[VIDEOS] New Zealand's white-ball great Martin Guptill announces his retirement from international cricket [Post Updated #106]

leatherface58

Code:
Mat	Inns	NO	Runs	HS	Ave	BF	SR	100	50	0	4s	6s	
38	72	0	1869	156	25.95	4215	44.34	1	13	7	243	14

This is Guptill's record against non-minnows. Does this look like a test quality opener to anybody? He does not average over 40 against any team except the Windies. Does not average over 40 in any year.

I can understand him being an FTB or HTB but he is not even a bully. He is just pathetic.

PS: I know he can surprise me and actually score runs for a change in South Africa. But if that happens, then South African bowlers should hang their heads in shame because a failure test bat like Guptill scored runs against them.

Get Jeet Raval. He is promising and has technique unlike this guy who should be restricted to ODIs and T20s (Where he is admittedly very good).

I expect 12/1 in 7 overs every innings of this series. Eventually, this will put pressure on Latham and it will cascade down resulting in batting failures. An opening spot is very important and sets the tone for the whole innings. Is this the tone we want to set? What are you thinking Larsen?

He is NZ's Rohit Sharma.

But bats at the opening so damage (in a weird way) is minimized cos every team has atleast 1 bad opener. Might as well get the jinx out of the way.

He is NZ's Rohit Sharma.

But bats at the opening so damage (in a weird way) is minimized cos every team has atleast 1 bad opener. Might as well get the jinx out of the way.

He is a poorer Rohit Sharma. A complete dud in tests. Rohit has dominated at home at least. Guptill did not even dominate Zimbabwe.

He had one great series against WI at home.

Against SA at home - 2 tests, 4 innings, 26 runs.

Still...I get your frustration.

We Indians know that feeling all too well.

Just like NZ vet overlooked, seems like Guptill gets overlooked by the selectors.

I thought he's last few NZ games [don't know about Tests] have been very good?

Mostly because Bmac couldn't differentiate test cricket and ODI cricket.

Hes a fantastic ODI batsman but hes just not a test opener. I would rather have Guptill at 5 than Nicholls however.

Jeet Raval really should of been introduced into the side during the Zimbabwe side. it was a perfect opportunity against a Zim new ball attack that is comparable to Ganguly and Collingwood bowling.

Steyn, Rabadda and Philander is a very solid bowling attack and two of them are coming after a long break of injury.So they must be hungry for wickets.

I can assure you that Guptill has perhaps no chance of performing against these guys on SA wickets. If he does score then its a blessing in disguise. But I have no hopes from him.

I told you. This jabroni is hurting the team. He even fell at the team score of 12. Pathetic!

A better question would be, why is he playing cricket at all?

The Warwickshire Bears would never offer Guptil a county contract even for our 2nd XI team

Who is a better option?

It's a genuine question as I am not sure. Kiwis play 5 specialist batsmen mostly, yet without Rayder, there is Will, Ross & Latham. They have added Nicol, which is OKish, but is there any young opener better than Martin?

Who is a better option?

It's a genuine question as I am not sure. Kiwis play 5 specialist batsmen mostly, yet without Rayder, there is Will, Ross & Latham. They have added Nicol, which is OKish, but is there any young opener better than Martin?

Martin Guptill is actually pretty similar to Mohammad Hafeez. A lovely fluent batsman when there are no slip fielders, but a dead duck in Tests outside Asia, with no hope of reversing that.

New Zealand has a major problem with depth, as does South Africa, a reflection of the "cricketing population" (aka white population) being less than 4 million in both countries.

The bottom line is that Martin Guptill and Henry Nicholls are in the team because the reality is that the only Test class batsmen in the country are Williamson, Taylor, Watling and Latham, plus the unforgiven Jesse Ryder.

The selectors will do anything not to pick Jesse Ryder. So the team has an armada of batting all-rounders in Anderson plus Neesham plus Santner plus Watling, whose job is to convert 30-2 into 300-4 when the second new ball arrives.

Mostly because Bmac couldn't differentiate test cricket and ODI cricket.

Hes a fantastic ODI batsman but hes just not a test opener. I would rather have Guptill at 5 than Nicholls however.

