"We can’t compete like India in Australian conditions" : Mohammad Hafeez

He talks about polishing a talent really!! Whatever resources Pakistan had they could have played better cricket than what they are playing currently. We indeed have poor grass root level but even the young cricketers who do make it in the team then these failed cricketers who have experienced in multiple comebacks dont let other cricketers flourish only because they are insecure. What he is saying is right but when,when he had earned enough and now he knows its time to retire. The problem in PCB is biased selection and corrupt practices. So the talent that does surface gets killed by the selectors and then by these players who make life if new selected cricketers life's difficult.
What India is today is because of honest selection and umpteen bilateral tours of Australia and New Zealand in the firm of A or under 19 tours. Ofcourse then they also play their own domestic cricket.
Truth when said at the right time then it matters truth spoken by someone towards their end of career means nothing its worth is as good as a lie. Idiots whole career is littered with drops and come backs and in his twilight stage of career he has odessity to talk about grass root merit and selection.
You tell me and please guide how many 100s in test or one says he has against good sides on their grounds. I will make it more easy how many 50s he has in test and one days against good sides on their soil. He is not even Ijaz Ahmed of his time I would say his class is a very cheap version of Ijaz Ahmed.. Please, also let us know how many hundreds or 50s he has in a loosing cause.
He is just a mediocre , ordinary in patches cricketer who is way short of international class outside Pakistan and a decent player on bald pitches of UAE.
I hope PCB refrains from selecting such mediocre players as they will always bring mediocre performance. He should stop talking about grass root level which I am sure he does not know what that means bases on his basic education. I guess that's why he has been honored with the title "professor" to overcome his marginalized education. I would rather stay on his cricket let keep it that way

You're offended but he is speaking the truth here. You're offended by the truth so you attack the person making the statement regardless of whether the statement has merit or not. That's why you didn't actually make a simple argument about his comments but instead went on a rant about his cricketing career.

Anyway, he isn't wrong here. We have no method behind our madness and for years have just depended on individual brilliance to bail us out. That run chase in the 4th test wasn't individual brilliance. It was calculated and had so much self-belief. It's as if these guys had conquered these situations time and time again. Shardul, Siraj and Sundar played their roles brilliantly too. Pant was allowed to be Pant.

He was not far behind Yuvi, He has done almost as much as Yuvi for Pakistan and until he was allowed to bowl was bowling more consistently than Yuvi. Yuvi was slightly better and playing for a better team for the most part.

I dont think he was an international failure people forget it was his contribution in the CT17 that broke India at the end.

Yuvraj was India's main man in the 2 WC win( 2007, 2011). Dont think hafeez did anything close to that.

Yuvraj played for the better team so he had better chances. But Hafeez also helped bring down the hugely fancied Indian side in the ICC final the biggest game he has ever played. He also helped Pakistan got to that semi final in 2011. Yuvraj was a better player over all but only slightly.

What exactly is a product or a brand?

I see Akthar and others use that a lot.

Kohli-Rohit are a “brand” ,of course they are.

They are a brand because of their performances on the field. If they keep flopping, all these sponsors will dump them for a different guy who can help their “brand”.

“Brand” banao “product” banao sounds good on paper.

I think Afridi and Akthar set a wrong precendent for what a brand is in Pakistan. 2 talented cricketers blessed with a marketable personality/decent looks, became superstars not proportional with their actual cricketing legacy

That is not what you call a longer term sustainable product. If that is your premier brand than you are in trouble.

Focus players with sound basics, develop and nurture him by giving opportunities at all basic levels, monitor them and then pick the best among the lot after a good enough run. If you see someone with freakish talent like you see in SC especially Pakistan , expedite the process but still keep the same basic pathway.

What India does is no rocket science, just the basics on how you filter out the best. You automatically get players good enough to be polished products.

On the contrary I think Hafeez is a genuine world class talent, it could be just his own fault hes underachieved though . I think he could have been as good as Yuvi was for India in shorter formats.

Hafeez is definitely talented, he can hit shots most of his peers are incapable of. But I guess this is where lack of opportunity to hone that talent always comes back to bite Pakistan players. I don't think it's a coincidence that he's got better the longer his career has gone on, he's been exposed to better bowling under various conditions, but still nowhere near those who play in quality first class domestic and international competition more regularly.

