[VIDEOS] Players fasting while playing cricket

Multiple different things to take into consideration. There's the traveling issue which can exempt people from needing to fast. In addition, in circumstances when people make a living off physical work, there have been some fatawa as of late that exempt people from needing to fast on a day where they will be exerting themselves immensely for their livelihood, knowing that they will have to make it up later on. This is particularly relevant for people in manual labor or professional athletes.

That being said I highly doubt any of them will be fasting. But there are some devout players on this team. Sarfaraz himself is a hafiz, who knows if some of them will fast anyway. It wouldnt be the first time Muslim athletes chose to fast during big events. Hakeem Olajuwon would fast during the NBA Playoffs and in many situations actually play better basketball. InshaAllah khair, here's to hoping for a Ramadan miracle come Sunday.

Multiple different things to take into consideration. There's the traveling issue which can exempt people from needing to fast. In addition, in circumstances when people make a living off physical work, there have been some fatawa as of late that exempt people from needing to fast on a day where they will be exerting themselves immensely for their livelihood, knowing that they will have to make it up later on. This is particularly relevant for people in manual labor or professional athletes.

That being said I highly doubt any of them will be fasting. But there are some devout players on this team. Sarfaraz himself is a hafiz, who knows if some of them will fast anyway. It wouldnt be the first time Muslim athletes chose to fast during big events. Hakeem Olajuwon would fast during the NBA Playoffs and in many situations actually play better basketball. InshaAllah khair, here's to hoping for a Ramadan miracle come Sunday.

Don't need miracle, need fully fit players with their mind on what they are being paid to do.

Basketball season doesn't end until June. Play offsdon't start till April. Can't say he performed well during those times especially.

https://www.reddit.com/r/nba/comments/3yvhf2/hakeem_olajuwon_during_ramadan_an_analysis/

Great read, thanks for sharing. This was the conclusion of the analysis from it's writer -

Judging by the prior information, we can reasonably conclude that no real change occurred in Olajuwon's play. Of course, his PPG dipped quite a bit during the 1991 and 1992 Ramadan months, but this may be attributed to his not being used to playing while in a state of fasting (assuming he began to take his faith more seriously the year he changed his name). Overall, the Rockets either did just as well during Ramadan as they did during the entirety of the regular season and, at times, even better.

This is stupid. Travel was an excuse because people had to often walk long distance in excruciating heat with no sufficient transportation system. How does that apply to modern day where everyone sits in a metal tube for few hours with controlled temperature? Why would it be okay for some one to avoid fasting just because they are travelling ? Where is the intention ?

Im not saying I wouldn't fast if I went to France for the day.
Just saying that facility is there and it's okay to use it

This is stupid. Travel was an excuse because people had to often walk long distance in excruciating heat with no sufficient transportation system. How does that apply to modern day where everyone sits in a metal tube for few hours with controlled temperature? Why would it be okay for some one to avoid fasting just because they are travelling ? Where is the intention ?

Also when u do masah on ur leather socks, logic would dictate u wipe the bottom. Bit actually we wipe the top.
So logic is not the be all and end all and can be parked at the door. We listen and we obey

Also when u do masah on ur leather socks, logic would dictate u wipe the bottom. Bit actually we wipe the top.
So logic is not the be all and end all and can be parked at the door. We listen and we obey

Correct. Issues in our religion are based on text and are irrespective of whether it appears logical or not.

Our players are travellers and the permission is there for travellers to be exempt from fasting, regardless whether if the travel is difficult or easy. So they can use this permission and play without fasting.

Please, they already have no power, with fasting it will get worse, they need to focus on tournament, this is not the time, no fasting even on off-days, how you can prepare for the match, if you are fasting day before? :acp:

Please talk to someone who knows about Islamic teaching. Travel means when you're away from home and staying at a place temporarily . Also , there is no human being keep his physical and mental energy and sharpness even close to 50% after a long fast. Player can get injured, cramps, dehydration, rhabdomyolysis ( muscle break down and kidney failure ) or minor muscle injury , all can happen. So, if someone wants to fast, don;t play and don;t get paid.

If u r not staying in one place for 2 weeks u r counted as a traveller.
If they were planning to stay in Birmingham for 2 weeks then they wouldn't be classed as travellers
But if they leave the next day after SA game they won't have been there 2 weeks.

so that means if I am going to Pakistan for 1 or 2 or 3 or 4 weeks then I dont need to fast? Not sure this is what is originally meant for travelling exemption. Is there any ruling from a muslim scholar on this? can you guys share it?

If u living in the same place for 2 weeks then even if u r in Islamabad u r not classified as a traveller

Please talk to someone who knows about Islamic teaching. Travel means when you're away from home and staying at a place temporarily . Also , there is no human being keep his physical and mental energy and sharpness even close to 50% after a long fast. Player can get injured, cramps, dehydration, rhabdomyolysis ( muscle break down and kidney failure ) or minor muscle injury , all can happen. So, if someone wants to fast, don;t play and don;t get paid.

