[VIDEOS] "I will leave no stone unturned in making myself worthy of national selection" : Azam Khan

Cost his team a few runs when his partners realized he can't really run twos or tight singles.
Was average in the field as well.
Although hit a 2 or 3 sixes that went really big.

He still looks the same he did 2 years ago, I don't believe he's lost 35kgs. 3.5kgs maybe.

If any thing I think he has added 3.5 kg since his first appearance for the franchise.
He has been on radar for more than 1 1/2 year it shows serious lack of intention effort motivation and also reliance on connections 👏 to get him franchise contract!

If any thing I think he has added 3.5 kg since his first appearance for the franchise.
He has been on radar for more than 1 1/2 year it shows serious lack of intention effort motivation and also reliance on connections 👏 to get him franchise contract!

Muscle weighs more than fat. He’s spending way too much time lifting weights, instead he should be doing cardio with a calorie deficit diet.

Hit Jayden Seales in CPL for couple of 6s and a 4 in one over that produced total of 21 runs. While a decent knock he couldn’t go big and scored 30 after 28 in the last match.

YousafTheBeast;11279619 [B said:
Muscle weighs more than fat[/B]. He’s spending way too much time lifting weights, instead he should be doing cardio with a calorie deficit diet.

that would defy the laws of physics so not possible.

It should be the combination of both, but the issue here is not that he is not doing enough in the gym as I am sure he is getting enough exercise, but has trouble staying away from ice creams, gulab jamuns halwa puri biryani etc :)

Just remember this, when you increase your muscle mass, you boost your resting metabolism which helps you burn off fat at a much faster rate.

Azam is over 30% Body fat, behind closed doors he must be downing at least an extra 2000 calories for him to be this out of shape as a professional athlete. Very poor discipline.

He doesn't have the discipline to play international cricket.

It has been two years yet he doesn't bother losing any weight

30 (21) for The Royals - losing cause but good innings

az_k.jpg

That cannot be the future of Pakistan cricket, for aspiring youngsters to use as a benchmark. Sifarish can take one a long way, but that's pushing it to a whole new level!

What's stopping us from selecting a 40+ year old to make a debut especially if he's fitter on the field?!

Scored his debut 50 today in CPL. 50 off 30 balls with 5 4s and 3 6s.

Highlights of his 50 (30) in CPL

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 52.500%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/mn267v" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

18 off 12 for SP vs Northern today

Saw some of it. He connected a few but it was not an impactful knock. Much like what he has been delivering for a while.

Here is my problem with Azam Khan.

He has not shown he is willing to work hard on his craft.

Bowlers are smart and they catch up to a batsman's weaknesses quite quick. After his initial success, bowlers have gained the upper hand on him.

Things have come easy for him including international call up - without playing proper domestic cricket - and it has started to show.

With each innings his chances of making the T20 World Cup squad are reducing.

Needs to come up with something special in the remaining games.

With each innings his chances of making the T20 World Cup squad are reducing.

Needs to come up with something special in the remaining games.

If he was going to be picked for the national team based on his performances in domestic cricket then he wouldn’t have a cap for Pakistan right now.

Azam Khan is a player that can get into the team without performances and being unfit at the same time. His spot for this years WT20 was secured before he even made his debut for Pakistan.

If he was going to be picked for the national team based on his performances in domestic cricket then he wouldn’t have a cap for Pakistan right now.

Azam Khan is a player that can get into the team without performances and being unfit at the same time. His spot for this years WT20 was secured before he even made his debut for Pakistan.

If that's the case, there is no hope for Pakistan cricket and some players may as well give up trying to play for their country.

so basically 10 months have passed since this statement, and he has not been able to reduce 1 KG of weight, only going through some yolo, loosing a bit to gain more. There goes the credibility of his statement, his efforts are not enough.

Was at Pindi Stadium for Northern v Southern Punjab last night.

The 'parchi' chants were deafening at certain points of the match in the stand that I was sitting in.

Another fantastic knock of 2 from 4 balls today. Dont blame him as he got bowled by legendary spinner Haris Sohail.

