What changes would you like to see for PSL 9?

Firebat

Is there anything you'd like to see implemented for next season? Things that should be scrapped or things that should be added.

We will compile a list of things with generally the most consensus to send to PCB.

I’d like to see the final played somewhere else, than Lahore.

I also want to see more venues. It’s time to take the PSL to Faisalabad and also give Peshawar a full set of 5 games.

Would also like to see atleast one game in Quetta.

How about scrapping lame play off system to old school SFs approach

Precisely. SFs and then Final. Maybe a 3rd place play-off if they really want to milk it.

Otherwise it's been a fantastic event which I've thoroughly enjoyed. This is the first PSL or any domestic tournament of any kind anywhere in the world that I've watched more than half the matches.

Quetta get rid of this friendship culture so we have more competitive teams. Karachi to pick better emerging players.

This was probably the best PSL in terms of pitches. Since Rambos departure the pitches have been quite good.

No more of Malik and Hafeez. Less ageing overseas stars. Maybe a Joe Root, Warner, or Steve Smith type player.

No more:

Tapal Tea moments
Osaka Power runs
KFC Bucket Challenges
Humare Heros

Sethi is determined to add two more teams for the next season and apparently he is aiming for Faislabad and Sialkot as these two cities have ready venues and hotels therefore further strengthening the home and away concept.

They need to find a way to keep the PSL max of 5 weeks because eventually people get tired and the tournament reaches saturation point. This means double headers on Friday, Saturday and Sunday for certain.

Also need to come up with more creative concepts apart from Hamaray Heroes, Tapal Tea, inverox power run etc

Also put pressure on Karachi and Quetta to revamp things and to follow Lahore Qalandars template because these two franchises are badly devaluing the PSL.

No more:

Tapal Tea moments
Osaka Power runs
KFC Bucket Challenges
Humare Heros

Yaar the Humare heroes needs to be placed at some other time. The other things are fairly short. Humare hero always comes in crunch moments and the people harp on about their achievements while sixes are hit and wickets tumble. It is ridiculous, even the tiktok moment was so out of place, the commentators were struggling to comment on the videos.

Sethi is determined to add two more teams for the next season and apparently he is aiming for Faislabad and Sialkot as these two cities have ready venues and hotels therefore further strengthening the home and away concept.

They need to find a way to keep the PSL max of 5 weeks because eventually people get tired and the tournament reaches saturation point. This means double headers on Friday, Saturday and Sunday for certain.

Also need to come up with more creative concepts apart from Hamaray Heroes, Tapal Tea, inverox power run etc

Also put pressure on Karachi and Quetta to revamp things and to follow Lahore Qalandars template because these two franchises are badly devaluing the PSL.

Who knows if Sethi will even be around next year. Too much political instability. Probably Rambo back with PJL

No more:

Tapal Tea moments
Osaka Power runs
KFC Bucket Challenges
Humare Heros

The top three are subjective, but hard disagree on Hummarey Heroes. Where else can u find something like wheelchair advocacy in the middle of a sporting event. I feel hummarey heroes shows a softer rounded image of the real Pakistan, which Hollywood and Bollywood rarely shows.

they really need a feeder league for the PSL, big local names notwithstanding quality of second tier local and some international players has been weak.

depth of domestic players is a lot shallower than historically.

they really need a feeder league for the PSL, big local names notwithstanding quality of second tier local and some international players has been weak.

depth of domestic players is a lot shallower than historically.

I dont think centrally contracted players and experienced players should play the National T20 or KPL.

Those leagues would provide a decent feeder system.

I dont think centrally contracted players and experienced players should play the National T20 or KPL.

I actually wouldn’t mind franchises playing their PDP squads in the National T20. These ofcourse would be players who haven’t been selected for Pakistan. Only franchises with a PDP need participate.

Yaar the Humare heroes needs to be placed at some other time. The other things are fairly short. Humare hero always comes in crunch moments and the people harp on about their achievements while sixes are hit and wickets tumble. It is ridiculous, even the tiktok moment was so out of place, the commentators were struggling to comment on the videos.

