What went wrong with India's ICC T20 World Cup campaign?

A side which boasts some of the top performers in the T20 world has once again not reached the final of this tournament.

What went wrong?

Bowling was never going to be India's forte but the batting should have done better.

Problem with Indian players is that they are 100x more hyped and talked about than their ability merits.

With Kohli's decline they never were a team to fear in white ball.

They just aren't that good and semis is a good result for them.

Commiserations to [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] and any other closet indian fans

Mr 360 degrees got overhyped to the moon nonstop after aome performances against Zim

Batting did well.

The bowling, well if Ashwin is going to play in every T20WC, a player even IPL teams won't keep for 2 seasons you have issues.

Then you keep selecting bhuvneshwar Kumar, why? What has he done? He can't pick wickets in the IPL, what will he do in a t20 wc?

Axar Patel? Has not done anything to be selected. Nothing. Just look up his IPL stats.

Harshal Patel? A journey man cricketer, who suddenly started taking wickets in last 2-3 seasons. Why? Because the matches have been limited to 3-4 stadiums in uae or Maharashtra and the pitches assisted his numerous slower balls.

If as a layman i can see this, i wonder why didn't the selectors? What is going on in those meetings? Let's wait for that story to come out.

India overachieved so far in this tournament. It’s a highly overrated team. The bowling is a minnow level, and there are only 2-3 batters (and they often put under pressure from the opening batters in almost all crucial matches).

All hail master tactician Rahul Sharad Dravid.

Such panautis these 2 Rahuls are for Indian cricket.

Rohit and Rahul form was the biggest factor , defensive batting approach by Kohli who always killed the momentum. Kohli,s outdated style of playing safe initially and then go all out in the slog overs always going to backfire some day. Absence of Bumrah and Jadega make this team bowling unit as a very average bowling side. The fake allrounder Aksar Patel. India need to appoint Hardik as Captain in white ball cricket and need to induct fresh faces in both the bowling and batting deptt.

They are just an average team they topped the group due to the physiological edge over pakistan not due to skills in this campaign they have only beat minnow teams like zimbabwe and netherland they just about beat Bangladesh and lost to better team south africa. They really did not deserve this semi final

Fluked a win against Pakistan

Fluked a win against Bangladesh

Hammered by South Africa

Hammered by England

A better question would be - what went right for India?

Posting after 5-6 years. India never deserved to play Semi final. Only convincing victory came against Netherlands. Pakistan and Bangladesh lost due to their own mistakes and Kohli's miraculous knock with a little help of Nawaz.
Hardik is the fastest bowler in this lineup which easily tells you the whole story. The swing Bhuvi and Arshdeep produce is a never a threat at the pace they bowl. If the pitch has nothing to offer, this bowling linup is the weakest in this World cup (including teams that played qualifiers). Rahul is fit to be a batting coach as he is a text book batsman and has got every cricketing shot in his arsenal but cannot handle a pressure which comes when you represent your team at these tournaments. Kohli is the GOAT. No one comes close. Rohit should be ashamed of himself because he doesn't sound or looks like an athelete. Imagine Messi at 90kg bodyweight just because his skills are natural and he doesn't need to stay fit, same is the case with Rohit.
India was riding their luck on Kohli, Sky and Pandya but it was about time for this bowling to be exposed.
Pakistan should have won that first game.

Timid batting when mattered. India went away from the template they set in recent times.
Our bowling is not up to the international standards for T20 cricket. Bhuvi, Shami, Ashwin, and Axar don't belong in T20i.

This is hilarious considering it was a foregone conclusion that India was on the way to winning the Cup and Pak were on the hinges of being knocked out the group stage after the Zimbabwe game.

Now India out and Pak in final.

Thank you Holland and South Africa!

Timid batting when mattered. India went away from the template they set in recent times.
Our bowling is not up to the international standards for T20 cricket. Bhuvi, Shami, Ashwin, and Axar don't belong in T20i.

