What went wrong with the Indian team in ICC T20 World Cup 2021?

sharmaji

Local Club Regular
Right from the first ball in the match against Pakistan leading to the defeat by ten wickets and ending the streak, to absolutely shambolic performance against NewZealand today, Indian team looked confused, rudderless and out of sorts. What could be the reasons?

Prioritie$$

They ran away from the 5th Test because of Money. Now they are completely fatigued because of the IPL and straight into the World Cup

Indian Premier League just before the World Cup is the reason. Now you guys understand why I am always against IPL? :inti

Prioritie$$

They ran away from the 5th Test because of Money. Now they are completely fatigued because of the IPL and straight into the World Cup

Exactly this. There is only one reason behind all this and that is IPL. :inti

India never emphasized on international T20 format. Sooner or later, one has to pay a price.

There is a dearth of talent in India.

They are a talentless nation that hasn't won a major ICC event for 10 years.

They are the Hashim Amla of cricket that bash other teams in bilateral but show their true colours in ICC events.

Maybe something is going on in the dressing room? Maybe fatigue due to IPL? Quite a few players are simply out of form, it was a mistake to not pick Chahal for instance.

Fatigue from playing IPL and Kohli just isn't a good captain.

But let's not just blame IPL. India's first two matches were against Pakistan and New Zealand, two teams that could very well end up winning the championship. It's not like India is losing to the likes of sri lanka or west indies.

Kya dimagh hai, what a brain. Now he brings back Bumrah and puts a slip in. I guess he thinks easier to defend 15 runs instead of 90 or 80 (whatever was remaining when he should have bowled his 4th over).

Body language has been a telling sign.

Very poor, very lethargic.

India have historically always been a poor side.

Why are people so surprised to see them lose two matches?

1. Wrong selections:
India should have injected some of the great young batting talents.
Should have brought Kuldeep/chahal or played ashwin.
2. Key players out of form

Arrogance, Over Confidence and lack of hunger after beating Australia in Australia, England in England and numerous IPL seasons.

Also numerous IPL seasons, money. India has been carried for a long time by Kohli, Sharma, Dhawan. Don't think the other players have ever consistently stepped up. Kohli and Sharma are now past their peaks

Arrogance, Over Confidence and lack of hunger after beating Australia in Australia, England in England and numerous IPL seasons.

Also numerous IPL seasons, money. India has been carried for a long time by Kohli, Sharma, Dhawan. Don't think the other players have ever consistently stepped up. Kohli and Sharma are now past their peaks

How many of these bowlers were involved in the series win in Aus?

They picked up two wickets in 2 games in a bowlers world cup.

That isn't a lack of hungers, its a lack of talent.

How many of these bowlers were involved in the series win in Aus?

They picked up two wickets in 2 games in a bowlers world cup.

That isn't a lack of hungers, its a lack of talent.

A tale of two teams - India and West Indies.

These two teams were supposed to be among the favourites to win the tournament, mainly because of their boundary and six hitters. Yet these two teams have been the ones who have struggled the most.

If you take both teams, both have a similar modus operandi. West Indies likes to pack its side with strong hitters and likes to go hard at each ball from the very first delivery. The Indian squad on the other hand is composed of a number of players from Mumbai Indians (Rohit, Ishan Kishan, SKY, Pandya, etc.), a team that has been massively successful in the IPL with a very similar strategy to the West Indians - pack their side with hitters and everyone goes hard from ball one. Both sides had very good teams for 190-200 par flat wickets that you find in India and Australia where you can readily hit through the line and muscle balls over the boundary.

However the par score in this world cup in the UAE is around 150. The UAE has been hosting cricket from the second half of the IPL and only has a few pitches for every ground. The wickets were bound to get slower and therefore you cannot afford to muscle every ball over the boundary as West Indies so brutally found out in their opening match against England. Both sides have went in with 200 totals in their mind before starting batting and suddenly when they were not able to time their shots like they usually do, they have struggled to rotate strike and ended up holing out in the deep frequently.

