Vintage Photos of Cricketers...but you have to guess who it is!!

class bowler, as my humnaam said very talented, but career cut short

What do you say about Qasim Umar bro, in my opinion the first ever opener to bring out the idea of attacking in the first 10 overs

Do you remember the american cup in the 80s?

Sadly a brilliant career cut way.... short because of ..off-the-field controversies!

[utube]Hnb7-C7fiGI[/utube]

class bowler, as my humnaam said very talented, but career cut short

What do you say about Qasim Umar bro, in my opinion the first ever opener to bring out the idea of attacking in the first 10 overs

Do you remember the american cup in the 80s?

Brother,

You mentioned 'American Cup in the 80s' - it was actually the Perth Challenge Cup, a four-nation tourney to celebrate America's Cup, which is yachting race, being held along Western Australian coastline. It was a round-robin series between England (eventual winners, winning all games including the final), Pakistan (finalists, beat Australia and the West Indies), West Indies (won only against Australia) and Australia (who lost all their games) with the final being played out between the top two teams.

Qasim Umar was used as an ODI opener in all these four games. However, these were the only four occasions that he ever opened for Pakistan in ODIs. He was an important player of fast-bowling for Pakistan on bouncy wickets but was basically hampered by his inconsistency.

Imran Khan made him open the innings with Shoaib on two counts:

1. Mohsin Khan's career was over and Mudassar Nazar was in poor form
2. The last game before before this series was played was a low-scoring match in Sharjah, where Imran made Shoaib (a regular opener in FC cricket) open with Rameez (a make-shift opener who shown promise in the middle-order) and the pair delivered

For the Perth Challenge Cup, Imran made Qasim Umar open the batting because of his relative ease when facing fast bowling and indeed his courage - in the 1983-84 series against Australia, when Geoff Lawson, Dennis Lillee, Carl Rackemann and Rodney Hogg were terrorising the likes of Zaheer Abbas, Qasim would calmly drop his hands and receive bouncers on his chest and became the most popular cricketer in the Pakistani squad after Imran Khan.

Qasim performed admirably without playing much flamboyant cricket in those four matches. He created this impression of being a basher because of 67 against Australia which was a very well-planned innings actually but was notable for the four successive fours that he hit off Bruce Reid.

Was he the original pinch-hitter? I do not think so. Before him, you had Krish Srikkant of India, Ian Botham of England and even Jeff Dujon opening for Sri Lanka. As I wrote earlier, he was promoted by Imran because he had a valid reason to do so, not just for pinch-hitting.

While Pakistanis were in Australia, the cricket board announced the team for the Indian Tour in 1987 without taking Imran into confidence following which he announced that he won't captain the team. Qasim Umar was not part of the squad. It is unlikely though that Imran would have included him given his poor record against spin bowling. However, before Imran's issues with the board could be sorted out, he reacted by making childish accusations against the Pakistani team (Imran in particular) of drug trafficking.
the Pakistani team was searched with sniffer dogs when they landed in England.

In 1993, he gave a few interviews to the media, conceding his mistakes and even suggesting that if were to be able to produce even 50% of his fitness, he would make himself available for Pakistan again, but of course that never happened.

He periodically kept showing up particularly when it came to discussing match-fixing and even made some claims but I guess nobody took them seriously. Apart from Rafi Nasim (who as far as I recall, wrote his Cricinfo profile) of course, an army officer, who got into BCCP high-ups in the mid-1980s and was only known for his anti-Imran stances.

How good was he? I think had he stayed sane, we would have seen him play a very important role in three important series later on - the 1987 series in England, the 1988 series in the West Indies and the 1990 series in Australia. And he might even have played for Pakistan in the 1992 World Cup. However, belonging to the notice-me school of thought may work for tabloids, not for serious cricketers.

Brother,

You mentioned 'American Cup in the 80s' - it was actually the Perth Challenge Cup, a four-nation tourney to celebrate America's Cup, which is yachting race, being held along Western Australian coastline. It was a round-robin series between England (eventual winners, winning all games including the final), Pakistan (finalists, beat Australia and the West Indies), West Indies (won only against Australia) and Australia (who lost all their games) with the final being played out between the top two teams.

Qasim Umar was used as an ODI opener in all these four games. However, these were the only four occasions that he ever opened for Pakistan in ODIs. He was an important player of fast-bowling for Pakistan on bouncy wickets but was basically hampered by his inconsistency.

Imran Khan made him open the innings with Shoaib on two counts:

1. Mohsin Khan's career was over and Mudassar Nazar was in poor form
2. The last game before before this series was played was a low-scoring match in Sharjah, where Imran made Shoaib (a regular opener in FC cricket) open with Rameez (a make-shift opener who shown promise in the middle-order) and the pair delivered

For the Perth Challenge Cup, Imran made Qasim Umar open the batting because of his relative ease when facing fast bowling and indeed his courage - in the 1983-84 series against Australia, when Geoff Lawson, Dennis Lillee, Carl Rackemann and Rodney Hogg were terrorising the likes of Zaheer Abbas, Qasim would calmly drop his hands and receive bouncers on his chest and became the most popular cricketer in the Pakistani squad after Imran Khan.