It is true about the batting. I really can not understand why India bat like Pakistan. For pakistan it is acceptable because we do not have anybody who avg more than 20 and strike at 135 plus in the middle order, so the openers have to bat longer, so everybody else can focus on SR. India have many of those, but they still go a bit slow at the top

I'm surprised at the medium pacers spearheading their attack in this day and age. They need proper fast bowlers.

Regarding the batting, only Kohli can play under pressure. Rest are really IPL heroes at large and home track merchants.

Nothing went wrong, India is just an overrated T20I team.

If anything, India's weak T20I is result of IPL.

The evidence is clear - since the inception of the IPL - India has failed to win the T20 WC!

It's our pedestrian batting which is being exposed for the umpteenth time.

India's batting is certainly overrated to a great degree. The way their top order performed against Pakistan, South Africa and England today speaks for itself. But on paper, it was still one of the better batting line-ups in the tournament.

For me though, it was India's bowling that let them down consistently against Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa and England.

Rohit as a captain especially in the Australian condition has looked very poor

The bowlers Rohit as a captain and the selectors and team management have selected have been very poor

B.Kumar and Arshdeep are the only two wicket taking options and all others have been defensive

Although, that being said Rohit"s captaincy maybe different when Ind is playin in conditions similar to that found in India.

Other than that his captaincy looks pretty poor as he failed find a aggressive wicket taking spinner in Aus conditions

Clearly Rohit was relying on Bumrah but still Ind knew he wont make it to WC and they still failed to find a suitable replacement

Overall India"s poor showing should be held responsible on Rohit"s captaincy

A side which boasts some of the top performers in the T20 world has once again not reached the final of this tournament.

What went wrong?

Bowling was never going to be India's forte but the batting should have done better.

Don't think the batting could have done any better. There was a clear strategy to preserve wickets to launch in the last 10 overs. That strategy was based on the players we have. They executed that strategy in every game except for the SA game. Is that good enough? Probably no but you can't play beyond your capabilities.

The real disappointment were the spinners. Spinners from every country thrived except for India's. Axar was just atrocious. Picking middle over wickets is absolutely vital and they failed in every game except against the Zimbos. I dia needs to address that right away

India's bowling was too one dimensional with two medium pace swing bowlers with new ball and Shami with the older bowl who doesnt have much variations (His numbers manifest the same) other than maybe bit of reverse when the ball is roughed up. Add to it the fact that India didnt play a leggy in Aus in all the matches I believe. Not the kind of attack which can win you tournaments.

Add to it lack of temperament of Rahul which essentially puts him into an anchor mold and in his twilight Rohit Sharma opening together and failing against all decent teams.

India's batting is certainly overrated to a great degree. The way their top order performed against Pakistan, South Africa and England today speaks for itself. But on paper, it was still one of the better batting line-ups in the tournament.

For me though, it was India's bowling that let them down consistently against Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa and England.
Only on our paper our batting looks good even though all we know it may just be the toilet paper!

Our bowling has never been good enough in any case. Whenever they bowled well, they certainly punched above their weight.

Today's loss is completely on our pathetic top 3 though.

It is true about the batting. I really can not understand why India bat like Pakistan. For pakistan it is acceptable because we do not have anybody who avg more than 20 and strike at 135 plus in the middle order, so the openers have to bat longer, so everybody else can focus on SR. India have many of those, but they still go a bit slow at the top

I think it's because success is still measured based on 50s in T20s in India when you are a top order batsman.

Their sub-par bowling attack got badly exposed when it mattered most.

I didn't see the Indian innings, but I caught the opening of the England innings, and the ball was swinging a mile, but Buvnesh was pitching it all over the place, and Harshdeep looked like he was bowling at 120mph. You have to make better use of the conditions.

They are just an average team they topped the group due to the physiological edge over pakistan not due to skills in this campaign they have only beat minnow teams like zimbabwe and netherland they just about beat Bangladesh and lost to better team south africa. They really did not deserve this semi final
Psychological edge not physiological .