This is why you get the much derided "Pakistan me talent bohat hai" from. Without a doubt you have guys with some raw ability, usually there are also gaping technical flaws through not having played outside of the subcontinent.

What pakistan needs is a Imran or ganguly not kohli at this point. It is not only cricketers who need thier mind set to be changed but fans too. You want someone who believes in himself first and I don’t think Babar is that person. Let him be the tendulkar of your generation but you need to identify a brash sophisticated self believing captain. You have us you can learn from ups and downs, how far we fell and what we did to come out of it. You guys don’t need to reinvent the wheel.
The problem with the "all we need is one inspirational captain" argument is without a proper system, once that skipper leaves the team falls apart as it did after Imran retired in 1992.

Ganguly definitely changed the ethos of Indian cricket, but the board's investment in regional academies, junior level coaching, A tours and upgrading grounds will have a much longer lasting legacy than any one individual. It ensures a continual pipeline of new, well groomed players for international cricket for years to come.

PCB are only now putting the work into creating a proper pathway from school to FC cricket, overhauling the coaching and HPC structure, and the importance of analytics. These reforms however will take years to bear fruit.

Yuvraj played for the better team so he had better chances. But Hafeez also helped bring down the hugely fancied Indian side in the ICC final the biggest game he has ever played. He also helped Pakistan got to that semi final in 2011. Yuvraj was a better player over all but only slightly.

Sorry to disagree. Yuvraj was not merely helping but was the main protagonist in those wins both with bat and bowl . And i have not included CT 2000, 2002, 2017, WC 2003, 2014 etc where he had "helped" India in reaching the final. I am not even botherimg about the Natwest and Pak bilaterals. Yuvraj v Hafeez is a mismatch in LOIs. Hafeez had better test career.

without taking anything away from India who played great cricket but in no definition India's victory would be classed as a thrashing. Series could have gone either way. India were hanging on in last 2 matches and nicked one at the end when Aussies tried to risk it to win it.

India was too good when Australia tried to risk it as they should have known.

Looks like you misread my post.

I meant Pakistan should at least draw a game on their next tour to break the streak.
And Pakistan should thrash Australia in Pakistan/UAE.

The problem with the "all we need is one inspirational captain" argument is without a proper system, once that skipper leaves the team falls apart as it did after Imran retired in 1992.

Ganguly definitely changed the ethos of Indian cricket, but the board's investment in regional academies, junior level coaching, A tours and upgrading grounds will have a much longer lasting legacy than any one individual. It ensures a continual pipeline of new, well groomed players for international cricket for years to come.

PCB are only now putting the work into creating a proper pathway from school to FC cricket, overhauling the coaching and HPC structure, and the importance of analytics. These reforms however will take years to bear fruit.

It's just aggravating to hear both Indian and many Pak fans dump all the credit at the feet of Ganguly and Dravid like they worked some dark arts.

That they are men of integrity is good enough. But mostly, it's BCCI's hard nosed administrators, many of whom are actually corrupt, who recognized that the easiest path to big broadcast money is only and only through a performing national team. They have hardly been perfect or clear headed on how they went about achieving it, but the vision and goal was crystal.

Looks like you misread my post.

I meant Pakistan should at least draw a game on their next tour to break the streak.
And Pakistan should thrash Australia in Pakistan/UAE.

Pakistan have been thrashing Australia at home consistently recently mainly due to this Australia side not really being that great.

Regarding Pakistan and India comparison in Australia its a competently different story. India was actually competing against the Aussies even when they had the star studded team 2000-2008 and now they are not as good India have been doing even better in Australia. The reason being India have had the batsman for a long time to take advantage of Australia true bounce batting tracks. Indeed it required Australia the likes of McGrath and Gillespie et all to draw the series at home in 2002.

Where Pakistan have been easily beaten in Australia even with the likes of Wasim, Waqar, Shoiab, Inzimam, Yosuf, Younis etc and even though Australia is weaker so is Pakistan.

Indias performance in Australia have been coming for a long time due to their batsmen being able to score runs in Australia. Indian batsmen struggle more in places like England, SA and NZ where bowl swings in those countries India have been beaten fairly easily in their last tours even with a stronger team than they played this time around in Australia.

