What do you think of people who start offering Namaz publicly in a non-Muslim country?

LegendInzi

Local Club Regular
So, today I was with my friends at Six Flags, a theme park in US quite popular with younger people. Two of these friends are quite religious, and at Zuhr time, they went to a washroom for ablution, and then began Namaz in quite a crowded area. It was a pathway so passersby had to avoid walking into them. There were quite a few uneasy looks given and I could observe their discomfort on this act.

Similarly last year, at Niagara Falls, a different Pakistani guy in mid-20s started offering Nafl namaz. He does this at every landmark as some sort of bucket-list item.

Another example, Mohammad Hafeez in Austria:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Offered namaz at this amazing natural beauty place, ALHAM DU LILLAH ❤️ <a href="https://t.co/zZzZ1YSIJ9">pic.twitter.com/zZzZ1YSIJ9</a></p>— Mohammad Hafeez (@MHafeez22) <a href="https://twitter.com/MHafeez22/status/886272677933133825?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 15, 2017</a></blockquote>

Given that anything Islamic has this horrifying stigma attached to it, my personal opinion is that one must be careful in this. It takes one Trump supporter out of a park-full to start a needless scene. Why should we put their patience to test?

What's your opinion on this?

I have never seen Indian Muslims offer Namaz like that in public places in India. May be its just a Pakistani thing.

I have seen some Pak Students offer Namaz in the Library hallways and near elevators and stairs. I find it interesting and I usually glance a bit to see what they are doing.

I have never seen Indian Muslims offer Namaz like that in public places in India. May be its just a Pakistani thing.

I have seen some Pak Students offer Namaz in the Library hallways and near elevators and stairs. I find it interesting and I usually glance a bit to see what they are doing.

as long as they are not blocking emergency exits etc, I guess not an issue?

As long as you don’t block roads or create any problems for the public no one will have any problem with that. People might be sceptical but most of them respect other people’s religious activities. The World is a big global Village now and nothing is unfamiliar to the majority.

They're not offering namaz. They're making a publicity stunt.

Remember the old adage, 'the only thing worse than bad publicity is no publicity' (or words to that effect).

Have to agree with OP. It is a safety issue for yourself. Takes one nutjob to go wild and cause a scene.

Is it worth attracting so much unnecessary attention, honestly? I'm sure Allah will understand if you choose to pray at a more private or secluded place for your own safety in a non-Muslim country.

But I mean some people are very bold and don't care about what people think, more power to them.

I know one girl at university who is from Lebanon. She's very liberal but always prays 5 times a day, and for Zuhur and Asr she keeps her abaya in her backpack and prays beneath the staircase of the library. Don't think there's anything wrong with that as you're not disrupting public traffic.

I have and many of my friends have prayed in public but we have always made sure place isn't crowed, not blocking any path to public, and not making anyone discomfort.

Part of praying in public mean to cause no discomfort to anyone.

Perhaps Indian Muslims feel too cowed down by the majority Hindus and Sikhs to make such a public display of their faith, I would imagine in a country where mob lynchings are common, it would be a foolhardy thing to do.

You are right that Pakistanis, and Muslims in general are more likely to engage in such antics abroad, partly because they tend to be overly confident and proud of their faith, also I feel they take advantage of the more tolerant and open societies they will find in western countries. But then as those societies are in fact tolerant, it doesn't usually create any problem as long as they aren't making a nuisance of themselves.

Where do you live? I see Muslims offering Namaz publicly quite regularly here in UP, especially in Ramazan.

From what I know the reasoning is that Praying Namaz in a Public place is also a from of Dawah . People when they see yo pray get curious and my research about Islam.

I don't think it's an issue so long they are not blocking other people's paths, if they find a spot on the side some where and mind their own business it shouldn't be an issue.

From what I know the reasoning is that Praying Namaz in a Public place is also a from of Dawah . People when they see yo pray get curious and my research about Islam.
In the past maybe. But in the age of terrorism, Islamophobia, mass media, video capturing cell-phones & social media et al, such thinking is naivety at best and ignorance/stupidity more likely.

What's the point of places of worship then? Holier than thou attitude,hopefully they openly denounce bank accounts as well.

Where do you live? I see Muslims offering Namaz publicly quite regularly here in UP, especially in Ramazan.