So lucky to be living in the Azam Khan era.

MashAllah, I look at this kid and think back to the lines "haq talfi ka sab ko gila hai, yahan mehnat ka kya sila hai" from one JJ's albums after he went solo.

About as useless as they come and without an iota of conscience. But who are we talking about here? Wasn't it Moin who picked up his bat, directing it at Miandad (who was coach) when Miandad questioned one of PAK's famous collapses during MK's captaincy reign?

This national t20cup is a blessing in disguise.

The questionable selections are themselves failing. No one needs to say anything or debate.

Nepotism to the fullest this guy... Very poor fitness and also his batting needs bad balls to put away..

His batting, like his fitness is terrible. Needs massive work if he wants a domestic cricket career or even Intl. career despite nepotism.

This national t20cup is a blessing in disguise.

The questionable selections are themselves failing. No one needs to say anything or debate.

Indeed. It's easier to hide and make excuses in a short international series. Nothing else to conclude however when Azam and Khushdil are getting so blatantly exposed in a average level t20 comp.

Spot on. By having had so many matches and those too in similar / familar settings against known bowlers, each of Sohaib, Khushdil, Azam and Asif have been exposed.

It is quite clear that PAK does not have middle order replacements for Malik and Hafeez. Fakhar should be able to slot in at one of Top 3 too.

PAK would be better placed strategically using bowlers and utility strikers, leaving Babar, Rizwan, Fakhar, Hafeez and Malik to play 15 overs at a SR of ~135 on average. After that Imad, Shadab, Hassan, Wasim Jr. & co can aim to score 5 ball 8 run sort of cameos. What part of the ground these runs come on will hardly matter. Would have been good if someone like Nawaz or Iftikhar had been a part of the squad too.

Need to bat down to No. 10 with bits and pieces players working in tandem from No.6 onwards.

khurram manzoor and sohaib maqsood should be part of the middle order.

they will probably produce more often than other middle order batsmen

been very impressed with khurram manzoor's intelligent display of batting and scoring 5 fours against SSA.

With such a poor performance , Babloo should be dropped for remaining of the matches for Southern Punjab. But performance or not , his spot is reserved in Pakistan team or in any team he likes to play for.

Drafted for Maratha Arabians for the upcoming T10 League

I hope he comes back better and fitter. I come from a privileged background and struggled with weight issues all through my life, so somewhere I feel bad for him.

But if Azam wants to represent his country in sport then this will not cut it. Both he and his family will have to be blind to not see the issue at hand. The sport is harsh as it is, measuring every performance, the last thing you want is the whole world judging you based on your appearance.

Take a year out kid and come back looking like a fr!gg!n Greek god!

Their is no way Azam deserved it . Sarfraz is right choice .fitter, performing well .

Good to see azam khan has been dropped and sarfraz deserves to be in the squad

My prayers have been answered! Probably the one exclusion I wanted more than anything else.

Amazing scenes as sense has prevailed! Still got to worry why he was even selected in the first place, but at least the correct decision was made in the end.

People on here have no idea how to judge a player's talent lol.

Azam could have been a massive asset for us if used properly. Anyway, he will be back stronger and better In sha Allah

Why dont you enlighten us on how to use Azam Khan since you have the capability to judge a player’s talent.

First of all, he’s meant to be an athlete not a sumo wrestler. If he really wanted to be in the team we’d see a bit of improvement from PSL 4 to PSL 7 in regards to his weight, in 3 years there’s no change.

Secondly, what’s Azam Khan really done to merit a selection in the team? Was it the six he hit of Amir in the PSL? Is that how low our standards are now? That we pick players because they hit a few good shots in a season in PSL and not players who have been playing well consistently for 3-4 years and grinding it out in domestic?

Also, why are we in such a rush to pick him for the team, lol? Is he in his late 30’s or something? Last I checked, he was in his early 20’s. He should first lose half his body weight, and play 3-4 years of domestic to be considered for national selection.

First of all, he’s meant to be an athlete not a sumo wrestler. If he really wanted to be in the team we’d see a bit of improvement from PSL 4 to PSL 7 in regards to his weight, in 3 years there’s no change.

