What is exactly going on with Babar Azam?

Mohammad Aizaz

It's not about form anymore. Honestly sad to see him like this. Perhaps he needs to realize that whenever he gets the captaincy, it automatically brings more pressure on him? Perhaps he needs to let it go now and just focus on his batting? Perhaps.

He was in the ascendency under Mickey Arthur. Misbah then took over from him following the 2019 WC and as we all know with him, it's just another case of Misbah turning anything he touches into turd.

His mental midgetary keeps getting exposed day by day. Cannot perform under pressure. Hence why he will never be remembered as a great player. His career will also end like Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad

It’s the entitlement which is the bigger issue. On what basis is he an opener in T20 cricket?
Because he can play a few cute cover drives during the powerplay which gives his fans orgasam. He is completely useless in the post powerplay phase of the game. Can't hit sixes, zero game awareness, terrible fitness.

mental health issues unfortunately, some of these guys need a psychiatrist

He was in the ascendency under Mickey Arthur. Misbah then took over from him following the 2019 WC and as we all know with him, it's just another case of Misbah turning anything he touches into turd.
Everyone is responsible for their own success. Coach can do x y z, but to let Ego get the best of you cause you can play a very attractive looking cover drive and then think you're a GOAT is what is wrong with him. Each time I watch Babar play, I usually see him play at his own tempo, regardless of what the team requires. This was the case in the begining too ... it's just that most fans had their eyes closed and were in love with him.

Can you imagine people were comparing him to Virat and still does. The other one is already a GOAT and has not been in the best of form but still manages to score those important runs during do or die matches where as this fella, I would have more faith on Afridi winning the match with the bat then him in a tight situation.

once ravi Shastri used to be like that in 80s.he will wait eternal for a leg side flick or full pitch deliveries to straight drive. He used to eat lot of deliveries in that process and got booted out finally.He survived due to Mumbai lobby.Babar unfortunately haven't learnt anything or thought he knows everything. Even during ct game against ind, he was actually waiting for the deliveries for his cover drive otherwise simply don't have any answers or thought process to score.Saya corporation is not helping on the other hand by displaying utter nonsense instead of showing him the mirror.

3 dismissals to left arm seamers

IU even said it that they specifically brought in Dwarshius into the match to remove Babar

So the last 2 teams (KK and PZ) know that they just need to follow that route.

Mir Hamza and Shaheen to remove Babar?

How could someone so mediocre with zero performance has so much power. He acts like he owns Pakistan cricket and he is doing same with franchise cricket.

Why the management is so scared of him? Why don't they drop him down the order. Mitchell owen or haris should open not azam.

Perhaps once again getting his teammates to line up and turnaround and then kicking footballs at them will bring him back to form.
No harm in trying. This too shall pass. :inti

He is a good batsman , not the great one the media made him into. Once you make proper expectations you will not be angry.

He was never as great as fans believed. Bashing second or third tier teams or weak sides made fans think he was an exceptional performer. He failed to elevate his game during his peak form. Fans turned a blind eye to his failures as a batter as well as a captain. And now that his peak form is over, he has been exposed. The only way forward is to acknowledge the modern day cricket and adapt to it by batting more aggressively.

Bashing second or third tier teams or weak sides made fans think he was an exceptional performer.

It's not only that. Main reason is the obsession Pakistan has/had with having their own version of Virat Kohli during that 2018-19 period.

Out of that desperation, they ended up inflating Babar's worth and now the reality is dawning slowly but surely.

In breaking bad Mike gives a great monologue about Walt and his pride.

“It was perfect. But, no, you just had to blow it up. You and your pride and your ego! You just had to be the man. If you'd done your job, known your place, we'd all be fine right now.”