Sorry to disagree. Yuvraj was not merely helping but was the main protagonist in those wins both with bat and bowl . And i have not included CT 2000, 2002, 2017, WC 2003, 2014 etc where he had "helped" India in reaching the final. I am not even botherimg about the Natwest and Pak bilaterals. Yuvraj v Hafeez is a mismatch in LOIs. Hafeez had better test career.

I think you are over rating Yuvi slightly.

It's just aggravating to hear both Indian and many Pak fans dump all the credit at the feet of Ganguly and Dravid like they worked some dark arts.

That they are men of integrity is good enough. But mostly, it's BCCI's hard nosed administrators, many of whom are actually corrupt, who recognized that the easiest path to big broadcast money is only and only through a performing national team. They have hardly been perfect or clear headed on how they went about achieving it, but the vision and goal was crystal.

I agree with this - everytime a youngster succeeds in India, everybody in Pakistan is quick to attribute it to Rahul Dravid. (For eg, Shubhman Gill). But Gill had a natural talent which was groomed by the whole system - probably by his school coaches, his state selectors etc even before he reached his Under-19. No doubt he benefitted from Dravid’s coaching in under-19, but to attribute everything to one person is to undermine everything others have done. What Dravid probably did was formalize a feeder process from under-19/List A to the national team, but others have come into the pipeline without going through the same process (like Bumrah or Pandya via IPL) & will continue to do so.

So Pakistan would do better to look at all processes holistically instead of harping for a Rahul Dravid of our own.

Also, Dravid would be the last person to take any credit.

I agree with this - everytime a youngster succeeds in India, everybody in Pakistan is quick to attribute it to Rahul Dravid. (For eg, Shubhman Gill). But Gill had a natural talent which was groomed by the whole system - probably by his school coaches, his state selectors etc even before he reached his Under-19. No doubt he benefitted from Dravid’s coaching in under-19, but to attribute everything to one person is to undermine everything others have done. What Dravid probably did was formalize a feeder process from under-19/List A to the national team, but others have come into the pipeline without going through the same process (like Bumrah or Pandya via IPL) & will continue to do so.

So Pakistan would do better to look at all processes holistically instead of harping for a Rahul Dravid of our own.

without taking anything away from India who played great cricket but in no definition India's victory would be classed as a thrashing. Series could have gone either way. India were hanging on in last 2 matches and nicked one at the end when Aussies tried to risk it to win it.

India was too good when Australia tried to risk it as they should have known.

India did smash at MCG

SCG yes agree.

Gabba - contrary to popular opinion, India was never more than a session out of the game. On the 5th day especially. They planned the chase extremely well and by tea were just 3 wickets down. And more importantly they had more or less worn down the opposition bowlers which then enabled them to chase down the target in the final session at a run rate of nearly 5. That is more or less a good beating indeed.

India lost their 6th and 7th wickets only when the match was safely in the bag. At the time of losing their sixth, there was no risk of not winning the match.

So the tests they won, they won it quite convincingly. At SCG, they were in the ascendancy till Jadeja got injured.

Even with same quality of players in the team, the difference between team India and Pakistan team is.... The vast difference of administration.

Administration plays greater role behind the scenes and if there's incompetence, you can only overcome with immense natural talent. Pakistan rode it's luck in past but sooner or later, a price was needed to pay.

I'll blame the administration of PCB more than the players.

Maybe true but just for arguments sake let us say I am a on the fence fan of Indian team. I do not know or do not care about the internal mechanism of BCCI as a fan what I want is my team winning and if not looking at the opponents directly and say Chalo no big deal we lost you won with confidence. May be many Indian fans think highly of ganguly for that reason. May be he is not the best captain we had not the greatest player we had but he will be the guy who instilled confidence in fans. We are as good as other joes. There were times we used to watch only half the match because we know next half will be bad. Ganguly and Dravid led us to dhoni and kohli. I am as a fan no more on the fence and happy with my team even when they loose. It aggravates and makes me sad when they loose but I see the light at the end of tunnel.

H
Also, Dravid would be the last person to take any credit.

Dravid is too nice a human being - but i do have a problem with others overstating his role in the whole player management set-up & making him out to be the Messiah of the Indian cricket when he or Ganguly are only two of the clogs of the BCCI wagon-wheel.

