[VIDEOS] Akash Deep - India's next bowling sensation?

BouncerGuy

His bowling average looks good. Can he be the next Shami of Bumrah, only time will tell but he made an impact straightaway in his debut game against England in the 4th Test match of the series.

cU8q93n.png

kRSHMDA.png

Who Is Akash Deep? Meet India Pacer Who Left Cricket For 3 Years To Make Ends Meet

The 4th Test between India and England turned out to be life-changing for pacer Akash Deep who made his much-awaited debut in Ranchi. With his mother present to watch him don the India jersey for the first time, Akash Deep was handed the debut Test cap by none other than the head coach Rahul Dravid. It was his stint for India A that earned Akash Deep a call-up to the senior national team. But, everything hasn't been as easy for the pacer who had to leave cricket a few years ago to make ends meet.

Hailing from Sasaram in Bihar, Akash Deep was extremely passionate about playing cricket for a long time but was discouraged by his father. Despite not getting the required support from his father, Akash left for Durgapur with the pretext of finding a job and was eventually supported by one of his uncles.

He joined a local academy where he started to impress many because of his pace. But, before Akash could convert his talent into something substantial, his father had a stroke and passed away. Two months after his father's death, Akash's older brother also died.

The situation created a big crisis in Akash's family, with there being no money in the house. To take care of his mother, Akash had to stop playing cricket for three years and earn money to make ends meet in his house. Akash tried to change the course of his life but his love for cricket couldn't keep him away from the game for long.

He returned to Durgapur, and then eventually moved to Kolkata, where he first started to live in a small rented room with his cousin.

Akash then joined the Bengal Under-23 team and made his debut in 2019. Then came Indian Premier League franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore, who signed him ahead of the IPL 2022 season.

On February 23, 2024, Akash Deep became the 313th player to play for India in Test cricket.

SOURCE: https://sports.ndtv.com/india-vs-en...cricket-for-3-years-to-make-ends-meet-5111006

Maybe an honest, hardworking grunt bowler. Nice to see Biharis and Purvanchalis (east UPites) getting opportunities elsewhere.

If he maintains pace he can be like Umesh, Shami in these conditions. Ball just zips off the pitch. They were late against several deliveries from him. Same length from Siraj they comfortably played

Akash Deep shines on Debut with 3 crucial wickets in 4th Test Against England, stepping up in the absence of Jasprit Bumrah. He Secured 3/70 at Stumps on Day 1 in Ranchi.

Ball zipping at 140 plus KPH is always hard for batsmen.

Akash had nothing to lose, and he aptly summed it up at the post-day press conference after the stumps of Day 1 of the 4th Test against England:

"Mere paas khone ko kuch nahi tha aur paane ko bahut kuch tha (I had nothing to lose but a lot to gain)."

"Like any kid who plays cricket, it was my dream also to play Test cricket for India. I got my Test cap midway between the place I belong to and the place I play cricket for. It was very emotional but I also felt that there was a responsibility on my shoulders to do something for the team."

“I want to dedicate this performance to my father. He wanted his son to do something in his life but I couldn’t do anything while he was alive. So this is for him."

"They (team management) asked me to keep it simple. Do what you have been doing. It helped me because when you come to this level, you are confused about what you should do. They asked me to keep doing the same things that have brought me success and got me my debut."

"As an individual, I didn’t feel very bad because I knew that if I don’t get him out, then someone else in my team will. But when he hit Siraj for three fours and a six in the next over, I felt very bad. Because I didn’t want my team to be behind in the match because of me. So yeah, I was a bit tense because he scores his runs very quickly too."

"When I was bowling with the new ball, he was trying to attack me on both sides of the wicket. When I was bowling closer to the stumps, there wasn’t much happening with the ball. It wasn’t even swinging even after 3 overs. So I tried to bowl from the corner of the crease and I got the shape where everything was seaming in. It wasn’t coming in off the crack but off the seam."

He is decent. Better prospect than Mukesh. He can be a decent back up for Bumrah/Siraj/Shami.

Akash Deep’s trusted bowling process set the stage for a dream debut against England

After the conclusion of the opening day of the fourth Test against England in Ranchi, Indian pacer Akash Deep reflected on his sensational debut.

