[VIDEO] Virat Kohli: When I left Test captaincy, Dhoni was the only one who texted me

Gayle_Force

Tape Ball Captain
The Indian cricket team is increasingly starting to remind me of the 90s Pakistan team

==

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/yhouv7" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Virat Kohli has revealed that he received little support after stepping down as India Test captain while praising MS Dhoni for his response at the time.

Kohli is India's most successful Test captain but relinquished the role in January this year after a 2-1 series loss to South Africa, with Rohit Sharma handed the reins.

The 33-year-old Kohli had been Test captain since taking over from Dhoni in 2014 and led India in 68 matches for 40 wins and 17 losses.

"When I left the Test captaincy, MS Dhoni was the only one among all the cricketers I had played with before who texted me” Kohli told reporters after India’s Asia Cup loss to Pakistan.

“A lot of people have my number but he was the only one who texted me.

“It comes from the genuine respect that we have for each other. There is no insecurity from either end in our equation.

"These things matter. I live my life with honesty and these things matter for me.

"I just want to say this, if I have to tell someone about their game, I reach out individually. Even if I have to reach out to them, I do it personally."

Kohli had already given up the India T20I captaincy after the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup last year, with Sharma installed as leader in both white-ball formats at the time.

The right-handed Kohli has failed to score an international ton in any format since 2019 but with more time to focus on his own game has shown signs of a return to form in the Asia Cup 2022.

Kohli top scored for India with 60 off 44 balls before being run out in the final over during a dramatic T20I loss to Pakistan in the Super 4 phase of the Asia Cup.

The former skipper is now averaging 77 in three innings in the tournament, as he presses his claims to be part of the India squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia later this year.

"I've played for 14 years, it doesn't happen by chance,” Kohli said about his current form.

“I’ve taken some time away, put things in perspective and that’s given me a relaxation that this is not the be-all and end-all of life.

“I need to enjoy the game, I can’t put so much pressure on myself with expectations that I’m not able to express myself. That is not why I started playing the game.”

With back-to-back half-centuries in the Asia Cup, Kohli has now passed 50 a record 32 times in T20Is from 102 matches.

Current India T20I captain Sharma is next best with four tons and 27 half-centuries from 135 matches.

https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2781588

These are very childish comments from Kohli. He is a 33 year old adult, India has made him the richest cricketer in the world and has given him fame, adulation second only to Tendulkar. He should not be sulking like a school boy that he or she didn't hug, kuddle me during tough times. India did not win any ICC tournament under his watch, he has failed to win a single IPL title, his own form had dwindled, it was only a matter of time before the captaincy got taken away from him.

Virat Kohli's post match comments suggest some rift within the Indian team?

Virat Kohli basically saying that MS Dhoni was the only one that reached out to him when he left Test Captaincy and that other people also had his number but no one reached out to him.

Definitely some interesting comments in the middle of Asia Cup and the World Cup on the door steps. I said this previously but the Indian team is increasingly reminding me of the 90s Pakistani team.

think its a pretty open secret that some people within the team were pbly not on his wavelength. he was always overtly aggressive when playing, whereas it seems that quite a few indian cricketers enjoy rohits more laid-back temperament more.

Kohli and Rohit had/have a clear rift between each other. There are proper camps in Indian cricket team. Chahal belongs to Rohit's camp and siraj belongs to Kohli's camp for instance.

think its a pretty open secret that some people within the team were pbly not on his wavelength. he was always overtly aggressive when playing, whereas it seems that quite a few indian cricketers enjoy rohits more laid-back temperament more.

At least it was somewhat a secret, now it’s completely in the open.

It was a speculation before he wasn't liked by everyone in the side now it's in the open. I think he was hinting towards the ex players more like he said they criticize him on air but never text him or talk to him about it one on one. Sehwag, Gambhir, Harbhajan, Yuvraj, Zaheer, maybe even Tendulkar, could be anyone he could be alluding to.

I don't know about a rift in the Indian team but some of their fans are calling Arshdeep a Khalistani for dropping such an easy catchi! If he takes it then India win. There could be an ego clash between the senior players or disagreement over tactics. Ya know for the RSS defeat to Pak is intolerable. This goes far beyond then being just a Cricket match.