Batting did well.

The bowling, well if Ashwin is going to play in every T20WC, a player even IPL teams won't keep for 2 seasons you have issues.

Then you keep selecting bhuvneshwar Kumar, why? What has he done? He can't pick wickets in the IPL, what will he do in a t20 wc?

Axar Patel? Has not done anything to be selected. Nothing. Just look up his IPL stats.

Harshal Patel? A journey man cricketer, who suddenly started taking wickets in last 2-3 seasons. Why? Because the matches have been limited to 3-4 stadiums in uae or Maharashtra and the pitches assisted his numerous slower balls.

If as a layman i can see this, i wonder why didn't the selectors? What is going on in those meetings? Let's wait for that story to come out.

Is the national team a priority for BCCI? The selection committee and the management seems to be quite dumb. Is there a babu culture in the management?

Hammered by South Africa

Hammered by England

was gonna write exactly this, if it wasn't for pak bottling it, and bang being forced to come out to play ind would have not even got to semis.

rohit is far to chill as captain, works in ipl cos u can cover weaknesses by importing players, in national team u need someone like kohli to light a fire under these guys backsides, otherwise they all in comfort zone.

also without bumrah this bowling attack is terrible, if it doesn't swing they are a county level attack on current form.

Nothing they reached a world t20 World Cup semi final in a format anything can happen. The 50 over World Cup is in India watch them destroy teams there

Why was Pant coming in at #6? Surely he should be T20 opener or perhaps #4 with Kohli at #3.

Doesn't matter who comes where. India is loaded with one-dimensional players. Batting stops 4. Today Pandya surprised us. Apart from SKY others tend to take it deep and try to finish well like old school style. They don't have too many hitters in the line up to keep going on flat pitches.

I didn't see the Indian innings, but I caught the opening of the England innings, and the ball was swinging a mile, but Buvnesh was pitching it all over the place, and Harshdeep looked like he was bowling at 120mph. You have to make better use of the conditions.

Their batting definitely lacked intent. I initially thought the pitch was tricky. But after a few overs it became evident that it was a flat deck with nothing in it. And Pandya's innings reinforced that fact. For the conditions, England bowled pretty well. Rohit and Rahul not firing cost India big time and at the end despite the late push from Kohli and Pandya their total was just a par score.

That said, even with a par score, their bowling display was embarrassing. They were mauled and never looked like defending that total from the first over of the England innings.

Their batting definitely lacked intent. I initially thought the pitch was tricky. But after a few overs it became evident that it was a flat deck with nothing in it. And Pandya's innings reinforced that fact. For the conditions, England bowled pretty well. Rohit and Rahul not firing cost India big time and at the end despite the late push from Kohli and Pandya their total was just a par score.

That said, even with a par score, their bowling display was embarrassing. They were mauled and never looked like defending that total from the first over of the England innings.

Indian bowling was expected to be exposed at Adelaide oval. This was a given. Especially if you are up against free-spirited cricketers like Buttler/Hales this is a certainty. India not carrying a single leggie was another blunder. Most of the matches India won against England due to some leggie. Last thing any side wants to do is facing England at the Adelaide oval. It was a total mismatch today

Look at the same England side in Swinging conditions.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series...land-vs-india-1st-t20i-1276904/full-scorecard

Indian bowling was expected to be exposed at Adelaide oval. This was a given. Especially if you are up against free-spirited cricketers like Buttler/Hales this is a certainty. India not carrying a single leggie was another blunder. Most of the matches India won against England due to some leggie. Last thing any side wants to do is facing England at the Adelaide oval. It was a total mismatch today

Look at the same England side in Swinging conditions.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series...land-vs-india-1st-t20i-1276904/full-scorecard

India definitely missed a trick not playing a leggie throughout the tournament. Going with two finger-spinners in T20s is frankly, madness in this day and age. But do you really think playing a leggie would have made a difference today when the total simply wasn't good enough on a pitch this flat?

