[VIDEO Message] India has shot down a live satellite in space, says PM Narendra Modi

India has shot down a live satellite in low-Earth orbit as part of a successful test of new missile technology, prime minister Narendra Modi has announced.

The operation, dubbed Operation Shakti, makes India part of an "super league" of nations to have achieved such a feat, Mr Modi said, alongside the US, Russia and China.

The announcement comes weeks after India engaged in aerial clashes with Pakistan over the disputed border of Kashmir. "This new technology is not directed against any particular country," the prime minister said.

Experts said the target of the test was most likely an Indian mini-satellite put into a relatively low orbit for the purpose of the test one month ago, rather than an asset belonging to any other country.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/...e-system-shakti-test-modi-space-a8841381.html

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">An important message to the nation. Watch. <a href="https://t.co/0LEOATgOOQ">https://t.co/0LEOATgOOQ</a></p>— Chowkidar Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1110797218703761408?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 27, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In the journey of every nation there are moments that bring utmost pride and have a historic impact on generations to come. <br><br>One such moment is today.<br><br>India has successfully tested the Anti-Satellite (ASAT) Missile. Congratulations to everyone on the success of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MissionShakti?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MissionShakti</a>.</p>— Chowkidar Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1110800868058660864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 27, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MissionShakti?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MissionShakti</a> was a highly complex one, conducted at extremely high speed with remarkable precision. It shows the remarkable dexterity of India’s outstanding scientists and the success of our space programme.</p>— Chowkidar Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1110801096891461632?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 27, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MissionShakti?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MissionShakti</a> is special for 2 reasons:<br>(1) India is only the 4th country to acquire such a specialised & modern capability. <br>(2) Entire effort is indigenous. <br>India stands tall as a space power! <br>It will make India stronger, even more secure and will further peace and harmony.</p>— Chowkidar Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1110801488559759360?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 27, 2019</a></blockquote>

Just a video version of a tweet. This doesn't affect 99.98% of Indians. Even if it was another attempt to ring the poll bugle, who will be swayed because of this?

Moment of pride for every self respecting indian. only the anti nationals will treat it as non news.

Obviously not him.

That's why I love Trump. He's Raw. Unfiltered. Himself. Online and Offline.

Agree. Trump's Twitter feed is the real deal. The fact he is raw, makes mistakes, vents anger, frustration, happiness, joy etc is not only entertaining, but a revelation in politics where politicians spend most of the time trying to be the perfect human being whereas Trump on the other hand portrays himself to be a mere mortal - just like most of us!

Moment of pride for every self respecting indian. only the anti nationals will treat it as non news.

Self respecting is the right word but hey they dont come thick and fast. In before those anti nationals pollute this thread, lets take a moment to congratulate ISRO for their fantastic work, Modi ji for his exemplorary vision. Proud moment.

Jokes on u guys, we don't even have a satellite that u can destroy :))

Good. Now this tech will feed the impoverished common man.

This is another attempt to sabotage PSL broadcasts...

There are just diversion tactics to give an impression about the progress of the country. Shooting satellites, Mars Mission, Moon Mission so that the well off Indians can brag about how the Nation has become a bigwig along with very Nations in the world while hundreds of millions continue to live in extreme poverty.

Obviously not him.

That's why I love Trump. He's Raw. Unfiltered. Himself. Online and Offline.

Yes an incredibly racist, sexist bigoted, corrupt lying person is to be admired. It says a lot about a person whom they admire and every time I see an Indian doing it I am even more disgusted

Unless you think this only started in the last couple of years. I love how blind bhakts of a personality who are dumb enough to fall for the most common poll popularity tactics use words like anti national to justify themselves. As if ISRO didn't exist before modi and this project was not in development for ages. Dumb as rocks

Having theoretical capability to practical testing is a very long road. A road only two PMs since Indira Gandhi have shown the will to take that road.

Yes an incredibly racist, sexist bigoted, corrupt lying person is to be admired. It says a lot about a person whom they admire and every time I see an Indian doing it I am even more disgusted

You only know/confirm that because he puts it out in the open. Not under a cloud of vanilla-PR that most (all) world leaders hide under.

