TM Riddle
RAJPUT aa rahein hai.
Looks great. I think Ranveer singh is looking menacing.
Werent you against its release though?
Glad they took you guys into confidence before moving further with it.We were.Director has removed the objectionable scenes involving Ranvir and Deepika romancing.
Looks fine now.And yes Ranvir as Alauddin Khilji looks downright scary.
Movies based on castes or religions should not be made in a country like india. Enough of caste system already exists.
i know its a movie and its might reflect the reality. But still present generation gives preferance to their castes and all.
We are pandits , we are rajputs or we are khatris or baniyas........Bull ****.....
Movies based on castes or religions should not be made in a country like india. Enough of caste system already exists.
i know its a movie and its might reflect the reality. But still present generation gives preferance to their castes and all.
We are pandits , we are rajputs or we are khatris or baniyas........Bull ****.....
Yes, we should all forget our past and take up state sanctioned identities so that some day we could be absorbed by other religions.
Bollywood has gone backward to it's third class black and white scenarios ,it only looked good when Dharmendra played Jatt or Rajput , anyone else doing it looks cringe worthy not to forget caste glorifying in this era is downright pathetic,worst trailer.
Yes, historical events shouldn't be shown so that those who have no history or have a cowardly history don't feel offended.
Bollywood has gone backward to it's third class black and white scenarios ,it only looked good when Dharmendra played Jatt or Rajput , anyone else doing it looks cringe worthy not to forget caste glorifying in this era is downright pathetic,worst trailer.
Who is saying not to be shown,Rajputs are against freedom I'm ok if they even took Sunny Leone to play Jhansi Rani. I'm obviously going to criticize it and waste e-space on the same.
What about hollywood when they glorify barbarians of ancient or medieval times?
I am saying it, that such movies shouldn't be shown. Instead we should show the history of immigrants so that people understand the pain of moving from one place to another and sympathize with them.
I get that in the narrative Khilji is meant to be the 'villain', but why make him so....clownish and OTT. In reality, things are not always so clear cut. Yes Khilji was an invading marauder...but that does not necessarily make him evil.
In any event, the movie will be standard Bhansali fare - nice sets and scenery...period romance....but little attention to the actual script, despite the plot and storyline being handed to him on a plate. Ohh...and after the movie people will fawn over Deepika and Ranveer Singh. Same **** since Ram Leela.
- This lady never existed.
- Alloudin married Kamladevi (she was the ex wife of the "king" of Gujrat )
Indian film makers should stick to Asoka.
Not everything is written on wikipedia bro. The local people might know more about them than google.
Bro, almost 702 years passed after allauddin passed away. Forgove me, if I am little skeptical about locals.
All historians consider this tale as fiction, however who can resist a good story, esp when there is a talking parrot in it.
) carry on with it.[MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION]
I was wondering why I wasn't hearing anything from you regarding this ... Had Bhansali shown some sort of rough cut to the community with the romance angle removed /
One thing I hate about Indian period epics is that they male most of the characters on dimensional and Back - WHite . Many of the more controversial / twisted elemets of their behaviour is usually covered up, especially w.r.t their personal life.
Didn't Khilji (supposedly) have a gay lover ? Is that being shown ?
Ok bro.) carry on with it.
Carry on with other??
PP's own Rajput karni sena member TM Riddle will slaughter you for your comments about Rani Padmini.![]()
Oldest available report about the lady:
(from wiki)
Padmavati was the daughter of Gandharv Sen, the king of the Singhal kingdom (Sri lanka). She became close friends with a talking parrot named Hiraman. Her father resented the parrot's closeness to his daughter, and ordered the bird to be killed. The parrot flew away to save its life, but was trapped by a bird catcher, and sold to a Brahmin. The Brahmin bought it to Chittor, where the local king Ratan Sen purchased it, impressed by its ability to talk.[7]
The parrot greatly praised Padmavati's beauty in front of Ratan Sen, who became determined to marry Padmavati. Guided by the parrot and accompanied by his 16,000 followers, Ratan Sen reached Singhal after crossing the seven seas. There, he commenced austerities in a temple to seek Padmavati. Meanwhile, Padmavati came to the temple, informed by the parrot, but quickly returned to her palace without meeting Ratan Sen. Once she reached the palace, she started longing for Ratan Sen.[7]
I really hope to see Hiraman in the movie.
suriya :Its a period movie based on historical facts.I dont see anyone raising similar hue and cry over hollywood films with similar themes.
