What is your favourite quote?

Abdul

"Strength does not come from what you can do, it comes from overcoming the things you once thought you couldn't."

"To be the man you gotta beat the man! WOOO! WOOOOO! WOOOO!"

"The first thing I want to be done is to get that piece of crap out of my ring. Don't just get him out of the ring, get him out of the WWF, because I proved, son, without a shadow of a doubt, that you ain't got what it takes anymore! You sit there, and you thump your Bible, and you say your prayers, and it didn't get you anywhere. Talk about your Psalms, talk about John 3:16 - AUSTIN 3:16 SAYS I JUST WHIPPED YOUR A**! All he's gotta do is go buy him a cheap bottle of Thunderbird and try to get back some of that courage he had in his prime. As the King of the Ring, I'm servin' notice to every one of the superstars. I don't give a damn what they are, they're all on the list, and that's Stone Cold's list, and I'm fixin' to start runnin' through all of them. As far as this championship match is considered, son, I don't give a damn who it is. Steve Austin's time has come, and when I get the shot, you're lookin' at the next Champion, and that's the bottom line because Stone Cold said so!"

"In three days, the British people will choose who they want to lead this country through the next five years. Five years that will define the future of our country for generations to come.

Strong and stable leadership to guide Britain through the years ahead. And we need that strong leadership now more than ever."

"Just give me three chances pretty please" hehehe

"This is a message to the big stiff weight lifter that can't fight, big Anthony Joshua, the big tough man, wannabe gangster.

He told me to get fit, the "fat f," it's a new one as he usually doesn't swear as he's not himself. So he's being himself now, which is good.

To be honest with you me old mate, I don't need to get fit for somebody like you at all, I'll come to you and punch your face right in, even at 25 stone.

I really don't need to get fit so I really don't need to get fit for you, put it that way. I've seen what you're all about. You fought a midget [Carlos Takam] the other day in a hard fight.

The referee had to stop it in case you got caught or beat. Bum City like I always said: no gas, no stamina, too many weights. You want to practice on a bit more speed and less power. Bum.

I do not care about you! Like I told you before I'll punch your face in bad boy.

Fighting to me is easy and slapping punks like you is even easier. Good to see Eddie has let you off your leash for the day. But he better put you back on before you get bitten."

Live Well.It's the greatest revenge.

Revenge is like the sweetest joy next to getting the sweet fruit - another favourite quote of mine, nice one Riddle got me thinking about it with your post

“God created the Heavens, he created the earth! He created all the Hulkamaniacs! Then, he created a set of 24-inch pythons, brother!”

Revenge is like the sweetest joy next to getting the sweet fruit - another favourite quote of mine, nice one Riddle got me thinking about it with your post

:facepalm: For the love of God they are two different characters.

"As I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
I take a look at my life and realize there's none left
'Cause I've been brassing and laughing so long that
Even my mamma thinks that my mind is gone "

:uak

I don’t know if God exists, but it would be better for His reputation if He didn’t. - Jules Renard

The difference between stupidity and genius and genius is that genius has its limits. - Einstein

And my signature in most accounts

All generalizations are false, including this one. - Mark Twain

I don’t know if God exists, but it would be better for His reputation if He didn’t. - Jules Renard

The difference between stupidity and genius and genius is that genius has its limits. - Einstein

And my signature in most accounts

All generalizations are false, including this one. - Mark Twain
Voltaire on his deathbed when asked by a priest to renounce The Devil : "This is no time to be making new enemies"

"A man who stands for nothing will fall for anything." - Malcom X

Zindagi uski jisski mout pe zamana afssos Kare Ghalib; Youn tou har shaqs aata hai is duniyan main marney k liye.

Voltaire on his deathbed when asked by a priest to renounce The Devil : "This is no time to be making new enemies"

That's incorrectly attributed to Voltaire actually. There are many other versions of the same quote credited to many other people before and after him.

My favourite Ghalib quote is

"Manzil milegi bhatak kar hi sahi,
Gumrah to woh hai jo ghar sai nikle hi nahi."

That's incorrectly attributed to Voltaire actually. There are many other versions of the same quote credited to many other people before and after him.

I heard late Christopher Hitchens using it in one of his debates with the evangelists.
Maybe you are right.

Mine is
"Sharab peene de Masjid main bethkar , Ya wo jagha bata Jahan Khuda nahin"

Dude you just copy pasted that, misspellings and all.

However, jirah kar diya zaalim. Such profoundness and total disregard for religion. I like how they opposed religion using such poetry before that even their own admirers wouldn't notice it. I doubt they would understand the nuances even now. That is the power of an elevated command of a language.

[Quran 17:36] You shall not accept any information, unless you verify it for yourself. I have given you the hearing, the eyesight, and the brain, and you are responsible for using them.

Btw whoever is a real Ghalib fan should see the the TV series (aired on Doordarshan) on his life. Naseerudin Shahs portrayal of the master along with the soundtrack composing of his ghazals sung by Jagjit Singh, especially Tere Khushboo Mai Likhe Khat will change your life.

