Virat Kohli 'NOT okay' with 'appalling' invasion of privacy at Perth team hotel

<blockquote class="instagram-media" data-instgrm-captioned data-instgrm-permalink="https://www.instagram.com/reel/CkXVWI6g7Ff/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" data-instgrm-version="14" style=" background:#FFF; border:0; border-radius:3px; box-shadow:0 0 1px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.5),0 1px 10px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.15); margin: 1px; max-width:540px; min-width:326px; padding:0; width:99.375%; width:-webkit-calc(100% - 2px); width:calc(100% - 2px);"><div style="padding:16px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/reel/CkXVWI6g7Ff/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" background:#FFFFFF; line-height:0; padding:0 0; text-align:center; text-decoration:none; width:100%;" target="_blank"> <div style=" display: flex; flex-direction: row; align-items: center;"> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 40px; margin-right: 14px; width: 40px;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 100px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 60px;"></div></div></div><div style="padding: 19% 0;"></div> <div style="display:block; height:50px; margin:0 auto 12px; width:50px;"><svg width="50px" height="50px" viewBox="0 0 60 60" version="1.1" xmlns="https://www.w3.org/2000/svg" xmlns:xlink="https://www.w3.org/1999/xlink"><g stroke="none" stroke-width="1" fill="none" fill-rule="evenodd"><g transform="translate(-511.000000, -20.000000)" fill="#000000"><g><path d="M556.869,30.41 C554.814,30.41 553.148,32.076 553.148,34.131 C553.148,36.186 554.814,37.852 556.869,37.852 C558.924,37.852 560.59,36.186 560.59,34.131 C560.59,32.076 558.924,30.41 556.869,30.41 M541,60.657 C535.114,60.657 530.342,55.887 530.342,50 C530.342,44.114 535.114,39.342 541,39.342 C546.887,39.342 551.658,44.114 551.658,50 C551.658,55.887 546.887,60.657 541,60.657 M541,33.886 C532.1,33.886 524.886,41.1 524.886,50 C524.886,58.899 532.1,66.113 541,66.113 C549.9,66.113 557.115,58.899 557.115,50 C557.115,41.1 549.9,33.886 541,33.886 M565.378,62.101 C565.244,65.022 564.756,66.606 564.346,67.663 C563.803,69.06 563.154,70.057 562.106,71.106 C561.058,72.155 560.06,72.803 558.662,73.347 C557.607,73.757 556.021,74.244 553.102,74.378 C549.944,74.521 548.997,74.552 541,74.552 C533.003,74.552 532.056,74.521 528.898,74.378 C525.979,74.244 524.393,73.757 523.338,73.347 C521.94,72.803 520.942,72.155 519.894,71.106 C518.846,70.057 518.197,69.06 517.654,67.663 C517.244,66.606 516.755,65.022 516.623,62.101 C516.479,58.943 516.448,57.996 516.448,50 C516.448,42.003 516.479,41.056 516.623,37.899 C516.755,34.978 517.244,33.391 517.654,32.338 C518.197,30.938 518.846,29.942 519.894,28.894 C520.942,27.846 521.94,27.196 523.338,26.654 C524.393,26.244 525.979,25.756 528.898,25.623 C532.057,25.479 533.004,25.448 541,25.448 C548.997,25.448 549.943,25.479 553.102,25.623 C556.021,25.756 557.607,26.244 558.662,26.654 C560.06,27.196 561.058,27.846 562.106,28.894 C563.154,29.942 563.803,30.938 564.346,32.338 C564.756,33.391 565.244,34.978 565.378,37.899 C565.522,41.056 565.552,42.003 565.552,50 C565.552,57.996 565.522,58.943 565.378,62.101 M570.82,37.631 C570.674,34.438 570.167,32.258 569.425,30.349 C568.659,28.377 567.633,26.702 565.965,25.035 C564.297,23.368 562.623,22.342 560.652,21.575 C558.743,20.834 556.562,20.326 553.369,20.18 C550.169,20.033 549.148,20 541,20 C532.853,20 531.831,20.033 528.631,20.18 C525.438,20.326 523.257,20.834 521.349,21.575 C519.376,22.342 517.703,23.368 516.035,25.035 C514.368,26.702 513.342,28.377 512.574,30.349 C511.834,32.258 511.326,34.438 511.181,37.631 C511.035,40.831 511,41.851 511,50 C511,58.147 511.035,59.17 511.181,62.369 C511.326,65.562 511.834,67.743 512.574,69.651 C513.342,71.625 514.368,73.296 516.035,74.965 C517.703,76.634 519.376,77.658 521.349,78.425 C523.257,79.167 525.438,79.673 528.631,79.82 C531.831,79.965 532.853,80.001 541,80.001 C549.148,80.001 550.169,79.965 553.369,79.82 C556.562,79.673 558.743,79.167 560.652,78.425 C562.623,77.658 564.297,76.634 565.965,74.965 C567.633,73.296 568.659,71.625 569.425,69.651 C570.167,67.743 570.674,65.562 570.82,62.369 C570.966,59.17 571,58.147 571,50 C571,41.851 570.966,40.831 570.82,37.631"></path></g></g></g></svg></div><div style="padding-top: 8px;"> <div style=" color:#3897f0; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:550; line-height:18px;">View this post on Instagram</div></div><div style="padding: 12.5% 0;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: row; margin-bottom: 14px; align-items: center;"><div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(0px) translateY(7px);"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; height: 12.5px; transform: rotate(-45deg) translateX(3px) translateY(1px); width: 12.5px; flex-grow: 0; margin-right: 14px; margin-left: 2px;"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(9px) translateY(-18px);"></div></div><div style="margin-left: 8px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 20px; width: 20px;"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 2px solid transparent; border-left: 6px solid #f4f4f4; border-bottom: 2px solid transparent; transform: translateX(16px) translateY(-4px) rotate(30deg)"></div></div><div style="margin-left: auto;"> <div style=" width: 0px; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-right: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(16px);"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; flex-grow: 0; height: 12px; width: 16px; transform: translateY(-4px);"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-left: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(-4px) translateX(8px);"></div></div></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center; margin-bottom: 24px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 224px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 144px;"></div></div></a><p style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px; margin-bottom:0; margin-top:8px; overflow:hidden; padding:8px 0 7px; text-align:center; text-overflow:ellipsis; white-space:nowrap;"><a href="https://www.instagram.com/reel/CkXVWI6g7Ff/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px; text-decoration:none;" target="_blank">A post shared by Virat Kohli (@virat.kohli)</a></p></div></blockquote> <script async src="//www.instagram.com/embed.js"></script>