HYderabad, USA and Andhra Pradesh.

Muslims offer prayers only in Mosques. If it is festival time and there is no place in the mosque, they do it outside the mosque.

May be South Indian Muslims are not as ourtward when it comes to displaying their religion.

Perhaps Indian Muslims feel too cowed down by the majority Hindus and Sikhs to make such a public display of their faith, I would imagine in a country where mob lynchings are common, it would be a foolhardy thing to do.

You are right that Pakistanis, and Muslims in general are more likely to engage in such antics abroad, partly because they tend to be overly confident and proud of their faith, also I feel they take advantage of the more tolerant and open societies they will find in western countries. But then as those societies are in fact tolerant, it doesn't usually create any problem as long as they aren't making a nuisance of themselves.

All the of the mosques blast loud prayers whether they are Muslim dominant areas or not. Everyone knows what is going on when the prayers are heard on loud speakers.

I was in India again for the 2nd time in India in 4 months recently. For the first time I witnessed Christians come out everyday at 12:00 in the night and sing loud carols all the while beating drums. Never heard Christians do this.
I know where my parents live there are no more than 10 Christian families. That area is 95% Hindu area.

Good to see Christian bothers taking a leaf out of Hindu and Muslim brothers.

as long as they are not blocking emergency exits etc, I guess not an issue?

I have seen Indian muslims offer Namaz on Airport pathways, Railway platforms etc. Airports even have separate prayer rooms still some will block the way and pray.

Public displays of piety are cringeworthy ... prayer should be a private moment between you and your creator.

I doubt the sincerity of their faith when I see people do their stuff in full view of everyone else. I think there's a bible verse that specifically stresses on this point.

What Hafeez is doing is probably right.

It is publicity stunt. There is nothing wrong with praying in public, but what is the purpose of posting pictures on social media?

Unfortunately it seems to be a Pakistani thing - Hafeez, Imran Khan and other celebrities etc. often feel the urge of posting such pictures.

I have seen Indian muslims offer Namaz on Airport pathways, Railway platforms etc. Airports even have separate prayer rooms still some will block the way and pray.

Then that is wrong

That prayer is for ALLAH SWT and not to inconvenience others in non-muslim or even Muslim lands

The Hafeez one - someone took pic of him and he tweeted it

He isnt inconveniencing anyone so no one should have a problem

It is publicity stunt. There is nothing wrong with praying in public, but what is the purpose of posting pictures on social media?

Unfortunately it seems to be a Pakistani thing - Hafeez, Imran Khan and other celebrities etc. often feel the urge of posting such pictures.

And Nawaz Sharif doesnt? what do you think Nawaz pics doing Umrah are about? Nice of you to ignore that.

It is all the same. I am certain there are other examples too.

This is a Pakistani tradition of taking pics of people when they are praying, even Eid pics etc

I recall someone doing a selfie with Kaaba in the background - same idea

I don't have an issue with it, as I believe in freedom of religion provided you don't impinge on others.

That said I have seen on rare occassiobs where they were being totally inconsiderate. Like praying infront of a fire exit, aeroplane isle etc... but these have been very rare.

I think those that don't like it purely based on aesthetics need to address their own prejudice.

Airport, shopping malls, some institutions etc have separate prayer hall with water for wuzu.While in train/bus i offer namaz in the sitting position. If i come back home within one day, i just combine and pray it together at night.

Rest of the places i don't. There won't be clean floor to put the musalla and i won't be able to concentrate in my prayer too.

This is a Pakistani tradition of taking pics of people when they are praying, even Eid pics etc

I recall someone doing a selfie with Kaaba in the background - same idea

Eidgah pics and Kaaba selfie many does that but this is cringeworthy.

In the Us atleast from my times in colleges especially there are rooms specifically called prayer rooms or mothers room just for this purpose. Place where I work a Fortune 500 us company there is a dedicated prayer room
/mothers room. Same can be found in almost alll hospitals in the Us. I could be wrong but don't think these kind facilities for privacy exists anywhere in India or the subcontinent.

As many posters have said above,People can pray wherever they want as long as they are doing their own thing and they don’t block space for others or create any nuisance.

