[VIDEOS] 'Ghar mein ghus ke maara': Kangana Ranaut applauds Javed Akhtar for slamming Pakistan over 26/11

daytrader

Bollywood actress Kangana Ranaut applauded lyricist Javed Akhtar for holding up the mirror to Pakistan and slamming the country for its involvement in 26/11 terror attacks. Akhtar said that the perpetrators came from Pakistan and are roaming freely here.

Kangana Ranaut said "ghar me ghus ke mara (you beat them in their own backyard). She shared a video of Javed Akhtar and lauded him for slamming Pakistan while attending an event in its own city. He was speaking at a festival organised in memory of renowned Urdu poet Faiz Ahmed Faiz in Lahore.

At the event, Javed Akhtar said that the two countries should not blame each other as it won't solve any problem. "I am from Bombay and all of us witnessed the attack on Bombay," he added. The attackers weren’t from Norway, or from Egypt. They are still roaming in your country, so you should not be offended if an Indian complains about this.

His response came after a man in the audience reportedly asked him, “You have visited Pakistan many times. When you go back, do you tell your people that these are good people?"

Javed Akhtar schools Pakistan

Javed Akhtar mentioned that though India welcomes Pakistani artists, Pakistan have never hosted an Indian singer. He said that even though Pakistani artistes such as Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Mehdi Hasan have performed in India, Pakistan has never hosted a Lata Mangeshkar show.

He recalled that when Mehdi Hassan visited India, Shabana Azmi hosted it and he wrote for the event which was graced by the likes of Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhosle.

"When Faiz sahab visited, it seemed like an authority was visiting…it was broadcast all over. Have you ever seen Sahir (Ludhianvi), Kaifi (Azmi) or (Ali) Sardar Jafri’s interviews on PTV? It was shown in India, it happened there… So the communication blockade is from both sides and perhaps more from your side,” he said.

Javed Akhtar's comments are being widely shared and praised. Some called it his "surgical strike" in Pakistan.

https://www.timesnownews.com/india/...-pakistan-over-26/11-attacks-article-98116941

So he came to Pakistan and said this - and this is some sort of victory?

Javed Akhtar is right, Pakistan doesnt do anything about terrorists and it is now creating problem for us

And he forgot to mention how many times he and his wife have been invited to Pakistan. At least our artists have the courage to accept your invitations...how many Bollywood stars especially your King Khan have the will to travel across the border.

There is an economic reason behind it. Pakistani film stars would jump to India in a heart beat if get an offer from Bollywood. There is nothing that Pakistan can offer which can lure mega star and multi millionaire like SRK to visit there.

Celebrated writer and poet Javed Akhtar's blunt comments in Pakistan on 26/11 terrorists "roaming free" in the country and the bitterness in the hearts of Indians, have gone viral on social media.

Javed Akhtar visited Pakistan last week for a festival in Lahore in memory of legendary Urdu poet Faiz Ahmed Faiz.

The renowned lyricist, during an interaction, spoke about defusing tension between the two countries and said Pakistan couldn't blame Indians for being angry.

He was responding to someone in the audience saying: "You have visited Pakistan so many times. When you go back do you tell your people that these are good people, they aren't just bombing us but also greeting us with garlands and love?"

Javed Akhtar replied: "We should not blame each other. It will solve nothing. The atmosphere is tense, that should be doused. We are people from Mumbai, we have seen the attack on our city. They (attackers) did not come from Norway or Egypt. They are still roaming free in your country. So if there is anger in the Hindustani's heart, you can't complain."

He pointed out that Indian artistes had not been welcomed in Pakistan in the way India had hosted Pakistani legends.

"When Faiz Sahab visited, he was received like a very important visitor. It was broadcast all over. We hosted big functions of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Mehdi Hasan. You (Pakistan) never organized a function for Lata Mangeshkar?" the poet said, drawing cheers and claps from the gathering.

NDTV

We hosted big functions of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Mehdi Hasan.

He's talking about 30 years ago when the BJP hindutva fundamentalism was barely in the background. I wonder why he doesn't talk about current times? He must be getting a bit old, maybe he's suffering early dementia?

What is he doing in Pakistan to begin with and who the hell gave him a visa in these sensitive times?

Anyways he will get abused in both India for going there and in Pakistan for what he said :)) what’s the need for this?

Bhakts right now confused whether to applaud or ignore :))

Truth is, renowned Indian atheist Javed Akhtar regularly visits Pakistan for cultural events. He is a devotee of Faiz (my knowledge of this writer is limited to hearing his name in almost every other Javed Akhtar talk that involves language or literature). Also, this is not the first time he has been critical of the Pakistani state while in Pakistan. You can youtube this for sensationally titled videos uploaded by Indians.