India batter Virat Kohli on Monday shared a horrific experience that he had to endure while his stay in Perth, and he went on to label the experience as "appalling". He also said that it made him feel very "paranoid" about his privacy. The entire incident was of someone entering the batter's hotel room with the cricketer not being present and the entire break in was filmed, and all of Kohli's accessories and wardrobe were put on display. The former India skipper was visibly shook and he requested the fans to respect the privacy of everyone and not treat them as a "commodity" for entertainment.

"I understand that fans get very happy and excited seeing their favourite players and get excited to meet them and I've always appreciated that. But this video here is appalling and it's made me feel very paranoid about my privacy," Kohli wrote in his Instagram post.

"If I cannot have privacy in my own hotel room, then where can I really expect any personal space at all?? I'm NOT okay with this kind of fanaticism and absolute invasion of privacy. Please respect people's privacy and not treat them as a commodity for entertainment," he added.

On Kohli's Instagram post, Australia batter David Warner also left a comment, saying: "This is ridiculous, totally unacceptable. Was this @crownperth."

Kohli's wife Anushka Sharma also shared his post on her Instagram story, and said: "Have experienced few incidents, where fans have shown no compassion or grace in the past but this really is the worst thing. An absolute disgrace and violation of a human being and anyone who sees this and thinks celebrity ho! Toh deal karna padega should know that you are also part of the problem."

"Exercising some self control helps everyone. Also, if this is happening in your bedroom then where is the line," she added.

NDTV

India batter and former skipper Virat Kohli on Monday narrated an "appalling" experience he had to endure during his stay in Perth for the ongoing T20 World Cup. While he was not there, someone entered his room and all of Kohli's accessories and wardrobe were put on display. Kohli posted a lengthy post on Instagram, saying there should be a respect for someone's privacy and no one should be treated as a "commodity" for entertainment.

