"We went back to the old-style cricket tonight" : Mickey Arthur

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/paki...-gabba-loss-australia-azhar-injury/2017-01-14

Pakistan coach Mickey Arthur has described his side's sluggish run chase against Australia in Brisbane as "old-style cricket" that "doesn't really have a future" in the one-day game. And the South African conceded he's unsure who'll captain the side in Melbourne on Sunday if regular skipper Azhar Ali is ruled out with a hamstring injury. Pakistan lost the toss at the Gabba in the opening match of the five-match series and did well to restrict the home side to a total of 9-268, but their batsmen laboured in the chase and were eventually bowled out for 176 in the 43rd over, an economy rate of just 4.12 runs an over.

Number four Babar Azam top scored with just 33 and not one Pakistan batsman finished their innings with a strike rate of 85 or higher. In contrast, five Australian batsmen finished with a strike rate of 100 or higher, including top-scorers Matthew Wade (100no from 100 balls), Glenn Maxwell (60 from 56 balls) and Travis Head (39 from 39 balls).

The tourists had exceeded 300 in three of their past four matches in one-day cricket, a format they've struggled to master in recent years. But Arthur said his side would continue to fall behind the rest of the world if they batted as slowly as they did tonight.

"I thought from the fifth ODI in England (in September) we had devised a brand that worked for us and a brand that would be sustainable for us at international level," Arthur said.

"But we went back to the old-style cricket tonight, which doesn't really have a future and it means that we don't get the scores of 300 that we need.

"One-day cricket has moved on. We saw Chris Lynn tonight come in and it looked like he was playing Twenty20 cricket again. That's where the game's going.

"Scores of 300 are the norm. Three-hundred used to be incredibly good and teams used to win more times than not, but on wickets like this teams aren't going to win. Three-hundred is a 50-50 score.

"Our strike rates aren't where they need to be to get 300. "The players have got the ability, there's no doubt. This is an unbelievable group of players and they work so hard.

"It's just about backing themselves. It's all about getting confidence in those situations to play the cut or hit one over extra cover and try and put some pressure back on the bowler. That's a confidence thing."

While Pakistan's batsmen were the main target of Arthur's critique, he also lamented their missed opportunity with the ball. The visitors had the world No.1 ODI team in all sorts of trouble when they were reduced to 5-78 in the 17th over, with star batsmen David Warner (5) and Steve Smith (0) dismissed in consecutive deliveries.

But a breakthrough century from Wade helped lift Australia to a competitive total, which proved to be well beyond the tourists in the chase.

"We're not going to get Warner and Smith out for five runs again," Arthur said. "We're not going to have that opportunity again. Wadey played exceptionally well, but I still felt like we could have got them about for 220 or 230. We let that slip just a little bit."

Skipper Ali was hobbled by a hamstring problem during his innings tonight and will await the results of scans tomorrow to uncover the full extent of the injury. Arthur conceded the opener "probably" didn't do his injury any good by returning later in the innings having retired hurt, and the coach admitted the identity of their stand-in captain is unclear.

Vice-captain Sarfraz Ahmed was forced to fly back to Pakistan this week to be with his ill mother, a few days after fast-bowler Mohammad Irfan also returned home after his mother passed away, while veteran Shoaib Malik missed tonight's match due to illness.

"Very good question," Arthur said when asked who would replace Azhar as skipper if he was ruled out of Sunday's match at the MCG.

"I don't know. That's something we'll have to work out tomorrow. I'll have a chat to the convener of selectors and we'll work something out.

"We'll have to wait on all the scans tomorrow. "(Losing Sarfraz, Irfan and Malik) was all a bit of a calamity. But we'll pick up the pieces and see who's available for Sunday."

Old style batting wasn't that bad. 250+ targets are quite common since mid 90's. Quick singles/strike rotation should be basic. Time to replace batsman who can't do that.

its all very well speaking of Modern style and Old style but right now any style will do. The current lot just lack the temperament and technique to play impact cricket. They tend to just stroll along for 20's and 30's and get out for a strike rate of about 70.

Just think of how Rahul Dravid was dropped from Odi's and you'll see where Pak cricket needs to go.

Sharjeel and Babar Azam seem ok but I hope they dont take this as a signal to become hacks

It was 260 odd runs and not 300+. Old style , but good batting would have chased it. By old style I don't mean going back 20-30 years.

I am not sure which style Mickey recons as old, but I have seen archives from 1975 WC - only time I saw opening batsmen batting like Azhar Ali was 1979 WC, when Brearley & Boycott opened for Poms, while Sunny out smarted them 4 years earlier, but that was his (& India's) 1st ODI.

Well with Hafeez , Azhar Ali and Umar Akmal in the side what else could be expected.

Not surprised at all!