In fairness, I've also seen Akhtar mock Godi media journalists when they try to get him to say something negative about the Pakistani people or try to bait him about traveling to Pakistan, which he often dismisses with a "I enjoy the company of the writers there and the respect I receive, and will continue to visit as long as I'm invited".

But the BJP and bhakts don't like him. It's like SRK. Even though Javed is openly an atheist, they don't like the sight of a beardless, Muslim-named person not fitting their narrative.

He seems to enjoy this though. As he once said, "So long as extremist Hindus and Muslims are criticizing me, I know I'm doing the right thing." :rabada2

Regarding Kangana's tweet. This overhyped mediocre actress has been having a bad run at the box-office despite her alleged following among the bhakts, and is just trying to stay relevant.

Just think about that - how bad must you be, that even the bhakts can't manufacture a hit for you :apology

Imagine a Pakistani celebrity saying something like this in India, most probably he won't go back alive. :inti

I don’t know who the equivalent of Javed Akthar is in Pakistan but to be honest if elite folk in India were having mushairas and ghazal parties during the worst economic crisis and a looming terror threat than the idea itself should be ridiculed including everyone involved. Whatever he said is an unexpected bonus either ways.

Are you alright? Why are you quoting me? Your post looks like a random reply to my post. May be read my post again and don't make a fool out of yourself once again. :inti

You have to understand their situation also. Intolerance and andhbhakti is at its peak in India. His bollywood career will end if he ever decides to go to Pakistan for a concert or something else. :inti

There is an economic reason behind it. Pakistani film stars would jump to India in a heart beat if get an offer from Bollywood. There is nothing that Pakistan can offer which can lure mega star and multi millionaire like SRK to visit there.

Bro all of these multimillionaire stars you talk about have gone and performed in Bangladesh, Nepal etc. They dance at weddings if enough money is thrown at them. They have much more fans in Pakistan and would make a lot of money by going there. They are just terrified and don't have the courage to face the backlash they would get back home if they went to Pakistan. They have no problem performing at weddings and events hosted by British Pakistanis in the UK.

She is our Shaan Shahid with a better filmography overall can’t do anything about her mouth though.

Also Javed sahib is being quoted out of context here.

Lol if you want, all these bollywood superstars can come at your wedding and do bhangra. You have to take a loan from Natwest Bank to pay their fees though. It is pretty common in India. Indians living in India know this pretty well. :inti

Are you alright? Why are you quoting me? Your post looks like a random reply to my post. May be read my post again and don't make a fool out of yourself once again. :inti

You said what if a Pakistan celebrity says this in India, I asked you to name someone who is equal to the fame and stature of Javed Akthar in Pakistan. I am sure there must be. I don’t follow urdu poetry so I thought you will hit me with some names as you live in India and follow Urdu poetry a lot more closely.

They are just terrified and don't have the courage to face the backlash they would get back home if they went to Pakistan.

lol Terrified is a strong word. The Bollywood stars are businessmen first. If a private event by Pakistani living in Britain makes them the extra buck and the down side is not that much because it is a private event, they will cash it in. If it’s a public event in Pakistan under current scenario and attending that eats away at their image or affects next projects they won’t. It is as simple as that.

These guys don’t care for India or normal common Indian fans and you think they have all love overflowing for Pakistanis? It’s purely business.

Music icon Javed Akhtar, whose comment about 26/11 attackers roaming free in Pakistan went viral on social media, told NDTV today that his response was extremely well-received by the audience across the border too. Mr Akhtar was in Pakistan last week for a festival in Lahore in memory of legendary Urdu poet Faiz Ahmed Faiz.

Asked about the comment today in an exclusive interview, the writer and poet told NDTV: "They all clapped. They agreed with me. There are many people who admire India, want to have a relationship with us".

"We tend to think of countries as monolith. That is not the case. How do we connect with millions of people who want to connect with India," he added.

Asked if this is then the right time to engage in talks, Mr Akhtar said, "I don't have that kind of calibre"(to respond to this query)".

"People who are in power, who are holding that position, understand what is happening, what is the situation how to go about it. Pakistan Army, Pakistani people, Pakistani establishment are not on the same page," he added.

Asked if he believed a middle ground is needed for talks, he said, "People who run the country know better. My information is little. We in India have very limited information about Pak people. Same is the case with them".

