[VIDEOS/PICTURES] Pakistan PM Imran Khan inaugurates Kartarpur Corridor

Someone has to meet the costs of this project and given Pakistan’s perilous economic situation why should the Pakistani taxpayer subsidise foreign pilgrims?

The infrastructure must have cost millions of $s to build and then there’s the ongoing costs like security.

It’s not perfect but then it’s better than the alternative which would have been no kartarpur corridor at all.

This is a fair post.

I would be interested to know why indian government brought up this concern in the first place.

Do they offer free visa to those pakistanis visiting ajmer sharif or other religious sites?

Because if they do maybe that is why they are upset.

But either way, you are right, pakistani economy can not support security costs, construction costs etc.. for this corridor. The service fee is legitimate in this case.

Not a fan of signing agreement with Evil Pakistanis but Pakistanis probably accepted knowing if they didn't we'll shoot down another 500 Fighter Jet of theirs.

Night view of newly constructed building of Kartarpur. If i am not wrong this is going to be world's largest or second largest Gurdwara?

EIZKTGqXkAAxa_d

EIZJQFPXUAEZv_I

EIZFOSQX0AMGMxS

Night view of newly constructed building of Kartarpur. If i am not wrong this is going to be world's largest or second largest Gurdwara?

EIZKTGqXkAAxa_d

EIZJQFPXUAEZv_I

EIZFOSQX0AMGMxS

This seriously looks amazing. What's even more fascinating that this whole complex was done in less than a year. With little bit of more polishing and adding more services, this can generate even domestic tourism revenue

This is a fair post.

I would be interested to know why indian government brought up this concern in the first place.

Do they offer free visa to those pakistanis visiting ajmer sharif or other religious sites?

Because if they do maybe that is why they are upset.

But either way, you are right, pakistani economy can not support security costs, construction costs etc.. for this corridor. The service fee is legitimate in this case.

After the initial year the expected $20 per person fee will only cover 1/3rd of the cost required for upkeep of the gurdwara

Lol @ indians whining about a measly $20 fee :)) . Most pilgrimages are FAR more expensive, Haj and umrah cost thousands of dollars - the visa fees alone are several hundred dollars.

EIZKTGqXkAAxa_d

EIZJQFPXUAEZv_I

EIZFOSQX0AMGMxS

Looks amazing, will definitely visit.

Lol @ indians whining about a measly $20 fee :)) . Most pilgrimages are FAR more expensive, Haj and umrah cost thousands of dollars - the visa fees alone are several hundred dollars.

What amazing is that Indians claiming to be secular are getting upset over it.

They’ll be quick to get bent out of shape if India government were to decided to subsidize it.

The bhakhts are irritated because India has openly used a policy of harming Pakistan economically, be it the Pak government or a business person.
Refusal to play bilateral cricket series is one example, another is the ban placed on Indian singers taken part in concerts in the US that are promoted by NRP businessmen.
The fact that IK has again outwitted the extremist Indian government so brazenly must be hugely uncomfortable for Modi saab.

By opening Kartarpur Corridor in grand way, Pakistan has proved it stands for peace and friendship

As a Punjabi.

As a disciple of Guru Nanak

As a friend of Pakistan

I wholeheartedly welcome this grand gesture of. People of Pakistan.

Kartarpur corridor is majestic. You have done a wonderful job.

I thank you all for this on behalf of good Indians.

Now it's our turn to reciprocate this gesture of love and respect

Actually this was master stroke by Pakistan. They thought india would not allow their sikhs to go there. But indian govt had not much options. Indian govt also played it well they allowed their citizens to go ahead.
Pakistan has used Indian Punjab for their agendas in the past and they would love to use this again.
Many examples has been there even recently if we see such as their army chief appealing to Indian sikhs army men to withdraw from kashmir etc etc.
Let's see how it goes. Is this only allowed for sikhs? Or punjabi hindus worship gurus with the same emotions and go to Gurudwaras . So are punjabi hindus also allowed to go and take blessing in kartarpur?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I want to congratulate our govt for readying Kartarpur, in record time, for Guru Nanak jee's 550th birthday celebrations. <a href="https://t.co/dwrqXLan2r">pic.twitter.com/dwrqXLan2r</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1190841799725764608?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 3, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Kartarpur ready to welcome Sikh pilgrims. <a href="https://t.co/P0uEQgWyMs">pic.twitter.com/P0uEQgWyMs</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1190841838414028800?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 3, 2019</a></blockquote>

Well done Pakistan. I don't think we can do similar thing for Pakistanis. Pakistan have showed that they are not narrow minded. Respect. :inti

Actually this was master stroke by Pakistan. They thought india would not allow their sikhs to go there. But indian govt had not much options. Indian govt also played it well they allowed their citizens to go ahead.
Pakistan has used Indian Punjab for their agendas in the past and they would love to use this again.
Many examples has been there even recently if we see such as their army chief appealing to Indian sikhs army men to withdraw from kashmir etc etc.
Let's see how it goes. Is this only allowed for sikhs? Or punjabi hindus worship gurus with the same emotions and go to Gurudwaras . So are punjabi hindus also allowed to go and take blessing in kartarpur?

You are filled with so much hate that you can't even appreciate a nice gesture by Pakistan properly. Hopefully they won't allow you to visit that holy place. :inti

Why dnt you try? You looks like the only one filed with love,we all others have black hearts,so they might allow you?
You hardly understand geo politics as a kid so no worries.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Banner in Sydney at the first T20I between Australia and Pakistan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AUSvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AUSvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/vg1l5vpuKY">pic.twitter.com/vg1l5vpuKY</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1191061216019529728?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 3, 2019</a></blockquote>

Why dnt you try? You looks like the only one filed with love,we all others have black hearts,so they might allow you?

Indians often accused Pakistan of mistreating minorities (irony alert) but when Pakistan does some thing as huge as Kartarpur, they bring in ISI, geopolitics, Khalistan, terrorists and all usual. If Geopolitics means serving minorities like Sikhs who are part of our Punjab history as much as they are of Punjab India and opening up it's borders for religious and leisure tourism, then yeah Pakistan is playing geopolitics just like every freaking country in the world.