Why can't we have hamare heroes during the timeout???

I’d also like to see the draft system amended to allow bottom finishing teams having first go at the higher categories. That’ll help teams bridge the gap. Let’s face it, Karachi and Quetta need all the help they can get.

They would make the same dumb decisions.

Precisely. SFs and then Final. Maybe a 3rd place play-off if they really want to milk it.

Otherwise it's been a fantastic event which I've thoroughly enjoyed. This is the first PSL or any domestic tournament of any kind anywhere in the world that I've watched more than half the matches.

Then what is the benefit of finishing 1st vs 4th??

Why not Rawalpindi first?

could be a viable system, unfortunately, the lack of continuity between the ownership structures means that as a feeder system it is not particularly efficient.

They should renovate all of the four stadiums. Renovating does not mean just doing the paint & putting a few plants here and there. Install chairs & roofs, improve lighting, replace display screens, build hospitality boxes, increase capacity.

Hope we can attract better quality foreign players. Lahore, Multan and Islamabad had decent 3-4 players, other teams were just filling up the numbers. Whether we need to reduce the number to 3 or start paying more but international players quality has to get better.

1. Build lodging facility for foreign players/staff at stadium premises or find something close enough to minimize cost of presidential security and impact to public
2. Optimize experience for people coming to games, reduced time to get in to stadium, better facilities within stadium, bit longer boundaries, as otherwise in Karachi Lahore especially the game field is too far from crowd.
3. Keep the eliminator, gives full value for finishing top 2. Islamabad United would learn their lesson for relaxing in last league game
4. Keep humaray heroes and during game, an excellent initiative that highlights unsung heroes. In fact they can provide a link or something to allow viewers to learn more about their cause and contribute.
5. Remove or reduce some of the sponsor activities like jdot super over, Osaka power run, tapas tea lounge. I understand it's for sponsor funding but over the period of entire psl it became too much. For same funding they can minimally reduce instances by 50% and probably get better opinion from public rather than leaving a negative taste.
6. Add mid season transfer option or replacement option for non performing players.

Bigger boundaries.
3 emerging players.

You mean in the squad on the starting 11. If we play too many emerging players, it will dilute the competition. Guys like Bangalzai coming one drop is an embarrassment. We need better emerging picks.

I think there’s something to that suggestion. Look, eventually we’re going to have 2 more teams. By having two emerging players per XI (and three per squad) means that fewer experienced players are in each squad and thus the experienced players can be shared around, say 8 teams.

You may think that 2 emerging players per XI may lessen the competition, but LQ, MS, PZ all played every game with two emerging players. And KK when they did play w/ two emerging players in their XI in their last game, then went on to win that game.

Also, whilst I don’t think Bangalzai is a natural t20 player, he’ll have a better showing if he played for any team not named Quetta or Karachi.

Hope we can attract better quality foreign players. Lahore, Multan and Islamabad had decent 3-4 players, other teams were just filling up the numbers. Whether we need to reduce the number to 3 or start paying more but international players quality has to get better.

There were some good names in the draft like Grandhomme, Evin Lewis, Ngidi etc but the draft system handicaps the franchise to picking only a few from every set of players rendering a lot of good names going undrafted and a lot of picks in silver and golden list are basically done to make up the numbers especially in the case of oversees players.

Give them the best names and let them decide what they want to pay those guys.

Direct signings and auctions should be a better substitute.

Improving the scheduling towards the latter stages. Had Peshawar zalmi won they would of played 3 consecutive days. players need rest they are not machines.

Definitely 8 teams. The PSL is too big not to be.

A special segment for Humare Heroes

Better Logistics for players & Staff. I.e. close to ground or in Ground.

Better quality of seating all round at stadiums especially for VIP seats.

Allow the Foreign players / Management more opportunity to see the Beauty of Pakistan around various cities.

Reduce Presidential level security to a more standardised level.

There were some good names in the draft like Grandhomme, Evin Lewis, Ngidi etc but the draft system handicaps the franchise to picking only a few from every set of players rendering a lot of good names going undrafted and a lot of picks in silver and golden list are basically done to make up the numbers especially in the case of oversees players.

