[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Pakistan PM Imran Khan inaugurates Kartarpur Corridor

A historic moment indeed-This moment and it's legacy will outlive everyone that is alive today. Well Done IK, Gen Bajwa and Sidhu.

Staying on the topic of Kartarpur rather than pointing the intangible agendas that can only be seen through some extraordinary talented specs.

This is a historic moment make no mistake about it! What this corridor means to Sikh community cannot be explained in plain words. A landmark achievement for Imran that hasn't materialised in 72 years of history has been done under his watch. To add more to it the commendable construction took place in just 10 months that is as spectacular as it can be.

There is no doubt going forward Imran will hold a special place within the Sikh community.

Today was quite a day from both countries with respect to minorities. At one end a religious landmark corridor has been opened up for pilgrims of a minority at other end a verdict has been issued (which was originally supposed to come out on 16th) that oppresses the minority of another country. Both these events are landmark events and will definitely garner international attention. From normal perspective I can see this as another diplomatic victory day for Pakistan.

It would have been a landmark day rather than a diplomatic day but the decision from India to release verdict ahead of time makes it a political day which could have been avoided.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sharing mesmerizing sights from <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> before the arrival of Prime Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> and Chief Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/capt_amarinder?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@capt_amarinder</a> Singh <a href="https://t.co/0vfHYfiy92">pic.twitter.com/0vfHYfiy92</a></p>— Government of Punjab (@PunjabGovtIndia) <a href="https://twitter.com/PunjabGovtIndia/status/1193027941879300096?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 9, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu with some lovely words for Prime Minister Imran Khan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/u9OobwtCYf">pic.twitter.com/u9OobwtCYf</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1193190993664839682?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 9, 2019</a></blockquote>

Cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu is currently on a visit to Pakistan after being invited as a chief guest at the historic Kartarpur corridor opening ceremony by Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan.

Imran Khan on Saturday welcomed the first batch of the Indian Sikh pilgrims who entered Pakistan through the corridor which links Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Pakistan, the final resting place of Guru Nanak Dev, to Dera Baba Nanak shrine in Punjab's Gurdaspur.

Speaking at the inaugural event, Sidhu heaped praises on his cricketer friend and now Pakistan PM Imran Khan and thanked his yaar dildaar’ Pakistan PM for opening the Kartarpur Corridor to Darbar Sahib in Pakistan.

Sidhu was welcomed to the podium by member of the senate of Pakistan, Faisal Javed Khan, saying Sidhu's love for Pakistan was evident from the fact that the former India batsman never hit a Test hundred against his neighbouring country.

"The proof of Navjot Singh Sidhu's love for Pakistan, and especially Imran Khan, is that he has scored 9 centuries in his career (Test) but hasn't hit a single one against Pakistan. This is his love for Pakistan," Faisal Javed Khan said.

Sidhu was a special invitee on August 18, 2018, to the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Imran Khan.

Sidhu has 9 Test centuries in his career. He has played in 7 Test innings when India toured Pakistan (led by Imran Khan) in 1989-90. In the 4th Test, Sidhu rescued India in their second innings when down 38/4 putting together a century stand with Sachin Tendulkar while making 97.

Though Sidhu fell 3 runs short of making a hundred against Pakistan, his first ODI hundred, interestingly, came against Pakistan in Sharjah in 1989.

India and Pakistan have built a corridor to connect Dera Baba Nanak in Gurdaspur and Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur in Pakistan, the final resting place of Guru Nanak to commemorate the 550th birth anniversary celebrations of the Sikh founder on November 12.

Sidhu was part of the first batch of pilgrims that visited the shrine in Pakistan using the corridor. Prime Minister Narendra Modi earlier inaugurated the passenger terminal building of the corridor on the Indian side.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...ran-khan-guru-nanak-dev-ji-1617431-2019-11-09

pilgrims6-1573282059.png

pilgrims1-1573281927.png

EI8XtpCXkAANVPQ

EI8NPpmWoAA9dZm

True there were so many emotional scenes on display today

EI8GOI_XUAA_lt8

What a day, pain for the haters, heartening for the peace makers.
Btw
I didn't get to edit my last post but by the middle I meant the one with IK and all leaders sitting on the floor. Just amazingly symbolic.

What a day, pain for the haters, heartening for the peace makers.
Btw
I didn't get to edit my last post but by the middle I meant the one with IK and all leaders sitting on the floor. Just amazingly symbolic.

True that picture will be remembered for years to come.

'This is the beginning': PM Imran inaugurates Kartarpur Corridor on historic day

Prime Minister Imran Khan formally inaugurated the Kartarpur Corridor at a colourful ceremony on Saturday, paving the way for Indian Sikh pilgrims to visit one of their religion's holiest sites in Pakistan without needing a visa.

"First of all, I congratulate the Sikh community on the 550th birth anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak and welcome you all," the premier said at the start of his address, paying tribute to the government team for completing the Kartarpur project in a matter of months.

"I salute you all. I had no idea you were so efficient. That means we can do so much more," he told the government officials.

"I am always so happy to see the Sikh community who have come here. God lives in the hearts of all of us. All the messengers who have come and gone only ever brought two messages, that of peace and justice.

"These two things distinguish us from the animal kingdom," he said.

Prime Minister Imran noted that the lessons that can be drawn from Guru Nanak's teachings are about bringing people together and not to spread hate.

"I am happy we could do this for you," he told the hundreds of Sikh pilgrims. "Believe me, I had no idea of the importance this place holds; I found out a year ago.

He said the inability of Sikhs in the past to visit the Kartarpur shrine was akin to Muslims being able to see Madina from a distance but not be able to go near it.

"That is why I am happy to see you so happy and the way your hearts have nothing but prayers for us."

Citing the examples of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), Nelson Mandela and Sufi saints, the prime minister said a true leader is one who always brings people together and does not spread hate in order to gain votes.

He continued: "The first thing I did after becoming the prime minister was to tell [Indian Prime Minister Narendra] Modi that poverty is our mutual problem, and the way to deal with it is to open our borders to people and trade.