[Quran 17:36] You shall not accept any information, unless you verify it for yourself. I have given you the hearing, the eyesight, and the brain, and you are responsible for using them.

Doubtful claim, especially for the believers. I have verified all the information and it is mostly false.

I suggest you read the quote again.

In simple terms, it means that one should not accept information blindly. One should verify it.

If you found the information to be false, then that is completely irrelevant.

"The past is a foreign country; they do things differently there."

"This Too Shall Pass."

"Revenge is a dish best served cold."

"Obsessed is a word the lazy use to describe the dedicated."

You know what's worse than in your face religious types? Its in your face atheists. Jeez we get it you don't like God give it a rest.

Didn't know you were a tupac fan too.

You know what's worse than in your face religious types? Its in your face atheists. Jeez we get it you don't like God give it a rest.

I was just replying to someone who suggested eating more meat was a solution for climate change and tends to troll people by bringing nonsensical religious arguments in all matters. Was I ever in YOUR face? No, because you didn't use religion to troll people. So chillax.

“Lal dewar par Lika tha Ghalib ne chune ke sath... yaha likna mana hai”.
“Hathon Kee lakeron pe maath ja aye Ghalib, un ke bhee naseeb hote hai jinke hath nahi hote”.
These can not be quoted directly from Ghalib but they are too good not to share.
And finally...
“Bura hai ya acha, me nahi chata logh mere bare soche,
Is se bulana kitna mushqil kuu hai, bus yahe chata hun ke log mere bare soche”.

I was just replying to someone who suggested eating more meat was a solution for climate change and tends to troll people by bringing nonsensical religious arguments in all matters. Was I ever in YOUR face? No, because you didn't use religion to troll people. So chillax.

Bhai Saab, if you had chosen not to comment on his quote about a religious text, this could have been avoided.

"Khade hain pyase ana ke iis bharose par ke chal ke aaega ek din kuaan hamari taraf."

My favorite one is obviously by ghalib
"Umar bhar ghalib yeh hi bhool karta raha..
Dhool chehre pe thi aaina saaf karta raha...

here my favorite quote

hen the last tree is cut, the last fish is caught, and the last river is polluted; when to breathe the air is sickening, you will realize, too late, that wealth is not in bank accounts and that you can’t eat money.

"Even if I drink water, I gain weight"

"Mickey Arthur abused me in front of Mushi Bhai and Inzy Bhai and it was very SHARAMFUL"

UMAR AKMAL

“Lada drivers are primarily responsible for air pollution” some internet guy

"What doesn't kill you makes you stronger"

"layi hayaat aaye qaaza le chali chale
na apni khushi aaye na apni khushi chale" Zauq

100%.

If all it takes is a quote form the word of Allah to flummox and reduce an individual to talk of cattle, then it exposes the fear. Why cattle when said individual can open up a pig farm and dig on swine.

100%.

If all it takes is a quote form the word of Allah to flummox and reduce an individual to talk of cattle, then it exposes the fear. Why cattle when said individual can open up a pig farm and dig on swine.

No fear really, just exposing the double standards and failed attempts at trolling. I am a free man and can eat whatever I want, don't need a person from the desert 1500 years ago or his followers telling me what I can and cannot do.

“There is a tide in the affairs of men which taken at the flood leads on to fortune”

Surely it is just a quote about the importance of thinking critically and independently, therefore could be widely applied. Despite the source, not a “religious quote” per se.

No fear really, just exposing the double standards and failed attempts at trolling. I am a free man and can eat whatever I want, don't need a person from the desert 1500 years ago or his followers telling me what I can and cannot do.

Enjoy!!

Per se, yes. I was pointing out the irony. It is a verse pretending to promote critical thinking but like any other religious text there are many other verses that encourage the opposite. I was just talking about the intention of the OP and most religious people who are the first to talk about critical reflection but no where to be seen once it opposes their own false beliefs.

"Strength does not come from what you can do, it comes from overcoming the things you once thought you couldn't."

"God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference"

"Great things are not done my impulse but by a series of small things brought together"

"A hero is someone who we can admire without apology"

"Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man how to fish and you feed him for a lifetime"

Aaand my personal favorite...

"We often overestimate what we can accomplish in a single day yet still underestimate what we can do in our entire lives"

Great minds think alike :akhtar Tyson often used his greatest hits as his theme as well in the 90s, they were good mates

Yeah huge tragedy that his death happened after he watched tyson's comeback fight in 1996.

1."I am living in a dream i never want to wake up from"

2."Your love make me strong your hate make me unstoppable"

Courtesy- Cristiano ronaldo

318020.jpg

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.

Mahatma Gandhi .

Hmmm , There is no record of Gandhi saying this quote . Nevertheless, it is mostly attributed to him describing the stages of a winning strategy of nonviolent activism because I think it is closely related to it. Guess you learn something new every day.

"Put your trust in the lord, your a** belongs to me" The Warden to the inmates in Shawshank redemption. The delivery of the line and the atmosphere in the scene made it all the more intense.

I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers.

" " - Manmohan Singh
On a serious note

"You had me at 'hello.'" from Jerry Maguire.