the face of the planet.

"It hasn't been smooth sailing. If it wasn't for the Dutch, we are not here. But we are here and it is powerful because no one wants to see us and that's the element of surprise we have got the advantage"

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/le35fo" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

That statement on 'now we're here and no one wants to see us' is gold.

Imagine these kind of talks from Imran back in the day. In the language that would have reached every heart and brain cells of the players. Powerful.

Pep talks are fine but we need him to inject some intent into batters not named Haris and Shadab.

Not sure why PCB is posting these personal locker room moments. Give the players some space. If I’m an opposition player and see these videos I’ll be even more certain as to how badly Babar and Riz are on confidence as alluded to by Hayden. Same with the Babar video.

Not everything needs to be posted even though us fans would love to see all this to get more of an understanding of the backstage culture of our team.

White skin privileges. Do a bit of cheerleading and praise Pakistan’s “talent” on camera, oversee a humiliating tournament and then walk away with a hefty paycheck and no accountability.

Pakistan is the easiest team to make money from if you are big name white cricketer. PCB will invent a phony position to accommodate you and give you money if you are interested.

yes back to back SF places in a world cup is so humiliating.
and then people call this guy a PP legend:yk3

Haydo sounds like some character from Goodfellas
Nonetheless hopefully he will take them to ultimate goal

Does Hayden has some magic wand for this nonexistent middle order will be interesting to see

Hmmm. Thoughts?
I still dont think our middle order is anywhere near good enough even after a few solid performances

I think people are confused about his role.
He isnt there to do anything technically about the batsman. It's just pushing them and give match play tips and mental confidence to get out an extra 5-10% of what the players possess from within/
Its not to make Babar play switch hits like Warner, or Rizwan to start playing like SKY.
Its bringing about marginal gains from situational awareness and spirit.
And people may like it or not - but 2 world cups and its worked.
Hayden was the kind of batter who had guts and bravery and was ahead of his time in that he could have easily played T20- so he is the right kind of guy. Its not like its a Jonathon Trott type player

Tbh I am not 100% on board with broadcasting dressing room talks to the public. Imo certain discussions including these motivational talks mean more when they remain within the dressing rooms.

I broadly agree in most cases. I think the PCB social media guy is just trying to engineer content. That said, I found Haydo’s words quite stirring. It may not matter in the end, but atleast the lads will now play with the handbrake off.

InshAllah we do it man, I really really hope so.

[MENTION=29115]RexRex[/MENTION]
Shastri is just cringe though and we have seen that side of him a lot- like in commentary and punditry- Hayden comes across different

I broadly agree in most cases. I think the PCB social media guy is just trying to engineer content. That said, I found Haydo’s words quite stirring. It may not matter in the end, but atleast the lads will now play with the handbrake off.

InshAllah we do it man, I really really hope so.

I hope so too and definitely i am 100% on board if these bring results. My only contention is that broadcasting of these talks gives a slight impression of playing to the gallery, which i hope is not the case.

I love Hayden but this isn't putting good use of $70,000. It feels like an appointment that has been made to help raise the profile of the PCB.

If Ramiz genuinely believes this is the way to help the team perform in tournaments then he's seriously stupid. He's another example of a Pakistani who doesn't have a clue about cricket.

I love Hayden but this isn't putting good use of $70,000. It feels like an appointment that has been made to help raise the profile of the PCB.

If Ramiz genuinely believes this is the way to help the team perform in tournaments then he's seriously stupid. He's another example of a Pakistani who doesn't have a clue about cricket.

I don't think its a bad investment. This is a good PR move and is also a good cricketing move because you need a consultant who can help the team with local conditions.

People need to wake up and smell the coffee. The PCB is struggling to attract top notch global coaches because coaches now have a lot of options i.e. short term gigs with PSL, BPL, BBL, IPL, Natwest T-20, CPL and now the Sri Lankan T-20 League, South African T-20 League and the UAE T-20 League is further going to make things work. These coaches can make way more money with short term gigs with less stress than what the PCB can offer per annum plus the Pakistan Cricket Team comes with a lot more stress, international coaches will be reluctant to relocate to Pakistan and work more hours for longer time periods.