"I met Manmohan Singh during a conference and I remember when he was the PM he had said that 'the entire South Asia can rise if we solve Kashmir'. And that's what I told Modi.

"But I am sad to say that Kashmir has gone beyond a territorial issue. This is an issue of humanity, not a territorial dispute.

"The way they [Kashmiris] are being kept like animals. Their rights have been snatched away which the UNSC gave them.

"If Modi is listening, [he should know that] justice brings peace and injustice spreads confusion.

"Let's rid ourselves of this problem," he told Modi, referring to the Kashmir dispute. "So we can live like humans.

"Imagine the happiness that will spread and how we will be able to pull people out of poverty.

"I have hope that this is the beginning. One day our relations with India will be such that would have been had the issue of Kashmir been resolved in the beginning (at Partition).

"I also foresee a day when the hatred that has spread in the sub-continent over the past 70 years due to this dispute [will be no more].

"When this problem is solved and Kashmiris get their rights, the sub-continent will see prosperity and our entire region will rise in the world, and I pray that day is not far," he concluded.

You've won hearts'

Former Indian cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu earlier addressed the ceremony, thanking Prime Minister Imran for taking the bold step to build the Kartarpur Corridor "without looking at gains or losses".

"You have won hearts," he said while addressing the premier.

Further heaping praise on Prime Minister Imran, he said: "There are people who are swept away by the tides of time, even the mountains bow to the tides of time, man is left spinning as it whirls by, but then there are those like Imran Khan who stand the test of time and create history.

"No benefit or loss was weighed. No deals were considered. My faithful friend (PM Imran) did this for the love of God.

"What will you gain from killing in a war? If you want to win someone over, do so by generosity. The enemy can neither die from loss that way nor be able to hold his head high after being struck by such generosity.

"This Sikh community is going to take you further than you can fathom," he said, addressing the prime minister. "We will become your mouthpiece.

"Four generations of Sikhs were deprived; for the first time a government has [opened access to Kartarpur] for 140 million Sikhs. Alexander won the world through fear and terror. Imran Khan you are the Alexander who has won the world's hearts and you rule them all."

Minister for Religious Affairs Pir Noorul Haq Qadri in his speech said today's ceremony and the opening of the Kartapur Corridor is "the biggest message of peace and love" since Partition.

"Imran Khan, the promise you had made to the millions of Sikhs has been fulfilled. And I congratulate Sardar Navjot Singh as it was you who brought this idea to the prime minister.

"Baba Guru Nanak spent the last days of his life here. He spent his life bringing people together and spreading the message of love.

"In your last days here you continued to spread the message of oneness, truth, peace. His teachings carry the lessons of humanity and its well-being.

"This was the prime minister's personal interest and his commitment," he said, adding that he prayed Prime Minister Imran will be rewarded by God for winning people's hearts.

'Doors of Kartarpur sahib have been opened'
Earlier, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi in his address gave the credit for the "historic" project coming to fruition to Prime Minister Imran and the government team.

"The doors of Kartarpur sahib have been opened for you," the foreign minister said while addressing members of the Sikh community across the world.

He said the message of Sikhism founder Guru Nanak Dev was one of peace and love, but that it needed to be reflected upon who is today "sowing the seeds of hate" in the subcontinent.

"If the Berlin Wall can be demolished, if the Kartarpur Corridor can be opened, then the temporary boundary of the Line of Control can also be ended," Qureshi said, adding that the promise of granting the right of self-determination to the people of occupied Kashmir can also be fulfilled.

He asked Indian Prime Minister Modi, who had earlier in the day thanked Prime Minister Imran, whether he will also give his Pakistani counterpart the chance to thank him.

"You can do so," he told Modi, "by lifting the curfew in occupied Kashmir, ending the use of pellet guns, ending the violations of human rights [and] by ending the communication blackout".

He expressed the wish that Modi will open the Srinagar Jamia Mosque for Kashmiri Muslims the way the Kartarpur gurdwara was opened for the Sikh community by Pakistan.

The minister announced that the prime minister has identified 400 temples in the country which will be renovated.

Manmohan leads Sikhs delegation

Sikhs from across the border started arriving in Pakistan today to make a historic pilgrimage to the shrine of Guru Nanak Dev, the founder of Sikhism, which is located in Kartarpur, as Islamabad and New Delhi made history by opening the Kartarpur Corridor.

Prime Minister Imran arrived at the corridor inauguration ceremony using the shuttle service used by pilgrims, according to state broadcaster PTV.

The premier was accompanied by Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar, Governor Chaudhry Sarwar, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Minister for Religious Affairs Pir Noorul Haq Qadri and other officials.

Former Indian prime minister Manmohan Singh led the first delegation of Sikh pilgrims as they crossed into Pakistan through the Kartarpur Corridor. Indian Punjab's Chief Minister Amarinder Singh was also part of the jatha (caravan).

"I hope India and Pakistan relations improve enormously as a result of this beginning," Manmohan told PTV as he walked towards the Pakistan side, terming the occasion a "big moment".

The Indian Punjab chief minister said they were all happy because it had been a desire of Sikhs to visit their religious sites in Pakistan for 70 years.

"This is a beginning, I hope it's going to continue and many more gurdwaras are going to be allowed," he remarked.

Besides Sidhu, Bollywood actor-turned-politician Sunny Deol also attended the opening ceremony.

Foreign diplomats, accompanied by Foreign Office Spokesperson Dr Mohammad Faisal and Foreign Secretary Sohail Mahmood, were also in attendance.

Before seeing off the first group of pilgrims, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed members of the Sikh community and hailed the opening of the corridor.

"I also thank Pakistan's Prime Minister Imran Khan for understanding India's wishes and turning Kartarpur into reality," Modi said in his speech. He also thanked the labour in both countries for completing the construction in such a short time.

The Indian premier said that Baba Guru Nanak was not just a revered figure for Sikhs but for the entire humanity.

About 8,000-10,000 pilgrims are expected to arrive from around the world to mark Guru Nanak's 550th birthday on November 12.

