[VIDEOS] Fatalities after stampede in Bengaluru during celebrations after RCB's IPL title win

Devadwal

Senior Test Player

Eleven die in Bengaluru crush as fans gather for IPL victory parade​

Eleven people have been killed and dozens injured in a crush outside a cricket stadium in Bengaluru, which was hosting a victory parade to celebrate the home team's Indian Premier League win, the state's chief minister said.

Thousands of people had lined the streets on Wednesday to welcome the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) who beat the Punjab Kings in the IPL cricket final the day before.

Karnataka state Chief Minister Siddaramaiah told reporters that authorities had not expected the number of people who had turned out.

One police official told the BBC more than 200,000 people came out for the victory parade but they had anticipated only half that amount.

When the tragedy struck, the gates of the stadium "were not even opened, but there were so many people trying to push through a small gate that the stampede took place," an official said.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi said the "mishap in Bengaluru is heartrending" adding that his "thoughts are with all those who have lost their loved ones".

State Chief Minister Siddaramaiah said he was "deeply shocked by the tragic loss of lives".

"A moment of joy has been eclipsed by sorrow," he added.
The RCB team had arrived by a special flight at the old HAL airport to be received by Karnataka Deputy chief minister DK Shivakumar. They were taken in a procession to the hotel.

This was a precursor for the reception on the steps of the majestic Vidhana Soudha, seat of the state legislature, where Governor Thawarchand Gehlot, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and other ministers met the team.

The team was then scheduled to drive, again, in a procession to the stadium before the crush occurred.

Prior to the incident, masses of people from different parts of the city had moved towards the stadium on all modes of transport wearing RCB jerseys.

Metro trains were so packed that several people - including this reporter - were not able to enter any compartment. All this while passengers inside the train and outside chanted the team's name in chorus.

Auto rickshaws and taxis did not respond to requests from people who wanted to be dropped anywhere near the stadium. Those who agreed dropped commuters several kilometres away.

After reports of people losing their lives in the crush spread, people started rushing away to metro stations.

Authorities shut down the stations around the stadium as huge crowds had gathered on the platforms.

Source: BBC

Celebration continues even after the loss of 7 precious lives, iss level pe insensitive ho chuke hain hum.

The players might not have a clue of whats happened but what about the government officials ??

Shocking stuff. These hooligans are no fans but need a reason to cause mayhem.

Even after PSGs win in CL, same situation in Paris.

This Should Never Have Happened.

If The Karnataka Government Couldn’t Handle The Crowd, They Shouldn’t Have Approved The Parade.

11 Lives Lost Due To Poor Planning Someone Must Be Held Accountable

Very very sad news. Saw a pic of an unconcious kid. Hope he recovers well.

Celebration continues even after the loss of 7 precious lives, iss level pe insensitive ho chuke hain hum.

The players might not have a clue of whats happened but what about the government officials ??
You are expecting too much from government officials.

Now Idiots ( BJP and congress) will start blamed game to each other's.

I just read the report that banglore police earlier denied the permission for victory celebration pared so big name from karanataka govt gave the permission just because they want to show the entire india . Such a pathetic mismanagement.

The BCCI secretary on tragedy in Bengaluru

This incident of deaths due to stampede is totally shocking for us. We at BCCI extend our heartfelt condolences to the families of the deceased. We also pray for the speedy recovery of all those who have been injured. When one organizes a victory celebrations of this magnitude, proper precautions, safety and security measures need to be taken. There has been some lapses in some corner somewhere. Due diligence should have been done so that an incident like this could have been avoided. I have heard that celebrations are on and I sincerely hope that nothing untoward happens

When we organized the Victory parade in Mumbai after the T20 World Cup, we had spoken to the local authorities and made elaborate arrangements keeping in mind the safety and security of the crowd who had come to see their heroes.

Even yesterday in Ahmedabad, during IPL finals, there were 120,000 people at the Narendra Modi Stadium. But BCCI has a dedicated team which has done elaborate planning in coordination with local district administration and law enforcing authorities to ensure that safety and security of the spectators

tragic incident indeed. It was probably a combination of mismanagement and fans getting too excited.

