What position should Fakhar Zaman bat at during the T20 World Cup 2021?

• Poll closed .

Saj

He looked in good touch today and it seems the think-tank want to find room in the starting XI for him.

Recently Shahid Afridi said that Fakhar should be opening.

What position do you think he should be batting at during this World Cup?

Fakhar should open. Middle overs with field spread out is not when his batting will be effective. Even 3 or 4 big hits will give Pakistan a good start

Team management have made a big blunder for not sticking with Haider at number 3.

Fakhar should ideally open but as team management would not change opening combo, hence I would play Fakhar at number 4.

Malik should absolutely not be in the starting XI.

You can thank Misbah for totally messing this up with the promotion of Rizwan to open

Pretty obvious, at no. 3!

Pak only have 3 batsmen and those 3 bat in the top 3.

Absolutely horrible selections in the batting department.

Ideally Fakhar should open with Babar, with Haider at 3. Rizwan 4 and Hafeez or Malik at 5, but no point even debating. Pakistan management are always rigid and will play the same order they played in this warm up match.

Rizwan batting at no. 4, 5 or 6 has a strike rate of 102 or under in T20s. His place isn't in the middle order

You can thank Misbah for totally messing this up with the promotion of Rizwan to open

I agree, Misbah has screwed us over royally and has bailed before being brought to account. The issue we have is that Rizwan is ineffective elsewhere.

I'd prefer Fakhar to open but with Rizwan nailed on in the starting eleven, there is more flexibility in accommodating Fakhar at another spot.

Fakhar is probably the better #3 than all the other options. He tends to struggle against the moving ball which results in him getting the outside edge occasionally. Contrary to the popular belief, he bludges spinners for example the SA tour earlier this year or the CT final. Yes, he's not the most consistent batsman around but if he can settle in at #3 like he has a couple of innings, he can up the tempo very quickly.

Wouldn't send Fakhar at 3 if a wicket falls in the powerplay. He should be given a license to attack here. He looks out of sorts against spinners when he is defending.

I think Fakhar should play as a floater. Send him at 3 if Pak loses wicket inside powerplay. Else, use him as a powerhitter in last 5 overs like KKR utilizes Russel.

Why don’t we just throw him at number 10 so that Rizwan fans can breath easy?

Shouldn't move Rizwan and Babar from opening they are settled. Fakhar should bat at 3, Haider at 4.

I think Fakhar should play as a floater. Send him at 3 if Pak loses wicket inside powerplay. Else, use him as a powerhitter in last 5 overs like KKR utilizes Russel.
You don't mess with a genuine batter by floating him. Let him bat at 3 and play at his pace. Let Hafeez, Malik, Shadab, Imad float lower order and practice their hitting.

Shouldn't move Rizwan and Babar from opening they are settled. Fakhar should bat at 3, Haider at 4.

If Hafeez can accelerate from the get go maybe he can come at no. 6 so we can drop Asif for Haider

Playing Asif provides no benefit, as he will give you only 15-20 runs on average, will not bowl, and ordinary in the field. Hafeez and Malik are better options.

Ideally you should blame a player for stealing position. But here player is performing above par and u have to blame the person who introduced the player.

You mean to say Rizwan should have never been given chance to success 😂😂😂

Ideally you should blame a player for stealing position. But here player is performing above par and u have to blame the person who introduced the player.

You mean to say Rizwan should have never been given chance to success ������

If Imam ul Haq scored a fluke 50 off 35 balls against Australia, we could have Imam and Babar as our T20 openers today.

Rizwan is just a political instrument used by Misbah and Waqar to apparently have a captain that performs instead of one that lets the team do the performing.

Think 3 is perfect for him.

Ideally Fakhar should come out with the field spread and the spinners into the attack, thus he can have a few balls to get his eye in and then can take the attack to the opposition.

Hopefully he can pick up some good advice from Hayden

You can bet your house Babar and Rizwan will be targeted by left arm spinners in the powerplay

You need a left handed opener to counter the problem as captains will be mindful of the angles, and therefore keep the usual planning of bowling seamers in the powerplay.

Similarly, two left handed openers will also invite right arm off-spinners to bowl with the new ball.

Number 3 I think at the moment. And Rana if you don’t know much then you shouldn’t talk. Before Misbah, Rizwan was already opening for his domestic team and he did very well. So they gave him a chance and he grabbed it. It is how it is accept it and come with something new, instead of always talking about Rizwan like you are obsessed with him or something?

I might be in the minority here but I think 4 is a good number for him.

Ideally Fakhar should open with Sharjeel with Babar at 3, Hafeez at 4, Haider at 5 and Malik at 6.

I've got a feeling they might have to push him to open in the World Cup - albeit a reluctant decision.

power plays will be crucial in this world cup and we need are best batters or strikers in early. So fakhar should be at number 3, if he does open it does give pakistan left/right hand option at top of order.

I think they're going to stick with Riz, Babar opening and Fakhar at 3. Just hope these lads do the damage before the TTF's, senior citizens and duds come in.

Ideally, he should open and Babar must come at no.3 to control middle overs. Since Pakistan is possessed by record and looking to retain babar and rizzy. he must come at no.3.

Would love Fakhar to open BUT Rizwan should stick to opening and Fakhar should bat at 3.

People need to get there heads in order . The reason why Rizwan began opening was because Fakhar caught COVID before the New Zealand tour , as a result what I think was initially a “short sharp fix” actually resulted in being a master stroke as Rizwan has been churning on the runs and I believe has the highest T20 runs in an international calendar and at a cracking average and a good SR.

