[VIDEOS] What now for Mohammad Hasnain?

What now for Mohammad Hasnain?

21 years of age, called for an illegal action, international career interrupted, PSL reputation dented.

How does he come back from this?

He is still a young guy. Needs to keep his chin up and study other bowlers who have gone through such issues early in their careers. Go to the basics, work with the coaches and iron out the other flaws he had as well and come back stronger.

There are number of bowlers who had their actions remodeled due to back injuries and they came out of it (Pat Cummins the biggest example). Hasnain's issue seems smaller in comparison as its more to do with technical side of the things then physical, just needs to put in the hard yards and get his action cleared as well as improved.

He should rectify and come back stronger than ever. Taskin ahmed is someone he cal look up to

If Hasnain is able to remodel his action and bowl at 5kph lesser, he'd still be able to thunder them at 145! Future is bright for him. All I hope is for him not to get bogged down, just go back to basics and come back stronger. Hope PCB provides full support to him at this juncture.

Nothing.

He is a poor bowler who always struggled against quality lineups in international cricket. He was an inferior version of Sami, nothing more.

He will be even worse with a remodeled action. Pakistan should not have any expectation from him.

It takes some time to fix his issues, he may be feeling low at this point of time, needs full support from coaching staff and pcb to get over this.

Nothing.

He is a poor bowler who always struggled against quality lineups in international cricket. He was an inferior version of Sami, nothing more.

He will be even worse with a remodeled action. Pakistan should not have any expectation from him.

It’s amazing how you can emerge from the wilderness whenever Pakistan cricket suffers some kind of setback

Hes done.....

Very rare for bowlers to make a comeback with a remodeled action. Majority of them are bot even as effective.

Hes done.....

Very rare for bowlers to make a comeback with a remodeled action. Majority of them are bot even as effective.

If his action deteriorated recently - then he can definitely make a comeback. Remember Flintoff.

But if his action was dodgy all along - then it wud be difficult. Muscle memory is difficult to change. In that case PCB coaches and umpires deserve full blame

It’s amazing how you can emerge from the wilderness whenever Pakistan cricket suffers some kind of setback

Well, Pakistan cricket must be in the midst of a full-blown crisis if this is deemed as a setback. He is a nothing bowler.

If we cannot replace him then we should accept that Shaheen is the only world class fast bowler at our disposal right now.

Well, Pakistan cricket must be in the midst of a full-blown crisis if this is deemed as a setback. He is a nothing bowler.

If we cannot replace him then we should accept that Shaheen is the only world class fast bowler at our disposal right now.

Just like NZ can cancel a tour of Pakistan without explanation, so can any Pakistani bowler be reported by Australia for suspect actions.

Even Shaheen needs to watch his back now.

Remodel his action, come back wearing full sleeves and a baggy shirt.

If he can come back in time for the T20 WC in Australia then the stage is being set for one of sports biggest epic tales.

I just feel for the lad has been unjustly banned when his action is clean as a whistle to me if he chucks every single bowler in the world chucks might as well ban every bowler in the world. Just targeting Pakistani bowlers e.g ajmal ..

If he can come back in time for the T20 WC in Australia then the stage is being set for one of sports biggest epic tales.

What is there to remodel his action like I said is clean as a whistle they just targeted him and banned him there’s. No way back for him now they’ve literally destroyed a promising career only way he can come back if he starts bowling leg spin

I admit shaheen is the only world class bowler we have but the boards have destroyed a potentially promising career before it even started even though his action is as clean as a whistle I’m shocked to see him banned quite frankly.

That didn't exactly work out for Shabbir Ahmed lol...

Those who are disapproving of him should remember that he is still kid all of 21 . No he doesn’t look older than that. What PCB should ideally do is set him up with a shrink. He needs property counselling , there is no way that he can make a comeback without working on metal aspects, the toll it takes to be called a chucker.
This is seriously disappointing. But he must show faith in ALLAH and work his way around this.