Jeet Raval really should of been introduced into the side during the Zimbabwe side. it was a perfect opportunity against a Zim new ball attack that is comparable to Ganguly and Collingwood bowling.
Hope we see this change for the next game.

Martin Guptill is actually pretty similar to Mohammad Hafeez. A lovely fluent batsman when there are no slip fielders, but a dead duck in Tests outside Asia, with no hope of reversing that.

New Zealand has a major problem with depth, as does South Africa, a reflection of the "cricketing population" (aka white population) being less than 4 million in both countries.

The bottom line is that Martin Guptill and Henry Nicholls are in the team because the reality is that the only Test class batsmen in the country are Williamson, Taylor, Watling and Latham, plus the unforgiven Jesse Ryder.

The selectors will do anything not to pick Jesse Ryder. So the team has an armada of batting all-rounders in Anderson plus Neesham plus Santner plus Watling, whose job is to convert 30-2 into 300-4 when the second new ball arrives.

That's exactly what I was thinking. There is a serious lack of reserves in NZ. Though it must be amazing to see a country with 3.5mn people (& many of them immigrants) are actually winning more Olympic medals in every Olympics than what 1.7bn South Asian did in 80 years of participation, but cricket is a dying game in NZ. Along with Holland, Australia & Canada, Kiwis are the best sporting nation with such small population base, but cricket I guess is not growing.

Regarding Martin, I think MoHa was a bit different proposition as long as he was bowling with his old action; even in ENG/AUS, he could have made the team on merit as no. 6 batting all-rounder, but for a cricket county like PAK, it's embrassment that MoHa actually plays as a specialist opener.

For Martin, I am pretty sure that there is actually not much option left after Mac retiered & Jesse went south with his career. I do feel for Rayder, but can't criticize selectors - absolute shambles of a cricketer, shouldn't be allowed to play for black caps ever.

Guptill should play in India though, in Test that is. He is a free scoring slogger & I think best way to play Test in India now days is to counter attack the new ball before Ash-Jad settles in. Unless, Kiwis races to 100+ in 25 overs, they'll hardly compete in India.

Kiwi posters here -

There are 2 Indian origin batsmen in NZ - Rawal & some Popli. How good are they?

FC stats are very good and in their mid 20s - good for Indian tour?

Guptill should play in India though, in Test that is. He is a free scoring slogger & I think best way to play Test in India now days is to counter attack the new ball before Ash-Jad settles in. Unless, Kiwis races to 100+ in 25 overs, they'll hardly compete in India.
I share most of your opinions apart from this. I think that the NZ Tests in India are too close to call.

New Zealand are not Australia. They drew in the UAE against a much better slow bowling attack than India has. By the end of the series they had drawn 1-1, but they were the only team that could have won the drawn match.

India's problem is this. They prepared rank turners against South Africa, but on such wickets Ravi Jadeja is as dangerous as R Ashwin is. And to be honest, I think Jadeja is inferior both as a batsman and as a bowler compared with Mitchell Santner.

India might win the series. But in my lifetime England have won as many Test series in India as India have, and this NZ team looks pretty well designed to do the same. If they had the imagination to call up Jeetan Patel I'd make them strong favourites to win in India, but I'm sure they won't.

I share most of your opinions apart from this. I think that the NZ Tests in India are too close to call.

New Zealand are not Australia. They drew in the UAE against a much better slow bowling attack than India has. By the end of the series they had drawn 1-1, but they were the only team that could have won the drawn match.

India's problem is this. They prepared rank turners against South Africa, but on such wickets Ravi Jadeja is as dangerous as R Ashwin is. And to be honest, I think Jadeja is inferior both as a batsman and as a bowler compared with Mitchell Santner.

India might win the series. But in my lifetime England have won as many Test series in India as India have, and this NZ team looks pretty well designed to do the same. If they had the imagination to call up Jeetan Patel I'd make them strong favourites to win in India, but I'm sure they won't.

May be, won't call now. But man, you need some nerve to sell Santer over Jaddu in India.

Besides, Indian spin attack is at least at per, if not better than PAK on rank turners. Ash & Jad are far more accurate than even Yasir (for obvious reason, finger spinner), which is what you need on rank turners. PAK is superior Test team in Indian condition for their top 7 batting (including MoHa at 6).