If u living in the same place for 2 weeks then even if u r in Islamabad u r not classified as a traveller

where did you get this 2 weeks bit from?

The Ḥanafīs considered a ‘traveler’ to be someone who intends to reside at a place for fifteen days or less (inclusive of the day that he intends to travel). They based this on qiyas, or analogy, with the longest possible days of a woman’s period. At first glance, this analogy does seem rather bizarre. However, they reasoned that both a traveler and a woman in her menses must ‘return’ to a more permanent state of worship (the menstruating woman returns to her prayers after desisting from them, and the traveler returns to the full prayer after ceasing to be a ‘traveler’), hence there is a commonality between these two scenarios that would allow us (or so the Ḥanafīs felt) to extrapolate the same ruling to these two scenarios.

They also use as evidence a tradition of Ibn ʿAbbās in which he stated that the Prophetṣalla Allahu ʿalayhī wa sallam stayed in Makkah for fifteen days, praying qaṣr (Reported by Abu Dawud)
The Ḥanafis also attributed this position to Ibn ʿAbbās and Ibn ʿUmar,[1] and it is also one opinion of Saʿīd b. al-Musayyib.

The Ḥanafīs considered a ‘traveler’ to be someone who intends to reside at a place for fifteen days or less (inclusive of the day that he intends to travel). They based this on qiyas, or analogy, with the longest possible days of a woman’s period. At first glance, this analogy does seem rather bizarre. However, they reasoned that both a traveler and a woman in her menses must ‘return’ to a more permanent state of worship (the menstruating woman returns to her prayers after desisting from them, and the traveler returns to the full prayer after ceasing to be a ‘traveler’), hence there is a commonality between these two scenarios that would allow us (or so the Ḥanafīs felt) to extrapolate the same ruling to these two scenarios.

They also use as evidence a tradition of Ibn ʿAbbās in which he stated that the Prophetṣalla Allahu ʿalayhī wa sallam stayed in Makkah for fifteen days, praying qaṣr (Reported by Abu Dawud)
The Ḥanafis also attributed this position to Ibn ʿAbbās and Ibn ʿUmar,[1] and it is also one opinion of Saʿīd b. al-Musayyib.

Did you take that from Yasir Qadhi's article on muslimmatters? It is a very informative piece.

I believe our players will be in Birmingham for less than 15 days, hence they will be considered travelers according to the Hanafi viewpoint.

Did you take that from Yasir Qadhi's article on muslimmatters? It is a very informative piece.

I believe our players will be in Birmingham for less than 15 days, hence they will be considered travelers according to the Hanafi viewpoint.
Yes i did. It also mentions the views of imam shafi, malik and ahmed (Rahimahumullah)

All I know , we rely too much on these uneducated moulvis, hence talk non-sense sometimes. Most of them have very limited knowledge of modern era and cannot relate Islamic teaching to modern era. If you talk to some college or university educated Islamic scholar you will see the difference and you will realize its not difficult to live every days life without torturing yourself ad still follow the islamic teaching.

No one on the field should be fasting.
If they really want to, they can ask PCB for some time off. Don't think anyone would have a problem with that

Moeen Ali does.

[utube]qB0Tq-45Hdg[/utube]

Well we are OBLIDGED by Islam to fast. I don’t think that playing for a cricket team is an exception. I know it’s hard, but won’t they get an extra reward?

Moeen Ali does.

[utube]qB0Tq-45Hdg[/utube]

Moeen is an off spinner, Amla is a batsman. It’s lot harder for fast bowler, who has to bowl 20-25 overs under heat to fast all day. You cannot convince performance does not dip. I can bet who Wasim in 1992 was not fasting at all during WC, he was the reason we won that cup. A Muslim without fasting in Ramzan helped us lift the cup ;-)

Same thing is true for both Hasan ALI and Amir, last CT, they both were not fasting. Fasting is over rated, anybody who does serious physical labor rarely fast. Most of not all the day labor does not fast either....It’s easy to talk about fasting while sitting on AC room 🙄🙄🙄

Players who fast during international games should not be allowed to play. It's not safe.

Moeen is an off spinner, Amla is a batsman. It’s lot harder for fast bowler, who has to bowl 20-25 overs under heat to fast all day. You cannot convince performance does not dip. I can bet who Wasim in 1992 was not fasting at all during WC, he was the reason we won that cup. A Muslim without fasting in Ramzan helped us lift the cup ;-)

Same thing is true for both Hasan ALI and Amir, last CT, they both were not fasting. Fasting is over rated, anybody who does serious physical labor rarely fast. Most of not all the day labor does not fast either....It’s easy to talk about fasting while sitting on AC room ������

I know, I'm just letting everyone know that Moeen Ali does fast.