Give them the best names and let them decide what they want to pay those guys.

Direct signings and auctions should be a better substitute.

I think there should been a ‘drop down’ mechanism in the draft I.e. if a player doesn’t get picked up in one category, he can be picked in a lower category. It’s basically similar to the ‘base price’ element of an auction, except that the player himself sets a ‘base category’. Clearly this is something that would need to be individually negotiated between each eligible player and the franchise BEFORE the draft, but would help in making squads stronger.

Yes the relegation to a lower category should have always been in place. The players would have the option to being okay with relegation or not.

But we know not all players are of same worth. So Rashid Khan and James Vince making the same amount of money doesn't look fine. There should be a mutual decision that PSL's owners/CEO etc need to make in consultation with the franchises regarding how to proceed forwards.

Yes the relegation to a lower category should have always been in place. The players would have the option to being okay with relegation or not.

But we know not all players are of same worth. So Rashid Khan and James Vince making the same amount of money doesn't look fine. There should be a mutual decision that PSL's owners/CEO etc need to make in consultation with the franchises regarding how to proceed forwards.

Tbf, the category isn’t for a set salary amount, but rather a range of $$$. So in theory, a Rashid Khan will get paid the top end of that range with LQ Vs an Imran Tahir who’ll get the bottom end of that range with KK. Comes down to what the players negotiate with the franchises beforehand.

8 teams is too soon. PSL can't yet attract the required calibre of overseas players and our local talent isn't quite good enough for another two XI's.

Let's make it 7 teams and see how it goes.

8 teams is too soon. PSL can't yet attract the required calibre of overseas players and our local talent isn't quite good enough for another two XI's.

You need an even number of teams to maintain a multi venue schedule cost effectively. So that would preclude having 7 teams.

Look, I think the main focus for PSL 9 should be to have a full set of 5 games in Peshawar, 1-2 games in Faisalabad and maybe 1-2 games in Quetta. What made the tournament incredible was the crowds. You can have that again by Lessing the saturation around the present 4 venues.

Tbf, the category isn’t for a set salary amount, but rather a range of $$$. So in theory, a Rashid Khan will get paid the top end of that range with LQ Vs an Imran Tahir who’ll get the bottom end of that range with KK. Comes down to what the players negotiate with the franchises beforehand.

Really? I thought there was a set salary for all platinum etc categories. Then the franchises can give them extra by giving them ambassador etc roles.

As a further point, Rameez Raja promised the franchises to keep the competition at 6 teams until PSL 9. Don’t know how Sethi changes that.

Also, let’s remember that the original franchises sales were for a 10 year license. When the owners come to renew their franchise licenses in 2026, you can then add two more teams. The greater amount of teams in the new new domestic structure at inshAllah may give us a larger talent pool to work with.

Really? I thought there was a set salary for all platinum etc categories. Then the franchises can give them extra by giving them ambassador etc roles.

Yep, so a quick google tells me that Platinum is $170k - $130k, diamond is $80k - $60k etc etc and you then have the ambassador add one on top of that (if they meet the criteria)

I think there’s something to that suggestion. Look, eventually we’re going to have 2 more teams. By having two emerging players per XI (and three per squad) means that fewer experienced players are in each squad and thus the experienced players can be shared around, say 8 teams.

You may think that 2 emerging players per XI may lessen the competition, but LQ, MS, PZ all played every game with two emerging players. And KK when they did play w/ two emerging players in their XI in their last game, then went on to win that game.

Also, whilst I don’t think Bangalzai is a natural t20 player, he’ll have a better showing if he played for any team not named Quetta or Karachi.

Some of the teams had cheat codes. Ihsanullah should not be an emerging player, nor should Zaman Khan be one. Which two emerging players did Zalmi play? It was between Haseeb and that left arm spinner.

It works if the recruitment is good but sometimes it looks awkward where you end up hiding a player.

Bigger boundaries. Don’t want players pulled into a false sense of security when they smash bowlers in PSL but then come and play international cricket with real boundary size.