This can be applied to Babar and how he let his ego not just destroy Pakistan cricket but himself as a batsmen

Babar could have easily continued to operate under the tutilage of Saifi and maybe Imad post 2023. If he carried on the path he was going down than by now he could have been a well respected batsmen similar to root and Williamson. If he had put his head down and evolved his game than maybe the tag of king could have been appropriate

Instead he choose to betray Saifi and Mickey and worked with Misbah to transform Pakistan cricket into the tamasha we see today

Now the fans have begun to realise this and as many have pointed out, Babar is too mentally weak to deal with the pressure. His game is on a downwards spiral and soon he will join his cousions as being the next big meme of Pakistan cricket

Lesson to be learnt for all aspiring cricketers, keep snakes in your backyard and they will bit you

It's not only that. Main reason is the obsession Pakistan has/had with having their own version of Virat Kohli during that 2018-19 period.

Out of that desperation, they ended up inflating Babar's worth and now the reality is dawning slowly but surely.
I refrained from mentioning to avoid controversy. Anyways, it's up to Pakistani fans to acknowledge the reality and manage their expectations.

“It was perfect. But, no, you just had to blow it up. You and your pride and your ego! You just had to be the man. If you'd done your job, known your place, we'd all be fine right now.”

This can be applied to Babar and how he let his ego not just destroy Pakistan cricket but himself as a batsmen

Babar could have easily continued to operate under the tutilage of Saifi and maybe Imad post 2023. If he carried on the path he was going down than by now he could have been a well respected batsmen similar to root and Williamson. If he had put his head down and evolved his game than maybe the tag of king could have been appropriate

Instead he choose to betray Saifi and Mickey and worked with Misbah to transform Pakistan cricket into the tamasha we see today

Now the fans have begun to realise this and as many have pointed out, Babar is too mentally weak to deal with the pressure. His game is on a downwards spiral and soon he will join his cousions as being the next big meme of Pakistan cricket

Lesson to be learnt for all aspiring cricketers, keep snakes in your backyard and they will bit you
Babar was also being manipulated by Rizwan. It’s very much Celebrimbor+Annatar analogy.

Rizwan has the biggest role to play

Babar is a natural accumulator who should have batted at 3 in T20s. By opening with Rizwan he managed to destroy the careers of countless players while strengthening Rizwan’s grip on the team

By 2024 when Babar’s form had declined, Rizwan was able to capitalise on the lack of experience in the team and did a coup replacing Babar.

I also feel like he was the main guy trying to lobby against Shaheen as captain so that his place in the team could remain secure.

Fortunately he is being exposed day by day and hopefully a coup will happen against him and we can finally move forward

It's not only that. Main reason is the obsession Pakistan has/had with having their own version of Virat Kohli during that 2018-19 period
This is true

Now Babar can’t even be compared to guys like Rajat Patidar. They are miles ahead of him

It’s always sad when a regular performer loses form. I’ve seen countless of batsmen perform for one year and drop off as they get exposed. It is much tougher to keep performing over multiple years. Babar did that which was the hardest part. Finding someone new that will hold up for many years will be difficult.

The squad has been managed appalling ever since the final of t20 World Cup tournament in 2022. We went crazy for not winning a tournament we were nowhere favourites for. Constant changing of captains, debutants flung in and out of the team being “tested”, order shuffled around, a disregard of fitness (bringing Azam in showing this). It has led to a whole decline in the team in general. There was no method, or organisation just endless unstructured experimentation. Led to the whole team losing confidence and form.

Babars lost confidence. Which is to be expected over being blamed for captaincy, brought back to captain after being dropped. It’s a whole strangle debacle. It’s happened with players in the past like Malik and Pietersen.

Hope he gets it back. It is form and confidence and perhaps fitness, no one performs for that many years to be suddenly exposed it doesn’t make sense. Every batsmen has flaws too, it’s how they work within their limitations. But time waits for no one, and we’ve got to look to the future. We need a new crop of batsmen who can perform for multiple years in a row. Saim looks to be one of them and hopefully a few more will join him too.