Forget winning in Australia, like I said before very few teams could beat Aus in ODI's, atleast make an effort to be competitive. What everyone should be embarrassed about is the inability of the Pakistani batsmen to score off part time spinners, Travis head of all people gets away without being punished, any half decent team should have massacred him, ideally he should have conceded 100 off 10. Babar Azam is a very good find for Pak first time got to see him play, but his ability to play spin is very very limited. As a subcontinental team you have got to be better than that.

Pakistani batsmen are the worst from the subcontinent to play spin, which is one of the main reasons why they have slipped so much in recent times, if an international team can't score off part timers, they don't deserve any respect.

So Arthur , Does Azhar Ali fit in the modern day international cricket? We want a quick start from both the opener , don't we?

i think he meant our way of playing before the last few ODI's. We really need to be more aggressive and back ourselves..but the environment we are in right now means our people are just overcoming PTSD..alot f these young people live and come from a traumatised society and dont play at home..we must understand things in context!!

I want them to answer why hafeez was at 3

who knows? he should have either opened or come down the order like number 6 etc..he would do a good job there..babar needs to stay at 3.

perhaps hafeez and sharjeel open
babar at 3 and azhar at 4..

bet hafeez will open the next match now that azhar is out..really missing sarfraz this series!! hope he takes over the team in jan..

I blame Azhar Ali completey.

For his timid soul sucking batting and the long delay which put off Sharjeel.

Promoting an utter dud of a batter Hafeez to no.3 who gave his wicket away and put pressure on everyone else.

Hafeez is absolutely pathetic character.

Old cricket? We have been playing ODI like this since 2011.

Anyway I really wonder for how long Mickey will be able to cope with this clueless OD unit. There comes a time you get tired of failures. For Pakistani coaches it's a little different as they enjoy the extras and the good salary *serving their country*.

I am not sure which style Mickey recons as old, but I have seen archives from 1975 WC - only time I saw opening batsmen batting like Azhar Ali was 1979 WC, when Brearley & Boycott opened for Poms, while Sunny out smarted them 4 years earlier, but that was his (& India's) 1st ODI.

wahat about national treasure.s performance today?...he replaced babr at 3..he has already destroyed maqsood,career and delayd haris sohail ......the list is long but the best buddy will be there.....khuda ka khauf b nahi os ma...

Old style batting wasn't that bad. 250+ targets are quite common since mid 90's. Quick singles/strike rotation should be basic. Time to replace batsman who can't do that.

I think he meant the "Old Style Pakistan Batting..." rather than the nostalgic look back at the 90s era. The lack of singles [AGAIN] the lack of boundaries [AGAIN] was so underwhelming to watch. I guess Sarfraz is the only one in the middle order that gives the team the boost they need, otherwise the rest are just a pathetic bunch.

There's only so much you can blame Azhar Ali for tbh. I thought he batted like he always does, and waited for Sharjeel to click, unfortunately that is a 1/10 chance he would.

Then we have the professor coming in and getting out to a timid slower ball way outside off.

Umar Akmal playing a shot, we the fans have so often seen, and getting his just deserves.

Then Babar giving his wicket away and giving Smith catching practice at slip.

The less said of Rizwan the better. What an awful player to come in when things are a tad dicey. He's likely the worst Wicketkeeping-batsmen of spin I've seen for a long long time.

The rest were just "meh" and nothing more-or-less.

wahat about national treasure.s performance today?...he replaced babr at 3..he has already destroyed maqsood,career and delayd haris sohail ......the list is long but the best buddy will be there.....khuda ka khauf b nahi os ma...

Not surprised actually - I knew, he'll bat at 3 & field at slips & justify his spot for his few overs of spin. Most rates him along with Mazid Khan. If you want my frank comments, I can categorically explain why & in that regard, MoHa indeed is good.

Of all deficiencies, MoHa has 2 batting qualities - exquisite timing & ability to hit on the rise (that's he can drive even if it's not a rank half-volley, on a belter with no side wise movement). Now, PAK domestic cricket is played on absolute dross, where, you'll not find a single player with top hand drives or back-foot game; let alone hit on the rise. Among those players (can name many, take Fawad, Azhar & Usman Sallu), MoHa indeed looks like Mazid Khan, trust me. Now, it's the incompetence of PAK's batting culture to identify the difference of Oval/Nottingham track & PAK domestic tracks - hence, they are right in their assessment. Zaheer/Mazid's 1979 Oval partnership against WI wasn't better than MoHa's SRL performance in UAE 2013..........

Almost identical condition - day 1 at Wellington & Day 3 at Christchurch, against same opponents, in fact Wellington track was greener; check Momin's batting & Azhar's batting couple of months back; you should understand why MoHa is rated so highly.

its all very well speaking of Modern style and Old style but right now any style will do. The current lot just lack the temperament and technique to play impact cricket. They tend to just stroll along for 20's and 30's and get out for a strike rate of about 70.

Just think of how Rahul Dravid was dropped from Odi's and you'll see where Pak cricket needs to go.

