[VIDEOS] Shan Masood's average watch - when will he improve his stats?

KARACHI: Despite England’s defeat in the opening Test of the three-match West Indies series, Shan Masood has refused to tip Pakistan as favourites when the tourists come up against Joe Root’s side next month in their three-Test rubber.

Speaking to reporters here during an online Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) media conference from the national team’s base in Derby on Tuesday, the eloquent opening batsman admitted it’s very early days since the resumption of topflight international cricket, and hence, West Indies sealing a four-wicket win in the first Test at Southampton’s Ageas Bowl does not undermine England’s aspirations of bouncing back.

“I think [the result of] one match certainly doesn’t mean that England can’t get back into contention [against the West Indies]. We shouldn’t forget the fact that there was no competitive cricket over the past three months due to the novel coronavirus [Covid-19] situation anywhere in the world,” Shan underlined. “Obviously, they [England] struggled because they had not played since the series in South Africa at the start of the year and with county cricket, they couldn’t get the match practice, which does help a lot in getting rid of rustiness among the players.”

The 30-year-old Kuwait-born batsman, who had a good run in the previous eight Tests — averaging an impressive 44.57 while scoring two centuries since returning to the side during the tour of South Africa in 2018, said Pakistan are in an advantageous position in the sense they have earlier than usual because of the lockdown.

“We do have the advantage of monitoring England’s progress in the West Indies series and assess the strong and weak links of their squad. No matter how often you tour a country, the biggest challenge is to get acclimatise to the alien conditions, which can change dramatically in England once the overhead conditions get cloudy and atmosphere quite damp,” Shan remarked.

“This is where the true value of preparations is assessed. Regardless of the fact we aren’t going to play against the counties in the lead-up to the Tests, I still think we can prepare much better in the intra-squad matches because of the competiveness. If we had been playing against the counties, it wouldn’t have done much good because the opposing teams are basically second XIs in most cases.

“And since there will be stiff competition for places for the Tests among our own squad, you can imagine the level of preparations. But having said that we certainly cannot afford to get complacent because we’ll be up against a very good England side, particularly in the pace bowling department because there at least eight of them competing for three sports.

“Mark my word, we will not be taking the likes of James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad and Chris Woakes lightly. All of them are proven performers and we have to be prepared well enough to tackle them.”

Shan, who has scored 1,189 runs at 31.28 in 20 Tests with three centuries, said the tour has started very well for the Pakistan side and the time since arriving in England have been spent in doing much-needed training to make up for the lack of competitive cricket since the advent of Covid-19.

“We are now starting the second phase of preparations for the Tests here in Derby where facilities are first-rate just like we had in Worcester. Our training had gone very well in the first phase after going through the quarantine period as required by the ECB in the wake of Covid-19 pandemic,” Shan said.

“We are greatly indebted to the ECB and the administration of Worcestershire county for looking after the Pakistan squad in the best possible way in this bio-secure environment. Apart from the training sessions we really enjoyed the time out during which we also played scenario matches and had the luxury of practising on the main pitches.

“The [training] sessions we had were par excellence and the backroom staff went out of the way to make sure each and every player get ample opportunities, whether it was the physical training or batting, bowling and the fielding drills. So I can say that we are leaving no room in terms of our hard preparations before the Test series starts, particularly after spending three months back home in complete lockdown.”

Shan — who had to undergo a harrowing phase when he only played 12 Tests in more than four years while averaging a poor 23.54 — revealed that he never got disheartened as regards his time in international cricket in those early years.

“One can never predict how your career will pan out. Sometimes whatever you do in uncontrollable because everything hinges on the luck. In my case I’ll be the first to raise my hand and say ‘the performance in those 12 Tests were far from my liking’ and the reason for that is probably my own undoing,” he stressed.

“Maybe I was not in the right frame to be playing at the highest level. The best lesson in this situation is how you bounce back through sustained efforts. On the way your graph will definitely improve. Fore me the team always comes first because our collective goal is to ensure Pakistan become a top side.