There are just diversion tactics to give an impression about the progress of the country. Shooting satellites, Mars Mission, Moon Mission so that the well off Indians can brag about how the Nation has become a bigwig along with very Nations in the world while hundreds of millions continue to live in extreme poverty.

A country with 1.3b people will always have poverty. It is unfortunate, but the fact is that massively populated countries like India and Pakistan cannot eliminate poverty.

Yes efforts should be made to tackle it to a certain extent, but you also have to be realistic. It should not deter you from making progress in other aspects.

This is where Indian have done very well. They have been able to boost their economy by developing modern industries (IT, pharma, auto, consultancy etc.) as well as a very ambitious Space program.

Pakistan also needs to follow their example. As long as our main emphasis is on our rhetoric against corruption, we will not make any progress and neither will we be able to eliminate corruption, which along with poverty, is also a reality.

Apart from terrorism, Pakistan and India have common problems. Poverty, corruption, communial violence etc., but India has been able to distinguish itself by developing modern industries which Pakistan have not been able to because of the stronghold of the military.

Great job by the scientists involved, they are true heroes.

Now bhakts will give all credit to the PM, elections around the corner.

Having theoretical capability to practical testing is a very long road. A road only two PMs since Indira Gandhi have shown the will to take that road.
Exemplary vision applies to other aspect of the country as well and not just warn. The incredibly child like propensity of modi supporters to label others as anti national etc, because of their cult like beliefs doesn't augur well on them

What a visionary Narendra Modi is. Now nothing can stop him from winning the upcoming elections.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Well done DRDO, extremely proud of your work. <br><br>I would also like to wish the PM a very happy World Theatre Day.</p>— Rahul Gandhi (@RahulGandhi) <a href="https://twitter.com/RahulGandhi/status/1110818665585360896?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 27, 2019</a></blockquote>

Do people have better option than modi? No.

We have to choose between two nalayak group of people and whoever is lesser nalayak should win.
So why discuss modi in each thread.

Exemplary vision applies to other aspect of the country as well and not just warn. The incredibly child like propensity of modi supporters to label others as anti national etc, because of their cult like beliefs doesn't augur well on them

The worse than child like propensity of non bjp supporters to call people who support bjp as communal and anti minority isnt great either.

When supporters cult worshipped Nehru Indira and the Nehru family it was all fine,now its a problem. Why?

Almost everything being named after Nehru,Indira and that biggest failure of a PM Rajiv Gandhi. Why no protests then?

Remember the Congress slogan "India is Indira and Indira is India".

You only know/confirm that because he puts it out in the open. Not under a cloud of vanilla-PR that most (all) world leaders hide under.

The thing about bigots is they think they entire world is as bigot as they and their leaders. They are ugly inside so believe everyone else is hiding ugliness.

The world is not. The world is overall a caring place with good people. That's the whole reason we have survived. Compassion, understanding,sharing, equality is only increasing every year despite someone like trump or his supporters

What happens is that with years of peace and comfort normal people let their guard down. Like with the internet. Then lonely losers, bigots and trolls run riot as people ignore them, take things like election less seriously. Someone like trump comes along and these losers think they habe got power. There is an whole expose on how trumps campaign targeted lonely males who are losers in life and very bitter and just used them

Then the common man finally lose their patience, slap these trolls back to the holes they were hiding under. Someone like Trump is like a vaccine which exposes the crap hiding among us who can then be shamed and eliminated. Thid cycle is repeated every 3-4 decades in human history

Btw one very interesting thing about trumps life. Not a single person who ever supported him as ever prospered. Trump gets his way but every person who ever stood by him has paid some price. Most got bankrupt or cheated by him. Abused by him. Many are in jail. I laugh at trump supporters as not only are they outing themselves as human crap to everyone but once he is gone they will have no where to hide

After this election, I guarantee BJP can as well be labelled as Bimaru Janata Party.

Really, they won't win anywhere except there and in Gujarat.

In that context, who in BIMARU cares about some fizzy-dizzy satellite? They will vote on the basis of their caste or some kind of dole they might have received from the local politician.

The worse than child like propensity of non bjp supporters to call people who support bjp as communal and anti minority isnt great either.