It looks beautiful and really big (Pictures is a few days old)

EISUgGuWoAg2xRp

EIa8rN4WsAEfLfv

EIa8tUFWwAA0V3l

EIY-KuiXsAAmOtF

Indians often accused Pakistan of mistreating minorities (irony alert) but when Pakistan does some thing as huge as Kartarpur, they bring in ISI, geopolitics, Khalistan, terrorists and all usual. If Geopolitics means serving minorities like Sikhs who are part of our Punjab history as much as they are of Punjab India and opening up it's borders for religious and leisure tourism, then yeah Pakistan is playing geopolitics just like every freaking country in the world.

Why it took 70 plus years for Pakistan to open the same? It should have been done very early. Timing is also great this time. Anyways good for our sikhs brothers. I wish I could also come and take blessing in this gurudwara. Have been follower of nanak's teaching .
This corridor could become the doorway of peace. If politics doesn't get involved.

Why it took 70 plus years for Pakistan to open the same? It should have been done very early. Timing is also great this time. Anyways good for our sikhs brothers. I wish I could also come and take blessing in this gurudwara. Have been follower of nanak's teaching .
This corridor could become the doorway of peace. If politics doesn't get involved.
How many Pakistani Muslims can visit Ajmer Sharif, Haji Ali Dargah or other holy sites in India??

Because Pakistan didn't have visionary leader like Imran Khan and equally supporting army chief before.

India lost Imran Khan otherwise under his leadership, there could have been genuine peace reforms between the two only if india reciprocated his offer. Alas India is focused on Hindutva agenda.

Apart from Indian media and politicians, no one has politicized this issue. Indians even tried to give this project a communal angle by calling Service Fee which is minuscule $20 as Jaziya Tax. Compare it with Muslims who pay upwards of $1000 to perform Hajj pilgrimage in Saudi Arabia. Even the Muslims residing within Saudi Arabia have to pay like $800 minimum to perform Hajj

Why it took 70 plus years for Pakistan to open the same? It should have been done very early.

You info is wrong it was open before but you had to apply for a visa and enter through another way because there was no direct access from border. Now Pak Govt is giving a direct access to Sikhs from border without a visa through this corridor.

In past Pakistan also allowed BSF to build darshan sthal (site of worship) within 150 m of the zero line otherwise ground rules prohibit raising any concrete structures within 150 m of the zero line.

So a member who has yet to vote in his life is calling me a kid now lol? There is no doubt in my mind that you are a hater and filled with hate towards Pakistan. You are more than welcome to teach me geo politics. Go ahead. I am waiting.... :inti

How many Pakistani Muslims can visit Ajmer Sharif, Haji Ali Dargah or other holy sites in India??

Don't make things complicated for him. He has a simple agenda and that is to follow the path of hate. This guy has never voted in his life and talks about politics. :inti

Go tell your extremist government, they didn’t miss an opportunity for better relations rather they are not interested.
They have this weird notion that they are isolating Pakistan in the global community.

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Sunday expressed satisfaction over the arrangements being made for the opening of Kartarpur corridor on Nov 9 and said he had waived off the condition of passport for Sikh pilgrims in order to provide maximum facilities to them on the occasion of celebrations marking the 550th birthday of Baba Guru Nanak Dev Ji.

Senior leader of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz Ahsan Iqbal had on Saturday criticised the prime minister for taking a “security risk” by waiving off the condition and said such a step had rarely, if ever, been taken before.

For his part, Awami National Party leader Mian Iftikhar Hussain had said that on the one hand India was committing atrocities in occupied Kashmir, but on the other Mr Khan was providing unprecedented facilities to Indian nationals.

Pakistan Peoples Party chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari expressed similar views on Sunday. Talking to journalists in Bahawalpur, he said the move would make the people of occupied Kashmir wonder whether or not Pakistan was “really serious about the Kashmir cause”.

The prime minister had on Friday announced that not only the condition of passport but also that of registration of pilgrims 10 days prior to their arrival at the Kartarpur corridor had been lifted.

Presiding over a meeting held on Sunday to review the arrangements being made for the opening of the corridor, the prime minister said that India was not opening the corridor willingly and with happiness.

He also expressed the fear that an attempt could be made from the other side of the border to “sabotage” the efforts being made to facilitate the Sikh pilgrims.

Mr Khan praised his own government for completing the corridor project “in record time”.

The corridor, he said, was now ready to welcome Sikh pilgrims from across the world.

The premier said the Sikhs wishing to cross over into Pakistan to take part in Guru Nanak’s birthday celebrations would only have to prove their identity because they would be coming from the Indian side after thorough checking and clearance.

According to the Prime Minister Office, the meeting was also attended by Minister for Religious Affairs Noorul Haq Qadri, Interior Minister Ijaz Shah and secretaries of the ministries of foreign affairs, defence, finance and religious affairs.

Following threadbare negotiations, Pakistan and India signed an agreement last month, paving the way for the inauguration of the Kartarpur corridor this month.

The four-kilometre-long corridor would provide Sikh pilgrims visa-free travel between Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur and the Dera Baba Nanak shrine in Gurdaspur district, India. Up to 5,000 Indian Sikhs would be allowed access daily, with plans to double the capacity.

Prime Minister Khan will inaugurate the Kartarpur corridor on Nov 9 for which ceremony former Indian cricket star and lawmaker Navjot Singh Sidhu has also been invited.

According to media reports, India has shared with Pakistan a list of 575 people who will be part of the first Sikh delegation to visit Gurdwara Darbar Sahib after passing through the newly constructed corridor.

Seventy-six immigration counters have been prepared to cater to some 5,000 Sikh pilgrims from India. The border terminal has been built 350 metres from the zero-point and the pilgrims will be transported aboard buses to the Gurd*wara where they will be given airport-style facilities, according to a media report.

Darbar Sahib Kartarpur is located 4.5km from the international border in Narowal district and is one of the holiest places for Sikhs. It is where Baba Guru Nanak Dev Ji settled and preached for the last 18 years of his life and is his last resting place.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1514718/kartarpur-corridor-ready-to-welcome-pilgrims-says-pm.