“Being an opener I know what my role is, to make sure together with my partner [currently Abid Ali] we get Pakistan off to a decent start. I’m here to give my best and help the team do well on a consistent basis after two forgetful appearances in 2016 [he mustered only 71 runs in two Tests before being dumped]. If we take a look at other teams and how they keep on playing good cricket consistently, it is pure because of unity in the ranks. And being a team sport, it is no secret really to point out that winning is always a good habit and that’s our main goal — to be very good at all times….,” Shan signed off.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1569036/r...thampton-not-to-make-pakistan-favourites-shan

Wish him all the best and hope he delivers something special on this tour, but otherwise my gut feeling is we may have another Hafeez in the making - Shan will probably be playing for the next 15 years and will earn the status of ‘senior’ player at some point who adds experience to the top order , possibly may even go on and captain Pakistan — that part is for sure , the only question mark is if he will still be averaging in 20s and mid 30s when he earns that Hafeez like legendary status in Pakistan cricket.

I think this is a crucial tour for Shan. If he performs big, his place will be secured in the team. If he continues to be inconsistent, the questions will remain.

A lot of posters are very happy if Shan scores a couple of 30s against decent teams mixed with a hundred against a weak opposition at home. In fact, these fans go further and suggest Shan should be captain. You have to ask yourself why.

In my view, the answer is sadly within the underlying flaws in South Asian culture. People in South Asia see those who can speak fluent English, without the desi accent, as a superior being. It's all about the systemic racism in this society, where being a white person is seen as an achievement in itself. Just look at the obsession in South Asia about having fair skin, for example.

In my view, I frankly don't care if the captain can't speak a word of English. That's not his job. No other team in the world selects their captain based on their fluency in speaking foreign languages.

What matters is the players' ability, not the balance of daddy's bank account. Players who speak like Shan come from very privileged backgrounds and in a country full of those who don't have, to discriminate against people based on their wealth seems crazy to me.

A lot of posters are very happy if Shan scores a couple of 30s against decent teams mixed with a hundred against a weak opposition at home. In fact, these fans go further and suggest Shan should be captain. You have to ask yourself why.

A couple of 30s against decent teams and a hundred against a weak opposition - isn’t that exactly what Hafeez has been doing for about 20 years and made a ‘successful’ career for himself out of it - he’s clearly broken the myth that fans like myself used to foolishly believe that you had to be cricketers of the calibre of Imran Khan, Javed Miandad, Wasim Akram to have careers lasting 20 years at the top level.

Yes I agree Hafeez has made a career through mediocrity. But most fans accept that's what Hafeez is - mediocre. But those same fans reserve a special place for Shan. If Shan spoke in the same accent as the rest of the team, they'd be uninterested in him. You have to ask yourself why.

I think this is a crucial tour for Shan. If he performs big, his place will be secured in the team. If he continues to be inconsistent, the questions will remain.

In my view, the answer is sadly within the underlying flaws in South Asian culture. People in South Asia see those who can speak fluent English, without the desi accent, as a superior being. It's all about the systemic racism in this society, where being a white person is seen as an achievement in itself. Just look at the obsession in South Asia about having fair skin, for example.

In my view, I frankly don't care if the captain can't speak a word of English. That's not his job. No other team in the world selects their captain based on their fluency in speaking foreign languages.

What matters is the players' ability, not the balance of daddy's bank account. Players who speak like Shan come from very privileged backgrounds and in a country full of those who don't have, to discriminate against people based on their wealth seems crazy to me.

Superb post.

As one of those people who are advocating Shan for the (Test) captaincy, let me explain why. It is not because he speaks English.

The fact is, where Shan first played for Pakistan, he was a barely a club level player. It was so obvious that his game was not suitable to the international level, that it became ridiculous he was given so many chances. I would go far as saying he was the lowest quality batsman I have seen play for Pakistan over the last two decades. The likes of Faisal Iqbal/ Imran Farhat/ Awais Zia/ Kamran Akmal etc had far more ability than he did.