When supporters cult worshipped Nehru Indira and the Nehru family it was all fine,now its a problem. Why?

Almost everything being named after Nehru,Indira and that biggest failure of a PM Rajiv Gandhi. Why no protests then?

Remember the Congress slogan "India is Indira and Indira is India".

See I haven't see any of that recently and the same proportion as bjp supporters attacking others. And I don't live in the past either, every government in power should be criticized and scrutinized, that's the whole point of a democracy vs a dictatorship

I am a bhakt....so what you gonna do about it brother? Declaring an emergency on me like Indira Gandhi?

See I haven't see any of that recently and the same proportion as bjp supporters attacking others. And I don't live in the past either, every government in power should be criticized and scrutinized, that's the whole point of a democracy vs a dictatorship

How will you see that when Congress is out of power and reduced to 44 seats and till 6 months back was in power in only 3-4 states?

Govt should be criticized and so should be its leader. But the country is not the PM or the govt.

Before Modi govt no one had the courage to criticize Nehru for his endless faults. There is a pattern thats followed since 1950.

After this election, I guarantee BJP can as well be labelled as Bimaru Janata Party.

In that context, who in BIMARU cares about some fizzy-dizzy satellite? They will vote on the basis of their caste or some kind of dole they might have received from the local politician.

Not even in your wildest dreams! the election might be closer than in 2014 with, but BJP's control in central India (UP, MP) will be maintained with Gujarat, Maharashtra, Bihar, Rajasthan, Haryana and Karnataka, voting for BJP and also Telangana is an important ally. And the Pappu's politics of gifting money instead of making people earn their bread is biggest blunder ever!

Which is your home state?

Shifted from Old HAL Road?

I live in Bangalore. I am originally from Gulmarg, Kashmir - you asked me for my 'home' state.

God I miss them snowballs.....Bengaluru is baking hot at the moment.

Do people have better option than modi? No.

We have to choose between two nalayak group of people and whoever is lesser nalayak should win.
So why discuss modi in each thread.
Lol, how innocent? Who told you Modi is a better option, Modi himself?

Hanji kal hi phone aya tha.
Between rahul is a big big no. I am not a modi fan especially some of his party uneducated dehati members,but rahul is worst than him. It's our destiny that 125 crore population and not having better alternatives.

Feku is such a big fake dramebaz, indulges in extreme drama in everything. Like convening midnight session of parliament for GST, making his 95-yrs old mother stand in ATM queues during that despotic demonitization move. Does he think indulging in such theatrics will solve India's problems or people are such bloody fools? Well his ardent blind bhakts are indeed biggest fools ever.

Did he reveal as yet what qualification does he have? Which university did he study in? Such a fake. And hence called Feku.

Hanji kal hi phone aya tha.
Between rahul is a big big no. I am not a modi fan especially some of his party uneducated dehati members,but rahul is worst than him. It's our destiny that 125 crore population and not having better alternatives.

In any vibrant democracy, there will never be a TINA factor.

Mark my words, perhaps not in this election, but by 2024 somebody or the other will sprout up.

Even didi is better than Modi ji. But blindly devoted Bhakts cant see that. The best leader in India in merit right now is Ghulam Nabi Azad. However, only in our dreams can he win in elections.

I like Navin Patnaik too.

See what that Malhotra guy has just written that there is no alternative to Feku. If that is really the case, doomsday is much closer for India than what bhakts will want us to believe.

Why do the Indian politicians have chowkidar as a title. Doesn't that mean gatekeeper or watchman?

See the kind of dumbos Modi has unleashed on us hapless Indians.

Khattar
That Tripura CM (imbecile of the highest order)
Fadnavis
Jharkhand CM
Fake Yogi

List is endless.... Thankfully Raje and Chauhan got thrown out last December.

See what that Malhotra guy has just written that there is no alternative to Feku. If that is really the case, doomsday is much closer for India than what bhakts will want us to believe.

Doomsday for you guys only. Have some respect for democracy. Dnt behave like a nut where you can't respect the opinions of people and start mocking others because of their choices.

