[VIDEOS] The Talent Spotter : Azeem Ghumman

Saj

Today I had the pleasure of speaking to young starlet Azeem Ghumman.

Azeem is an 18 year old right handed opening batsman and was born in Hyderabad, Sind.

Azeem for those of you who are not aware plays for Sui Southern Gas Corporation and he was today announced as the Under 19 captain for the forthcoming triangular series in Sri Lanka with Bangladesh as the other opponents for a series that commences on 25th November.

In 17 matches in first class cricket he has already scored 1415 runs at an average of nearly 49. Included in those 1415 runs are 5 centuries and 4 half centuries, including 183 against Lahore Shalilmar, a couple of days ago.

Here's what Azeem had to say to me.

"I dont believe in trying to smash the bowling everywhere right from the start of an innings. I like to assess the conditions, look at how the wicket is playing and what the bowlers are doing. In Twenty/20 cricket I like to give myself one over to settle at the crease and in 50 over cricket I give myself a few overs at the crease to settle".

"I got interested in cricket when as a 5 or 6 year old I would watch the great PIA team and I wanted to emulate the way they played the game. I started playing cricket in school and my big break came when trials were held in Hyderabad in 2003. I still recall how I turned up late at the trials with my green pads and green batting gloves, but very little other equipment. It nearly ended before it began for me, because I was told that I wouldn't get the chance to bat as I was too late".

"Shoaib Mohammed, the former Pakistan and PIA opening batsman was in charge of the trials and after some pleading and discussions I was told that I could face a few of the bowlers that were also at the trials. When I started to bat, I remember how Shoaib came over and started to watch me. After I had finished my batting stint, he came over to me and said "MashAllah Hyderabad is producing such talent". It was a huge boost for my confidence".

"I was then selected for the Hyderabad regional team and in my first season I scored a century and a half century. Word had got back to Sui Southern Gas Corporation about me and they asked me to go and play for them after my first season for Hyderabad. However I decided that I would play another season for Hyderabad, as I felt that my chances may have been limited at Sui Southern Gas Corporation and I wanted to establish myself at Hyderabad. During my time at Hyderabad I scored a record 326 runs in one innings in an Under 19 inter regional match".

"After my second season at Hyderabad I was again asked by Sui Southern Gas Corporation to play for them. There was also interest from other departmental teams like KRL and others, but I opted for SSGC and I have been really pleased in playing for them".

"My favourite player at the moment is Ricky Ponting. I really like the way he bats and I model my batting on Ricky. You could say I'm not your usual Pakistani batsman because a lot of the boys in domestic cricket rely on front froot strokes, but my strength is my back foot shots. I really lilke to cut and pull and I dont rely on just my front foot shots. I strongly believe that to succeed in international cricket around the world, you need to have the ability to play strokes off the back foot".

"Being asked to captain my country at under 19 level in the upcoming tri series in Sri Lanka is a huge honour for me and I am so proud especially given that there is an international player in our squad. We have a good squad with exciting talent like Ahmed Shehzad and Usman Qadir. Its a busy time for the under 19 team with the World Cup taking place early next year and I'm really looking forward to that tournament".

"I like to set myself goals. There is no point in playing professional sport if you dont have an aim and dont set yourself targets. I have set myself the goal of InshAllah playing for Pakistan within 2 years and I hope and pray that I can do that".

Sometimes you talk to young players and you think does this lad actually have the desire to play for his country. Does he sound like he really means what he is saying.

Make no mistake, from the passion and desire in Azeem's voice I could tell that this lad will play for Pakistan. He meant what he was saying, he had that hunger in his voice, he has the sole aim of succeeding at the highest level.

We'll catch up with Azeem after the team returns from the tri series in Sri Lanka and then I'll do a full interview with him after the Under 19 World Cup.

By the way Azeem is an avid reader of PakPassion and was looking forward to be added to PakPassion's talent spotter section.

My best wishes to Azeem in Sri Lanka and I wish him all the best for the future, which I think will be a very bright one.

• AzeemGhumman.jpg
    AzeemGhumman.jpg
    180.5 KB · Views: 750
Azeem with a familiar face and one whose footsteps he will be looking to follow.