I understand what you're saying. But Dravid can't control what others say about him and how he becomes "trending" on twitter every time India wins, all he can do is not let the adulation get to his head, and continue working diligently for BCCI, which I think he will. I have met him in person and he is such humble and simple man, I was amazed. He waited for 40 minutes at a hospital for his relative without making any fuss or requesting a jump in the queue and maintaining a jolly vibe throughout.

You're right about the machinery of BCCI though, it certainly takes more than Dravid and Ganguly to achieve what BCCI has done; and IPL for all the abuse it gets on this forum has also contributed significantly towards this progress.

H

Dravid is too nice a human being - but i do have a problem with others overstating his role in the whole player management set-up & making him out to be the Messiah of the Indian cricket when he or Ganguly are only two of the clogs of the BCCI wagon-wheel.

Ignoring the strange use of words by Hafeez, he has a point.

Preparation of players is the key.

We throw untried and untested players into international cricket and hope they swim and not sink.

India gently places its players into international cricket knowing they will swim and not sink.

Ignoring the strange use of words by Hafeez, he has a point.

Preparation of players is the key.

We throw untried and untested players into international cricket and hope they swim and not sink.

India gently places its players into international cricket knowing they will swim and not sink.

Shubman Gill too got a Test after proving himself on 'A' tours. He was already scoring big runs in domestic cricket. If it was Pakistan, he probably would've been picked straight into the national team after the U19 World Cup 2 years ago.

I think you are over rating Yuvi slightly.

Peak Yuvraj was an extraordinary beast. Except that he was never consistent & too focused on Page 3 stuff - hence his legacy is underwhelming

Few players could smash express pace bowlers like Mitchell Johnson & Brett Lee for sixes as effortlessly as Yuvraj

When a 40 y.o Hafeez is your MVP in T20Is then you know something's not right within the PCB setup.

examine his fitness. Hafeez at 40 is fitter than Inzamam was at 24. Yes, Inzamam was the better batsman, but lack of fitness makes you a liability - injuries, unreliable fielding, unreliable running between the wickets, low morale... the list is endless.

if James Anderson can be fit and still firing at 38, you need to move past age as a number and examine fitness.

Shubman Gill too got a Test after proving himself on 'A' tours. He was already scoring big runs in domestic cricket. If it was Pakistan, he probably would've been picked straight into the national team after the U19 World Cup 2 years ago.

Picked, dropped, picked again, dropped again and then banished to domestic cricket.

Newzeland probably the least talented nation in top 7 throughout their history and look how they have managed to reach the number 1 status , if they can do it then surely Pak can do it too.

examine his fitness. Hafeez at 40 is fitter than Inzamam was at 24. Yes, Inzamam was the better batsman, but lack of fitness makes you a liability - injuries, unreliable fielding, unreliable running between the wickets, low morale... the list is endless.

if James Anderson can be fit and still firing at 38, you need to move past age as a number and examine fitness.

Hafeez is a quarter quarter player inzy was even with that fitness

Newzeland probably the least talented nation in top 7 throughout their history and look how they have managed to reach the number 1 status , if they can do it then surely Pak can do it too.

Kiwis per capita contribution to the world in any field is remarkable, they are a benchmark.

I understand what you're saying. But Dravid can't control what others say about him and how he becomes "trending" on twitter every time India wins, all he can do is not let the adulation get to his head, and continue working diligently for BCCI, which I think he will. I have met him in person and he is such humble and simple man, I was amazed. He waited for 40 minutes at a hospital for his relative without making any fuss or requesting a jump in the queue and maintaining a jolly vibe throughout.

You're right about the machinery of BCCI though, it certainly takes more than Dravid and Ganguly to achieve what BCCI has done; and IPL for all the abuse it gets on this forum has also contributed significantly towards this progress.

I have so so much respect for Dravid. Absolutely beautiful human being.

Peak Yuvraj was an extraordinary beast. Except that he was never consistent & too focused on Page 3 stuff - hence his legacy is underwhelming

Few players could smash express pace bowlers like Mitchell Johnson & Brett Lee for sixes as effortlessly as Yuvraj

Big match player. Most underrated person of the World Cup winning team in that Indian golden era.