It depends how you view it. The smaller boundaries led to riskier cricket being played which ultimately improved the quality of the product. The PSL needs to be attractive in order to get more funding, better overseas players etc. which will benefit the local players in the long run.

We should absolutely ensure that small boundaries don't exist anywhere in the domestic set up. Previous editions of the One Day Cup were probably even smaller in dimensions than Rawalpindi was.

1) Add 2 venues. Arbab Niaz Stadium for Zalmi home games and bughti Stadium for Quetta. If bughti isn't possible then iqbal Stadium of Faisalabad. Muzzafarabad is a great option for a game too

2) if possible add 2 teams. Faisalabad and Sialkot..

3) bigger boundaries

4) Have an award for least balls per 6.

I wouldn't change too much.

The PSL works. It is entertaining and produces quality cricket.

We have to work on growing it and expanding it.

Longer boundaries would be nice.

Also, if there are 6 teams, perhaps get rid of some of the playoff matches. Whoever top the table should go to final. 2nd and 3rd should play in an eliminator (winner go to final).

Tournament needs to be made shorter as, for me at least, it did drag a bit and to be honest I found it difficult to engage early in the tournament too as the matches seemed a bit pointless so early on. So I think if they can have double games on Friday, Saturday and Sunday that would help to reduce the length of the tournament. Have one day game that starts at 2 and one night game that starts at 8.

Reduce the amount of airtime sponsors get on commentary, every 2 minutes i hear a #HoJaJazbaati or something about a plot, you can keep showing it but forcing commentators to mention it is annoying.

Move hamary heroes segment into the strategic timeout, it ruins overs that are usually action packed.

Crowds have been excellent and should be rewarded. Give incentives for best banner etc.

Add one more team because Quetta and KK are awful.

Move the playoffs games to different venues, all at Lahore is unfair.

Tell Sky Sports to put the PSL on Sky sports cricket main channel, why do I have to go to sky sports mix or action to watch the final?

Make the emerging category so that if someone plays in it once for a minimum of 5 matches they aren't allowed to be in the category next year.

PSL song was released like a day before, should atleast be 4-5 days before, build hype.

More games at Multan.

Not sure how feasible it is but make entry free for women and children in karachi.

Length of the tournament is PERFECT, not too short and not too long, wants you wanting to watch more. If another team is introduced just make friday,saturday,sunday double headers.

Add a new team

Baan Lahore Qalandars from getting these "No-bodies" like this Sohail Akhtar and Tahir Baig etc.. force them to pick from U-19 or domestic esp batsmen

give better bowlers to Zalmi

Some of the teams had cheat codes. Ihsanullah should not be an emerging player, nor should Zaman Khan be one. Which two emerging players did Zalmi play? It was between Haseeb and that left arm spinner.

It works if the recruitment is good but sometimes it looks awkward where you end up hiding a player.

The emerging player rule allows you to be an emerging player for two years, as long as you’re not picked for Pakistan. This Zaman wasn’t picked for Pak because of the fast bowling stocks we have.

Similarly, with Ihsanullah, he’s a relative newcomer to domestic cricket as well, so it’s right that he was a n emerging player.

Zalmi played Saim every game, and he met the definition of an emerging player (under 23 and hasn’t played for Pak). Plus Haseebullah, that’s 2.

Thus, there actually is a cheat code regarding emerging players. You scout young talented fast bowlers who have ideally played some domestic cricket. That’s one.

Your second should be a young aggressive batsmen, who can play around more established names, or a spinner bowling allrounder (again, we have a few of these coming through).

QG actually used this strategy when they drafted their squad. However they slightly messed up by picking ODI player Bangalzai as their batsmen, when more interesting players like Basit Ali were around. Aimal Khan will end up being a good pick, as he develops more physically.

Add a new team

Baan Lahore Qalandars from getting these "No-bodies" like this Sohail Akhtar and Tahir Baig etc.. force them to pick from U-19 or domestic esp batsmen

give better bowlers to Zalmi

None of these are changes that the PCB can make. The franchises paid significant rights fees and thus can chose who they want.