He can rectify his action and come back. That's the only way.

But, will it affect his performance? We have to wait and see.

I just feel for the lad has been unjustly banned when his action is clean as a whistle to me if he chucks every single bowler in the world chucks might as well ban every bowler in the world. Just targeting Pakistani bowlers e.g ajmal ..

Yeah I agree Ajmal was pure targeting of Pakistani bowlers for no reason, his action was clean as a whistle.

As I have said in other Hasnain thread

1. Opinions/replies to opinions welcomed
2. Trolling/posts designed to get reaction - not welcome.

If his action deteriorated recently - then he can definitely make a comeback. Remember Flintoff.

But if his action was dodgy all along - then it wud be difficult. Muscle memory is difficult to change. In that case PCB coaches and umpires deserve full blame

I doubt it.. From Pakistan I dont think I have seen a chucker being able to fix his action and be back bowling again. You are right, muscle memory is difficult to change and can make you a weak bowler.

Shabir Ahmad, Kamran Khan from India are few examples of pacers.

It seems its his bouncer where he likes to chuck. Shouldnt be in contention for Pakistan for an year now, if they somehow get to fix his action, atleast this time force him to play 1-2 years of doemstic cricket and not do what we did with Ajmal or Hafeez, where we were desperate to clear them after every few months and would end up playing them international as soon as possible.

I doubt it.. From Pakistan I dont think I have seen a chucker being able to fix his action and be back bowling again. You are right, muscle memory is difficult to change and can make you a weak bowler.

Shabir Ahmad, Kamran Khan from India are few examples of pacers.

It seems its his bouncer where he likes to chuck. Shouldnt be in contention for Pakistan for an year now, if they somehow get to fix his action, atleast this time force him to play 1-2 years of doemstic cricket and not do what we did with Ajmal or Hafeez, where we were desperate to clear them after every few months and would end up playing them international as soon as possible.

Point is if he can bowl 140 kph with legal action and ended up chucking to reach 145 kph - then he can rectify and come back

But if his maximum pace with legal action is 135kph - then he will fade away. In tat case full blame on PCB coaches for not identifying the issue when he was playing junior cricket. It wud be nearly impossible to correct his action now - due to muscle memory. As you correctly mentioned Kamran Khan never played again after he was called out - bcoz he was never capable of bowling 140 kph with a legal action

Shoaib Akhtar went through the same thing in 1999 to 2001. Good person to talk too for advice on how to recover from this

He shouldn't be too worried because he is very young and will easily rectify whatever needs to be amended.

If Hafeez can adjust his action within a few months, then Hasnain will easily get it right.

He will come back as the same bowler.

Nothing.

ab tak to pharmacy mein blade bhi muk gae hongey jiss speed se aap wrists wudtey rehtey ho apni, bhayya. Kia yaar her waqt doom and gloom. Chai shai peyo, gulab jaman khao tori tabiyat bahal ho.

Only Hasnain can decide how to come back from this. He is young, so he still has time and apparently PCB is investing in him tactically because they made the call to hold him back from PSL and that shows they really want to work with him. Hopefully, he wont turn into Amir and disappear and come back after rehab as good as ever.

Shoaib Akhtar went through the same thing in 1999 to 2001. Good person to talk too for advice on how to recover from this

Shoaib akhtar wasn't a chucker he was double jointed and had hyperextension his elbow could rotate fully giving the impression on the outside that he had a bend .

I feel for the lad and I hope he comes back stronger and better.

But this begs the question - why has his action issue only been spotted at the BBL and not when playing in the PSL or in Pakistan domestic cricket or at the NHPC by his coaches?

Nothing.

Are you a fortune teller?

He shouldn't be too worried because he is very young and will easily rectify whatever needs to be amended.

If Hafeez can adjust his action within a few months, then Hasnain will easily get it right.

He will come back as the same bowler.

Hafeez lost his effect. After those bans, he wasnt bowling 10 overs anymore like he did before....