LAHORE: A group of Sikh pilgrims reached here on Sunday from London through a PIA flight to visit their sacred places in Sheikhupura, Nankana and Narowal districts and attend Baba Guru Nanak’s 550th birth anniversary celebrations.

Soon after landing, the 178-member group left for Gurdwara Janam Asthan Nankana Sahib and Gurdwara Sucha Sauda in Sheikhupura district.

The pilgrims will also participate in Baba Guru Nanak’s 550th birth celebrations at Gurdwara Darbar Sahib, Kartarpur, Narowal district.

The Pakistan Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee has announced that Baba Guru Nanak’s birth anniversary celebrations would continue throughout the month of November.

Sikh pilgrims from India as well as from Europe and North America will attend various events being held in this respect.

The main event, says Punjab Evacuee Trust Board spokesperson Amer Hashmi, will take place at Nankana Sahib on Nov 12.

Meanwhile, the first batch of some 1,100 Sikh pilgrims, along with a gold Palki arrived here on Thursday through Wagah Border.

The Palki will be installed at Gurdwara Darbar Sahib, Kartarpur, in connection with the birth anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak on Tuesday.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1514796/178-member-sikh-delegation-arrives-from-uk.

Go tell your extremist government, they didn’t miss an opportunity for better relations rather they are not interested.
They have this weird notion that they are isolating Pakistan in the global community.

As we know what happened when last time BJP leader visited Pakistan and acknowledged Pakistan then kargil happened. Indian hardly ever started war against Pakistan. So we know what you are talking about. It always takes two hands to clap.

Nothing but repeated boring tried and failed talking points that are made to memorize to every RSS supporters.

It’s getting boring.

Nothing but repeated boring tried and failed talking points that are made to memorize to every RSS supporters.

It’s getting boring.

Facts would always be boring . You run by sentiments and educated ones run by facts. Please read beyond madrasa and have secular thinking . Rss and all 50 Islamic countries have same thinking. Rss and Pakistan is same. Understand logic

TAXILA: More than a thousand Indian Sikhs arrived in Gurdwara Punja Sahib in Hassanabdal around midnight on Sunday as part of the Nagar Kirtan, a religious procession held to mark the 550th birth anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak Dev, the founder of Sikhism.

The gurdwara was decorated with colourful lights and pilgrims performed various rituals including Matha Taki, Ashnan and exchanging gifts.

Evacuee Trust Property Board (ETPB) Deputy Secretary Shrines Imran Gondal said that more than 1,100 Sikhs crossed the border through Wagah on Oct 31 via Ludhiana and Amritsar. He said they visited Gurdwara Janamasthan, Nankana Sahib, Gurdwara Sacha Sodda Farooqabad and other temples, and the pilgrimage will conclude at Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur, where a gold palanquin ‘Palki Sahib’ will be installed.

“Around 1,300 visas issued for the Nagar Kirtan are over and above the contingent covered under the Protocol on Visits to Religious Shrines 1974 between Pakistan and India,” he said.

“Sikh pilgrims from India visit Pakistan for religious festivals at least four times a year under the framework of the 1974 India-Pakistan protocol on visits to religious shrines but denial to visit Pakistan to participate in religious rituals despite having valid visas is not understood,” he added.

Mr Gondal said the board, in collaboration with the Pakistan Sikh Gurdwara Parbhand Committee and the district administration, has made security and accommodation arrangements for Indian and local Sikh yatrees.

Speaking to the press, a number of pilgrims hailed the government’s initiative to open the Kartarpur Corridor to facilitate the Sikh community, and lauded Prime Minister Imran Khan for laying the foundation stone for the Baba Guru Nanak University in Nankana Sahib and issuing a commemorative coin on the occasion of the 550th birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Dev.

Mr Sarna, former president of the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee, praised the opening of the corridor, saying that it was a longstanding desire of the Sikh community to be able to visit one of their holiest sites in Pakistan visa-free. He also thanked the government for constructing a new building at Gurdwara Dera Sahib in Lahore.

He said Indian Sikhs were grateful to the government for issuing them the maximum number of visas, adding: “Pakistan is sacred to us and we love it, and we come here with a message of peace and brotherhood.”

Pakistan Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee President Satwant Singh said the teachings of Baba Guru Nanak revolve around peace and humanity.

He said the opening of the Kartarpur Corridor was a great gift to the Sikh community, and that Pakistan is a pure land for Sikhs and a second home for the Sikh community around the world.

Attock District Police Officer Shahzad Nadeem Bukhari reviewed security arrangements for the protection of the Sikh pilgrims. He told the media that multilayered security plans have been made to ensure that visiting pilgrims are safe.

“The district police will provide foolproof security to Sikh yatrees,” he said, adding: “Around 700 policemen will perform security duties, including four district superintendents, six inspectors, 11 sub-inspectors, 23 assistant sub-inspectors, 33 head constables, 506 constables, 40 women constables and plainclothes officers.”

https://www.dawn.com/news/1514748/1100-indian-sikhs-arrive-at-punja-sahib-in-religious-procession

This time it’s different leadership in both the countries.
If everyone took your dogmatic view then nothing in the world would ever get resolved, instead you’d have both sides looking at the past forever finger pointing. Exactly what the Indians are doing.
IK in his very first speech, after taking the PM post said to India if you take one step we will take two. What happened next?

Your leadership is not interested in peace. End of.

The Foreign Office (FO) on Monday completely rejected baseless reports which appeared in a section of the Indian media and were attributed to “intelligence sources”, saying they ought to be treated with the contempt they deserve.

The reports in question had insinuated the presence of alleged militant training camps in Narowal near the Gurdwara Kartarpur Sahib.

"Pakistan’s Kartarpur spirit is aimed at facilitating Nanak Naamlevas, especially Sikhs, to visit one of their most revered places of worship and promoting inter-faith harmony," a press release from the FO said.

"The content of the media reports in question is part of a malicious propaganda campaign in India that cannot be condemned enough."

According to the FO statement, unfounded allegations about Gurdwara Kartarpur Sahib being used for any purpose other than worship are a deliberate attempt to misrepresent Pakistan’s goodwill gesture, undermine the corridor initiative, and hurt the religious sentiments of Sikhs all over the world.