Secondly, what’s Azam Khan really done to merit a selection in the team? Was it the six he hit of Amir in the PSL? Is that how low our standards are now? That we pick players because they hit a few good shots in a season in PSL and not players who have been playing well consistently for 3-4 years and grinding it out in domestic?

Also, why are we in such a rush to pick him for the team, lol? Is he in his late 30’s or something? Last I checked, he was in his early 20’s. He should first lose half his body weight, and play 3-4 years of domestic to be considered for national selection.

Excellent points! Its a joke on how he is treated as some "messiah" by some fans when he has ZERO to show for.

I do feel sorry for Azam Khan. Yes he was temporarily the beneficiary of nepotism, but that has to be Moin Khan’s fault, right?

Moin has clearly done bad for his own son by ruining his confidence. There is nothing worse for a cricketer to be picked for a WC squad and then dropped based on performance even before the tournament kicks off.

Best thing for him is to play FC cricket and score some runs.

He has the power game, but he needs to develop his batting and that is the only way.

Average around 35+ in FC and he gets into the T20 team easily.

Work in progress.

Yes he can hit the ball a long way now and then, but there is more to batting than this.

Lots of improvement needed in batting, fitness, approach.

Work in progress.

Yes he can hit the ball a long way now and then, but there is more to batting than this.

Lots of improvement needed in batting, fitness, approach.

Here is my snapshot of his attributes

strong attributes

Calm Head
plays spins very well
plays late most of the times
combination of both timing and power hitting
looks like a good wicket keeper

weakness

abysmal Running bw the wicket
extremely poor fielding
selfish attitude
sense of entitlement and previliged-knows his dad and uncle are in power house
weak against the short ball
lack of first class experience

open for discussion and counter arguments

his biggest flaw is his attitude and desire for the professional level fitness. It is simply not there at all, otherwise we would have seen a significant change in last few years.

ATF Southern Punjab’s Azam Khan made amends for missing out on a century on debut last week against Balochistan in Multan by scoring a more than run-a-ball 103 against Khyber Pakhtunkhwa at the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.206%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/hmr6jx" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Azam Khan FC performance

He has been in red hot form for South punjab, playing as a WK batsman. He has skipped T10 and not going to LPL as he is focused on first class
class cricket.

Just need to lose weight and be the 2nd option in all three formats.

good to see him focus on the long format game. v disappointing tho to see that despite being around the national team his fitness has shown no discernible improvement, also looked rather poor behind the stumps in the little FC cricket i saw.

He is a good batsman, but again he is very unfit, to put it nicely, if your going to play international cricket, you need to be fit. I think he should work on his fitness alot and lose as much weight as possible, he will see that he will be able to run better, keep better, and even bat better, but he needs to lose weight.

Can his recent scores in FC cricket be trusted considering every Tom Dick & Harry is scoring a hundred this season. Even the legendary Imran Butt got a hundred.

He has been in red hot form for South punjab, playing as a WK batsman. He has skipped T10 and not going to LPL as he is focused on first class
class cricket.

Just need to lose weight and be the 2nd option in all three formats.

I know money isn't exactly an issue for him but still, i respect his committment to the FC season over an easy paycheck.

I have seen some vidoes of his keeping in the Qaid E Azam not good enough to keep in tests definitely

48 off 32 balls in his most recent innings in the QeA Trophy.

What's his wicket-keeping been like in the QeA Trophy?

Been ok in the matches that have been streamed by the PCB, taken 19 catches behind the stumps.

I have been heartened to see him play all 10 first-class matches for Southern Punjab and not waste time in franchise leagues such as the T10 or the Lanka T20, which he did last year. Shows the right sort of commitment to grow as a cricketer.

His SR in FC matches so far is pretty absurd. Not a future Test player by any means but there is certainly upside for him to become a good LOI batsmen and provide this team with power that it desperately lacks. Long way to go in his fitness though.

Azam dancing at his brothers wedding...