Stampede is part of our culture. No massive crowd gathering in our country is complete without a few wickets falling unfortunately. Better to avoid. Joining such gatherings is giving your consent for a wild adventure where anything goes.

Too pathetic to capture the limelight.Really don't know why the stupid desi govts wants to seek the attention in others work instead of doing a constructive job they were supposed to do.At the end govt will declare compensation for the victims but will never learn or accept their mistake. Holds the same for both parties.

Tragic and condolences to the families of the loved ones.

I pray that those who are injured recover quickly and get back to full Health

(Ameen)

Most of these cannot handle even 10,000 people gathered at a location. Now imagine millions pouring on to the streets. I saw pictures of the parade. How can anyone even breathe there? So many people jampacked on the streets. One idiot pulling a prank and the stampede is bound to happen.

Inexcusable. Having a large population is not an excuse for these things to happen. It’s sad that many third world countries people become like rabid animals and resort to pushing and shoving, how consumed can you be by a sport of a ball and wooden stick that you don’t even realize you’re running over people?

Misplaced zeal and passion for something so insignificant resulting in the loss of something of actual significance- human life.

Need an etiquette revolution in third world countries especially South Asia where we have manners in terms of standing patiently in queues, even if it means letting someone else go first, and being organized and orderly and not becoming primitive in public settings resulting in deaths, mobs, injuries etc. actually learning to respect human life.

Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Ilaihi Rajiuun if any Muslim brothers or sisters lost their life and prayers for all those left injured regardless of faith, I hope those injuries are not life altering.

The lack of civic sense among many Indians is a major reason for this. It’s quite common in public places. Honestly, it's often safer to stay at home than to venture out, you never know what might happen. People behave like there is no law or order, almost like animals on the road. :facepalm :inti

In this day & age, how come people come for such gatherings is beyond me. Aren't they employed somewhere? How come so many people apply and get mass leaves. Are their employers idiots?

Irrespective of the religion, same is true for religious gatherings too which accounts for most of stampede caused deaths in India.

RCB Criticised For "Inhuman" Celebrations As Stampedes Cause 11 Deaths​

The celebrations for the first-ever IPL victory of the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) turned tragic on Wednesday with over 50 fans injured and falling sick, and 11 feared killed following a stampede near the Chinnaswamy Stadium here. The incident occurred while fans were attending the celebration event for the RCB team lifting the IPL 2025 trophy. Fans rushed to social media to ask why the celebrations inside continued while people were fighting for their lives.

"Unbelievable! Victory celebration broadcast of RCB parade continues. No mention of stampede. NOT DONE," read a post on X.

"1 parade, 0 brains, & now 7 funerals. What kind of idiots plans a mass celebration without barricades, without strategy? This isn't a celebration gone wrong, this is an administration that went brain-dead," posted a user on 'X'

"The most gut-wrenching aspect of the #ChinnaswamyStadium stampede is the shocking apathy shown—celebrations continued as bodies lay lifeless. Where is our humanity? These young Kannadigas died for nothing, without even respect in death. It's disgraceful, inhuman, and unforgivable. Those responsible must be named, shamed, and held criminally accountable.," posted another user.

In this day & age, how come people come for such gatherings is beyond me. Aren't they employed somewhere? How come so many people apply and get mass leaves. Are their employers idiots?

Irrespective of the religion, same is true for religious gatherings too which accounts for most of stampede caused deaths in India.
I am sure you have heard of that Elvish Yadav guy? Just look at how many jobless people show up at his meetups. :inti

Royal Challengers Bengaluru releases a statement on the Bengaluru stampede.

"We are deeply anguished by the unfortunate incidents that have come to light through media reports regarding public gatherings all over Bengaluru in anticipation of the team’s arrival this afternoon. The safety and well-being of everyone is of utmost importance to us. RCB mourns the tragic loss of lives and extend our heartfelt condolences to the affected families. Immediately upon being made aware of the situation, we promptly amended our program, and followed, the guidance and advice of the local administration. We urge all our supporters to please stay safe", reads the statement.

I am sure you have heard of that Elvish Yadav guy? Just look at how many jobless people show up at his meetups. :inti
Heard of him and the wealth he has created in only a few years. Apparently, he has a 16 BHK (Yes its a 16 BHK home, you read it right!) home in Gurgaon, properties in Dubai and several high end cars. And what talent does he possess? None!

