[VIDEOS]"I have what it takes to represent my country at the international level" : Imran Butt

Yea, i mean look at it this way bhai and let's be honest as well for any debutant facing the likes of South Africa on debut is never easy and you can't expect wonders from them. It's too early as well to judge someone after 2 test matches, however at times during day 1 they certainly looked patchy at times. Let's see what happens tomorrow inshAllah but this isn't gonna be very competitive now. Hoping for big scores or 50s from Babar, Azhar, Fawad & co.

:facepalm

South Africa in Pakistan any half decent opener would have at least score a 100 in home condition against a SENA attack with multiple oppurtinities to do so

First 50 for Imran but did take his time!

b252b82d-4791-4908-8c9a-dd247102526b.jpg

43 off 88 is not bad yaar, going at a pretty decent SR. Might as well give the lad a chance.

well, he has given them ample chances to get him out... Zimbabwe failed to catch or get him out.. He wont last an over or 2 against quality opposition...

Both Abid and Butt gave Zimbos enough chance to have them out in single digits, now these two will bat in a series against quality opposition and will be out inside 10 overs, pak will then think they should be dropped, PP will be on fire to drop these two...

Abid ali wat an ugly way to get out, and this fatso celebrates test 50 taking off the helmet as if he has scored 100 or 200.. the ball he got out was a hit me ball lol..

Was considered safe hands but dropped a simple one.

Capture.JPG

It's not great when you select a poor batsman on the basis that at least he can catch, and then he drops a sitter.

But then he takes this

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.604%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/dr0nam" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I hope he improves his batting he'll be a good addition to Pakistan Test Team..

Considering he is an awesome slip catcher I would be willing to accept a career average of 33-35.

His catching is pretty amazing - that does give him an advantage I suppose?

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 62.105%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/yj4emk" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Lol, very rarely do you see a player be in the team purely for his fielding and slip catching. He has taken some blinders in the slip which many other players would have dropped

You have what it takes to represent your country as a specialist slip catcher

As a bowler, why would you not want him in your side?

Lol, very rarely do you see a player be in the team purely for his fielding and slip catching. He has taken some blinders in the slip which many other players would have dropped

Paul Collingwood eventually became a useful batsman. You need to give mediocre batsmen a few chances and let their confidence develop. They will become useful at some point. Imran Butt won’t become Javed Miandad, but he may eventually become a decent opener who averages 37 odd and blunts the new ball for your middle order to score freely

Stunning catch by imran butt I would continue to give him a few more chances.

Imran Butt catches compilation

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/1jw0x9" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

And let him develop his batting in the mean while , the guy with such concentration levels and reflexes surely can be trained to become a decent batsmen over time.

So are we expecting Imran to feature in the Test series against West Indies?

Disappointing start to his tour - cleaned up by Roach for 11.

His dismissal today

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">WICKET! Roach you beauty! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WIvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WIvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MenInMaroon?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MenInMaroon</a> <a href="https://t.co/5Z2cBju3z5">pic.twitter.com/5Z2cBju3z5</a></p>— Windies Cricket (@windiescricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/windiescricket/status/1425847747970748417?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 12, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

cant even play a straight ball. needs to dropped after this test and never selected again.

Great fielder, but another who has been picked when not at his best. He was enjoying good form a few seasons ago but was ignored.

1 season wonder, like most pakistan openers picked.

Yes every player who comes in International setup says the same ####... Unless we fix our setup and produce quality players we will have to deal with garbage players like him and many more to come.

There are some very basic and obvious flaws in his technique. If he doesn't correct them then he will never be good enough for top quality Test cricket.

I wonder why these flaws that most of us can see aren't being sorted out.

There are some very basic and obvious flaws in his technique. If he doesn't correct them then he will never be good enough for top quality Test cricket.

What are coaches getting paid for? Just for making game strategies I mean if Players can not stay on the pitch how even game strategies will work. I think both Misbah and waqar are enjoying easy money and securing their retirement. Seems like cricket is almost dead in Pakistan if we have to cope with players like azam Khan and Imran Butt etc

Its criminal when you see the fact that given that such less amount of Tests are being played - there is so much time to go to NHPC, talk to likes of Mohammad Yousuf etc

There seems to be no desire to improve themselves.

That is the saddest part.

Pakistan main 'bohat tailunt hai'. I don't think this what they were meaning.

wow, stunning dismissal for an opener, front foot going nowhere, massive gap between bat and pad, expansive drive early in the innings.

that shot would be out of place in a first class match let along a test match, deserves the sack for that shot alone.

if u didnt know better and some said guess what number he bats, youd be hard pressed to say higher than 9 or 10 lol.