NDTV

Bhakts right now confused whether to applaud or ignore :))

Truth is, renowned Indian atheist Javed Akhtar regularly visits Pakistan for cultural events. He is a devotee of Faiz (my knowledge of this writer is limited to hearing his name in almost every other Javed Akhtar talk that involves language or literature). Also, this is not the first time he has been critical of the Pakistani state while in Pakistan. You can youtube this for sensationally titled videos uploaded by Indians.

In fairness, I've also seen Akhtar mock Godi media journalists when they try to get him to say something negative about the Pakistani people or try to bait him about traveling to Pakistan, which he often dismisses with a "I enjoy the company of the writers there and the respect I receive, and will continue to visit as long as I'm invited".

But the BJP and bhakts don't like him. It's like SRK. Even though Javed is openly an atheist, they don't like the sight of a beardless, Muslim-named person not fitting their narrative.

He seems to enjoy this though. As he once said, "So long as extremist Hindus and Muslims are criticizing me, I know I'm doing the right thing." :rabada2

Regarding Kangana's tweet. This overhyped mediocre actress has been having a bad run at the box-office despite her alleged following among the bhakts, and is just trying to stay relevant.

Just think about that - how bad must you be, that even the bhakts can't manufacture a hit for you :apology

Had Manmohan Singh taken any action back then (apart from banning cricket), this situation of Javed Sahab telling them spade a spade after so many years would not have arised. I am amazed how you have the gall to take a dig at bhakts when your clown Italian party who was in power back then were a mere spectator and how Manmohan wore bangles like women after that attack. Would they dare to orchestrate similar attack now under Modi rule? Lol. Imagine a terrorist like Kasab caught alive in UP...what Yogi would do to him :)))

You should be appreaciative of living in safe India now under BJP rule as these terrorist attacks were daily news when Congress was in power.

What about Hindu fanatics murdering innocent Pakistanis on the samjhauta express? What about Indian terrorism in Baluchistan? Javed conveniently "forgot" to mention that. How about Ajit Doval admitting causing terrorism in Pakistan?. We also have a lot of charges against India that are unanswered. What about Kulbushan Yadav caught in Pakistan involved in terrorism?. I am sure we gave Javed Akhtar good cup of team like we did Yadav. Had i been in the audience would have thrown these questions at him. The BBC has exposed Hindu and Indian terrorism so well just a few weeks back.

Javed Akhtar is spot on. I hope the rest of the world would be this blunt as well and ask Pakistan to put a stop to terrorism and extremism.

India should look at itself first before lecturing others. If they cause terrorism then will be victims off it as well.

Had Manmohan Singh taken any action back then (apart from banning cricket), this situation of Javed Sahab telling them spade a spade after so many years would not have arised. I am amazed how you have the gall to take a dig at bhakts when your clown Italian party who was in power back then were a mere spectator and how Manmohan wore bangles like women after that attack. Would they dare to orchestrate similar attack now under Modi rule? Lol. Imagine a terrorist like Kasab caught alive in UP...what Yogi would do to him :)))

You should be appreaciative of living in safe India now under BJP rule as these terrorist attacks were daily news when Congress was in power.

You seem to have had a breakdown there :))

The bangles, woman reference that you think is an insult :(

Ok, let's look at what Modiji achieved.

Went to Pakistan to eat biryani and received Pathankot as a gift.

Pranced around Xi Jinping at Mahabalipuram, and China occupied Indian territory soon after.

Modi is very welcoming it seems :ds

"Ghar mein ghus kar maara"?. Well you see us Pakistanis don't poison the food of blind cricketers like India did of Pak players some years back. We don't burn our guests alive on a train like India did on the Samjhauta Express. I remember how the Indian media praised Purvez Musharraf for dining on Indian territory during the kargil war. In Javed Akhtar we treated a guest like they should be as a human being. Such is the ignorance of Indian people that it seems they wanted us to beat him up:asghar!

I think his context was hindu-muslim angle. He meant that India whole heartedly celebrated likes of nushrat and mehdy hasan by organizing their shows but vice versa same is not the case with someone like lata mangeshkar.

Why would srk go across the border when he knows that his move would result in unimaginable backlash and consequences for his family and colleagues.

Someone like javed akhtar visiting pak is not a big deal in India but if an once in generation star like SRK visits pak then all hell would break loose in India.

Javed Akhtar is right, Pakistan doesnt do anything about terrorists and it is now creating problem for us

Your party is part of the gov now, so what are they waiting for? Go and fix it!

very immature post.

