We should be proud of Team Pakistan at the 2017 Champions Trophy on Sunday regardless of the result

shaz619

Test Star
Pakistan have fought with a heart, courage and bravery which has not been seen in a very long time.

Look we're not the most perfect team, we have talent but it's rarely developed efficiently enough for us to utilise, we can't play our games at home, our neighbours always belittle us, we have a poor domestic infrastructure, can't play in the IPL, our best players get consumed by the world of taking short cuts at times,

Excess baggage is never eliminated in our team due to the seniority complex, our fans only support Pakistan when they do well and look to pelt them with stones when they fail; not before hoping for Pakistan's failure because we don't like selector or player x because then our opinions would get proven wrong, there is never any consistency for a long periods and everyone is always as good as their last game be it a coach, cricketer or selector. Quite frankly despite all these factors and root problems us fans and experts etc still expect Pakistan to win every game and put them under immense pressure.

And because Pakistan is inconsistent they never truly get the credit when they do win because it was all down to being "unpredictable" "favourable conditions" etc and not due to excellence on the cricket pitch.

I know it's tough being a Pakistan fan but we also give the team a really hard time as fans without taking into context the extenuating circumstances of our team but despite these we have found ourselves in the final after being defeated by India emphatically during the group stage. It's the sought of defeat you'd think very few can recover from but Pakistan fought back with unreal resilience.

So please, lower your expectations and enjoy the magnificent contest! I must admit that I was very confident of our team reaching the final but have concerns with regards to their chances in the final but despite this will sit back and relax! after all the no.8 ranked team in the world! my beloved Pakistan whom everyone wrote of reached the final AGAINST ALL ODDS! LET THAT SINK IN!

I am proud of:

Fakhar Zaman
Azar Ali
Babar Azam
Sarfraz
Hafeez
Shoaib Malik
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Junaid Khan
Hasan Ali
Ruman Raees
Mohammad Amir
Fahim Ashraf

Inzamam Ul Haq
Mickey Arther
Steve Rixon
Grant Flower
Azhar Mahmood

Thank you all for elevating Pakistan cricket and putting smiles on all our faces, it was a huge accomplishment in itself getting to the final and no matter what happens this Sunday we are PROUD OF YOU and appreciate all the effort you have put in under immense pressure with so many obstacles to overcome!

Good Luck for Sunday! InshaAllah you pull it off, if not no worries.

Pakistan Zindabad!

:pakflag2

It all depends on how we approach the final and not contrive to throw it all away under pressure. Yes, the team isn't as talented as some in the past, but it would still be shameful if we freeze at a big occasion. It's all right being happy with progress but right now we shouldn't adopt a defeatist attitude and think we've achieved all we could.

sensible one for a change from you.
June 4th game must have taught you good lesson. good luck on Sunday. anything can happen. hopefully we will see fresh wicket on Sunday.

Too much time between the matches !!!!!! Can have negative effect on players .... too much time to worry !!!!!

Before the tournament who would have thought that the lowest ranked side would be the first one to enter the final. That is cause for celebrations on it's own. Irrespective of the final result, I'm proud of the fight and resolve shown by this team after the humiliation in the first match. There is only one place we can go from here and that is upwards.

Totally agree, thank you my bro reading your post "dil khush hogeya" hope I got the urdu right :))

Pakistan have certainly exceeded expectations....I don't buy that the 3 successive opposition all happen to 'choke' and play poor cricket rather than Pakistan playing strong cricket.

If Pakistan can beat India in this final, I do think the fans can chant about the 'beginning of a new era'. This is a major game and if Pakistan can finally get rid of the choking v India tag, this team can continue to rise. An aim for 3/4th ranking should be the next goal.

If Pakistan beat this current Indian side in this extremely pressure filled match, I fail to see how they won't beat lesser opponents with less pressure.

Spot on.

Great achievement but a win on Sunday would be amazing and a big boost for future encounters.