He was not far behind Yuvi, He has done almost as much as Yuvi for Pakistan and until he was allowed to bowl was bowling more consistently than Yuvi. Yuvi was slightly better and playing for a better team for the most part.

I dont think he was an international failure people forget it was his contribution in the CT17 that broke India at the end.

I agree with this.

Hafeez speaks about not being a complete product because he himself required numerous opportunities to improve his game with trial and error. Hafeez could've genuinely been a batting allrounder like Yuvraj averaging in his 40s if he had shown the kind of form he is in now. He is the epitome of talent that eventually reached his peak late on his career because he wasn't afforded the grooming that he could've received if he was in a better system. He is one of those names that has been in and out of the side since 2003 but never showed the kind of class that he shows now in a batsman in all conditions. Its a travesty but it is true. And even now, at this age, there is probably no one better as a middle order batsman in the whole country.

He is right about most things except the usual baloney that Pakistan has immense talent. That is not true.

Pakistan is among the least talented cricket nations, and that has been the case throughout history as well.

Pakistan has a mediocre legacy in all departments of the game except fast bowling, and the fast bowling legacy was largely built on a “dark art” that is illegal, and once it became less feasible to achieve due to the advancement of cameras, our fast bowling tumbled.

The dark art - reverse swing is not illegal - but ball tampering is. Learn the difference. Go back to watching highlights.

@thread. The only reason why India beat Australia is because India plays Australia frequently, and of course agasint Aussie players in the IPL.

Put India in front of of teams where respective players do not play in the IPL, surprise factor, and India are sitting ducks. Cough cough CT17 and India's away record.

You silly little boy.

The dark art - reverse swing is not illegal - but ball tampering is. Learn the difference. Go back to watching highlights.

@thread. The only reason why India beat Australia is because India plays Australia frequently, and of course agasint Aussie players in the IPL.

Put India in front of of teams where respective players do not play in the IPL, surprise factor, and India are sitting ducks. Cough cough CT17 and India's away record.

I called it a “dark art” because the means with which Pakistan achieved reverse-swing in the 80s and 90s were illegal, and once those means became infeasible because of better cameras, our fast bowling went downhill.

Anyway, I am glad you have finally mustered the courage to show up in the cricket section after the Gabba Test. May you continue to illuminate this side of the forum as well with your unprecedented ignorance.

You are already off to a good start judging by your second paragraph.

The only reason why India beat Australia is because India plays Australia frequently, and of course agasint Aussie players in the IPL.

+1
India also didn’t face peak-form Warner. The guy who averaged 480 in his last series against Pakistan.

The same set of Pakistani players have played the same set of Indian players in 5 ODIs over the last four years including the CT.

The record standards 4-1 in India’s favor.

It appears that the “surprise factor” and your laughably bogus IPL theory didn’t even last for a few minutes.

Looking forward to your next pearl of wisdom.

I called it a “dark art” because the means with which Pakistan achieved reverse-swing in the 80s and 90s were illegal, and once those means became infeasible because of better cameras, our fast bowling went downhill.

Anyway, I am glad you have finally mustered the courage to show up in the cricket section after the Gabba Test. May you continue to illuminate this side of the forum as well with your unprecedented ignorance.

You are already off to a good start judging by your second paragraph.

Doesn't change the fact the 'dark art' is legal, and India's away record is a shambles.

Law of average dictates, play a team long enough and you'll eventually beat them.

PS ; 2 balls were used in the 92 WC final.

Doesn't change the fact the 'dark art' is legal,
and India's away record is a shambles.

Law of average dictates, play a team long enough and you'll eventually beat them.

Have a great weekend.

Sweet dreams, sweet pea.

Since 2016

India's test record outside Asia
Won 10
Lost 10

W/L ratio of 1.0 , which is pretty great record for any Asian team outside of Asia.

Doesn't change the fact the 'dark art' is legal, and India's away record is a shambles.

1992 World Cup was a fluke that has destroyed the mentality and culture of Pakistan cricket forever.

It ushered an era of unprofessional and the unpredictability mentality which is just a romantic outlook on inconsistency.

Pakistan never learned or figured out how to build a successful professional team. This Hail Mary approach is laid the foundation of our inconsistency and mediocrity over the next three decades.