Qasim performed admirably without playing much flamboyant cricket in those four matches. He created this impression of being a basher because of 67 against Australia which was a very well-planned innings actually but was notable for the four successive fours that he hit off Bruce Reid.

Was he the original pinch-hitter? I do not think so. Before him, you had Krish Srikkant of India, Ian Botham of England and even Jeff Dujon opening for Sri Lanka. As I wrote earlier, he was promoted by Imran because he had a valid reason to do so, not just for pinch-hitting.

While Pakistanis were in Australia, the cricket board announced the team for the Indian Tour in 1987 without taking Imran into confidence following which he announced that he won't captain the team. Qasim Umar was not part of the squad. It is unlikely though that Imran would have included him given his poor record against spin bowling. However, before Imran's issues with the board could be sorted out, he reacted by making childish accusations against the Pakistani team (Imran in particular) of drug trafficking.
the Pakistani team was searched with sniffer dogs when they landed in England.

In 1993, he gave a few interviews to the media, conceding his mistakes and even suggesting that if were to be able to produce even 50% of his fitness, he would make himself available for Pakistan again, but of course that never happened.

He periodically kept showing up particularly when it came to discussing match-fixing and even made some claims but I guess nobody took them seriously. Apart from Rafi Nasim (who as far as I recall, wrote his Cricinfo profile) of course, an army officer, who got into BCCP high-ups in the mid-1980s and was only known for his anti-Imran stances.

How good was he? I think had he stayed sane, we would have seen him play a very important role in three important series later on - the 1987 series in England, the 1988 series in the West Indies and the 1990 series in Australia. And he might even have played for Pakistan in the 1992 World Cup. However, belonging to the notice-me school of thought may work for tabloids, not for serious cricketers.

well i remember the channel back then used to put it as american cup 1984 or 85, may even be benson and hedges world series i think, was too young to remember

I remember in one match against the likes of joel garner, holding and a young wily marshall, he scored a 40 odd off 50 balls in which he pulled joel garner for a massive six without a helmet.

I am unsure whether he was notice me school of thought or not at that point, as never knew him personally back then, but turned to islam when i saw him in 2005/06, in manchester. Apparently he was banned by Imran Khan for 10 years because he spoke about match fixing and for marijuana/drugs

but indeed looked most comfortable when playing on bouncy wickets, maybe his earlier years when he played in kenya / south africa helped

well i remember the channel back then used to put it as american cup 1984 or 85, may even be benson and hedges world series i think, was too young to remember

I remember in one match against the likes of joel garner, holding and a young wily marshall, he scored a 40 odd off 50 balls in which he pulled joel garner for a massive six without a helmet.

I am unsure whether he was notice me school of thought or not at that point, as never knew him personally back then, but turned to islam when i saw him in 2005/06, in manchester. Apparently he was banned by Imran Khan for 10 years because he spoke about match fixing and for marijuana/drugs

but indeed looked most comfortable when playing on bouncy wickets, maybe his earlier years when he played in kenya / south africa helped

Joel Garner did not play against Pakistan in the Perth Challenge Cup. In the 1985 World Championship of Cricket, the six he hit was off Roger Harper though it was on the leg-side but I think he was wearing a white helmet then I recall. Harper was very tall too and you may be mistaking him for Joel Garner. However, if you were in Pakistan at that time, then it must have been this match because the 1983-84 WSC was not covered by PTV and as I wrote earlier, Joel Garner did not play in the Perth Challenge Cup (the highlights of this match were shown) and yes, he did score 40 in that game.

As for his allegations, he was never banned. He was simply ignored. He never talked about match-fixing, only about drugs. When that didn't work, he tried to drag women into it but by that time, everyone had enough. He only talked about match-fixing after it became a hot topic in the late 1990s and beyond.

As for his ability to play on bouncy wickets, it had little to do with Kenya or South Africa. He was merely born in Kenya and he never played cricket there or in South Africa at all. Kenya, by the way, has subcontinental kind of wickets - slow, low bounce, benign. He had natural ability, just like Mohsin Khan had.

Joel Garner did not play against Pakistan in the Perth Challenge Cup. In the 1985 World Championship of Cricket, the six he hit was off Roger Harper though it was on the leg-side but I think he was wearing a white helmet then I recall. Harper was very tall too and you may be mistaking him for Joel Garner. However, if you were in Pakistan at that time, then it must have been this match because the 1983-84 WSC was not covered by PTV and as I wrote earlier, Joel Garner did not play in the Perth Challenge Cup (the highlights of this match were shown) and yes, he did score 40 in that game.

