[VIDEOS] Haider Ali's debut county season for Derbyshire in 2023

I was watching some videos of Haider Ali from his Under 19 days compared to now and one thing was very noticeable. That was how still his head was when he was doing well and how well-balanced he was at the crease. These days the head is all over the place and he seems off balance when playing so many of his shots.

What you’ve described is an issue, but also fixable inshAllah. And he can’t do it at a better place than Derby, under Mickey’s close watch. Really hope inshAllah he works things out.

I was watching some videos of Haider Ali from his Under 19 days compared to now and one thing was very noticeable. That was how still his head was when he was doing well and how well-balanced he was at the crease. These days the head is all over the place and he seems off balance when playing so many of his shots.

Good point

To me the fact that worries me most is that PCB coaches are not making him work hard on this. We should be hearing stories like Haider is working at NHPC with coaches during off season to fix his issues but we don't, and the results are there to see.

PCB need to decide if Haider is an asset. If he is one, and part of our future plans, then spend time and resources on him to fix his issues instead of waiting for him to magically improve.

Mohammad Yousuf speaking in an interview:

"As for Haider Ali, my interaction with him was somewhat limited. I was with him for a year only as the team's batting coach. I haven't really worked with him in academies or anything of that sort. But whenever I have met him, I gave him quite a few tips, which he definitely tried to adapt and learn"

“Unfortunately, Haider couldn't implement it on the international level. Moreover, I do think that he is often distracted on the ground; he is mentally not present in the moment - I could be wrong, but this is what I assume. You have to be in the present moment whilst leaving the past behind and the future aside. This is important for all players of any kind, of any format,"

Mohammad Yousuf speaking in an interview:

"As for Haider Ali, my interaction with him was somewhat limited. I was with him for a year only as the team's batting coach. I haven't really worked with him in academies or anything of that sort. But whenever I have met him, I gave him quite a few tips, which he definitely tried to adapt and learn"

“Unfortunately, Haider couldn't implement it on the international level. Moreover, I do think that he is often distracted on the ground; he is mentally not present in the moment - I could be wrong, but this is what I assume. You have to be in the present moment whilst leaving the past behind and the future aside. This is important for all players of any kind, of any format,"

So he doesn't have the temperament.

No coach has been able to resolve the issues with his batting.

I'm not sure Mickey can sort this out either.

The player himself needs to sort out his approach, planning and temperament.

Good point

To me the fact that worries me most is that PCB coaches are not making him work hard on this. We should be hearing stories like Haider is working at NHPC with coaches during off season to fix his issues but we don't, and the results are there to see.

PCB need to decide if Haider is an asset. If he is one, and part of our future plans, then spend time and resources on him to fix his issues instead of waiting for him to magically improve.

With the amount of money Haider makes with platinum contracts and what not, could he not find a coach to work with. For sure the PCB can help but if you can see his issues, then I am sure he can too.

He has the resources to fix his issues without the PCB spoon feeding him. Someone at the PCB does not need to come and say "beta ap ka sar still nahi hai".

With the amount of money Haider makes with platinum contracts and what not, could he not find a coach to work with. For sure the PCB can help but if you can see his issues, then I am sure he can too.

He has the resources to fix his issues without the PCB spoon feeding him.

But eventually it is PCB's loss.

By giving him chances without seeing how he has improved in the interim, they are depriving another player and possibly depriving Pakistan of good match-winning performances also.

But eventually it is PCB's loss.

By giving him chances without seeing how he has improved in the interim, they are depriving another player and possibly depriving Pakistan of good match-winning performances also.

For sure, but if he needs spoon feeding maybe he was never what we thought he was.

Saim looked so average is his first PSL season. Two years later he looks like a different player. I doubt someone from PCB came and told him what to do. He probably introspected and worked on his skills. Same with Ihsanullah when he played last year, he was a 138-142 range bowler. He worked on his skills, came back better.

