[VIDEO/PICTURES] Mohammed Hafeez announces retirement from Test cricket

They should open with Imam-Azhar. And play Fakhar at 6 for quick runs. Babr can bat 5 with Shafiq 4.

Not sold on Imam. He is a good pressure play with a sharp mind but nothing special other than that.
He is lose outside the off-stump and susceptible to nicking regularly.

I would open with Azhar and Abid with Fakhar at 6.

Hafeez should have retired after the England tour in 2016, and to all intents and purposes he probably had tacitly given that he hadn't played a test in the two years till this fall. The team panicked after the Asia Cup debacle and recalled him.

I actually think Hafeez has been our best opener since Saeed Anwar retired, and his record bears that out. His 151 against England at Sharjah three years ago was a wonderful innings and won that series for us, I don't think any other Pakistani opener could have played in that manner. It's not his fault that all the other pretenders were woefully incompetent.

I think Taufeeq was the best Test opener since Saeed Anwar, but yes Hafeez was good in Asia. Whenever he scored big he did so at a good rate, which is a rarity for our batsmen.

Certainly an impactful player in Asia. However, the consistent failures overseas overshadowed his record in the UAE.

Not sold on Imam. He is a good pressure play with a sharp mind but nothing special other than that.
He is lose outside the off-stump and susceptible to nicking regularly.

I would open with Azhar and Abid with Fakhar at 6.

Is Abid any decent against bounce and swing? That will be the main issue in SA. Not sure if he has faced this kind of bowling in Pak domestic. Maybe in northern Punjab.

I think Taufeeq was the best Test opener since Saeed Anwar, but yes Hafeez was good in Asia. Whenever he scored big he did so at a good rate, which is a rarity for our batsmen.

Certainly an impactful player in Asia. However, the consistent failures overseas overshadowed his record in the UAE.

Yes. I can never understand why fans become so disgruntled with a guy the way they did with Hafeez. Its like the guy could never please anyone. He would score runs freely in Asia but people were always waiting for him to fail on overseas tours or against very strong bowling attacks and every good thing he did was instantly forgotten. The guy isnt a cheat, isnt a fraud or a lier like many before him! He was banned as a bowler and did what he must to come back and bowl again! Has always played with honour and respect for his country and always put in the hard yards at training. Technically one of the most delightful stroke makers I have seen wearing the green shirt!

Its a real shame that I am reading some very insulting and discrediting posts by people, because mark my words Pakistan may produce guys who can score big and accumulate runs for a while, but it really is a sad day to lose a batsman with a work ethic like this man.

End of an era, respect. Befitting as well - Bradman’s career ended with a duck in last Test, while Sober’s last international innings was also a duck.

Good luck to Mohammad Hafeez in his next mission of playing for PAK in 2023 WC; then may be a coaching job for PCT.

PS: I’ll take back my good luck if he unretires after the immediate danger is avoided - a 3 Test tour of SAF. Ul Haq definitely would have picked him.

Is Abid any decent against bounce and swing? That will be the main issue in SA. Not sure if he has faced this kind of bowling in Pak domestic. Maybe in northern Punjab.

He played for Islamabad for 3 seasons.
Islamabad's diamond ground has green and paciest wicket in Pakistan with good bounce.

I saw him once and the defensive technique looked decent unlike Shan etc. He is our best bet from the available options as an opener. Plus he is a makeshift wicket-keeper so we wont need another wicket keeper in squad too.

Yes. I can never understand why fans become so disgruntled with a guy the way they did with Hafeez. Its like the guy could never please anyone. He would score runs freely in Asia but people were always waiting for him to fail on overseas tours or against very strong bowling attacks and every good thing he did was instantly forgotten. The guy isnt a cheat, isnt a fraud or a lier like many before him! He was banned as a bowler and did what he must to come back and bowl again! Has always played with honour and respect for his country and always put in the hard yards at training. Technically one of the most delightful stroke makers I have seen wearing the green shirt!

Its a real shame that I am reading some very insulting and discrediting posts by people, because mark my words Pakistan may produce guys who can score big and accumulate runs for a while, but it really is a sad day to lose a batsman with a work ethic like this man.

Agree with everything you’ve said about his character, work ethic and even his batting qualities but his problem has always been consistency

A very good batsman in Asian wickets. His recent form showed he was finished as he usually would score freely at home.

Taufeeq is a strange one, he was very good circa 2002-03 but I feel he didn't really progress. I remember him scoring a good hundred at Newlands against Ntini and Pollock. Sadly his form fell off a cliff afterwards till he was recalled when Misbah got the captaincy. I think Hafeez's overall record in Asia shades it, but fair cop.