Within his first 35 deliveries, debutant pacer Akash Deep had sent the England top-order packing. While England’s openers had helped them race to 47 at a run rate closing in on five, his triple strike brought the hosts right back into the contest.

He finished the day with figures of 3 for 70 in 17 overs.

Speaking after the opening day, Deep, who plays for Bengal in the domestic circuit, credited his process for success in the morning,

“When I started to bowl, I wasn’t thinking about a five-wicket haul or a three-wicket haul,” Deep said. “I wanted to follow my process, to bowl to my strengths. I kept bowling in good areas and that yielded me wickets. As a fast bowler, it becomes easier when we focus on bowling in good areas.”

Akash Deep claimed his first wicket in the 10th over, dismissing Ben Duckett, however, he could’ve also had his partner Zak Crawley much earlier. In the fourth over of the first innings, Deep uprooted Crawley’s off-stump, only to find out that he had bowled a no-ball.

Although a significant opportunity slipped away, Deep later managed to dismiss Crawley in the same spell.

“I didn’t feel too bad because I knew even if I didn’t get his wicket, one of our teammates will. But when he hit Siraj for three boundaries and a six in the next over, I felt bad because I felt that I had let my team down.

“He is a good batter and scores quickly, hence I was tense. So it was good that I had his wicket soon.”

Deep’s opening spell was backed by the India spinners, and the hosts had sent half of the English side back in the first session itself. However, a fighting century from Joe Root helped England finish the day at 302/7.

Speaking about the wicket, Deep said that the pitch dried out after the initial hours and it was easier to score after the ball became old. Thus, India employed a holding strategy.

“This is a wicket that remains slow. Because the ball was new and hard initially, it helped quite a bit as a fast bowler, but after Lunch the ball became old and wicket became dried.

“It didn’t have the pace, so there were a number of inside edges but the batters managed to get away with it.

“So in these circumstances, we couldn’t have gone for wickets. Our strategy was to contain runs, and if a side like England, who have a different formula of cricket, if they’ve batted out the entire 90 overs and scored 300 runs then it’s because we bowled in good areas.”

ICC

It is unbelievable INdia was backing Mukesh Kumar in all 3 formats. Indian selectors don't do enough homework to back the right players. For the money they earn talent scouting has to be much better than this.

Tells you why backing the likes of Mukesh Kumar or Prasidh Krishna is wrong.

Akashdeep is a hit the deck kind of bowler. Has decent pace. Can be a good back up to the test team.

Who Is Akash Deep? Meet India Pacer Who Left Cricket For 3 Years To Make Ends Meet

The 4th Test between India and England turned out to be life-changing for pacer Akash Deep who made his much-awaited debut in Ranchi. With his mother present to watch him don the India jersey for the first time, Akash Deep was handed the debut Test cap by none other than the head coach Rahul Dravid. It was his stint for India A that earned Akash Deep a call-up to the senior national team. But, everything hasn't been as easy for the pacer who had to leave cricket a few years ago to make ends meet.

Hailing from Sasaram in Bihar, Akash Deep was extremely passionate about playing cricket for a long time but was discouraged by his father. Despite not getting the required support from his father, Akash left for Durgapur with the pretext of finding a job and was eventually supported by one of his uncles.

He joined a local academy where he started to impress many because of his pace. But, before Akash could convert his talent into something substantial, his father had a stroke and passed away. Two months after his father's death, Akash's older brother also died.

The situation created a big crisis in Akash's family, with there being no money in the house. To take care of his mother, Akash had to stop playing cricket for three years and earn money to make ends meet in his house. Akash tried to change the course of his life but his love for cricket couldn't keep him away from the game for long.

He returned to Durgapur, and then eventually moved to Kolkata, where he first started to live in a small rented room with his cousin.
Akash then joined the Bengal Under-23 team and made his debut in 2019. Then came Indian Premier League franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore, who signed him ahead of the IPL 2022 season.

On February 23, 2024, Akash Deep became the 313th player to play for India in Test cricket.

https://sports.ndtv.com/india-vs-en...cricket-for-3-years-to-make-ends-meet-5111006

India now has faster Test bowlers than Pakistani's haha
Shami: 140's
Siraj: 140's
Akash: 140's
Bumrah: 140's

Shaheen: 134
Mir Hamza: 132
Aamer Jamal: 138
Khurram Shehzad: 134

Let's see how much deep this Akash Deep can go with the likes of Siraj, Mukesh, and Saini are in the team.