The PCB worked hard to persuade Andy Flower to take over from Misbah but Flower gave them the run around i.e. he needs to think about it and will get back to the PCB after the PSL and later when he got the IPL coaching gig, he said no thank you to the PCB.

Right now the PCB offers $250,000 - $300,000 per annum to the coach of the national team. England and Australia pay $550,000-$650,000 and BCCI offers $1.2 million per annum. The PCB needs to significantly up its pay and offer around $650,000 atleast to be competitive because according to news reports, whenever the PCB advertises for the head coaching role, they get a lot of responses but whenever queried about the pay, perks, privillages, a lot of candidates back off.

In addition to pay, the PCB might also need to offer certain flexibilities i.e. the coach will be allowed to take time off and go coach in the IPL and an assistant coach can take over the national side during that time period.

Not a fan of these dressing room vids to be honest.

They should keep all this between themselves.

It's almost like they are having to show their happiness and anger etc.

I want Hayden's life man. The guy gets paid handsomely for being a "mentor". His job description is to sit in the dugout and then in the dressing room say to the boys that "no teams would want to face you". Haha. Ramiz Raja should wake up and smell the coffee. It's a complete waste of money. For God's sake, use that money and organize school cricket. Build up a pyramid for cricket. School cricket at the base, then club cricket, then domestic, then A team and then Pakistan team.

Giving Babar and Co. a pep talk following their late revival at the grandest stages of them all, Hayden fired a massive warning to title contenders India, New Zealand and England.

"The moment Pakistan cricket fires off with intent and starts to reveal its teeth, we become a real threat. There will be no one in this world and this competition that would want to face us right now. not one,"

"They thought they got rid of us, but now they are not going to get rid of us. We are here, dug in and I actually love how we have gone about this compared to the last World Cup because the expectations were enormous in the last World Cup. We blew everyone off the face of the planet.

"It hasn't been smooth sailing. If it wasn't for the Dutch, we are not here. But we are here and it is powerful because no one wants to see us and that's the element of surprise we have got the advantage"

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/le35fo" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

lol @0:37 "We are such a good REACTIVE team"

I think he takes a subtle dig at these guys who don't seem to be understanding not even half of what he is saying, and that too, in that crooked Aussie accent. One claps and the others follow without give a damn about what's it's about?

We gotta be PROACTIVE - not REACTIVE !!

I don't think its a bad investment. This is a good PR move and is also a good cricketing move because you need a consultant who can help the team with local conditions.

People need to wake up and smell the coffee. The PCB is struggling to attract top notch global coaches because coaches now have a lot of options i.e. short term gigs with PSL, BPL, BBL, IPL, Natwest T-20, CPL and now the Sri Lankan T-20 League, South African T-20 League and the UAE T-20 League is further going to make things work. These coaches can make way more money with short term gigs with less stress than what the PCB can offer per annum plus the Pakistan Cricket Team comes with a lot more stress, international coaches will be reluctant to relocate to Pakistan and work more hours for longer time periods.

The PCB worked hard to persuade Andy Flower to take over from Misbah but Flower gave them the run around i.e. he needs to think about it and will get back to the PCB after the PSL and later when he got the IPL coaching gig, he said no thank you to the PCB.

Right now the PCB offers $250,000 - $300,000 per annum to the coach of the national team. England and Australia pay $550,000-$650,000 and BCCI offers $1.2 million per annum. The PCB needs to significantly up its pay and offer around $650,000 atleast to be competitive because according to news reports, whenever the PCB advertises for the head coaching role, they get a lot of responses but whenever queried about the pay, perks, privillages, a lot of candidates back off.

In addition to pay, the PCB might also need to offer certain flexibilities i.e. the coach will be allowed to take time off and go coach in the IPL and an assistant coach can take over the national side during that time period.