You are half-right about the Law of Averages, but you forgot the other half: the superior team will beat the inferior team more often than not in the long run.

That explains why the current Indian ODI team has 4 out of 5 ODIs against the current Pakistan team.

That also explains why India have won the last two series in Australia. The first-choice attack of Australia is not good enough to topple India, and on the evidence of this series, neither is the first-choice batting lineup of Australia.

India is a better team than Australia.

Overall Test records in Australia:

Pakistan - Played 37, Won 4, Lost 26, Drawn 7. Series wins 0
India - Played 52, Won 9, Lost 30, Drawn 13. Series wins 2

Because Kohli became full-time captain in 2015, and India didn’t play outside Asia until 2016.

Awwww selective stats. Kohli you say? Kohli didn't play in the last 3 Tests of the recent series vs Australia whats your point again?

Tak to me about H2H between india and Pakistan, a team which India refuses to play. Not the ownage you would like. I wonder why? Hmmm.

Fact is India beat Australia because India regularly play agsint Australia and Aussie players in the IPL.

Law of averages.

FACT.

Awwww selective stats. Kohli you say? Kohli didn't play in the last 3 Tests of the recent series vs Australia whats your point again?

Tak to me about H2H between india and Pakistan, a team which India refuses to play. Not the ownage you would like. I wonder why? Hmmm.

Fact is India beat Australia because India regularly play agsint Australia and Aussie players in the IPL.

Law of averages.

FACT.

There is nothing selective about these stats. This is the entire period of Kohli’s captaincy. Looks like you don’t understand the definition of “selective”.

The H2H between Pakistan and India is meaningless because the set of players on both sides have changed.

That is why people who were bragging up about Australia’s record at the Gabba didn’t realize that the players that made Gabba a fortress are not playing anymore, and thus their past record on the venue holds no significance.

The current Indian team is miles ahead of Pakistan in all formats and the 4-1 record over the last 5 ODIs (with the same set of players on both sides) is an indication of what would happen to Pakistan if they play India in a bilateral series today.

India did not beat Australia because they play in IPL. That is a laughable assertion. Looks like this “fact” was unknown to you when you were predicting a thumping for India at the Gabba before that prediction backfired in spectacular fashion.

India beat Australia because they current Indian team is better and will beat Australia in most conditions.

Pakistan does not play IPL and that has not helped Pakistan dominate India. They have lost 4 out of 5 ODIs with the same set of players on both sides.

Mediocre players will remain mediocre. The current Pakistan team can play a dozen Tests vs India and it will not help them beat them in a series.

On a side note, since the 2015 World Cup, Pakistan have played 16 ODI against England. Only Australia have played more.

The record stands 11-4 in England’s favor, with 1 no result.

Clearly, familiarly has not helped Pakistan close the gap between them and England. They only win about 25% of ODIs against England.

The gulf between Pakistan and India is far too wide for Pakistan to benefit from playing India regularly and for India to struggle against Pakistan because of novelty factor.

There is no novelty when it comes to Pakistani players. They are just mediocre, poor quality cricketers.

However, you can live in a world of your own where India is afraid of a team that is several notches below them in all formats in all departments. There are no limits to fantasy and daydreaming.

Law of averages.

FACT.

Man you should just give India credit for winning back to back series in Australia, why are you looking for excuses? Fact is India with a third string side beat a full strength Australia in their backyard which is phenomenal really. No words can really sum up the magnitude of India's achievement of winning the recent series in Australia.

While i see some people ridiculing his stint over the years he has said some valid things.

Actually there are many who can smash sixes effortlessly against those now a days.