"We have no doubt that such mischievous attempts will be rejected with the contempt that they deserve."

Prime Minister Khan will inaugurate the Kartarpur corridor on Nov 9, for which ceremony former Indian cricket star and lawmaker Navjot Singh Sidhu has also been invited.

Darbar Sahib Kartarpur is located 4.5km from the international border in Narowal district and is one of the holiest places for Sikhs. It is where Baba Guru Nanak Dev Ji settled and preached for the last 18 years of his life and is his last resting place.

Following threadbare negotiations, Pakistan and India signed an agreement last month, paving the way for the inauguration of the Kartarpur corridor this month.

The four-kilometre-long corridor would provide Sikh pilgrims visa-free travel between Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur and the Dera Baba Nanak shrine in Gurdaspur district, India. Up to 5,000 Indian Sikhs would be allowed access daily, with plans to double the capacity.

According to reports, India has shared with Pakistan a list of 575 people who will be part of the first Sikh delegation to visit Gurdwara Darbar Sahib after passing through the newly constructed corridor.

Seventy-six immigration counters have been prepared to cater to some 5,000 Sikh pilgrims from India. The border terminal has been built 350 metres from the zero-point and the pilgrims will be transported aboard buses to the Gurd*wara where they will be given airport-style facilities, according to a media report.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1514875/f...alicious-indian-media-reports-about-kartarpur

Not a fan of signing agreement with Evil Pakistanis but Pakistanis probably accepted knowing if they didn't we'll shoot down another 500 Fighter Jet of theirs.

what ? 500 jets?

source of your claim ?

I am assuming this is sarcasm but honestly going by how the Indian media has worked recently I would not be too shocked if some sections of India do actually believe that India knocked down 500 Pakistanis jets and Pakistan is now scared.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh on Khalistani separatist Jarnail Bhindranwale featured in Pakistan Govt's official video on Kartarpur corridor: All this is what I have been warning about since day one, that Pakistan has a hidden agenda here. <a href="https://t.co/xh5v4jsGle">pic.twitter.com/xh5v4jsGle</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1191985150818578433?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 6, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan Kartarpur video film has images of Khalistani leaders including Bhindranwale. Unacceptable provocation. Don’t defile a holy occasion of the great Nanak with these videos that are designed to incite.. build a corridor of peace, not violence.</p>— Rajdeep Sardesai (@sardesairajdeep) <a href="https://twitter.com/sardesairajdeep/status/1192004514905124864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 6, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

In logon ki kismat mein hi rona likha hai. Well done Imran Khan and Pak Army.

Pakistan’s use of social media and their psy-ops is head and shoulders above India’s at the moment. Very clever.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Official Song of Kartarpur Corridor Opening Ceremony. <br>(1/3) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanKartarpurSpirit?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanKartarpurSpirit</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/TZTzAQMUcw">pic.twitter.com/TZTzAQMUcw</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1191417856203927552?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 4, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Official Song of Kartarpur Corridor Opening Ceremony. <br>(2/3) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanKartarpurSpirit?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanKartarpurSpirit</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/47V4U9Zluw">pic.twitter.com/47V4U9Zluw</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1191420071962394625?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 4, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Official Song of Kartarpur Corridor Opening Ceremony. <br>(3/3) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanKartarpurSpirit?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanKartarpurSpirit</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/Redj4i15he">pic.twitter.com/Redj4i15he</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1191421048346103808?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 4, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Pakistan’s use of social media and their psy-ops is head and shoulders above India’s at the moment. Very clever.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Official Song of Kartarpur Corridor Opening Ceremony. <br>(1/3) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanKartarpurSpirit?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanKartarpurSpirit</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/TZTzAQMUcw">pic.twitter.com/TZTzAQMUcw</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1191417856203927552?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 4, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Official Song of Kartarpur Corridor Opening Ceremony. <br>(2/3) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanKartarpurSpirit?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanKartarpurSpirit</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/47V4U9Zluw">pic.twitter.com/47V4U9Zluw</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1191420071962394625?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 4, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Official Song of Kartarpur Corridor Opening Ceremony. <br>(3/3) <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanKartarpurSpirit?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanKartarpurSpirit</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/Redj4i15he">pic.twitter.com/Redj4i15he</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1191421048346103808?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 4, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Indian media and officials e objecting that some Khalistani leaders were in this song video...

It helps if you are on the right side of history

NEW DELHI: A Pakistani video on the Kartarpur corridor showing a poster of three Khalistani separatists with "Khalistan 2020" written on it has raised concerns in India. Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh said Pakistan has a hidden agenda behind the opening of the Kartarpur corridor and that India "will have to be careful".

Indicating the hand of the Pakistani Army, government sources said, "Powers larger than the civil government of Pakistan are pushing the project." India is aware of the duality but has gone ahead with the project keeping in mind the faith of pilgrims.

The Kartarpur Corridor will be inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the Indian side on Friday. The four-minute video clip, released by Pakistan's Ministry of Information and Broadcasting on Monday, shows Sikh pilgrims visiting a gurdwara in Pakistan with a poster of Khalistan separatists Bhindranwale, Shabeg Singh and Amrik Singh Khalsa in the backdrop. The three separatists were killed during Indian Army's Operation Blue Star in Amritsar in June 1984.

"Publicly they (Pakistan) say peace, people to People contact and minorities, but what Pakistan wants is greater leverage on the issue of Khalistan and a 20-20 referendum on it," sources say.

Citing Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan's comment that Sikh pilgrims would not require passports to visit Kartarpur Sahib Gurdwara, the sources said there is a plan to drive a wedge between Sikh and Hindu pilgrims, which will push their plans of leveraging on Khalistan.

Sources said India, which initiated the corridor in "good faith", had concerns at what Pakistan was attempting. "But we see a larger objective - of all pilgrims who want to go," the sources said.

"There are reports of sporadic separatist activities in gurdwaras across the border," government sources said. The mater has been raised with Pakistan. There is a clause in the agreement between India and Pakistan that in case of any exigency, the corridor can be suspended. "Such places will be closely watched," sources said.

Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh also warned about Pakistan's game plan when asked about the video today. "Since Day One, I have been warning about Pakistan's hidden agenda," the 77-year-old Congress leader told reporters. "On one side, they (Pakistan) show love... but on the other side, they may try to create trouble. We have to be very careful," he said.

Mr Singh had warned earlier that Islamabad could misuse the Kartarpur Corridor to "revive Sikh militancy" in the state.

Last year, Pakistan said it would open Gurdwara Darbar Sahib Kartarpur - one of the holiest shrines of the Sikhs - to pilgrims from India. The shrine had been closed to Indian pilgrims after the surgical strikes on terror launch pads across the Line of Control. It was also decided to build the proposed corridor connecting the Gurdwara Darbar Sahib to Dera Baba Nanak in Punjab's Gurdaspur district.

Guru Nanak Dev, the founder of Sikhism, had spent more than 18 years at Gurdwara Kartarpur, located on the banks of the river Ravi. Last November, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu had laid the foundation stone for the Kartarpur corridor in Punjab's Gurdaspur district.

"We shared with Pakistan the list of 550 pilgrims who will go across," sources said. The list includes VIPs like former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, former Punjab Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal, Union minister Hardeep Puri, Punjab Chief Minister Amrinder Singh and other MPs and MLAs.

Punjab, Mr Singh said, is on high alert ahead of the opening of the Kartarpur Corridor. "I do not expect Pakistan to dare to do any mischief through the Corridor but it is important for Punjab, being a border state to remain on alert," he added.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pow...n-pakistan-video-2128406?pfrom=home-topscroll

I know some local Sikhs who travel to Nankana Sahib each year around this time as volunteers to help prepare food and manage the large numbers of visitors.
Again they travelled to Pakistan a few days ago and were hugely excited because this being the special anniversary.
It will be amazing to hear them recount their time at Nankana Sahib.

If it were within touching distance from Border then I would have like Indian govt too open a corridor to facilitate the visitors. Unfortunately, those mentioned places are far away from border to have any such facility and thus visa regulations are in effect.

On topic, I appreciate Pakistani authorities for opening up Kartarpur corridor allowing Sikh’s to visit the holy site. I also personally think $20 charge is very reasonable as it requires fund to maintain the corridor for generations to come.

If it were within touching distance from Border then I would have like Indian govt too open a corridor to facilitate the visitors. Unfortunately, those mentioned places are far away from border to have any such facility and thus visa regulations are in effect.

On topic, I appreciate Pakistani authorities for opening up Kartarpur corridor allowing Sikh’s to visit the holy site. I also personally think $20 charge is very reasonable as it requires fund to maintain the corridor for generations to come.

The thing is in recent times the Indian government have really cracked down on issuing visas for Pakistanis who wish to visit places like Ajmer Sharif.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India denied issuing visas for pilgrims visiting Ajmer Sharif Dargah: Pakistan Minister<br><br>Read <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ANI</a> story | <a href="https://t.co/E1BmiSdmZ6">https://t.co/E1BmiSdmZ6</a> <a href="https://t.co/Yt4teLioYI">pic.twitter.com/Yt4teLioYI</a></p>— ANI Digital (@ani_digital) <a href="https://twitter.com/ani_digital/status/1102673245520711681?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 4, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

You can’t get visa to visit these holy sites in India, that’s why I made the point.
Even a British Pakistani like myself has little to no chance of getting accepted.

From my experience Bhindranwale is a hero to MOST Sikhs in the world. If anyone can prove othrewise, lets hear it.

As for visiting India, the Ajmer Sharif shrine and others are not important holy places to Muslims. I dont think Pakistanis should visit India at present, too dangerous with the RSS in power.

From my experience Bhindranwale is a hero to MOST Sikhs in the world. If anyone can prove othrewise, lets hear it.

As for visiting India, the Ajmer Sharif shrine and others are not important holy places to Muslims. I dont think Pakistanis should visit India at present, too dangerous with the RSS in power.

Bhindranwale might be a hero to those of a certain age living in North America and Britain but he’s no hero to the Sikh masses living in India. I wouldn’t say he’s a villain either, he’s just largely irrelevant. The whole Khalistan thing has very limited support in India. Sure many people are unhappy at the direction Punjab is going in however they don’t see separatism as the answer to this.

Bhindranwale might be a hero to those of a certain age living in North America and Britain but he’s no hero to the Sikh masses living in India.

well im guessing pakistan is looking to appeal to the global sikh community including those in britain and canada that may have viewed him as a hero, in that respect given he is supposedly irrelevant to the average indian sikh it would make some sense to include him.

But surely this doesn't send a positive message across the border especially when non bjp and well respected leader like punjab CM sharing his concern

You can’t get visa to visit these holy sites in India, that’s why I made the point.
Even a British Pakistani like myself has little to no chance of getting accepted.

Getting Indian visas for Pakistani nationals or Pakistani origin foreign nationals have different set of regulations. One of the requirement is sponsorship letter from Indian citizen residing in India. So, if you’re visiting for religious purpose then you should acquire sponsorship documents from dargah or any other holy sites you’re visiting.
I know some of my family members( Pakistani nationals) have trouble getting Indian visas due to lack of sponsors and supporting documents.

In your case, being a Brit doesn’t automatically guarantee visas to India. I know some Pakistani Americans feel it’s their right to get Indian visas just because they hold American passport. Sadly, India learnt the hard way after Headley fiasco.
If Pakistani authorities are doing the exact same thing for Indian nationals wanting to visit Pakistan then it’s perfectly fine. I think it’s prerogative of the issuing nation to set rules they deem necessary.

The thing is in recent times the Indian government have really cracked down on issuing visas for Pakistanis who wish to visit places like Ajmer Sharif.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India denied issuing visas for pilgrims visiting Ajmer Sharif Dargah: Pakistan Minister<br><br>Read <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ANI</a> story | <a href="https://t.co/E1BmiSdmZ6">https://t.co/E1BmiSdmZ6</a> <a href="https://t.co/Yt4teLioYI">pic.twitter.com/Yt4teLioYI</a></p>— ANI Digital (@ani_digital) <a href="https://twitter.com/ani_digital/status/1102673245520711681?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 4, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

You need to look at the timing of this rejection. It was back when both nations were almost on verge of War after Indian jet was shot down. So, in an ideal world it kinda make sense. Don’t you think?