Playing on rank turners, Kiwis might compete if they bat first, but still it's a massive call to think them competing with India. In UAE, Kiwis didn't win for their spin play, rather PAK had a horror show with ball (that innings had probably 70% boundary contribution - PAK bowlers bowled at least 2 hit me ball every over) & excellent new ball bowling.

Every time, your fantasy gets better of your cricket acumen, when it comes to forecast boss, like the Oval Test, last year's AUS-NZ series ....

Think from head, not heart. Those Kiwi spinners are not going to do any damage to Indian batting in first 2 days, even on turners. Only chance is NZ batting first, Guptil, Ross & Will scoring big to post 350+ and then try to defend 200+ on crumbling wicket, where they might get Indians caught off guard. In India, Jeetu Patel won't be bowling to County Myestroes, for whom Mike Gatting was esteem of spin play & now it has come down to Moeen Ali.

1. Mitchell Santner could be a dark horse no doubt. I am genuinely scared of him.
2. England won in India due to a vast variety of combinations going right. Them at their best and us at our weakest and our main weapon (Ashwin) having a meltdown. Doubt that would happen again.
3. Do turn the clock back to 2012 and see what happ to NZ in India. Agreed that was a weaker NZ than now but so was India. pitches weren't rank turners.
4. Also the 10 ball battle between Williamson and Ashwin in IPL 2016 on a rare turning pitch was interesting I would say.

I for one, don't rule out NZ in the series. But let's see if things go the way you are predicting.

May be, won't call now. But man, you need some nerve to sell Santer over Jaddu in India.

Besides, Indian spin attack is at least at per, if not better than PAK on rank turners. Ash & Jad are far more accurate than even Yasir (for obvious reason, finger spinner), which is what you need on rank turners. PAK is superior Test team in Indian condition for their top 7 batting (including MoHa at 6).

Playing on rank turners, Kiwis might compete if they bat first, but still it's a massive call to think them competing with India. In UAE, Kiwis didn't win for their spin play, rather PAK had a horror show with ball (that innings had probably 70% boundary contribution - PAK bowlers bowled at least 2 hit me ball every over) & excellent new ball bowling.

Every time, your fantasy gets better of your cricket acumen, when it comes to forecast boss, like the Oval Test, last year's AUS-NZ series ....

Think from head, not heart. Those Kiwi spinners are not going to do any damage to Indian batting in first 2 days, even on turners. Only chance is NZ batting first, Guptil, Ross & Will scoring big to post 350+ and then try to defend 200+ on crumbling wicket, where they might get Indians caught off guard. In India, Jeetu Patel won't be bowling to County Myestroes, for whom Mike Gatting was esteem of spin play & now it has come down to Moeen Ali.

I agree but if its rank turner, I think Nz's spin trio of Santner, Sodhi and Nathan McCullum could take us out in first innings.

Unless Vijay, Rahul and Pujara step up. Those 3 are the ones I have all the trust.

I have little to no trust in Rahane (not a great spin player), Kohli (bats like a dream and throws his wicket away) and Ashwin (lulloo against spin in the last year or so).

I agree but if its rank turner, I think Nz's spin trio of Santner, Sodhi and Nathan McCullum could take us out in first innings.

Unless Vijay, Rahul and Pujara step up. Those 3 are the ones I have all the trust.

I have little to no trust in Rahane (not a great spin player), Kohli (bats like a dream and throws his wicket away) and Ashwin (lulloo against spin in the last year or so).

If it's a rank turner & India bats first, only thing'll happen is we 'll gossip without match in last 2 days. Kiwis definitely are going to take this Indian lineup on turners, even before lunch on day 1, but the match score should read 213, 170, 200, 134.

This is the worst era of spin play that cricket has ever seen, at least since 1900s & trust me, Nayan Mongia would have been among best spin players in this Indian line up, but facing A-J on wickets where dust start to pop up from day 1 is beyond manageable for any contemporary team - may be PAK can post 400 at best in first innings as long as YK, Misbah, MoHa & Sarfu is in form.