Reduce the amount of airtime sponsors get on commentary, every 2 minutes i hear a #HoJaJazbaati or something about a plot, you can keep showing it but forcing commentators to mention it is annoying.

Move hamary heroes segment into the strategic timeout, it ruins overs that are usually action packed.

Crowds have been excellent and should be rewarded. Give incentives for best banner etc.

Add one more team because Quetta and KK are awful.

Move the playoffs games to different venues, all at Lahore is unfair.

Tell Sky Sports to put the PSL on Sky sports cricket main channel, why do I have to go to sky sports mix or action to watch the final?

Make the emerging category so that if someone plays in it once for a minimum of 5 matches they aren't allowed to be in the category next year.

PSL song was released like a day before, should atleast be 4-5 days before, build hype.

More games at Multan.

Not sure how feasible it is but make entry free for women and children in karachi.

Length of the tournament is PERFECT, not too short and not too long, wants you wanting to watch more. If another team is introduced just make friday,saturday,sunday double headers.

On the sponsors like #HoJaJazbaati, it’s cringe, but it nets $$$ for the PCB. I think we want less cringe marketing, but the sponsorship needs to be mentioned by the commies to get those $$$s.

The whole point of Hummaray heroes is that people see the soft image of Pakistan. The strategic timeout is an add break, so you can’t have it there. It’s right to have it where it is.

I like the incentive for best banner. Id like to see lower kids pricing for weeknight games.

Regarding extra teams, you need an even no. Of teams to maintain a multi venue schedule. So you would need to add two teams, and given the current economic climate, I would not have those rights being sold for next year.

I agree on moving the playoffs to different venues. You can have Qualifier 1 and Eliminator 1 in one venue and then Eliminator 2 and the Final in another. I’d like Eliminator 2 and the Final to be in Multan next year.

Agree on the PSL song, it needs to be released a week in advance atleast.

Regarding more games in Multan, they absolutely deserve it. However, in an ideal world you need a pure home and away system, which restricts Multan to 5 games. As mentioned earlier, you can additionally give Multan Eliminator 2 and the Final.

Completely agree on the length of the tournament. It’s why I love the tournament, leaves you wanting more, and as such, the double header idea is not a bad one.

I have found the quality of PSL to be poor.

Small boundaries
Lack of overseas players
Lack of depth in Pakistan's home talent in general
Big scores just for the sake of it and not much balance between bat and ball.

Why are we struggling to bring in overseas talent? The only big name I see is Rashid Khan and possibly Jimmy Neesham (who didn't really do much), the rest are washed up players from England and West Indies. How David Wiese is still going and still is effective in PSL is beyond me, at least there was no Ravi Bopara or Samit Patel this time round.

Why aren't we attracting more players from other countries who are just missing out on selection of their respective nations? I'm surprised at the lack of Bangladeshi and Sri Lankans, even the West Indian players were less this year.

More emerging players include into
the squads with less overseas garbage.

This is PSL not a free for all over the hill players to make xtra cash.

None of these are changes that the PCB can make. The franchises paid significant rights fees and thus can chose who they want.

i know but really are lahore contributing anything to the PSL / Pakistan cricket by doing this...

i am a pure lahori , born n bred but i love how ISLU n PZ give chances to proper cricketers who come from the system

Shadab, Faheem, Asif Ali, Wasim Jnr , Azam Khan (Azam was almost established by Quetta but still) (shadab n Wasim are only note worthy but been given chances

Zalmi (Hassan Ali, M.Harris, Saim Ayub, Haseebullah, Aamir Jamal)

lahore should learn something...

Assign stadium to each team and play proper home and away

Karachi for Karachi
Lahore for lahor
Pindi for Islamabad
Peshwar for peshwar since it will be ready
Multan for multan
And for quetta Assign faislabad

Yes starting xi thier were many better players who should have been but weren't picked.

Keep your ideas coming.

I'll send them to PCB in a few days.

Maybe Sethi Sahib should try and use our excellent relations with Saudis and Qataris to sponsor PSL as well.