In ODIs, he can solve India's problem of bowler who can slog a bit. Akashdeep at 8 followed by Bumrah, Siraj/Shami and Kuldeep.

In Tests, if he can work on his batting a bit, then seems a better prospect than Shardul and Mukesh.

Akash deep's spell was wonderful. He has got pace and swing. Maybe the pitch was also assisting him but credit should be given to him for keeping line and length tight and making batter worry about their wicket.

Akash Deep told reporters after the match of Duleep Trophy:

“If you get satisfied as a cricketer, you will never learn anything. As long as I have the hunger for learning, I can never be satisfied.”

"Wickets and results are two different things; sometimes you will get the result, sometimes not. But, the most important thing is the process…like while bowling, which are the areas that can still be improved upon.”

“After my India debut in Ranchi and the IPL, I did not play any competitive match. It's tough to play a game as a pacer after such a long gap, but I have been practicing since last month."

“We were playing the practice matches as actual games. So, we had that mindset to get our muscles used to that sort of bowling, and it helped me a lot.”

“Every contest that I play, I consider it as my last. I don't think too far enough. All I have is the present with me."

“When I started my career, I was an in-swing bowler. But I hurt my shoulder around two to three years ago, and I could not bowl in swings anymore."

“It is tough to live with one variation as a bowler and I began looking for options. I switched to out-swingers. And once my shoulder was back to normal, I gained total control on both variations.”

“I do take input from him (Shami) as our actions are pretty much similar. I asked him 'how to move the ball out by bowling from around the wicket to a left-hander', to which he asked me not to try for it as it would happen naturally."

“It did happen to me naturally, which then became a wicket-taking delivery. It also creates confusion in the batters' mind, as he is used to playing the ball generally outside.”

this ''every match I play I play as my last'' shtick needs to die. It's such a low IQ take.

" he left for Durgapur, West Bengal, in 2010 with the pretext of finding a job and found support from his uncle to join a local cricket academy"

Above is from Cricinfo, in 2010 he came to West Bengal, looking for job, how old was he 14 years ago, looking for job ? Is he India's Rashid Khan as for as his stated age goes ?

Can be a Peter Siddle kind of bowler, a workhorse. I like him better than a lot of other options BCCI explored recently.

" he left for Durgapur, West Bengal, in 2010 with the pretext of finding a job and found support from his uncle to join a local cricket academy"

Above is from Cricinfo, in 2010 he came to West Bengal, looking for job, how old was he 14 years ago, looking for job ? Is he India's Rashid Khan as for as his stated age goes ?

He's from Bihar. The ultimate badland of India when it comes to these kind of forgeries. He's probably 30-31, 2-3 years older than his stated age. Basically, Shami.

It's pretty common for poor South Asian teenagers (even 13 year olds) to go searching for jobs in other cities. Don't know why you are so surprised.

But having said that he sure looks like a 30-31 year old with that unfortunate hairline. Definitely not Rashid Khan level age fudging.

I mean he is already badling. Could be 30. Still good 5 6 years left in him.

It's pretty common for poor South Asian teenagers (even 13 year olds) to go searching for jobs in other cities.
" It's pretty common for poor South Asian teenagers (even 13 year olds) to go searching for jobs in other cities "

for 13 year old ? really ? ?

" It's pretty common for poor South Asian teenagers (even 13 year olds) to go searching for jobs in other cities "

for 13 year old ? really ? ?

His father passed away. He had to support his family. Went to work with his uncle in Durgapur.

That grouping shows his natural length is good length and full. Bumrah is about a meter to half shorter. I'd take Akash over Siraj as Bumrah's new ball partner for that reason alone.

Dont think captain Sharma trust him much, he bowled only 11 overs in the test .

Akash Deep said ahead of the second Test against Bangladesh:

"I realised that they have achieved so much and are still working so hard during training. Their thought process is at a different level, this motivates me to work even harder."

"I had hesitation initially that there would be pressure, but Rohit bhaiya made things so simple. I haven't played under such a supportive captain. He keeps things simple, I never felt whether I am playing domestic or international cricket."