It was abundantly clear he was in the team due to his connections, which made him even less likeable. From the reports he would get preferential treatment, extra time in the nets etc.

However, something changed and when he made his comeback in the South Africa series, I was instantly sold. I know he didn't get a big score - that's not the point. Shan went from looking like a club level batsmen struggling in the UAE to looking a class apart on tough South African pitches against a rampaging attack.

So why should he be captain? A lot of players use connections to get into the team but Shan clearly also used them to improve his game. He was not satisfied with merely playing, he used whatever resources he had at his disposal and took his game to another level. His attitude and work ethic are brilliant. He carries himself well and has exemplary fitness. He stays clear of controversy and has shown to be a thinking cricketer in interviews. In the PSL, he showed that despite not being suited to the format, he was able to lead an average squad very well and outperform every other team.

And he is the perfect age. At 30 years old, he is about to enter the peak of his career. Allowing him to be the Test captain for the next few years will help take the pressure off Babar, who can hone his captaincy skills in limited overs cricket and continue his role as the key batsmen in all formats. Shan is also a Test specialist so he can focus all his attention on a building a team which inevitably is about to go through a transition as we move from Azhar, Shafiq and Yasir to younger players.

I agree with you that this is a crucial tour for Shan. Because no matter how good he appears to have become - none of that matters if he can't score the runs to back it up. He has been given a couple of series to get back into things and he must now perform on this tour. If he is poor, then Imam will certainly take his place. If he excels and Azhar fails - we may well see a changing of the guard. If Misbah has any sense.

Shan averages 45 since his return and he also performed decently in South Africa and Australia where he averaged close to 40.

He is somebody who got dropped , did not make a fuss , worked on his game and come back an improved player in all conditions.

Not every body comes in to international cricket and hits the ground running , some fai , fail again and then comeback and succeed.

Shan’s career is on the upward trajectory at the moment . England tour is crucial for him as he will have some scars from his previous time here .

Some people just hate for the sake of it .

He gets the most important part of the innings done, he sees off the new ball most of the time. He though needs to increase that average.

Big series for him in which he needs to score considering his opening partner will be on his first big away tour. Shan needs runs under his belt and needs to find consistency. Looking at his age and errors of dismissals, you wouldn't be surprised if he failed and dropped out of the Test setup.

So far, he's very overrated. Most Pakistani fans treat him as he's Saeed Anwar, when in fact Shan has had 2-3 good knocks after 35+ innings

Strange obsession Pakistani's have with batsmen who speak English well. To name a few; Ramiz Raja, Salman Butt, Azhar Ali, now Shan Masood

Shan averages 45 since his return and he also performed decently in South Africa and Australia where he averaged close to 40.

He is somebody who got dropped , did not make a fuss , worked on his game and come back an improved player in all conditions.

Not every body comes in to international cricket and hits the ground running , some fai , fail again and then comeback and succeed.

Shan’s career is on the upward trajectory at the moment . England tour is crucial for him as he will have some scars from his previous time here .

Some people just hate for the sake of it .

He averaged about 30 in Auz and SA - that isn't decent

He averages 40 because he scored centuries against the two weakest opponents he faced; Sri Lanka and Bangladesh on very flat wicket. He generally averages around 20-30 runs against strong opponents

Definitely got a lot to prove on his tour, so far all his selection is unearned

He averaged about 30 in Auz and SA - that isn't decent

He averages 40 because he scored centuries against the two weakest opponents he faced; Sri Lanka and Bangladesh on very flat wicket. He generally averages around 20-30 runs against strong opponents

Definitely got a lot to prove on his tour, so far all his selection is unearned

39 in Aus
38 in SA

He doesn't average about 30 in Aus and SA

He's a very useful top order player, who can bat time and see off the new ball. But on this tour he needs to prove he can cement his place properly with some substantial scores and innings in tough conditions, then I will be completely assured that he deserves his place.