These players do not have the resources Haider has. Haider has gone to various leagues, exposed to so many class players. He had Amla coaching him at Zalmi, still no progress.

I wonder who he surrounds himself with. Probably people who tell him he is the best and that PCB is unfair for not giving him chances.

No coach has been able to resolve the issues with his batting.

I'm not sure Mickey can sort this out either.

The player himself needs to sort out his approach, planning and temperament.

I think MoYo’s comment on Haider possibly not being present ‘in the moment’ seems like a very likely explanation for Haider’s issues.

One of the key qualities of successful batsman is absolute focus, playing every ball on its merit.

Because Haider’s mind wanders off, he either loses concentration and plays an ill thought out expansive shot, or a premeditated leg side hack.

I don’t know if it’s something like Attention Deficit Disorder (absolute pure speculation on my part) that’s affecting Haider.

If so, his issues then aren’t purely ‘mindset/temperament’ but rather how his brain is wired.

As someone who has had Dyslexia forever, I was branded as being ‘stupid’ for the longest time, until I got the support and empathy to maximise my skills.

These type of learning disabilities are not well recognised in desi culture, even today.

Thus, this may be something to consider for Haider. ADD can be managed and people can still be successful, even with ADHD.

Thus, firstly inshAllah I would hope that Haider is open to being assessed for ADD/ADHD and secondly being open to treatment for it.

I think MoYo’s comment on Haider possibly not being present ‘in the moment’ seems like a very likely explanation for Haider’s issues.

One of the key qualities of successful batsman is absolute focus, playing every ball on its merit.

Because Haider’s mind wanders off, he either loses concentration and plays an ill thought out expansive shot, or a premeditated leg side hack.

I don’t know if it’s something like Attention Deficit Disorder (absolute pure speculation on my part) that’s affecting Haider.

If so, his issues then aren’t purely ‘mindset/temperament’ but rather how his brain is wired.

As someone who has had Dyslexia forever, I was branded as being ‘stupid’ for the longest time, until I got the support and empathy to maximise my skills.

These type of learning disabilities are not well recognised in desi culture, even today.

Thus, this may be something to consider for Haider. ADD can be managed and people can still be successful, even with ADHD.

Thus, firstly inshAllah I would hope that Haider is open to being assessed for ADD/ADHD and secondly being open to treatment for it.

Haider has played marathon innings in first class cricket where he as a great record. It could just be a simple case of him having very little strategic thought. I feel he has no idea where the field is and just hits tape ball style.

I actually feel he may be more suited for test cricket where he will get value for his shots and aggression.

Batting again in the 2nd innings - 16* at the moment.

I am watching live on a stream, this is a lesson and a half for him on these early season wickets. I am desperate for him to do well, and its a great chance for him to develop as a proper player. He has to know his limitations and play within those.

balls nibbling about a bit, haider seems to be playing a lot tighter, off the back foot trying to keep his bat straight. opening in early season ain't easy, hes got himself in, hope he makes it count as the ball gets older.

also not sure whos doing the youtube commentary, but he has an excellent reverberating timbre to his voice.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">"Hold that pose"<br><br>A sublime drive from Haider Ali<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LVCountyChamp?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LVCountyChamp</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/DerbyshireCCC?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@DerbyshireCCC</a> <a href="https://t.co/yJ2B5Dn3QV">pic.twitter.com/yJ2B5Dn3QV</a></p>— LV= Insurance County Championship (@CountyChamp) <a href="https://twitter.com/CountyChamp/status/1644692903615254529?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 8, 2023</a></blockquote>

Currently 22 not out. Same score he was out on in the first innings. Needs to make it count today.

Playing against Azhar too…

Currently 22 not out. Same score he was out on in the first innings. Needs to make it count today.

Playing against Azhar too…

Slow and steady it seems from Haider - maybe Mickey's told him to take his time

Maiden 50* for Haider, in 75 balls, including six fours and one six.

50 up for haider, ive said it before, he looks so much better when he just takes the slogs out of his game. a loose fish outside off stump before tea but he survives.