Now, the Hotel -- Crown Towers in Perth have come out with a statement of their own, saying all individuals involved in this incident have been stood down and they are working alongside the Indian men's cricket team and ICC.

"We unreservedly apologise to the guest involved and will continue to take the necessary steps to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Crown has taken immediate steps to rectify the issue. The individuals involved have been stood down and removed from the Crown account, and the original video was swiftly removed from the social media platform," stated the statement.

"Crown is conducting an investigation with the third-party contractor and will take any further steps necessary to ensure an incident of this nature does not happen again. We are also cooperating with the Indian Cricket team and the International Cricket Council to convey our apologies and will continue to work with them as we progress the investigation," it added.

NDTV

So weird! For cricketers, hotels are like their homes since they spend most of the year in these rooms. This is an appalling invasion of privacy.

How did this happen? I notice David Warner has commented on the post tagging the hotel in question.

If it was a foreign cricketer and this had happened in India/Pakistan one can only imagine the global reaction.

Australian hospitality and management right under the pump this tournament

Serves them right for complaining about trivial things like changing rooms!

So some fan entered Kohli's hotel room? How is this possible without the room key? Only security and house keeping have keys.

Very concerning indeed. If I were Kohli I would ask the hotel for CCTV and confirm who entered.

This isn't a privacy breach, but a potential security breach!

He is “not okay” with it but has still uploaded the video on his Instagram so that his 221 million followers can see what is inside his room. :)))

So some fan entered Kohli's hotel room? How is this possible without the room key? Only security and house keeping have keys.

Very concerning indeed. If I were Kohli I would ask the hotel for CCTV and confirm who entered.

This isn't a privacy breach, but a potential security breach!

You can see the reflection in the mirror. It seems that some Indian working at the hotel went into his room and recorded the video. He will certainly get fired because of this.

India batter and former skipper Virat Kohli on Monday narrated an "appalling" experience he had to endure during his stay in Perth for the ongoing T20 World Cup. While he was not there, someone entered his room and all of Kohli's accessories and wardrobe were put on display. Kohli posted a lengthy post on Instagram, saying there should be a respect for someone's privacy and no one should be treated as a "commodity" for entertainment.

Now, the Hotel -- Crown Towers in Perth have come out with a statement of their own, saying all individuals involved in this incident have been stood down and they are working alongside the Indian men's cricket team and ICC.

"We unreservedly apologise to the guest involved and will continue to take the necessary steps to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Crown has taken immediate steps to rectify the issue. The individuals involved have been stood down and removed from the Crown account, and the original video was swiftly removed from the social media platform," stated the statement.

"Crown is conducting an investigation with the third-party contractor and will take any further steps necessary to ensure an incident of this nature does not happen again. We are also cooperating with the Indian Cricket team and the International Cricket Council to convey our apologies and will continue to work with them as we progress the investigation," it added.

NDTV

He is “not okay” with it but has still uploaded the video on his Instagram so that his 221 million followers can see what is inside his room. :)))

Yeah that part is a bit weird. Posting the whole video on his page is about the best possible way to show off exactly the thing that he wanted to hide to as many people as possible.

He could have blurred the video or posted a snippet to get his point across.

Yeah that part is a bit weird. Posting the whole video on his page is about the best possible way to show off exactly the thing that he wanted to hide to as many people as possible.

He could have blurred the video or posted a snippet to get his point across.

It is a PR stunt. There was no need of uploading the video to begin with, he could left a simple post and explained what happened.

Reminds me of his wife taking their daughter to a match in South Africa and made her face the stadium and then both of them complained that people took pictures.

Don't think the point is him hiding anything, it's about highlighting the gross invasion of privacy.

Looked like some desi in the mirror, but organizers need to tighten up their protocol too. How can people enter a Cricketer's room behind him? What if they poisoned a water bottle?

I too think same. Why he's shared full video if he's concerned with it..? Anyway hotel management must held responsible..

The concern is breach of privacy not the content of the video. Should be common sense.

This is a security breach!

It could have been anyone and that anyone may have had bad intentions.

Seriously scary situation to be in.

First cold food and now letting everyone enter player's rooms. What is Australia up to?

The concern is breach of privacy not the content of the video. Should be common sense.

It is not common sense. Read his caption: “the video here is appalling and it’s made me feel very paranoid about my privacy”

Why re-upload the video on your page if you find it appalling and it makes you very paranoid about your privacy?