As for his allegations, he was never banned. He was simply ignored. He never talked about match-fixing, only about drugs. When that didn't work, he tried to drag women into it but by that time, everyone had enough. He only talked about match-fixing after it became a hot topic in the late 1990s and beyond.

As for his ability to play on bouncy wickets, it had little to do with Kenya or South Africa. He was merely born in Kenya and he never played cricket there or in South Africa at all. Kenya, by the way, has subcontinental kind of wickets - slow, low bounce, benign. He had natural ability, just like Mohsin Khan had.

I dont know about kenya / south africa connection i assumed hence the use of the word maybe, so dont get all worked up mate, calm down :)

He was banned for sure, 10 years by Imran Khan, it is a fact, the guy himself said it and i have seen him hit Joel Garner for a six without a helmet, fact as I have the VHS still, get me a player and show me how to convert ill post it bro :)

ki hoya hai paaa goliyaan khaa ke tay forum tay nahi aanday!!!! innak gussa

thank you brothers for the info on Amir Nazir, that was a beautiful spell and he should've had a hatrick !

another one of many players who got less chances than they deserved !

I dont know about kenya / south africa connection i assumed hence the use of the word maybe, so dont get all worked up mate, calm down :)

He was banned for sure, 10 years by Imran Khan, it is a fact, the guy himself said it and i have seen him hit Joel Garner for a six without a helmet, fact as I have the VHS still, get me a player and show me how to convert ill post it bro :)

Qasim Umar said so about being banned but he was in fact never banned. He played his last match in early 1987 and Imran retired after five years. His own statements won't help much because he changed statements repeatedly - in fact in his 1993-1994 interview ( think it was 1994 - I think Cricketer, one of the first three issues), he conceded he was wrong.

It is very easy to make a martyr out of anyone but in reality, he simply act stupidly.

The same holds for Younis Ahmad who too claimed that Imran Khan himself was a junkie. Javed Miandad, in his autobiography, Cutting Edge reveals the real reason:

During the 1987 tour to India, Younis had become available at the age of 39 since his ban for playing in South Africa had elapsed. Imran and Miandad decided that to augment the inexperienced Pakistani batting line-up he should be recalled as his experience and his left-handedness would be useful againt Indian left-arm spinners. However, during a practice session, he complained to Imran of illness. Imran asked him to go and rest only to find out that he was in a disco. Imran did not select him for any of the games on that tour and that was the end. He then reacted with drug allegations and went to the extent that Imran himself was an obsessive junkie.

I am sure had they been playing in the 1990s, Qasim's allegations would have hovered around match-fixing and he did come up with them when the chance came.

As for his six, I just checked Cricinfo - he hit two sixes against the West Indies in ODIs:

1. World Championship of Cricket - 1985
Highlights can be seen here where he slog sweeps Roger Harper for six
Can be seen at 13:50

2. The second six was hit in the Perth Challenge Cup in which Joel Garner did not play
http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65908.html

Qasim Umar said so about being banned but he was in fact never banned. He played his last match in early 1987 and Imran retired after five years. His own statements won't help much because he changed statements repeatedly - in fact in his 1993-1994 interview ( think it was 1994 - I think Cricketer, one of the first three issues), he conceded he was wrong.

It is very easy to make a martyr out of anyone but in reality, he simply act stupidly.

Not denying that he didnt act stupidly, but you cannot say that you know more than the man himself? Or can you, and I agree that he was banned for 10 years, as i read that somewhere too.

The same holds for Younis Ahmad who too claimed that Imran Khan himself was a junkie. Javed Miandad, in his autobiography, Cutting Edge reveals the real reason:

During the 1987 tour to India, Younis had become available at the age of 39 since his ban for playing in South Africa had elapsed. Imran and Miandad decided that to augment the inexperienced Pakistani batting line-up he should be recalled as his experience and his left-handedness would be useful againt Indian left-arm spinners. However, during a practice session, he complained to Imran of illness. Imran asked him to go and rest only to find out that he was in a disco. Imran did not select him for any of the games on that tour and that was the end. He then reacted with drug allegations and went to the extent that Imran himself was an obsessive junkie. .

That isnt the scope of the argument, so irrelevant

I am sure had they been playing in the 1990s, Qasim's allegations would have hovered around match-fixing and he did come up with them when the chance came..

tum sab ke abba ho, jo tumhe saara pata hai :) lighten up a bit mate, and stop speculating stuff he would have he might have doesnt hold any value and yes he did speak about match fixing I already said that in my first post, dont understand what are you trying to prove?

As for his six, please check the video and enlighten me. I just checked Cricinfo - he hit two sixes against the West Indies in ODIs:

1. World Championship of Cricket - 1985
Highlights can be seen here where he slog sweeps Roger Harper for six
Can be seen at 13:50

2. The second six was hit in the Perth Challenge Cup in which Joel Garner did not play
http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65908.html

that vhs is our only hope, ill inshAllah try to find a vhs player and reconfirm :). hopefully should be able to make a copy :) once I do, ill update as I said earlier was too young and dont remember much :) but I do remember him hooking a west indian bowler for a six :) so possibly might be a second one :) and not the big bird himself but someone else :)

Not denying that he didnt act stupidly, but you cannot say that you know more than the man himself? Or can you, and I agree that he was banned for 10 years, as i read that somewhere too.