However I have seen some Muslims skip meetings,work etc because they have to pray 5 times a day etc..now it is fine if you are doing this with your own allocated Personal Time OFF but unfortunately it happens a lot on Company time and dime.

obviously “white guilt” or “diverse HR policies” don’t address this “sensitive” matter.

Similarly I don’t agree with international athletes doing roza when they are actively playing in an event ..I find that extremely unprofessional as well.

The topic in the OP is the least of the concerns to be honest.

I feel such things should be done in privacy. There is no need to show off in public over how spiritual you are. Non Muslim's would likely feel uncomfortable with such acts. It is similar to how our batsmen do prostration after reaching a milestone that has caught on amongst almost all of our players.

I think its always better to do it in private or in a mosque or a designated worship place. However the obvious thing is :

1) Muslims can pray in Public in western countries because western countries are liberal. This is what these countries have chosen.

2) non-muslims wont be advised to do it in most muslim countries because muslim countries aren't burdened by the tag of liberalism.

"Hey look at me, I'm so religious. Please advance my stock in your head! #FIGJAM"

This public stunt is a core feature of being Pakistani, it was not started by Hafeez or IK or Bhutto, but the Quaid himself. Quaid may wear Sharwani fives times in his life, most likely for political stunt, we have posted all those pictures in every Sarkari office, School, college and any possible building associated with govt, history books and what not, such is our national sense of insecurity... We are hell bend to prove to ourself that our Quaid was a very traditional eastern Muslim guy, although evidence is contrary to that...

Same can be said of PPP and Bhuttos pictures, there image should reflect Pakistaniat, which means in Shalwar Kamiz and dopata. IK is also on same line, all shalwar Kamiz and Islamic reference are key feature, just to make sure there is no question on his Pakistaniat...

Pakistanis are pretty easy to fool, yet some of us claim we are a street smart nation...Easiest people to fool by religion, our IQ Level in those matters is at the bottom :facepalm:

When was the last time you were in India? I have seen our pious brothers blocking roads to offer namaz on several occasions.

I haven’t seen anyone blocking roads to offer prayers but I have seen Muslims pray in parks or open spaces.. Never seen them pray on roads..

I have seen many Hindus block roads with Ganesh Chathurthi, Durga Pooja, kaanwariya etc they don’t exactly fold hands and pray but go in groups and block a part of road..

The worse is wedding “Baraats” which block roads/cause traffic jams..

Anyways this is our culture so that is how it has been and always will be...

I haven’t seen anyone blocking roads to offer prayers but I have seen Muslims pray in parks or open spaces.. Never seen them pray on roads..

I have seen many Hindus block roads with Ganesh Chathurthi, Durga Pooja, kaanwariya etc they don’t exactly fold hands and pray but go in groups and block a part of road..

The worse is wedding “Baraats” which block roads/cause traffic jams..

Anyways this is our culture so that is how it has been and always will be...
Stop being so defensive just because this is a Pakistani forum. Muslims do obstruct roads many times while praying but it's usually a norm in small towns and not in metro cities which I guess would explain your inadequate knowledge on this topic.
Hindus are the worst definitely. Not even comparable.

As long as it's not in anybody's way and not clearly a publicity stunt, no issue. Those that still would have a problem with it are clearly insecure.

Religion is best observed in the privacy of your homes or in places of worship. No point in making a public tamasha.

When you are allowed to do "delayed prayer" then what is the need for public show like this?

Ok granted some prayers have a limited window for delaying the prayer and you maybe out and about. But onus is on you to not
A. Make a scene
B. discomfort others

Some members of my cricket team are quite strict with their prayers, they would either wait for tea time or a drinks break and they would rush off either the changing room if it's got enough room or off the field to side of the clubhouse... prayers done within 2 mins or so and they are back on by the time drinks break is over. No fuss, no show off.

Public displays of piety are cringeworthy ... prayer should be a private moment between you and your creator.

I doubt the sincerity of their faith when I see people do their stuff in full view of everyone else. I think there's a bible verse that specifically stresses on this point.

In Islam we dont think in such an uncivlised way.

I think its always better to do it in private or in a mosque or a designated worship place. However the obvious thing is :

1) Muslims can pray in Public in western countries because western countries are liberal. This is what these countries have chosen.