Especially considering the pasting the rest of the bowlers took?

Hammered by South Africa

Hammered by England

Pakistan and South Africa losing points to Zimbabwe and Netherlands/Rain. If that hadn't happened we weren't going through on merit IMO.

India definitely missed a trick not playing a leggie throughout the tournament. Going with two finger-spinners in T20s is frankly, madness in this day and age. But do you really think playing a leggie would have made a difference today when the total simply wasn't good enough on a pitch this flat?

No it wouldn't. on flat tracks you have to outbat them. Only way you can outbat them is by batting second. If you bat first you will be in a tricky position to decide what is the best score. You won't know. Mostly you end up posting a smallish score and get canned like this. This guy Hales seems like a BBL bully who play a lot on this ground. He executed his shots programmatically. Absolutely clean hitting. Honestly i enjoyed their batting although we were at the receiving end.

I think you can stop them from reaching a good total with good bowling. But that applies to bigger grounds like SCG, MCG, Gabba. On a ground with these kind of small square boundaries even that becomes difficult.

Yeah I mean you can't take anything away from the England batting either. As poor as India's bowling was, England's batting was simply out of this world. There wasn't a single slog, nor were India ever given a chance to settle down and find their line and length. Hales in particular looked like he was batting in his backyard.

bad team. with this terrible selection it was written on the wall. rohiths and rahuls please retire. kohli should also call it a day as far as t20 is concerned.
this is not some regular bashing of the team which has lost and supporting them when we win. its a bad team, period.
set aside the politics and get some talented youngsters or else continue with your petty politics.

Positive reinforcement through narrow wins of flawed strategy riddled with blunders. For Pakistan, replace "narrow wins" with miracles. I hope the final is not the occasion when the law of averages takes over.

It’s obvious what went wrong for India and it’s also a lesson for Pakistan: don’t tuk tuk and kill your own momentum, play a positive intent cricket and don’t settle for the par score.

1. KL Rahul
2. Rohit Sharma out of form
3. DK instead of better players like Samson/Pant
4. Hardik Pandya not scoring runs while batting or leaking runs while bowling in crunch games
5. Bumrah getting injured but always being available for IPL
6. Everyone putting more emphasis on IPL than playing for the country
7. Bhuvaneswar Kumar and Ashwin in the bowling attack.

There, I guess that covers it all.

I think the issues had started before Dravid's appointment.

His was the chance to reset the table. Start a new, fresh era.

Instead he has become an agony aunt for seniors.

Between 152-0 and 170-0, there is not a single change in either the team nor in its approach.

How indefensible is that?

They selected terribly.

Of course Bumrah and Jadeja missing cost a lot too.

In the end they can't end the knockout hoodoo. Need a major change in captaincy also.

India has to dismantle that opening partnership, they have repeatedly failed. Rohit Sharma in particular has been scarred by numerous defeats in knockout games. Time to retire buddy.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] ji can we get your detailed expert analysis here about the most humiliating defeat ever handed to any team in a T20 WC? Aside from 152/0. Like how can your beloved top team, best team, jabardast team, majedaar team get two back to back most humiliating, most embarrassing drubbings in a major tournament?

Take a break from watching 1983 highlights while eating wadda-pao, we want to hear you out today :)

arrogance and karma.
forcing umpire to give no ball, ending up top of group and facing england in SF enventually only to get booted out. had they played fair and square would have faced NZ in SF.

on cricketing terms.
1. poor strategy/selection - relying too much on old horses, not trying some younger guns coming out of IPL for batting, and for bowling keep persisting with Ashwin based on reputation, he is nothing specialy now, may have done better with Chahal, even england did so well with their leggies one of whom is part timer.
2. poor start in SF, not persisting with more positive intent after first wicket, knowing they are playing England that had to keep targetting 185+ total, not reset and target 160-170 (which without pandya knock would not have happened). Rohit takes lot of blame for 28 ball 26. Kohli is there for anchor and late acceleration, but Rohit should have looked for 40 or so for his balls faced as opener.