All of hasnains delivery were illegal, he will be going back to club cricket after getting an action set and than practisiing that.

ab tak to pharmacy mein blade bhi muk gae hongey jiss speed se aap wrists wudtey rehtey ho apni, bhayya. Kia yaar her waqt doom and gloom. Chai shai peyo, gulab jaman khao tori tabiyat bahal ho.

Only Hasnain can decide how to come back from this. He is young, so he still has time and apparently PCB is investing in him tactically because they made the call to hold him back from PSL and that shows they really want to work with him. Hopefully, he wont turn into Amir and disappear and come back after rehab as good as ever.

Pcb investing in him means nothing.

When ajmal got banned, same statement was made that his action can be remodeled and everyone here believed that..

He came up with an action, but his bowling wasnt the same anymore.

From that episode i learned that remodeling of bowling action ks very difficulty.

Hope i get proven wrong, he does come out better than ever. But its better to be realistic looking at the past

Honestly his current action wasn't even that good. It didn't allow him to consistently land the ball on the seam because it was too round armed.

Never rated him as a bowler, he had pace but would get hit a lot and concede too many runs. We've got way better options than him, he is overhyped.

The question here is not weather is he good or not but rather the injustice that has been done to him and also the fact that the poor lads career has been deprived from him despite having one of the cleanest bowling action in international cricket.

Should Waqar be held responsible?
I would say, financial penalty of one year worth of his salary and perks for a minimum.

Should Waqar be held responsible?
I would say, financial penalty of one year worth of his salary and perks for a minimum.

waqar been really quiet since the ban - dont think waqar should be held responsible - Pakistan coaching is the issue - they need a better programme and better younger coaches - waqar should just be a mentor when it comes to a pcb setup and nothing more - he's too outdated .

Let philander do his magic if not him, then allow umar gul or even wasim akram.

He needs to work with a top coach - consistently for a better, faster comeback - but i do believe if pcb gets this wrong for him - this will hurt him mentally and i cant see him coming back into our setup.

PCB need to work with him asap and properly, i dont wanna see a yasir hameed / azar mahmood working with him to fix it.

All the best to him

How many quick bowlers have been found over the limit and come back succesfully?

Haven't seen many spinners do it. Ajmal was gone for good. Narine reduced to ducking & diving & picking leagues he doesn't think he'll be reported in & gone from internationals...

He does not look like a very intelligent bowler and does not posses many other skills of fast bowlers. Pace was his only special skill and he will definitely lose some of that and I'm not sure whether he will be able to make a comeback.

waqar been really quiet since the ban - dont think waqar should be held responsible - Pakistan coaching is the issue - they need a better programme and better younger coaches - waqar should just be a mentor when it comes to a pcb setup and nothing more - he's too outdated .

Let philander do his magic if not him, then allow umar gul or even wasim akram.

He needs to work with a top coach - consistently for a better, faster comeback - but i do believe if pcb gets this wrong for him - this will hurt him mentally and i cant see him coming back into our setup.

PCB need to work with him asap and properly, i dont wanna see a yasir hameed / azar mahmood working with him to fix it.

All the best to him

Ian Pont is perfect for the role of fast bowling technical coach. Over these years he has kept on applying for the position, but the delusional PCB never hired him and got the likes of Waqar instead...

Are you a fortune teller?

There is no such thing as fortune-telling, but you can “predict” the future based on historical trends albeit leaving some room for anomalies.

There are a lot of factors that support the assessment that Hasnain is done. He is not a special talent, it is hard to make a comeback after remodeling your action, he will be under a lot of pressure, his pace will drop and he was far from potent against quality batsmen even when he chucked.

So yes, it is seems extremely unlikely that he will have a successful international career.

A lot depends on who he will be working with in the coming weeks and months.

It needs to be someone who understands the technicalities of bowling, has modern thinking regarding bowling and not someone who will try to totally overhaul Hasnain's bowling action.