097c9f3a-3b88-46cd-b989-aeb6f1ae81de.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">إِنَّ اللّهَ مَعَ الصَّابِرِينَ ٢:١٥٣<br>“Indeed ALLAH is with the patient” <a href="https://t.co/ff1VLMpmwv">pic.twitter.com/ff1VLMpmwv</a></p>— Mohammad Hafeez (@MHafeez22) <a href="https://twitter.com/MHafeez22/status/1355814816942845953?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mohammad Wasim "Mohammad Hafeez is in prolific form & he would have been part of the squad. Unfortunately he won’t be able to join the bio-bubble due to playing in the T10 League by February 3 which is why we have not picked him" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvSA?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvSA</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1355854432609689602?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2021</a></blockquote>

View attachment 106624

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">إِنَّ اللّهَ مَعَ الصَّابِرِينَ ٢:١٥٣<br>“Indeed ALLAH is with the patient” <a href="https://t.co/ff1VLMpmwv">pic.twitter.com/ff1VLMpmwv</a></p>— Mohammad Hafeez (@MHafeez22) <a href="https://twitter.com/MHafeez22/status/1355814816942845953?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What is he trying to say here...:mw1

I really hope this isn't more strife between management and senior players :facepalm

Hafeez is undoubtedly our best in the format right now, and we need him for the WC

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sources close to Mohammad Hafeez say he is heartbroken at not being picked for the T20I series against South Africa. He has always put country first ahead of any league cricket and would have returned to Pakistan for 3rd February deadline if required by PCB <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvSA?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvSA</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1355881095544365057?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2021</a></blockquote>

But Wasim said they had spoken to Hafeez and were told he won't be able to return before the 3rd of February?

What is going on here?

Ironically Hafeez taunted Amir just a week ago saying that the management were very supportive.

No offense but the management seems to have way too many communication issues

I mean if you wanna take a stand just take a stand.

- They said you need to be in back by Feb 5th or you can't be in the squad.

- Hafeez said can't be back by Feb 5th.

- He's not selected in the squad.

Communication seems fine to me.

No solutions, just a load of waffle and buzz words. Add 'purifying' and 'polishing' talents to the other range of words being used by ex players like 'daleri', 'jazba' etc. We need practical ideas, less waffle thanks.

This, this and this! ^^^

I can probably write a book by stating the obvious and support it with a critique on Pakistan cricket setup.

But without providing a practical and effective solution, it’s just a hogwash.

I am pretty sure that folks here on PP are a lot more intelligent and have come up with solutions beyond his comprehension.

And to make it worse, not many who have agreed with Hafeez’s rhetoric, have discussed a solution and game plan to fix the issue.

No offense but the management seems to have way too many communication issues

I mean if you wanna take a stand just take a stand.

While management’s handling of players isnt great but to be honest some of Pak players have a victim mentality and love going into the zone where they can show how they are being marginalized to gather public sympathy and support from some quarters of media. Also not to forget sky high egos of some players who no matter what the selectors or management does, they always believe they somehow they are not being given enough respect.

I am not talking about Hafeez in particular but, players should focus more on the performances onfield than they do on the performances off the field. Need to get out of this support mechanism where they rely on social media, media and fans than their own management.

- They said you need to be in back by Feb 5th or you can't be in the squad.

- Hafeez said can't be back by Feb 5th.

- He's not selected in the squad.

Communication seems fine to me.
Makes sense to me...

Somehow Hafeez thought Dale Steyn was playing for SA and he made himself unavailable, only later he came to know Steyn was not in team, but by then it was too late. :virat1

While management’s handling of players isnt great but to be honest some of Pak players have a victim mentality and love going into the zone where they can show how they are being marginalized to gather public sympathy and support from some quarters of media. Also not to forget sky high egos of some players who no matter what the selectors or management does, they always believe they somehow they are not being given enough respect.

I am not talking about Hafeez in particular but, players should focus more on the performances onfield than they do on the performances off the field. Need to get out of this support mechanism where they rely on social media, media and fans than their own management.

Actually your are right ,also w.r.t Hafeez read couple of other articles and he is at fault here , I just assumed PCB had communication issues.

Agree on the last point as well..looks like he wanted to arm twist PCB into agreeing to his terms.

India had thrashed Pakistan in the same CT17 in league match and also two times again in UAE in 2018 without Kohli and with the likes of Rayudu.
India didn’t beat Australia because they play them more. Its because, we got a good crop of fast bowlers now and our batsmen became good at handling pace and bounce thanks to good pitches in domestics, increased pace of domestic fast bowlers and our young batsmen facing international fast bowlers in IPL( both on the field and in nets).
However, our skills against swing have deteriorated and hence we struggle more in England and Newzealand.

Thiers no miss communication clearly hafeez couldnt make the quarantine rules hence why he couldnt be in the squad this was clarified in the press conference by wasim