[VIDEO] University of Lahore expels 2 students after an on campus marriage proposal!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/3tulgx" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

A video of a female student proposing to her university mate within the University of Lahore premises has taken Twitter by storm.

The viral footage shows the woman with her right knee bent, a bouquet of roses in her hand, proposing to an elated man, who hugs her afterwards.

The unusual and bold move by the woman to initiate the proposal drew a large crowd that applauded and cheered the couple on, amid the movie-like scene.

Varsity's notice to both students
The proposal, however, did not sit well with the University of Lahore.

The varsity issued a letter on Friday in which it said the disciplinary committee has decided to expel the students.

"A meeting of the Special Disciplinary Committee was held on 12-3-2021 at 10:30am in the Office of the Rector," reads the notification.

It said that the two students "were involved in gross misconduct and violation of University rules", adding that they were summoned before the committee but "failed to appear".

The order further stated that in pursuance of Section 9 of the General Discipline and Code of Conduct on the Campus, the committee has decided to expel the two students for violating the varsity's rules and regulations and "serious infraction of the code of conduct".

"Furthermore, as per Section 16 [...] they are debarred from entering the premises of University of Lahore and all its sub-campuses."

Reactions

While most reactions on Twitter to the proposal and the subsequent action by the varsity range are unkind or inflammatory, some chuckle-inducing posts did emerge from the incident.

One user posted a meme on behalf of UOL students saying "Ab underground hone ka samay aa gaya hai (it is now time to go underground)".

Another shared a photo of Amitabh Bachan from the Bollywood movie "Mohabbatein" where he plays a varsity principal who is perceived by students to be an enemy of love.

"Presenting to you, the Principal of the University of Lahore," read the accompanying caption.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/339422-la...takes-twitter-by-storm-both-students-expelled

This is a testament of how extremist, narrow-minded and regressive Pakistan has become. People will garland you if you ask for bribes, murder your opponents, beat up your wife, abuse children or forcibly occupy lands. But, if you express love in public, sub ki ghairat jaag jati hai.

"they failed to appear to attend the disciplinary committee".... They have made their case weaker by this.

Universities should be seat of learning and its sanctity must be protected. Keep your courtships and your depravities out of the campus.

This is a testament of how extremist, narrow-minded and regressive Pakistan has become. People will garland you if you ask for bribes, murder your opponents, beat up your wife, abuse children or forcibly occupy lands. But, if you express love in public, sub ki ghairat jaag jati hai.

Do you wanna know the best part? The majority of Pakistanis on social media are vehemently supporting the university.

Don't know why ppl would be against a hug after a proposal in public.
This act does not go against Islam in any way.
It has triggered the society becuase it is against Pakistani culture

Universities should be seat of learning and its sanctity must be protected. Keep your courtships and your depravities out of the campus.

Then why do these universities hold so many social events and activities which have nothing to do with education?

It depends upon the culture and tradition. In Ukraine, we could smoke in front of the professors and even they offered cigarettes to us time to time if we get short.

But do it in an Indian university and you'll be expelled. There's no hard fast rule. If the society accepts it, go for it. If it doesn't, one should accept the outcome also.

Do you wanna know the best part? The majority of Pakistanis on social media are vehemently supporting the university.

Is pre marital relationship accepted in Islam?

Don't know what their relationship was. The fact they want to formally conduct marriage means they were going the right direction Islamically speaking.

There is nothing wrong with asking someone for marriage.

The same management that has expelled the couple are the same people who accept hefty bribes for admission to their university. Undisputed champions of hypocrisy we are!

It depends upon the culture and tradition. In Ukraine, we could smoke in front of the professors and even they offered cigarettes to us time to time if we get short.

But do it in an Indian university and you'll be expelled. There's no hard fast rule. If the society accepts it, go for it. If it doesn't, one should accept the outcome also.

If you put it that way, sure.
Its assuming they were aware of how taboo a public proposal is.

Expulsion is a pretty harsh punishment though.

Don't know what their relationship was. The fact they want to formally conduct marriage means they were going the right direction Islamically speaking.

There is nothing wrong with asking someone for marriage.

Non married hugging in a public place in a romantic way.... Is it according to Islamic law?