A few things;

Someone like Waqar not implementing the correct changes when he had the chance with Hasnain has caused all this issue. Waqar's coaching like his commentary in the booth seems just as terrible.

IF he comes back with a legal action and bowls at 130-135 does not mean he can't find success if he focuses on his line length...

Overall I don't think this is a big loss for Pakistan, from what I have seen of Hasnain he looks avg to below avg anyway..

Someone at PCB should start asking questions to the guys who are paid to work with young bowlers.

Perfect time to hire IP in the national academy working with youngsters on technical aspects.

Someone at PCB should start asking questions to the guys who are paid to work with young bowlers.

You'd expect them to be monitoring the bowlers they are working with.

Checking their actions, fitness levels etc etc.

Seems it's not happening.

This may actually be a good thing for him. Here's what he needs:

1. Work with someone like Ian Point and rectify his action and additional issues

2. Practice technique and skill at the NHPC

3. Work hard to boost fitness and stamina

4. Play a complete season of first class cricket to establish form and rythm.

5. Return to the national team much more dangerous than before

This may actually be a good thing for him. Here's what he needs:

1. Work with someone like Ian Point and rectify his action and additional issues

2. Practice technique and skill at the NHPC

3. Work hard to boost fitness and stamina

4. Play a complete season of first class cricket to establish form and rythm.

5. Return to the national team much more dangerous than before

He’s rubbish with his current action I dread to think about his new action.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong but I literally cannot remember a single player who was banned then came back at least the same level as before

The question here is not weather is he good or not but rather the injustice that has been done to him and also the fact that the poor lads career has been deprived from him despite having one of the cleanest bowling action in international cricket.

I will be honest here and say that some of his deliveries were not clean at all.

I agree , he is tested at a proper placed and action found to be illegal, whats the fuss about it . Naseem has the cleanest action , not Husnain and not even Rauf.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">From 3 years ago... my review of Hasnain elbow, front foot position and alignment. Nothing happened. Feel for the guy. <a href="https://t.co/ABduQwagqF">pic.twitter.com/ABduQwagqF</a></p>— Ian Pont 🇬🇧 (@Ponty100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/Ponty100mph/status/1489878338676084740?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 5, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I don't think he was gonna have much impact in the national team. My overall concern is all Pak bowlers showing potential seem are being banned. Either the ICC are bias or our coaches are not doing a good job.

We are not the victims , there is problem with many of our younger bowlers who grew up playing tape ball cricket in streets rather than playing proper cricket with cricket ball in the nets if a local club. We need to work on correcting their action at an early stage . Blaming ICC and others and playing victims will not help.

Asking questions would be a great outcome. Instead they keep hiring the same guy who is clearly absolutely clueless as a coach.

Pakistan have evidently lost Hasnain thanks to Waqar's inability to spot these errors but it also makes you wonder about Naseem, Musa, Shaheen etc. who would also have been inhibited over the last two years.

Going forward there is one thing Pak need to learn from this. Stop hiring Waqar Younis.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">From 3 years ago... my review of Hasnain elbow, front foot position and alignment. Nothing happened. Feel for the guy. <a href="https://t.co/ABduQwagqF">pic.twitter.com/ABduQwagqF</a></p>— Ian Pont 🇬🇧 (@Ponty100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/Ponty100mph/status/1489878338676084740?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 5, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

It's still a horrible decision that PCB still hasn't hired Ian Pont for National Team or National High-performance academy, and they go for Waqar instead...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">From 3 years ago... my review of Hasnain elbow, front foot position and alignment. Nothing happened. Feel for the guy. <a href="https://t.co/ABduQwagqF">pic.twitter.com/ABduQwagqF</a></p>— Ian Pont &#55356;&#56812;&#55356;&#56807; (@Ponty100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/Ponty100mph/status/1489878338676084740?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 5, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Was just about to post that Hasnain needs to get in touch with Pont or Lillee and get fixed up.