The fraud is out as soon as I started watching it live he got out to straight ball from an average leg spinner. Looked scratchy in his innings Shocking technique can’t even deliver in a division 2 English league match. LikeI said he will stay a sack of potatoes for the rest of his career. I really do think he’s done and more than often I’m right. Pakistan Need to look else where and glad they’ve cut their losses with this guy.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Haider Ali with a fine 65 today for Derbyshire against Worcestershire in his first match in the County Championship <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CountyChampionship?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CountyChampionship</a> <a href="https://t.co/5BC4a5Xpzd">pic.twitter.com/5BC4a5Xpzd</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1644718211076595712?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 8, 2023</a></blockquote>

His first county match , he lacks batting discipline which could be learnt. There is not much lack of talent though. Best of luck.

A half century that should boost his confidence going forward.

Well done to the lad.

Not a bad start to county cricket, tougher challenges await, but best division and country to fine tune your abilities and technique.

This is not a bad start in unfamiliar conditions by Haider.He has a good opportunity to develop his game under Mickey’s guardianship.The longer version of the game requires patience and concentration.Every ball has to be played on merit.Haider was lacking this and used to give away his wicket.

Monster six from Haider

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The biggest six of the season so far?<br><br>This was a huge blow from Haider Ali &#55357;&#56613;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LVCountyChamp?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LVCountyChamp</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/DerbyshireCCC?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@DerbyshireCCC</a> <a href="https://t.co/FfQCXg0dCQ">pic.twitter.com/FfQCXg0dCQ</a></p>— LV= Insurance County Championship (@CountyChamp) <a href="https://twitter.com/CountyChamp/status/1644766942442520584?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 8, 2023</a></blockquote>

Highlights of his maiden 50

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/rpasgv" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Highlights of his maiden 50

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/rpasgv" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Nice!!!! Solid start. Build on this. You’re worth far more than what you’ve shown so far in the last year or so.

As I said before. It’s mental with him. Not about technique. Needs to build himself back up mentally.

The sack of potatoes did good against the 70-75 mph bowlers? [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION]

Good knock from the youngster.

He needs a lot of time away from the national team to rebuild his confidence.

He can be a top class player but the next couple of years will be make or break for him.

Confidence is the key and where he is mentally.

To me, in recent times he's looked like someone who is still trying to play the shots he was playing at the Under 19 level without appreciating that the higher standard of cricket requires patience, a more professional approach and a lot more hard work.

I just hope he doesn't end up like so many Pakistani batters who show promise but deliver very little.

Confidence is the key and where he is mentally.

To me, in recent times he's looked like someone who is still trying to play the shots he was playing at the Under 19 level without appreciating that the higher standard of cricket requires patience, a more professional approach and a lot more hard work.

I just hope he doesn't end up like so many Pakistani batters who show promise but deliver very little.

I think confidence is part of it, but it’s always about complete focus and critical thinking at this level. InshAllah if Haider can manage that process, things will start to change for the better for him.

He's still young enough to develop as a player but he needs to work harder and get better guidance from his coaches.

He should be scoring 200s at this level

Focus, application, confidence and form are a step by step process. You don’t just flick a switch and start making 200s, especially given where Haider has been mentally and form wise.

I’m not too concerned if he isn’t smashing 200s every match. For Haider, this is his chance to take things slower and rebuild his form, technique and confidence. Yes, he needs to put up decent numbers but just coming out and smashing slogging defeats the purpose of him being there.

Nice!!!! Solid start. Build on this. You’re worth far more than what you’ve shown so far in the last year or so.

As I said before. It’s mental with him. Not about technique. Needs to build himself back up mentally.

Agree and why i think we failed Haider by throwing him into the deep end to fail rather than allowing him to cook in domestics for a while.

There's clearly a very good player in there but we're so desperate for batsman we send them in too prematurely.

I hope Haider (and Mohammad Haris) get 2-3 seasons of this before being further chances at the highest level.