This is no politician decision or whatever . Would I have Fakhar opening in an ideal world , yes I would , but this is not fantasy , this is a results oriented business and the stats speak for them selves . Let’s just lay off Rizwan .

Oh and by the way Fakhar is my favourite player, but a lot of people are putting their personal likes and dislikes ahead of logic and what is best for team Pak.

Fakhar seems to be in great form and should bat no lower then 3..

He should open if rizwan flops once more. Cant waste fakhars great form.

Seems to be doing ok at his new position 52*(28)

Best modern T20 batsman in the Pakistan side.

InshaAllah he will fire Pakistan to another ICC trophy just like he did in 2017!

Can't believe he wasnt in first team.

Most dangerous for us on 24th

Can't believe he wasnt in first team.

Most dangerous for us on 24th

No doubt, India will have a plan for him. What will ours be apart from 'oh yaar, koi ghal nahi, ho jai gaa yaar'

Definitely one down. Less pressure when the balls beats the bat a few times. He looks more free to play coming in one down.

No doubt, India will have a plan for him. What will ours be apart from 'oh yaar, koi ghal nahi, ho jai gaa yaar'

he's good vs spin. so we'll have to bowl pacers in middle overs which will mess up death bowling plans

Misbah speaking about Fakhar Zaman:

"To not keep Fakhar Zaman in the initial squad was something I could not understand, because Fakhar played really well in South Africa at number 3. In England, because of Sohaib Maqsood and with an eye towards the T20 World Cup, we moved him to the 5-6 position as we weren't getting much contribution"

"We told him to try this out but mainly we saw him playing for us at the number 3 position. What then happened when he came back to Pakistan was what we all saw - I was feeling so bad about that this guy has performed well in 3-4 games and we moved him down the order and suddenly he is out of the squad, and all this after he had performed well at the number 3 position"

Hayden on Fakhar:

“This camp has got some wonderful assets that will perform on the day. It is exciting to see how Fakhar Zaman, for instance, has and not to single him out, prepared and performed in the warm-up games. He certainly has the potential to deliver the same in a few days’ time."

1) Babar
2) Rizwan
3) Fakhar
4) Haider
5) Malik
6) Hafeez
7) Imad
8) Shadab
9) Hasan
10) Shaheen
11) Fahim

Is Pakistan going to play haider after not batting him in warm up games. Is he going to be unleashed for the big game?

In current scheme of things I think fakhar is going to be at #3, and his success depends on the start given by openers

I don’t mind Pak winning this at all (which I have stated as nauseam in other threads)

However, I want to see Fakhar get out first ball by Bumrah caught in the slips!

Looked horribly out of touch today:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/f6qqil" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Awful inns today, scratched around and ate up dot balls, hit one good shot and got out. Really needs to come out with a better plan when batting.

Need to play as an opener to have an impact; move Rizwan or Babar to #3

Babar looked worse or equally poor. Why was Babar trying to hack?!

At no.3 you need a player who can play pace and spin with comfort. Knock the ball in the gaps rotate strike and punish loose deliveries and Bat deep. Pakistan is trying to put cart in front of horse because the horse is god damn beautiful.

Babar, should come at no.3 play his game and let fakhar do nagin dance and put all the snakes to shame

How can people even talk about Babar at 3? It’s over he will be opening the innings and rightly so. Fakhar was afwull the last couple of years opening in pakistan team in T20. His only 50 in 2 years was at 3 so…

And yes he looked afwull, but give the poor man a chance at 3 will ya? He is someone who can take charge and attack to the spinners in the middle overs.

I hate to say this but Pakistan was lucky that Fakhar was out when he was.

He looked in horrible form and was struggling badly. If he had batted for a few more overs there was every chance the required run rate would have climbed.

Fakhar’s batting position has changed far to much in t20s in the last year. He needs to stick at 3. He looked great in the warm ups and whilst it was a scratchy innings he is never far away from playing a blinder.

He has a poor record against Afghanistan and could well struggle , but with easier games to follow he has the ability and pedigree to really raise his game for the knockout matches .

He’s also a gun fielder.

Don't need to chop and change. He was imperious batting at #3 in the warm up games, keep a stable position and back him just after one poor performance.

I hate to say this but Pakistan was lucky that Fakhar was out when he was.

He looked in horrible form and was struggling badly. If he had batted for a few more overs there was every chance the required run rate would have climbed.

Felt like he was trying to stage a collapse😂

Fakhar has to show his worth at this number 3 position - Good time to do that today!

Big innings this for Fakhar.

Time to produce the goods when it is much needed.

Played some good strokes in this innings:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/f140bj" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Played well till Rashid Khan was introduced, forcing him to premeditate a sweep against Nabi:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/hrybwb" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Opener is his best position. Move Babar or Rizwan down to three.

Zaman taking on Nabi made a massive difference!

If he doesn't take him on, then Nabi finishes with figures of 1-20 or something and that would lead to extra runs being scored at the end.

He didn't go through to the end, but he played his part well.

The real concern is hafeez.

I would rather Fakhar go after the spin than just settle to play the spinner out

T20 World Cup stats so far:

54 runs in 4 innings

Average of 13.50

Strike rate of 90.00

Absolutely awful.

A complete liability. I know the winning team won't be changed for the semi but honestly he has no business being in this XI.

He's so reliant on cross bat swinging, if it's not in his arc, he's always in danger of getting out. He'll fail in the semis without a doubt. Aussies will have done their homework and won't feed his desperately limited shot range.

His dismissal against Scotland:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/zb0idz" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Pre-meditated slog specialist. I'm surprised these batting coaches haven't told him he's allowed to hit through the offside when they pitch it there.

This might come back to haunt me but I think Fakhar will deliver in the Semis. He loves a big occasion .