It’s best for him say no to any Pakistan cricket plus league cricket look to get a county contract and just bat and bat for 4 months then come back home and bat just bat in quaid e azam trophy he needs to play 2000 balls of competitive cricket with no scoring pressure and get his game in order

He’s in it for the money when he’s still hireable

This is the motivation for him. He won’t give up the fat paycheques as long as they are coming through.

He will look to cash in at PSL, maybe a juicy contract at Canada T20, and one if not both of BPL and SLT20

These are his 4 big paycheques besides the PCB central contract A.

Rake in as much as you can while you can. Jitna loot sakte ho loot lo.

Then a time will come when he will not make 10% of how much he did in these years as he is doing now. By then, he will resettle in Australia, Canada or USA.

He doesn’t care about cricket or the expectations of the nation. You guys have got it wrong.

He only has himself to blame. Once you start thinking you are bigger than the game you will eventually be brought back down to earth. He became arrogant and basically bulldozed anyone who stood in his way with internal politics and the backing of the PCB. His PR team is now desperately trying to save face since they were the ones that hyped him as Pakistan’s Kohli.

Then once he was removed from captaincy he started playing for his own runs which has become so obvious now. The minute he gets his 50 he gets out on an aggressive stroke and his fans start defending him saying “RR was climbing he had to show intent” or “He was the top scorer for Pak” - what’s the point of being the top scorer and useless 50s if you aren’t gonna finish the games off and own chases like other greats. Reminds me a bit of Misbah, scoring your own runs and blaming others for losses. He has been in international cricket for 10 years now, it’s time he delivers when it matters.

His strike rate has always been below par, he needs to go back to domestic cricket and earn his place back through consistent performances otherwise he is very quickly going down the Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad route although he has survived the longest of the 3.

What's staggering about Babar is his total lack of impactfulness. While impact is harder to achieve in weak Pakistani batting lineups, isn't it damning that after almost 10 years you can only count on one hand the number of matchwinning knocks ?

Ramiz Raja started Babar's downfall by giving him total control as captain in his idiotic belief that he could manufacture a 21st Century Imran Khan and appointing a dummy coach in Saqlain. Under Ramiz it felt like "Brand Babar" was more important than the team. His fitness also declined during this time.

The only bit of sympathy I have is that there's been multiple PCB chairs alongside a carousel of coaches and selectors making for an unstable environment where players don't know who to trust.

However there's no defence for how he backstabbed Shaheen last year by greedily accepting the captaincy again. That's after Shaheen's public backing of Babar despite his declining form. The T20 WC disaster was karma.

@Xoib is right that only a sustained spell away from Pakistan under proper coaching can salvage what's left of his peak years. However for a County deal, Counties need certainty about a player's availability. PCB must assure them he won't be picked for the inconsequential Bangladesh and West Indies white-ball series this summer.

only a sustained spell away from Pakistan under proper coaching can salvage what's left of his peak years

I'm afraid his so called peak is already behind us. 2022 home series against Australia was it.

Besides, I think he has most probably fudged his age and he's 33-34 in reality. Taking into account his pot belly and the embarassing fitness standards in Pakistan, it's hard to expect a second wind from him.

Babar Azam’s lack of mental strength is his biggest issue. He has all the cricketing shots in the world, but seems to mentally shot. Some time away from cricket and all the hype that surrounds him in Pakistan might actually be good for him.

Even when he comes back he should not play T20 again. He is not cutout to be a T20 player.

In my honest opinion, Babar Azam earned his place in the Pakistan team through hard work and truly deserved it.

The Pakistani public placed a lot of hope in him, seeing him as our answer to India’s Virat Kohli.

Unfortunately, the fame and hype seemed to get to his head.

He began enjoying the stardom a bit too much and, over time, stopped putting in the same level of effort he once did.

As other teams began to study and figure him out, his lack of growth and focus on cricket left him without the tools to adapt or fight back.