• UmarAkmalAzeemghumman.jpg
    UmarAkmalAzeemghumman.jpg
    177.6 KB · Views: 704
I am curious..where are all these photos taken? Many of them seem to have a similar background. Looks like some sort of office.

tdigi said:
I am curious..where are all these photos taken? Many of them seem to have a similar background. Looks like some sort of office.

Its the dungeon where Saj keeps all the players he wants to play for Pakistan.

Saw this guy in RBS T20. He certainly doesn't have hollow stats. He's a classy player much like Faisal Athar, but unlike Athar, Ghumman will play more for Pakistan.

I think its nice to see talent surfacing from all over the country, especially Hyderabad. PCB have done an awful job maintaining grounds in other cities, so it says a lot about guys who persist through an awful system.

Nice to here from him.

Poison said:
Its the dungeon where Saj keeps all the players he wants to play for Pakistan.

:)) ..and he lures them out with a PP shirt?

if he plays anything like he plays for me in icc captain 2009 then he will be the greatest batsman the world has ever seen!
i'll post a screenshot of his stats later but the guy isi just invincible in icc 2009

His batting technique is very much similar to Sarfraz Ahmed very nice and compact ,yet to see him on green tops.

Abdul Qadir said on tv not so long ago that "Azeem is technically the best young batsman in Pakistan cricket".

Saj said:
Abdul Qadir said on tv not so long ago that "Azeem is technically the best young batsman in Pakistan cricket".

WOW.

Heard a lot about this kid. Lets see what he does in the rest of QEA trophy and on the tours to SL. Hopefully he will captain the team in WC also.

Saj said:

Wow!..;-)
Sounds like he is a great player.Looking forward to watch him play.One of the many players I'm intrigued about.:D

Azeem is a very, very talented fella, I have big hopes for him...love his style

Guys: This is a serious thread about one of the better talents that Pakistan has - its best that we stick to the topic at hand.

PS I have deleted unnecessary posts

SAJ, as you told, he is a very keen reader of pak passion, I have a suggestion, why not to request him for TOUR DIARY of up coming srilankan tour and we can have that under ghummans blog.

Golden arm said:
SAJ, as you told, he is a very keen reader of pak passion, I have a suggestion, why not to request him for TOUR DIARY of up coming srilankan tour and we can have that under ghummans blog.
Golden arm.

I like your suggestion, but bhai I dont think it would be fair on the lad, as he will have a lot on his plate, especially as he is captain for the first time.

What I will do though as I said before is to catch up with him after the tri series and get a review of that series and then do a full interview with him after the U19 World Cup in the new year.

btw many thanks to all the guys who sent PMs and emails to me, wishing Azeem all the best. I passed on your messages to him and he was very grateful.

ace_allrounder said:
LOL.Yeah he is.

BTW..Who's the international player he is talking about?
He was rereferring to Ahmed Shehzad who of course has played at senior level.

Good luck to Azeem and the boys in Sri Lanka for the tri series.

Is he a opener or middle order batsmen?

Long term planning and all that, could he replace any of the openers or take a spot in the middle order replacing Shoaib Malik/Misbah

Thanks Saj. Excellent interview, as ever.

Good to hear that Qadir rates his technical ability. Until our players learn the technique to play the moving ball, and playing every ball on its merit, we will always struggle at the highest level abroad.

I've been chatting with Azeem earlier today.

I will update you all on what he had to say later this evening.

Saj said:
I've been chatting with Azeem earlier today.

I will update you all on what he had to say later this evening.

I hope you asked him whether he has some good contacts in the PCB otherwise we'll all get excited over this talented youngster and then have our hearts broken in the end because he'll just be cast aside by the ridiculous PCB/TEAM MANAGEMENT...

Unless you have contacts, it seems you almost have to score hundreds or fifties in your first few international matches to ensure you retain your position!