Its only Indians or more specefically hindus who have problems depicting their past as it might ''hurt' a few feelings.
I have no idea about Padmavati story, but surprised that she is a Sri Lankan![]()
suriya :
Aren't you surprised about her father's order about taking parrot?

I get that in the narrative Khilji is meant to be the 'villain', but why make him so....clownish and OTT. In reality, things are not always so clear cut. Yes Khilji was an invading marauder...but that does not necessarily make him evil.
In any event, the movie will be standard Bhansali fare - nice sets and scenery...period romance....but little attention to the actual script, despite the plot and storyline being handed to him on a plate. Ohh...and after the movie people will fawn over Deepika and Ranveer Singh. Same **** since Ram Leela.
Ranveer's expressions could have been better.
<del>Bro</del> Sis, almost 702 years passed after allauddin passed away. Forgove me, if I am little skeptical about locals.
All historians consider this tale as fiction, however who can resist a good story, esp when there is a talking parrot in it.

It doesnt hurt any one feelings ...Dnt worry i am not specifically talking only about this one. I am talking about in general. yes hollywood movies also made, but you dnt see hue and cry when people doesnt agree with some scenes.
i have seen people glorifying their castes on the backside of their cars , vehicles with stupid things written. We are this , we are that..There are many other examples as well.
....Historical facts are good , but i expect maturity from current generation.
Lol you expect too much India is still a very diverse society as a whole people are still not over castes, religion and the next generation would also be the same.. Will take at least 50 years to move over caste based identities..
Rajputs are seriously cool.
We need more movies like these.
Hoping this turns out to be a great movie.
Bhut suffer kiya hai bhai hajaaro saalo se....nahi jhel hota or.....Infact i know this is only movie and true story and we should appreciate our heroes, nothing wrong in that.
I was just talking in general . May be i am not able to put my point of view on this topic in a better way.
My ex g.f is rajput and i am khatri . Though not much difference . Same religion, same punjabi culture, . we both are engineers and educated.
She have to now marry someone from her castes because her family also thinks that only rajputs are cool.
i am just giving you practical examples. i know all people are not same.
we need movies like unity. we need movies like which unite our hinduism.
its not like i suffered , so only i am talking.
And by the way i am not much against this movie. But we are illiterate uneducated people in india, who only have degrees , so we dnt take a movie as a movie.
If only 1 thing i like about RSS is that they dnt believe in castes . And 1 thing i like about mughals is that they did the right thing by conquering us. it was our only mistakes.
Movies won't be able to solve this difference of the divide, India was never supposed to be one country I have absolutely no relation or anything in common with someone from south India apart from the fact our ancestors were both ruled by British..
The caste system will continue to stay here, I have seen people who feel superior to hide their inpotenices by hiding behind their castes.. The upbringing of I would say majority of kids still is based on caste if you know what I mean..
My ex g.f is rajput and i am khatri . Though not much difference . Same religion, same punjabi culture, . we both are engineers and educated.
She have to now marry someone from her castes because her family also thinks that only rajputs are cool.
i am just giving you practical examples. i know all people are not same.
we need movies like unity. we need movies like which unite our hinduism.
its not like i suffered , so only i am talking.
And by the way i am not much against this movie. But we are illiterate uneducated people in india, who only have degrees , so we dnt take a movie as a movie.
If only 1 thing i like about RSS is that they dnt believe in castes . And 1 thing i like about mughals is that they did the right thing by conquering us. it was our only mistakes.
People should do away with religion too..because my ex had to marry someone christian because her family thought they are cool.
i know movies wont be able to solve that much.But bollywood does impact some idiots so who knows...
A good governance can solve any problem. one thing is you cant keep all communities , all the people happy in a country like india which is so diverse.
But atleast should take logical and rational decisions and that's the only way to go. Enough of this ,freedom to all dramas..
i can say many things that i observe. but yes you are right that for peace of mind , sometimes you need to only mind your own business.