Considering his recent progression as well as form, he will be one of the key batsman against Eng for Pak. Hopefully he has worked on his issues against Anderson as he is the kind of bowler who is gonna exploit any technical issues against him. Shan obviously is a different player since he last played Anderson so hopefully he can negotiate him well.

Seeing off the first 10 overs atleast would be the key in every innings and then building upon that afterwards.

I was very skeptical of Shan Masood's return in 2018/19, however what's impressed me is that he's a thinking cricketer who analyses and works hard on his game unlike many Pakistani batsmen.

He went away with Gary Palmer, who was Alastair Cook's old batting coach, and looks far more assured against pace now than he did five years ago when he was heading Jimmy Anderson's 78mph thunderbolts Emile Heskey style onto the stumps in UAE.

After Babar, we need Masood to step up and put runs on the board from the opening slot. Maybe they play him at 3. Azhar and Shafiq are getting long in the tooth and for some reason haven’t been able to step up into the shoes of Misbah and Khan as would’ve been expected. So right now anything big from them is unexpected and great but aren’t contributors beyond their averages. The other opener slot is still up for grabs.

Big series for him. Needs to support Babar and see off the new ball.

PCB has invested in him - time to start re-paying the faith.

Agreed about speaking language but I think hes done okay but he does need a big series to cerment his place atm questions stil remain thou

Shan needs a big series here pakistan has given him more than enough chances and has performed okay

Big series for him. Needs to support Babar and see off the new ball.

PCB has invested in him - time to start re-paying the faith.

Needs to do a lot more than just to see off the new ball

39 in Aus
38 in SA

He doesn't average about 30 in Aus and SA

Thank you !! As I mentioned he averaged close to 40 in South Africa and Australia which is decent ! Some people just hate for the sake of it with out looking at stats .

Jesus Christ I find it quiet remarkable that a thread which is meant to dissect a players performance and potential etc that instead there is talk of fair skin and what not, get a grip :facepalm: lol

I was very skeptical of Shan Masood's return in 2018/19, however what's impressed me is that he's a thinking cricketer who analyses and works hard on his game unlike many Pakistani batsmen.

He went away with Gary Palmer, who was Alastair Cook's old batting coach, and looks far more assured against pace now than he did five years ago when he was heading Jimmy Anderson's 78mph thunderbolts Emile Heskey style onto the stumps in UAE.

Heskey style headers :))) POTW , Alan Shearer would also be proud of Shans performance in that series, that aside I agree with your view; one thing you can't take away is the guys work ethic, he has also spent a bit of time playing university level cricket in England which is of a high quality with some teams like lboro having FC status, he did struggle a lot in those days but you work hard to iron out their flaws and you can't pick a better coach then Gary who am sure the ECB probably didn't take kindly to when Cook used him opposed to their services but he results spoke for themselves

Guy is very hard working, a consummate professional and probably the fittest player in the team. He is also one of the most coached players ever so I’m sure his understanding must be good.

However, I just don’t think he has it in him to be a top level player. I saw him play in Karachi where he scored a century but he really had to labor for those runs and got them majority behind the wicket rather than playing dominating controlled shots despite the favorable conditions. Abid Ali on the other hand was breeding through his runs and seemed to be on a different pitch facing different bowlers.

He had a huge heart and in a beat case scenario he can graft and stick around to get 30-50s to give us good starts in England but I think that really is his ceiling.

So far, he's very overrated. Most Pakistani fans treat him as he's Saeed Anwar, when in fact Shan has had 2-3 good knocks after 35+ innings

Strange obsession Pakistani's have with batsmen who speak English well. To name a few; Ramiz Raja, Salman Butt, Azhar Ali, now Shan Masood

No pakistan fan rates him as Saeed Anwar. Where are you even getting this from

Yeah, they do. He's been a lock in the Test team for quite some time now, and he was a front-runner for captaincy for Tests/ODI before the Babar/Azhar decision. Captaincy!