The only issue here is not that a hotel staff member accessed his room which happens in every hotel for housekeeping. The issue is that he filmed his room and probably uploaded it on his social media.

Whoever this guy is, he is unlikely to have even 1% of the followers that Kohli has, so it is completely hilarious that Kohli is given the video even more coverage and access by uploading it for the viewing pleasure of his 221 million followers.

It is obviously a hotel staff member because a fan/non-staff member cannot access the card key, there is no possible way that could happen. Secondly, the hotel’s response clearly confirms that.

What happened was completely wrong and unprofessional but Kohli’s actions are equally baffling, confusing and unexplainable.

It is not common sense. Read his caption: “the video here is appalling and it’s made me feel very paranoid about my privacy”

Why re-upload the video on your page if you find it appalling and it makes you very paranoid about your privacy?

The only issue here is not that a hotel staff member accessed his room which happens in every hotel for housekeeping. The issue is that he filmed his room and probably uploaded it on his social media.

Whoever this guy is, he is unlikely to have even 1% of the followers that Kohli has, so it is completely hilarious that Kohli is given the video even more coverage and access by uploading it for the viewing pleasure of his 221 million followers.

It is obviously a hotel staff member because a fan/non-staff member cannot access the card key, there is no possible way that could happen. Secondly, the hotel’s response clearly confirms that.

What happened was completely wrong and unprofessional but Kohli’s actions are equally baffling, confusing and unexplainable.

Don't think it's the video that makes him paranoid, it's the fact that someone could just record his room like that while he is away.

While him and Anushka have done some obvious PR stunts in the past, this doesn't feel like that.

The video is appalling because it was taken in his room without his permission. Not because of the content in the video.

Kohli is clearly concerned about how the person got into his room. Not that his personal stuff is shown in the video.

This is a nightmare for Crown Hotels, I would leave a scorning review on Tripadvisor.

I would also switch to Hilton hotels.

Someone is getting fired over this. From the video it looks like that's hotel room staff. How ignorant do you have to be as a hospitality staff to not respect basic privacy of customers. That's is part of the training

More kaching kaching for his PR team. Badnaami me bhi naam hai aakhir

What was in his hotel room that was so special and needed to be hidden from the entire world?

It didn’t clearly coz he shared the damn video in this case but no one would be ok with this.

His privacy,

Those involved will be sacked, and hotels will have to tighten up who has access to their rooms, they may also prevent staff from having cameras when entering rooms.

This is terrible.

Someone could have planted spy cams all around the room and bathroom.

Kohli could sue for something like this.

That room needs to be swept for bugs and spy cams etc.

This is an invasion of privacy and Kohli's outrage is justified.

Whoever was in charge should apologize.

The video is appalling because it was taken in his room without his permission. Not because of the content in the video.

Kohli is clearly concerned about how the person got into his room. Not that his personal stuff is shown in the video.

The person is obviously a member of the hotel staff. There is no possible way a fan or any non-staff member can access a room.

He is upset about the person filming his room and for good reason, which is why it makes absolutely zero sense why he would expose the video to millions of people on Instagram.

Housekeeping staff will access your room but they will not touch your stuff, open your bags etc. or take pictures/videos of your room.

The issue here is not that he entered his room but because he filmed it and uploaded on his social media, which is why Kohli’s decision to upload the video on his page was very bizarre.

This tells you the power of the BCCI and how paisa talks. If this happened to Babar Azam, would the Australian Cricket Board or Hotel be this apologetic?

Even if it happened to Babar Azam it would have been a huge issue if the player had spoken publicly about it. My guess is that PCB would have tried to handle it internally with the Australian board and the Hotel

Lol all i saw where his 10 pair of shoes, his green tea bags, nuts, suits, cricket kit. I don't think there was much damage done, he should not have gone public with it.

Damn Kohli uses a ton of supplements! Makes me wonder if our players are even close to the same level of nutritional intake.

It really goes to show how hard Kohli works and what utter slobs guys like Sharjeel and Azam Khan are in comparison.

The person is obviously a member of the hotel staff. There is no possible way a fan or any non-staff member can access a room.

He is upset about the person filming his room and for good reason, which is why it makes absolutely zero sense why he would expose the video to millions of people on Instagram.