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 50%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/y4zjy6" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

In an interview:

"I am working on my game against pace and have been practicing. Against spin, I was averaging 170-180 but against the pacers, it was only 118-120"

"Although I struggle against pace, in T20 cricket, you can hit the fast bowlers on your day. It is all dependent on your hard work and my hard work [to improve] is going"

In an interview:

"I am working on my game against pace and have been practicing. Against spin, I was averaging 170-180 but against the pacers, it was only 118-120"

"Although I struggle against pace, in T20 cricket, you can hit the fast bowlers on your day. It is all dependent on your hard work and my hard work [to improve] is going"

Good that he knows his shortcomings and wants to work on them.
Usual Pakistani batsman would have said I am good at everything, just give me 5 chances and I will show the world...

In an interview:

What does he mean he averages 100+? #Bradman

Shadab Khan on Azam Khan:

“Azam has proved his mettle, he has performed well, and I am sure he’ll do even better this time with us. We will work on his fitness too"

“I know he has been working hard to improve his fitness, that’s the thing he must do because he is very talented and if he can manage his fitness then I am sure he’ll reach the top"

I think he can have a good career in the t20 format if he works on his fitness.

I see him fading further away. He had a strange parchi opportunity to be in the team but luckily that was rectified in time otherwise we would have witnessed a national embarrassment at the World Cup. I don’t see him getting into the national team anytime soon. Just saw his recent pics and he’s still woefully overweight, he needs to lose about 40kg or so if he wants to be an international cricketer.

He did okay in the current FC season, so I expect him to do much better in the PSL this year.

17 innings

523 runs at an average of 32.

1 hundred and 3 fifties

Pretty poor numbers.

I am thankful he wasn't in the WC, would have made a mockery of our team infront of the cricketing world with his weight.

17 innings

523 runs at an average of 32.

1 hundred and 3 fifties

For a pure T20 player, it's okay.

Pak management have selected and held onto batsmen with 38 and 36 FC average in Tests, so him being a hitter and looking to play T20's for Pak, then it is more than fine.

I'm amazed at how over weight he is - and as others have said the fact he has remained so over weight. He has not lost any weight at all.

These guys are professional sports people and they obviously have to train, go the gym etc and if in spite of that he still can't lose weight that can only mean he binges on burgers, pizzas, nehari, kebabs, parathas etc, probably every day. It shows he lacks discipline and mental strength.

I think he can have a good career in the t20 format if he works on his fitness.

When something said several years ago is still relevant now i'd think it's probably not going to happen.

Old habits die hard. Losing weight is not a scientific mystery. Azam simply doesn't have the heart to do what he needs to do to play for Pakistan.

For a pure T20 player, it's okay.

Pak management have selected and held onto batsmen with 38 and 36 FC average in Tests, so him being a hitter and looking to play T20's for Pak, then it is more than fine.

He also played as a specialist wicketkeeper, so it's an acceptable debut season for him. We shouldn't criticize these players for trying to improve their game in first-class cricket, not when Azam preferred the QeA to franchise tournaments such as the T10 and the Lanka Premier League.

He needs to lose weight now, easier said than done, but I am sure he doesn't need us to tell him that.

He also played as a specialist wicketkeeper, so it's an acceptable debut season for him. We shouldn't criticize these players for trying to improve their game in first-class cricket, not when Azam preferred the QeA to franchise tournaments such as the T10 and the Lanka Premier League.

He needs to lose weight now, easier said than done, but I am sure he doesn't need us to tell him that.

Absolutely, his determination to improve by playing FC and shunning franchise leagues.

Also, you've got someone like Asif Ali with a 24 FC average doing well in T20's for Pak and has even been tried out in ODI's.

Too much hate for someone with potential and trying to improve.

for some1 whoes comment end reads "Bring back Umar Akmal", this is seriously contradictory n baseless post.

Azam should not be in team but then if u support Umar Akmals come back, u not be making any comments lol

i can only se this guy in a pak shirt, if he concentrates on losing 4 stone and playing as a finisher only

Azam making his debut for Islamabad - so lets see if he improves.

LDo2YYr.png

Poor keeper. Cant even dive for the ball and lets goes of byes