I spoke with someone who worked with Haider for a number of years before he started playing for Pakistan.

What he was telling me was interesting - in that Haider is struggling to cope with the fame, publicity and pressure. Also that they've thrown him into international cricket too soon rather than being patient with him.

Also that some of the coaches like Botha have not really trusted him and that has affected his confidence.

I spoke with someone who worked with Haider for a number of years before he started playing for Pakistan.

What he was telling me was interesting - in that Haider is struggling to cope with the fame, publicity and pressure. Also that they've thrown him into international cricket too soon rather than being patient with him.

Also that some of the coaches like Botha have not really trusted him and that has affected his confidence.

This is what I fear for batsmen like Haris and Saim. PCB tends to get extremely excited with talent after one good PSL season of theirs. They have no patience and no interest in developing them more before throwing them straight into the national setup. I hope they are able to handle the public exposure.

Promoting players to the international cricket too early has been an issue which has been there over the last 5-6 years as has been discussed multiple times. The main reason I can think of when this approach started was the big gap in the talent pipeline Pakistan cricket witnessed in that period of 2011-2015 due to multiple reasons.

At that time PSL came as a breath of fresh air especially when it comes to whiteball cricket in Pakistan for not only giving platform to the young players to showcase their skills, to rub shoulders with some top coaches and players but, also to rejuvenate interest in Pakistan cricket on multiple levels. That sudden rush and having talent to work with once again pushed the cricket structure in Pakistan to select those young guys for international cricket straight away.

I can understand the need of the hour around 2016 period when talent pool was at all time low however, now I dont think this approach needs to be persisted with. Haider when debuted for Pakistan, could have easily been allowed couple more seasons of full domestic cricket at that point of time. Him getting selected and roaming around with Pak whiteball squads didnt allow him to play red ball cricket much when he had decent skillset for that format as well and his overall growth got stagnated.

I hope its something that is improved upon as dont want to see emerging players like Saim, Haris etc going through similar phases.

This is pretty sad.

I go back to my view that as the organization tasked to look after Pakistan cricket, the PCB needs to be involved and keep an eye on all these issues and act to protect their assets.

We (as in, selectors, media and fans of Pakistan cricket are forever chasing the next Wasim, the next Inzi. The reason we used to do this was because our player development structures were not the most efficient. There’s a reason why other countries don’t throw in youngsters into top class cricket compared to Pakistan.

It’s because it’s a completely unforgiving spotlight in which you’re asked to perform. You cab find it easier to acclimatise if you’ve done your time in first class, but we just don’t give youngsters that time.

The result is cautionary tales like Haider. It’s why I’m terrified about how we handle Saim.

Compare Haider Ali's cricketing journey to Harry Brook's.

If we can't take note and learn from such a clear example, then we never will learn.

Exactly this — Brook has already played over 60 first class matches and went through the entire development process in England, from scholarship to a public school (Sedbergh) through the ranks of junior cricket.
Made his first class debut in 2017 and yet didn’t play for the main England side until 2022.

We have no development systems in place and throw players in at the deep end.

This is last chance for Haider to own up his failures and learn from the county stint.
Whatver has happened cannot be reversed.

Exactly this — Brook has already played over 60 first class matches and went through the entire development process in England, from scholarship to a public school (Sedbergh) through the ranks of junior cricket.
Made his first class debut in 2017 and yet didn’t play for the main England side until 2022.

We have no development systems in place and throw players in at the deep end.

As a nation we're too interested in fast results. The minute anyone shows any promise - they're in the national team.

We can only imagine where Haider might be now had he progressed steadily from U-19 cricket to domestics for a good few seasons before being given his breakthrough.

Are we now going to learn our lessons regarding Saim Ayub and Mohammad Haris? Probably not.

If Haider gets selected for national team, the selectors will say he scored a fifty and looked good while on the other hand continue to ignore the likes of Zafar Gohar who has been performing for last two seasons and the test team having a vacant role for a spinner.