IPL has no such problem

FspNddJaYAc8MW_

The suggestions have been collated and will be sent tomorrow.

Please send them my suggestion.

No pakistan first team player should be the captain of any franchise. They are all abusers of power!

A few things that come to my mind

- How about broadcasting the PSL in all the different languages in Pakistan to capture the widest possible audience in Pakistan i.e. Punjabi, Sindhi, Pashto, Balochi, Kashmiri e.t.c. IPL is broadcast in Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Marathi, Malyalam, Bengali, Gujrati

- Don't make the mistake of hosting 10-11 consecutive games in one city. This leads to over saturation and dilution of interest amongst locals for the PSL. Spend money on travel, logistics but have different venues each day to keep spectators interested

- Consider taking a few games to the other non-neutral venues of Pakistan i.e. Muzzafarabad, Hyderabad, Gujranwalla, Sialkot, Faisalabad, Gwadar to build PSL and Pakistan Cricket interest in these cities

- Have a proper pricing strategy i.e. discounts for students and seniors and full price for adults. Improve the stadium experience. Introduce a package pricing plan i.e. Rs 2,000 for watching the game and being able to eat pizza, drink, chai e.t.c. Sign partnerships with schools, universities where the students from these institutions will be elligible to buy tickets at a discount. Sign partnerships with organizations where employees will be able to buy tickets at a discount.

- Invite the top foreign and local eateries, coffee shops to set up stands to improve the food experience for spectators

- Introduce clauses for the Franchises to push them to run professionally and run their franchise modelled on Lahore Qalandars operating 365 days a year i.e. must spend a minimum amount for player development activities, fan engagement activities. Consider dividing the PSL pool money based on the PSL points table with penalties for Franchises who habitually finish last and keep selecting past prime players or non performing players, support staff. Every PSL Franchise must ensure players adhere to minimum fitness standards and must invest in fielding coaches. The PSL Tournament gets diluted whenever we see poor fielding by local players.

- There is a limit to how much the PSL can earn via Broadcast money, title sponsorship money given that these things are tied to the Pakistani economy and the earnings of the broadcaster/advertiser. Why not expand the central pool i.e. register the PSL on the Karachi Stock Exchange and inject big finances to the central pool. Use that money as an investment to get IPL creme players, coaching staff in the PSL and consider that this investment will pay off in terms of increased global viewership and an increase in the PSL broadcast deals going forward.

- Consider hosting PSL exhibition matches in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia between the top PSL franchises for a week to spread interest for the PSL

- Consider a change in the PSL Window to September October to avoid clashing with the IPL and to get IPL top players

- Sign NOC agreements with UAE, South Africa, Australia, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh i.e. if they want the PCB to give NOC's to their players for their domestic tournaments then they should return the favor to the PCB for the PSL.

- Invite Pakistan's top business magnets i.e. Sir Anwer Perwez, Mian Mansha, Sadruddin Hashwani, Shahid Khan (USA) to the main games, playoffs, finals and invite them to invest in the league. Engage with Foreign ambassadors, invite foreign business delegations

- Engage Pakistani film and entertainment industry celebrities to promote this league. Its not done enough vis a vis the IPL. Invite them to commentate for a couple of overs. Give them responsibilities to engage with the fans during games. Invite them to interview players and engage in chit chat

- The league is meant to broadcast Pakistan's soft image. In addition to the PSL anthems and the franchise anthems, why not play Pakistan's most popular music tracks during the games

- Enhance the hamaray heros concept. Why not pay tribute to the Pakistani army, airforce, navy officers who have given their lives up for the country?

- Keep the schedule to 5 weeks maximum because there is a point in these T-20 leagues, WC's where fatigue sets in. Even if PSL adds another 2-4 teams, find a way to keep the schedule to 5 weeks maximum even if it means having to play a double header on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

- Improve the fan experience, get the players to interact with the fans, announce a contest where the winner gets to spend time with the players in the dug out.

- Female cheerleaders during games? Obviously no scandalous skin show but something that is acceptable in our Pakistani culture

Maybe Sethi Sahib should try and use our excellent relations with Saudis and Qataris to sponsor PSL as well.