What's staggering about Babar is his total lack of impactfulness. While impact is harder to achieve in weak Pakistani batting lineups, isn't it damning that after almost 10 years you can only count on one hand the number of matchwinning knocks ?

Ramiz Raja started Babar's downfall by giving him total control as captain in his idiotic belief that he could manufacture a 21st Century Imran Khan and appointing a dummy coach in Saqlain. Under Ramiz it felt like "Brand Babar" was more important than the team. His fitness also declined during this time.

The only bit of sympathy I have is that there's been multiple PCB chairs alongside a carousel of coaches and selectors making for an unstable environment where players don't know who to trust.

However there's no defence for how he backstabbed Shaheen last year by greedily accepting the captaincy again. That's after Shaheen's public backing of Babar despite his declining form. The T20 WC disaster was karma.

@Xoib is right that only a sustained spell away from Pakistan under proper coaching can salvage what's left of his peak years. However for a County deal, Counties need certainty about a player's availability. PCB must assure them he won't be picked for the inconsequential Bangladesh and West Indies white-ball series this summer.
Raja years are the second biggest black spot after spot fixing in our not so glorious last fifteen years of international cricket when Wasim Khan and Mani left we had two potential superstars Babar and Shaheen finding their feet and coming in their own in last two years and ready to take on the best and then Raja got involved in their brand building and got their focus away from the game and here we are now .

Babar is 30 on paper and considering he is Pakistani, he is probably 2-3 years older in reality, so he is already 32-33 years old, so he is experiencing some age related decline, which is accelerated by his pathetic fitness and weak mentality.

The only hope for this fraud to have a respectable end to his career is to give up the captaincy and stop playing T20 cricket, which has destroyed his batting technique. He should prioritise playing first class cricket.

He was not that special to begin with. He never had the class of Mohammed yousef or the authority of Inzimam when batting. He even at his so called ''peak'' was average. Pathetic fitness and weak mentality has made sure he further regresses.

I mean when has ever WON a big TEST or ODI series for Pak?

It's not about form anymore. Honestly sad to see him like this. Perhaps he needs to realize that whenever he gets the captaincy, it automatically brings more pressure on him? Perhaps he needs to let it go now and just focus on his batting? Perhaps.
He is suffering from broken heart syndrome .
If these cruel jibes continue , he might take up citizenship of Zimbabwe .

He was not that special to begin with. He never had the class of Mohammed yousef or the authority of Inzimam when batting. He even at his so called ''peak'' was average. Pathetic fitness and weak mentality has made sure he further regresses.

I mean when has ever WON a big TEST or ODI series for Pak?
Strange..you are saying pathetic fitness..however in X, ppl like following journalist are comparing him with Hollywood actors..he is even called Male beauty..😂

• Screenshot_2025-04-21-18-06-05-21_0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg
    Screenshot_2025-04-21-18-06-05-21_0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg
    227.2 KB · Views: 19
Mentally weak. He’s lost confidence. The debate about strike rate seems to have gotten to him and now he’s confused regarding the pace at which he should bat on.
This could be the exact reason. It worked for him when he could bat at a pace he's comfortable with and then someone else does the scoring. He almost always anchored the innings.

Babar is 30 on paper and considering he is Pakistani, he is probably 2-3 years older in reality, so he is already 32-33 years old, so he is experiencing some age related decline, which is accelerated by his pathetic fitness and weak mentality.

The only hope for this fraud to have a respectable end to his career is to give up the captaincy and stop playing T20 cricket, which has destroyed his batting technique. He should prioritise playing first class cricket.
Sanga peaked when he was 32-33.

He needs to go away and grind away from the limelight and away from T20 cricket for a bit but before doing so he actually needs to acknowledge there is a problem with his batting.

If mentally he is making excuses and blaming others or is unwilling to adapt his game beyond cover drives and dinky shots down to third man he won't ever come on top. Bowlers have now got his number and worked out his game.

So it really depends on his willingness to understand his flaws and work on them.