Personally, I will be only be proud if we beat India in the final. It will show that this team has made progress mentally. If we lose the final to India, we will be back to square one, exhibiting our tendency to melt under pressure.

SA players are cowards, we got lucky against SL and the English players had a collective bad day, since they were due a bad game after demolishing everyone in their path. This final is the true test of this team and if they pass with flying colours, they will deserve every bit of the adulation and praise. If they fail, there will be nothing to be proud of.

Am proud of the comeback they have shown. They need to play the final with the same attitude and I wouldn't mind if they even lost, but at least they would have fought.

Personally, I will be only be proud if we beat India in the final. It will show that this team has made progress mentally. If we lose the final to India, we will be back to square one, exhibiting our tendency to melt under pressure.

SA players are cowards, we got lucky against SL and the English players had a collective bad day, since they were due a bad game after demolishing everyone in their path. This final is the true test of this team and if they pass with flying colours, they will deserve every bit of the adulation and praise. If they fail, there will be nothing to be proud of.

You berate the team like everyday and will continue to do so regardless whether they win or lose so nothing to write about your view there buddy!

Whatever, any positive is turned into a negative because you are obviously one depressed individual.

Anyway shaz619 very nice OP - totally agree with your sentiments.

Overall enjoy the game on Sunday but don't treat it as a do or die match.

I agree.This team has done us proud.They barely qualified for the Champions Trophy and are just one game away from winning it.:salute

Pakistan Zindabad.:pakflag2 :pkflag

Saw on my FB, beautifully put:

Both India and Bangladesh refused to play series with Pakistan.... Today they are both fighting eachother to play with Pakistan... Allah ki shaan!

Proud? That's the problem with Pakistanis. They forget everything in minutes. Just see how they will bash the Pakistani side on sunday and how there will be a crisis.

That's the problem with having India as the other finalist. Things get more masala and people more angry. The guys have done very well and deserve all the praise but will get grilled by their own media/fans on sunday.

I feel for them!

Very good thread.

Proud of the boys. They have made the entire nations and all its fans proud.

Tum jeeto ya haaro... oh wait, we're only WINNING on Saturday. :akhtar

Tum kam margin se jeeto ya ziyada margin se jeeto suno... humein tumse pyaar hai :akhtar :junaid :aag

PAKISTAN ZINDABAD :pakflag2

Great thread SHAZI

INSHALLAH we will win the final but if don,t i will sTILL be proud OF MY team

Pakistan ZINDABAD:pkflag:pkflag:pakflag2:pakflag2

This is an excellent thread, I am proud of my team and I can confidently say that we are going to topple India on Sunday. This bowling line up is still underrated by many supporters. They are all in for a rude surprise on Sunday. A remarkable day for our cricket coming up In shaa Allah.

I can just sense it.

:pakflag2 :pakflag2

Great thread SHAZI

INSHALLAH we will win the final but if don,t i will stay be proud about my team

Pakistan ZINDABAD:pkflag:pkflag:pakflag2:pakflag2

Pakistan at their best and worst make everything worth it in the end because they take us on a roller coaster ride like no other and only we will ever understand what it feels like the euphoria. I am so proud of our team and feel very lucky to be supporting Pakistan through thick and thin. Pakistan Zindabad !

AGREE BRO VERY HARD TO BE PAKISTANI CRICKET FAN

We ARE just one victory away from our first CHampions trophy i have a feeling we will win INSHALLAH

this tournament has proved that we can build a modern team and we will remain relevant in the cricketing world until 2019 at least.

a lot of egg in the face of a lot of people.

one more win and inshAllah this will be a really happy moment.

however the sharks are already hovering and waiting to pounce if we have a bad day. our ex-players are so hopeless and full of so much hate. other countries have ex-players who get happy when the team does well, in our country it is quite the opposite.

barring a couple of people, the 90's generation is full of people who under the illusion of false grandeur continue to live in a hyperbole and berate modern players and put unnecessary pressure on them.

just hope the team plays well, beats india and shuts them up for some time. inshAllah we are winning this.