IPL has no such problem

FspNddJaYAc8MW_

India's population is 1.4 billion and their economy is booming with a booming middle class. Pakistan's population is 230 million and an economy that has been borderline bankrupt for ages. Let's see if Sethi can find foreign investors for the PSL.

A few things that come to my mind

- How about broadcasting the PSL in all the different languages in Pakistan to capture the widest possible audience in Pakistan i.e. Punjabi, Sindhi, Pashto, Balochi, Kashmiri e.t.c. IPL is broadcast in Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Marathi, Malyalam, Bengali, Gujrati

- Don't make the mistake of hosting 10-11 consecutive games in one city. This leads to over saturation and dilution of interest amongst locals for the PSL. Spend money on travel, logistics but have different venues each day to keep spectators interested

- Consider taking a few games to the other non-neutral venues of Pakistan i.e. Muzzafarabad, Hyderabad, Gujranwalla, Sialkot, Faisalabad, Gwadar to build PSL and Pakistan Cricket interest in these cities

- Have a proper pricing strategy i.e. discounts for students and seniors and full price for adults. Improve the stadium experience. Introduce a package pricing plan i.e. Rs 2,000 for watching the game and being able to eat pizza, drink, chai e.t.c. Sign partnerships with schools, universities where the students from these institutions will be elligible to buy tickets at a discount. Sign partnerships with organizations where employees will be able to buy tickets at a discount.

- Invite the top foreign and local eateries, coffee shops to set up stands to improve the food experience for spectators

- Introduce clauses for the Franchises to push them to run professionally and run their franchise modelled on Lahore Qalandars operating 365 days a year i.e. must spend a minimum amount for player development activities, fan engagement activities. Consider dividing the PSL pool money based on the PSL points table with penalties for Franchises who habitually finish last and keep selecting past prime players or non performing players, support staff. Every PSL Franchise must ensure players adhere to minimum fitness standards and must invest in fielding coaches. The PSL Tournament gets diluted whenever we see poor fielding by local players.

- There is a limit to how much the PSL can earn via Broadcast money, title sponsorship money given that these things are tied to the Pakistani economy and the earnings of the broadcaster/advertiser. Why not expand the central pool i.e. register the PSL on the Karachi Stock Exchange and inject big finances to the central pool. Use that money as an investment to get IPL creme players, coaching staff in the PSL and consider that this investment will pay off in terms of increased global viewership and an increase in the PSL broadcast deals going forward.

- Consider hosting PSL exhibition matches in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia between the top PSL franchises for a week to spread interest for the PSL

- Consider a change in the PSL Window to September October to avoid clashing with the IPL and to get IPL top players

- Sign NOC agreements with UAE, South Africa, Australia, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh i.e. if they want the PCB to give NOC's to their players for their domestic tournaments then they should return the favor to the PCB for the PSL.

- Invite Pakistan's top business magnets i.e. Sir Anwer Perwez, Mian Mansha, Sadruddin Hashwani, Shahid Khan (USA) to the main games, playoffs, finals and invite them to invest in the league. Engage with Foreign ambassadors, invite foreign business delegations

- Engage Pakistani film and entertainment industry celebrities to promote this league. Its not done enough vis a vis the IPL. Invite them to commentate for a couple of overs. Give them responsibilities to engage with the fans during games. Invite them to interview players and engage in chit chat

- The league is meant to broadcast Pakistan's soft image. In addition to the PSL anthems and the franchise anthems, why not play Pakistan's most popular music tracks during the games

- Enhance the hamaray heros concept. Why not pay tribute to the Pakistani army, airforce, navy officers who have given their lives up for the country?

- Keep the schedule to 5 weeks maximum because there is a point in these T-20 leagues, WC's where fatigue sets in. Even if PSL adds another 2-4 teams, find a way to keep the schedule to 5 weeks maximum even if it means having to play a double header on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

- Improve the fan experience, get the players to interact with the fans, announce a contest where the winner gets to spend time with the players in the dug out.