As a nation we're too interested in fast results. The minute anyone shows any promise - they're in the national team.

We can only imagine where Haider might be now had he progressed steadily from U-19 cricket to domestics for a good few seasons before being given his breakthrough.

Are we now going to learn our lessons regarding Saim Ayub and Mohammad Haris? Probably not.

This is very true, but it's far easier to think long term when the team is flying. Were WC-winning England in need of Harry Brook? Not really, so he continued to cook in domestics.

Pakistan white-ball batting has been carried by a few guys for the last 3 years, and more generally the team is carried by the bowling attack. Thus, when any new promising talent like Haider comes along, or Saim or Haris, they get thrown in out of desperation for a solution. It feels unavoidable IMO. A vicious cycle.

Always thought he had the talent but not the staying power to succeed.

He seems to have changed the way he plays for Pakistan in the international level compared to how he started off for the u-19s etc.

The pressure part seems to have gotten to him and he does some really dumb things.

I still remember that shot he played vs India in the '22 WC when Hardik Pandya got him out.

Hardik's expression was like' how are you this stupid to play a shot like that when I have a man on the boundary '.

Haider Ali will get a few chances to shine in County, if he still can't make use of these chances then I am afraid game's up for him.

Haider Ali out, lbw, for 7 vs Leics

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">☝️ | &#55349;&#56327;&#55349;&#56346;&#55349;&#56354;&#55349;&#56349;&#55349;&#56350;&#55349;&#56363; &#55349;&#56320;&#55349;&#56357;&#55349;&#56354; (&#55349;&#57301;), &#55349;&#56357;&#55349;&#56347;&#55349;&#56368; &#55349;&#56342;&#55349;&#56363;&#55349;&#56354;&#55349;&#56352;&#55349;&#56353;&#55349;&#56365;.<br><br>Two in quick succession, as Wright traps Ali in front. Both Derbyshire openers now gone.<br><br>DER 19/2<br><br>&#55358;&#56714;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LEIvDER?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LEIvDER</a> <a href="https://t.co/PoB3niRpzV">pic.twitter.com/PoB3niRpzV</a></p>— Leicestershire CCC &#55356;&#57295; (@leicsccc) <a href="https://twitter.com/leicsccc/status/1647607803530362882?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 16, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Haider Ali out, lbw, for 7 vs Leics

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">☝️ | ������������ ������ (��), ������ ������������.<br><br>Two in quick succession, as Wright traps Ali in front. Both Derbyshire openers now gone.<br><br>DER 19/2<br><br>��<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LEIvDER?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LEIvDER</a> <a href="https://t.co/PoB3niRpzV">pic.twitter.com/PoB3niRpzV</a></p>— Leicestershire CCC �� (@leicsccc) <a href="https://twitter.com/leicsccc/status/1647607803530362882?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 16, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Head position all wrong once again.

Sitting duck for an inswinger dismissal.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Haider Ali takes a stunning catch at second slip! <br><br>That remarkable grab gives <a href="https://twitter.com/DerbyshireCCC?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@DerbyshireCCC</a> their fourth wicket against Durham<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LVCountyChamp?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LVCountyChamp</a> <a href="https://t.co/iOIwDaO66G">pic.twitter.com/iOIwDaO66G</a></p>— LV= Insurance County Championship (@CountyChamp) <a href="https://twitter.com/CountyChamp/status/1651579445877133312?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 27, 2023</a></blockquote>

Another failure... but then the Derbyshire lineup has collapsed too

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">POTTSY gets Haider Ali for 0. Derbyshire 0/2.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ForTheNorth?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ForTheNorth</a> <a href="https://t.co/685SF6lWft">pic.twitter.com/685SF6lWft</a></p>— Durham Cricket (@DurhamCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/DurhamCricket/status/1651931347768733696?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 28, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Out for 1 for the second time in the day to the same bowler

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Potts gets Haider Ali for the second time this afternoon &#55357;&#56394;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ForTheNorth?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ForTheNorth</a> <a href="https://t.co/Fpvdh8CUmu">pic.twitter.com/Fpvdh8CUmu</a></p>— Durham Cricket (@DurhamCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/DurhamCricket/status/1651975434538500097?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 28, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Oh dear.