Housekeeping staff will access your room but they will not touch your stuff, open your bags etc. or take pictures/videos of your room.

The issue here is not that he entered his room but because he filmed it and uploaded on his social media, which is why Kohli’s decision to upload the video on his page was very bizarre.

Kohli uploading the video himself might seem bizarre but there is logic to it.

Firstly, anyone could take a video of a hotel room and claim it belongs to xyz player. Kohli uploading the video on his SM removes all doubt/fake news. Plus if Kohli had not reposted the video then I doubt the culprits would've been fired.

Secondly, evidence. If Kohli had just posted a few words instead of the video, then his post would've been perceived as another hail mary routine on privacy.

Lastly, there is no opportunity for the hotel to deny, not even plausible deniability, when the video proves it was the Crown hotel, with Kohli endorsing the video on his SM channel.

Zero chance 90% of people should have known about this if Kohli himself hadn’t uploaded it

90% of people includes hotel staff around the world, who will not dare to do the same to any player's room.

The greater good has been achieved.

He is not stupid. Very likely did it preemptively. This prevented the video from being monetized by whosoever recorded it. I guess the assumption was that this would eventually come out. I laud him for and his wife for doing this. Hope the cops make an example and throw the book at the so called fan(s). This is not cool at all

I like how everything is so organised in that room. Did he record that video himself? :inti

The items in the rooms is not an issue. The issue is how can someone go inside the room like this? They can install spy cams etc

Someone working at the hotel involved in this perhaps?

Looks like it was 3rd party contractors.

Perth: Crown Towers on Monday issued an apology to star Indian batter Virat Kohli after his privacy was intruded on by an unidentified person in the hotel, saying that an investigation is being conducted with a third-party contractor and individual involved has been "stood and removed from the Crown account".

"We unreservedly apologise to the guest involved and will continue to take the necessary steps to ensure this remains an isolated incident," the hotel management said in a statement. "Crown has taken immediate steps to rectify the issue. The individuals involved have been stood down and removed from the Crown account, and the original video was swiftly removed from the social media platform," Crown Towers was quoted as saying by ESPNCricinfo.

Former India captain Virat Kohli, a key member of India’s T20 World Cup team in Australia, will not file an official complaint with the team hotel in Perth after an unidentified person filmed and posted a video of his room on Instagram, The Indian Express has learnt.

To me it's felt like a show-off.. he can say same thing without showing the video.. can't he..?

Show-off what? It's just a hotel room. Not a royal palace. Kohli sharing the video is irrelevant, breaking in is the issue. You posting video of your own house doesn't mean randoms can break into your property

I find it weird that everything is organized....

Anyways, king kohli is a name that pakistanis use aswell. Im interested to know who the jahil worker was? Indian or Pakistani

I find it weird that everything is organized....

Anyways, king kohli is a name that pakistanis use aswell. Im interested to know who the jahil worker was? Indian or Pakistani

Not weird. He has a disciplined lifestyle and when you live a life like that it reflects everywhere.

India head coach Rahul Dravid says Virat Kohli has dealt well with an invasion of his privacy at a Perth hotel and the batter was in good spirits ahead of Wednesday's Twenty20 World Cup clash with Bangladesh.

People entered Kohli's hotel room and posted a video of his clothes and belongings on social media on Monday leaving the former India skipper saying in an Instagram post he felt "very paranoid" about his privacy.

"It was disappointing. It's not very comfortable for anyone, let alone Virat," Dravid told reporters in Adelaide on Tuesday.

"We've flagged it with the relevant authorities. They have taken action and hopefully, incidents like this will not happen in future.

"Hopefully, people are a lot more careful because it's the only place where you're away from people's prying eyes and without the media glare on you.

"That's not a really nice feeling but he's dealt with it well. He's fine, he's here at training and absolutely perfect."

Crown Resorts said they were aware of the footage filmed by a contractor working at its Burswood hotel and casino complex and apologised to Kohli.

They said they had taken immediate steps to rectify the issue.

https://www.cricket.com.au/news/vir...dia-t20-world-cup-perth-hotel-room/2022-11-01

Statement from the hotel

Crown-perth-statemet.png

Kohli like all cricketers has the right to some privacy. Indian fans should appreciate this instead of running after him like dog's after a bone. Ever heard of locking your room, Virat?