That isnt the scope of the argument, so irrelevant

tum sab ke abba ho, jo tumhe saara pata hai :) lighten up a bit mate, and stop speculating stuff he would have he might have doesnt hold any value and yes he did speak about match fixing I already said that in my first post, dont understand what are you trying to prove?

that vhs is our only hope, ill inshAllah try to find a vhs player and reconfirm :). hopefully should be able to make a copy :) once I do, ill update as I said earlier was too young and dont remember much :) but I do remember him hooking a west indian bowler for a six :) so possibly might be a second one :) and not the big bird himself but someone else :)

May be in the Perth Challenge Cup match then. He hit Tony Gray for six in that game. Pakistan's bowling is available on youtube but batting is not; just found out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RqEMX_afmYs

Ali Hussain Rizvi, one of the many one-Test-wonders of PAK. Was a leggie from Karachi, still into cricket (coach at Aga Khan Gymkhana).

406.jpg

His solitary Test:

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63767.html

^^ thanks again... for posting another rare picture.

Akher.... you seem to have pictures of almost all Paksitani players...

Here is what I am going to do.... I'll make a list of ALL Pakistani players (Test/ODI/T20s)... and see which player's picture is NOT posted in this thread ... .and then ask YOU or other posters like two Kamrans to post them here.

How many players do you think, have played for Pakistan - for either Test/ODI/T20?? Make a guess....
My guess was off by @30 players!!!

Any guesses for this lad

8291.jpg

He was a good bowler, could swing the ball both ways. Think he Quit cricket (last played in 2011)

Ok... the old timers and the picture collectors.... here is a list of ALL 268 players who have played for Pakistan ..... so far.

Please look at the list and browse the thread... and post the pictures of the players whose pictures are not already posted... for example..... Farhan Adil, Irfan Fazal, Kashif Raza, Faisal Athar etc.....

I'll start filling in the right most column .... a few days...

• B1.jpg
    B1.jpg
    323.6 KB · Views: 2,716
  • B2.jpg
    B2.jpg
    330.1 KB · Views: 2,706
  • B3.jpg
    B3.jpg
    358 KB · Views: 2,856
  • B4.jpg
    B4.jpg
    333.2 KB · Views: 2,675
  • B5.jpg
    B5.jpg
    372.4 KB · Views: 2,744
  • D6a.jpg
    D6a.jpg
    214.3 KB · Views: 2,821
There are pics of Yasir Ali (251) in the PakPassion gallery.

Imran Khan and his cousin Majid Khan, both don't need any intro.

539577_609761029041064_32888631_n.jpg

Imran Khan and his cousin Majid Khan, both don't need any intro.

539577_609761029041064_32888631_n.jpg

The pic in the middle (left) was taken during the 1979 World Cup. There are quite a few photographs of Pakistani cricketers taken on this very day that exist but are rare now. Imran featured on the cover of the September 1979 Cricketer (Pakistan) in this very t-shirt. (middle left)

The pic of the bottom left is Javed Burki and not Majid Khan. This was also taken during the 1979 World Cup when Javed Burki was the manager of the Pakistani team.

Javed Burki, another of :imran's cousin who played Tests for PAK but not didn't left an impact like the all rounder or Majestic Majid

Javed%20Burki.JPG

Javed Burki, another of :imran's cousin who played Tests for PAK but not didn't left an impact like the all rounder or Majestic Majid

Javed%20Burki.JPG

The problem was the anglophile mentality of BCCP officials. You can't go far if you cannot think beyond thanking the Brits for teaching you how to you a knife and a fork to eat. Javed Burki was appointed to lead Pakistan to England for a 5-test series at a time when the team was slowly losing its leading players one after the other. He was just 24 at the time. The pace attack was gone. In between they had to recall a retired Fazal Mahmood too but obviously he could not make any impact.

Some people had mentioned that this thread is incomplete!!!!

I guess, it is now.... mods, please close the thread! :P

• 666.jpg
    666.jpg
    15.6 KB · Views: 2,845
Another picture of Shoaib Mohammed, opening batsman and son of Hanif

1412.jpg

Saleem Jaffar,
A tall fast bowler, Saleem Jaffar made an impression from the off. He took 5 for 11 on his first-class debut in 1983-84, and in 1985-86 finished the season with 80 wickets at 19. His international call-up was no surprise, and he made both Test and ODI debuts against West Indies that season. His tour of England in 1987 was ended by injury, and when he returned for the World Cup later that year he suffered a terrible mauling by Australia. Against England at Karachi in 1987-88 he took five wickets , winning selection for the tour of the Caribbean that followed. That was followed by his best outing, against New Zealand at Wellington in 1988-89, where he took match figures of 8 for 134, including his only Test five-for. That was the real issue - he wan't penetrative enough - and his career fizzled out.