2) non-muslims wont be advised to do it in most muslim countries because muslim countries aren't burdened by the tag of liberalism.

non muslims do not have designated daily prayers like we do.

I think its ok as long as you are not inconveniencing anyone.
Like I said, in the age of terrorism and Islamophobia, 'inconveniencing' can take many forms. Akin to waving a red rag to a bull.

Plus, as hinted at, in the age of video capturing cell-phones & social media, do you really want to see videos and photos of yourself in various positions and angles plastered all over the internet? eg photos of your backside sticking in the air, taken from behind whilst performing sajjidah? Considering some of the thin and loose clothing worn by some :facepalm:

Like I said, in the age of terrorism and Islamophobia, 'inconveniencing' can take many forms. Akin to waving a red rag to a bull.

Plus, as hinted at, in the age of video capturing cell-phones & social media, do you really want to see videos and photos of yourself in various positions and angles plastered all over the internet? eg photos of your backside sticking in the air, taken from behind whilst performing sajjidah? Considering some of the thin and loose clothing worn by some :facepalm:

Muslims dont care what people think. You cannot legislate for idiots in life, let them think what the like.

In Islam it says the Earth is a prayer mat, so you can pray anywhere. As long as it's safe and not an inconvience to anyone, I have a great respect for people who pray in public. Sure you can delay it but sometimes you may not be able to pray later and may miss it.

Muslims dont care what people think. You cannot legislate for idiots in life, let them think what the like.

In Islam it says the Earth is a prayer mat, so you can pray anywhere. As long as it's safe and not an inconvience to anyone, I have a great respect for people who pray in public. Sure you can delay it but sometimes you may not be able to pray later and may miss it.
1. Don't speak for all Muslims.
2. As for "Muslims dont care what people think", only those who are selfish and inconsiderate.
3. Most of us living in the West (of Muslim heritage, whether still practicing or not) don't want our lives, and those of our children's, messed up due to the selfishness and inconsideration of a few attention seekers.

Practice the religion by all means - but don't scr3w it up for the rest of us.

2. As for "Muslims dont care what people think", only those who are selfish and inconsiderate.
3. Most of us living in the West (of Muslim heritage, whether still practicing or not) don't want our lives, and those of our children's, messed up due to the selfishness and inconsideration of a few attention seekers.

Next time you see someone praying throw something at them

This happened to my dad once in blAckpool and when he finished the car had gone

It happened to me in Manchester City centre and I ran after the young lads but they were too fast for me

Next time you see someone praying throw something at them

This happened to my dad once in blAckpool and when he finished the car had gone

It happened to me in Manchester City centre and I ran after the young lads but they were too fast for me
Why should I stoop down so low as to commit a criminal act just because someone wants to advertise to the world how pious and religious they are? I'd be quite happy to have a civilised debate with them as to why I think they are being inconsiderate and being selfish attention seekers given the fact that the terrorists, under the guise of Islam, have already done untold damage to spread Islamophobia and all it's consequences for the prospects of my and my children's generations, and now this attention seeking of praying in public places is basically akin to showing red rags to bulls vis-a-vis more Islamophobia.

1. I was speaking of those Muslims who pray in public, they obviously don't care as they are praying in public.

2. How is it selfish by praying, taking a small space in public if it is not harming or putting others out?

3. I may be wrong but I thought you wrote you're not a Muslim anymore in another thread?

I think there a bigger issues for Muslims, like demonisation in the media which is making Muslim life difficult, not someone praying in public.

No real issue as long as it doesn't inconvenience someone.

People are generally quite accommodating in the UK as long as you dont take the ****. You'll find that the people who have issues are far right types, muslims that don't pray or muslims who get a bit red faced and embarrassed in front of their non muslim friends.

Can you explain the chain of events that would have to take place for you or your children's lives to get messed up by someone praying in public lol

Why should I stoop down so low as to commit a criminal act just because someone wants to advertise to the world how pious and religious they are? I'd be quite happy to have a civilised debate with them as to why I think they are being inconsiderate and being selfish attention seekers given the fact that the terrorists, under the guise of Islam, have already done untold damage to spread Islamophobia and all it's consequences for the prospects of my and my children's generations, and now this attention seeking of praying in public places is basically akin to showing red rags to bulls vis-a-vis more Islamophobia.