Terrorism doesnt finish like just waking up one day and deciding to wipe them off..

It takes years. PTI wanted the taliban to be made part of the pakistani society again. They didnt even ask them to return their weapons, they were hoping that the afghanistan govt would help, and it all blew apart.

Under PMLN govt we saw Zarb e Azab take place which helped in eliminating these terrorists.

Now it will take another long term policy to eliminate them again

You seem to have had a breakdown there :))

The bangles, woman reference that you think is an insult :(

Ok, let's look at what Modiji achieved.

Went to Pakistan to eat biryani and received Pathankot as a gift.

Pranced around Xi Jinping at Mahabalipuram, and China occupied Indian territory soon after.

Modi is very welcoming it seems :ds

Not sure if you are making sense, not that you ever do anyway.

The discussion is about 26/11 attacks and its a fact that congress didn't do anything. Chidambaram himself said there was enormous pressure on govt to act even from within his party but MMS abstained. He kept on sending dossiers after dossiers, Pakistani's laughed at them and Hafeez Saeed still roaming free there. It was a weak govt at the centre and any self respecting Indians would never want such party to come back to power.

The toughest thing Manmohan did after those attacks were ban cricket ties and recited a poem in parliament :)))

What Modi achieved and not is not the premise of this thread. All I can say you can now safely roam outside your house without fearing of getting blown away, which was not the case during UPA rule.

No terrorist will dare to attack mainland India now. So you are hoping against hope that China occupies Indian land soon so that you can hold it against govt? Man how anti national you are :))

Until India stops all terrorism in Pakistan and punishes the perpetrators of the Samjhauta Express there can be no negotiations with them. If I am Pak PM this is what I will make very clear to Indian people and their government. Javed Akhtar or Indian people don't ever want to discuss this. There grievances will be ignored until they do. There are also many unanswered questions on 26/11 too.

Resham condemns Javed Akhtar’s comments about ‘terrorists’ in Pakistan at Faiz Festival

Actor Resham condemned comments made about terrorism by Indian lyricist and poet Javed Akhtar at last weekend’s Faiz Festival. The comments were highlighted in a video shared on social media that went viral on Monday.

In a video from the festival, he can be heard differentiating between how India treats Pakistani artists and vice versa, attaching the blame for the Mumbai attack in 2008 on Pakistani ‘terrorists’. The actor said she was not aware of his remarks and reiterated her love for Pakistan.

On Wednesday, she posted a story on Instagram to address the matter. “My country is more dear to me than anything else. I absolutely had no knowledge about what Javed Akhtar sahab said about my country in the Faiz Festival session,” she wrote. “I condemn his words. As per our customs of special treatment, we consider guests God’s mercy but Pakistan is more precious to us than our hearts and lives.”

A day earlier, she shared photos of herself and Akhtar at a dinner hosted for the Indian screenwriter by singer Ali Zafar, saying she felt “lucky” to be part of such a gathering.

https://images.dawn.com/news/119155...about-terrorists-in-pakistan-at-faiz-festival

Why do Pakistan invite Indian celebrities?

As for Kangana Ranaut, she is one pathetic individual.

This Kangana chick does it all for attention. Some years back she was arguing with Hrithik Roshan over some issue. India is easily the most celebrity obsessed country where nothing sells more then an actor or actress making a comment on Pakistan. She is just like that supposed recent convert to Islam Rakhi Sawant always wanting to be in the news for any reason at all. Such Indian celebrities fall over each other to comment on Pakistan knowing they will get a few minutes of fame. As Fatima Bhutto recently said India's obsession with Pakistan is just incredible.

I think his context was hindu-muslim angle. He meant that India whole heartedly celebrated likes of nushrat and mehdy hasan by organizing their shows but vice versa same is not the case with someone like lata mangeshkar.

Why would srk go across the border when he knows that his move would result in unimaginable backlash and consequences for his family and colleagues.

Someone like javed akhtar visiting pak is not a big deal in India but if an once in generation star like SRK visits pak then all hell would break loose in India.

Which says a lot about the utter hatred which is being fostered in the hearts of rank and file Hindus in India by the RSS/BJP movement. It is sad because it will ultimately tear the country apart.

This is the first time I'm hearing about this Akhtar guy. IDK why he's complaining about Pakistan not inviting Indians while being in Pakistan.

Truly a genius and a great representative for Ind.

Beghairat people in the audience who were clapping him. There is a fine line between hospitality and lacking self respect

This is the first time I'm hearing about this Akhtar guy. IDK why he's complaining about Pakistan not inviting Indians while being in Pakistan.