Nice one Hafeez!!!! so called "blessed to play all formats" guy running away from SA tour. He would have been the opener has he not announced his retirement. He knows that and decided to call it a day as he knows SA bowlers are waiting for the feast.. Had he announced that SA 'll be his last test cricket and he wants to perform there and make Pakistan win but no, that's not in the culture.. :misbah3

These Senior characters make me sick... they will start running their mouths if kicked out from team but these seniors can smartly runaway from the team when needed. Now we 'll introduce a young kid in front of Rabada/Styn/Philander he won't perform and his confidence 'll be blown away.

Nice one Hafeez!!!! so called "blessed to play all formats" guy running away from SA tour. He would have been the opener has he not announced his retirement. He knows that and decided to call it a day as he knows SA bowlers are waiting for the feast.. Had he announced that SA 'll be his last test cricket and he wants to perform there and make Pakistan win but no, that's not in the culture.. :misbah3

These Senior characters make me sick... they will start running their mouths if kicked out from team but these seniors can smartly runaway from the team when needed. Now we 'll introduce a young kid in front of Rabada/Styn/Philander he won't perform and his confidence 'll be blown away.

He continues playing you will have a problem. He leaves, you still have a problem. How will you or his haters be satisfied with him?

Smart guy. With this retirement he has ensured that there will be no more talk about his poor form in test cricket as that could have even played a part in losing place in limited cricket. Now, post NZ test match, there will be no discussion on hafeez's performance.

He continues playing you will have a problem. He leaves, you still have a problem. How will you or his haters be satisfied with him?

When you put team first then yourself, Hafeez leached onto the team for so long made his contribution mainly due to his bowling, noone questioned him as his bowling was brilliant but he never was an opener. He was a #6,7 who can give you quick 20-30 or sometimes big, that was his level. He got exposed when his bowling came into question, even Mickey said to make his place he needs to get his action cleared. Why he didn't continue to get selected while he was banned???? Because he never was a 100% batsmen.

Culture which is getting developed in pak cricket is if you are shaky in batting all of sudden start bowling medium or spin get couple of decent overs and call yourself allrounder. Hafeez has cost pakistan many games, as an opener you have added responsibility which he never performed to that level. Now fans like to see a 50 or 100 once in blue moon and jump up and down.

This is the reason we are at the bottom of the Rankings too many bits n pieces players... continue to the same hafeez trend is following Imad, Nawaz, Shadab to name a few. Unfortunately fans don't see that far but eventually these bits n pieces cricketers cost you games and then rankings..

This test was make or break for him, his failure in the first innings meant break so I doubt he would have been selected for the SAF tour. Instead of being dropped he has been allowed to make it look like he is leaving on his on his terms because of the respect he has gained over his career.

Feel Sad, I wish he could have scored a century against Steyn in South Africa and then retired

Just out of interest, how does he fit into a fully fit ODI team? I feel like the places are fairly settled.

Remember, this is the realistic line up for the next ODI we play, not what I want.

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Haris
Malik
Sarfaraz
Shadab
Imad/ Fahim
Hasan
Afridi
Amir/Junaid etc

They can't drop Haris after his recent performance and I don't think they will drop Malik. How does he fit into the world cup team? And hes competing with Rizwan and Asif Ali for a slot in the middle order. They might slot him in as opener if Fakhar does not get fit in time or if Imam performs poorly.

Very selfish of him to retire after playing the best innings of the season (first Test, Australia) and knowing that regardless of his poor form, he can force his way back into the team because the hyped up youngsters who will replace him will inevitably fail, as we saw in the Asia Cup.

He simply cannot win. I have personally accepted the reality that he makes our team in all formats on batting merit. He is not a great player by any stretch, but he is more than decent for our pathetic standards.

He is the only opener we have who can score big at a fluent rate, and yes he was never going to do well in South Africa, which opener in the country today has the skill, confidence and temperament to handle Rabada, Steyn and Philander in South Africa?

I am indifferent towards his retirement because I don’t think it makes us any worse of better. With or without him, we are a mediocre, low ranked team and will remain so.

The series in South Africa will be a 3-0 whitewash regardless of which set of batsmen play. The myth that we are a better Test team without him will be busted just like in Limited Overs.

People should have enough nerve and respect to at least appreciate him for retiring when he could easily have forced his way back for the UAE/Asia Tests, because his replacement, some random batsman with a “talent spotter” thread on PP is unlikely to uproot any trees.

Same goes for Malik as well. He could easily have stretched his Test career in Asia for years. It may not be what we want to hear, but not everything that Hafeez and Malik do is selfish.

I personally respect him for making this call and not stretching his career further. Well done and let the detractors fume because their script of Hafeez forcing his way on the plane to South Africa has been derailed.