Bhindrawale is hero for some sikhs in India as well. Might not be masses. It's all peaceful but i wud consider this wrong if someone say it's completely irrelevant in Indian Punjab.

Pakistan High Commission has granted a visa to Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu for visiting Pakistan for Kartarpur Corridor inauguration on November 9. However, the Punjab legislator still awaits clearance for the Indian government.

With a visa, he can cross over at Wagah but as an elected representative of an Indian state legislature, he needs political clearance for attending any ceremony held by the Pakistani government.

The cricketer-turned-politician had sought the External Affairs Ministry's permission to visit Pakistan for the ceremony. In a letter written to MEA, the Congress leader said he had been invited by the Pakistan government for the opening ceremony of the corridor, which will connect Darbar Sahib in Pakistan's Kartarpur with Dera Baba Nanak shrine in Gurdaspur district in Punjab.

"As a humble Sikh, it shall be a great honour to pay obeisance to our great Guru Baba Nanak on this historic occasion and connect to our roots," wrote Sidhu, who is a legislator from Amritsar East.

"Therefore, I may be permitted to visit Pakistan for this auspicious occasion," the former minister said.

He has also written a letter to Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, who forwarded it to the chief secretary for necessary action.

The corridor will facilitate visa-free movement of Indian pilgrims who will have to just obtain a permit to visit Kartarpur Sahib, located in Pakistan's Narowal district across the Ravi river.

Sidhu had come under fire from the opposition after he hugged Pakistan Army chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa during the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Imran Khan in August last year.

Sidhu had then also claimed that Gen Bajwa had told him about "making efforts to open the Kartarpur corridor".

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...rpur-corridor-inauguration-1616433-2019-11-07

Interesting...
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Punjab Chief Minister's Office (CMO): Gurdaspur MP, Sunny Deol (file pic) to also be a part of the official 'jatha' that will attend the inauguration of the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a>, on 9th November. <a href="https://t.co/2ZcH0cpAkv">pic.twitter.com/2ZcH0cpAkv</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1192446798142459906?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 7, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

You need to look at the timing of this rejection. It was back when both nations were almost on verge of War after Indian jet was shot down. So, in an ideal world it kinda make sense. Don’t you think?

I don't think both side are giving each other ludos at the border.

Agreeing to this corridor will backfire on Bjp. Stupid decision.Likely taken under pressure of Akalis.

Jaitley is gone. Now leave the Akalis.

ISLAMABAD: The Foreign Office on Thursday regretted that the Indian government had decided against availing “concessions” announced by Prime Minister Imran Khan for Sikh pilgrims visiting Kartarpur Gurdwara on the occasion of the 550th birth anniversary of the founder of Sikhism, Baba Guru Nanak.

“As a special gesture, Pakistan announced concessions on the auspicious occasion of 550th Birth Anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak to facilitate pilgrims. This has been REFUSED by India in blatant disregard of Sikh sentiments,” FO spokesman Dr Muhammad Faisal tweeted.

“If India does not wish to avail these facilitative measures for pilgrims, it is India’s choice,” he said.

The spokesman’s reaction came after the Indian Ministry of External Affairs said that the visit by Sikh pilgrims to Kartarpur Gurdwara via the newly established corridor would be conducted in accordance with the agreed bilateral agreement governing the corridor’s operations.

MEA spokesman Raveesh Kumar was quoted by Indian media as saying: “Sometimes they say passport is needed, other times it is not needed. We think there are differences between their Foreign Office and other agencies. We have a memorandum of understanding (MoU), it hasn’t been changed and as per it passport is needed.”

Dr Faisal, earlier at his weekly media briefing, said that Pakistan government had as a “special gesture” waived off the passport requirement and the 10-day advance intimation for the pilgrims coming to the shrine. Moreover, $20 service charges per pilgrims were also waived off for Nov 9 and 12.

The special concessions, which were announced by the prime minister through Twitter, were formally conveyed by the Pakistan government to the Indian High Commission in Islamabad and the government of India.

The government is expecting around 10,000 Sikhs to visit the gurdwara on the occasion of the opening of the visa-free corridor on Nov 9. These include Sikhs coming from India via the corridor, those coming through Wagah border crossing, and Sikhs living in other parts of the world coming here for the occasion.

In reply to a question relating to visas for Sikhs coming through other routes, the spokesman said: “Our missions abroad are also fully facilitating visa requests from Nanak Naamlevas”.

Indian cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, he said, had been issued a visa and would be warmly welcomed at the opening ceremony. Army chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa had first shared the idea of opening Kartarpur Corridor with Mr Sidhu when he last year visited Pakistan for attending PM Imran Khan’s inauguration. Later, Mr Sidhu also came for the groundbreaking ceremony of the project.

According to Indian media, the invitation card issued by the Pakistan government to Mr Sidhu carries serial number ‘0001’.

Dr Faisal said the government was also working on a number of other initiatives for promoting religious tourism. “Sikhs / Nanak Naamlevas, Hindus and Buddhist Monks have various holy sites in Pakistan and we are trying to tap this potential of religious tourism,” he said.

Meanwhile, according to APP, the FO clarified that the passport waiver for Kartarpur pilgrims would extend up to one year as a special gesture on the birth anniversary of Guru Nanak.

Mr Faisal was responding to a question in connection with a statement by the director general of Inter-Services Public Relations in which he termed passport a must requisite for Indian pilgrims using Kartarpur corridor.

“This is the formal position of Foreign Office and the ISPR statement is also in line with it,” he said.