Meanwhile hes yet to even average 40+ in a series

Like it or not - he will be the opener who will stay on for the longest on the crease for Pakistan in this series.

Yeah, they do. He's been a lock in the Test team for quite some time now, and he was a front-runner for captaincy for Tests/ODI before the Babar/Azhar decision. Captaincy!

Meanwhile hes yet to even average 40+ in a series

no they dont. stop making things up

yes people may have propped him up for captaincy but the reasons for that are different

Shan 2 has performed well starting from SA series Hopefully he will improve on his performances further in this series.

Usman what a wonderful and beautiful post, agree with you wholeheartedly and hit the nail right onto the head. Though just to point out in Shan's defence, or perhaps rather in some of the posters who tout Shan as future captain.

A captain has to be someone who is able to hold his nerves in pressure situations, someone measured, calm and cool in their approach. Some of pakistan's most successful captains have been the ones who have this measured / calm characteristic. (Misbah, Inzamam (never spoke much of english except boys played well), imran khan, mushtaq mohammed)

I think it is this measured, calm persona which he carries gives some people a sign or mark of a leader. Someone who is able to hold things together when its all falling apart

I am surely not saying that this sort of an approach or characteristic turn out to be the best leaders. But cricket is such a game that see saws by the hour, immensely strategic and mind game of nature. In such a game, a calm and cool, measured approach character allows you to be able to take decisions when under immense pressure.

Also in fairness to Babar he is exactly the same, very calm, measured. So should Shan be skipper when you have babar azam captaining ODI and T20?. I think not, even though Babar doesnt speak as eloquently as Shan in English, he does portray that calm confident assured characteristic

as for fluency in other languages, being fluent in more than one language does reflect some sort of smartness. Not a required thing that a skipper of a cricket team or any sport should be fluent in more than one language, but I am sure being smart is (This is in support of posters who advocate for Shan to be captain - perhaps it is this smartness bit that they see and support shan to lead PCT in future)

As for daddy bank balance - unfortunately unfortunately that bank balance has given him exposure at a young age to be in Durham for his under grad. liaising with various people, communicating with people from different backgrounds, therefore honing his skills, compared to a boy who hasn't seen much except his own country, which by no means I suggest is a bad thing or he cannot be as good as Shaan. But travel does give you an awful lot of learning and gives him an unfair advantage over someone who hasn't been privileged enough to get the same experience.

Plus he hasn't felt fear or insecurity due to this privilege, which allows him to come across as much more assured, measured and confident, as well as taking decisions without any fear or insecurity. Now majority of the other players unfortunately are pretty much responsible for running the whole households and that is where insecurity, fear of losing job, earnings come in to play and therefore we witness their decisions undermined with fear and insecurity, coming across as insecure and not confident enough.

And besides having said all of the above, true test of character comes when everything is going wrong, are you able to portray nerves of steel? Even misbah who is immensely calm succumbed under pressure and lost his cool (kya rocket launcher chaladoon on tuk tuk), so one can only speculate how would Shan react when our fantastic pakistani fans will criticise the hell out of him, how would he manage.

Guy is very hard working, a consummate professional and probably the fittest player in the team. He is also one of the most coached players ever so I’m sure his understanding must be good.

However, I just don’t think he has it in him to be a top level player. I saw him play in Karachi where he scored a century but he really had to labor for those runs and got them majority behind the wicket rather than playing dominating controlled shots despite the favorable conditions. Abid Ali on the other hand was breeding through his runs and seemed to be on a different pitch facing different bowlers.

He had a huge heart and in a beat case scenario he can graft and stick around to get 30-50s to give us good starts in England but I think that really is his ceiling.

Said this.

Maintain this.

He was lucky today

You make your own luck.

his concentrations levels are good and seems to be mentally tough

i am sure if Shafiq got the same edges and struggle at start he would have been back in the pavilion soon

He was lucky on a couple of occasions but like someone above said, you make your own luck. He has been unlucky many times in the past when he was when settled.