If you put it that way, sure.
Its assuming they were aware of how taboo a public proposal is.

Expulsion is a pretty harsh punishment though.

Unless they are some rich spoiled kids, every other kids know how the Desi society are. They wanted to publicize the event, and repercussions occurred.

They were not expelled immediately. They were asked to stand in front disciplinary committee. They were absent. Hence the harsh punishment. Had they appeared in front of the committee, they could have save themselves from the harsher punishment.

Pakistan seems to be a very modern secular country. Khullam Khulla Propose and Jhappiya maari ja rahi hai.

The same management that has expelled the couple are the same people who accept hefty bribes for admission to their university. Undisputed champions of hypocrisy we are!

Really you have some proof of that?

Social media has spoiled everything. This kind of thing would have gone under the radar when everything didn't have to be shared with the whole world.

Today, it becomes a tricky situation for everyone involved. If the university takes disciplinary action it comes across as intolerant, if it does nothing it hurts its reputation among the more conservative sections of society. This is a private university and it has to make sure it is not perceived as a place where more conservative parents would hesitate to send their children. So whether you agree with them or not, it is understandable why acted in the way they did.

Social media has spoiled everything. This kind of thing would have gone under the radar when everything didn't have to be shared with the whole world.

Today, it becomes a tricky situation for everyone involved. If the university takes disciplinary action it comes across as intolerant, if it does nothing it hurts its reputation among the more conservative sections of society. This is a private university and it has to make sure it is not perceived as a place where more conservative parents would hesitate to send their children. So whether you agree with them or not, it is understandable why acted in the way they did.

It also institutionalizes this type of authorative management. Eventually there will be a clash of students and management because students keep progressing but the management is stuck in a time warp.

To be fair, it is hard to blame the management when the students didn't appear in front of the disciplinary committee. They probably would have gotten away with some sort of a slap on the wrist instead of an expulsion. No private university likes to expel what are essentially paying customers.

However, I personally feel things will get better in the next decade or so. The generation that is currently heading educational institutes grew up in the pre-social media/internet era and is teaching students who are growing up in a completely different world. I feel the generation gap right now is much wider than what it was between me and my teachers when I was in college in the mid 2000's. Things will probably improve as slightly younger people start coming into senior positions.

As shocking as it may sound to some you have to respect the rules, for example criticising a gay person would be considered normal in pak India Asia if you done it in a western uni you would be expelled. Hugging or signs of affection are considered normal in most parts of world but in more religious countries you need to be careful.

To be fair, it is hard to blame the management when the students didn't appear in front of the disciplinary committee. They probably would have gotten away with some sort of a slap on the wrist instead of an expulsion. No private university likes to expel what are essentially paying customers.

However, I personally feel things will get better in the next decade or so. The generation that is currently heading educational institutes grew up in the pre-social media/internet era and is teaching students who are growing up in a completely different world. I feel the generation gap right now is much wider than what it was between me and my teachers when I was in college in the mid 2000's. Things will probably improve as slightly younger people start coming into senior positions.

What exactly they had to appear before disciplinary committee for ? Did they break any law or committed any crime by expressing love and commitment for each other ??

Hard to say without knowing the rules of this specific university. But most of our universities have rules against PDA. In my own university there was a rule that students couldn't wear t-shirts with any objectionable writing or graphics. This would be unthinkable in a western university but was pretty normal for us.

And if we are really looking for an excuse, the university could easily ask them to appear before the disciplinary committee for violating covid rules. They certainly ween't wearing masks or maintaining social distancing while hugging and kissing :p

As each year passes and I see more of our culture, I firmly believe that Mullahs know very little about Islam and modesty.

They are getting married, it is Sunnah and encouraged in Islam.

Stupid system. The good thing is this mentality is slowly dying out naturally.

Pakistani university expels students for 'hugging' and 'proposing' on campus

LAHORE: A top Pakistani university has expelled two students for hugging and proposing on campus, after a video of the incident went viral on social media.

A special disciplinary committee of the University of Lahore held a meeting on Friday and summoned the two students but they failed to appear.

The committee then decided to expel the boy and the girl and banned them from entering any of the university's campuses.

According to the University of Lahore, the two students were involved in gross misconduct and violation of university rules.