Sharjeel and Babar Azam seem ok but I hope they dont take this as a signal to become hacks

This!

and our team has drama queens like Younis Khan who would demand their test achievements warrent them a place in the ODI side. When you have PCB succumbing to the demands of such players you really cannot expect them to do what is necessary for the betterment of the team

Micky Arthur is at least identifying the problems correctly and that's a start. Previous coaches have either been to afraid to say anything or just mumbled that they couldn't understand what went wrong. It's a long haul from here, but it's not good enough to think we can do what we used to do twenty years ago, i.e. crawl along for 45 overs then hope to suddenly blast 70 runs off the last 5. Other teams are smacking the ball to all parts of the pitch from the first over.

Its funny how Micky most probably advised the team to approach this target the way it was done in the 90s

Why did Mickey Arthur agree to include Hafeez he should have resisted the pressure from upper echelons. Plus, Azhar belongs to Misbah school of defensive captaincy which is the problem here he should have gone all out and attack after Aus were 78/5. Third, Misbah and management are against Junaid Khan and I suspect they might have had some say in keeping him away from inclusion. Azhar should stop being a yes man and put his foot down. With such unprofessional and petty attitude you deserve to be number 8.

Forget winning in Australia, like I said before very few teams could beat Aus in ODI's, atleast make an effort to be competitive. What everyone should be embarrassed about is the inability of the Pakistani batsmen to score off part time spinners, Travis head of all people gets away without being punished, any half decent team should have massacred him, ideally he should have conceded 100 off 10. Babar Azam is a very good find for Pak first time got to see him play, but his ability to play spin is very very limited. As a subcontinental team you have got to be better than that.

Pakistani batsmen are the worst from the subcontinent to play spin, which is one of the main reasons why they have slipped so much in recent times, if an international team can't score off part timers, they don't deserve any respect.

Travis bhai is lucky there were no Sarfaraz and Malik, Remember the treatment of Dawson and ali in england Odis

Every coach has said this VERY statement since 2006, if i can remember.
The art of finding gaps and rotating is so dull in Pakistani batsmen, i'd rather watch Opera in Australia.

Azhar Ali was ACTUALLY practicing front foot defense until the 3 over (chasing 268). A debut bowler runs in, bowls 3 loseners and he just missed them all to the keeper?

Rizwan has been travelling with the team since England. He just mirrored his captain in ACTUALLY playing book-cricket defense. When did i last see that in limited overs? No drives, just nudges for singles.

Hafeez landed in Australia and walked straight to the dressing room. Bowled the 2nd over, went wicketless. Dropped a catch and lasted 7 deliveries with the bat. So much for your Pick me-Pick me friend Azhar.

Babar Azam got a rookie 33 with a very shaky start and never seemed to be the same bloke who struck 3 tons on the trot.

Management is just concerned with PSL cause that brings in the money. Tours are just Automatic inclusions thanks to ICC FTP.

I seriously want Pakistan to loose all five and then go panic mode for their WC entry.

There was a time when playing XI were 1 in a crore. Now it seems, pay a crore and get in the XI.

Same old talks again & again that they will play modern day cricket. At least Micky knows the problem. Azhar Ali is from the Misbah school of thoughts. Actually problem is each & every player is playing for his place in the side.

"Our strike rates aren't where they need to be to get 300. "The players have got the ability, there's no doubt. This is an unbelievable group of players and they work so hard."

This is the biggest misconception. I don't doubt the level of hard work but that only gets you so far, you need natural ability which the players simply lack. For example, Azhar and Hafeez have played 43 and 178 ODI games respectively and both have a strike rate of 75. Malik is at 81 strike rate in 217 innings. U. Akmal, the guy everyone thinks bats incredibly fast has a strike rate of only 86, so he plays at the pace of 258 runs per 300 balls.

You can't have a group comprised of guys who score at the pace of 225-250 and say the team plays old style cricket. They do, because that is what you have on the team. The difference between Pakistan and other top teams is the fact those teams have a top 5 batting order comprised of guys batting with 90+ SR. Heck, Australia has Maxwell who has a 125 SR batting at 6!! No Pakistan player on this roster has a SR above that in T20 (!!!) other than Sharjeel and Babar.

It's great that Pakistan has at least identified the issues and faults of the team but they seem to have no idea how to fix them. How can anyone in management say we need to score 300 and then select Asad Shafiq 68 SR in 56 innings on the team. If they're serious about fixing the problem, start giving younger players who play with a high strike rate a shot and try to build an actual modern team. It's unrealistic to expect players who have been international cricket for a long time and have shown poor strike rates to simply expect them to magically increase their strike rate somehow.

Pakistan are just poor ODI batsmen. But when When Younis and Misbah were in their pomp, say last year, they were arguably the best in Tests. Someone like Fawad Alam will do as well as they if he ever gets a chance. Babar does not equal Pakistan.

We have never caught up with new style Cricket. Mickey, what exactly is your job I fail to understand.