The premier had performed the groundbreaking of the visa-free corridor last year. Since then, the government has employed hundreds of labourers to spruce up the shrine, including building a border immigration checkpoint and a bridge, as well as expanding the site's grounds. After tough negotiations between Islamabad and New Delhi, Pakistan and India had finally signed an agreement regarding the project last month.

Ahead of the opening, the prime minister also announced special waivers in order to facilitate Indian pilgrims. Pilgrims who arrive from India will no longer need a passport to cross over into Pakistan as long as they have a valid identity.

The premier had also announced that he had directed that the condition for pilgrims to register 10 days before their arrival at the Kartarpur shrine be waived.

Furthermore, the pilgrims who arrive on the day of the Kartarpur Corridor's opening and on Baba Guru Nanak's 550th birth anniversary will not be charged any fee to visit.

Up to 5,000 Indian Sikhs have been allowed access daily, with plans to eventually double the capacity.

Sikhs from around the world — including some from India who entered from the main border crossing at Wagah after obtaining visas — have been arriving in Pakistan ahead of the celebrations for several days already.

Opening border and hearts
In a statement issued hours before the opening of the Kartarpur Corridor, Prime Minister Imran congratulated the Sikh community residing in Pakistan as well as in India on the occasion.

The premier said that the "unprecedented gesture of goodwill [...] is a reflection of our deep respect for Baba Guru Nanak Dev Ji and religious sentiments of Sikh community".

"Today we are not only opening border but also our hearts for the Sikh community," the statement read.

The prime minister in his statement further said: "The inauguration today is also a testimony of our commitment towards peace of the region. We believe that the road to prosperity of region and bright future of our coming generation lies in peace. We believe that interfaith harmony and peaceful coexistence will provide us an opportunity to work for larger interests of people of the sub-continent.

"While congratulating the Sikh community once again, I also wish to thank all those who contributed towards transforming this vision in reality in record time of 10 months only."

Tantalisingly close
For up to 30 million Sikhs around the world, it is one of their holiest places. When Pakistan was carved out of colonial India at independence from Britain in 1947, Kartarpur ended up on the western side of the border — though most of the region's Sikhs remained on the other side.

For them, it is tantalisingly close — just four kilometres inside Pakistan, so near that Indian Sikhs have been known to stand on the other side and simply gaze across the divide at the site.

But decades of enmity between India and Pakistan has left extreme restrictions on their ability to visit.

“This land is sacred for them,” Habib Khan, the 63-year-old imam of a small mosque just outside the gurdwara, told AFP on Friday.

Vans of pilgrims could be seen travelling through Kartarpur on Friday.

The Indian flag could be seen flying across the border, just beyond fields dotted with eucalyptus and guava trees — though it was half obscured by the heavy smog that has blanketed large swathes of South Asia in recent days.

Contingents of Rangers dotted the rice-growing region which, being so close to the border, is heavily secured, with multiple checkpoints.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1515830/t...naugurates-kartarpur-corridor-on-historic-day

A great moment in friendship and humanity. I hope that this extends to the whole of South Asia and we can see India, Bangladesh and Pakistan have good relations in the future. The region can benefit greatly from it. It’s sad that warmongers have been allowed to promote their hate.

Fantastic scenes at Nankana Sahib today and congratulations to all involved in making this possible.

You know it’s good peaceful news when the usual RSS Hindutva brigade are absent from this thread.

Well done to all, and congratulations to Sikh brethren around the world for the corridor on the auspicious occasion of Baba Nanak Ji’s birthday.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu with some lovely words for Prime Minister Imran Khan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/u9OobwtCYf">pic.twitter.com/u9OobwtCYf</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1193190993664839682?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 9, 2019</a></blockquote>

This corridor is as important for the Sikhs of the world as it is for the realization of Quaid's Pakistan. Long live Imran Khan, may we one day open eyes in a Pakistan where all citizens are treated equally. This is one tiny step in that direction.

Sad that even on this historic day some people cannot set aside their agendas. Brown lifafas are being dearly missed.

NEW DELHI: Cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, known for his colourful phrases, told Prime Minister Narendra Modi he was sending a "Munnabhai MBBS-style hug" as thanks for establishing the Kartarpur Corridor project and helping Sikhs access the Darbar Sahib. "I am thanking Modiji... it doesn't matter if we have political differences... doesn't matter if my life is dedicated to Gandhi family... I am sending a Munnabhai MBBS-style hug to you, Modi saheb, for this," Mr Sidhu said.

Speaking at an event on the Pakistan-side of the border, the Congress MLA also thanked Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan, calling him the "king of hearts" and saying, "Sikandar (Alexander) won the world with fear but you won hearts all over the world."

"Both sides of Punjab witnessed bloodbath during the partition. You (Mr Khan) and Mr Modi have applied ointment on the wounds of the people (through this initiative)," he said.

Mr Sidhu's effusive praise comes in the middle of a long-running feud with Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh, who was also part of the delegation that travelled to Kartarpur today.

The feud has escalated steadily since the end of Lok Sabha polls in May, when Mr Sidhu sulked after being stripped of cabinet positions in the Punjab government and then resigned from his position.

Rifts between Mr Sidhu and the Punjab Chief Minister appeared to widen earlier this week after posters declaring the former cricketer and the Pakistan Prime Minister as the "real heroes" behind the Kartarpur Corridor project surfaced in Amritsar in Punjab.

The Chief Minister would only say that it was up to Mr Sidhu to explain the posters.

Mr Sidhu's participation in the ceremony had initially been in doubt. He had been extended an invitation by Prime Minister Khan, who was his contemporary on the cricket field in the 1980s. However, the centre mandated that all such invitations must secure political clearance.

Mr Sidhu sought permission on three occasions; the third was sent earlier this week. Clearance was only given on Thursday, 48 hours before the inauguration ceremony.