Not watching this unless the GOAT SRK is in it
No one is gloryfying caste here.Kshatriyas of Chittor (Rajputs of today) in 14th century martyred fighting Alauddin Khilji(A remarkable general and even a better administrator) and bollywood is making a movie on it.Calm down.The sort of things that are shown here exactly happened at that time (with a couple of exceptions of course) , no need to get your dhoti in a twist.No harm in hindus taking pride in their history once in a whhile.Though I know it doesnt agree with your viewpoint of hindus being all diplomatic and politically correct but thankfully the rest of the population doesnt think that way.Bollywood has gone backward to it's third class black and white scenarios ,it only looked good when Dharmendra played Jatt or Rajput , anyone else doing it looks cringe worthy not to forget caste glorifying in this era is downright pathetic,worst trailer.
I would write a letter to Bhansali and Co next time to ask them to produce better aesthetically pleasing movies so as to satisfy niche audiences like you who like to whine and complain at every oppurtunity about how world is such an unfair place.Hollywood is down too,but their TV shows are remarkable, don't think I have watched a Hollywood movie in a while,I do watch Indie or small town Bollywood movies though.
Come on BZ even you know that its a completely fabricated story embellished with ridiculous stuff such as these.Nothing to be taken seriously.Oldest available report about the lady:
(from wiki)
Padmavati was the daughter of Gandharv Sen, the king of the Singhal kingdom (Sri lanka). She became close friends with a talking parrot named Hiraman. Her father resented the parrot's closeness to his daughter, and ordered the bird to be killed. The parrot flew away to save its life, but was trapped by a bird catcher, and sold to a Brahmin. The Brahmin bought it to Chittor, where the local king Ratan Sen purchased it, impressed by its ability to talk.[7]
The parrot greatly praised Padmavati's beauty in front of Ratan Sen, who became determined to marry Padmavati. Guided by the parrot and accompanied by his 16,000 followers, Ratan Sen reached Singhal after crossing the seven seas. There, he commenced austerities in a temple to seek Padmavati. Meanwhile, Padmavati came to the temple, informed by the parrot, but quickly returned to her palace without meeting Ratan Sen. Once she reached the palace, she started longing for Ratan Sen.[7]
I really hope to see Hiraman in the movie.
Highly doubt it.i dont think they allowed shooting inside Chittor fort.I have been inside it a many times and interiors dont look a bit like it.Probably some other one.[MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION], Is that Chittor fort shown in the beginning?
You are probably right.Bhansali isnt exactly known for his creative genius and at best this movie would be another Bajirao Mastani.Though I would love to be proven wrong since I m gonna watch it in theatres.I get that in the narrative Khilji is meant to be the 'villain', but why make him so....clownish and OTT. In reality, things are not always so clear cut. Yes Khilji was an invading marauder...but that does not necessarily make him evil.
Bhansali wrote a letter to Karni Sena and have promised to show the movie before release to Mewar Royal family so as to allay any doubts and rumors regarding the objectionable scenes between Khilji and Padmini.[MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION]
I was wondering why I wasn't hearing anything from you regarding this ... Had Bhansali shown some sort of rough cut to the community with the romance angle removed /
One thing I hate about Indian period epics is that they male most of the characters on dimensional and Back - WHite . Many of the more controversial / twisted elemets of their behaviour is usually covered up, especially w.r.t their personal life.
Didn't Khilji (supposedly) have a gay lover ? Is that being shown ?
Oh she most def existed.Although the story of Alauddin falling for her is certainly fake.He wanted to conquer Chittor because it was one of the most powerful kingdoms of north and not just because he had his heart stolen by someone who he never laid his eyes upon.- This lady never existed.
- Alloudin married Kamladevi (she was the ex wife of the "king" of Gujrat )
Indian film makers should stick to Asoka.
[MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION], Is that Chittor fort shown in the beginning?
Bhansali wrote a letter to Karni Sena and have promised to show the movie before release to Mewar Royal family so as to allay any doubts and rumors regarding the objectionable scenes between Khilji and Padmini.
I agree with you on Black and White Thing.Despite my intense hatred for Khilji , he was a great administrator as well as a ruthless military commander quite contrary to how he is shown in the movie.