They were brushing themselves and doing bhangra over how Hafeez was going to fail in South Africa, and were coming up with fantasy dismissals, but he has proved to be a bigger and more dignified man than all of these little souls.

Well done on a respectable career. One of the most underrated Pakistani players in recent times, and has played some excellent knocks in Asian Tests. On his day, our best batsman in the UAE of his time (excluding Younis of course).
the last few lines :dw:dw.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">M extremely Satisfied & Proud to announce my retirement from Test cricket, It’s been incredible journey of my life.Would like to thank all who helped me in this beautiful journey of my test career.</p>— Mohammad Hafeez (@MHafeez22) <a href="https://twitter.com/MHafeez22/status/1069959832734593024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 4, 2018</a></blockquote>

Wow. Malik happened. He retired the same way after scoring double hundred.

Good for him and team. (He probably knew management will not play him in South Africa) so it was about time.

Malik retired after scoring a come back double hindered while this guy retired after leeching on was no longer possible. I observe a tons of difference in character.

Hafeez has never been a "very good batsmen" on any sort of wickets

Come on. Look Hafeez overall is not great but at home he did average in the high fourties. So he was a very good player in Asia. Just tailender esque in SENA.

You can say what you want, but I fail to see how this is a selfish decision.

He could have continued playing in the UAE for a couple of more years because Mickey and the PCB will not play hardball with him. They tried to do that in the Asia Cup and got owned.

Furthermore, his record as a batsman in the UAE is actually very good, and not many so-called young stalwarts are going to better his UAE numbers.

People are simply upset because they have been trolled by him yet again, because they did not expect him to retire even in their wildest dreams.

I'm sorry but Fakhar disagrees, if you think he was our greatest bat in the UAE after younis, Fakhars got to be our sachin in waiting.

All the best to him but to be honest he really shouldnt have made this comeback this winter

It was in the interests of all parties if he had retired months ago so we could bed a new opener in for the challenges that lay ahead

Hafeez, good luck in your future endeavours.

To those who would like Fakhar to bat at 6 in tests, he is the highest averaging opener in first Class cricket, has made his name opening the innings for Pakistan, and you would rather have him batting at 6???
The mind boggles

About time. Never ever did he have test match level ability.

He now has a year to reinvent his LOI game as a lower order finisher/hitter who can pitch in with 4-7 overs per game.

Remember when Malik announced his retirement after scoring a double century in the opening match in 2015 and Hafeez’s reaction to it?

That was NOT my reaction when I heard this news.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congrats on a fantastic career and and the achievements in Tests for our nation. It’s not easy brother, it’s like letting go of a part of yourself. You and your family should be very proud of yourself, we all are. Well done &#55357;&#56399;&#55356;&#57340; <a href="https://t.co/2q2rD1L4L3">https://t.co/2q2rD1L4L3</a></p>— Shoaib Malik &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@realshoaibmalik) <a href="https://twitter.com/realshoaibmalik/status/1069991698258948099?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 4, 2018</a></blockquote>

5 years to late. Should have retired after Steyn exposed him on our last SA tour. He did play some good knocks in Asia but outside of his comfort zone he was rubbish. Should never have gotten so many tests. Thankfully we can move on in tests at least, hopefully his LO career ends soon although I have a horrible feeling it won’t end for a while.

Also, I can only laugh at people suggesting that he retired today in order to divert the attention from the series.

Hello, we are not playing a World Cup here. It is a series between the 4th and the 6th ranked teams played in front of 15 people and 5 crows.

LOL hahhahahah so funny man. Love your comments Mamoon seriously. Always look for your comments, so sarcastic amd always cause a debate!! Love it bro

About time...he was the best when in motion, more shots than anyone over the last years...yes including YK and Misbah.

One major flaw with him...he, just like a TP, always wanted to open...some people just aren't cut out for that role?

I'm dissapointed and sad he didnt drop the order he "could have been a contender than just a b$&?...he could have had more than half a career he ended up with.

He's still fine/ideal for Odis and T20..where he had his nadir in last Champs trophy...

...Good luck in England 2019!

Think Hafeez knew before this test that he was not making it to the SA series. With Fakhar back and Imam the chosen one, it was difficult for him to see a place in the side. Doesn't really matter though tbh, although it was frustrating to see a 15-year career player be so inconsistent throughout his career. Whoever replaces him won't drastically change the fortunes of the team though.

Thank you Hafeez for the few memories you did manage to give us. From that vital 151 against England, to the joke you made out of yourself against Steyn, your career had pretty much everything. Now let's hope you let go of your ego and agree to play for Pakistan in the middle/lower order at the WC.

Never rated him

Over performed his whole career
Should have retired years ago

I’m sure Mickey will miss him
Nice man to have around

It is easier and more convenient to call me an attention-seeker instead of critiquing what I said, point by point. I do not blame you for taking the easy route.