What are coaches getting paid for? Just for making game strategies I mean if Players can not stay on the pitch how even game strategies will work. I think both Misbah and waqar are enjoying easy money and securing their retirement. Seems like cricket is almost dead in Pakistan if we have to cope with players like azam Khan and Imran Butt etc
Mohammad Yousuf can spend hours and hours on him but the fact is this guys is a limited talent person so he will not improve much. Imran Butt just doesn’t have it in him to be a test opener.

Could not our selector see that? If he is the best talent available in domestic cricket - the Pakistan cricket team should be banned. Simple. I wonder if only posters on this forum are following this series.

And another failure

Apart from this match (11, 0)

Capture.JPG

In a normal world this should be his last innings as a test opener. Enough sample size across different conditions and opponents is there now to judge his ability as a batsman.

Well just watching him play one can see this guy just doesn't have in him to even be a mediocre batsman, so how does he even get a chance to represent Pakistan. I just don't understand the selectors and coaches mindset or their competence.

He has been given extended chances due to his slip catching, but this innings should be his last for Pak untill he improves massively.

Such a fine slip fielder, but an absolute dud with the bat. Why can't Pakistan have players who are good at both these skills?

It's been said before, when he was on top if his game and in form and scoring lots of runs in domestic cricket he wasn't picked - now when he's obviously struggling for runs he's been selected for the national side.

He is so consistent at being an awful batter. Our CS being another talentless opener probably saw himself in Butt and decided to give him a longer run.

Fakhar is 10 times better than him. Even a make shift opener like Kamran Ghulam or Saud Shakeel can do better than him.

It's been said before, when he was on top if his game and in form and scoring lots of runs in domestic cricket he wasn't picked - now when he's obviously struggling for runs he's been selected for the national side.

Yes it makes a big difference when the person is given a chance. Comparatively easier time to transition is when you have recent performances on your back.

Coaches need something to work with. This guy has nothing.

Yes it makes a big difference when the person is given a chance. Comparatively easier time to transition is when you have recent performances on your back.

I think it was 3 or 4 seasons ago when he was smashing domestic attacks, yet was ignored.

Sometimes we don't help ourselves.

And another failure

Apart from this match (11, 0)

View attachment 111243

Today's failure

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">WICKET! Roach gets going in the 3rd innings of the Test. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WIvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WIvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/4zfsFVZUQC">pic.twitter.com/4zfsFVZUQC</a></p>— Windies Cricket (@windiescricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/windiescricket/status/1426577967463997447?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/l355ps" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Really hope Kamran Ghulam isn't the next victim of this ridiculous selection policy

Today's failure

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">WICKET! Roach gets going in the 3rd innings of the Test. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WIvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WIvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/4zfsFVZUQC">pic.twitter.com/4zfsFVZUQC</a></p>— Windies Cricket (@windiescricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/windiescricket/status/1426577967463997447?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Look at the head position.

Basic errors that need correcting.

This is one time where i would respectfully disagree.

He was the highest run scorer in 2019 season and then he was picked for Pakistan in 2020, just the next season.

If someone cannot continue his form for even a single season then that guy doesn't deserve to play at the highest level.

That whole season looks like abnormal season for Imran, he needs to work a lot of he has to return back to the team.

This is the exact reason a player should be for the national team ONLY and ONLY if he performs for two seasons at least. Last year Kamran Ghulam was at his peak if he performs in this season again he will the man to take Pakistan forward if he doesn't perform he should be left in the QeA tournament to improve further. Dhani performed well last season but he should have played for atleast one more season.

This is one time where i would respectfully disagree.

He was the highest run scorer in 2019 season and then he was picked for Pakistan in 2020, just the next season.

If someone cannot continue his form for even a single season then that guy doesn't deserve to play at the highest level.

That whole season looks like abnormal season for Imran, he needs to work a lot of he has to return back to the team.

This is the exact reason a player should be for the national team ONLY and ONLY if he performs for two seasons at least. Last year Kamran Ghulam was at his peak if he performs in this season again he will the man to take Pakistan forward if he doesn't perform he should be left in the QeA tournament to improve further. Dhani performed well last season but he should have played for atleast one more season.

QAE 2019 ended in Dec 2019, in which as you rightly mentioned he was the highest scorer. He debuted for Pakistan in Jan 2021 and in between that (1 year and 2 months), he didnt play much of any sort of cricket. In QAE 2020 his scores in 3 matches were 0, 11, 92, 53 and 3. Then for Pak A vs NZ A 27 and 10.

I agree with you that one needs to perform in more than 1 season to prove a point however, the time when one gets international debut is extremely important. International cricket is tough and if you have more recent confidence and form behind you before debuting you have higher probability to succeed.

The point being, if he was going to be picked for Pakistan then 2019 was the perfect time to bring him in.

It depends on the timing in the year of the domestic tournament.