Sanga peaked when he was 32-33.
Sangakkara and Babar are not in the same league 🤣

Sanga is an all time great who has single-handedly won big matches and has many valuable tons and double centuries especially in tests.

Babar has never been a test great, did well in ODIs initially but now his ODI form is dipping aswell.

Just compare the competitive level of bowling Sangakkara faced vs Babar who has mainly scored vs B and C sides in Asian conditions.

Also Sanga was a wicket keeper batsman for most almost a decade into his career until 2009, and kept wickets in T20is until his retirement in 2014 after SL won the T20 wc. His stats could have been even better if he played purely as a batsman throughout his career.

He had an enormous all round effect on SL cricket including successful captaincy stints aswell. Babar is no where near Sanga.

He needs to go away and grind away from the limelight and away from T20 cricket for a bit but before doing so he actually needs to acknowledge there is a problem with his batting.

If mentally he is making excuses and blaming others or is unwilling to adapt his game beyond cover drives and dinky shots down to third man he won't ever come on top. Bowlers have now got his number and worked out his game.

So it really depends on his willingness to understand his flaws and work on them.

Totally agree with this. Definitely needs to acknowledge & work on his flaws - both mental and technical.

The sick Pakistani media and fans on social media have taken an impact on his confidence. He will come back inshallah but it's ridiculous how badly we treat the best players in our country. He is unecessarily blamed for everything. The pressure eventually got to him.

Really Nice & Apt Analysis.

The sick Pakistani media and fans on social media have taken an impact on his confidence. He will come back inshallah but it's ridiculous how badly we treat the best players in our country. He is unecessarily blamed for everything. The pressure eventually got to him.
Acha.

Na physical fitness sports athlete Waali banani hai

Na game development kerni hai

Na weaknesses against specific bowled deliveries pe kaam kerna hai

Na game se break leni hai

Just blame media, social media, fan. There is no drill available for a softie, mentally frail player to become the opposite. Please inform me when he was hitting centuries consistently what laurels he brought for Pakistan ? What have been his achievements in the big matches or tournaments especially against Top four bowling line ups of those tournaments ? The Cupboard is Empty. The Stats are selfish and illustrate stat padding against average oppositions or rarely good knocks in low pressure bilaterals. That's it.

Kohli on a spinning wicket had no issues against Khusdil in UAE and Babar Azam proved easy work for Khusdil Shah on the Karachi Wicket. Levels

Sanga is an all time great who has single-handedly won big matches and has many valuable tons and double centuries especially in tests.

Babar has never been a test great, did well in ODIs initially but now his ODI form is dipping aswell.

Just compare the competitive level of bowling Sangakkara faced vs Babar who has mainly scored vs B and C sides in Asian conditions.

Also Sanga was a wicket keeper batsman for most almost a decade into his career until 2009, and kept wickets in T20is until his retirement in 2014 after SL won the T20 wc. His stats could have been even better if he played purely as a batsman throughout his career.

He had an enormous all round effect on SL cricket including successful captaincy stints aswell. Babar is no where near Sanga.
Sanga scored 4 100s in 2015 WC in Australia and retired from ODIs, that was his legacy. He wasn't selfish

Strange..you are saying pathetic fitness..however in X, ppl like following journalist are comparing him with Hollywood actors..he is even called Male beauty..😂
Yeah sure - that pic is indeed showing great fitness levels. We all know who controls all those accounts.

Social media ka King.

He should phone Somerset and ask for a contract, needs to play 4 day cricket

Rizbar T20 partnership has destroyed his T20 Career

Lol at ask for a contract. He will be told to get lost and rightfully so. Why would any side want him?

Nothing same same.

1745265601732.png

And that is what he said for the time, we were 10 to 15 runs short.
A retired and well past his prime Warner made sure Babar innings was again 2nd and resulted in a loss.

There are no $$$$ in that.