You do not need any real talent to succeed. In this era of information and social media, all you have to do is convince people that you are special and someone to be looked up to. Its not easy to do that. But the ones who can do it will become very rich. Its the same in US and Europe too.

Most of these cannot handle even 10,000 people gathered at a location. Now imagine millions pouring on to the streets. I saw pictures of the parade. How can anyone even breathe there? So many people jampacked on the streets. One idiot pulling a prank and the stampede is bound to happen.
NEVER ever go to any event were mass gathering is expected. There is no government in India which can assure adequate arrangements and safety. All they can do is disown you after the tragedy. What happened at Chinnaswamy stadium is no different. #Fact

Tragic, these cricket martyrs deserve a place in history, Bengaluru Disaster

RIP.

Tragic and unnecessary loss of life during a moment of great celebration.

It's a serious failure on the part of the local government and police in terms of crowd control. While it's wrong to blame the victims, parents taking their kids to this type of celebration is also not the best decision-making.

I am not trying to hurt the feelings of any of our Indian friends in this sad time but is it surprising that RCB continued to celebrate?

We are talking about a league where players travelled in hazmat suits during COVID while people were dying on the street in the nations capital and where the organizers thought it sensible to continue with a cricket match on the border after their government has bombed the stadium of a rival league.

If anything epitomizes the saying the "the show must go on" it is the IPL circus.

NEVER ever go to any event were mass gathering is expected. There is no government in India which can assure adequate arrangements and safety. All they can do is disown you after the tragedy. What happened at Chinnaswamy stadium is no different. #Fact
Something missing from your post, at the end of all your posts...dont tell me he was there as well 😞

Very sad to hear. Condolences to the families of the deceased. Hooliganism has no place in sports.

RIP

Royal Challengers Bengaluru releases a statement on the Bengaluru stampede.

"We are deeply anguished by the unfortunate incidents that have come to light through media reports regarding public gatherings all over Bengaluru in anticipation of the team’s arrival this afternoon. The safety and well-being of everyone is of utmost importance to us. RCB mourns the tragic loss of lives and extend our heartfelt condolences to the affected families. Immediately upon being made aware of the situation, we promptly amended our program, and followed, the guidance and advice of the local administration. We urge all our supporters to please stay safe", reads the statement.

Posted at 9:36 pm long after the celebrations were done.

Stop giving these corporate monkeys your emotions, wellbeing and money.

That is sad news... People were so happy that RCB finally did it, but it cost them their lives in the end.

Posted at 9:36 pm long after the celebrations were done.

Stop giving these corporate monkeys your emotions, wellbeing and money.
I have understand Neither cricketers nor the franchises care about you.
They don’t know your name, they don’t care if you’re gone.
they doesn’t even know you exist?
And no , I’m not blaming RCB.
It’s the people.
The blind devotion. The misplaced emotions.

Saddening news. Misbah knew this would happen the day RCB win the IPL title otherwise he would have won it for them way back only. :misbah3

The value of a human being's life is just 5 lakh rupees...

---------------------------------------

RCB, KSCA jointly announce Rs 5 lakh compensation for families of 11 deceased in Bengaluru stampede, Karnataka government too chips in

“RCB - KSCA expresses deep concern and heartfelt condolences regarding the unfortunate incident that occurred during the celebration organised by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at M Chinnaswamy Stadium earlier today,” the KSCA stated in its statement.

“We are profoundly saddened by the tragic loss of life and the injuries sustained by individuals during this event. Our thoughts and prayers are with the families affected by this incident. We sincerely regret this tragedy and stand in solidarity with the bereaved families during this extremely difficult time.”

RCB - KSCA announces 5 lakhs to the families of those who have lost their loved ones. We hope this gesture can offer some support and solace in their time of grief,” the statement read.

“We want to emphasize that this compensation is not intended to determine or replace the value of human life, but rather to serve as a gesture of support and solidarity during such challenging times. Thank you for your understanding and support.”

The value of a human being's life is just 5 lakh rupees...