Asked if Pakistan would like to open similar corridors with Kargil and Ladakh to facilitate meeting of families living across the border, he said Pakistan had no objection on opening of more passages, however India’s hesitation in holding discussions on several matters was a major hurdle in that.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1515580/fo-regrets-indias-refusal-to-avail-concessions-for-sikh-pilgrims.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Appealing All Politicians on either side o Indo/Pak Border..Pl shed yur Pol colours just for Guru Nanak’s 550th Birth Anniversary fr Baba Nanak Belonged to Entire Universe..my Sikh Brethren can wear the chola of Humility & lead w/Naam on their lips..& just Quiet in their steps.!</p>— Bishan Bedi (@BishanBedi) <a href="https://twitter.com/BishanBedi/status/1192825227048374285?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 8, 2019</a></blockquote>

Agreeing to this corridor will backfire on Bjp. Stupid decision.Likely taken under pressure of Akalis.

Jaitley is gone. Now leave the Akalis.

They have been played like a fiddle on this, always one or two steps behind. The GoI thought that they’d call Pakistan’s so called bluff on this and eventually the project would be stuck in a nightmare of red tape which would delay the project for years. Well Pakistan outplayed them on that one.

Modi, Shah, Doval and co were caught napping despite the warnings from people like Amarinder Singh.

Nevertheless , it’s still great news for the pilgrims. But both nations are fighting a proxy war against each other so it was obvious from the start that this corridor would be used for nefarious purposes too (if the shoe was on the other foot India would do the same).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PM Modi at Dera Baba Nanak: I would like to thank the Prime Minister of Pakistan, Imran Khan Niazi for respecting the sentiments of India. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KartarpurCorridor?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KartarpurCorridor</a> <a href="https://t.co/9TKPZsxKWY">pic.twitter.com/9TKPZsxKWY</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1193054954677624832?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 9, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Modi is a petty man. IK has bent backwards to make peace with India, and ensure minorities are taken care of in Pakistan, and Modi takes a cheap shot by calling him "Niazi". That too at the opening of the corridor.

Sikhs from across the border have started arriving in Pakistan to make a historic pilgrimage to the shrine of Guru Nanak Dev, the founder of Sikhism, which is located in Kartarpur, as Islamabad and New Delhi make history by opening the Kartarpur Corridor today.

Former Indian prime minister Manmohan Singh led the first delegation of Sikh pilgrims as they crossed into Pakistan through the Kartarpur Corridor. Indian Punjab's Chief Minister Amarinder Singh was also part of the group.

"I hope India and Pakistan relations improve enormously as a result of this beginning," Manmohan told state broadcaster PTV as he walked towards the Pakistan side, terming the occasion a "big moment".

The Indian Punjab chief minister said they were all happy because it had been a desire of Sikhs to visit their religious sites in Pakistan for 70 years.

"This is a beginning, I hope it's going to continue and many more gurdwaras are going to be allowed," he remarked.

Foreign diplomats, accompanied by Foreign Office Spokesperson Dr Mohammad Faisal and Foreign Secretary Sohail Mahmood, will attend the opening ceremony.

Before seeing off the first group of pilgrims — who will be received by Prime Minister Imran Khan at the shrine — Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed members of the Sikh community and hailed the opening of the corridor.

"I also thank Pakistan's Prime Minister Imran Khan for understanding India's wishes and turning Kartarpur into reality," Modi said in his speech. He also thanked the labour in both countries for completing the construction in such a short time.

The Indian premier said that Baba Guru Nanak was not just a revered figure for Sikhs but for the entire humanity.

About 8,000-10,000 pilgrims are expected to arrive from around the world to mark Guru Nanak's 550th birthday on November 12.

The premier had performed the groundbreaking of the visa-free corridor last year. Since then, the government has employed hundreds of labourers to spruce up the shrine, including building a border immigration checkpoint and a bridge, as well as expanding the site's grounds. After tough negotiations between Islamabad and New Delhi, Pakistan and India had finally signed an agreement regarding the project last month.

Ahead of the opening, the prime minister also announced special waivers in order to facilitate Indian pilgrims. Pilgrims who arrive from India will no longer need a passport to cross over into Pakistan as long as they have a valid identity.

The premier had also announced that he had directed that the condition for pilgrims to register 10 days before their arrival at the Kartarpur shrine be waived.

Furthermore, the pilgrims who arrive on the day of the Kartarpur Corridor's opening and on Baba Guru Nanak's 550th birth anniversary will not be charged any fee to visit.

Up to 5,000 Indian Sikhs have been allowed access daily, with plans to eventually double the capacity.

Sikhs from around the world — including some from India who entered from the main border crossing at Wagah after obtaining visas — have been arriving in Pakistan ahead of the celebrations for several days already.

Opening border and hearts
In a statement issued hours before the opening of the Kartarpur Corridor, Prime Minister Imran congratulated the Sikh community residing in Pakistan as well as in India on the occasion.

The premier said that the "unprecedented gesture of goodwill [...] is a reflection of our deep respect for Baba Guru Nanak Dev Ji and religious sentiments of Sikh community".

"Today we are not only opening border but also our hearts for the Sikh community," the statement read.

The prime minister in his statement further said: "The inauguration today is also a testimony of our commitment towards peace of the region. We believe that the road to prosperity of region and bright future of our coming generation lies in peace. We believe that interfaith harmony and peaceful coexistence will provide us an opportunity to work for larger interests of people of the sub-continent.

"While congratulating the Sikh community once again, I also wish to thank all those who contributed towards transforming this vision in reality in record time of 10 months only."

Tantalisingly close
For up to 30 million Sikhs around the world, it is one of their holiest places. When Pakistan was carved out of colonial India at independence from Britain in 1947, Kartarpur ended up on the western side of the border — though most of the region's Sikhs remained on the other side.

For them, it is tantalisingly close — just four kilometres inside Pakistan, so near that Indian Sikhs have been known to stand on the other side and simply gaze across the divide at the site.

But decades of enmity between India and Pakistan, nuclear arch-rivals who have fought three wars and countless skirmishes since independence, has left extreme restrictions on their ability to visit.

“This land is sacred for them,” Habib Khan, the 63-year-old imam of a small mosque just outside the gurdwara, told AFP on Friday.

Vans of pilgrims could be seen travelling through Kartarpur on Friday.

The Indian flag could be seen flying across the border, just beyond fields dotted with eucalyptus and guava trees — though it was half obscured by the heavy smog that has blanketed large swathes of South Asia in recent days.