The 4.5 km-long Kartarpur Corridor connects the Dera Baba Nanak shrine in Punjab's Gurdaspur with the Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur in Pakistan's Punjab province. Located about four kilometres from the International Border, the Darbar Sahib is believed to be where Guru Nanak Dev, the founder of Sikhism, spent the last 18 years of his life.

Other high-profile people who travelled to Kartapur in the first batch of pilgrims are former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh. BJP MLA Sunny Deol and Union Ministers Hardeep Puri and Harsimrat Kaur Badal are also in the group.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/mun...u-to-pm-after-kartapur-corridor-opens-2130016

I am worried about the security of the Sikh Pilgrims, as so many on our side like Diesel, Billo and NS etc and Modi and the RSS on their side hate this amazing initiative by IK, Bajwa, Sidhu etc.

So far, one of the best achievements of the PTI government.
I really hope that one day, Pakistan will grant every Pakistani regardless of their religion the same rights.

Humara Sidhu...

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/372207051" width="640" height="640" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<p><a href="https://vimeo.com/372207051">Humara Sidhu...</a> from <a href="https://vimeo.com/user98619008">Green Man</a> on <a href="https://vimeo.com">Vimeo</a>.</p>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu with some lovely words for Prime Minister Imran Khan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/u9OobwtCYf">pic.twitter.com/u9OobwtCYf</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1193190993664839682?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 9, 2019</a></blockquote>

SIdhu is such an emotional man.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">"I don't know about you, I am very happy to see you guy here to Visit <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GurdwaraDarbarSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GurdwaraDarbarSahib</a>, as like we go for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hajj?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Hajj</a>. expressed ,Sadam Hassan ,who was given task to drive a shuttle services from Indo Pak Border to <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GurdwaraDarbarSahib?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GurdwaraDarbarSahib</a> through <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> on Saturday. <a href="https://t.co/VwW4lNRJ3w">pic.twitter.com/VwW4lNRJ3w</a></p>— Ravinder Singh Robin ਰਵਿੰਦਰ ਸਿੰਘ راویندرسنگھ روبن (@rsrobin1) <a href="https://twitter.com/rsrobin1/status/1193482559339917312?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

I think Sikhs are genuinely well liked by all communities across the world. They are good people and even here in the U.K., there is a lot of respect and love for them. They make Britain proud.

So far, one of the best achievements of the PTI government.
I really hope that one day, Pakistan will grant every Pakistani regardless of their religion the same rights.

Yeah obviously providing health insurance upto Rs. 720,000 for millions of poor Pakistanis wasn't much of an achievement.

Or the fact that they inherited an economy on deathbed with CAD of $20 billion and trade deficit touching $40b, but now all indicators are on the up and they have successfully managed to get a hold of things.

My understanding and fluency of Punjabi is toddler level, but listening to Sidhu was so enjoyable.

Yaara nu jappi pa ke

So Indian government official stance is that India had been requesting this for long time.

Modi makes a claim that opening of Kartarpur was long standing demand from India.

Sikhs around the world have been demanding this for 70+ years.

Imran Khan even before elections had always promised to give more rights to minorities and specifically provided plans about increasing "Religious tourism" and many other initiatives are being taken.

BUT SOMEHOW even the liberal Indian journalists are accusing Pakistan of supporting Khalistan movement by opening kartarpur?

Just like release of Abhinandan was due to fear of Modi and not goodwill gesture to improve relations? Seems like there is nothing positive Pakistan can do and of course Modi's India is always the winner? What kind of mentality is this??? While India is giving a pathetic decision on Babri mosque land, Pakistan Supreme court not long ago returned Hindu temple land so not everything positive step by Pakistan is not conspiracy :facepalm:

CHANDIGARH: Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh on Saturday had a five-minute bus ride with Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan on way to Kartarpur Sahib Gurdwara during which the two discussed cricket and Singh recalled how Mr Khan's uncle played cricket for Patiala and India under his father's captaincy in 1934-35.
Mr Singh who was part of the first 'jatha' that went to pay obeisance at historic Gurdwara, shared the five-minute bus ride with Mr Khan after he was received by the Pakistan premier and his foreign minister at the Zero Point of the International Border of the Kartarpur corridor.

Kartarpur Corridor was the focal point of the connect between Imran Khan, who was also Pakistan cricket team's captain once, and Amarinder Singh when they met on Saturday, said an official statement from the Punjab Chief Minister's Office.

"But there was another, equally interesting, subject of common interest they discovered and talked about during the short bus ride from the Pak side of the Zero Line to Kartarpur Sahib gurdwara," the statement added.

"Cricket, of course, is always a common thread between every Indian and Pakistani," the statement said.

"It bonds as well as it fires passions between the two sides. But this bus ride was one of bonding, with Captain Amarinder Singh helping Imran (Khan) discover a special connect between their families, even though the two had not met before and did not know each other personally," it said.

During the short journey, Mr Singh told Khan that he had seen the Pakistani prime minister play in his cricketing days.

The cricketing connect, however, went deeper, the chief minister recalled.

"During his conversation with Imran, Captain Amarinder told the latter that his uncle, Jahangir Khan had played for Patiala, along with Mohd Nisar, Lala Amarnath, fast bowler Amar Singh and the two Ali batsmen (Wazir Ali and Amir Ali).

"These seven players were part of the team captained by Captain Amarinder''s father, Maharaja Yadvinder Singh (the ruler of the erstwhile Patiala state) in 1934-35, for India and for Patiala - a fascinating bit of information that Imran enjoyed hearing from the Chief Minister".

Imran Khan's uncle Jahangir Khan was married to Pakistan PM's maternal aunt Mubarak and was a cricketer during the British era, the statement from the Chief Minister's Office said, putting the historical links in perspective.

"The bus ride lasted less than five minutes, but, thanks to the cricket, it was enough to break the ice between Imran and Captain Amarinder," it said.

Incidentally, Amarinder Singh shared the bus ride with Pakistan PM along with his bete-noire and former Cabinet colleague Navjot Singh Sidhu. Also present on the bus was Pakistan''s foreign minister.