Do you think these guys care about their game or winning for their country? Nope. They are more worried about their gravy train screeching to a halt since now they are even struggling to score their own runs and are very frustrated. The only thing they ever care about is money, and power. Money and power.

Only thing synonymous with Babar's batting and captaincy is incompetence

Lahore v Peshawar

Lahore needs to turn up and let him know about his betrayal of their captain Shaheen!

Better players have faced greater pressure and have come out on top. It’s all part and parcel of the game.

When you are praised to the heavens, you should also be ready to face the heat.

Babar unfortunately has a very meek personality. He’s a very awkward and introverted individual who has not evolved at all! You listen to his interviews and he still speaks with the same nervous energy as a debutant would. it’s sad because he needs to have thicker skin and more self belief to deal with tough times like this.

Lahore v Peshawar

Lahore needs to turn up and let him know about his betrayal of their captain Shaheen!
Shaheen is as toxic as they come.

Didn’t deserve the captaincy after the horrible performance in the WC and it was rightfully taken away.

I have bigger muscles than that

No wonder he can't hit sixes no muscle and no brain

Yes just like the new heights QG has been experiencing under Sarfraz since 2020. Sorry to burst your bubble but Sarfraz was never the messiah.

He doesn't have a very bright father either who loves to sneak in the limelight. The whole family including Akmals is weird.

Ramiz did a lot of damage at a key stage of his development by inflating his ego by calling him a brand and giving him unlimited powers and whatnot.

Needs to grind away in county preferably Sussex (where swing and pace is a key factor), stay away from t20 and give up on his ego that he'll only bat where he wants to and the rest of the team needs to adjust. It's he who needs to adjust.

Babar is in decline and sadly for him and Pakistan cricket, he will never get back to anywhere near his best. It's Pakistan cricket so he'll cling on for as long as he can but without any purpose.

Feels like it's multiple things going on with him at this point from mental and technical issues. Mentally, I am sure at this point it's weighing down on him with the lack of runs and lack of runs in important matches and the confidence seems low. His last century in any format was vs Nepal which was like 2 years ago at this point.

Technically, it seems bowlers have found his weakness and begun to exploit it. He struggles with the ball coming in, particularly with spinners whether that's right arm/left arm & leg spinners with googly's.

From Espncricinfo article:

"Until the end of 2021, he'd averaged 51.72 against balls that turned in (offspinners and left-arm wristspinners combined). From 2022 onwards, he's averaged 31.80 against balls turning in. The killer stat is the strike rate - where before the end of 2021 it had been 88.49 against bowlers whose stock delivery turned the ball into him, since then it has dipped to 67.65."

For a while it seemed like maybe he was getting unlucky or losing focus. He would get starts and get out in an unlucky way like directly finding a fielder or edging down the leg side to the keeper or a bowler finding a magical delivery but that is no longer the case. He is simply playing poorly and clearly struggling for confidence.

Who knows what the whole captaincy situation has affected his mental health but hard to feel too bad about it when it's mostly been self inflicted. It was beyond ridiculous he accepted captaincy back and creating a fraction within the dressing room and doing Shaheen like that.

But more than that, I simply think the game has changed drastically under his feet and he has struggled to cope/adjust to it. When he was started playing, Pakistan could score like 160 in UAE and it would pretty much be defended all the time. Outside of England playing bazball teams didn't go as hard as they do now in T20's or ODI's. In particular, the T20 game has seen a massive shift and yeah when he first started playing, you could get away playing at 130 SR and nowadays 130 SR is very subpar and you're considered an accumulator with that. Similar with captaincy, it's a bit self inflicted as he sees the way game has changed under his feet for the last decade but has failed to respond to adjust in any meaningful way. He still can't do a simple sweep shot let alone all the funky shots players are playing nowadays. His game has remained the same since he came in stagnation is regression with the way the game is rapidly progressing at an incredible rate.