The students in question were summoned before the committee but failed to appear.

Thus, in pursuance of Section 9 of the General Discipline and Code of Conduct on the Campus, the committee has decided to expel the two students for violating the varsity's rules and regulations and serious infraction of the code of conduct.

Furthermore, as per Section 16, they are debarred from entering the premises of University of Lahore and all its sub-campuses," read a statement from the University of Lahore.

The video of the proposal took Twitter by storm, it was one of the top trends on social media last Thursday when the incident took place.

The viral footage shows the girl with her right knee bent on the ground, holding a bouquet of roses, proposing to the boy, who then takes the flowers and pulls the girl for a hug.

Nearby students are seen cheering them along.

As the footage went viral, the university took notice of it.

Expulsion of the couple drew mixed reactions on the internet.

A social media user posted the picture of Indian film legend Amitabh Bachchan from the movie "Mohabbatein" where he played a college principal who was against romance in college.

"Presenting to you, the Principal of the University of Lahore," read the caption with a photograph of Bachchan.

Slain prime minister of Pakistan Benazir Bhutto's daughter Bakhtawar Bhutto-Zardari termed the university action "ridiculous".

Former Test Cricketer Wasim Akram's wife Shaniera Akram said in a tweet: "Apply all the rules you want but you can't expel love! It's in our hearts, it's the best part about being young and it what makes life worth living! You learn more about love than you can ever learn at an institution."

https://www.newindianexpress.com/wo...-hugging-and-proposing-on-campus-2276201.html

Hard to say without knowing the rules of this specific university. But most of our universities have rules against PDA. In my own university there was a rule that students couldn't wear t-shirts with any objectionable writing or graphics. This would be unthinkable in a western university but was pretty normal for us.

And if we are really looking for an excuse, the university could easily ask them to appear before the disciplinary committee for violating covid rules. They certainly ween't wearing masks or maintaining social distancing while hugging and kissing :p

Not sure if you can really qualify this a PDA though.

Half my college would have been expelled if this was followed there.
Yeah same.most of my class in engineering college in Punjab would have been expelled, then we would have protested and do some road blockades, and then finally after lifting of expulsion do a mass bunk anyways.😂😂😂

As each year passes and I see more of our culture, I firmly believe that Mullahs know very little about Islam and modesty.

They are getting married, it is Sunnah and encouraged in Islam.

Stupid system. The good thing is this mentality is slowly dying out naturally.

Proposing on one knee in front of a crowd and then hugging it out is not sunnah and neither is it encouraged in Islam.

You cannot do this in Pakistan and get away with it. Good luck to this couple but they had it coming for playing with fire.

Look on one end I have no issues and I think no one should as well with the fact that the girl proposed to him and they were dating and what not. That's their personal thing. On the other end, why would you do this at a university? You could do it at a restaurant, at your house or even in the park. University is a place for education and not for these shenanigans.

I think expelling them is a bit too much but in all honesty both parties involved in the case are stupid.

Proposing on one knee in front of a crowd and then hugging it out is not sunnah and neither is it encouraged in Islam.

You cannot do this in Pakistan and get away with it. Good luck to this couple but they had it coming for playing with fire.

Actually, public proposals have occurred in different universities such as Central Punjab. I also remember some proposal videos a few years ago.

Nothing happened to those students.

This particular couple was just unlucky enough to catch the eye of their university's management and the wrath of the awaam.

In Pakistan most people will turn a blind eye to many grave sins that happen but will pick one minor incident and play the religion card as of its the first ever act commited that goes against Islam

Would love to see people raise their voice with the same enthusiasm against other non Islamic acts that happen every day in Pakistan.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Powerful! Expressive! Full of hope & love! More power to the youth! <a href="https://t.co/5X2HjkY6hQ">https://t.co/5X2HjkY6hQ</a></p>— Sharmila faruqi (@sharmilafaruqi) <a href="https://twitter.com/sharmilafaruqi/status/1370967877478662144?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 14, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I find it totally innocuous and very lovely. Didn't look like anything wrong happened otherwise other students who were recoding on their camera would have objected instead of cheering. Even if it were against some university rules, they should have been let off with some warning.
recall a similar incident in one school in UAE, two former students requested and got engaged. Had photoshoots splashed on the newspapers here. news was received very well.