These so called Indian fans are a bunch of morons. They also threatened Shami last time Pak won iirc :facepalm:

It was a speculation before he wasn't liked by everyone in the side now it's in the open. I think he was hinting towards the ex players more like he said they criticize him on air but never text him or talk to him about it one on one. Sehwag, Gambhir, Harbhajan, Yuvraj, Zaheer, maybe even Tendulkar, could be anyone he could be alluding to.

Yea maybe but the way he phrased it definitely seemed like it was broader than just the ex players.

Kohli and Rohit had/have a clear rift between each other. There are proper camps in Indian cricket team. Chahal belongs to Rohit's camp and siraj belongs to Kohli's camp for instance.

Chahal should be in Virat's camp too considering he has always played for RCB under Kohli.

There was Tendulkar who just took a bit of time off after the crazy declaration and went back to play under Dravid and later under Dhoni, Kumble etc.

And then we have this entitled piece of bollywood wannabe prima dona who was groomed by MS Dhoni and this selfish brat didn’t groom anyone.

Reminds me of Dada’s ego.

What a crybaby Kohli is! He should thank his lucky stars that he is still in team despite failing for years now! If anything, its him who is being ungrateful.

Well he has a beef and he is expressing it. He has earned the right to do so.

These are very childish comments from Kohli. He is a 33 year old adult, India has made him the richest cricketer in the world and has given him fame, adulation second only to Tendulkar. He should not be sulking like a school boy that he or she didn't hug, kuddle me during tough times. India did not win any ICC tournament under his watch, he has failed to win a single IPL title, his own form had dwindled, it was only a matter of time before the captaincy got taken away from him.
Agree with all of this. You forgot to add, Indian batting (which was envy of others) declined massively under his watch. He was the main reason why our batting was such a letdown in WC '19, with exception of top-3, no one else was sure about their roles in the batting lineup.

Just watched the whole presscon. Think this is being misread. He was, I believe, referring to former players who've been giving suggestions about his form. He talked about how of all those people who were giving opinions about what he should do, only MS reached out directly.

In the same presscon he also said that the environment is great in the dressing room and credited the management and captain for this.

So, yeah, India rolling forward - look forward to the final if we both make it :bumrah

The Indian cricket team is increasingly starting to remind me of the 90s Pakistan team

==

Virat Kohli has revealed that he received little support after stepping down as India Test captain while praising MS Dhoni for his response at the time.

Kohli is India's most successful Test captain but relinquished the role in January this year after a 2-1 series loss to South Africa, with Rohit Sharma handed the reins.

The 33-year-old Kohli had been Test captain since taking over from Dhoni in 2014 and led India in 68 matches for 40 wins and 17 losses.

"When I left the Test captaincy, MS Dhoni was the only one among all the cricketers I had played with before who texted me” Kohli told reporters after India’s Asia Cup loss to Pakistan.

“A lot of people have my number but he was the only one who texted me.

“It comes from the genuine respect that we have for each other. There is no insecurity from either end in our equation.

"These things matter. I live my life with honesty and these things matter for me.

"I just want to say this, if I have to tell someone about their game, I reach out individually. Even if I have to reach out to them, I do it personally."

Kohli had already given up the India T20I captaincy after the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup last year, with Sharma installed as leader in both white-ball formats at the time.

The right-handed Kohli has failed to score an international ton in any format since 2019 but with more time to focus on his own game has shown signs of a return to form in the Asia Cup 2022.

Kohli top scored for India with 60 off 44 balls before being run out in the final over during a dramatic T20I loss to Pakistan in the Super 4 phase of the Asia Cup.

The former skipper is now averaging 77 in three innings in the tournament, as he presses his claims to be part of the India squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia later this year.

"I've played for 14 years, it doesn't happen by chance,” Kohli said about his current form.

“I’ve taken some time away, put things in perspective and that’s given me a relaxation that this is not the be-all and end-all of life.

“I need to enjoy the game, I can’t put so much pressure on myself with expectations that I’m not able to express myself. That is not why I started playing the game.”

With back-to-back half-centuries in the Asia Cup, Kohli has now passed 50 a record 32 times in T20Is from 102 matches.

Current India T20I captain Sharma is next best with four tons and 27 half-centuries from 135 matches.

https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2781588

Thankgod Dhoni texted him. Kohli did play him underservingly for 4 years.

If you watch the presser he was talking about former Indian players who were waiting for him to go through a rough patch to criticize him.