Amarinder hoped "the journey through Kartarpur Corridor, which culminated for him in the realisation of a cherished dream, would continue in the future to build a stronger connect between the two countries - one that is as powerful as cricket," which he hoped the two sides will try to play in the true spirit of the sport in future.

The Punjab chief minister was part of the first batch of over 550 Indian pilgrims who entered Pakistan through the Kartarpur corridor, which was thrown open days ahead of the 550th birth anniversary of Sikhism founder Guru Nanak Dev on November 12.

The corridor links Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Pakistan, the final resting place of Guru Nanak Dev, to Dera Baba Nanak in Punjab's Gurdaspur.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday inaugurated the Indian section of the Kartarpur Corridor and flagged of the first group of pilgrims to Gurdwara Darbar Sahib.

The portion of the Corridor falling on the Pakistani side was thrown open by the neighbouring nation's Prime Minister Imran Khan.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/ama...-ties-between-imran-khan-his-families-2130459

Amritsar: Punjab Minister Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa on Sunday described the omission of Punjabi on the inaugural plaque of the Kartarpur Corridor at Dera Baba Nanak as a "discrimination" with the state's official language and said it should have found a place at the top.

He said not only the Kartarpur Sahib ICP inaugural plaque but all central projects in the state should have Punjabi at the top of other languages on signboards.

Bajwa said "this discrimination with Punjabi language by the Centre and that too in Punjab will not be tolerated". "It is highly unfortunate that the inscription on the inauguration board was in Hindi followed by English while Punjabi, which is the state's official language, has been ignored which amounts to blatant injustice with the state," he said in an official release.

The state's higher education and languages minister said putting Punjabi at the top of other languages in signboards would be made compulsory on the lines of various other states.

Clarifying that the Punjab government was not opposed to Hindi, he said, "The issue is the national language cannot be imposed on the state at the cost of Punjabi, which is the official state language."

On Saturday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had inaugurated the integrated check post (ICP) at Dera Baba Nanak in Gurdaspur district, which will serve as a gateway to Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Pakistan's Kartarpur.

The portion of the corridor on the other side of the border was thrown open by Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan. The corridor links Gurdwara Darbar Sahib, the final resting place of Sikhism's founder Guru Nanak Dev, to Dera Baba Nanak, just four kilometres across the border.

https://www.news18.com/news/politic...-on-plaque-at-kartarpur-corridor-2381197.html

Happy for our Sikh brothers. The Indian government just need to be more vigilant against the nefarious designs of the Pakistani establishment through this corridor. The Sikhs (and the Hindus) faced the the short end of the stick with Partition, so glad to see at least they will be able to access their ancestral lands. Ideally we would have done a land swap or bought the land in the 50s/60s, but oh well.

Hope this never becomes a reality, but how long before some terrorist attack happens in India and it is linked to Kartarpur corridor?

Happy for our Sikh brothers. The Indian government just need to be more vigilant against the nefarious designs of the Pakistani establishment through this corridor. The Sikhs (and the Hindus) faced the the short end of the stick with Partition, so glad to see at least they will be able to access their ancestral lands. Ideally we would have done a land swap or bought the land in the 50s/60s, but oh well.

Hope this never becomes a reality, but how long before some terrorist attack happens in India and it is linked to Kartarpur corridor?

It should be Pakistan being worried not India, as the people are coming from India into Pakistan.

I think it was a great moment in Pakistani history, millions of Sikhs are are overwhelmed. I know many in the UK who are loving Pakistan for this.

Sidhu asking the border to be open and IK responded with Kashmir freedom first and then we can talk. Pakistan cant do anymore while India is a real enemy.

Maybe one day you will realize that people are coming to Pakistan FROM India not the other way round. For all its worth Pakistan should be worried that someone like Kalbhushan Yadav does not come here spreading terror.

So Indian government official stance is that India had been requesting this for long time.

Modi makes a claim that opening of Kartarpur was long standing demand from India.

Sikhs around the world have been demanding this for 70+ years.

Imran Khan even before elections had always promised to give more rights to minorities and specifically provided plans about increasing "Religious tourism" and many other initiatives are being taken.

BUT SOMEHOW even the liberal Indian journalists are accusing Pakistan of supporting Khalistan movement by opening kartarpur?

Just like release of Abhinandan was due to fear of Modi and not goodwill gesture to improve relations? Seems like there is nothing positive Pakistan can do and of course Modi's India is always the winner? What kind of mentality is this??? While India is giving a pathetic decision on Babri mosque land, Pakistan Supreme court not long ago returned Hindu temple land so not everything positive step by Pakistan is not conspiracy :facepalm:

indian media is meant for indian consumption only, within this context it all makes sense.

It should be Pakistan being worried not India, as the people are coming from India into Pakistan.

I think it was a great moment in Pakistani history, millions of Sikhs are are overwhelmed. I know many in the UK who are loving Pakistan for this.

Sidhu asking the border to be open and IK responded with Kashmir freedom first and then we can talk. Pakistan cant do anymore while India is a real enemy.

My point was that Indian side should have a proper border checkpoint with ID checks as they do at other ports of entry to ensure that the same number, and the same, people return. We can't have an loose entry/return point and simply trust the Pakistani establishment to not try to sneak in extras/swap in terrorists. It's a basic measure of precaution.

As for people going from Indian side to Pakistan, yes India can try to sneak in people too. (I hope they don't and simply let this corridor be what it is purported to be - a way for Sikhs to visit their holy sites). But that is something for Pakistan to worry about and set up checks on their end.

how so? all communities faced the horrors of Partition, most Muslims in East Punjab were ethnically cleansed from their ancestral lands too, mostly by Sikhs.

Of course people from all religions killed each other, and had to leave their ancestral lands. My point is Sikhs lost access to their holy sites. Sure, the Muslims who chose to migrate to Pakistan also lost access to say Ajmer Sharif but those losses are not comparable to the local religions whose origin is in the sub-continent.