1. Mitchell Santner could be a dark horse no doubt. I am genuinely scared of him.
2. England won in India due to a vast variety of combinations going right. Them at their best and us at our weakest and our main weapon (Ashwin) having a meltdown. Doubt that would happen again.
3. Do turn the clock back to 2012 and see what happ to NZ in India. Agreed that was a weaker NZ than now but so was India. pitches weren't rank turners.
4. Also the 10 ball battle between Williamson and Ashwin in IPL 2016 on a rare turning pitch was interesting I would say.

I for one, don't rule out NZ in the series. But let's see if things go the way you are predicting.

I'm not going so far as to predict a Kiwi win. I'm saying I can't tell who will win.

The first unknown is whether India will prepare turning tracks. I think that they would be fools to do so, because if they lose the toss, NZ only need to score a little over 200 in the first innings to be hot favourites.

On square turners, Santner and Craig and Sodhi will be as effective as the Indian spinners. But they are all very competent batsmen too, probably at 6, 8 and 9 (with Southee at 10 and Boult at 11.).

This would be my Kiwi selection to play in India:

1. BJ Watling
2. Tom Latham
3. Kane Williamson
4. Ross Taylor
5. Jesse Ryder
6. Corey Anderson or Jimmy Neesham
7. Mitchell Santner
8. Mark Craig
9. Ish Sodhi
10. Tim Southee
11. Trent Boult

That team bats down to number 9, and even the number 10 has scored Test 50s.

If it's a rank turner & India bats first, only thing'll happen is we 'll gossip without match in last 2 days. Kiwis definitely are going to take this Indian lineup on turners, even before lunch on day 1, but the match score should read 213, 170, 200, 134.

This is the worst era of spin play that cricket has ever seen, at least since 1900s & trust me, Nayan Mongia would have been among best spin players in this Indian line up, but facing A-J on wickets where dust start to pop up from day 1 is beyond manageable for any contemporary team - may be PAK can post 400 at best in first innings as long as YK, Misbah, MoHa & Sarfu is in form.

Haha....I think the same....using the EXACT player's name.

This is just a sad era.

I really don't know how to compare spinners from past era.

Watching substandard playing of spin for quite a while, I think I have forgotten what good batting against quality spin is. lol.

How did Asian teams play Warne's sliders and left armers' arm balls in the past? They recognized it off his hand or off the pitch?

The spin I know they went front and back decisively but not how did they play the non turning balls? The quick deliveries I mean.

This is just a sad era.

Watching substandard playing of spin for quite a while, I think I have forgotten what good batting against quality spin is. lol.

How did Asian teams play Warne's sliders and left armers' arm balls in the past? They recognized it off his hand or off the pitch?

The spin I know they went front and back decisively but not how did they play the non turning balls? The quick deliveries I mean.

Can't prove, so anyone can have a go at me - 6 regular spinners were used in AUS-SRL series, 3 from each side. Apart from Herath, none would have averaged below 50, had they played between 1970 to 2000 - PLAYING ENTIRE CAREER ON SIMILAR WICKETS USED IN THAT SERIES.

This is just a sad era.

That happens when you have ZERO foot-work & absolutely no clue of reading the ball in flight. MODERN players don't read spinners from hand, action or grip - they wait for it to pitch, which never allows them enough time to position feet or shift body weight. If you carefully notice YK, despite all his dances, when the meets the ball (from spinners), he is well balanced, extremely assured & decisive on feet movement - that's only because of his reading ability of spin bowlers & bowling (at 42, don't think his eye is that good, still...). Most of MODERN player plays with hanging head too much movement on turners. This is after tempered bats & 60 metre grounds - keep that bat in tact (it's like Titanium Golf Club over old wooden one), but take the boundary to standard range (at least 75 yards to clear in any direction, if you are to hit a biggi), you'll hardly find a MODERN batsman with 35 average against spinners.

You can check my posts during AUS-SRL Series- Warner scored "some" runs because he was opening against new ball before the wicket got roughed-up - batting at 6, he would have struggled to match his last innings total in 6 attempts. And, he is the poster boy among openers in MODERN & ADVANCED Cricket world.