1503.jpg

Shafiq Ahmed,
An attractive right-hand batsman and a natural stroke-maker in a class of his own, he filled either the opening slot or at the No. 3 position for Pakistan. He possessed a handsome, upright style and was a vigorous driver and cutter of the ball. Though performing brilliantly on the first-class scene he failed to live up to his potential in international cricket and played in only six Tests. He scored a mammoth 51 centuries in domestic cricket and is one of the four Pakistanis to have a first-class career average of more than 50. He was also an occasional medium-pace bowler.

1414.jpg

Alimuddin, one of Pak's first Test cricketers, originally from Rajasthan

1578.jpg

Talat Ali Malik, opening batsman who inaugurated his career by getting his thumb injured by Lillee

1416.jpg

Saqlain Mushtaq

890.jpg

Zakir Khan,
was a tall and powerfully-built right-arm seamer whose surprise selection for the 1985-86 tour of Sri Lanka was partially justified when he took 3 for 80 on his debut at Colombo (0 for 70 in the second innings). Thereafter he was in and out of the one-day side where his batting was useful at the end of innings. His second Test appearance was as unexpected as the first, against India at Sialkot in 1989-90, and again he did little of note. He retired in 1992 and subsequently worked for the Pakistan board as a media manager and then secretary.

116.jpg

Aamer Malik,
A chequered career for Aamer Malik. He is one of only three men to score a century in both innings of his first-class debut (Arthur Morris and Nari Contractor are the others), he made a seven-hour unbeaten 98 in his second Test, made back-to-back hundreds against India in 1989-90, took a Test stumping as stand-in keeper (Richie Richardson), took one Test wicket (Australia's Peter Taylor - batting at No. 2) and was recalled after a four-year absence to face Australia in 1994-95. He helped save the second Test with a crucial second-innings 65 ... and was dropped, this time for good.

117.jpg

Kabir Khan (nowadays a favourite of the Afghanistan cricket team fans),
A powerfully-built left-arm seamer, Kabir Khan made his Test and one-day debut on the tour of Sri Lanka in 1994-95, and went on to make 10 one-day appearances over the next six seasons without every being able to command a regular run in the side. He did little wrong - his economy rate was respectably under four-an-over - but lacked penetration. That was also his problem in his Test outings - he took 5 for 223 in his last two Tests against Zimbabwe - and he was discarded after four games in less than a season.

126.jpg

Saleem Yousuf, WK

137.jpg

^^
Thanks for yet another great set of pics! :)

Atta ur Rehman,
...emerged as the pick of the new Pakistan pace-bowling generation, recruited to provide strength and support to the Wasim-Waqar combination. He made his debut in England in 1992 at the age of 17, and impressed in his first appearance, even when Wasim and Waqar were the talk of the tour. He was also among the wickets on subsequent tours to the West Indies and New Zealand. Tall and well-built, he had the characteristics of a genuine right-arm fast bowler.

484816_410755489002978_1592210827_n.jpg

I love those hairstyles.....Imran,Wasim.....I think almost everybody in the Pakistani team sported those kinda hairstyles in those days.....Other players were Abdul qadir,Mohsin Kamaal.....They took inspiration from Vital Signs band members Junaid Jamshed and Shehzad hasan,I guess

I think it was the Western fashion sense of the time, shaped by Hollywood... Vital Signs came way after.
Like it too.

Vital Signs grew their hair long after 1991. This photograph is from 1987 from the Leeds test before the launch of the Dil Dil Pakistan song (the tape was released in 1989 when both Junaid and Shahzad had short hair, Shahzad's being very, very short).

Imran hair was actually not all that long. Abdul Qadir usually sported a mullet or mullet-like haircut. Mohsin Kamal and Wasim Akram had really long hair. In fact, the World Cup 1987 special issue of the Pakistani Cricketer had a Wasim Akram photo in which his hair is embarrassingly long.

@kamranwasti, I'm interested in what you could say about Atta ur Rehman, tons see him as an 'unfulfilled' talent, the rest as nothing really impressive to begin with.

Talking of style, Abdul Qadir with the French beard he sported on Imran Khan's advice

Cricket has Abdul Qadir to thank for keeping wrist-spin alive through the darkest years of the late 1970s and '80s. He did it with style, too. Blessed with a fast bowler's temperament and fire, he surrounded his craft with mystique. Before the 1982 tour to England, captain Imran Khan asked him to grow a French beard to enhance the aura and it worked: England were his favourite victims through his career, responsible for his international breakthrough in 1977-78 as well as his finest hours, at the Oval in 1987 and the home series later that year (he took 30 wickets in three Tests, including the best bowling in an innings by a Pakistani, 9 for 56 in Lahore)

WZzsHl.jpg

Talking of style, Abdul Qadir with the French beard he sported on Imran Khan's advice

Before the 1982 tour to England, captain Imran Khan asked him to grow a French beard to enhance the aura and it worked:

Why would Imran do that? I don't think, Imran would be a kind of person to even think of doing that.