The sites Sikhs lost access to relate to their very foundational history, Kartarpur is a solid example of that. A more parallel example for Muslims would be losing access to Mecca/Medina and other sites related to Muhammad (PBUH)

My point was that Indian side should have a proper border checkpoint with ID checks as they do at other ports of entry to ensure that the same number, and the same, people return. We can't have an loose entry/return point and simply trust the Pakistani establishment to not try to sneak in extras/swap in terrorists. It's a basic measure of precaution.

As for people going from Indian side to Pakistan, yes India can try to sneak in people too. (I hope they don't and simply let this corridor be what it is purported to be - a way for Sikhs to visit their holy sites). But that is something for Pakistan to worry about and set up checks on their end.

If the ISI wanted to they could just send pigeons across the border, that scares the hell out of Ind.

Maybe one day you will realize that people are coming to Pakistan FROM India not the other way round. For all its worth Pakistan should be worried that someone like Kalbhushan Yadav does not come here spreading terror.

Same old Bollywood mentality, worried about Pakistan sending terrorists to India even when it's Indians coming into Pakistan :facepalm: In reality Pakistan should be extremely careful that India doesn't send more of Kalbhushans (India's PAVITR terrorists).

Of course people from all religions killed each other, and had to leave their ancestral lands. My point is Sikhs lost access to their holy sites. Sure, the Muslims who chose to migrate to Pakistan also lost access to say Ajmer Sharif but those losses are not comparable to the local religions whose origin is in the sub-continent.

The sites Sikhs lost access to relate to their very foundational history, Kartarpur is a solid example of that. A more parallel example for Muslims would be losing access to Mecca/Medina and other sites related to Muhammad.

Indian border security has to be probably the most incompetent agency if what you have suggested to be true.

For those who are looking forward to visit there from india

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WvnjZMXb5dE" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Few take Kartarpur passage, hordes opt for binoculars

DERA BABA NANAK/AMRITSAR: Few pilgrims are making the trip through the Kartarpur corridor to Darbar Sahib gurdwara. On Monday, only 130 went to the gurdwara in Pakistan via the corridor, and on Sunday, the first day the corridor was open to regular pilgrims, 229 used it. Around 600 pilgrims are to cross over on Tuesday, the 550 birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Dev, according to sources.
In contrast, crowds for a “binocular darshan” of the holy shrine from the Indian side have increased in the last two days to over 5,000 daily from the earlier approximately 250 daily.

The 4.5-km corridor was expected to attract at least 5,000 pilgrims every day — the limit decided between India and Pakistan — after its November 9 inauguration. The jatha on the first day had 562 people — a mix of dignitaries and NRIs invited by the Punjab and central governments. “Our understanding is that a digital record of anyone visiting Pakistan is a major deterrent among youth who wish to travel to the US or other countries. Then there is the question of the $20 service fee, strained Indo-Pak relations, and the lack of awareness about online registration,” said sources

https://www.google.com/url?q=https:...FjAAegQICRAB&usg=AOvVaw1Xd1iHU9yFvjL98gt5RVSA

DERA BABA NANAK/AMRITSAR: Few pilgrims are making the trip through the Kartarpur corridor to Darbar Sahib gurdwara. On Monday, only 130 went to the gurdwara in Pakistan via the corridor, and on Sunday, the first day the corridor was open to regular pilgrims, 229 used it. Around 600 pilgrims are to cross over on Tuesday, the 550 birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Dev, according to sources.
In contrast, crowds for a “binocular darshan” of the holy shrine from the Indian side have increased in the last two days to over 5,000 daily from the earlier approximately 250 daily.

The 4.5-km corridor was expected to attract at least 5,000 pilgrims every day — the limit decided between India and Pakistan — after its November 9 inauguration. The jatha on the first day had 562 people — a mix of dignitaries and NRIs invited by the Punjab and central governments. “Our understanding is that a digital record of anyone visiting Pakistan is a major deterrent among youth who wish to travel to the US or other countries. Then there is the question of the $20 service fee, strained Indo-Pak relations, and the lack of awareness about online registration,” said sources

https://www.google.com/url?q=https:...FjAAegQICRAB&usg=AOvVaw1Xd1iHU9yFvjL98gt5RVSA

This is what happens when you do propaganda for decades with no basis in reality. Like, there are no Pakistanis traveling to US or living in the US, the foreigners to travel to Pakistan (a very large number in 2019) only do that because they never want to visit the US. The absolute lies in the Indian media and by GoI will result in collective ignorance for many Indians.

India media is One of the most corrupt and controlled media in the world.

Glad to see Sikh's so happy however they must never be allowed to venture outside their allocated area make no mistake about that. Do your thing then leave by evening time or the next morning at the latest remembering this is Muslim land. Pak and the ISI must keep and eye on many spies being sent by Indian agencies. I am not one of those who is gonna over respect their Sikh's by telling them how wonderful they are like many of our people are doing. The lady in post 295 is correct that Pak is much cleaner then dirty India, most independent analysts do notice this as one obvious difference. It was nice to see their Sunny Deol sitting their silently like a bheegi billi! Would have liked to see him abuse Pakistan in reality then see what we would have done to him! We got him to wait in line like others before entering Pakistan, no special treatment for him at all. This is how we should treat that lot including their Muslims who enter our great country. Get in line all of you lot!
sunny deol in line.jpg

Would have liked to see him abuse Pakistan in reality then see what we would have done to him! We got him to wait in line like others before entering Pakistan, no special treatment for him at all. This is how we should treat that lot including their Muslims who enter our great country. Get in line all of you lot!
View attachment 97020

I am somewhat surprise he's not busy shooting the movie on Balakot. Seems like the perfect movie for an actor of his type and history.

As a sikhs, i would like to present my point of view on different stake holders.

*Pakistan Gov. & IK:- very good gesture by pak government to fulfil this long standing demand of sikh community. This will not only help pak to improve its Softpower but economically beneficial aswell.
That being said pakistani government mischefs cannot be ignored either. There is a clear attempt to instigate indian sikhs against indian government. Khalistani separatists in official song, A bomb at display which they claim was dropped by Indian Air Force in 1971 to distroy kartarpur Gurudwara & 2020 referendum posters definatly an attempt to cause problems in indian punjab.