I completely get that but that $70,000 could be used towards hiring a competent long term overseas coach who knows the conditions around the world. I appreciate it wouldn't cover their whole annual salary but it would cover a small chunk of it.

Rauf reminds me of Sanjay Dutt in the movie Kaante he doesn’t understand English keeps asking the guy next to him ‘kya Bol raha hai ye’

When Pakistan needed a World Cup miracle many thought only divine intervention could save cricket’s great enigma from total embarrassment. Enter Matthew Hayden and his island cure.

Matthew Hayden swears he saw the tide turn on Rottnest Island – not on the golden beaches but in the hearts of a shattered Pakistan cricket team.

No team in this volatile World Cup could have felt as hollow as Pakistan on the morning of October 28 after they followed an epic loss to India with a truly forgettable loss to Zimbabwe.

After two defeats in their opening two games it was surely tournament over but Pakistan being Pakistan, roared back to life and will now contest a World Cup semi-final against New Zealand at the SCG.

“The day after we lost to Zimbabwe we had one of the great days on Rottnest (off the Perth coast) and a real turning point,’’ batting coach Hayden said.

“We just released the pressure. Everyone was feeling like **** (after the loss to Zimbabwe).

“We needed to get away from it so we went to Rottnest and some of the players had a swim. Others rode bikes.

“We went back has a massive feed – Pakistani food is next level – and we sat around and got stuff off our chests. Not bad stuff, but we haven’t looked back since that day …’’

Hayden is relishing his involvement with the game’s most interesting and enigmatic team for a second consecutive World Cup after his name was recommended to Pakistan cricket by former Prime Minister and cricket legend Imran Khan.

“We are always a dangerous team. If they turn up nobody will stop them. They have four skilful, versatile quicks who can bowler cutters, bouncers and yorkers and they have good pace. Pace does matter in T20 cricket. It’s hard to keep it out.

“We are dangerous. If one of Rishwan or Baba come off it’s game over.’’

Hayden’s affection for the side runs deep with reserve fast bowler Shahnawaz Dahani a particular favourite. Hayden’s son Tom has even given him a Akubra hat.

“He (Dahani) comes from a tiny village but he is trying to help it not just by learning English himself but starting up a school and helping them learn it as well.

“Yesterday he wrote a message on a boarding pass on a plane and passed it back and it contained some of the words I used in a dressing room speech. I get emotionally blown away. He has changed his playing number to my old number – 28.

“There is no sense of privilege. He rang home the other day and spoke to his mum and she said “when you hit the stumps is that a good thing? She knows nothing about cricket. There are some beautiful stories there.

“If you had said to me that one day I would be sitting inside a change room with a Pakistan cricket team I would have said you are crazy … but I’ve loved it.

“We were in Perth and there was a meet and greet with local kids and the call went out. Normally you expect to get one or two players. I think nine players turned up. All the big boys … Shaheen Afridi, Baba (Azam).

“I heard Dean Jones talk about his affection for it and I wasn’t sure what he was on about it. But I get it now. There is something really special about the way they give back to the game.”

Hayden said one of his most poignant memories of the tour was being in the dugout sitting next to vice-captain Shadab Khan as they were moving steadily towards victory against South Africa.

“He said “What do reckon bro... Allah?

“I said “yeah, Allah’’ then said he said ‘Welcome to Pakistan cricket … anything can happen.’’

You can say that again.

https://www.codesports.com.au/crick...l/news-story/7160bf65341e5261001b02f650d7c66e

Hayden out of his seat as Haris smashes Ferguson for 6.

1.jpg2.jpg

I like this guy. Between the speeches in dressing room, the encouraging words in interviews and pressers while everyone was piling in, and now these reactions throughout the games. He really does seem invested.

Hayden asked Haris to bat ahead of Shan so he take the game away from the kiwis.

Our coaches just picking there beards hoping for a miracle from the skys.