Kohli is the greatest Asian Test captain of all time and there was no reason for him to step down as long as he was playing, but the toxicity was too much for him and he ultimately decided to do what was best for him at a personal level and you cannot fault him for that. He does not owe Indian cricket anything.

People have issues with his personality and behavior and they never liked the fact that someone like him reached the pinnacle of the game and achieved the status of a bonafide legend, so they started attacking him as soon as he had a rough time.

If you actually watched the interview properly, he's talking about ex players and specifically former players he played with. He's not talking about the current team and said they had welcomed him back and that the camaraderie was excellent within the team

Not sure how OP came to the conclusion that there is a rifts team currently .

Not sure about Kohli but guys like Pandya, Pant, KL Rahul are eyeing India's captaincy, there will be a rift soon between these guys and BCCI is responsible for this. Changing captains after every series isn't a healthy sign. There are too many contenders now. :inti

In 2 back to back interviews now, Kohli has referred to his lean patch in the past tense.

Somebody tell him he is not out of the woods yet.

I feel bad for what pakistan did to kohlis career. We ended his captaincy when we defeated his team by ten wickets in the world cup.

Kohli is and always will be the better captain. After dhoni he has beena great captain. He was using the right players, the right pacers.

Rohit sharma is terrible and there is a clear rift between the two.

In the post match ceremony sharma didnt like the virat question and had to change it towards the team this and that....

Kohli sat out during the whole game, only cause of a slight cramp i suppose?

Sharmas bowlers like avesh, arshdeep are also a joke

If you actually watched the interview properly, he's talking about ex players and specifically former players he played with. He's not talking about the current team and said they had welcomed him back and that the camaraderie was excellent within the team

Not sure how OP came to the conclusion that there is a rifts team currently .

I understand that the general sentiment was towards ex cricketers but unless he completely phrased it wrong, he said of the players he has played with only one person messaged him and that his Dhoni. He didn’t single out the ex players. Also, the very nature of this answer means there are some hard feelings still there from the whole captaincy fiasco.

Yeh bhai sahab apni hi duniya me hai. Here we lost a cricket match against Pakistan which we should have won, and this guy is discussing who called him and who didn't after he quit test captaincy. As if anyone cares. :facepalm:

Why you should have won the match?

More and more it dawns on me after every match that above anything, it was Dhoni’s captaincy that was the deciding factor in many critical Pak v Ind games till he left.

Ofc skill level matters. But guys like Misbah and Afridi pale in comparison to Dhoni in terms of tactics and leadership. It seems like India is still trying to fill that vacancy. I think Kohli was their best replacement. Rohit seems like another run of the mill bloke captaincy wise.

More and more it dawns on me after every match that above anything, it was Dhoni’s captaincy that was the deciding factor in many critical Pak v Ind games till he left.

Ofc skill level matters. But guys like Misbah and Afridi pale in comparison to Dhoni in terms of tactics and leadership. It seems like India is still trying to fill that vacancy. I think Kohli was their best replacement. Rohit seems like another run of the mill bloke captaincy wise.

At one point Hoak Hogan was bigger then wrestling itself and Vince didn’t recognise that, same issue here; India thought they are bigger then Kohli and it back fired spectacularly :yk

No they dont. Misbah was a great captain and misbah defeated dhoni in anay dou series

I think Pakistan and India perform at their best when the entire team is aligned behind one captain. India benefitted from having that with Dhoni and a few years of Kohli. This can also be seen now in Pakistan where you can clearly see that win or lose the team is aligned behind Babar Azam as captain. My feeling is that Rohit is seen as a stop gap measure and there are a few other players eyeing that captaincy spot. Hence, knife starts coming out every time there is a bad performance.

Why you should have won the match?

Pakistan isn't supposed to chase 182 in 120 balls with the batting line up they got. They probably would't had Arshdeep didn't drop that sitter.

That's why.

I mean Dhoni lost to Misbah in a bilateral series lmao

Pakistan isn't supposed to chase 182 in 120 balls with the batting line up they got. They probably would't had Arshdeep didn't drop that sitter.

That's why.

Pakistan needed 31 off 16 balls. That is very possible or the norm in T20s these days.

India lost the match because they were held back at the back end of their batting and when Nawaz did the damage in the middle of pak’s innings.

After India were defeated by Pakistan in a nail-biting encounter in the Super Fours, former skipper Virat Kohli dropped a bombshell in the post-match press conference. He said that though many people criticized him on different platforms after he quit his Test captaincy in 2021, no one called or texted him personally to check up on him other than MS Dhoni.