That happens when you have ZERO foot-work & absolutely no clue of reading the ball in flight. MODERN players don't read spinners from hand, action or grip - they wait for it to pitch, which never allows them enough time to position feet or shift body weight. If you carefully notice YK, despite all his dances, when the meets the ball (from spinners), he is well balanced, extremely assured & decisive on feet movement - that's only because of his reading ability of spin bowlers & bowling (at 42, don't think his eye is that good, still...). Most of MODERN player plays with hanging head too much movement on turners. This is after tempered bats & 60 metre grounds - keep that bat in tact (it's like Titanium Golf Club over old wooden one), but take the boundary to standard range (at least 75 yards to clear in any direction, if you are to hit a biggi), you'll hardly find a MODERN batsman with 35 average against spinners.

You can check my posts during AUS-SRL Series- Warner scored "some" runs because he was opening against new ball before the wicket got roughed-up - batting at 6, he would have struggled to match his last innings total in 6 attempts. And, he is the poster boy among openers in MODERN & ADVANCED Cricket world.

I see...thanks.

I'm not going so far as to predict a Kiwi win. I'm saying I can't tell who will win.

The first unknown is whether India will prepare turning tracks. I think that they would be fools to do so, because if they lose the toss, NZ only need to score a little over 200 in the first innings to be hot favourites.

On square turners, Santner and Craig and Sodhi will be as effective as the Indian spinners. But they are all very competent batsmen too, probably at 6, 8 and 9 (with Southee at 10 and Boult at 11.).

This would be my Kiwi selection to play in India:

1. BJ Watling
2. Tom Latham
3. Kane Williamson
4. Ross Taylor
5. Jesse Ryder
6. Corey Anderson or Jimmy Neesham
7. Mitchell Santner
8. Mark Craig
9. Ish Sodhi
10. Tim Southee
11. Trent Boult

That team bats down to number 9, and even the number 10 has scored Test 50s.

Not much option left actually. I'll take probably 2, may be 3 players off. First, no place for Ryder, for non cricketing reason, so someone has to come.

Anderson/Neesham has no role in India to be honest. They are not going to bowl much, neither makes the team on batting merit. Also, I think Southee offers little on typical Indian wickets, rather I'll play Wagner as 2nd pacer, but this one is open. Definitely one, if not both Indian origin players should debut in this Series.

Guptil, Latham
Will, Ross, 1 of Rawal, Pupli, Nicol
Watling
Shanter, Craig, Sodhi
Boult, Southee/Wagner

I see...thanks.

Thanks. Day by day, only MODERN shot against spinners you'll see is sweep - conventional or reverse, because that does't need footwork or reading ability. Also, as long as boundaries remain at 60 metres, with MODERN bat, you can clear it with reverse flick. YK is the last man you are watching to hit an inside out cover drive against a fligted leggi or left-arm spin, dancing down the track.

WHAT A USELESS WASTE OF SPACE!

Worst opening batsman today. Even Zimbos will produce a better batsman with all due respect to them. Bangladesh already have a better batsman in Tamim. We are guaranteed to be playing with 1 batsman less when this failure is batting in the side.

I would rather have Mark Craig play in the side. He is guaranteed to score more runs and might even get a wicket by chance.

WHAT A USELESS WASTE OF SPACE!

Worst opening batsman today. Even Zimbos will produce a better batsman with all due respect to them. Bangladesh already have a better batsman in Tamim. We are guaranteed to be playing with 1 batsman less when this failure is batting in the side.

I would rather have Mark Craig play in the side. He is guaranteed to score more runs and might even get a wicket by chance.
You sound like you're surprised? We stood no chance in SA, our team has been on the decline since it peaked against England.

I'm expecting Pakistan to sweep us at home too, ee deserve to be ranked 7th. It's a travesty we're ranked ahead of SA.

You sound like you're surprised? We stood no chance in SA, our team has been on the decline since it peaked against England.

I'm expecting Pakistan to sweep us at home too, ee deserve to be ranked 7th. It's a travesty we're ranked ahead of SA.

I understand that we are back to the rebuilding phase but Guptill is a clear dead weight, an obvious gangrenous part which needs to be severed.