Pakistan Zindabad!

Pakistan will win the Champions Trophy insha'Allah.

#AikJeetAur

Pakistani fans preparing for the loss against India on Sunday. :))

Yes like I said yesterday, Pakistan have overachieved so far and india have underachieved so far. I will be very disappointed as an indian fan if they don't win this cup on Sunday.

Pakistani fans preparing for the loss against India on Sunday. :))

Yes like I said yesterday, Pakistan have overachieved so far and india have underachieved so far. I will be very disappointed as an indian fan if they don't win this cup on Sunday.

oh Man your bitterness is getting better of you

Pakistan did not overachieved

Definitely. I am not sure how many before CT would have predicted PAK as one finalist.

Similarly, I am extremely happy & proud of our boys as well.

100% agree man we have over achieved and no one expected an 8th ranked team to reach the final. The players can hold their heads up high for what they have achieved.

India are future ATG ODI team too good in these tournament situations and have that winning habit.

I hope we can win but i expect India to win and congrats to Indian PPers in advance. Just hope we can put up a fight.

oh Man your bitterness is getting better of you

Pakistan did not overachieved

what bitterness you are talking about here? I don't understand.

Did you read the OP and all the responses on this thread? everyone is happy with Pakistan's performance so far in this tournament. being no 8th ranked team, they are one step away from winning this prestigious trophy. that's why I said they have overachieved. do you think this is how Pak play in all ICC tournaments? this is their first ever ICC Champions trophy finals. last time they qualified to semis was nearly 10 yrs ago.

Definitely. I am not sure how many before CT would have predicted PAK as one finalist.

Similarly, I am extremely happy & proud of our boys as well.
THIS.
I my self wasn't giving any chances to my own team but they have done well in this tournament and no matter what happens on the 18th. Extremely proud and so we should be as a nation.
People need to understand no cricket at home bad cricket infrastructure poor management of the team it self and guess what they are in the finals. LOL
COME ON GUYS WE Need TO BACK ARE TEAM For THIS and I Am SURE They WONT LET US Down.

While I am very happy with the result of our CT performance atm, especially after the horror show last CT, I am going to be slightly selfish and say I won't get complete closure till we beat India on Sunday.

The 2007 t20 final was very hard to take, and given the fact that India have cast us aside in every ICC tourney since 2012, I really need to see this win.

Been waiting 10 years for another KO opportunity, don't want to wait another 10.

But ofc, if they end up losing I won't be crying or whining. You improve gradually, and we showed that this tournament.

This should also be a call for civility. I have not been following cricket until recently and I find a significant lack of civility in the discourse. Furthermore, it appears that India must take the majority of the blame with campaigns such as the absurd 'mauka' dramatizations and a round the clock analysis of comments of isolated voices.

Let us be civil about this. Be magnanimous is victory and humble in defeat.

While I am very happy with the result of our CT performance atm, especially after the horror show last CT, I am going to be slightly selfish and say I won't get complete closure till we beat India on Sunday.

The 2007 t20 final was very hard to take, and given the fact that India have cast us aside in every ICC tourney since 2012, I really need to see this win.

Been waiting 10 years for another KO opportunity, don't want to wait another 10.

But ofc, if they end up losing I won't be crying or whining. You improve gradually, and we showed that this tournament.

Mauka Mauka Suleiman bhai

Heck we debuted three people in this tournament alone lmao... Four if you count the fact that Shady's debut series was just the series before.

This team can only go up. We already have the best bowling attack in the world.

Heck we debuted three people in this tournament alone lmao... Four if you count the fact that Shady's debut series was just the series before.

This team can only go up. We already have the best bowling attack in the world.

Actually losing to India in group stages may have helped psychologically.

We've already lost to them in the tournament so hopefully we got rid of the nerves in that game.