Horrible so far.

First dismissal today, the ball was just too good for him. The second dismissal just very poor technique.

Puts pressure on Mickey as well. Needs to be careful getting Pak batters in his side due to his connections/knowledge of Pak cricket.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">𝙁𝙄𝙁𝙏𝙔! 🔥<br><br>Haider Ali brings up his half-century in 59 balls, including seven fours. <br><br>DER: 102-0; Came (40*), trailing by 19. <br><br>Watch LIVE ⤵</p>— Derbyshire CCC (@DerbyshireCCC) <a href="https://twitter.com/DerbyshireCCC/status/1654148923118739457?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 4, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

And out for 54 - but feel a little unlucky - ball kept low.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">☝️ | &#55349;&#56320;&#55349;&#56357;&#55349;&#56354; (&#55349;&#57299;&#55349;&#57298;), &#55349;&#56357;&#55349;&#56347;&#55349;&#56368; &#55349;&#56332;&#55349;&#56366;&#55349;&#56357;&#55349;&#56349;&#55349;&#56350;&#55349;&#56363;.<br><br>A much-needed breakthrough to start the session, with Mulder getting one to keep low and strike Haider Ali plumb in front.<br><br>DER 108/1<br><br>&#55358;&#56714;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DERvLEI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DERvLEI</a> <a href="https://t.co/TusdwxkLi3">pic.twitter.com/TusdwxkLi3</a></p>— Leicestershire CCC &#55356;&#57295; (@leicsccc) <a href="https://twitter.com/leicsccc/status/1654152256139165699?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 4, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Seems to have a huge issue with his footwork or should I say lack of it, in most of his dismissals. Seems to get squared up to easily and then ends up playing down the wrong line.

This is something he needs to improve on quickly

It's up and down for Haider - Gone for 2 today vs Glouc

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">That's not missing much! ☝️<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GoGlos?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GoGlos</a> &#55357;&#56475;&#55357;&#56740; <a href="https://t.co/4IocqUFUrL">https://t.co/4IocqUFUrL</a> <a href="https://t.co/NFlkqjdjLt">pic.twitter.com/NFlkqjdjLt</a></p>— Gloucestershire Cricket (@Gloscricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/Gloscricket/status/1657014165922299906?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 12, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I think he was way too much overrated right from the start . Low IQ , lack of technique and inability to learn from his mistake is the main reason of his failure.

Mickey must be getting a migraine watching his boy get dismissed in the same way over and over again.

It's up and down for Haider - Gone for 2 today vs Glouc

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">That's not missing much! ☝️<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GoGlos?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GoGlos</a> ���� <a href="https://t.co/4IocqUFUrL">https://t.co/4IocqUFUrL</a> <a href="https://t.co/NFlkqjdjLt">pic.twitter.com/NFlkqjdjLt</a></p>— Gloucestershire Cricket (@Gloscricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/Gloscricket/status/1657014165922299906?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 12, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Same bowler, same mode of dismissal in the second innings for 6

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="qme" dir="ltr">��️<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GoGlos?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GoGlos</a> ���� <a href="https://t.co/XF1kbF07WG">https://t.co/XF1kbF07WG</a> <a href="https://t.co/gnqP80IZwC">pic.twitter.com/gnqP80IZwC</a></p>— Gloucestershire Cricket (@Gloscricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/Gloscricket/status/1657750036879376384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 14, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Same bowler, same mode of dismissal in the second innings for 6

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="qme" dir="ltr">��️<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GoGlos?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GoGlos</a> ���� <a href="https://t.co/XF1kbF07WG">https://t.co/XF1kbF07WG</a> <a href="https://t.co/gnqP80IZwC">pic.twitter.com/gnqP80IZwC</a></p>— Gloucestershire Cricket (@Gloscricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/Gloscricket/status/1657750036879376384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 14, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Head once again is in the Jubilee line and the ball was in the Bakerloo line.