For the swag.

Abdul Qadir, Saleem Malik and Mohsin Kamal.

Nice one...!!

Who is between Qadir and MaliK? Face looks familiar.... a famous/semi-famous journalist or commentator?

A couple of beautiful pics from England's warm up match in Queenstown, NZ.... going on right now. Even though these don't belong in this thread... but did not want to create a new thread just for these pics;

:ik appeared in an 1979 Indian ad (for some soda) with Sunil Gavaskar

196459,xcitefun-india-old-ads-11.jpg

Maradona look alike, Iqbal Sikander, a leg spinner from Karachi.
Can't say he had a successfully career as a cricketer, as he only played 4 ODI games, all in the '92 WC, and in the 4 matches only got success once (1/30 v South Africa, Jonty Rhodes is his solitary wicket) but as an ICC administrator, helped cricket to develop in Asian/Gulf nations... in fact I think he's the first ever (or at least one of the first) ICC representative who went to Afghanistan, in 2003, and said how talented the nation is and should be helped.

iqbal.png

Nowadays invested in shaping Kuwait cricket (in the middle)

Mansoor%20Akhtar,%20Iqbal%20Sikander%20and%20Diwakar%20Vasu_resize.jpg

lol, Ijaz 'The Butcher' :nehra Ahmed, without his moustache :ijaz

79025689-sport-cricket-1980s-pakistans-ijaz-ahmed-gettyimages.jpg

Even Mrs. Akmal does not trust her husband..... why else SHE is the one holding their son? :P

• 11951_393985374030180_1020898276_n.jpg
    11951_393985374030180_1020898276_n.jpg
    84.9 KB · Views: 3,591
@kamranwasti, I'm interested in what you could say about Atta ur Rehman, tons see him as an 'unfulfilled' talent, the rest as nothing really impressive to begin with.

WZzsHl.jpg

Sorry for the late response. I thrice logged on with the intention to reply but had to stop because of my kids.

Anyway, the photograph you show is from the 1982 series in England.

Abdul Qadir was chosen for the English tour at Imran's behest. He had actually seen Qadir bamboozle the best of Pakistani batsmen in the nets without getting selected. In 1982, he was nominated to lead the team and immediately sought Mudassar Nazar's and Sarfraz Nawaz's advice and then backed Qadir despite the fact that he had not played for Pakistan for almost two years and that he had failed completely on the 1978 tour. Imran's counter to this stance adopted by the selectors was that Qadir was an exceptional leg-break and googly bowler, something modern English batsmen had not faced at all and that he could bowl teams out. Because of leg-spin being a novelty, coupled with the very Arabic 'Abdul' in his name and his shortish height, Imran is reported to have asked him to grow a goatie. How authenthic is this claim? I personally do not know. What happened on the tour was that Qadir destroyed county sides and on paper, finished with an average of 40 in the tests. However that does not highlight his value - he was basically unplayable in the series and much of his lack of success owed to the English umpires not even knowing that Abdul Qadir bowled at least two types of googly, a flipper, a top-spinner and two kinds of leg-breaks - a shortish, flattish one that skidded through and a loopy one which would have impressed Shane Warne. Ian Botham was completely at sea against him. There were times when he scored off him too, but Botham relied on instinct more than his abiity to read him (which he could not anyway). For someone who had averaged over 130-odd in his previous series scoring 400 runs in 3 innings, Botham was limited to just 160 in 6 completed innings, something that Simon Wilde acknowledges in his biography of him (Botham: The Power and the Glory). He writes that while he more or less dominated Kapil Dev, here there was no comparison as Imran scored more runs (212 @ 53 compared to Botham's 160-something I recall at 26 or 27) and more wickets (21 @ 18 while Botham had 18 at 27).
As for Qadir, this series was the turning point. At Lord's as Pakistan fought time and rain to push England towards the follow-on he conjured up a magical spell that had Richie Benaud jumping in his seat with joy - there is one particular LBW dismissal that would delight anyone: The batsman, not knowing whether to go forward or back ends up on the crease in front of the crease as his flipper rushes through to strike the pads and you can hear Richie Benaud trying to control himself. Imran defended him against all the criticism and there was more to come when he was chosen for the first test against Australia and yet more when he failed in the first innings - in the second innings though, Imran let him loose early and he bowled John Dyson (former Sri Lanka coach) early on and then tore through the Australian batting line-up either side of tea to announce that the eagle had landed. In the next game, on a dead Faisalabad wicket, he bowled Pakistan to victory with a long patient spell and Imran, could now tell the whole world why his best spinner would also play. Forever a fan of leg-spinners, he would play Abdul Qadir whenever he was available, even on a green Leeds wicket; the only exception being the Bangalore test, where we have two slightly different accounts from Imran and Javed Miandad. Imran says following Qadir's poor run he was not played. Miandad says, he had to beg Imran to play Iqbal Qasim instead. My understading is that both were correct - Imran would have wanted Qadir to play but his final decision to play Iqbal Qasim instead had everything to do with Miandad.