Also, I think the Lanka game toughened us up mentally, as we were on the verge of an exit but still limped to a win. We saw the result of that vs Eng.

So iA no more buckling under pressure vs India

Or maybe I am reading too much into it, we'll see. :ibutt

what bitterness you are talking about here? I don't understand.

Did you read the OP and all the responses on this thread? everyone is happy with Pakistan's performance so far in this tournament. being no 8th ranked team, they are one step away from winning this prestigious trophy. that's why I said they have overachieved. do you think this is how Pak play in all ICC tournaments? this is their first ever ICC Champions trophy finals. last time they qualified to semis was nearly 10 yrs ago.

Overachieved is when kenya reach semi final Pakistan have won the icc events from strange position so it is not the first time for us

On topic, very good post Shaz . I think the team has done wonderfully well when the world wasnt even considering them as competition. Just hope they take that extra step on sunday and lift the trophy.

I am proud of the team, exceeded all expectations, beat sri lanka, south africa and england in the semi finals. Some of the most exciting games of the champions trophy, with us coming through victorious. I'll always remember the joy I felt when sarfaraz hit the winning runs vs sri lanka.

The team should be welcomed greatly on their return to pakistan regardless of the result on sunday. I would be pleased with the team if they put up a fight on sunday, if they lose okay it happens, but they must fight till the end. Go and make pakistan proud! :)

Proud of the way Pakistan have played and full credit to the team

But without the political correctness, a hammering again by India will really put most fans in a bad mood.

A close lose, fine they tried.

A win, ecstasy.

i've grown irrationally fond of this pessimism. it is a kind of psychological insurance isn't it? you were let down grievously once and it won't happen again...

just for the sake of speculation.

what if we fight tooth and nail but loose but by a hair's breadth? if it comes down to the last over, the last wicket?

Proud of the way Pakistan have played and full credit to the team

But without the political correctness, a hammering again by India will really put most fans in a bad mood.

A close lose, fine they tried.

A win, ecstasy.

Come on mate, I doubt you expected them to reach final :)) you've also been very harsh on newbies like Fakhar yet you will criticise if a flop happens :yk at the end of the day as a no.8 ranked team our feats have been incredible thus far and we got nothing to be ashamed about regardless of Sunday's result

BUT BUT what if I told you we already know the result of the final, come sunday?
Pakistan is going to thrash India crushingly; our beast mode is set on; and anybody who feels an inch of doubt, go over the Pak vs Eng match again before slitting your wrist.
If I were you, I'd just make sure my fireworks are ready somewhere around 930pm paktime, because we're winning with 10 or so overs to spare.

Regardless of what happens in the final I would wish that a genuinely new Pakistan team
stripped of deadwood took the field, ie no Hafeez and Azhar. But I know this won't happen.

Come on mate, I doubt you expected them to reach final :)) you've also been very harsh on newbies like Fakhar yet you will criticise if a flop happens :yk at the end of the day as a no.8 ranked team our feats have been incredible thus far and we got nothing to be ashamed about regardless of Sunday's result

I voted in the poll before the tournament and chose semi final. Beating England esp with total dominance and briliance was a performance not even the players could have imagined.

Fakhar has played really well by cutting out wild swings with the bottom hand and chose to play the ball with less risk.

Bangladesh are no.6 rankings, they made the semi's by beating NZ and Lanka beat India. Pakistan did better than both but Pakistan should always be better than those two. The pedigree in the major tournaments is of a high order. The current ranking and some poor performances isn't an excuse when you have talented players. Only in this decade has Pakistan not been a strong team in big tournaments and enough is enough tbh.

When you get to the championship rounds and are in with a shot of winning the title, you have to for the knockout. By not fighting in the last two rounds or in the final of a cricket match and getting blown away ruins all the good work done earlier.