The raw talent to bowl fast & well is there - that genetic fast twitch & athleticism- he just needs to tweak a few things.

Was just about to post that Hasnain needs to get in touch with Pont or Lillee and get fixed up.

The raw talent to bowl fast & well is there - that genetic fast twitch & athleticism- he just needs to tweak a few things.

Has he touched 150s often or even once ? I do not know.

Every time I seen him bowl with his dodgy action his quickest was like 144K.

Ppl acting like he is the next Shoib Akhtar or Brett Lee, he doesnt seem to have the speed demon skill from what I have seen so far......

He was bowling like 155kph in the CPL or something

I don't think you have to be the fastest bowler of all time to be regarded as a quick bowler.

I saw him hit 149 in BBL and I only saw him bowl for a few minutes (not my type of cricket). So I assume he's a 150ish bowler. That's quick.

If you see the middle photo, he's pointed out the chuck. It looks like he should be able to rectify this in addition to the rest of the issues. Some time ago Ponting mentioned Hasnain can further enhance his speeds if he corrects those problems. So maybe this whole thing could be Godsend for Hasnain. Maybe give it 6 months to rectify, then play all domestic issues to establish flow and rhythm with his new and improved bowling technique. I just hope the PCB doesn't appoint a local 'expaart' who is not competent to address these technicalities

We are not the victims , there is problem with many of our younger bowlers who grew up playing tape ball cricket in streets rather than playing proper cricket with cricket ball in the nets if a local club. We need to work on correcting their action at an early stage . Blaming ICC and others and playing victims will not help.

If that is so then poor coaching is to blame as well. Obviously our bowling coaches are doing a poor job in training them to become of international standard.

I wonder if PCB can hire Pont or better yet Stefan jones to work with some of these young bowlers. Otherwise we'll see more of these quicks having short careers

Post like these are quite concerning, I have noticed quite a few here and on the net in general.

It seems there are a good chunk of Pakistanis that think this way, and possibly also in the coaching ranks leading to Pakistani bowlers, bowling with illegal bowling actions...

PCB needs to hire western coaches otherwise issues like this will continue to arise.

He has been assigned NHPC Coach Umar Rasheed as someone who will fix his action....

Really hope he can solve this issue and come back stronger IA. Seems like a very good guy.

He has been assigned NHPC Coach Umar Rasheed as someone who will fix his action....

O God.. This is unbelievable... One of the world's fastest young bowler and what are we investing... Now is the time for investment

That's unfortunate but not unexpected. The PCB was never going to hire a proper expert for just one guy. Hasnain should hire someone like Pont privately. Shan Masood improved a great deal since he worked with Gary Palmer and now Gary Kirsten. Hasnain has played a lot more franchise cricket so he should have enough money for this.

Post like these are quite concerning, I have noticed quite a few here and on the net in general.

It seems there are a good chunk of Pakistanis that think this way, and possibly also in the coaching ranks leading to Pakistani bowlers, bowling with illegal bowling actions...

PCB needs to hire western coaches otherwise issues like this will continue to arise.

My younger cousin is playing U19 state level in India. His coaches saw kink in his action (left arm spin) 2 years ago. They worked on his action for 6 months but finally decided that his kink is impossible to remove. He is now aiming to play as a specialist batsman. My point is these issues should be sorted at junior level. In past players like Ohja, Bhajji etc got away bowling with full sleeves but nowdays its impossible. Hasnain's case is curious to me. His action was clean when he arrived at international scene but now he jerks. I guess he received bad advice from coaches which ruined his action. I also don't get the conspiracy angle posters here are claiming. He was tested in Lahore itself not in Ind/Aus.

This will be a guy who Hasnain has worked with at the very same NHPC.

Surely you need a fresh pair of eyes regarding this issue.