"In the last two years, I have played a lot of cricket. It's not just three-month season for us. Even after Ranji, you play Duleep Trophy, Irani Cup. As a player, you need to understand yourself and know your strengths."

"When we play at this level, we should not get confused that I played a certain style at that level (Ranji) and things are different here. I don't put too much pressure that I need to go to Australia and all that. I live in the present. It remains simple for me."

"The domestic format is so good that by the time you reach this stage, you already know what to do. You know what you are expected to do. There is no confusion as such. The idea is to put your learning into practice. I don't find something new in it."

Those 2 deliveries in the first game were a peach. I think he is good support for a bowler like Bumrah.

Matthew Hayden, said in the press conference:

"One of the aspects I'm looking forward to is the competition within the competition - the world-class bowling line-ups of both Australia and India. There's also the question of who will replace Mohammed Shami, who bowled brilliantly, not just in Perth - where he's the highest wicket-taker with six wickets at an average of 22 - but across the summer. His effectiveness is particularly crucial in day-night Tests, where seamers shine under twilight conditions."

"Amongst the three seamers, Hashit Rana, Akash Deep, and Prasidh Krishna. A like for like, I know Prasidh Krishna did pretty well in the unofficial test matches, but Akash Deep, for me, is probably the nearest replacement to a Mohammad Shami-type role, potentially even a little bit taller as well. So I think he'll go really well in both Perth and Adelaide."

India vs Australia 5th Test: Stiff back forces Akash Deep out of Border Gavaskar Trophy finale

India pacer Akash Deep was on Thursday (January 2, 2025) ruled out of the fifth and final Test against Australia starting on Friday (January 3, 2024) owing to a stiff back.

Akash had taken five wickets from two Tests in Brisbane and Melbourne so far. He was a bit unlucky to not get more as multiple catches were dropped off his bowling during the two games.

"Akash Deep is out with back issue," India coach Gautam Gambhir said in the pre-match press conference.

Gambhir said the playing XI would be decided after taking a look at the pitch.

The 28-year-old right-arm pacer bowled a total of 87.5 overs across two Test matches and his niggle could be a result of the heavier than usual workload he has endured.

The hard Australian grounds can cause knee, ankle and back issues for pacers. Either Harshit Rana or Prasidh Krishna could make it to the eleven in place of Akash.

India trail 1-2 in the five-match series and need to win the fifth and final game to retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

SOURCE: https://www.thehindu.com/sport/cric...er-gavaskar-trophy-finale/article69052556.ece

In an interview with an online platform, Ravi Ashwin revealed:

"In the recently concluded Test series. Akash Deep was bowling a fabulous spell at The Gabba. He was probably bowling the best at The Gabba, Jassi (Jasprit Bumrah) wasn't. He was going through a wonderful spell of 3-4 overs. I was watching the game from outside. No offence. I saw Virat (Kohli) run up to him and said 'Seedha daalo yaar (bowl straight buddy)' and immeditely out came a fielder and he went to leg gully. Akash Deep bowled on the body and a couple of balls down the leg side, got flicked, got pulled, and his rhythm went awry."

"So why does this happen? In Virat's head he thought 'That is uncomfortable for me so you do that against Steve Smith, you are going to get him out'. Now, bowling is very different. If I need to hit the right length, I need to start. There could be a slope at a particular ground which would stop me from bowling the perfect length so I get into a rhythm. If you understand a bowler, you know he is going through a right spell. Do not disturb him, allow him to build on his spell."

All his early troubles have already been mentioned in the OP. Heard an interview with Pujara post-2nd Test where he revealed something more that he hasn't talked about - apparently, now his sister has cancer and has been unwell for the last 3 months. Went on to dedicate his performance to her.

I mean, one guy with so many tragedies within his family. And they still find ways to focus on their game. Quite shaming when I think of the things I complain about.

Akashdeep Singh’s journey in cricket is a powerful story of resilience, sacrifice, and unwavering determination. Born on December 15, 1996, in Dehri, Bihar, Akashdeep came from modest beginnings. His father, Ramji Singh, was a schoolteacher who believed in the importance of education over sport. In an environment where cricket infrastructure was limited and societal expectations discouraged sports as a viable career, Akashdeep pursued his passion for cricket quietly, often practicing in secret.