Truly a genius and a great representative for Ind.

First surprise: you don’t know who Javed Akthar is. Ok believable

2nd surprise: you didn’t even watch the full video

Not so surprising : giving your opinion and hyperventilating on something you didn’t even watch.

What Pakistanis in the crowd asked him is how come Indians don’t felicitate Pakistani artists.

He said Indians have done a lot functions to celebrate Mehdi Hassan ( the same guy who reportedly said he enjoys kafir money even though he hates them. The character of Naseeruddin Shah in sarfarosh was allegedly based on him) and the universally acclaimed Nusrat Fateh Ali while Pakistanis have not done the same for Lata Mageshkar etc.

He said 26/11 happened in India by the same terrorists who are in Pakistan. Are you saying what we heard in Peshawar and Karachi as fake news? In fact any he let your previous govts and army off the hook by blaming it solely on out of state actors /terrorists.

What’s your issue again?

Not so surprising : giving your opinion and hyperventilating on something you didn’t even watch.

What Pakistanis in the crowd asked him is how come Indians don’t felicitate Pakistani artists.

He said Indians have done a lot functions to celebrate Mehdi Hassan ( the same guy who reportedly said he enjoys kafir money even though he hates them. The character of Naseeruddin Shah in sarfarosh was allegedly based on him) and the universally acclaimed Nusrat Fateh Ali while Pakistanis have not done the same for Lata Mageshkar etc.

He said 26/11 happened in India by the same terrorists who are in Pakistan. Are you saying what we heard in Peshawar and Karachi as fake news? In fact any he let your previous govts and army off the hook by blaming it solely on out of state actors /terrorists.

What’s your issue again?

As I said in one of my previous posts, Mehdi Hassan and Fateh Ali Khan are from two generations ago. Is this guy so out of touch with reality today that he has no current examples he can use? It makes me wonder if he even knows what is going on in his own country, otherwise maybe he wouldn't be so shameless in using examples of stars who have been dead for decades as examples of India hosting Pakistani celebrities.

Maybe he didn't want to mention the nature of the govt at home because he knows he could be lynched figuratively speaking on his return home. Truly the silence of the lambs.

Does that mean he has no idea of what is going on in today's world? Is he senile perhaps?

Then he shouldn’t have been invited by the Pakistani elite. Based on the videos seen, they seem to be having a rollicking good time with the “senile” old poet and lapping up his every word. Can’t blame Javed or for the matter of fact Ind govt that issued him a visa in these sensitive times. You are barking up the wrong tree as always.

You said what if a Pakistan celebrity says this in India, I asked you to name someone who is equal to the fame and stature of Javed Akthar in Pakistan. I am sure there must be. I don’t follow urdu poetry so I thought you will hit me with some names as you live in India and follow Urdu poetry a lot more closely.

Once again your reply doesn't make any sense. I said if a Pakistani celebrity says something like this in India, he most probably won't reach his home alive. Not sure what that has got to do with the stature of a celebrity and Urdu poetry lol? :91: What are you trying to prove? :inti

Not sure if you are making sense, not that you ever do anyway.

The discussion is about 26/11 attacks and its a fact that congress didn't do anything. Chidambaram himself said there was enormous pressure on govt to act even from within his party but MMS abstained. He kept on sending dossiers after dossiers, Pakistani's laughed at them and Hafeez Saeed still roaming free there. It was a weak govt at the centre and any self respecting Indians would never want such party to come back to power.

The toughest thing Manmohan did after those attacks were ban cricket ties and recited a poem in parliament :)))

What Modi achieved and not is not the premise of this thread. All I can say you can now safely roam outside your house without fearing of getting blown away, which was not the case during UPA rule.

No terrorist will dare to attack mainland India now. So you are hoping against hope that China occupies Indian land soon so that you can hold it against govt? Man how anti national you are :))

Sending dossiers is still better than sending Abhinandan and getting a taste of their fantastic tea. Not to forget 'Sir ji kal' strikes. :facepalm :inti

Once again your reply doesn't make any sense (to me)

Let’s leave it at that.

Also if a Pakistani celebrity said that in India I would blame the idiots who invited him/her and gave them a platform to make such statements. Your question was foolish to begin with lol, once in a while I just like to indulge you, don’t take me seriously when I respond to you. I don’t value anything you say anyways. I hope you give me the same courtesy :)

Let’s leave it at that.