"When I left Test captaincy, I got a message from only one person, with whom I played in the past. It was MS Dhoni. A lot of people have my number, a lot of people give me suggestions, a lot of people talk about my game on TV. But out of those people who had my number, I didn't get a message from anyone else barring Dhoni," Kohli said.
recommended by

"I don't know what the dressing room inside situation was with all these other players, I think, ideally, if he has named one person who got in touch, maybe the other people who didn't get in touch should have also been named. Then that would have been a little bit fair to everyone concerned rather than thinking everybody else didn't get in touch with him," Gavsakar said in an interaction with India Today.

In the press conference Kohli also heaped praises on captain Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid on maintaining a positive atmosphere in the dressing room. However, Suni Gavaskar said that he doesn't take a player's positive comments on the coach and captain seriously.

"I am just saying what I feel when I hear the comments coming about the current leadership. One of the most futile questions that I hear during an IPL Q and A session between the commentators and the Man of the Match asking about the current coach and the current captain. Is that current player ever going to say anything against the current captain and coach? That's a futile question. Nobody, anybody, who is mindful of his career, is going to cut his feet by saying something stupid about the current regime," Gavaskar added.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...after-he-quit-test-captaincy-article-94009374

There was Tendulkar who just took a bit of time off after the crazy declaration and went back to play under Dravid and later under Dhoni, Kumble etc.

And then we have this entitled piece of bollywood wannabe prima dona who was groomed by MS Dhoni and this selfish brat didn’t groom anyone.

Reminds me of Dada’s ego.

I wish Indian cricket was deprived of this "prima donna" and he played for Pakistan instead.

He spent years as the best cricketer in all of India and as soon as his form dipped, the jealous vultures and hyenas started circling. He has the right to be cheesed that he didn't receive the support he felt he needed.

No surprise. Ashwin on the Australia winning tour when asked what was key to turning it around and he replied “change in leadership”

I wish Indian cricket was deprived of this "prima donna" and he played for Pakistan instead.

He spent years as the best cricketer in all of India and as soon as his form dipped, the jealous vultures and hyenas started circling. He has the right to be cheesed that he didn't receive the support he felt he needed.

And not just the best cricketer by skills, he single handedly carried them to countless victories.

Can some Indian fans clarify who Kohli's detractors are from within the Indian setup? And who are his supporters?

That's why.

Who is supposed to chase 182 then? Guys like SKY, Rahul, Pant and Pandya? Because they are over-rated?

Arshdeep catch didn't change the match that much. We had Iftikhar and Shadab Khan behind.

In 2 back to back interviews now, Kohli has referred to his lean patch in the past tense.

Somebody tell him he is not out of the woods yet.
Good observation. Even during his last innings, his strike rate was hardly earth shattering, had a poor last over with bat.

Well said, Sunny.

Kohli is just being a attention seeking crybaby, that's all. Its been an year since he was forced to relinquish captaincy and he still wants to discuss this absolute non issue especially just after losing a game against arch rivals!

Yes as a captain , he didnt win any ICC title or IPL title, but he was very young in 2011 ICC title that Dhoni won, but still contributed with the bat when they lost Sachin and Viru back to back, Also in the ICC champions trophy that Dhoni won , it was Kohli who put runs on the board for the bowlers to fancy their chances,,, not just the final, also knock out games on the way to final he has contributed..

His contribution to the Indian team is belittled that he didnt win any ICC trophies, but he is the main man behind many victories and even ICC trophies..

Can some Indian fans clarify who Kohli's detractors are from within the Indian setup? And who are his supporters?

I honestly doubt there are any detractors. If what Rohit and Kohli show on field is an act, they are Grade A Actors with bright future in Bollywood.

Kohli has been honest about his omissions and under Shastri he took a few big calls like not playing Ashwin overseas and moving on from Ashwin in whiteball cricket. So Ashwin is the only one player he could've ****** off.

Also lets not forget, Rohit is test skipper today because Kohli-Shastri brought back in test cricket as an opener. Wonder if Kohli would have done that if they were arch nemesis.

I honestly doubt there are any detractors. If what Rohit and Kohli show on field is an act, they are Grade A Actors with bright future in Bollywood.

Kohli has been honest about his omissions and under Shastri he took a few big calls like not playing Ashwin overseas and moving on from Ashwin in whiteball cricket. So Ashwin is the only one player he could've ****** off.

