What are the best pads and gloves on the market?

JN1301

So most of the posts lately have been about cricket bats, well what about gloves and pads? What are the best pads and gloves on the market atm?

my opinion, i just recently tried on the newbery sps1, they are by far the most comfortable gloves i have ever worn. for pads, my vote would go to gn legend

Good thread I must say :)

Personally I think it depends what you look for when talking about softs. I mean some people prefer traditional style pads and some prefer modern style pads personally I am modern style pads guy but like one or two traditional style pads too.

So in my opinion if you talk about the gloves then the best ones are Puma's because I prefer split (thesedays) and they are the best I would say. I have the following Puma gloves but I haven't used them yet;

NEW..Puma_Iridiu_4cc67aad5f89b.jpg

They are amazing gloves and they feel great when you wear them. Although they have calf palm but one thing I must say is that this calf palm is not the ordinary one and it is much better than the one you find in cheap gloves which have calfs.

Apart from those I like the Kinetic ones as well;

Puma_Kinetic_500_4cc73470e7595.jpg

However the one I am using and find to be one of the best are SS Millennium Pro ones, here they are;

milleniumpro2010.jpg

So since I am on split these days I would say Puma has best split design in the market which have protection and comfort as well.

However, the following MB gloves are good too as they are soft and comfortable but the design is not giving me great time;

DSC04483.jpg

You talk about sausage style then the one I find the best are;

legend-01.jpg

and

glovestrad.jpg

Shame Gray Nicolls Legend gloves don't have pittard palm..

actually, newbery sps1 are split as well, the newbery sps2 are the sausage style which i do not like. just not as flexible and comfortable. + i dont find sausage finger designs too appealing

Now coming to pads I prefer traditional ones because they weigh less so at the moment I am using, the following pads;

DSC04479.jpg

They are very good pads and I like them because they wrap well and are light in weight too!

Apart from them I also like Puma ones and I have the following ones;

DSC05664.jpg

I haven't worn these pads in nets or games yet but they certainly feel great.

Apart from them the two pair of pads I fancy are the following ones;

Salix_Pod_ONE_Ba_4cf8cce621b03.jpg

The above pads won the best pads award in Wisden but I personally think Salix softs have classy touch in them.

Apart from those I really like the following Salix gloves and I think they are best looking in the market;

Salix_Pod_BLACK__4cf8d5031346a.jpg

The pads below are the ones I really wish to own, Morrant International Ultralite these are worn by Sachin, Laxman, Dhoni etc and these pads are very good from what I hear. They apparently are the lightest ones in the market and they offer great protection as well;

prd{723BCBDF-A61D-4FEA-896B-90423F52170E**.jpg

I always like something in Millichamp nad Hall Distinction pads asw ell;

Millichamp_and_H_4cfce096b2c88.jpg

actually, newbery sps1 are split as well, the newbery sps2 are the sausage style which i do not like. just not as flexible and comfortable. + i dont find sausage finger designs too appealing

Yes, the following SPS1's;

sps1-glove.jpg

They look great too and I have heard good things about them as well, definitely great gloves!

Last year in December these gloves (in camo design) were on sale and I think the gloves were going for 25 quids only!

Now coming to pads I prefer traditional ones because they weigh less so at the moment I am using, the following pads;

DSC04479.jpg

They are very good pads and I like them because they wrap well and are light in weight too!

Apart from them I also like Puma ones and I have the following ones;

DSC05664.jpg

I haven't worn these pads in nets or games yet but they certainly feel great.

Apart from them the two pair of pads I fancy are the following ones;

Salix_Pod_ONE_Ba_4cf8cce621b03.jpg

The above pads won the best pads award in Wisden but I personally think Salix softs have classy touch in them.

Apart from those I really like the following Salix gloves and I think they are best looking in the market;

Salix_Pod_BLACK__4cf8d5031346a.jpg

The pads below are the ones I really wish to own, Morrant International Ultralite these are worn by Sachin, Laxman, Dhoni etc and these pads are very good from what I hear. They apparently are the lightest ones in the market and they offer great protection as well;

prd{723BCBDF-A61D-4FEA-896B-90423F52170E**.jpg

I always like something in Millichamp nad Hall Distinction pads asw ell;

Millichamp_and_H_4cfce096b2c88.jpg
yeah, the pads you currently have are definitely some of thew newer designs. Another cool feature about puma pads are that some parts are detachable so you can wash them :)

i have also taken a shine towards your ss millenium pro gloves, very good design on them

The price I paid for those gloves I would say they are amazing! Seriously the feel and everything of those gloves is brilliant!