Also if a Pakistani celebrity said that in India I would blame the idiots who invited him/her and gave them a platform to make such statements. Your question was foolish to begin with lol, once in a while I just like to indulge you, don’t take me seriously when I respond to you. I don’t value anything you say anyways. I hope you give me the same courtesy :)

Why are most of you bhakhts sensitive, insecure and intolerant to others opinions? You could have easily replied to my statement, rather than asking me about celebrities with same stature, urdu poetry which had nothing to do with my comment lol. Obviously I never take you seriously for these same reasons. :inti

Pakistan should stop inviting foreigners - England whitewashed them in test series, New Zealand thrashed them in the ODI series and now Javed Akhtar roasting them on their home turf :P

Sending dossiers is still better than sending Abhinandan and getting a taste of their fantastic tea. Not to forget 'Sir ji kal' strikes. :facepalm :inti

No one send Abhinandan...he was a prisoner of war who was caught chasing their jet. It happens in any battle. India had many Pakistani prisoner of war during 71 battle. The point being, this govt has guts to retaliate which was missing from MMS. You can make fun out of it by calling it 'Sir Ji Kal' or whatever whatsapp trolls forward you but the fact remains India is much more safe. There has been no terrorist attack in mainland India during Modi's era due to the fear of backlash. Terrorists knew they can get away doing anything during previous regime and hence these attacks were regular.

Why are most of you bhakhts sensitive, insecure and intolerant to others opinions?i

Bhakts are consistent and the anti-bhakts are the same in their opinions. No problem there. My comment was on people with questionable identity who just pick the other sentiment just for attention and flip flop as per convenience for no particular reason. As I said no problem there as well. Once in a while it’s fun to indulge but that’s about it.

So Whens kangana coming to pakistan then to hurt and fight with pakistanis? Or is she expecting some young indians to go sacrifice their lives for her bravado

What’s your issue again?

First of all, you need to stop assuming every Pakistani knows about obscure Indian celebs like Javed Akthar.

Now on to the main point, he is complaining about Indians not being invited(or "celebrated") in Pakistan while he's presently in Pakistan. Why does he care about who was or wasn't invited more than 20 years ago?

This guy is crying about 26/11 but you won't hear a peep out of his type when it comes to Balochistan, Kashmir, and much more. Must be a surprise to hear that global politics isn't black and white.

If he wants to play the victim he can do that all day in India, but he should avoid embarrassing himself this way in Pakistan. If he truly can't help the urge of wanting to be a victim he should probably gracefully leave and go back to his country.

As I said in one of my previous posts, Mehdi Hassan and Fateh Ali Khan are from two generations ago. Is this guy so out of touch with reality today that he has no current examples he can use? It makes me wonder if he even knows what is going on in his own country, otherwise maybe he wouldn't be so shameless in using examples of stars who have been dead for decades as examples of India hosting Pakistani celebrities.

Maybe he didn't want to mention the nature of the govt at home because he knows he could be lynched figuratively speaking on his return home. Truly the silence of the lambs.

Ghulam Ali had a concert in Kolkata in 2016.

First of all, you need to stop assuming every Pakistani knows about obscure Indian celebs like Javed Akthar.

Now on to the main point, he is complaining about Indians not being invited(or "celebrated") in Pakistan while he's presently in Pakistan. Why does he care about who was or wasn't invited more than 20 years ago?

This guy is crying about 26/11 but you won't hear a peep out of his type when it comes to Balochistan, Kashmir, and much more. Must be a surprise to hear that global politics isn't black and white.

If he wants to play the victim he can do that all day in India, but he should avoid embarrassing himself this way in Pakistan. If he truly can't help the urge of wanting to be a victim he should probably gracefully leave and go back to his country.

Javed Akhtar was invited to Pakistan.He did not go there to beg refuge.

He was asked a question he answered.

Kashmir is part of India and not Pakistan.

Baloch leadership resides in Europe.

Too much attention being given to bollywoodias.

Ive never heard of these people probably because I'd rather watch paint dry.

But the Mumbai attacks of 2008 were utterly disgusting attacks, sadly for India it was an inside job. The aim was to then attack Pakistan and be supported by the west but instead India sent over dossiers to read. :sachin

Ive never heard of these people probably because I'd rather watch paint dry.

But the Mumbai attacks of 2008 were utterly disgusting attacks, sadly for India it was an inside job. The aim was to then attack Pakistan and be supported by the west but instead India sent over dossiers to read. :sachin

They caught the guy from okara Pakistan. He confessed. But keep on making conspiracies theories . We will file this next to the 911 conspiracies file and the fake moon landing file

Yes I find it hard to believe that even when westerners associate Bollywood with a film like Lagaan that Pakistanis have not seen the film or heard it’s soundtrack still played in Indian stadiums today and cared to look up who wrote the lyrics for the songs.