His early career was disrupted when the Bihar Cricket Association was suspended, which forced him to move to Durgapur in West Bengal in search of better opportunities. There, he supported himself through club and tennis-ball cricket, clinging to his dream despite the odds. But life dealt him a cruel blow when he lost both his father and elder brother within a span of just six months. With the responsibility of supporting his grieving family suddenly on his shoulders, Akashdeep made the difficult decision to step away from the sport for nearly three years.

Despite this tragic interruption, the fire for cricket never died within him. When he returned to the game, he quickly made an impact in Bengal’s domestic circuit. He impressed selectors and coaches alike with his raw pace and disciplined line and length. Thanks to Bengal’s Vision 2020 program initiated by Sourav Ganguly, Akashdeep received advanced training under experienced coaches like Ranadeb Bose, which helped him evolve rapidly as a fast bowler.

His performances earned him a place in the Bengal state team, and he made his T20, List A, and first-class debuts in 2019. Over the next few years, he became one of Bengal’s most reliable pacers, claiming over 100 first-class wickets with a bowling average around 22. His success on the domestic stage caught the attention of IPL scouts, and in 2022, he was signed by Royal Challengers Bangalore, marking a significant leap in his career.

In February 2024, Akashdeep reached a major milestone when he was called up to represent India in the fourth Test against England in Ranchi. He made an immediate impression on debut, taking three wickets in his first hour on the field. His performance was praised widely, with many calling it one of the most memorable Indian Test debuts in recent years. Later that year, during the Border–Gavaskar Trophy against Australia, he showcased his all-round grit by scoring a crucial unbeaten 27 and smashing a six that helped India avoid a follow-on, further cementing his place in the team.

Akashdeep Singh’s rise is more than just a cricketing success story—it is a testament to human spirit. From the dusty grounds of Bihar to the international stage, he has shown that talent, when coupled with perseverance and heart, can overcome even the most daunting of obstacles. He embodies the dreams of countless young athletes from underrepresented regions of India, proving that humble beginnings are not a limitation but a foundation for greatness.

He might not be big for long, but any test wins by an Indian bowler in Sena condition should be appreciated.

He was remarkable in the last test, needs to consistently improve.

He is much better than Prasidh. For next match, India should go with Bumrah/Akashdeep/Arshdeep.

Siraj needs a rest and Prasidh should not be anywhere close to the team.

He is not going to be like Bumrah or anything. But he is fairly serviceable for 2 or 3 years.

That grouping shows his natural length is good length and full. Bumrah is about a meter to half shorter. I'd take Akash over Siraj as Bumrah's new ball partner for that reason alone.

Wow, this guy really knows his stuff.

The last Indian fast bowler to take 10 wickets in a Test was Umesh Yadav, v West Indies at Hyderabad in 2018.

According to England Media, he was chucking and cheating and rubbing the ball to generate more swing like Warner was doing in 2018.

Idk how accurate england media is but they made claims about subcontinent pitches and now this.

This should be investigated 100%

According to England Media, he was chucking and cheating and rubbing the ball to generate more swing like Warner was doing in 2018.

Idk how accurate england media is but they made claims about subcontinent pitches and now this.

Everyone is not like shameless Australian player's who used sandpaper to win the game. :dw :kp

England Media are reporting it. Not me. Don't blame me and start searching Google for once.

Or is Google also banned like Tiktok in India? What search engine do you use? Railway Express :vk2

It seems I'm one of the few sane posters left now. The Goat amoung Goats.

Chucking - Aakashdeep bowling angle doesnt support bending the arm. If the seam is jot up, swing will not be generated properly. Infact chucking may increase speed but doesnt allow seam up presentation.

Rubbing the ball to his pants is cheating now?😂
English media should get better

Chucking - Aakashdeep bowling angle doesnt support bending the arm. If the seam is jot up, swing will not be generated properly. Infact chucking may increase speed but doesnt allow seam up presentation.

Rubbing the ball to his pants is cheating now?😂
English media should get better
Its English media, not me. I am simply reporting what they said.

NO MORE PERSONAL REMARKS... STAY ON TOPIC
Haven't made a personal remark bro. Its the other 3 that you need to get a hold off.

Imma chill pill. Am reporting the English media calling Akash Deep a chucker

Haven't made a personal remark bro. Its the other 3 that you need to get a hold off.