He averaged 2.5 runs against Jimmy Anderson last time Pakistan toured England... So already you can see the improvement Shan has made.

He is a gritty batsman, who doesn't look pretty but he fights it out in the middle and makes the opposition work hard to get his wicket.

At this stage in career and given his talent level, his avg will at best go up by 3-4 runs.
He will never dominate any attack but he can hopefully hold the fort and play good support roles for few years as Imam and others develop

He is very similar to Rory Burns.

There's nothing wrong with being a less talented version of Alastair Cook - a hard worker who makes it hard for ther bowler to get him out.

He was lucky on a couple of occasions but like someone above said, you make your own luck. He has been unlucky many times in the past when he was when settled.

He averaged 2.5 runs against Jimmy Anderson last time Pakistan toured England... So already you can see the improvement Shan has made.

He is a gritty batsman, who doesn't look pretty but he fights it out in the middle and makes the opposition work hard to get his wicket.

The appointment of Younis khan as batting coach is a blessing for shan and players like him who are not super talented but are willing to work harder and improve their game

If he can grit it out like this in South Africa and England, two of the most difficult places to open the batting in the world then I have no doubt that he will cash in with both hands at home. He already showed that with the centuries against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. I think he can easily take that average to 40, which is the standard for a good opener.

Good thing about Shan is that he has the fitness to play another 7-8 years, if he keeps performing. By all accounts he seems like one of the most self-aware cricketers in the world who is constantly analyzing how he can get better. And if you have that kind of dedication, focus and clarity of thinking you can go a long way in this game. Talent becomes irrelevant after a certain point anyway.

One good thing about him is that he gets a difficult job done for the team done, quite consistently. I'm not sure about his ability to score big but I am sure that with more consistent scoring batsmen you cant get the job done as consistently as him. He sees of the new ball and this makes sure that you team is not 3 for 30 every now and then.
As a whole he contributes to the team and definitely his contribution can never be ignored. Though don't know how long can he keep doing this.

I'm surprised. Shocked.

Shan Masood has played more than 32 Test innings. When has he ever looked convincing enough?

Can't remember the last time he scored anything substantial.

As far as I can tell, this is the longest rope given to any Test opener in Pakistan, in a really long time.

He hasn't delivered. Time for Abid Ali.

Hahahahahaha.

As usual this poster is wrong.

Wrong about EVERYTHING.

Any words for Shan Masood?

Shan Masood is playing shots in front of the wicket!!!! :O

Boy he must be batting confidently now

The burger bacha who was riddiculed and humiliated for being born with a silver spoon, privillege, being highly educated, its so pleasing to see the lad prove that your background doesn't matter if you have the work ethic to strive to improve.

Best way Shan can prove his detractors wrong and that’s by scoring a daddy hundred in England against an attack led by two of the highest wicket takers in the history of the game in their own back yard under cloudy skies. Great to see him perform and show he’s not just a sifarish player. Now we just need a strong partner at the other end and no3

This is a superstar innings. May be a match winning one.

All the hype on Babar, but this is as good as any innings Babar has played, if not better.

Hahahahahaha.

Wrong about EVERYTHING.

Misbah fans for you. Inept analysis on every matter of cricket. There was another Misbah fan who claimed scoring 250 off 900 balls was better than 300 off 350 balls.

[MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] you've been shown up for your lack of credibility on cricket analysis once again. Time to eat your words and be humble for once. Admit you were so far off the mark on Shan.

He is an insanely hard worker.

He reached out to every possible expert under the sun who would give his time in order to understand and improve his game.

If some of our other batsmen over the years had even half his drive and work ethic they would’ve been greats.

An exceptionally good knock today.

About time he finally starts improving his woeful stats. Looks like the question is being answered now!

Is this finally the moment he can turn around his game completely and start scoring? Or a lone case?