I hope he takes a significant break for a few months, find a batting coach he trusts and reinvent his game. I doubt it will happen because of how insecure players are and PCB themselves will select him into the ODI squad no matter what even if he's ignored in T20's. His terminal and ongoing decline is so sad considering the promise he once brought and I really hope we get that player back.

Yes just like the new heights QG has been experiencing under Sarfraz since 2020. Sorry to burst your bubble but Sarfraz was never the messiah.
Safi has won a PSL trophy, the same cannot be said about Zimbu

Safi has won us two ICC trophies, the same cannot be said about any Pakistan captain

He may not be the messiah but he is easily our best captain this century

Sangakkara is better than Kohli and Tendulkar. You cannot compare Babar with him.

Safi has won a PSL trophy, the same cannot be said about Zimbu

Safi has won us two ICC trophies, the same cannot be said about any Pakistan captain

He may not be the messiah but he is easily our best captain this century
u-19 wc was good but isn't really something to write home about as we have always had age fudgers in age level competitions. Our team not winning any afterwards is a damning indictment of our talent level rather than brilliant "captaincy" of Saifi.
What was his performance with the bat in 2018-19? Did he merit a place in any format?
What has happened with Saifi's franchise after winning the PSL 2019? Or do you only like to see through Saifi tinted glasses? 5 tournaments finishing in the bottom two. What was Pakistan's ODI record in 2018-19? Lost 5-0 to NZ, 4-0 to england, 4-0 to Australia. You can't play an already poor team with 10 players.
Babar may not have been a good captain, but that doesn't mean you keep a nonperforming specialist captain in the team.

The difference is that Sanga is educated and from one of the best schools in the island, and the level of education in general is pretty good in sri Lanka, especially since it's a small country. Of course you have idiots like Kusal Mendis and this new tattoo brigade, but you know what I mean.

Babar has a weak mind, Sanga btw was not like Aravinda or Mahela, however he was an exceptional accumulator and the team acknowledged this and helped him grow and respected his the way he used to pace his innings.

Pakistanis and the PCB are so impatient, even a talent like Umar Akmal was discarded without making use of him. All of you'll know is to find fault and make fun of their weaknesses. Nobody or the PCB takes initiatives to address the core issue.

Only once I recall, a psychiatrist named Max Babri (Maqbool) was utilised to help cricketers improve their mindset.

Most posters here are probably from the upper middle class or privileged background, so it's pretty easy to call your cricketers mental midgets.

The difference is that Sanga is educated and from one of the best schools in the island, and the level of education in general is pretty good in sri Lanka, especially since it's a small country. Of course you have idiots like Kusal Mendis and this new tattoo brigade, but you know what I mean.

Babar has a weak mind, Sanga btw was not like Aravinda or Mahela, however he was an exceptional accumulator and the team acknowledged this and helped him grow and respected his the way he used to pace his innings.

Pakistanis and the PCB are so impatient, even a talent like Umar Akmal was discarded without making use of him. All of you'll know is to find fault and make fun of their weaknesses. Nobody or the PCB takes initiatives to address the core issue.

Only once I recall, a psychiatrist named Max Babri (Maqbool) was utilised to help cricketers improve their mindset.

Most posters here are probably from the upper middle class or privileged background, so it's pretty easy to call your cricketers mental midgets.
Sanga was a different breed. The guy who knew his game inside out. And he kept adding dimensions to his game. His SR and avg steadily increased from 2005 onwards.
Pakistani players succumb easily to the "superstar" status and start considering themselves impervious to improvement. Sanga of 2005 wouldn't have been able to score 4 consecutive 100s in ODIs that outgoing Sanga of 2015 did because he kept improving.

Babar's struggle is real. He is going nowhere atm with his batting. Not sure if he is gonna do any better in One day format but his t20 game is definitely pathetic atm..

I am not seeing him back in the team anytime soon and it is justified actually.. He should not be playing t20I for Pakistan.

I think Babar has started to react to the noises people are making and it is making things even worse for him.