- Female cheerleaders during games? Obviously no scandalous skin show but something that is acceptable in our Pakistani culture

I echo all the above barring female cheerleaders. That’s not on at all 100%.

I’d also strongly suggest that boundaries are pulled right back. It’ll better the crowd experience, make the game more competitive and actually give us a better idea of batsmen’s true capabilities. You just can’t have the banter boundary you had in Pindi. It’s farcical.

No impact player or other gimmicks please
Better seating arrangments
Better food than those few vendors selling some chips and cornettoes
Have some franchises like kfc etc put their stalls or smth like that
A souvenier shop right outside the stadium
Ask the teams to pull their fans sell shirts outside stadium
Flags of teams
To create an atmosphere in there

Dont increase boundaries too much but make them atleast 70m so mishits are caught

India's population is 1.4 billion and their economy is booming with a booming middle class. Pakistan's population is 230 million and an economy that has been borderline bankrupt for ages. Let's see if Sethi can find foreign investors for the PSL.

This Saudi thing was an open goal.

Visit Saudi is showing up everywhere - PCB were asleep. They could have used their connection via GOP and got a contract.

Thanks for the suggestions.

They have been sent to PCB.

Like to see it eventually go to 8 teams at least, this way more investment can be brought into the league and attract more big name overseas players.

Any chance he can give us his and PCB's feedback on the suggestions posted here?

I will.

Normally it's along the lines of thanks, they will be looked at.

This Saudi thing was an open goal.

Visit Saudi is showing up everywhere - PCB were asleep. They could have used their connection via GOP and got a contract.

A lot of foreign sponsorships into the PCB can be negotiated at a govt to govt level. I would say that the PCB has done and doing its best for the PSL, what has the government of Pakistan done to support the PSL apart from providing security which they themselves were blackmailing PCB over this season?

PCB = GOP given the connections Mr. Sethi has.

This just needed a little more work which was not done.

We have IPL teams being sponsored by Qatar Airways...

DRS for wides and no-balls. Should've been implemented a long time back but it should be a must for PSL 9. A definite No to Impact player.

1. Home games for ALL teams
2. Final at neutral venue.
3. 2 more teams; Kashmir and Sialkot

First of all remove the truck coming on screen thing. It was good as novelty factor in the first or second season, but its very annoying now. No one in Pakistan likes these trucks or their horns anyway. We have far better cultural artifacts to show in Pakistan and Truck art is not one of the top ones at all.

Stop forcing commentators to pronounce sponsors names or slogans. Its very annoying. Just displaying their stuff on screen is the maximum that should be done. I hate to watch PSL & Pakistan home games largely due to these. Every now and then they say "Tapal Tea lounge" or "KFC bucket Challenge". Just ask sponsors to advertise their stuff in breaks and/or have written description during live telecast about their "lounge" etc.

Bring in 7th team already. Sialkot would sell at a premium for sure. Ramiz probably promised for no new teams till PSL9 but is there any written agreement? Its foolish to not acquire additional funds for PCB by generating additional team.

Speeds be displayed after every game.

Make a PSL website by a professional.

Shift to auction mode and increase total team caps. Set all prices in Rupees.

Increase prize money for playoffs and champion significantly so that teams take recruitment and talent grooming (through good coaches/trainings) more seriously. Maybe auction the name of the trophy to bring in additional cash here.

Improve stadium experience. Always read many poor reviews from many spectators. Send a virtual form about grievances to all those who bought tickets (they should have data) and ask them for suggestions. Outsource the stadium arrangement (seating, food, etc) to a refuted agency, home or abroad.

Lower prices for Karachi games. Not many can afford minimum Rs. 3k in Pakistan, and passion is high amongst lower/middle class population in Karachi but not much in middle/upper class for which tickets are designed.

Have full-fledged Urdu and English commentary side-by-side.

Sell online rights at a premium. Entire Pakistan watches matches on Facebook stolen streams, which should be agressively blocked and instead some local company (like ARY) be encouraged to telecast on their facebook or PCB may themselves do it to generate additional revenue through Facebook streaming. Daraz and Tamasha apps always hang while displaying live matches so they are useless