The Indian bowling is average at best. They needed someone like Vinay Kumar. He would have provided some much needed firepower with the ball.

Cricket lovers' dream of seeing an India vs Pakistan final in the T20 World Cup 2022 was shattered on Thursday as Rohit Sharma & Co. suffered a 10-wicket defeat at the hands of England in the semi-final. Fans, former cricketers and pundits have all been busy analysing the factors behind the Indian team's humiliating loss. Former India cricketer Ajay Jadeja also expressed his opinion on the subject, criticising captain Rohit Sharma for his absence from a number of series over the last 12 months.

From Hardik Pandya to KL Rahul, the Indian cricket team saw several captains being given the team's baton this year as Rohit, India's designated full-time skipper, wasn't part of multiple assignments for different reasons.

Jadeja, taking a dig at both Rohit for his absence from multiple series, said that a team only needs one buzurg (captain) and not seven of them, if you are to build a strong team for a tournament of the stature of the World Cup.

"We didn't see him making the sort of moves that India had prepared for, for the entire year. Maybe this point will pinch Rohit. If a captain is to make a team, you have to stay with the team throughout. For how many series in the last year was Rohit with the Indian team? These talks have been held before as well. Even the coach of the team isn't going on tours. Then how will the team develop?

"Ghar ka ek hi buzurg hona chahiye, 7 ho jayenge to bhi dikkat hai," Jadeja said on Cricbuzz, probably pointing out at the multiple captains that the Indian team has had over the last 12 months.

Rohit Sharma was appointed as India's skipper in T20Is after Virat Kohli stepped down post the team's disastrous World Cup campaign in 2021. He was appointed captain in ODIs from the South Africa series, which he missed due to injury.

Rohit took over as Test captain after Kohli stepped down post India's loss in the series in South Africa.

https://sports.ndtv.com/t20-world-c...am-after-semi-final-defeat-to-england-3508496

The long and excruciating wait for a 'World Cup' title continues for the Indian team as Rohit Sharma & Co. suffered a humiliating 10-wicket defeat at the hands of England in the second semi-final of the T20 World Cup 2022. Be it the 2019 ODI World Cup, the 2021 T20 World Cup or 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup, the lack of success in these campaigns continues to haunt the Indian team.

But, what went wrong? Here's a look at some of the factors that contributed to India's downfall in Australia.

Lack of intent from batters in powerplay:Time and again, India's start at the top was questioned. While KL Rahul struggled to impose himself with the bat in 4 of the 6 matches, Rohit Sharma only got one half-century to his name. In the powerplays, India's batting was among the worst in the tournament.

Lack of express pace:After Jasprit Bumrah got injured, questions arose over his ideal replacement as no other pacer, in the scheme of things, had the sort of pace that Bumrah could produce. Some even advocated the name of Umran Malik, the only Indian pacer who can consistently bowler over 150 kph but he couldn't even break into the reserves as Mohammed Shami was named Bumrah's replacement.

Over-dependence on ageing stars:Skipper Rohit Sharma is already 35 while Virat Kohli, as good as he is, has turned 34. Suryakumar Yadav, despite not being a part of the system for a long time, is 32. Dinesh Karthik, India's 'finisher' for the tournament, is 37. Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are both 32. Barring Kohli, none of these players performed at the level they were expected to.

Reluctance to play wrist-spinners:India played a total of 6 matches in the T20 World Cup (5 in the Super 12s and 1 semi-final). In none of these matches Yuzvendra Chahal, the only wrist-spinner in the 15-man squad, was used. Both Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel were persisted with for the entire length of the tournament. Wrist spinners have historically proved to be wicket taking options in T20 cricket.

NDTV

Nothing went wrong, India is just an overrated T20I team.

If anything, India's weak T20I is result of IPL.

The evidence is clear - since the inception of the IPL - India has failed to win the T20 WC!

And the richest t20 league was meant to help them well dominate in T20i. Not a single t20 world cup win since IPL and only 1 final and in that final they choked.

