"We aren't doing well against the new ball so we'll try to bat well in first 10 overs": Fakhar Zaman

Fakhar Zaman at a presser ahead of the 5th ODI against NZ:

Q. 4-0 down, how hungry is the team to avoid 5-0 series sweep?

A. Everyday is a new day so we will try to win the 5th ODI and end the series 4-1.

Q. Whats the team morale like when you have lost these many games in a row and how do keep the energy and practice and everything like that?

A. We are working very hard as a team and we have had some good things for us on this tour, we are looking to those things and not the negative things so we will try our level best in the last ODI.

Q. What's the key to beating this Black Caps side, they have got some very good players from top to bottom and you have seen a bit of them now?

A. I think, we should be very good in all of our departments like fielding, batting and bowling. We are not doing well against the new ball. We will try to bat well in the first 10 overs.

Q. So, the Basin reserve, played here last week pretty much what is the score out there if you were to bat tomorrow, what is the good first innings score on that wicket?

A. I think 250-260 would be a good score.

Q. The depth of Black Caps batting, is there a player you focus on?

A. No, I think they have a very good side and all their players are very good so we should focus on all the players.

Did he say 250-260 would be a good score :o for new Zealand that's more than good enough to defend, for us 290+ or no game.

250-260..Oh my goodness..

Fakhar wake up, it's 2018, and not 1998.

Or else, you need this attack to defend 250.

7.Imran
8.Wasim
9.Waqar
10.Shoaib
11.Saqlain

Our aim is 250??? Are we back in 2002?

Bhai in ki 250 ki aukat nahi hai aur ap oochay oochay khuwab dekh rahay hain.... We have only crossed 250 once in the series and that was in the last match :salute

The only way we are going to reach 300 is if Fakhar has a blinder and/or Babar or Haris play their usual selfish innings

Bhai in ki 250 ki aukat nahi hai aur ap oochay oochay khuwab dekh rahay hain.... We have only crossed 250 once in the series and that was in the last match :salute

The only way we are going to reach 300 is if Fakhar has a blinder and/or Babar or Haris play their usual selfish innings

You're right. As long as my team scores 50+ I will be satisfied. Almost didn't do that in the 3rd ODI :yk

The only way these guys will improve this 250 mentality is by learning the art of targeting a boundary an over. It's as simple as that, it should be the target of each batsman. 50X4 is 200 off 50 balls. Then you have 250 balls to do what you want and get an extra 100

Just by the interview, I can tell the morale has literally gone to the dogs this tour. Although I think this humbling was quite necessary after all the Hoopla of the CT win and that easy SL side touring. If they're smart they would stop with all the SM marketing that they embarked on during the last 6 months and just focus entirely on cricket.

We want to win games, we don't want to know how Hassan, Amir, Shadab, or any of them for that matter, are doing in their time off season. Just win games for Pakistan - THAT IS YOUR JOB!!

Need to bat first post 300+ for us to have any chance of winning the 5th ODI.

Did he say 250-260 would be a good score :o for new Zealand that's more than good enough to defend, for us 290+ or no game.

I know generally 250 is a mediocre total which would be chased within 43 overs by any decent team but before jumping to conclusions, we should know what the pitch and ground is like. Maybe they have studied it and perhaps 250 is really a good score on this pitch.

You and I both know the chance of this happening is literally non-existent. This is PCT we're talking about bro.....

We'll, it's the same ground we played in earlier this series where NZ made 315 and we were 166-6. Factoring home advantage and the series scorecards, if we can make 250 on that pitch so can NZ to chase it down. However, we only have hope if one batsman plays a heroic innings to get us to atleast 290, then we can apply scoreboard pressure and potentially take NZ down.

See, this is the issue with Pakistan's openers. They care more about not losing a wicket, or two and not about keeping the scoreboard ticking over and scoring freely.

They need to realise whatever they [openers] do Pakistan will continue to underperform. Just play with some freedom and go for it. I rather be 60-2 in the 10 overs than be 30-odd for 1.

I get they don't trust the batsmen following them but atleast realise this isn't how the modern game is played anymore. No more *keep wickets in hand until the last 10 overs, and go crazy*

I wonder what Arthur is doing or saying to the players. Nothing has worked for the last decade :))

If there a bit of hope of some positive cricket that is also gone.

Sarfaraz should drop Azam and MAlik if they don't perform. He should'nt destroy others game like Zamans. He is the only person[Zaman] in the side who plays contemporary cricket is being pushed to bat 50 overs, which is impossible. Harris Sohail is not a great replacement with the way they don't even rotate strike.

They should come out of the mindset that Amir will defend 260, he will remain pathetic and defensive.
Hassan and Shadab have done well but they are in start of their careers can't expect them to shoulder the bowling department alone.

Hope sense prevails and Arthur instructs them to go for 300 or 40% of the match is already lost.

Fakhar of all people in the squad can hold his head high after this tour. That shouldn't mean make him the next captain either. PCB is smart enough to know this. :sharif

Humbling experience. Reminds me off the tour to Australia the WC 1999 team had in 1999-2000 where they got trashed in each and every game of the series but went on to become better cricketers for it at the end.

Fakhar of all people in the squad can hold his head high after this tour. That shouldn't mean make him the next captain either. PCB is smart enough to know this. :sharif

Fakhar is by far the best batsman in the side. He can rotate the strike, play defensively or go hell to leather as required. An absolute gem in a team of tuk tuks.

I remember how PP'ers were crucifying him after his first couple of appearances and saying that he has a tailender-esque technique and has no reflexes to play pacers. Goes to show much technique is over-rated. Doesn't matter if your "technique" involves you showing your back to the bowler, as long as you score runs that's all that matters.

One of these days when I have time, I'll bump that "Fakhar impressions" thread and expose all PP experts who now sing Fakhar's praises but were calling for his head after his first few appearances.

Humbling experience. Reminds me off the tour to Australia the WC 1999 team had in 1999-2000 where they got trashed in each and every game of the series but went on to become better cricketers for it at the end.

That Tri-Series wasn't too bad. The 99 team beat India 3-1 in the group stage and beat Australia in the first match but ended up losing 3-1 in the group and 2-0 to them in the final. So at least they won some games, albeit most of those were against India.

Fakhar is by far the best batsman in the side. He can rotate the strike, play defensively or go hell to leather as required. An absolute gem in a team of tuk tuks.

I remember how PP'ers were crucifying him after his first couple of appearances and saying that he has a tailender-esque technique and has no reflexes to play pacers. Goes to show much technique is over-rated. Doesn't matter if your "technique" involves you showing your back to the bowler, as long as you score runs that's all that matters.

One of these days when I have time, I'll bump that "Fakhar impressions" thread and expose all PP experts who now sing Fakhar's praises but were calling for his head after his first few appearances.
I remember people calling him a “ poor man’s Sharjeel “ and “ will get exposed against the short ball “. His attitude، work ethic, and desire to help the team win is unparall apart from Hasan. If Smith and FZ have shown us anything, it’s technique is not mandatory for successful batting.