Your words kinda remind me of Abu dhar al Ghifari who after becoming a Moslem was beaten up three days in a row for proclaiming the shahadah in front of the Quraish and was consequently told by the messenger PBUH to go back to his Ghifar tribe and invite them to Islam instead

3. I may be wrong but I thought you wrote you're not a Muslim anymore in another thread?
Not quite broken the last few strings completely. Primarily due to family history and the cultural/religious practices ingrained into one since birth eg I don't drink, never have done so, and still only eat halal (or believing it to be halal). For me, not eating non-halal is akin to say, most people in the UK having an aversion to eating dog meat even though its eaten in other parts of the world.

Besides, whether practicing or not, whether having completely broken the last strings or not, as a desi looking person with a Muslim name, I and my children will still suffer the same effects of (both subtle and out in the open) Islamophobia when it comes to job prospects, traveling through airports, etc.

I think there a bigger issues for Muslims, like demonisation in the media which is making Muslim life difficult, not someone praying in public.
So why make it worse by waving red rags to bulls? Why potentially make yourself laughing stocks 'cause someone has taken pics and cell-phone video's of you praying with your backside sticking up in the air during sajjidah (with some wearing thin flimsy clothes that leave little to the imagination) and sticking it on social media?

Can you explain the chain of events that would have to take place for you or your children's lives to get messed up by someone praying in public lol

I thought it was a very strange comment too, considering the many other things which contribute to Islamaphobia.

Nice to see you posting , hope you're good DV.

Not quite broken the last few strings completely. Primarily due to family history and the cultural/religious practices ingrained into one since birth eg I don't drink, never have done so, and still only eat halal (or believing it to be halal). For me, not eating non-halal is akin to say, most people in the UK having an aversion to eating dog meat even though its eaten in other parts of the world.

Besides, whether practicing or not, whether having completely broken the last strings or not, as a desi looking person with a Muslim name, I and my children will still suffer the same effects of (both subtle and out in the open) Islamophobia when it comes to job prospects, traveling through airports, etc.

So why make it worse by waving red rags to bulls? Why potentially make yourself laughing stocks 'cause someone has taken pics and cell-phone video's of you praying with your backside sticking up in the air during sajjidah (with some wearing thin flimsy clothes that leave little to the imagination) and sticking it on social media?

Fair enough, appreciate the explanation. Have you considered going to Mecca, if you haven't been?

I think if a decent space is found , in the corner away from people then most people won't care. Theres idiots everywhere, praying is mandatory and as I said if someone can't do their prayers later then its understandable they don't to miss it so will pray where they can. I agree that those who do it for attention or there is no need should think and offer their prayers in a more comfortable and suitable environment.

Brexit was partly due to people voting against too many immigrants - even though immigrants to many of the same Brexitees means brown and black faces, which has very little to do with EU immigration. In a similar vein Islamophobia, whilst triggered and spread by 'Islamic' terrorism, now to some extent is further exacerbated by anything that remotely resembles Islam or Islamic practices. Praying in public places reinforces that stereotype.

Fair enough, appreciate the explanation. Have you considered going to Mecca, if you haven't been?.
Didn't want to say this, but since you asked. Used to live/work in Saudi many years ago. Hence performed quite a few Umrah and one Hajj!

[MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION]
Just to add:
I still believe that the vast majority of the Islamic rules and practices were appropriate for 1400+ years ago, and most, although not all, still are in the sense that the intentions are honourable, good and beneficial to society.

But its the 'spiritual' aspect I dont agree with. To me 'God' was used as an easy way to convey the messages/rules for a good society 1400+ years ago, akin to the Wizard of Oz, but the concept of praying to a deity is not something I agree with any more.

[MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION]
Just to add:
I still believe that the vast majority of the Islamic rules and practices were appropriate for 1400+ years ago, and most, although not all, still are in the sense that the intentions are honourable, good and beneficial to society.

But its the 'spiritual' aspect I dont agree with. To me 'God' was used as an easy way to convey the messages/rules for a good society, akin to the Wizard of Oz, but the concept of praying to a deity is not something I agree with any more.