After using them I have understood why so many brands get there softs made by SS

yeah, the pads you currently have are definitely some of thew newer designs. Another cool feature about puma pads are that some parts are detachable so you can wash them :)

If you know then these MB Malik Bubber Sher pads are quite like SP pads who had sponsored Younis Khan when he scored his triple century but they had semi circle facing downwards while these are opposite.

The Puma pads I have are 2009 model but they aren't that bad either. Yes, the inner parts are detachable on Puma pads which you can wash if you wish to.

its funny because i was just about to ask you uzair bhai how are your mb softs goin

btw i love those pink ones how much did you get them for? are they any good or is it jsut the look

it is red. appears pink because of the flash when the pic was taken

CD i thought those MB pads are modern. traditional ones have cane inserts and are generally heavier whereas modern ones have HD foam.

CD bhai the picture of the Salix is there new 2011 range right?

What do think of the bats as well. I personally love the new bats and they have increased the size of the edges. What do you make of them?

Also, I tried my club mates SS Millenium Pro Gloves which he got given by that guy that plays for Canada, I can't remember his name, and they are truly great gloves, the best I have ever tried.

Hopefully next time I am looking to buy gloves, I will go for them.

uzair bhai you said you are using but looks like clean your pads not a single mark mine are full covered in marks of dirt lol

CD i thought those MB pads are modern. traditional ones have cane inserts and are generally heavier whereas modern ones have HD foam.

Yes, they are modern there must have been a typo.

CD bhai the picture of the Salix is there new 2011 range right?

What do think of the bats as well. I personally love the new bats and they have increased the size of the edges. What do you make of them?

Yes, yaar those pads and gloves are of 2011 gear.

They look great! I mean Salix bats are awesome! They are thinny and have small edges but they are very powerful and you will love playing in them.

Also, I tried my club mates SS Millenium Pro Gloves which he got given by that guy that plays for Canada, I can't remember his name, and they are truly great gloves, the best I have ever tried.

Hopefully next time I am looking to buy gloves, I will go for them.

They are very good gloves, I'm used to to them now I mean when I wear any other gloves I don't feel great (except Puma ones)

uzair bhai you said you are using but looks like clean your pads not a single mark mine are full covered in marks of dirt lol

Yaar I have been using MB ones for past 2-3 months now, they are clean because we have indoor nets but more importantly that picture was taken when I go the pads, lol picture is old

thats expensive for gloves. for that price you can get a grade 1 bat

yeah that is pretty expensive but ive seen more expensive gloves and really? 80pounds for a grade 1 bat? your joking lol

Easily mate AS V3 goes for Rs. 8300 in Pakistan which is close to 80 Pounds :))

Most expensive gloves I have seen are Salix Pod Black, they are 65 Pounds I believe.

i think the kook kangaroo leather batting gloves are more expensive than that.

Ohh yeah my bad, Josh how are these Kangaroo Leather gloves? Any good or just average ones?
hm, when people read kangaroo leather, they automatically think omg this must be amazing and waste alot of money in buying them when they could buy a similiar pair of gloves but save 40,50 dollars. I have worn them myself and they are comfortable but not the most comfortable so yeah, overpriced is what i say

Ah okay cheers mate. is there much of a difference in kangaroo leather and pittard?

no, I believe kookaburra is one of the only brands that use kangaroo leather but you dont hear much praise going to them a bout their gloves. Nowadays its puma mainly. And yet, they cost alot more than pittard. Also, please note that only the kookaburra kahuna players uses kangaroo leather which is a sausage styled glove so maybe that throws me off, idk

True true, I have heard lots of pro prefer using calf palms and we can see that from Puma gloves where 2 of there top of the line gloves out of three have calf palms.