His video message

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 50%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/3gr4hf" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

My younger cousin is playing U19 state level in India. His coaches saw kink in his action (left arm spin) 2 years ago. They worked on his action for 6 months but finally decided that his kink is impossible to remove. He is now aiming to play as a specialist batsman. My point is these issues should be sorted at junior level. In past players like Ohja, Bhajji etc got away bowling with full sleeves but nowdays its impossible. Hasnain's case is curious to me. His action was clean when he arrived at international scene but now he jerks. I guess he received bad advice from coaches which ruined his action. I also don't get the conspiracy angle posters here are claiming. He was tested in Lahore itself not in Ind/Aus.

Hasnain is young so imo if he perseveres he can come back successfully with a re modelled action.

As far as Harbhajan, I felt once he stopped bowling his doosra he was a legal bowler, however his effectiveness went down quite a bit and so did his international career..

Pakistan's tearaway speedster Mohammad Hasnain has opened about the tumultuous phase he's endured since getting suspended from bowling in international cricket. The 21-year-old pacer was found to have an illegal bowling action and umpire Gerard Abood reported his bowling in the Big Bash League (BBL) game between Sydney Thunder and Adelaide Strikers last month.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) also pulled Hasnain out of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season in order to use this time to modify his bowling action, which saw the bowler's action extended above 15 degrees. Hasnain, who has played eight ODIs and 18 T20Is after making his Pakistan debut in 2019, opened up on the suspension and said he never expected such a thing to happen.

"Before the Big Bash League, I've played a decent amount of cricket. I never thought that my arm goes up beyond 15 degrees. I had never expected such a thing to happen. When I first got to know about the action, I had no idea about this. I started watching videos of my bowling... to see if there was any problem with the action.

"I didn't feel any such thing. I returned to Pakistan leaving BBL midway through the season as the PSL was about to start. I was playing PSL games when I got to know that I've been banned by the ICC. It's a difficult phase for me but I am hoping to clear this and bounce back.. and represent my team again," Hasnain said in a YouTube video shared by his PSL franchise Quetta Gladiators.

Hasnain enjoyed a dream start in the Big Bash where he picked a triple-wicket maiden in what was his first over in the tournament. He was hoping to replicate his performance in the PSL before facing a suspension. But the Quetta Gladiators star said the fans will see a new Hasnain once he irons out the kinks.

"I was hoping to give my best against Islamabad United... I was tying my shoelaces before the warm-up before Saifi Bhai (Sarfaraz Ahmed) was told Hasnain can't play this match. It was a difficult moment for me. I'm leaving the PSL and my team. It's a tough period for me but I'll be back after clearing my weaknesses. I've got time to improve and you will see a new Hasnain soon," he further added.

HT

Hopefully he will comeback stronger and better than before. It alarming that we didn’t pick up this fault earlier. Just don’t want another Anwar Ali type issue where they change the bowler for good.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Vernon Philander "I hope Mohammad Hasnain can find some sort of help and someone who can help him remedy that bowling action. You cannot teach someone to bowl at those express speeds and he is one more exceptional bowling talent that Pakistan has" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1496180954024583177?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 22, 2022</a></blockquote>

Young Pakistan pacer Mohammad Hasnain has modified his bowling action and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) will soon contact International Cricket Council (ICC) for reassessment.

The 22-year-old's bowling action was found illegal on February 4 after umpires in Australia's Big Bash League (BBL) reported. He underwent a test at the ICC's accredited testing centre in Lahore on January 21.

The report stated that his elbow extension for his good length delivery, full-length delivery, slow bouncer and bouncer exceeded the 15-degree limits.

According to sources, the modification of Hasnain's bowling action has been completed under the supervision of Umar Rasheed at the National High Performance Center (NHPC).

Tests at a local laboratory also found that the elbow of his arm was within the legal range of 15-degree limits. After complete satisfaction, the PCB will now formally request a review from the ICC.

The world's governing body will send Hasnain to a recognized laboratory for a test. He will be allowed to play international cricket if clearance is obtained.

https://cricketpakistan.com.pk/en/news/detail/modification-of-hasnains-bowling-action-completed