Would Pakistani fans defend a player's poor performances if he was fasting?

:yk

Don’t understand the premise of this thread. Are we supposed to praise players for fasting during international duty thereby increasing the chance for poorer performance due to lower energy levels or are we supposed to call them out for bringing religion into sports?

Either way I’m sure Allah would understand since most of them are traveling since we never play in Pakistan and fasts are pardoned during travel.

Also the Hashim made 300 while fasting myth :amla

You can;t perform your 100% while fasting. know your priority, fast or play, doing both is dishonesty.

Same thing is true for both Hasan ALI and Amir, last CT, they both were not fasting. Fasting is over rated, anybody who does serious physical labor rarely fast. Most of not all the day labor does not fast either....It’s easy to talk about fasting while sitting on AC room ������

I am amazed at your knowledge.

I think PCB should prevent scheduling matches during Ramadan. I mean why is it that we are almost always playing international cricket during Ramadan every year, and we happen to be a Muslim country.

Non-Muslim countries don’t even have bilateral series during Ramadan ever year this consistently like Pakistan does.

I think PCB should prevent scheduling matches during Ramadan. I mean why is it that we are almost always playing international cricket during Ramadan every year, and we happen to be a Muslim country.

Non-Muslim countries don’t even have bilateral series during Ramadan ever year this consistently like Pakistan does.

There are many variables.

1) Pre-Determined ICC Fixtures (World Cup 1992, ICC CT 2017)
2) Seasonal Games When PAK Plays (English Summer, Australian Summer)
3) Time Lost Due To the PSL

Well we are OBLIDGED by Islam to fast. I don’t think that playing for a cricket team is an exception. I know it’s hard, but won’t they get an extra reward?

No, we are not obliged to fast while travelling for any reason and according to most ulema, performing physically taxing activities.

Should the players be fasting for this tour?

What's it to you or anybody else? The players don't have to fast but if they do, good for them. You and I have no say in this.

^ The players can make it up later when they are not touring or playing.

No, we are not obliged to fast while travelling for any reason and according to most ulema, performing physically taxing activities.

What's it to you or anybody else? The players don't have to fast but if they do, good for them. You and I have no say in this.

I know I have no say, I was just trying to get some discussion going.

Even a normal person should not keep himself hungry and thirsty for 12+ hours. For a sportsman, it should be a deal breaker.

Playing cricket in Ramadan

As a hindu i salute Pakistani players for playing cricket during Ramadan
But i wonder why PCB arranges series during this period

Thread title should be why are players openly eating/drinking during Ramadhan? Once upon a time Muslims even when not fasting for any particular reason wouldn't eat and drink openly out of respect for Ramadhan but just like the cricket teams golden era is history the Muslim golden era is history too

IMG_20190522_155248_877.jpg

Should they be doing so openly during Ramadan?

View attachment 91595

Come on Miggy bhai. Creating a controversy out of such petty issues is not the job of good Muslims. To each, his own. Why should we point fingers? At all, but especially when we know they're travelling and earn their income through a sport which is very rigorous and tiring.

View attachment 91595

Why are we concerned about their commitment to Islam?

This reminds me of that thread where the lady was asking the players about how many rakats in Isha prayer.

Should we be using this forum to discuss their dedication to Islam and/or to discuss Cricket?

I have more respect for players who fast while playing, respect to Moeen Ali. If you break one fast you need to make up by fasting 60 more days. :moyo

View attachment 91595

I don’t think they should be doing this so openly. It’s hard on the people who are fasting. The old guy in the back might be fasting so it would have been difficult for him. When I used to go to college in New York, one of the student was eating next to me, the professor actually knew about it and asked the guy to eat outside. Respect :moyo

Even a normal person should not keep himself hungry and thirsty for 12+ hours. For a sportsman, it should be a deal breaker.
You can't say no one should. If you are not comfortable with it is your problem. You can avoid it. But you can't disrespect saying 'No one should'.

In international cricket the players don't fast.

Although I've heard that some do in domestic and club cricket.

The point is nobody can fast during ODI’s.

To stand 50 overs in the field and then bat and bowl isn’t an easy task to do.

It is very dangerous for your health.

Cape Town - Proteas star batsman Hashim Amla will be fasting during the Muslim holy month of Ramadan and revealed it is a "good mental and spiritual exercise".

Starting on May 6 this year, Muslims around the world, with some exemptions, fast from sunrise to sunset for a maximum of 30 days.

Amla told the ICC that he is delighted to be starting this year's Cricket World Cup in what he called the "best month of the year", the Muslim holy month of Ramadan.