Ata ur Rahman started off as a brisk fast-medium bowler who came into limelight during the 1990 under-19 series in England. The Pakistani team was led by Moin Khan who had already been earmarked as a future captain. Zahid Fazal was also part of the team. England had John Crawley, Darren Gough and Dominic Cork in their ranks.

Ata ur Rahman put up steady shows was within a year and half was being rated highly. When Waqar got injured and Saleem Jaffer already not available because of injury, Imran looked towards Ata ur Rahman to make up the World Cup squad. As it turned out, he too got injured and Wasim Haider instead played for Pakistan.

Basically, Ata ur Rahman was, as a wrote above, a brisk fast-medium bowler who angled the ball in or got it to seam it in occasionally. He took 3 for 69 in his first test but with Wasim Akram returning, did not play during the rest of the 1992 tour to England. After that he was a regular fixture in the Pakistani side until he was dropped for the final time in 1996 when he was around 21.

He was quicker than your average Pakistani bowler but fell just short of genuine pace on a consistent basis. He did not have much skill - most of the catches off his bowling had more to do with batsmen playing a wild stroke and I do not remember any bowled victim of his that did not play on. May be there was one in the Singapore Final of 1996 but I watched that match with the TV having a very poor reception.

Have no desire to discuss his banning.

Asif Iqbal when his county team, Kent, won the Benson & Hedges Cup (one-day tournament), in '73, was quite the (batting) star back then for the Kent fans. :aiqbal

County-Cricket.jpg

A bit earlier, portrait from the late 60s.

o87.jpg

W63L35, you'd be happy to know that he's indirectly related to...

...Sania's cousin is Nisar Ahmed, son of the late Ghulam Ahmed who played 22 Test matches as an off-spinner in the 1940s and 50s, captaining India in three Tests.

Some years back Nisar explained to this writer: "Our grandmothers are sisters - Sania's father's mother and my mother's mother. Our family is very proud of Sania's tennis career."

The Hyderabadi is India's most successful woman tennis player of all time.

Sania is thus also related to former Pakistan captain Asif Iqbal, the son of Ghulam Ahmed's sister....

http://www.dreamcricket.com/dreamcricket/news.hspl?nid=13895&ntid=4

...:malik!

W63L35, you'd be happy to know that he's indirectly related to...

Nice try bro...... but if you call that "related to" ...then you and I are long lost twins ... and every Lahori is "related to" each other! :P

• ff.jpg
    ff.jpg
    51 KB · Views: 2,326
From Nadeem F Paracha's article

http://dawn.com/2013/03/01/the-quickening/

:ik

pic1.jpg

Wasim Raja, :raja's late brother

untitled-1.jpg

Asif Masood, fast bowler

pic3-009.jpg

The squad just before boarding the plane for the long tour (from left): Zaheer Abbas, Asif Masood, Intikhab Alam, Saleem Altaf, Mudassar Nazar, Wasim Raja, Imran Khan, Sujauddin (Manager), Imtiaz Khan (Assitant Manager), Majid Khan, Asif Iqbal, Mushtaq Mohanmmad; (sitting from left): Sarfraz Nawaz, Wasim Bari, Iqbal Qasim, Taslim Arif, Sadiq Mohammad, Javed Miandad, Sikander Bakht and (not seen in the picture), Haroon Rashid.

pic2.jpg

The Pakistan dressing room erupts with applause as Asif Iqbal reaches his century in Sydney. (From left [sitting]): Haroon Rashid, Majid Khan, Sadiq Muhammad, Taslim Arif and Imran Khan. (Standing from left): Saleem Altaf, Wasim Bari and Sarfraz Nawaz.

pic3-001.jpg

Mushtaq and Imran celebrate Pakistan’s victory.

pic3-002.jpg

Mushtaq lifted on the shoulders by his team mates soon after Pakistan squared the series at the Port of Spain. (From Left): Iqbal Qasim, Mohsin Khan, Haroon Rashid, Sarfraz Nawaz, Wasim Bari, Javed Miandad, Imran Khan, Mushtaq Muhammad, Sadiq Muhammad, Asif Iqbal, Intikhab Alam, Zaheer Abbas, Saleem Altaf and Wasim Raja.

cricket-pics-003.jpg

Post-match celebrations: Pakistan team celebrate with champagne and dancing at a West Indian nightclub. Seen in the picture are Wasim Raja (far left), Mudassar Nazar (left), Javed Miandad (right) and Sikander Bakht (far right).

25-also-pakistan1.jpg

^he quotes his sources at the end of the article.