I don’t think it’s right to pick someone for international immediately if they start performing well. The problem here isn’t that he was picked in 2020 vs 2019.

He shouldn’t have been picked at all. Period.

He is simply not good enough

Awful batsman. The worst opener I have seen in Pakistan history

Where do we find batsman like him? Awful player. He is an absolute embarrassment to our team.

Both openers: Imran Butt and Abid Ali are not good enough and must be replaced. Pakistan can't afford to be 10-1 or 15-2 every match.

Today's failure

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/l355ps" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Walks across his stumps and completely misses a straight one :facepalm

Can't believe the umpire didn't give it out on-field! Roach was celebrating before Brathwaite even decided to review.

If I was Imran Butt, I would go in T20 mode if I get a chance in the series again. Better to get out attacking rather than this stupid defensive.

The thought process shouldn't be to select whoever has been the hottest for a few matches, it should be players who have excellent body of work domestically if the goal is to select long-term players and not just getting a hot run before the player flames out because his overall domestic track record is a poor one.

QAE 2019 ended in Dec 2019, in which as you rightly mentioned he was the highest scorer. He debuted for Pakistan in Jan 2021 and in between that (1 year and 2 months), he didnt play much of any sort of cricket. In QAE 2020 his scores in 3 matches were 0, 11, 92, 53 and 3. Then for Pak A vs NZ A 27 and 10.

I agree with you that one needs to perform in more than 1 season to prove a point however, the time when one gets international debut is extremely important. International cricket is tough and if you have more recent confidence and form behind you before debuting you have higher probability to succeed.

The point i was trying to make is "if a player is picked on only one season's performance, it will be just a GAMBLE, he/she may perform or may not perform in future".

This is the exact reason i advocate atleast two season's performance be the criteria for selection in the National team.

Looks to be one of the worst opening batsmen ever for pakistan.

Is the best slip fielder pakistan has ever had.

Needs to be given the 2nd match also, either he scores and gives you a chance to win the test, or if he doesn't the decision to drop him is easy. No point bringing someone new in now.

The point i was trying to make is "if a player is picked on only one season's performance, it will be just a GAMBLE, he/she may perform or may not perform in future".

This is the exact reason i advocate atleast two season's performance be the criteria for selection in the National team.

Pick a player when he's at the top of his game as Imran was in 2019, not the season after when he's struggling. Who knows if they'd brought him in during 2019 a good start in international cricket and we could have seen a much better batsman.

How about we pick Imran Butt as a slip fielding coach and specialist substitute fielder?

I saw Butt in the match against BD at Kibworth( just outside Leicester) where I also met Saj. As a school teacher you see things that worry you and how the coaches and staff acted towards him seriously worried me. Maybe my instincts were wrong and IA they are wrong but something didn't feel right

What do you mean by how coaches and staff acted towards him???

There’s something about his batting which suggests he’s got the goods to be consistently successful in test cricket.

The only thing missing currently is the runs but if he is persisted with I’m confident he will be able to address this issue.

He is one of the best slip catcher in the world. His technique is worldclass

Shame he is a tail ender with the bat

Rescind his central contract and give him a new contract as a slip fielding coach. Not even Younis was this good. Already can make the argument that he may be the best we’ve ever had in the slips.

If only he could play as a specialist slip catcher.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 48.259%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/hdiep7" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

amir1.jpg

Play him. Let him play some hacks. Would defo end with more than what he'd end up normally.

please elaborate

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Another wicket falls - Imran Butt the victim this time after a West Indies review.<br><br>PAK 2/3 (4.0)<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WIvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WIvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/Fgm4yFjxJ4">pic.twitter.com/Fgm4yFjxJ4</a></p>— PakPassion.net (@PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakPassion/status/1428739597647978505?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2021</a></blockquote>

Hes been a disaster A walking wkt in every innings

For an opener to get out as he does is awful Not taking a big stride pushing at the ball well away from his body

He definitely doesnt have what it takes to represent his country at the intnl level Most certainly not

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Another wicket falls - Imran Butt the victim this time after a West Indies review.<br><br>PAK 2/3 (4.0)<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WIvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WIvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/Fgm4yFjxJ4">pic.twitter.com/Fgm4yFjxJ4</a></p>— PakPassion.net (@PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakPassion/status/1428739597647978505?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2021</a></blockquote>

His dismissals are getting worse every time:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/m4zbxj" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

He reminds of Paul Collingwood who was in England team purely for his superb fielding.

Paul use to make some good runs as well as taking wkts

Lets not compare him to the specialist fielder

aa jao bhai, ap bhi apnay hissay ki khap daal lo, baqi konsay world records bana rahay hain

He has had 4 tests against decent teams and looks awful. Looking at this tripe, Shan Masood was no where as bad( admittedly not great either) and will come back into contention along with Middle order guy whose name escapes me