Thanks Saj. Btw, I've been fascinated by his opening partner, the 15 year-old Babar Azam, who seemed to have performed admirably for the U19's. Could you possibly get some information on him from Azeem or schedule an interview? Or is it too young to be bothering a guy at such primitive age?

mindless slogging said:
Thanks Saj. Btw, I've been fascinated by his opening partner, the 15 year-old Babar Azam, who seemed to have performed admirably for the U19's. Could you possibly get some information on him from Azeem or schedule an interview? Or is it too young to be bothering a guy at such primitive age?
I'll be speaking to Babar soon ;-) and also Rameez Aziz :)

Azeem Ghumman seems to be in great form at the moment. He's scoring runs and scoring them against the top reserve bowlers in Pakistan. We have a low profile tournament coming up and I think this will be a great opportunity to test Azeem and have him open the innings along with Salman. A way to prep him for the long English summer.

he needs a sifarshi, until he gets one he's wasting his time. good luck, could be the future captain of our country

Inswinger said:
Azeem Ghumman seems to be in great form at the moment. He's scoring runs and scoring them against the top reserve bowlers in Pakistan. We have a low profile tournament coming up and I think this will be a great opportunity to test Azeem and have him open the innings along with Salman. A way to prep him for the long English summer.

Absolutely. I hope he gets a chance to represent Pakistan in the Asia Cup..and I mean a REAL chance to play and not just a chance to warm the bench or carry drinks.

absolutely. He has been a cool n calm customer n a good head. I hope we don't waste him!!

What happened to Azeem Ghumman?

i remember a few years a go this guy was talked to be the next big thing but is no where to be seen now. Anyone has any idea what this guy is upto?

Very well spoken .. has a FC average of 47, is he a candidate for tests anytime soon ?.

Looked prodigious at u19 level.

Him and Sharjeel were destructive opening pair.

Today, Sharjeel is facing spot fixing tribunal and no idea where Ghumman is, Probably enjoying life somewhere.

Azeem Ghumman scored 134* runs of 322 balls.

Azeem Ghumman finished on 142 off 335 balls not out as the match ended in a draw.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/EjOIW1yh5B4" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

Azeem Ghumman didn’t do enough justice to his talent. By now he should have been playing for Pakistan because of the amount of talent that he had. But he was consistently poor in all formats of the game. His opening partnership with Sharjeel was a sight to behold.

At Under 19 level this lad was very highly rated and regarded as a future star for Pakistan but it never quite happened for him. As others improved, he stayed at the same level.

He followed the Umar Akmal path after all.

One good score, out of many failures.

Also, average in the 30's in FC, so don't see much of a future for him, unless he scores a few more hundreds from here on in and in the next season.

But then again, selecting based on FC performances and FC averages is not the criteria, you just have to look good and have solid technique or something - just ask shafiq.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Video of Azeem Ghumman's 142* knock for his side KRL in the recent game against SNGPL in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Super 8 Stage <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/QEATrophy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#QEATrophy</a> <a href="https://t.co/T82xRIGHBy">pic.twitter.com/T82xRIGHBy</a></p>— PakPassion.net (@PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakPassion/status/1065897598853226497?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ezkzITX7B18" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

i remember when azeem ghumman, sherhyar ghani were supposed to be our saviors

Another name missing from Pakistan Cup - Azeem Ghumman, despite scoring 4 big hundreds this season.

Really odd from the PCB.

143* today in Round 2 of QEA!

Seems to have all been around in domestic cricket - one wonders how he would have done if he had been given a chance to shine at the international level?

Capture.JPG

[Before Round 2 of QEA]

Seems to have all been around in domestic cricket - one wonders how he would have done if he had been given a chance to shine at the international level?

View attachment 94924

[Before Round 2 of QEA]

On what basis would he have been given a chance? Doesn’t deserve to be anywhere near the national setup with a record like that.

Am sure some have played for Pakistan with similar records (or continue to play)

View attachment 94924

[Before Round 2 of QEA]

Was rated pretty highly in his younger days but just like Hammad Azam got drifted away and havent been able to get that breakthrough season.

Highly rated at Under 19 level but then fell away badly. 3 or 4 very poor seasons set him back.

Unfulfilled talent so far. Here's hoping his career is taking a turn for the better.

Azeem Ghumman 119 today in 3rd Round, Day 1 for Balochistan v Central Punjab