Pakistan fans have a right to demand a competitive game. Getting decimanted again and now in the final is unnacceptable. It's too hard to take when you know you have the quailty cricketers to win but they just bottle it. Ask the South Africans how they fell and X that by 100 for Pakistan fans when losing to Indian in ICC tournaments. :yk

I am definitely very proud of this team and I think they have very much surprised us all. Prior to the tournament no one really believed we had a pace attack. Aamir hadn't been among wickets, Junaid coming back from an injury and blowing hot and cold, Wahab erratic and Hasan Ali perhaps inexperienced. But how well 3 of those have come good is remarkable and as before our pace bowling legacy has been carried forward despite some struggles over the last few years.

More than the final I am happy within a span of 3 games Pakistan have become 7th place, our bowling looks solid, our fielding is much improved and our batting with addition of Fakhar Zaman is getting better.

Lastly, our skipper is here to stay. Sarfraz has shown he has the potential to become a potentially great tactician which is exactly what we have been missing. That along with his passion and commitment will mean Pakistan will always give out a fight and as a fan that is all I need to support them.

when you see this kind of thread before the match against India, that means pak fans are nervous and worried about losing the game.:))

when pak fans are nervous, then think about players. I see a lot of catches dropped by fielders, bowlers bowling wide or no ball, batsmen tuk tuking through out. easy win for india coming. cant wait. :misbah

when you see this kind of thread before the match against India, that means pak fans are nervous and worried about losing the game.:))

when pak fans are nervous, then think about players. I see a lot of catches dropped by fielders, bowlers bowling wide or no ball, batsmen tuk tuking through out. easy win for india coming. cant wait. :misbah

No nerves..just thinking out of the box mate :sarfraz

I voted in the poll before the tournament and chose semi final. Beating England esp with total dominance and briliance was a performance not even the players could have imagined.

Fakhar has played really well by cutting out wild swings with the bottom hand and chose to play the ball with less risk.

Bangladesh are no.6 rankings, they made the semi's by beating NZ and Lanka beat India. Pakistan did better than both but Pakistan should always be better than those two. The pedigree in the major tournaments is of a high order. The current ranking and some poor performances isn't an excuse when you have talented players. Only in this decade has Pakistan not been a strong team in big tournaments and enough is enough tbh.

When you get to the championship rounds and are in with a shot of winning the title, you have to for the knockout. By not fighting in the last two rounds or in the final of a cricket match and getting blown away ruins all the good work done earlier.

Pakistan fans have a right to demand a competitive game. Getting decimanted again and now in the final is unnacceptable. It's too hard to take when you know you have the quailty cricketers to win but they just bottle it. Ask the South Africans how they fell and X that by 100 for Pakistan fans when losing to Indian in ICC tournaments. :yk

But not everything is black and white, we should also factor in the unique and extenuating circumstances surrounding Pakistan cricket which makes their appearance at this final very special which is why I hope that we win but will not be too disappointed in defeat because the boyz have played exceptionally well to get this far :inzi and those whom never expected it and all of a sudden want to get the daggers out if they were to lose don't make much sense to me :mv

We should thank the team for their efforts and especially almighty allah for allowing us to maintain our dignity in the CT and win hearts; there is also immense promise for the future to and Mickey can now lay the ground work to improve all our weaknesses thanks to the data he got from the CT. Bit like JC, he didn't win but forced a hung parliament; if there is an election later in the year he will find himself in a strong position because there will be data on all the constituencies which he could have done better in and needs to target ;)

I don't care what anyone says about whether we win or lose come Sunday. They are our team and we must support them through thick and thin. A month ago if someone said, we would be finalists, I bet everyone would have taken it. But such is the human nature that we are always asking for more.

Be satisfied with your team for once, this is the same team which doesn't even have the best 15 players from the country, or the best infrastructure, or the best facilities available, or the best preparation for the tournament. But what it is, is that this is OUR team. They have already done us proud by coming out on top of 6 other nations. Hopefully if we win this, it would be a sort of fairytale.

But it's not just that, India are also there to play the game. They also have the support of their population.