Team India faced a disastrous 10-wicket loss in the semi-final of the T20 World Cup to England on Thursday. After restricting India to 168/6 in 20 overs, England rode on unbeaten knocks from Alex Hales (86*) and Jos Buttler (80*) to crush Indian hopes for a second T20 World Cup title. The duo stitched a 170-run opening stand, which is now a partnership record in the tournament history for any wicket; Buttler and Hales went past South Africa's Quinton de Kock and Riley Rossouw's 168-run stand, which also came in the ongoing edition against Bangladesh.

Following the match, Team India's head coach Rahul Dravid attended the post-match press conference as he countered questions surrounding India's disappointing defeat in Adelaide. One of the questions asked to Dravid was on the reason behind Indian players being prevented from playing in overseas T20 leagues; all the men's cricketers in the Indian team only play in the Indian Premier League. While Dravid conceded that playing abroad is an advantage, he also mentioned that it could lead to Test game being depleted within the country's cricketing setup.

“There's no doubt about it that England players have come and played in this tournament (Big Bash League). It's tough, it's very difficult for Indian cricket because a lot of these tournaments happen right at the peak of our season. I think it's a huge challenge for us. A lot of our boys do miss out on the opportunity of playing in these leagues. But it's up to the BCCI to make that decision, but the thing is that it's right in the middle of our season,” Dravid said.

"And with the kind of demand there would be for Indian players… if you allowed them to play in these leagues, we won't have domestic cricket. Our domestic cricket, our Ranji Trophy would be finished, and that would mean Test cricket would be finished. We have to be very careful, we have to understand that Indian cricket faces or BCCI faces in a situation like this.

“A lot of boys are asked to play leagues in the middle of our season, we have seen what it has done to West Indian cricket, and I definitely don't want Indian cricket to go that way. It would affect Ranji Trophy and Test cricket and Indian boys playing Test cricket is pretty important for the Test game as well, I would think,” Dravid said.

Hindustan Times

India has to dismantle that opening partnership, they have repeatedly failed. Rohit Sharma in particular has been scarred by numerous defeats in knockout games. Time to retire buddy.
This is nothing. See our top-3 (Dhawan, Rohit & Kohli) failing us miserably in next year's ODI WC too!

Pretty obvious that India is arrogantly sticking to players that need to be moved on from. There should be no spot for the likes of Rohit, Rahul, DK, Ashwin etc when these players have been doing nothing to earn their spot these days but rest on legacy performance.

I think the issues had started before Dravid's appointment.

His was the chance to reset the table. Start a new, fresh era.

Instead he has become an agony aunt for seniors.

Between 152-0 and 170-0, there is not a single change in either the team nor in its approach.

How indefensible is that?
This! Well said!

We didn't change the batting at all from last year's disaster. That's arrogance of the highest order which deservedly got kicked in the guts.

Batting did well.

The openers flopped and the bowling was always going to come up short against England.

Pakistan can bat like this before 8/10 the bowlers will defend a par score or keep them under or on a par score.

Nothing they reached a world t20 World Cup semi final in a format anything can happen. The 50 over World Cup is in India watch them destroy teams there

If they can get proper spinners in to the xi then yes.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] ji can we get your detailed expert analysis here about the most humiliating defeat ever handed to any team in a T20 WC? Aside from 152/0. Like how can your beloved top team, best team, jabardast team, majedaar team get two back to back most humiliating, most embarrassing drubbings in a major tournament?

Take a break from watching 1983 highlights while eating wadda-pao, we want to hear you out today :)

What about a report on the defeat of Pakistan at Melbourne?

Pakistan has beaten India in 1 WC match across 2 formats in 3 decades.

What about getting beaten by Zimbabwe? Any comments on that?

What about a report on the defeat of Pakistan at Melbourne?

Pakistan has beaten India in 1 WC match across 2 formats in 3 decades.