Another nice picture I came across, can't recognize all of them

iqbal-munir-cricket-boys-6.jpg

Recognize Rameez Raja, Wasim Akram, Zakir Khan, Ijaz Ahmed, Qasim Umar and Tauseef Ahmed, but who's the man behind Tauseef ? And next to Qasim Umar looks like Abdul Qadir ?

^he quotes his sources at the end of the article.

Another nice picture I came across, can't recognize all of them

iqbal-munir-cricket-boys-6.jpg

Recognize Rameez Raja, Wasim Akram, Zakir Khan, Ijaz Ahmed, Qasim Umar and Tauseef Ahmed, but who's the man behind Tauseef ? And next to Qasim Umar looks like Abdul Qadir ?

Asif Mujtaba and this photo was taken during the 1986 West Indies tour to Pakistan

^thanks, didn't recognize Asif Mujtaba at all. :manzoor

Guess who guys!

052791.jpg

An interesting end to his career...

Still wishing to see him hit Joel Garner for six without helmet.

Here he does another U-Turn:

Quotes from keh Dein Jo Kehna Hai on PTV Sports

Qasim Umar:

"Imran Khan was the best player to wear the Pakistan cap, though. He respected me as a player and still does it." Qasim Umar

"Imran Khan booked his berth in the heaven with the Shaukat Khanum project. Only he could have done that." Qasim Umar

"Imran Khan was very brave when it came to taking risks and fortune always favours the brave." Qasim Umar

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=173581

Ex test cricketer .... played for Pakistan. Held a world record for @3.5 years.

• 485184_606293952718941_1994557886_n.jpg
    485184_606293952718941_1994557886_n.jpg
    45.7 KB · Views: 2,797
A different generation.

We had strong, intelligent and powerful individuals in our team. You look at them and you see positivity and conviction in their spirit.

And all we have now is nervous, worried and weak youngsters and poor performing seniors.

What I would give to turn back the clock.

^^
I think, Dave is 3rd .... from front in the Australian team.

Pakistani players from the front to back are .... I think;

Asif Iqbal
Sadiq Mohammad
Iqbal Qasim
Wasim Bari
Wasim Raja
Javid Miandad
Majid Khan
Mudassar Nazar
Haroon Rashid
??
??
??
Imran Khan (?)
Sarfraz Nawaz
Javid Burki (Manager)

Teams participating in 1979 World Cup.

^^
I think, Dave is 3rd .... from front in the Australian team.

Pakistani players from the front to back are .... I think;

Asif Iqbal
Sadiq Mohammad
Iqbal Qasim
Wasim Bari
Wasim Raja
Javid Miandad
Majid Khan
Mudassar Nazar
Haroon Rashid
??
??
??
Imran Khan (?)
Sarfraz Nawaz
Javid Burki (Manager)

Teams participating in 1979 World Cup.

Haroon is followed by Hassan Jamil (left-arm medium-pace bowling all-rounder), Sikander Bakht and Zaheer Abbas.

Your guess about Imran is correct. I have the same photograph somewhere with better resolution taken a few minutes after this one because Imran looks decidedly bored in that.

Quickly, West Indies

Lloyd
Deryk Murray
Kalicharan
Greenidge
Gomes
Marshall
Haynes
Bachhus
Richards
King
Roberts
Holding
Croft
Garner
Jackie Hendrix

and England

England
Brearley
Botham
Taylor
Miller
Willis
Old
Hendrick
Gooch
Randall
Larkins
Gatting
Gower
Edmonds
Boycott

Don't know who the manager is

Australia - I can see Hughes at the front followed by Hilditch, Whatmore with Border at number 5 (don't know who is between them). Behind Border is Geoff Dymock, Hurst, Wright, Yallop. I can see Rodney Hogg too and Gary Cozier is at the end. Rick Darling is also there I think.

More later if I find time.

1982, Imran Khan's first Test series as captain, in England

163591_640929472590886_284240516_n.jpg

One decade later, successful 1992 WC

20997_641178169232683_1420574880_n.jpg

:ik & :wasim

Imran Khan & Wasim Akram. Australia vs Pakistan, 2nd test match at Adelaide, January 19-23, 1990. Imran Khan (official) made 136 while Wasim contributed 123 which helped Pakistan save the match from an ignominious position of 22 for 4 in the second innings....

11485_646573045359862_1382359984_n.jpg

179452_652593934757773_1988877775_n.jpg

^from L-R : bowler Asif Masood (looks like Mustafa Qureshi, "Maula Jatt" type actor :)) ), ?, Wasim Raja, Imran Khan and Taslim Arif, the WK-opening batsman who got 210*. :kami

In that pic Qadir kinda reminds me of Wasim Akram.

A couple of beautiful pics from England's warm up match in Queenstown, NZ.... going on right now. Even though these don't belong in this thread... but did not want to create a new thread just for these pics;

amazinggg..thanks for sharing.:umarakmal