There are others here who would take the bait and give you that much desired attention, not me.

aap bhi kabhi easy route le lein bhai. Har waqt keera kerna zaroori hai? :)))

Announcing retirement mid test is weird but I am happy

No, it's not wired - it's tactically correct decision. Since Taylor accused him for chucking, he hasn't bowled much, therefore it has to be his batting - MoHa can't take the risk on one more innings before SAF ODI series. Now, his pet media will blow his trumpet and help Ul Haq to do his job smoothly.

Another single digit score in 2nd innings, this guy won't be even layek to retire - now he can say, I left with head high at my time........

He will be missed. A very underrated player whose absence will be felt when he is no longer there.

I guess he realised the end was nigh and it’s better to jump rather than be pushed

After all his recent failures he probably wouldn’t have made the trip to South Africa and even if he did he would’ve been exposed there

I guess he realised the end was nigh and it’s better to jump rather than be pushed

After all his recent failures he probably wouldn’t have made the trip to South Africa and even if he did he would’ve been exposed there

I think most of our batsmen will be exposed in South Africa. At 38 years it is time for him to leave the party having made his contribution to Pak Cricket over the years.

Very selfish of him to retire after playing the best innings of the season (first Test, Australia) and knowing that regardless of his poor form, he can force his way back into the team because the hyped up youngsters who will replace him will inevitably fail, as we saw in the Asia Cup.

He simply cannot win. I have personally accepted the reality that he makes our team in all formats on batting merit. He is not a great player by any stretch, but he is more than decent for our pathetic standards.

He is the only opener we have who can score big at a fluent rate, and yes he was never going to do well in South Africa, which opener in the country today has the skill, confidence and temperament to handle Rabada, Steyn and Philander in South Africa?

I am indifferent towards his retirement because I don’t think it makes us any worse of better. With or without him, we are a mediocre, low ranked team and will remain so.

The series in South Africa will be a 3-0 whitewash regardless of which set of batsmen play. The myth that we are a better Test team without him will be busted just like in Limited Overs.

People should have enough nerve and respect to at least appreciate him for retiring when he could easily have forced his way back for the UAE/Asia Tests, because his replacement, some random batsman with a “talent spotter” thread on PP is unlikely to uproot any trees.

Same goes for Malik as well. He could easily have stretched his Test career in Asia for years. It may not be what we want to hear, but not everything that Hafeez and Malik do is selfish.

I personally respect him for making this call and not stretching his career further. Well done and let the detractors fume because their script of Hafeez forcing his way on the plane to South Africa has been derailed.

They were brushing themselves and doing bhangra over how Hafeez was going to fail in South Africa, and were coming up with fantasy dismissals, but he has proved to be a bigger and more dignified man than all of these little souls.

Well done on a respectable career. One of the most underrated Pakistani players in recent times, and has played some excellent knocks in Asian Tests. On his day, our best batsman in the UAE of his time (excluding Younis of course).

With the greatest respect Mamoon brother, you've lost the plot here.

"Well done and let the detractors fume because their script of Hafeez forcing his way on the plane to South Africa has been derailed.

"

No one wanted him to be seen in the upcoming SA tour, it's been nothing but torture for us all. What was the need to lie here? This isn't a rhetorical question.

If you're going to make things up then you'll be called an attention seeker by sections of this forum because it is baffling to come up with such nonsense. We all make posts in jest but this is drivel my friend.

Again no disrespect but this is Worst Post of the Week for me.

Honestly is clever at playing the media game

What was an abject performance and an upcoming obliteration by Steyn has turned into a nice farewell party

Meanwhile the team just wasted two home series on a coward.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations on your outstanding career, you’ve been a wonderful ambassador of the game and to your country. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/topclass?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#topclass</a></p>— Tom Moody (@TomMoodyCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/TomMoodyCricket/status/1070103554709319681?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 4, 2018</a></blockquote>

:13:

One legend retires, but another legend comes back! Welcome back to posting!

Let's see what Hafeez does with the bat tomorrow.

Thanks.
Regarding his final innings, I'm keeping expectations low since it's a pressure situation. :moha

Pictures of guard of honour before start of the day's play today

WhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.35.jpgWhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.47.jpgWhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.46.jpgWhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.43.jpgWhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.42.jpgWhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.41.jpgWhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.39.jpgWhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.38.jpgWhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.37.jpgWhatsApp Image 2018-12-07 at 09.15.48.jpg

Hafeez would want to go down as a hero, so my guess is he will play attacking cricket today. It means a wicket in first 5-6 overs, or Pakistan reaching 25-30 in first 6 overs.