Yes the person you are talking about was Malik Kafur.A slave who rose through ranks to become a general in Alauddin's army and was rumored to be his secret lover.Coincidentally he is said to extinguish many a great houses of South including the famous Kakatiya.
The Kakatiya were one of the few royalties of south India, who identified as "Shudra" . But back then then the system was fluid enough to let them attain positions of power.
What about the article posted by someone here saying Padma was a ceylon princess ..? Is that the accepted version ?
Yes, we should all forget our past and take up state sanctioned identities so that some day we could be absorbed by other religions.
I am saying it, that such movies shouldn't be shown. Instead we should show the history of immigrants so that people understand the pain of moving from one place to another and sympathize with them.

No one is gloryfying caste here.Kshatriyas of Chittor (Rajputs of today) in 14th century martyred fighting Alauddin Khilji(A remarkable general and even a better administrator) and bollywood is making a movie on it.Calm down.The sort of things that are shown here exactly happened at that time (with a couple of exceptions of course) , no need to get your dhoti in a twist.No harm in hindus taking pride in their history once in a whhile.Though I know it doesnt agree with your viewpoint of hindus being all diplomatic and politically correct but thankfully the rest of the population doesnt think that way.
Oh and I bet you would have been rejoicing in joy had the protaganist been a Dalit fighting evil Moslems.
I would write a letter to Bhansali and Co next time to ask them to produce better aesthetically pleasing movies so as to satisfy niche audiences like you who like to whine and complain at every oppurtunity about how world is such an unfair place.
Bollywood has gone backward to it's third class black and white scenarios.......pathetic,worst trailer.

The only historical movie that was any good from the last 10 years or so of Bollywood was Jodhaa Akbar. Aishwarya was surprisingly good in it and Hrithik as always in a movie with some character was brilliant. But it too succumbed to religious nonsense in overrating Mr Akbar's benevolence to Hindus and more importantly his Hindu 'influence'. There was also some ridiculous scene there where he's sick and Jodhaa is praying to Krishna and that's when Akbar gets better or something.
Calm down sweetheart.As I said in posts above,Bhansali can make what he wants show Sonia Gandhi as mother Terressa or whatever, I'll have the right to criticize what he makes esp if glorifying caste.
Hindus taking pride in a film?IF that's how pride comes up then good for em,getting hurt over films and creating ruckus will come along with it,if Rajputs really had pride in themselves,they wouldn't care what Bhansali makes,and just go about their business,because surely Rajputoon ki shaan is above a film made by an overrated director.
Calm down sweetheart.
Its just a movie.You don't wanna watch it , its completely fine.Not all of us have such a refined taste in films as elites like you .
Take your hatred elsewhere and vent it out on some other issue.
Good day.
Dunno why you guys getting all uptight and sentimental.
At least watch the movie first before passing judgements.
Though I agree Bhansali had a pretty poor record in the past when it comes to historical dramas.Let's hope we are lucky this time around.
When I met Irfan Habib sb, he told me there is no such Jodha in history and compared her to Anarkali, who doesn't exist either.

Dunno why you guys getting all uptight and sentimental.
At least watch the movie first before passing judgements.
Though I agree Bhansali had a pretty poor record in the past when it comes to historical dramas.Let's hope we are lucky this time around.
Lol the hypocrisy is alarming, weren't you the one who was supporting all those cowards who went and beat up an old man while he was doing his job? At that time you didn't say "watch the movie first before passing judgements"..
I was actually one of those guys.
Earlier the problem was regarding a romantic dream scene shot between Ranvir and Deepika.I wasn't passing any judgment per se.
I was actually one of those guys.
Earlier the problem was regarding a romantic dream scene shot between Ranvir and Deepika.I wasn't passing any judgment per se.
Can anybody give brief summary of the story.... I don't watch Indian movies. Sorry.... but the trailer looks amazing.
[MENTION=42489]Black Zero[/MENTION] The first Johar of Chittor is a historical fact agreed upon by most of the historians.
Padmani and not Padmavati did exist and performed the Johar , there is ample evidence in Mewar archives to support it.
You copy pasting a few TOI articles won't change a thing.
Padmini, also known as Padmavati, never existed.
Actually it's my desire not to change anything...and facts should remain facts. And that's the reason historians reject the historcity of this lady.