---------------------------------------

RCB, KSCA jointly announce Rs 5 lakh compensation for families of 11 deceased in Bengaluru stampede, Karnataka government too chips in

“RCB - KSCA expresses deep concern and heartfelt condolences regarding the unfortunate incident that occurred during the celebration organised by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at M Chinnaswamy Stadium earlier today,” the KSCA stated in its statement.

“We are profoundly saddened by the tragic loss of life and the injuries sustained by individuals during this event. Our thoughts and prayers are with the families affected by this incident. We sincerely regret this tragedy and stand in solidarity with the bereaved families during this extremely difficult time.”

“RCB - KSCA announces 5 lakhs to the families of those who have lost their loved ones. We hope this gesture can offer some support and solace in their time of grief,” the statement read.

“We want to emphasize that this compensation is not intended to determine or replace the value of human life, but rather to serve as a gesture of support and solidarity during such challenging times. Thank you for your understanding and support.”
Many of the Indian fans regularly chest beat and do Bhangras when comparing IPL salary to other leagues salary and when board announces sponsorship deals they act like the money is going into their pockets.

Unfortunately this is the reality of franchise cricket.

Don't waste so much time and effort on these soulless companies.

I have understand Neither cricketers nor the franchises care about you.
They don’t know your name, they don’t care if you’re gone.
they doesn’t even know you exist?
And no , I’m not blaming RCB.
It’s the people.
The blind devotion. The misplaced emotions.
Good post. :kp :inti

Now Idiots ( BJP and congress) will start blamed game to each other's.

I just read the report that banglore police earlier denied the permission for victory celebration pared so big name from karanataka govt gave the permission just because they want to show the entire india . Such a pathetic mismanagement.

There was no permission given for this celebration . People in India have no sense.

It boils down to that .

Stampedes happen even in places of religious pilgrimage - Kumbh Mela being the biggest example .

The blame goes to RCB franchise for this celebration

There was no permission given for this celebration . People in India have no sense.

It boils down to that .

Stampedes happen even in places of religious pilgrimage - Kumbh Mela being the biggest example .

The blame goes to RCB franchise for this celebration
Celebrations should have been done a stadium like Chinnaswamy.

May be, RCB management was indeed thinking of people coming over for their tamasha.

People are using this tragic event to peddle their agenda which is sad to see. The exact same thing happened in Paris just a week ago after PSGs win in CL with 2 people dead and over 500 injured. Paris population is 2 crore where as Bengaluru has 14 crore people. Sports vandalism happens everywhere and this is not something exclusive to India. Everyone remembers in this country the hooliganism happened in Wembley stadium during Euros 2020 finals.

Dying just for supporting a cricket/ Football team is the worst thing. Never give more value to a Team than to your own life.

1.4 Crs Not 14 Crs, even entire karnataka is not having 14 population

Oh, so you are going to defend even this? :facepalm :inti

1.4 Crs Not 14 Crs, even entire karnataka is not having 14 population
Okay thanks. I am not good with crores and lakhs as those are only Indian numeric system.

What I meant was Bangalore has 14 million population compared to Paris only having 2 million.

Oh, so you are going to defend even this? :facepalm :inti
Not defending the hooliganism but the agenda. My point is, sports vandalism happens in many places, incluing in 1st world cities like Paris.

Btw, whom you want to put the blame on? RCB, reckless public or Congress state govt? I am fine with any of them

:qdkcheeky

Not defending the hooliganism but the agenda. My point is, sports vandalism happens in many places, incluing in 1st world cities like Paris.

Btw, whom you want to put the blame on? RCB, reckless public or Congress state govt? I am fine with any of them

:qdkcheeky
Illiterate public followed by RCB. And if they took permission from the state government then all of them are responsible. :inti

FIR filed against RCB, KSCA, event firm over stampede near stadium gate​

According to the police, the case was registered at Cubbon Park police station under several BNS sections​

An FIR has been registered against RCB, event management firm DNA entertainment networks, Karnataka State Cricket Association and others in connection with the stampede near Chinnaswamny stadium here that claimed the lives of 11 people and injured 56, police said on Thursday.