Also lets not forget, Rohit is test skipper today because Kohli-Shastri brought back in test cricket as an opener. Wonder if Kohli would have done that if they were arch nemesis.

I think they are both professionals and loyal to the country so when on the field they will do their best to put their differences(if any) aside and perform to their best abilities. That being said, one thing is for sure Kohli clearly does have some grievances. Also, for argument’s sake let’s say Kohli was only talking about ex cricketers doesn’t that also include both the current coach of the Indian team and the president of BCCI?

I think it's pretty obvious why Kohli is referring primarily to ex-cricketers. He clearly was expecting the cricketing community to support him in his little tussle with the BCCI.

But many like Kapil openly questioned his place in the team and the rest were pretty neutral since India's brand of white ball cricket was no longer cutting it and were looking for a change as were many of the fans.

If he thought brand Kohli would have enduring appeal, then he was wrong. The BCCI erred twice in the past by giving an individual too much power and for too long - Azhar the crook and Dhoni.

Kohli has had his time. 7 years as captain is a long time in cricket. If he has personal grievances, nobody cares about them.

For the last part, it certainly does include Ganguly. Dravid has for the most part stayed away from the politics if the BCCI and is generally not someone who is likely to throw their opinion around with much weight . Pretty sure he is neutral like he has been on most mosts in his career.

Kohli explicitly said that the current team management welcomed him back with open arms and that the camaraderie is great. I'm not sure why anyone would think there's a rift in the team now.

I think it's pretty obvious why Kohli is referring primarily to ex-cricketers. He clearly was expecting the cricketing community to support him in his little tussle with the BCCI.

But many like Kapil openly questioned his place in the team and the rest were pretty neutral since India's brand of white ball cricket was no longer cutting it and were looking for a change as were many of the fans.

If he thought brand Kohli would have enduring appeal, then he was wrong. The BCCI erred twice in the past by giving an individual too much power and for too long - Azhar the crook and Dhoni.

Kohli has had his time. 7 years as captain is a long time in cricket. If he has personal grievances, nobody cares about them.

For the last part, it certainly does include Ganguly. Dravid has for the most part stayed away from the politics if the BCCI and is generally not someone who is likely to throw their opinion around with much weight . Pretty sure he is neutral like he has been on most mosts in his career.

Kohli explicitly said that the current team management welcomed him back with open arms and that the camaraderie is great. I'm not sure why anyone would think there's a rift in the team now.

Yea you maybe right, I just think Kohli sending cryptic messages (regardless of who it was directed towards) in the middle of a tournament and right after an important match cannot be good for the team. Also, you will agree that player issues whether within the team or with the board are overall not good for the team.

No they dont. Misbah was a great captain and misbah defeated dhoni in anay dou series

My cat could’ve led Pakistan to a win in that series.

It was down to individual performances. Oh and yeah, Misbah denied us a whitewash in that series because he dropped Dhoni in the 3rd ODI at 30 odd, and he went on to score a match winning 100. So he converted a 3-0 into 2-1, fabulous work :)))

At one point Hoak Hogan was bigger then wrestling itself and Vince didn’t recognise that, same issue here; India thought they are bigger then Kohli and it back fired spectacularly :yk

He will come back in the next storyline as Bollywood Kohli :afridi

My cat could’ve led Pakistan to a win in that series.

It was down to individual performances. Oh and yeah, Misbah denied us a whitewash in that series because he dropped Dhoni in the 3rd ODI at 30 odd, and he went on to score a match winning 100. So he converted a 3-0 into 2-1, fabulous work :)))
At the end of the day, misbah won the series. You can look for all kinds of reasons to deny it, but the fact is a fact

Sure, and then he lost the WC 15 game and CT 13 game to Dhoni, not to mention choking in the 2007 t20 WC final aka your worst nightmare. Unless bilaterals matter more than tournaments now.

So Misbu bottled it every time it mattered. Would love to see how you reframe that in your fan boy mind tho :srt

Its because Kohli hasnt won anything. No.1 in tests is nice but fans and ex players wanted tournament wins. Going in as favourites pretty much every tournament for nearly 10 years and winning nothing hurts and creates rifts. There are also those who are upset think if rohit had been captain India would have won something. I think mostly Kohlis just been unlucky, but people will look for something to blame. I also think Kohli is very upset at himself.