NZ relies too much on Williamson.
That guy has to come up the order perhaps in all the game against good quality attack.

He is basically a virtual opener in the NZ team.

What if Williamson opens and Guptil bats at 6 behind Nicholas? Guptil is a complete failure in tests as an opener and that's not even up for any debate.

I like Guptill - good batsman and will come good imo.

I didn't know Guptill is that bad in Tests. Sad really.

But, I think he can do some wonders for NZ in the next few series. I'd give him one more series at least.

Him clicking with explosive starts means you'd likely win that match.

The problem that the Kiwis have is that there is no viable alternative to replace him in the top order. They persisted with Hamish Rutherford for a couple of years but he wasn't technically adept either to succeed at test cricket. Test match opening batsmen have been a source of perennial woe for NZ cricket; actually think Mark Richardson has been their best opener since Glenn Turner retired three decades ago. The cupboard remains empty. Guess the hope for Hesson and the selectors was that Guptill would bring the aggressive ODI version to test matches, but of course that method seldom translates. I think at this stage Guptill should stop shoehorning himself into a correct test player and just try and biff the ball like McCullum used to. He's got nothing to lose.

He's not that good but I didn't know his record was that atrocious.

Should really find someone else.

Wow that's Afridi esque average. I thought he would be pretty decent in tests as he is quite good in ODIs and T20s. NZ should look for another opener. Or perhaps they should let him play the Pakistan series. After all we have a habit of making average players look world class.

I just want our selectors to select our best players.

Get Ryder, Jeetan Patel and some young blood into the team.

Nicols and Guptill are not Test standard and Santner shouldn't be batting at 7.

It's silly to give Nicols and Guptill opportunity after opportunity when they've proven they aren't up to the level time and time again.

You guyz are severely underestimating Indian batsmen's spin playing capability. But that is your opinion and I respek :mc your opinion.

Wow that's Afridi esque average. I thought he would be pretty decent in tests as he is quite good in ODIs and T20s. NZ should look for another opener. Or perhaps they should let him play the Pakistan series. After all we have a habit of making average players look world class.

Bhai :sa averages 35+ in Tests and about 50 against arch-rivals India. Itna bura bhi nahi tha woh. This guy is just pathetic.

If NZ win even one Test, I'll eat my hat. Everyone is lulloo against Ashwin and Jadeja on rank turners except maybe Pakistan (:yk and :misbah) , even the Indians would struggle against them.

He is the NZ equivalent of 2012-2013 Hafeez. A hero in limited overs but a dud in tests, being carried around for his ability in LOIs.

Was shocked when they recalled him to the test line up based on his LO form. It could be quite funny seeing him attempt to bat on slow and low wickets as he struggles on them even in LO

What are the options available if Guptill is dropped although I do agree he should be dropped?

Ronchi as makeshift opener. Ronchi opened today and scored a ton
Guptill will still stay to haunt the kiwis though:shakib

Martin Guptill stats as batsmen are pretty similar to what a bowling AR has.

Nicholas also shouldn't be there.

Now we come to know why B'Mac is considered as a batsmen better than his stats.

Ronchi as makeshift opener. Ronchi opened today and scored a ton
Guptill will still stay to haunt the kiwis though:shakib

With Guptill in the team, KW fans never really have to wait to watch their batsmen bat in the middle.

Munro is a specialist t20 hack. He is nowhere near test class level.

It's lame to watch him throw his wicket in a pathetic fashion so many times in LOIs.

Let him be in the team . He's much needed atleas til the end of Pakistan series.

It might help the team very much.

You know what I mean

Let him be in the team . He's much needed atleas til the end of Pakistan series.

It might help the team very much.

You know what I mean

I hope he isn't in the team when playing Pakistan. Pakistan has an annoying tendency to give a career boost to noobs like Guptill, Mark Craig and Marcus North (As a bowler!!!!).

Guptill might score a ton or two and book his place for future series and I do not want that AT ALL.

And he is in the team again! WTH does he have to do to get dropped? Kill a puppy or something?

Out of form lmao? Really Simon?

More like out of his depth at Test level.

He should play Sehwag / Warner way. Regardless of whether he clicks or not, can be most effective in his natural aggressive way.