Let's see! But excellent contribution today, finally.

Hahahahahaha.

Wrong about EVERYTHING.

Hmm, so you were hiding in a cave when he was as bad as a tailender all these years, for more than 20 Tests?

And when he finally scores an exceptional knock after 20 Tests, you wake up. Nice.

Only time will tell if he can continue this or go back to his usual self.

Hmm, so you were hiding in a cave when he was as bad as a tailender all these years, for more than 20 Tests?

And when he finally scores an exceptional knock after 20 Tests, you wake up. Nice.

Only time will tell if he can continue this or go back to his usual self.

Shan has been averaging 45 since he returned to test cricket 18 months ago . This Included an average of 38 in South Africa and 39 in Australia , and then two tons in his last two games and now the big 100 in this match .

So how can you say he has been batting like a tail ender for over 20 tests ? His form in the last 7-8 matches has been exceptional.

Shan has been averaging 45 since he returned to test cricket 18 months ago . This Included an average of 38 in South Africa and 39 in Australia , and then two tons in his last two games and now the big 100 in this match .

So how can you say he has been batting like a tail ender for over 20 tests ? His form in the last 7-8 matches has been exceptional.

Those flukey 30s and 40s weren't good knocks.

Today and yesterday was a positive change, you'd hope that he can continue this and get close to averaging 40 as an opener.

An exceptionally good knock today.

About time he finally starts improving his woeful stats. Looks like the question is being answered now!

Is this finally the moment he can turn around his game completely and start scoring? Or a lone case?

Let's see! But excellent contribution today, finally.

He has been scoring since he returned so it’s not a lone case . So I would say he already has turned his game around especially after he performed decently in the away tours of Australia and South Africa and then 3 tons in his last 3 matches is the icing on the cake .

53 now.

jvcWLid.png

Brilliant innings against a world class attack always said shan and his technique and determination will help pakistan.hard work over talent anyday.powers of concentration from masood

36 and 39 are good avgs? His avg is bumped by avging 100 and 150 against BD and SL.

He played a blinder today. But to say he was good before is misrepresentation of facts.

I actually brought in to the whole 'Shan Masood is in the side due to his connections' for a while until I saw him bat in South Africa. Gritty, determined and a very good temperament. While there might be some truth to those previously mentioned theories (no smoke without fire...), here's a guy willing to learn, expand and come back stronger, all the qualities you want from an opening batsmen, and from all cricketers and sportsmen to be honest. He also does the job of seeing off the new ball in foreign conditions, how many of our recent test openers can attest to that?

Played an exceptional innings of note today, fair enough he had luck but he made it count! Possibly a match winnings innings, something even Babar has not been able to do as of yet in test cricket.

I also think that he might be a good candidate for the test captaincy if he continues to perform in such a manner, Babar needs more time to establish himself in test cricket and Azhars well past it as a batsmen and therefore his captaincy stint can't be far from the end regardless of what he achieves in this series.

I actually brought in to the whole 'Shan Masood is in the side due to his connections' for a while until I saw him bat in South Africa. Gritty, determined and a very good temperament. While there might be some truth to those previously mentioned theories (no smoke without fire...), here's a guy willing to learn, expand and come back stronger, all the qualities you want from an opening batsmen, and from all cricketers and sportsmen to be honest. He also does the job of seeing off the new ball in foreign conditions, how many of our recent test openers can attest to that?

Played an exceptional innings of note today, fair enough he had luck but he made it count! Possibly a match winnings innings, something even Babar has not been able to do as of yet in test cricket.

I also think that he might be a good candidate for the test captaincy if he continues to perform in such a manner, Babar needs more time to establish himself in test cricket and Azhars well past it as a batsmen and therefore his captaincy stint can't be far from the end regardless of what he achieves in this series.

Agreed its between babar and shan for test captincy shan seems level headed and detirmed babar should stick to captioning odis and t20s

36 and 39 are good avgs? His avg is bumped by avging 100 and 150 against BD and SL.