Nor I find it easy to believe that Pakistanis have not heard or Indias biggest blockbusters sholay, deewar, Don etc and cared to look up who wrote those.

Worst case scenario I find it hear to believe that people don’t know who Farhan Akthar is or cared to look up who his father is or his bio in general.

Ironically he was invited for this festival for his Urdu poetry and I have 0 clue or familiarity with his works in that space :))

I only know him from his film work.

You need to speak for yourself.I personally feel Pakistanis are very intelligent.

Poor guy, most likely winked infront of the pakistani crowd so disgusting hateful people can spare his life in fascist India.

They caught the guy from okara Pakistan. He confessed. But keep on making conspiracies theories . We will file this next to the 911 conspiracies file and the fake moon landing file

He also believes 9/11 was an inside job :))

I dont know about Javed AKhtar either. I thought this was some pakistani guy. Then I read the post in detail. So an Indian Muslim BAD MOUTHED Pakistan. Whats new? Why is this news?

Because he is a celebrity in India, and he did that in Pakistan after being invited.

Javed Akhtar was invited to Pakistan.He did not go there to beg refuge.

He was asked a question he answered.

Kashmir is part of India and not Pakistan.

Baloch leadership resides in Europe.

I don't want to argue about Kashmir with your extremist type mate.

The guy shouldn't have gone to a country he thinks doesn't respect him. It's simple really.

Yes I find it hard to believe that even when westerners associate Bollywood with a film like Lagaan that Pakistanis have not seen the film or heard it’s soundtrack still played in Indian stadiums today and cared to look up who wrote the lyrics for the songs.

Nor I find it easy to believe that Pakistanis have not heard or Indias biggest blockbusters sholay, deewar, Don etc and cared to look up who wrote those.

Worst case scenario I find it hear to believe that people don’t know who Farhan Akthar is or cared to look up who his father is or his bio in general.

Ironically he was invited for this festival for his Urdu poetry and I have 0 clue or familiarity with his works in that space :))

You need to speak for yourself.I personally feel Pakistanis are very intelligent.

I've never watched any of the movies you've mentioned above and reading this thread is the first time I've heard of this Javed Akhtar guy.

Knowing Bolly stuff doesn't mean you're intelligent, if anything it means the opposite in my opinion. There's much much better entertainment out there so choosing to watch downgraded stuff is not very smart.

Pakistanis are well aware of who Javed AKhtar is. Bollywood movies are watched here alot and have more demand than local cinema. Cinemas are packed when Bolly filsm are shown here.

To be fair, Pakistanis might not know Farhan Akhtar, but the rest you have wrote is true. Pakistans love Indian movies, our weddings and dances are done on Indian music.

Sholay was quite famous amongst the older generation.

Plz remember, overseas Pakistanis dont represent the opinion of asli Pakistanis :)

I've never watched any of the movies you've mentioned above and reading this thread is the first time I've heard of this Javed Akhtar guy.

Knowing Bolly stuff doesn't mean you're intelligent, if anything it means the opposite in my opinion. There's much much better entertainment out there so choosing to watch downgraded stuff is not very smart.
I have family who is born and brought up abroad and I am sure a lot of them especially younger folks have 0 clue who Javed Akthar is so I agree that not everyone from this part of the world needs to know who Javed Akthar is

However when you sound like you just left for UK last week from Lahore/Karachi based on some of your opinions and your posting patterns it’s definitely tough to believe :))

Pakistanis are well aware of who Javed AKhtar is. Bollywood movies are watched here alot and have more demand than local cinema. Cinemas are packed when Bolly filsm are shown here.

Bolly films are banned and I've never heard of him.

I have family who is born and brought up abroad and I am sure a lot of them especially younger folks have 0 clue who Javed Akthar is so I agree that not everyone from this part of the world needs to know who Javed Akthar is

However when you sound like you just left for UK last week from Lahore/Karachi based on some of your opinions and your posting patterns it’s definitely tough to believe :))

I assume you live in Pakistan going by your own posting patterns.

"I find it hard to believe that even when westerners associate Bollywood with a film like Lagaan that Pakistanis have not seen the film or heard it’s soundtrack".

Sure thing buddy.

You assumed I was lying and doubted me when I said I don't know this guy. Guess what, I wasn't.

Bolly films are banned and I've never heard of him.