Contingents of Rangers dotted the rice-growing region which, being so close to the border, is heavily secured, with multiple checkpoints.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1515830/m...tion-into-pakistan-through-kartarpur-corridor

Sikhs from across the border have started arriving in Pakistan to make a historic pilgrimage to the shrine of Guru Nanak Dev, the founder of Sikhism, which is located in Kartarpur, as Islamabad and New Delhi make history by opening the Kartarpur Corridor today.

Prime Minister Imran Khan arrived at the corridor inauguration ceremony using the shuttle service being used by pilgrims, according to state broadcaster PTV. He is also expected to address the gathering.

Former Indian prime minister Manmohan Singh led the first delegation of Sikh pilgrims as they crossed into Pakistan through the Kartarpur Corridor. Indian Punjab's Chief Minister Amarinder Singh was also part of the jatha (caravan).

"I hope India and Pakistan relations improve enormously as a result of this beginning," Manmohan told PTV as he walked towards the Pakistan side, terming the occasion a "big moment".

The Indian Punjab chief minister said they were all happy because it had been a desire of Sikhs to visit their religious sites in Pakistan for 70 years.

"This is a beginning, I hope it's going to continue and many more gurdwaras are going to be allowed," he remarked.

Former Indian cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu has also arrived for the opening ceremony.

Foreign diplomats, accompanied by Foreign Office Spokesperson Dr Mohammad Faisal and Foreign Secretary Sohail Mahmood, will attend the ceremony.

In pictures: Spruced up Gurdwara Darbar Sahib set to welcome Sikh pilgrims from around the world

Before seeing off the first group of pilgrims — who will be received by Prime Minister Imran Khan at the shrine — Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed members of the Sikh community and hailed the opening of the corridor.

"I also thank Pakistan's Prime Minister Imran Khan for understanding India's wishes and turning Kartarpur into reality," Modi said in his speech. He also thanked the labour in both countries for completing the construction in such a short time.

The Indian premier said that Baba Guru Nanak was not just a revered figure for Sikhs but for the entire humanity.

About 8,000-10,000 pilgrims are expected to arrive from around the world to mark Guru Nanak's 550th birthday on November 12.

The premier had performed the groundbreaking of the visa-free corridor last year. Since then, the government has employed hundreds of labourers to spruce up the shrine, including building a border immigration checkpoint and a bridge, as well as expanding the site's grounds. After tough negotiations between Islamabad and New Delhi, Pakistan and India had finally signed an agreement regarding the project last month.

Ahead of the opening, the prime minister also announced special waivers in order to facilitate Indian pilgrims. Pilgrims who arrive from India will no longer need a passport to cross over into Pakistan as long as they have a valid identity.

The premier had also announced that he had directed that the condition for pilgrims to register 10 days before their arrival at the Kartarpur shrine be waived.

Furthermore, the pilgrims who arrive on the day of the Kartarpur Corridor's opening and on Baba Guru Nanak's 550th birth anniversary will not be charged any fee to visit.

Up to 5,000 Indian Sikhs have been allowed access daily, with plans to eventually double the capacity.

Sikhs from around the world — including some from India who entered from the main border crossing at Wagah after obtaining visas — have been arriving in Pakistan ahead of the celebrations for several days already.

Opening border and hearts
In a statement issued hours before the opening of the Kartarpur Corridor, Prime Minister Imran congratulated the Sikh community residing in Pakistan as well as in India on the occasion.

The premier said that the "unprecedented gesture of goodwill [...] is a reflection of our deep respect for Baba Guru Nanak Dev Ji and religious sentiments of Sikh community".

"Today we are not only opening border but also our hearts for the Sikh community," the statement read.

The prime minister in his statement further said: "The inauguration today is also a testimony of our commitment towards peace of the region. We believe that the road to prosperity of region and bright future of our coming generation lies in peace. We believe that interfaith harmony and peaceful coexistence will provide us an opportunity to work for larger interests of people of the sub-continent.

"While congratulating the Sikh community once again, I also wish to thank all those who contributed towards transforming this vision in reality in record time of 10 months only."

Tantalisingly close
For up to 30 million Sikhs around the world, it is one of their holiest places. When Pakistan was carved out of colonial India at independence from Britain in 1947, Kartarpur ended up on the western side of the border — though most of the region's Sikhs remained on the other side.

Read: The Kartarpur Corridor is more than a symbol of new peace

For them, it is tantalisingly close — just four kilometres inside Pakistan, so near that Indian Sikhs have been known to stand on the other side and simply gaze across the divide at the site.

People hold balloons arranged in the shape of number 550, ahead of the 550th birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Dev, in Amritsar on November 8. — AFP
But decades of enmity between India and Pakistan, nuclear arch-rivals who have fought three wars and countless skirmishes since independence, has left extreme restrictions on their ability to visit.

“This land is sacred for them,” Habib Khan, the 63-year-old imam of a small mosque just outside the gurdwara, told AFP on Friday.

Vans of pilgrims could be seen travelling through Kartarpur on Friday.

The Indian flag could be seen flying across the border, just beyond fields dotted with eucalyptus and guava trees — though it was half obscured by the heavy smog that has blanketed large swathes of South Asia in recent days.

Contingents of Rangers dotted the rice-growing region which, being so close to the border, is heavily secured, with multiple checkpoints.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1515830/p...tion-to-shortly-inaugurate-kartarpur-corridor

Impressive crowd today and live coverage has a feel good feels attached to it.

Why Sunny Deol is looking so sad sitting there while Sidhu is smiling?

Watching live, one word, amazing.

Pakistan's global stock and perception has gone up in the world today, and this is only the beginning.

Subhanallah!

:19:

Modi is scraping the barrel with that pic. He has been cleaned bowl by an Immi bhai yorker.

The leader of Hindutva, whose sole purpose is to establish a right-wing interpretation Brahmanism in India, doesn't change his motives or his spots by wearing a Turban. Would Modi do such a thing for Muslims in India? Hell no! He destroys mosques or steals Muslim land instead!

As it has been mentioned today, polar opposites. RSS-Indians getting creamed on social media.

Kudos to Manmohan Singh though!

I remember there was a famous film by Sunny with the name Border and now he is sitting on this side of Border :))