Imma chill pill. Am reporting the English media calling Akash Deep a chucker
WARNING IS FOR ALL... NO POINTING OUT ANYONE HERE

Akashdeep can bowl like this even in Indian conditions, he does obtain a lot of seam movement and is a consistent 140kph bowler.

Hopefully we can draft Yudhvir too.

Have to give credit to this guy. Lost his father & brother to covid. Sister has cancer. Hats off. More power to him.

How personal tragedy motivates India seamer Deep

"Why didn't you tell Siraj to bowl outside the off stump so that you could take five wickets?"

That's what Bengal team-mate Shreevats Goswami jokingly asked Akash Deep after the first innings of the second England versus India Test.

"No, no, whatever the team requires, we have to do that," Deep replied.

The right-arm pacer, who had featured in just seven Tests for India before, eventually claimed a five-wicket haul in the second innings, helping India seal an impressive win.

Deep stepped up in style, even earning praise from England captain Ben Stokes for "his ability to use and change his angles consistently and still be so accurate".

'He thought only the rich could play cricket'

While Deep's name only began resonating in cricket circles after his 10 wickets at Edgbaston, his story stretches far deeper.

Born in a small village in Bihar, one of India's most economically challenged states, Akash grew up believing cricket was a game for the wealthy. It was his childhood friend Vaibhav Kumar who first instilled belief in him.

"Cricket wasn't very popular in Bihar back then. In our entire district, barely 20 to 25 people were playing leather-ball cricket," Vaibhav says.

"Akash mostly played with a tennis ball, but whenever we took him along for a leather-ball match, he would always help us win. But Akash thought that only the rich could play cricket."

Vaibhav, a cricketer himself, became convinced of Deep's talent after watching professional players up close.

"We went to Jamshedpur, where a few Ranji Trophy and IPL players were playing in an academy. When I saw them bowling, I was like 'Akash is faster and better than them'," he recalls.

"I asked the coaches there to take a look at him, and they were impressed too. They said if not India, Akash could definitely play IPL as long as he works hard."

But before Deep could fully commit to the sport, tragedy struck. His father died in 2015, followed by his elder brother just six months later.

With no primary breadwinner in the family, cricket was put on hold.

"He bought a dumper on partnership after saving some money from farming and used it to earn a living. His mother also received half of her late husband's salary, which helped the family get by," Vaibhav says.

Deep left the game for nearly three years, but his passion for cricket never fully disappeared. Determined to chase his dream, he decided to relocate to Bengal.

"My father was posted in Bengal, and we decided to rent a flat there. I went to different clubs and asked them to consider Akash, but they would make fun of me," Vaibhav says.

"But I didn't give up and requested one of the coaches multiple times to take a look at him just once. After seeing him, they agreed to play him."

'He had to believe in himself'

That proved to be the turning point. Deep soon began playing in Bengal's domestic circuit and was quickly noticed.

"He was on the fringes. But it was pretty evident that he was an exceptional talent. He had a lot of strength, good pace, and a natural ability to swing the ball. So, we brought him into the team and he did exceedingly well," says former India cricketer Arun Lal, then Bengal's coach.

"He was so good that I am rather disappointed that it has taken him so long to surface on the international stage."

But talent alone wasn't enough. Arun had to work on Akash's mindset.

"He underestimated himself. So the idea was to work on his temperament rather than technique and try to get him to believe in himself," Arun says.

His domestic performances eventually earned him a spot in the IPL, and soon after, in India's Test squad. Deep made his international debut in early 2024 against England, picking up three wickets.

It seemed his fortunes had finally turned. But more hardship was around the corner.

"His sister was diagnosed with cancer. He went through a lot of stress and would even turn his phone off. He was feeling mentally down since he had already lost his father and brother. But thankfully, she is fine now," Vaibhav says.

Deep later dedicated his performance at Edgbaston to his sister.

"Every time I picked up the ball, her thoughts and picture crossed my mind. This performance is dedicated to her. I want to tell her, 'Sis, we are all with you.'"

After Edgbaston, Deep struggled at Lord's and missed the Old Trafford Test through injury, but his absence was felt as his replacement, Anshul Kamboj, struggled to adapt to English conditions.

His return to the team cannot come quickly enough.