He played a blinder today. But to say he was good before is misrepresentation of facts.

Averages of 38 in Australia and 39 in South Africa are decent averages and shows the improvements he made to his game when he returned . How is that a misrepresentation of facts . They were tough away tours and he could have easily wilted if it was the old Shan masood.

We also must not dismiss his 100s against SL and Bangladesh. Whilst they were in favourable conditions he made hay in the sun just like others did as well .

It’s typical of some posters on here , we don’t appreciate some players just because he might not fit their criteria of a good player .

Averages of 38 in Australia and 39 in South Africa are decent averages and shows the improvements he made to his game when he returned . How is that a misrepresentation of facts . They were tough away tours and he could have easily wilted if it was the old Shan masood.

We also must not dismiss his 100s against SL and Bangladesh. Whilst they were in favourable conditions he made hay in the sun just like others did as well .

It’s typical of some posters on here , we don’t appreciate some players just because he might not fit their criteria of a good player .

He avgd 36 in SA not 38 and 36 isnt good for a top order batsman neither is 39. I am nit dismissing anything. I am only saying before this innings he didnt do much of note.

Struasse averages 40 in tests that's after so many games shan is just starting his career

He did in fact average 38 - https://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?id=12339;type=series -

Not like that was incredible at the time, however, name an opener in Pakistan who would have averaged anything close? Fakhar? Imam? Shezhad? Abid? Manzoor? Even Babar averaged 36 for us on that tour.

Those flukey 30s and 40s weren't good knocks.

Today and yesterday was a positive change, you'd hope that he can continue this and get close to averaging 40 as an opener.

He did not just score 30s.and 40s only, he also scored 75 in South Africa, and two 100s in Pakistan to name few,before this brilliant knock.

I thought he looked very shaky in the first day and got really lucky but today was much better and more in control. He made England pay for giving him those chances and played a fantastic knock today. Kudos to him.

I have certainly been doubtful about his comeback but this was great to see and hopefully he can keep it up.

An utterly OUTSTANDING knock. I have been one of the biggest doubters of Masood because I have always felt that with his First Class and Test record, he shouldn't be in the team. However his 150 has been a true masterclass in batting, especially coming in the first innings of the first test.

Bravo Shan bravo! Long may your success continue!

Pakistan attack is more variety were England's attack isnt
shan faced a world class seam attack in these conditions with two bowlers havving 1100 wickets btw them. He also faced an off spinner turning the ball away from him on a dry pitch with turn and bounce.
This was a stupendous innings, and one that very few could have played.
Shan is limited but he has a good technique, is really smart upstairs and has the power shots when needing to up the gear.
On the other hand, burns is also limited but on top of that has a funny technique where his front foot goes so across the line, making everything complicated.

So

When you aren't good enough, some flukes will still happen. Where you WILL score.

But

The ducks and low scores will balance out all the average to a meagre 30s.

And it's shocking how this guy has "fans" despite having a woeful technique. Just because he can speak great English.

Let's see if he can manage another decent score.

and to think posters here were making him the captain, how personal coach should coach otherrs.
He got away with drop catches last time.

and to think posters here were making him the captain, how personal coach should coach otherrs.
He got away with drop catches last time.
This. Its senseless. A player cements his spot over a year or two of solid performances. Captaincy comes way down the line.

Our fans are so thick sometimes it's unreal.

Rohit Sharma would have never become a star in Pakistan. The fans would have killed his confidence in his first 3-4 average years.

Not surprised to see two of Misbah's long standing fans bashing Shan again.

It wasn't a fluke or a one-off. He's averaged 38-40 in Australia and South Africa as well. During the latter tour, Graeme Smith in the comm. box mentioned him as Pakistan's best batsman during that tour. He's been Pakistan's second best batsman over the last 18 months or so.

Facing the new Duke cherry in England isn't easy, so you can't expect him to score 50+ in every innings during this series.