Actually, public proposals have occurred in different universities such as Central Punjab. I also remember some proposal videos a few years ago.

This particular couple was just unlucky enough to catch the eye of their university's management and the wrath of the awaam.

The harsher punishment could be attributed to failure to attend to the disciplinary committee. You were given an opportunity to explain your action and how it isn't as what some people claiming it. But failure to attend will certainly attract punishment.

I mean I wouldn’t do this on a Pakistani campus because come on... it’s Pakistan, what are you thinking.

Expelling them is too much for sure. And then they ask why people , especially youths, move away from Pakistan. Yeah I wonder why :13:

I wonder if they would have been expelled if the guy proposed to the girl instead. Anyway, hope they both get a chance to study abroad so they can live and love without being scared.

In case you still haven’t figured it out he is trolling as usual.

Why can’t they just exchange phone numbers/email addresses and keep this stuff to the extent of texts or emails like the rest of us normal Pakistanis do before they wed.

This is not our religion nor culture.

They may have gotten away with it but it doesn’t mean that it a socially acceptable practice in Pakistani society.

Instead of calling them unlucky, I would say that those who got away with it got lucky while this couple got the result that you get for playing with fire.

More importantly, it is hilarious to see people like [MENTION=139649]WhenSultansBowled[/MENTION] giving lectures on sunnah and modesty when this boyfriend-girlfriend are doing public proposals and hugging it out in public. :91:

The irony is comical.

If they are doing public proposals and hugs, imagine what they do in private. This has nothing to do with Islam, sunnah and modesty; it is about what is acceptable in Pakistani society and what is not.

They should have realized that their actions will have ramifications and now they need to bear the consequences.

Never heard of a marriage proposal on campus, but giving roses and making bf/gf was pretty common in my college days. This was over 20 years ago.

Why can’t they just exchange phone numbers/email addresses and keep this stuff to the extent of texts or emails like the rest of us normal Pakistanis do before they wed.

This is not our religion nor culture.

Most Pakistani's don't want your backward religion or culture. Get over it. Not that I condone this action but I hate posts saying "this is not our culture'. What is our culture? Forcing a young girl to marry an old man who already has other wives? Forcing cousins to marry? Forcing people to marry who have not ever seen each other until the night of the marriage?

marriage which brings two families together is not culture, but test driving someone you may not even marry is culture? Don't know how such people face themselves in the mirror.

ISLAMABAD: Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry has opposed the University of Lahore's decision to expel two students after a recording of their public display of affection met a tirade of criticism on social media.

The minister’s reaction comes after a number of celebrities also voiced their opposition to the varsity’s decision on the matter, with many questioning why an expression of love had invited such an extreme reaction.

“Every girl has the right to marry of her own will. A marriage by choice is one of the central rights Islam gives to women,” the minister wrote on Twitter.

“The university administration should reconsider its decision. It is against [the teachings of] Islam to treat women as property," he added.

Read more: Lahore university proposal: Shaniera Akram, Shahbaz Gill oppose students' expulsion

Last week, a video of a female student 'proposing' to her university mate within the University of Lahore premises had sent the internet into a frenzy.

The viral clip showed the young woman on her knee presenting a bouquet of roses to an elated man, who accepted the gesture and reciprocated it by hugging her.

A large crowd, perhaps struck by the unusual site of a woman 'proposing' to a man, applauded and cheered the couple on.

The gesture, however, did not sit well with the University of Lahore.

The varsity issued a letter on Friday in which it said a disciplinary committee has decided to expel the students for violating the university's disciplinary policies.

However, a large number of prominent Twitter personalities questioned why the university felt compelled to take such an extreme step on what was described as a gesture of love, given how much hate and violence are already prevalent in society.

GEO

Most educated and decent Pakistanis do not want their daughters going around hugging men in public like that and getting it all on camera, ill tell you that..

and why does everything have to be about extremes? Just because I do not condone this action, does it mean I advocate arranged marriages with cousins and whatnot? That was an idiotic statement.

Great post, shame that the status quo bootlickers can't see your point.

marriage which brings two families together is not culture, but test driving someone you may not even marry is culture? Don't know how such people face themselves in the mirror.