"It really helps with my conditioning," Amla said, after South Africa's rain-affected, final warm-up match against West Indies in Bristol.

Amla scored 65 and an unbeaten 51 in the Proteas two warm-up games against Sri Lanka and West Indies this past weekend.

The Proteas will face England in the opening match of the World Cup on Thursday.

Play gets underway at 11:30 SA time.

South Africa's 2019 Cricket World Cup squad:

Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Rassie van der Dussen

https://www.sport24.co.za/Cricket/C...lishes-playing-at-cwc-during-ramadan-20190527

In international cricket the players don't fast.

Although I've heard that some do in domestic and club cricket.

I know for a fact that Ali and Rashid have fasted in the past for England, not sure about this year.

There are also some Pakistani and Bangladeshi players who have fasted, I know Muslim athletes in other fields who do too, including Mustafa Ali from the WWE and Mohammad Salah from Liverpool.

No idea where you got this idea that international cricketers do not fast.

He probably meant they don't fast on match days.

I know exactly what he meant and that is my reply. Certain players do fast, I explicitly remember Yousuf fasting, Inzy fasting and so on. They may not do so every single match but they have done so in the past. It is also why I mentioned two English stalwarts Ali and Rashid. Both of those brothers have also fasted in County games.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hashim Amla "fasting is something I always look forward to and it's the best month of the year for me" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ramadan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ramadan</a> <a href="https://t.co/usvgzkJ0jM">pic.twitter.com/usvgzkJ0jM</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1133331078742257664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 28, 2019</a></blockquote>

Players shouldnt be fasting especially in uk when fasts are upto 20 hours a day at the height of summer

Its hard enough doing a desk job and fasting never mind playing a sport like cricket

They can easily make it up in downtime when they arent playing

It's their personal business...and their relationship with God is their own...

North African footballers though seem to fast in what is a much more intense game...and tbh fans and managers prefer if they didn't...

For Villa there was quite a poignant moment where after the final in which he scored he gave an emotional speech speaking about how great it felt to take Villa to the Prem and how he hopes Allah forgives him for not fasting...as a fan I respect his decision either way but i'm happy we got the best version of him on the day...

He fasted in the semis, played well...then understandably tired and faded in the second half...

Not cricket related but my Spurs friends are hoping Salah will fast for the final...

It is not humanly possible to both fast for 18 plus hours and play a physical sport like cricket. They should use common sense and fast on days when they are not playing a match or once the World Cup is over

all of you guys mentioned travelling exemption; I am not sure the travelling exemption is valid in this case; I thought the travelling exemption is used only while you are travelling and once your travel is finished and you have reached destination and you are staying there for quite some time then the travelling exemption cannot be used.

For example I live in Canada; say I am going to Pakistan in Ramadan to stay there for 2 weeks. During my travel from Canada to Pakistan (15+ hours) I can use the travelling exemption. But once I reached Pakistan where I am going to stay for number of days, should I not fast and still use travelling exemption? It does not feel right.

What if you were going to Pakistan for 2 weeks. You arrive in Karachi the first day. Two days later you have to take the bus or fly to Multan. Next you go to Lahore, then Islamabad, and so on continuously while you were there. Would you consider yourself a traveler most of that time? There is a certain amount of distance you have to travel for yourself to be considered a traveler and cross-country travel will surely fit that description!

Today in my club match, it was absolutely boiling and one of our players was fasting and scored 82 despite having to have fielded 50 overs in 20+ degrees. Fair play!

I actually scored my second best score 70 when i was fasting in 30 degree heat chasing a big score against a very good club. It was a tie.

I have always played my best cricket when i am fasting.

Really? Amazing

Below is post (Posted by brother MIG in BD vs Saf match thread) Post match conference

Q. Just want to know from you, your middle order, it is one of the most experienced batting lineup in this competition. Do you think going forward in this tournament, this is Bangladesh's biggest strength, your middle order experienced batsmen that you have?
MASHRAFE MORTAZA: Yeah, hundred per cent. That is the best we have. I always said, like if you look the experience, I have Tamim and Shakib batting at three, Mushfiqur comes back at four -- batting at six for the depth; and the middle -- batting so well for us and even started slow today, and Soumya, he's coming out with -- something out the box. So it's really I think us and obviously No. 7 is always we are keep changing with Mosa and Mushfiqur and Sabbir Rahman.

I think really, it's a heavy batting lineup I think, and obviously I should say, I'm proud of Mushi and Miraz (ph), they are fasting and played at their best today.

MashAllah that's why they not disgraced like our lads seriously. Hamari dunya bhi gai akhirat bhi

One should not say that. Allah will pardon us for not fasting if there is more than enough valid reason to not fast. Some cricketers might not be able to fast and they can make it up by fsting later on. Also 8 of our cricketers were not fasting, what to say about that?