According to the police, the case was registered at Cubbon Park police station under sections 105 (culpable homicide not amounting to murder), 115 (Voluntarily causing hurt), 118 (voluntarily causing hurt or grievous hurt by using dangerous weapons or means), 190 (liability of members of an unlawful assembly for offences committed in pursuit of a common object), 132 (assault or criminal force to deter a public servant from discharging their duty), 125(12) (acts endangering life or personal safety of others), 142 (unlawful assembly) and 121 (abetment of an offence) of the Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita.

Bengaluru's M Chinnaswamy Stadium Stampede: RCB Marketing Head Nikhil Sosale has been ARRESTED. :kp

Four arrested over India cricket stadium crush

Police in India have arrested at least four people in connection with the fatal crowd crush that took place in the southern city of Bengaluru earlier this week.

On Wednesday, 11 people were killed when tens of thousands gathered outside a cricket stadium to celebrate the cricket league Royal Challengers Bengaluru's (RCB) historic Indian Premier League (IPL) victory.

Those arrested include personnel of RCB and the event management company which organised the celebrations.

Five senior police officers, including the city's police chief, have been suspended for "negligence and irresponsibility" by the government.

A police official told BBC Hindi that more arrests are expected as the investigation continues.

According to police, the people arrested were responsible for posting about the victory parade - from the state legislature building to the Chinnaswamy Stadium - on RCB's social media handles and website.

On Thursday, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah said that a police complaint had been filed and legal action taken against the franchise, the event management company, and the Karnataka State Cricket Association.

More than 200,000 people reportedly turned up for the parade, although police had anticipated only half that number. The stadium, where the celebrations were held, has a capacity of 32,000 and was overwhelmed long before the team arrived.

The Karnataka High Court has also ordered a status report on the incident.

Separately, India cricket coach Gautam Gambhir has criticised the decision to host the victory parade and said his "heart goes out" to those affected.

"If we are not ready to hold a road show we should not have done that," former India batter and IPL-winning captain Gambhir said.

On Thursday, RCB said they would give 1,000,000 rupees (£9,000) to the families of those killed.

"We need to be responsible. We need to be responsible citizens and responsible in every aspect, because every life matters...You cannot at any point in time lose 11 people. We can be more responsible," Gambhir added.

BBC

Karnataka Government is worthless, RCB management have no planning (all these years they failed in team selection, this time for a change they were good in that, but definitely they could not handle the success, they were not ready for it), RCB fans have over-excitement... All are to be blamed for this tragic incident...

I know IPL will continue next year also (Don't think Indian Govt. would ask BCCI to stop IPL altogether based on this incident. Nobody has guts given the economic benefits it brings to all of them except Common Citizen)

I think a realistic & feasible punishment for this is to ban RCB from IPL for 2 years (like what they did to RR & CSK... This time for different reason. BCCI & IPL Administrators should take an action)... And play with 9 teams or add an interim team from a different city (Cochin/Pune/Vizag...). This will calm down everyone and they all will be taught a lesson.

In the mean time KSCA can think of building a new stadium - a bigger stadium (far from city in the outskirts or in a different city like Mysore, Tumkur, etc). This will also calm it down further... Because Chinnaswamy is at the heart of the city and easily accessible for everyone and leads to crowd/traffic buildup & too much commercialism and partying and what not... Also Chinnaswamy stadium is too small for international standards... The space in Chinnaswamy can be easily acquired by corporates and can run different business (pubs, bars, commercial complex, etc) and can bring similar or even more revenue.

And one more thing is they should not have made the felicitation ceremony in front of Vidhana Soudha (and add political colors to it). RCB should have had the guts to deny that... (That's where managing qualities of a franchisee comes into picture)

So a ban on RCB for 2 years and sacking the Karnataka Govt. are minimum things/demands/punishments in my opinion (But I doubt it would happen. If it happens it is justice to humanity)

Karnataka Cricket Body on stampede row during RCB victory celebrations: “It was the government that called for the celebrations"

"Celebrating the victory was in fact at the call of the Government. The felicitation was held at the Vidhana Soudha in the presence of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, his deputy DK Shivakumar, and several Cabinet ministers. Senior bureaucrats and senior police officials were also in attendance.

"The gate management and crowd management was not the responsibility of KSCA. It was of RCB, the organiser, and the police."