Don't you think it is better to test drive and know how it feels like before you commit yourself for life?

As much as giving flowers in public is frowned upon in public, divorce due to incompatibility is even more frowned upon. Most couples live unhappy lives just for the sake of the society around them.

Don't you think it is better to test drive and know how it feels like before you commit yourself for life?

As much as giving flowers in public is frowned upon in public, divorce due to incompatibility is even more frowned upon. Most couples live unhappy lives just for the sake of the society around them.

Test driving shouldn't include anything physical. That should be reserved only for your life partner. And this is what separates humans from dogs.

Regardless of any rights or wrongs from university POV, feel sorry for the girl that she had to take things into her own hands because the young fellow was too lazy or cowardly to go down on one knee himself. I know it is a new age, but most girls would prefer the man to be the one proposing, just like they still like it if a gent holds a car door open or offers up a seat in a crowded train.

When Women demand equality, they should not expect special treatment. They do not deserve help unless they ask for it.

Ok (troo) Don Juan, back to the Islamic studies, think those subjects are more your line of specialty.

What is tro? I did not get it.

You seem to be an old fashioned man. No person deserves special treatment unless they have some disability or makes a special request. Its that simple.

Sad that they were expelled. The school would do better to expel the likely many cheaters, drug abusers, tableeghis who preach hatred on campus.

Im sure all of those would be expelled too if they break the laws of the campus.

Seems harsh but rules are rules, Unis are not nightclubs.

It must be embarrasing for a girl to propose to you on a knee. But surely the chap should have gone to the parents to request their daughters hand in marriage before accepting.

Forced marriages are wrong but I do like the Pakistani culture way of two people getting married with family blessings. Prob the reason why marriages in Pakistan last much longer than those in the west. The divorce rate in the UK was nearly 50% last I checked, you might as well not waste so much money on marriage if you can change your mind so easily.

What is tro? I did not get it.

You seem to be an old fashioned man. No person deserves special treatment unless they have some disability or makes a special request. Its that simple.

Of course you got it, that's why you went out of your way to misspell it because it obviously hit home. Bullseye.

Im sure all of those would be expelled too if they break the laws of the campus.

Seems harsh but rules are rules, Unis are not nightclubs.

It must be embarrasing for a girl to propose to you on a knee. But surely the chap should have gone to the parents to request their daughters hand in marriage before accepting.

Forced marriages are wrong but I do like the Pakistani culture way of two people getting married with family blessings. Prob the reason why marriages in Pakistan last much longer than those in the west. The divorce rate in the UK was nearly 50% last I checked, you might as well not waste so much money on marriage if you can change your mind so easily.

This is a myth that Pakistani marriages last longer and are generally more successful than those of the European’s. In our culture, women decide to stay in abusive marriages because divorce is stigmatising and divorced women are stigmatised and frowned upon. It is common for Pakistani women to endure violence but still refuse to separate from their husbands all in the name of izzat, ghairat and log kya kahengay!

Agreed with this. Desi marriages last longer because of sacrifices that were made mostly by women. Doesn't mean the marriage is a functional one. I have seen instances where the family of the wife again asks her to go back to her husband (to save reputation of the family) even if the husband blatantly cheated.

Yes. In our culture, the onus is on the wife to bear all the hardships, violence and abuse. The wife is
expected to make all the sacrifices and to keep the marriage intact. It is really despicable.

Most educated and decent Pakistanis do not want their daughters going around hugging men in public like that and getting it all on camera, ill tell you that..

and why does everything have to be about extremes? Just because I do not condone this action, does it mean I advocate arranged marriages with cousins and whatnot? That was an idiotic statement.

Are you in Pakistan? Because if you were you would realize hugging men in public is the least of what is happening. There is nothing wrong with a hug. We need to get over this backward mentality. In this case specifically, who did she hug? Her husband to be. Why does that irk people? if showing affection by hugging your significant other bothers you then you need to get your priorities sorted mate.

Marrying cousins and getting forcefully married to someone you've never met has nothing to do with Islam.

But I agree it's sad to see so many people outraged by this incident than forced marriages. Going by the reactions I've read on Twitter, unfortunately most people in Pakistan agree with the university's decision to expel them. This epitomises how backwards Pakistan really is.