What about getting beaten by Zimbabwe? Any comments on that?

Theirs getting beaten but then thiers humiliation.

Hammered by South Africa

Hammered by England

Chasing 116 in the last 10 overs is a fluke? Kohli is past his best but still produced a big innings in that match something a few Pakistani players even in their prime couldn’t do.

Which one hurts more this one or the 152 ?

That match in UAE was not significant unless we talk about the streak.

This was a semi so ofcourse more significant. But i believe that the team was not good enough. Even reaching the semis was overachievment.

Chasing 116 in the last 10 overs is a fluke? Kohli is past his best but still produced a big innings in that match something a few Pakistani players even in their prime couldn’t do.

The fluke is pakistan reaching semis after getting beaten by Zimbabwe.

Not playing their wrist spinner (Chahal) when Shadab, Adil Rashid, Zampa, Rashid Khan & Hasaranga were performing brilliantly for thteir teams.

• 2022-11-10_10-09-51.jpg
    2022-11-10_10-09-51.jpg
    391.4 KB · Views: 245
India’s post-mortem: What went wrong for Rohit Sharma’s side

When two batters of the calibre of Jos Buttler and Alex Hales get going it’s hard for any team to stop. Big games in T20 international cricket often hinge on individual brilliance, and the two best performances of the semi-final came from England’s openers.

And yet that shouldn’t prevent India from reflecting on how their own display contributed to the nature of the loss.

India leave it too late with the bat

A total of 168/6 in a World Cup semi-final is a competitive score. But it’s not a great one, particularly not on a decent batting surface like the Adelaide Oval and against a team with the firepower of England.

The fact that the total was a par score of 168 even with power-hitter Hardik Pandya producing fireworks with a brilliant 63 from 33 balls at the death, suggests that there was a problem of intent.

Whether that problem is a case of underperforming on the day or one of long-running selection errors is up for debate.

Stuttering powerplay does damage

The stark contrast in the game came during the respective Powerplays, where the difference in intent couldn’t have been clearer.

Losing KL Rahul for five early on was a setback, but even so, India went at only fractionally over a run-a-ball during that period of fielding restrictions, with neither Virat Kohli or Rohit Sharma finding fluency as they reached 38/1 after six.

To have one anchor in the top three is fine, and perhaps a good plan in such a big game. To have two gave a weakened England bowling attack confidence.

England’s openers approached things completely differently, attacking from the off to get their side ahead of the game, scoring at more than ten-an-over throughout the Powerplay.

No penetration with the new ball

The struggles with the bat put India in difficulty.

And yet the total was sufficiently high that some early breakthroughs would have placed England under big pressure.

But those breakthroughs didn’t come, and the captain pointed his finger primarily at a lack of execution from the bowlers.

"The way we started with the ball was not ideal. We were a little nervy. When Bhuvi bowled the first over it swung today, but not from the right areas.

"We wanted to keep it tight, not give room, because square of the wicket was an area we were aware of - that's where the runs came today.

"If we keep it tight and the batsman still score runs, we'll take it. But we didn't do that today."

Lack of a strike bowler stands out

Taking wickets in the powerplay through the movement of Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been India’s Plan A during the tournament, using spin and bowling into the pitch to soak up the middle overs and then executing plans at the death.

It’s a decent strategy and strikingly similar to that of semi-final opponents England. But when early wickets don’t come, both attacks can look a little toothless at times.

That was certainly the case for India on Thursday, with the absence of the injured Jasprit Bumrah keenly felt. When India needed a cutting edge there didn’t seem like a banker of an option that the captain could use.

That sensation is reflected in the numbers. Four of India’s bowlers went at more than ten-an-over – Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin and Pandya – with Axar Patel being milked for 30 harmless runs from his four overs and Arshdeep also failing to keep it tight.

ICC

This is nothing. See our top-3 (Dhawan, Rohit & Kohli) failing us miserably in next year's ODI WC too!

You don't want those three for ODI WC ? I think Kohli should be retained but not the other two.