Really poor technique.

Warming up for the T20 Blast

==

Haider Ali – Falcons
The Pakistan international batter will feature for Derbyshire at Blast Off, likely to open the batting and set the tempo for the Falcons.

Ali, one of the world’s most exciting young prospects at just 22-years-old, has played 35 matches for his country.

In 33 International T20 appearances, Ali has scored 499 runs, including three half centuries, one of which came against England at Emirates Old Trafford in 2020. Expect fireworks from Ali, he hit a 21-ball fifty this week in a warm-up match.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Haider Ali scores a 21-ball half-century in his first white-ball outing of the season &#55357;&#56613;<br><br>Watch LIVE ⤵</p>— Derbyshire CCC (@DerbyshireCCC) <a href="https://twitter.com/DerbyshireCCC/status/1658413531987865600?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 16, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Mickey speaking about Haider to Saj:

Saj: How do you rate Haider Ali? What does he need to work on?

Mickey Arthur: The reason I brought Haider out here was because I've always liked the look of him, and I remember going down to an Under-19 practice when I was still coach of Pakistan, and he stood out for me as the next kind of generation batsman, and he excited me.

I watched him in the nets, and he really excited me, and I've seen his career just stunt just a little bit. There's so much talent there. I have brought him over here so I can have six months with him and make him into the player I think that could play a very prominent role back in the Pakistan team at some point.

So, yeah, the talent's there with Haider and he's got two fifties, and the two fifties he got for us were outstanding. They were breathtaking. Some of the shots he hit were amazing. What Haider needs to just learn is just how to manage his innings, how to bat at the tempo that's acceptable and just to tighten up a little bit in his defensive game. So those are the things that we're working on daily with him. And Haider will return a far better player. And I wouldn't have got him if I didn't believe in him and believe in the talent that he's got.

Mickey speaking about Haider to Saj:

Saj: How do you rate Haider Ali? What does he need to work on?

Mickey Arthur: The reason I brought Haider out here was because I've always liked the look of him, and I remember going down to an Under-19 practice when I was still coach of Pakistan, and he stood out for me as the next kind of generation batsman, and he excited me.

I watched him in the nets, and he really excited me, and I've seen his career just stunt just a little bit. There's so much talent there. I have brought him over here so I can have six months with him and make him into the player I think that could play a very prominent role back in the Pakistan team at some point.

So, yeah, the talent's there with Haider and he's got two fifties, and the two fifties he got for us were outstanding. They were breathtaking. Some of the shots he hit were amazing. What Haider needs to just learn is just how to manage his innings, how to bat at the tempo that's acceptable and just to tighten up a little bit in his defensive game. So those are the things that we're working on daily with him. And Haider will return a far better player. And I wouldn't have got him if I didn't believe in him and believe in the talent that he's got.

Not sure if it serves Derbyshire's interests? Are they being used to improve Haider Ali?

Mickey speaking to Derbyshire reporter about Haider Ali in the upcoming T20Blast:

"Haider Ali kind of knows his white ball game and he's a New Age cricketer and the new age young guys, they grow up wanting to hit the ball and play white-ball cricket, and then you can try and refine his technique a little bit to make him play red ball. That was why I brought him. We signed him for white-ball, but also I wanted to try and refine his technique to play red-ball because I think he's a good enough player, but his eyes are certainly lit up now (for T20 Blast) and he's ready to go."

Not sure if it serves Derbyshire's interests? Are they being used to improve Haider Ali?

Conflict of interest but not many will care. Derbyshire are bottom of barrel county with no prospects to win anything and Mickey is apparently allowed to run a nursery for his other job.

Well Haider, Zaman etc better perform or Derbyshire might turn around and say we'll pick the overseas players, not you.