*BJP(RSS), Akali Dal & Congress(Minus Sidhu):- it feels as if they had no option but to accept this offer by Pakistan. Nobody wants to letgo sikh votes, so even though they know sikhs wont give them any credit for this corridor they will have to be present there with a smiley face. And there shared nemesis is sidhu hogging all the limelight.

*Indian media:- 99% of indian media is already sold out to BJP so nobody should take them seriously. Infact i credit them for unknowingly helping this nobel cause.
When sidhu came back from pakistan after hugging bajwa in IK's swearing in ceremony, every god damn indian channel jumped on criticise sidhu bandwagon. So when sidhu brought up kartarpur corridor, this issue toke a 180 spin and BJP had no option but to accept Pakistan's offer as media had made this central topic of debate. So thank you Indian media.

*Sidhu:- real winner in this whole episode. Might be getting criticised in National media but win many hearts in punjab.

/rant

I am somewhat surprise he's not busy shooting the movie on Balakot. Seems like the perfect movie for an actor of his type and history.

Any funny business and we would have thrown him in the same prison cell as Kulbushan Yadav then Dharmendra would be begging us to release him just like Yadav's wife and Mum were. Again we would have treated their Dharmendra like dirt as well. It is really easy to yell on screen but a different thing in reality. The expression on his face shows fear and submission.

By the way Pakistan has every right to charge Sikh's when entering Pakistan. Us Muslims renovated their temple and built the entire surrounding area. Upon their visit they will be eating our food and using our facilities so why should we not charge them? Sikh's should be made to pay if they want to see their temple after all when we also have to pay for various things when visiting Saudi.

20dollars per head is a charge.

China on Monday welcomed the opening of the landmark Kartarpur corridor and hoped that both India and Pakistan "can continue to show goodwill" to resolve their differences through dialogue.

The first batch of the Indian Sikh pilgrims entered Pakistan on Saturday using the historic corridor, which was thrown open ahead of the 550th birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Dev, the founder of the Sikh faith.

The corridor links Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Pakistan, the final resting place of Guru Nanak Dev, to Dera Baba Nanak shrine in Punjab's Gurdaspur.

"We welcome such good interactions between India and Pakistan," Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Geng Shuang told the media here.

"Both countries are important in South Asia and peaceful coexistence between the two meets the fundamental interests of both and the common aspiration of the world," he said.

"We hope the two sides can continue to show the goodwill moving in the same direction, properly resolving the differences through dialogue and improving their relations, and jointly safeguarding regional peace and stability," he added.

The inauguration of the corridor comes amid frayed ties between India and Pakistan following New Delhi's decision in August to withdraw Jammu and Kashmir's special status and bifurcate the State into two Union Territories.

https://www.indiatoday.in/world/sto...tiative-kartarpur-corridor-1618006-2019-11-11

The sites Sikhs lost access to relate to their very foundational history, Kartarpur is a solid example of that. A more parallel example for Muslims would be losing access to Mecca/Medina and other sites related to Muhammad (PBUH)

When writing Mohammad (as in Muslim figure of reverence) always add PBUH next to his name

Most sikhs don't have any problem with 20$ fee, its just media and some politicians who want to look anti-pakistani to get votes are making cavil objections.
BTW its a Gurudwara not a temple.

I am very happy that our sikh brothers can visit their most holiest site, this should have been done along time ago.
I congratulate imran khan on this noble deed and wish our sikh brothers a very hearty and warm welcome to Pakistan!

This is how civilised societies resolve disputes!

For those who are looking forward to visit there from india

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WvnjZMXb5dE" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Interesting video.

He’s also written a very useful blog post on how Indians and those with OCI cards actually go about making the trip.

HOW TO TRAVEL TO KARTARPUR SAHIB VIA KARTARPUR CORRIDOR (FULL GUIDE)

https://blog.karlrock.com/how-to-travel-to-kartarpur-sahib-via-kartarpur-corridor/

I am very happy that our sikh brothers can visit their most holiest site, this should have been done along time ago.
I congratulate imran khan on this noble deed and wish our sikh brothers a very hearty and warm welcome to Pakistan!

This is how civilised societies resolve disputes!

+1

In the middle of one of the worst periods of India/Pakistan relations they (well largely Pakistan) have achieved something significant. Just goes to show that even if you disagree on numerous other things that doesn’t mean you can’t resolve the issues you do agree on.

Most sikhs don't have any problem with 20$ fee, its just media and some politicians who want to look anti-pakistani to get votes are making cavil objections.
BTW its a Gurudwara not a temple.

Gurdwara is called a Sikh temple. Many Sikh's were sulking before the fee was revoked. Make them pay now.

+1

In the middle of one of the worst periods of India/Pakistan relations they (well largely Pakistan) have achieved something significant. Just goes to show that even if you disagree on numerous other things that doesn’t mean you can’t resolve the issues you do agree on.

Pakistan wont be doing anything like this again. Its not a simple disagreement, India is breaching human rights and not stopping. From now on, unless this changes no other agreements will take place. Sikhs deserve this but no other Indian deserves any favours from Pakistan.

Glad to see Sikh's so happy however they must never be allowed to venture outside their allocated area make no mistake about that. Do your thing then leave by evening time or the next morning at the latest remembering this is Muslim land. Pak and the ISI must keep and eye on many spies being sent by Indian agencies. I am not one of those who is gonna over respect their Sikh's by telling them how wonderful they are like many of our people are doing. The lady in post 295 is correct that Pak is much cleaner then dirty India, most independent analysts do notice this as one obvious difference. It was nice to see their Sunny Deol sitting their silently like a bheegi billi! Would have liked to see him abuse Pakistan in reality then see what we would have done to him! We got him to wait in line like others before entering Pakistan, no special treatment for him at all. This is how we should treat that lot including their Muslims who enter our great country. Get in line all of you lot!
View attachment 97020

I highly doubt spies would use this corridor to infiltrate Pakistan.