I understand, having asked the same questions myself. For me it was to mix how I feel with what could make sense. The vast majority of people born in any race, culture, nation have a belief in a high power. In times of need they call upon this power to help them, it gives many peace and people seem to have this need inside them. Even the most hardline atheist if stranded on an island will one day be so desperate and ask for Gods help. Then it was a matter of if their is a higher power, what was the point of us being created? Islam out of all makes the most sense to me. I don't need to agree with everything or understand everything but most of it makes good sense.

Islam out of all makes the most sense to me. I don't need to agree with everything or understand everything but most of it makes good sense.

How many religions have you even gone through to come to that conclusion? You were born Muslim and hence made no effort to find out what makes sense and what does not. You basically drew this conclusion flying on autopilot.

Check out Bahá'í for starters - I think that religion is rad.

non muslims do not have designated daily prayers like we do.

Jews do , dont they? what if a hindu puts his God's idol out in public in a muslim country and starts praying to it? I would assume the reaction might not be always very friendly.

Having said that, muslim countries are not burdened by liberalism like western countries.

How many religions have you even gone through to come to that conclusion? You were born Muslim and hence made no effort to find out what makes sense and what does not. You basically drew this conclusion flying on autopilot.

Check out Bahá'í for starters - I think that religion is rad.

You dont know him. You are just guessing he has not gone through any other religions.

Still doesn't mean we can't make reasonable assumptions of people. His posting history, stated background and general vibe suggests we can make an educated guess.

Ofcourse you can take a guess. I didnt say you can't. However, your post didnt sound like a guess if you read it again.

I think we can't possibly guess about such a thing correctly anyways , even if we take a poster's posting history into account. His opinions might sound biased to you because he is a born muslim but it could also be that he has done his research and hence truly believes in what he is saying today or what he had said in the past.

Well, we'll give him the benefit of the doubt and wait for him to substantiate his findings then.

Not true. Practicing Hindus, like some in my family have daily prayers, weekly fasts etc

emphasis on the point "like we do"..

I know many many hindus and have seen them pray..ive even stayed in their homes. They do not pray like we do. It would be quite difficult for a hindu to fulfil his obligation in public within 10 minutes..

emphasis on the point "like we do"..

I know many many hindus and have seen them pray..ive even stayed in their homes. They do not pray like we do. It would be quite difficult for a hindu to fulfil his obligation in public within 10 minutes..
How was the time limit set to 10 minutes? If it's not causing you inconvenience, how does it matter if someone takes 30 minutes?

it doesnt matter to me at all. Do you have a designated time and time limit to pray your daily prayers?

Yes.Hindus who do Sandhya prayers have to do so at the time of sunset. There are various fasts,prayers that have to be done at a particular muhurat. It all depends on the person.

No need for such grandstanding, prayers should be done quietly without inconveniencing others.

5 daily prayers (Fajr, Zuhr, Asr, Maghrib and Isha) are mandatory in Islam. And each of them have a certain time limit.

Muslims dont purposely pray in public outside a mosque. They would rather pray inside a mosque or in their homes or in a private place. Pray is a private matter between the creator and the creation so muslims like to keep it private. For example I used to work in an office 9 - 5 or 10 - 6. That means 2 (Zuhr, Asr) or 3 (Zuhr, Asr, Maghrib) daily prayers timings were starting and finishing during my office time. To keep it private as much as possible, sometimes I would go in the server room when I know it will remain empty and pray, some times I would pray while sitting on chair at my desk and some times I would pray inside my car in the parking lot.

But my job type was different sitting on a desk and working on a computer. Other job types can be different and harder to have privacy. So in this case muslim have no choice but to pray in public. Even in that case muslim would take a side so as not to disturb the main path and remain as much as private as possible. Also muslim prayers are pretty short and we are usually done within 5 minutes.

The first one is eid prayer, not a regular one. Every muslim practising/non practising comes out to pray in eidgah on that day because it's sunnah to do so. Lack of space is an issue everywhere that's why we perform it in beach here in Calicut. But out of all places why would anyone pray on a railway track which is extremely dirty and full of filth.:facepalm: not to mention blocking a train and the inconvenience caused to the fellow train passengers.:facepalm:

Second one, the security personnels could have just driven them to prayer hall instead of making a fuss about it.

Third one is totally unnecessary. Even though there is no prayer hall in a railway station(do they?), no one have the right to own a part of railway platform.