Morrant anyone ? I have seen it and will love to have it.

yeah i have been hearing good things about their pads, their gloves however, dont like the design and according to wisden, dont offer much protection

Yeh Wisden are probably right.

Just ask Graeme Smith, when he got hit against :akhtar, I think he fractured a finger or something.

uzair bhai do you have AS v10 pads if so how are they?

I don't have it but I have seen them closely and they are superb pads bro very good indeed.

Morrant anyone ? I have seen it and will love to have it.

Yaar still dreaming to see a pair of International Ultralite in flesh...:(

Yeh Wisden are probably right.

Just ask Graeme Smith, when he got hit against :akhtar, I think he fractured a finger or something.

Apart from that he have tape on them;

127405.jpg

Regardless wait for SempreSami he will have something for us...Sami Smithy...:)

Smith has fingers made of chalk, I'll bet if you had a game of slapsies with him, you'd be charged with GBH.

It's prolly a psychological thing with his gloves.

It looks like he's double gripped his Luna.

Every photo I've seen of him he's had a bat with two grips on it.

And re what bat he uses, he used an Apex with the new stickers on it in the test series against India, so I wouldn't rule out the idea of him using an Apex in one format and the Luna in limited overs.

yeah i have been hearing good things about their pads, their gloves however, dont like the design and according to wisden, dont offer much protection

You'll have to expand on that methinks, I've been wrapped on the hands many times with a new ball and haven't felt a thing in my GM Originals.

You should lend your GM's to Greame Smith, cause he breaks his fingers more than often in his GM's ;)

Fat lot of use they'd be to a cack hander like Smith ;)

You could probably line his gloves with steel and he'd still break a digit.

Smith has fingers made of chalk, I'll bet if you had a game of slapsies with him, you'd be charged with GBH.

It's prolly a psychological thing with his gloves.

Just goes to show that GM's handles are probably on the thinner side.

Agreed, I've been struck a fair few times and haven't had too much trouble in the 909s. Granted, mine are the d3o gloves but I doubt it makes a difference.

Ravi Bopara uses these pads. What are the other light pads in the market? Easy for running.

Watson takes the binding off his handles and wraps them in tape, it means extra flex but it weakens it drastically.

455174396_o.jpg

455174418_o.jpg

455174433_o.jpg

458325447_o.jpg

458325452_o.jpg

458325457_o.jpg

I ordered these for myself recently SG SUPALITE gloves & pads , should get them next week or so. inshallah

These folks get dozens of bats, I don't think he minds the odd snappage.

:)) Haha true say but Tom once said they have accounts and in their accounts they have balance so if they exceed and cross the limit they then have to pay from their pocket.

When you've got a million dollar+ contract, I don't think manufacturers worry too much about accounts. Watson gets all the bats he wants, no questions asked.

the gloves would have looked better if they were all white. the black on the top 2 fingers ruins the design for me.

CD,

Have you used light pads (like the GM ones), are they easier to run in and more comfortable? The BoomBoom ones also look light. I havn't seen them though.

Thanks.

the gloves would have looked better if they were all white. the black on the top 2 fingers ruins the design for me.

I totally agree with this, all white would have looked much better than small amount of black.

Also whats up lots of brands not going for Pittards?

CD,

Have you used light pads (like the GM ones), are they easier to run in and more comfortable? The BoomBoom ones also look light. I havn't seen them though.

Thanks.

I haven't used those GM pads, ask Knightrider he has them he can tell you more about them.

My cousin had Boom Boom pads and I saw them and they look nice and they light as well....I am talking about last years one.

calf or sheep skin (good quality) will be very soft and can do the job and last. so they don't need to pay extra to get the treated leather from UK (pittards). that is why puma has stuck to calf skin mostly. it is actually softer than pittards allowing for better feel.

Yes, I agree with you but if you look at the prices of Puma 2011 gloves you will find the pittard palms one (Kinetic 5000) are the cheapest while Iridium 5000 and Calibre Tricks LE are expensive.

However, when I wrote in my Puma gloves review that the calf palm on Irdium is improved one as you suggested above.

After trying few new gloves I can say the best ones (in my opinion) are Salix Pod Black, nothing beats those gloves brilliant gloves indeed!

2011 GM Original LE pads look a bit cheaply made compare to 2009 ones.