"The KSCA Managing Committee only handles the venue of Chinnaswamy Stadium on rentals and controls cricket in Karnataka. It does not deal with the audience, spectators, or fans,"

After RCB's first IPL title, a celebratory event turned tragic with 11 deaths and nearly 50 injuries in a stampede in Bengaluru. Four arrests were made, including an RCB official. BCCI plans to implement guidelines for future celebrations to prevent such incid

What was supposed to be a glorious moment for Royal Challengers Bengaluru has turned into its darkest after what happened a day after the side's first-ever IPL title win. After ending an 18-year drought, RCB received a hero's welcome in Bengaluru but the fanfare turned disastrous as 11 people lost their lives while close to 50 were injured. Four people have been arrested in connection with the stampede outside Chinnaswamy Stadium. According to the police, Nikhil Sosale, a top marketing official of the RCB, was among those arrested. He was on his way to Mumbai when he was arrested from Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru, at around 6.30am.

BCCI is now thinking to introduce guidelines for victory celebrations. "At some stage BCCI will have to do something. We cannot be a silent spectator," BCCI secretary Devajit Saikia told Cricbuzz.

"It was a private affair of RCB but we at the BCCI are responsible for cricket in India and we will try to ensure such incidents do not recur in future."

Earlier, Indian cricket team head coach Gautam Gambhir said that road shows should not be held at all after such victories.

"I think the lives of people are far more important and I will continue to say. We can be a little bit careful of not holding these kinds of roadshows and can probably have them closed doors or something like this in a stadium," India coach Gautam Gambhir said.

"When I used to play, I didn't believe much in roadshows. I don't believe in them today and I don't believe in them in the future. Winning is important, celebrations are important, but more important than that is the life of any person. So if we are not prepared, or if we cannot handle the crowd in that way, then might as well these roadshows should not take place."

India's star batter Smriti Mandhana expressed her grief at the death of 11 people in a stampede on Wednesday near the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Mandhana posted on her Instagram account, "Heartbroken to hear about the lives lost in Bengaluru. My thoughts and prayers are with the families and loved ones. Please stay safe, everyone."

NDTV

A Shankar and E S Jairam have resigned from their respective posts as secretary and treasurer of the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA), taking moral responsibility for the stampede that led to the death of 11 people during RCB's IPL trophy celebrations.

In a joint statement, Shankar and Jairam said they had submitted their resignations on Thursday night to the KSCA president.

"...due to the unforeseen and unfortunate events that have unfolded in the last two days, and though our role was very limited, we wish to state that we have tendered our resignation to our respective posts as the Secretary and Treasurer of the Karnataka State Cricket Association," the statement read.

Hindustan Times

Fans killed in Bengaluru stampede: Ex-IPL chief slams RCB, State Govt for criminal negligence

Former Indian Premier League (IPL) chairman Lalit Modi has strongly criticised the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) franchise and the Karnataka state government for the tragic stampede that claimed 11 lives and left several others injured during the team’s victory parade in Bengaluru earlier this month.

Following RCB’s maiden IPL title win, thousands of jubilant fans gathered outside the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on June 4, where the official celebrations were held. However, the event took a devastating turn as the overcrowded venue led to chaos when fans attempted to forcefully enter the stadium, resulting in a deadly stampede.

Speaking exclusively to IANS, Lalit Modi expressed deep condolences to the families of the victims and labelled the incident as a case of gross mismanagement.

"First and foremost, my condolences to the families of those who lost their lives in the stampede. This should never have happened. The entire event was poorly planned and executed," Modi said.

"There is so much mudslinging and finger-pointing going on, but the issue is simple — the event should never have been allowed without proper arrangements in place. The authorities failed, and the team management should also have ensured fan safety before participating in the so-called celebrations."

Modi was scathing in his criticism, adding, "The poor fans who died or were injured were simply passionate about the game and their team. They deserved better. This tragedy will haunt the RCB franchise and the players involved in the celebrations forever. Mark my words — even one death or injury is unacceptable. Heads must roll."

He further stressed the need for accountability and prioritisation of fan safety, saying, "The value of life and well-being of fans must be paramount. But sadly, it seems no one really cares. The government should have done far more to ensure the event was organised safely. We've seen major events across India handled successfully — why not this one?"