Let's just hope for a good day, stay humble, pray hard, and hope for a victory. But even if it doesn't happen, we need to keep our emotions in check because we have come too far when no one gave us a chance.

Pakistan have never beaten India ever in the knockout stages in ICC tournament, if they lose this final this mental block will probably never be broken. This final has to be a must win for both teams, but specially Pakistan.

Whether we chase or we set a total.

This trophy has Pakistan's name on it!

We are lifting this and bringing India back down to earth!

Pakistan have never beaten India ever in the knockout stages in ICC tournament, if they lose this final this mental block will probably never be broken. This final has to be a must win for both teams, but specially Pakistan.
That's why more pressure on Pakistan to do well and break the streak. We will be seeing a lot of comical things on the field on Sunday. Indian team all have to do is play safe and wait for pak players to make mistake. As simple as that. Easy game. No sweating for indian fans. That's why we are so confident.

I agree whatever the result in the final is Pakistan beat most of our expectations. So I will celebrate no matter the result. Pakistan Zindabad! :pakflag2

India don't have their 12th man wahab riaz playing for them so pakistan are winning this whatever happens!

Riaz and Shehzad should be fined 10 million bucks and 100 days community service for their continued patheticism and deeply hurting the sentiments of fans for not opting out of the team inspite of knowing themselves very well that they can hardly play any decent cricket so they were rightly not thanked. As for Haris Sohail, he can be mentioned outside the thanking bracket for his dutiful 'Paani Pilao' duty.

That's why more pressure on Pakistan to do well and break the streak. We will be seeing a lot of comical things on the field on Sunday. Indian team all have to do is play safe and wait for pak players to make mistake. As simple as that. Easy game. No sweating for indian fans. That's why we are so confident.

Whichever team loses, the players will not be in any hurry to return home that's for sure.

Both India and Bangladesh refused to play series with Pakistan.... Today they are both fighting eachother to play with Pakistan... Allah ki shaan!

That's brilliant.

I would like to add my 2 cents:

Although I must admit India is highly favorite to win this ICC Championship 2017 final but didn't English team was reported the same way in this tournament especially playing in their own home grounds and they were also labelled as the most destructive team over other teams but then you saw the results.

So the bottom line is who ever handles the pressure will prevail as India is doing well under crunch situations due to a very strong captain they have "Virat Kohli' BUT let me remind you playing final needs a different mindset especially playing against Pakistan. So in this scenario, Pakistan has already justified the odds by even reaching the final where everyone wrote them off. So it'll be NO pressure on Pakistan team rather Indian team and I am sure India will handle it well :)

At the end, if our Pakistani plays the same intention and mindset the way they played against England then Indian team should need to be cautious.

At the end, Good luck to both teams. Pakistan Zindabad!!!

This is BS,India last CT didn't lose a match and Aussies usually in WCs are unbeatable,the Poms were beaten fair and square.

BD has no issues playing PCT,just the location is the issue.
And how is this fighting each other,its just how the schedule was,not our fault Kiwis and Aussies bowed out.

Must beat India to prove that we have overcome a psychological hurdle over them.

Losing to them will badly dent morale - have to win come Sunday.

However, regardless if we win or lose, our ODI team has improved leaps and bounds since Mickey Arthur took over.

So please, lower your expectations and enjoy the magnificent contest! I must admit that I was very confident of our team reaching the final but have concerns with regards to their chances in the final but despite this will sit back and relax

What is this Shaz?? How can you predict ICT will be thrashed in group match against PCT but now when PCT is in form ,you are not confident! :danish

Really proud of Pakistan the way they played and especially the way the youngsters stood up. I guess its a record in any ICC tournament playing three debutants in three consecutive matches and all the debutants performed and helped in winning the matches.

Well said.
India will Insha allaah win CT 17 easily and seems the victory will again b one sided like our other wins in CT.
Bleed Blueeeeee

Pakistan played well to reach final but they will b under lot of pressure n fear to lose against india twice in the same tournament.