They are banned on paper and it happened in 1965. But i remember since 2000 bollywood movies are freely broadcasted on cable tv. I watched alot of Indian movies on cable tv.

Plus, even on netflix, its usually the bollywood movies that top trend in Pakistan.

Just cause you hanv't heard of him, doesnt mean Pakistanis all together dont know him

To be fair, Pakistanis might not know Farhan Akhtar, but the rest you have wrote is true. Pakistans love Indian movies, our weddings and dances are done on Indian music.

Few years back every Indian and Pakistani paindoo was uploading tik tok/ YouTube etc videos of Gully Boy rap songs :)). I think even some of the rap was written by Javed Akthar and the movie directed by his daughter.

Bollywood movies are banned in Pakistan but even in this event Javed Akhtar and Ali Zafar is signing Kishore Kumar classics :)))

The extent people go to live in denial :facepalm:

Bollywood has one of the biggest market in Pakistan.

Javed Akhtar Jams With Ali Zafar On Kishore Kumar Classic At Event In Lahore

Pakistani actor-singer Ali Zafar recently hosted Indian poet-lyricist Javed Akhtar at a private gathering in Lahore, Pakistan. Mr Akhtar was in Pakistan to attend the seventh Faiz Festival organised at Alhamra Arts Council, Lahore. A video of the jam session has surfaced on the internet, in which Mr Zafar can be seen crooning Zindagi Aa Raha Hoon Main, a Bollywood song sung by Kishore Kumar and written by Mr Akhtar in 1984 for the film Mashaal.
Posted by Twitter user Haroun Rashid, the video shows Mr Akhtar sitting with a group of people and Mr Zafar singing a beautiful song for the poet. The crowd looks smitten by the singer's rendition of the song.

Mr Rashid in his caption wrote, "Such a rare pleasure and a privilege to have an evening of music and poetry with our brothers and sisters from across the border. The master Javed Akhtar Sahib in Lahore-it doesn't get better than this."
https://www.ndtv.com/feature/watch-...hore-kumar-classic-at-event-in-lahore-3800024

I

You assumed I was lying and doubted me when I said I don't know this guy. Guess what, I wasn't.

Arrey bhai, I believe that you don’t know him. I just said most Pakistanis living in Pakistan or not totally disconnected with Pakistani culture and tastes, there is a great probability they know who Javed Akthar is. There are plenty of people in India who don’t know who Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan is too but I wouldn’t use that as a yardstick to say no one knows or cares who Nusrat is in India.

Atleast every Pakistani I have come across, while I may have not brought up Javed Akthar with them but they seem to be familiar with Indian celebrities much lower on the totem pole in comparison so I would assume they already knew who Javed Akthar is. I am just basing it on that. Exceptions to the rule exist and I am not surprised anymore by anything I hear on here anyways :)

You don’t have to prove me anything.

Arrey bhai, I believe that you don’t know him. I just said most Pakistanis living in Pakistan or not totally disconnected with Pakistani culture and tastes, there is a great probability they know who Javed Akthar is. There are plenty of people in India who don’t know who Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan is too but I wouldn’t use that as a yardstick to say no one knows or cares who Nusrat is in India.

Atleast every Pakistani I have come across, while I may have not brought up Javed Akthar with them but they seem to be familiar with Indian celebrities much lower on the totem pole in comparison so I would assume they already knew who Javed Akthar is. I am just basing it on that. Exceptions to the rule exist and I am not surprised anymore by anything I hear on here anyways

Hard for me to believe this Akhtar dude is as popular as you say he is. NFAK or other major singers being popular is expected but it looks like Javed Akhtar isn't a singer or an actor. Is he a writer or a producer?

I've talked to many Pakistanis and Javed Akhtar has never come up in conversation. Hell, even Indians have never brought him up and I've talked to many.

Must be some mysterious unicorn I've never seen. Truly a global supa star.

Hard for me to believe this Akhtar dude is as popular as you say he is. NFAK or other major singers being popular is expected but it looks like Javed Akhtar isn't a singer or an actor. Is he a writer or a producer?

r.

Err popular enough to be a chief guest for a festival honoring Pakistan’s great poet (ironically 98% of Indians don’t know this poets name).

Attended by some of Pakistanis elite.

Important enough to have enough diplomatic pull to get a visa in these sensitive times.

Also why are you still asking me who Javed Akthar is? After this much back and forth you didn’t even care to google him or look him up on Wikipedia? I thought the ban was lifted on wiki.

This is exactly why I feel you are exception to the rule :))