I like Navin Patnaik too.
Dont know much about him.
I mentioned Ghulam Nabi Azad because he is as seasoned as the come. One of the truly secular leaders who has a reputation of getting things done effectively. He was instrumental in getting India rid of Polio when he was the health minister. Even when he was made CM of J&K,he was doing some good things before PDP pulled out their support for his govt. However, the make up of Politics right now will never allow a non-hindu to become PM especially when he is a Kashmiri.

See the kind of dumbos Modi has unleashed on us hapless Indians.

Khattar
That Tripura CM (imbecile of the highest order)
Fadnavis
Jharkhand CM
Fake Yogi

List is endless.... Thankfully Raje and Chauhan got thrown out last December.

In terms of nation wide following, there might not be much competition to Modi. However, in terms of Quality of leadership there are many alternatives. Maybe some people dont want to see it.

Kiski didi?

Apki, hamari, hum sab ki. Mamta didi :yk

Dont know much about him.
I mentioned Ghulam Nabi Azad because he is as seasoned as the come. One of the truly secular leaders who has a reputation of getting things done effectively. He was instrumental in getting India rid of Polio when he was the health minister. Even when he was made CM of J&K,he was doing some good things before PDP pulled out their support for his govt. However, the make up of Politics right now will never allow a non-hindu to become PM especially when he is a Kashmiri.

In terms of nation wide following, there might not be much competition to Modi. However, in terms of Quality of leadership there are many alternatives. Maybe some people dont want to see it.

Apki, hamari, hum sab ki. Mamta didi :yk

Azad, really? Azad tried to give land to Amarnath Yatra committee whcih triggered the 2008 agitation and the Eidgah march where around 1 million protestors gathered, he is a sellout of the highest order who even Mufti Sayid ditched. He has 0 chances of getting anywhere significant and long may it continue

I was speaking more from the Indian POV. For them he can be good.
But i can understand where you are coming from and i agree with you that he isnt a saint when it comes to Kashmir. He did initiate some good things for Kashmir too for example he took up the issue of increasing the retirement age of employees and also worked for the earthquake victims. Politically speaking, it goes without saying that i dont consider him or any Indian politician to be a well wisher of Kashmiris.

Great preparations for when the Borg launch an attack on Indian soil.

India... You guys should let Imran Khan lead you as well.. let him be the Uniter.. PM of both pakistan and India.. obviously the options you have currently are no good!

Point is Feku is such a big failure on all fronts that it's beyond belief that he still have bhakts left.

Apparently after Pulwama, they seem to be breeding at twice it's earlier rate.

Failed in what exactly some of you in such a hurry to bring Congress back to power lol

If you are so confident then calm down. Your comments are giving away your real fear that Modi is the reality for the next 5 years.

In any case you are in minority who wants to see Rahul a.k.a Idiot as an Indian PM. If you are talking nonsense on this board to get brownies then keep doing it but reality in India is different than what the people on this board are trying to portrait or have any understanding.

I live in Bangalore. I am originally from Gulmarg, Kashmir - you asked me for my 'home' state.

God I miss them snowballs.....Bengaluru is baking hot at the moment.

Then you call other states Bimaru. Lol.

Lol. Do you know what Bimaru means? Dont think so.

Eh?

Admittedly, it is difficult for anyone to craft a better comeback when trying to defend frikkin' Jharkand and UP and the like, so we'll let you go on this one. :91:

Eh?

Admittedly, it is difficult for anyone to craft a better comeback when trying to defend frikkin' Jharkand and UP and the like, so we'll let you go on this one. :91:

Jharkhand and UP are far better than Kashmir. They dont force out 100s of 1000s out of their state simply because of their religion.

But we have towering mountains and frozen lakes here. The food is heaps better, and we have successfully brought two countries to a standstill for 72 years and counting because we are awesome!

why you are giving Modi compliment for this achievement? did Modi started this program after coming in power? if yes then it make sense to give compliments to Modi otherwise no. And its impossible that ISRO start working on this after Modi come into power. These types of things takes years to complete with lot of testing.

Pakistan is against arms race in space: FO

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan’s Foreign Office on Wednesday stated that the country was against an arms race in space.