Are you in Pakistan? Because if you were you would realize hugging men in public is the least of what is happening. There is nothing wrong with a hug. We need to get over this backward mentality. In this case specifically, who did she hug? Her husband to be. Why does that irk people? if showing affection by hugging your significant other bothers you then you need to get your priorities sorted mate.

My priorities are sorted just fine. It always starts from home. Will you be ok if f this was your sister/daughter? Answer that question honestly and openly.

Islam encourages knowing your partner before you get married. As long as the contact is supervised, decent and non physical. Are you a Muslim? If so, you simply cannot use some modern day enlightenment ** to justify behoodgi..

And I understand worse goes on in Pakistan but as long as this is not main streamed, that’s all that matters. I am all for wearing western clothes as long as they are decent, and marrying someone of your own choice as long as the basic guidance is followed and decency observed. It’s quite simple really!

My priorities are sorted just fine. It always starts from home. Will you be ok if f this was your sister/daughter? Answer that question honestly and openly.

Islam encourages knowing your partner before you get married. As long as the contact is supervised, decent and non physical. Are you a Muslim? If so, you simply cannot use some modern day enlightenment ** to justify behoodgi..

And I understand worse goes on in Pakistan but as long as this is not main streamed, that’s all that matters. I am all for wearing western clothes as long as they are decent, and marrying someone of your own choice as long as the basic guidance is followed and decency observed. It’s quite simple really!

No one wants to limit your freedom to live that way, a way you find comfortable and fulfilling. Problem is you want others to live their life conforming to your standards, you make it clear no one can dictate how you want to live so I ask you to understand your motives for enforcing your standards onto others.

Quite honestly you are free to do whatever you want in India, bangladesh wherever you are from. These are not my standards. These are standards set for us by our faith which we follow dearly and closely. And I have full rights to express my displeasure with this nonsense if I don’t agree. I am not out to enforce them, just hoping people will realize if they are Muslims, they have to follow certain guidelines.

I’m not going to tell you to follow suit. You are free to do as you please because you aren’t Muslim nor Pakistani.

Quite honestly you are free to do whatever you want in India, bangladesh wherever you are from. These are not my standards. These are standards set for us by our faith which we follow dearly and closely. And I have full rights to express my displeasure with this nonsense if I don’t agree. I am not out to enforce them, just hoping people will realize if they are Muslims, they have to follow certain guidelines.

I’m not going to tell you to follow suit. You are free to do as you please because you aren’t Muslim nor Pakistani.

You need to understand that being Pakistani does not equal to being Muslim. Also, being Muslim does not mean one has to abide by the rules you set. Religion is personal and it is between the person practicing it and his God. You're are not the judge, He is. So, live and let live and let Him be the judge.

You should follow your own advice then, and stop telling people what to think.

Ok, so its quite ok for your daughter or sister to simulate this girl? you would not have any problem with it? Would you like to answer that question?

I have a daughter and I'd be fine with her hugging her friends even if they're male. Not sure why people get offended with a hug. I hug all my female friends too when I meet them. You just have a dirty mind if you think hugging is sexual.

Only those who break the canons of religion say that religion is personal and should be between them and God. If you really believe that then do all those shenanigans in private and not public like this laila majnu did in campus. If you do in public, then be ready for people to judge your actions.

I have a daughter and I'd be fine with her hugging her friends even if they're male. Not sure why people get offended with a hug. I hug all my female friends too when I meet them. You just have a dirty mind if you think hugging is sexual.

I’m sorry if my religious views sound dirty to you. But as Muslims, women and men are not supposed to have such physical contact. It is not allowed. I know in real life it doesn’t work that way because I have hugged and I have been hugged by female friends and co workers myself. But I try to avoid it best I can.

You seem to be a lot more liberal than I am. You are entitled to your views as am I. But traditionally speaking, this is not who we are. I understand times change and all but I personally can’t condone it.

I dont like these staged public displays of affection. A relationship born out of the need to go viral is one that is on shaky ground from the start.

The selectively outrageous of the awaam is baffling.

However, not all aspects of our culture are bad though We have good family values in Pakistan despite the all the hidden hypocrisy.

Western culture has seen many broken families. Alot of Western societys problems are due to no family values