There are a thousand ways/places to get in and out of Pakistan,

According to this report by The UN refugee agency Pakistan welcomed 1.51 million refugees. A rough estimate https://www.unhcr.org/56655f4e0.pdf

From what I've seen in videos, most people who are visiting are elderly religious people. Let's not make them suspicious by spreading 'spy' rumours.

I highly doubt spies would use this corridor to infiltrate Pakistan.

There are a thousand ways/places to get in and out of Pakistan,

According to this report by The UN refugee agency Pakistan welcomed 1.51 million refugees. A rough estimate https://www.unhcr.org/56655f4e0.pdf

From what I've seen in videos, most people who are visiting are elderly religious people. Let's not make them suspicious by spreading 'spy' rumours.

Oh come on man! The enemy will do anything to harm us including sending poor elderly people like Surjeet Singh if you remember him who was sent by RAW. Accepting Afghan refugee's is a very different thing altogether then Indian terrorists. Do what they have to do then get out the same evening and as I said before we must charge them for it as well. Here is an old Sikh man admitting to being a spy resulting in losing 30 years of his life. Enough of this Muslim-Sikh bhai bhai rubbish.

Spies can get in a 1000 ways, they could even use pigeons!

NEW DELHI: With only a few pilgrims taking the Kartarpur Corridor to the Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Pakistan, Sikh body SGPC on Wednesday blamed the online registration process for the low turnout, asserting that the procedure should be simplified.
The supreme gurdwara body also suggested that the centre authorises it to carry out necessary formalities as part of the measures to simplify the process.

In the first three days after a grand opening by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on November 9, just 897 devotees have visited Kartarpur Sahib in Pakistan through the Kartarpur Corridor.

An immigration official said 229 pilgrims visited on November 10, 122 on November 11 and 546 on November 12.

People feel a lack of awareness about the online registration process, requirement of passport and a service fee being charged by Pakistan are to be blamed for the dismal number.

"The online system of registration of pilgrims is a complicated process for common people. It is very difficult for them to follow it," Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee chief secretary Roop Singh told PTI on Wednesday.

Asserting that the process should be simplified, Mr Singh suggested that the pilgrims be allowed to visit Darbar Sahib in Pakistan's Kartarpur -- the final resting place of Guru Nanak Dev -- on the basis of their passports. "Pilgrim should be issued a permit to visit the Sikh shrine after seeing his/her passport. The passports can also be deposited," said Mr Singh.

"The Centre can also authorise the SGPC for the collection of passports of pilgrims and other formalities," Mr Singh said.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/kar...visit-sikh-body-2132099?pfrom=home-topstories

Amarinder Singh calls SGPC cash-rich, asks it to bear $20 Kartarpur Corridor fee

Amarinder Singh said that "cash-rich" SGPC, the apex religious body of Sikhs, should at least bear the service fee of the "yellow card" holders who are below the poverty line and could not afford to pay the amount.

Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh on Wednesday asked the Shirmonai Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) to pay out of their own coffers the $20 service fee being charged by Pakistan for visiting the Gurdwara Darbar Sahib as very few pilgrims have taken the Kartarpur Corridor since its inauguration.

Pointing to the "lavish spends" of the SGPC on holding separate programmes to commemorate the 550th birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Dev in Sultanpur Lodhi on Tuesday, Amarinder Singh said it was evident that the religious body was flush with funds.

Amarinder Singh said that the low number of devotees crossing over to the Gurdwara Darbar Sahib was not because of lack of interest but due to two conditions of passport and $20 fee put by the neighbouring nation.

In the first three days after a grand opening by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on November 9, just 897 devotees visited the gurdwara in Pakistan through the Kartarpur Corridor, officials said.

Amarinder Singh said that "cash-rich" SGPC, the apex religious body of Sikhs, should at least bear the service fee of the "yellow card" holders who are below the poverty line and could not afford to pay the amount.

Amid reports of confusion among pilgrims, the chief minister also urged the prime ministers of both India and Pakistan to waive the passport condition for travel through the Kartarpur Corridor.

Amarinder Singh said other forms of identity proofs like Aadhaar Card and driving license should also be accepted.

"These should be acceptable since there was no requirement of visa to be stamped on the passport in any case," said Amarinder Singh, who was part of the first jatha (delegation) that went to Kartarpur Sahib through the corridor on Saturday.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.in...arpur-corridor-service-fee-1618555-2019-11-13

British Sikh Community Gives Lifetime Achievement Award to PM Khan

Two leading Sikh organizations in the United Kingdom have given Prime Minister Imran Khan a ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ in recognition of his efforts for opening the Kartarpur Corridor.

Sahibzada Jahangir, the spokesperson to PM Imran for Trade and Investment in UK & Europe, received the award on his behalf.

The event was held at London City Hall to celebrate the 550th birth anniversary of the founder of the Sikh faith, Guru Nanak Dev Ji.

It was co-hosted by the Sikh Network, Sikh Federation (UK), and Dr. Onkar Sahsota, a member of the London Assembly. Mayor of London Sadiq Khan was the special guest on the occasion.

A score of Sikh community bigwigs from across Britain attended the event that discussed the life teachings of Guru Nanak.

Speaking at the forum, the mayor welcomed the guests and highlighted the contribution of the Sikh community in the UK. He expressed appreciated Sikh religion’s teachings of acceptance, and purity of oneself.

Sahibzada Jahangir said that the Kartpur Corridor will prove to be a bridge between the two cultures and people across the border. He said that PM Khan would be honored to have received this award from the UK’s Sikh community.

He added that the completion of the Kartarpur project in record time was a significant achievement of Imran Khan and his team.

“I invite Sikhs from all around the world to come to Pakistan and enjoy our brotherly hospitality and love,” Jahangir said.

He also invited Sikh businessmen to invest in Pakistan, mentioning that the country’s natural resources offer great opportunities and that the government of Pakistan will fully protect their assets.

life-time-achievement-award.jpg

Source: https://propakistani.pk/2019/11/21/...-gives-lifetime-achievement-award-to-pm-khan/