“Pakistan has been a strong proponent of Prevention of Arms Race in Outer Space. Space is the common heritage of mankind and every nation has the responsibility to avoid actions which can lead to the militarization of this arena,” the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a press release.

The press release from Pakistan came on the same day as India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi in a televised address stated that the country had shot down a satellite in space with an anti-satellite missile.

Pakistan has stressed that there is a need to address the gaps in the international space laws with a view to ensuring that no one threatens peaceful activities and applications of space technologies for socio-economic development.

“We hope that countries which have in the past strongly condemned demonstration of similar capabilities by others will be prepared to work towards developing international instruments to prevent military threats relating to outer space,” the press release added.

“Boasting of such capabilities is reminiscent of Don Quixote's tilting against windmills,” it further read.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/232330-pakistan-is-against-arms-race-in-space-fo

why you are giving Modi compliment for this achievement? did Modi started this program after coming in power? if yes then it make sense to give compliments to Modi otherwise no. And its impossible that ISRO start working on this after Modi come into power. These types of things takes years to complete with lot of testing.
Logic and facts don't exist in Feku bhakts' world. They live in alternate reality.

Lets appreciate those who worked hard on this rather than the guy who just wants his face in front of every good thing coming out of India. :inti

I have serious doubt about Modi government dropping flying object with Indian weaponry.

And y'all can understand why anyone would doubt it ;)

Jokes aside, it is an accomplishment, and elected radicalized extremists hindu nutter is no one to claim credit for this

Logic and facts don't exist in Feku bhakts' world. They live in alternate reality.

On side note, does Hindi not have the 'Ph' sound? Why you saying feku instead of pheku :uakmal

Lets appreciate those who worked hard on this rather than the guy who just wants his face in front of every good thing coming out of India. :inti

Quite rich of Modi to be the face of the hardwork of engineers and scientists who might have been working on this long before Modi took charge. Chowkidaar mentality.

People should not be happy about the weaponisation of space regardless of being an Indian. I am afraid this will trigger an Indo-Pak space arms race. If Pakistan feels threatened it will somehow, someway obtain a counter as has been the case before. A fight involving space can have devastating consequences. Humans all over the world should be pushing for the de-weaponizing of space.

Dnt be judgemental man. Show some tolerance at least.
By your logic every modi supporter, huge number, beat innocent people while other all are angles.

Oh please stop crying. If he is going to ask like a local gunda 'haan hu main modi bhakht kya ukhaad lega' he is going to get replies like these. These are the same people who beat people on the road. Stop trying to defend them and finish your plate of chole bhature. :inti

Do you also beat innocent muslims in India? Have you completed that course or is it still in progress? :inti

'Bhakt' is a term derived from Bhakti. In hinduism, we follow the path of Bhakti, Moksha and Karma. So if anyone calls me a Bhakt, I wear it as a badge of honour.

I find it nauseating if ANY innocent is beaten up. Not sure why you needed to play the Muslim card. If an innocent hindu or christian gets beaten up...I would be equally disgusted. So NO.... I don't believe in beating up any innocents lol.

BUT I ain't a Gandhian either where if someone slaps your right cheek...you offer the left.

'Bhakt' is a term derived from Bhakti. In hinduism, we follow the path of Bhakti, Moksha and Karma. So if anyone calls me a Bhakt, I wear it as a badge of honour.

I find it nauseating if ANY innocent is beaten up. Not sure why you needed to play the Muslim card. If an innocent hindu or christian gets beaten up...I would be equally disgusted. So NO.... I don't believe in beating up any innocents lol.

BUT I ain't a Gandhian either where if someone slaps your right cheek...you offer the left.

Lol the only path you follow is the path of nautanki. You should stay away from heavy terms like Moksha, Bhakti and Karma. It is not your cup of tea :inti

Hmm i also dnt think credit should be given to modi for this.
But let us play a game. Let us suppose if tomorrow I go to market and beat an innocent Muslim. So blame will go to modi Or not???

So if my nalayki credit goes to some one then some one intelligence credit will also go to that person. Isn't it?
[MENTION=132715]Varun[/MENTION] may also answer this or anyone.