These conditions required the CSK approach which is used to batting in these type of conditions often in Chennai and it was no wonder why they won this year's IPL while Mumbai uncharacteristically struggled once the tournament shifted to the UAE and couldn't even make the play offs. Of course the fact that both sides have had to bat first everytime hasn't helped matters either because they have struggled to find out what the par score is and ended up collapsing while aiming too high. I still think the current Indian squad is a very good one for the next T20WC in Australia save for a change or two in the bowling department as is WI, but they were never going to win this year's WC in the UAE. There's a reason almost everyone bar Jadeja struggled badly with their form in the IPL in the UAE before the T20 WC started.

IPL isn't everything that there is to T20 cricket. It is bland and soft.

As much as I am angry at NZC.

They are the ODI world cup finalists, WTC champions and a mighty good T20I side with great pacers/spinners.

So credit to NZ for pwning India again and again! :don

Horrible bowling attack.
We saw better attacks in the national t 20 in pakistan.
The batting was outdated. The grounds too big for these hitters.

I would probably factor in fatigue as well. They have been in continuous bubble since June and playing non stop cricket. They have looked extremely flat since the very first ball of the tournament and have looked like a side that lacks energy and passion.

And the schedule only gets worse. They immediately play a T20, ODI and Test series with NZ right after the WT20. One good thing is that they'll have a decent rest after the early exit. None of the players should play in the LOI series with NZ if they have any ambitions of winning the Test series against NZ at home and South Africa away.

Arrogance, trying to bend things in their favor... hopefully they learnt their lessons.

Why would you put Rohit at 3? He is your best bat and one failure against PK shouldn't mean your strategy should change. The bowling looks old and confused- jadeja, Shami, Bhuvi and Thukar don't look like an top international attack.

Much was expected from the Indian cricket team after the 10-wicket defeat against Pakistan in their T20 World Cup opener but Virat Kohli & Co. endured another disappointing outing with the bat in their second match. Boundaries became rare commodities as the players struggled to hit the ball from the middle of the bat.

Be it the powerplays, the middle overs, or the death overs, the Indians barely managed to impose themselves on the field as the New Zealand bowlers kept on picking up wickets at regular intervals. The statistics India registered, in the process, were truly reflective of the performance of their batters on the field.

The Indian cricket team did not hit a single boundary between the 7th and the 15th over.

Till the 17th over, Virat Kohli & Co. had only managed to hit 6 boundaries, with Rohit Sharma being the only batter to have hit a six in the game till then.

In the 18th over, Hardik Pandya brought an end to India's boundary draught, hitting the first four of the innings after 71 balls.

India's powerplay score of 35/2 was the third-worst in the T20 World Cup 2021. Australia's 21/3 against England and West Indies' 31/4 against England stand ahead of India's in the list.

India's No. 6 and No. 7 batters – Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja – were the only ones to cross the 20-run mark in the match. While Hardik scored 23, Jadeja registered a total of 26 runs.

The most expensive Kiwi bowler in the match was Adam Milne, conceding runs at 7.50 (30 runs from 4 overs). Tim Southee came next in the list, having conceded 26 runs in 4 overs at 6.50. All of the others had an economy rate of 5 or less.

India wrapped up the innings with just 8 fours and 2 sixes to their name, aggregating 44 runs of the total of 110 through boundaries.

Team India once again endured a difficult outing against New Zealand in an ICC event. Even in the recent encounters with the Kiwis in ICC events -- 2019 World Cup semi-final and ICC World Test Championship final -- India had faced defeats.

A defeat against Kane Williamson & Co. on Sunday would deal a huge blow to India's hopes of qualifying for the semi-finals, making Pakistan and New Zealand the hot favourites to go through.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...stics-with-the-bat-against-new-zealand/828198

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India should take a leaf out of all other countries … Allow their players to play in other leagues around the World to gain experience … <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/India?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#India</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a></p>— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) <a href="https://twitter.com/MichaelVaughan/status/1454852166133354497?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 31, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

India of the last 10 years are the most pathetic team of all time considering the resources at their disposal and the power of their board. If I were an Indian fan I would be truly disgusted.

Poor bowling attack

2 wickets in 2 games should ring alarm bells

What is the cheerleader Shastri doing about the bowling apart from picking his nose every time the camera is on him.

Too many part time bits & pieces players like Jadeja, Pandya, Thakur etc

Chahal says hi

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India should take a leaf out of all other countries … Allow their players to play in other leagues around the World to gain experience … <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/India?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#India</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a></p>— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) <a href="https://twitter.com/MichaelVaughan/status/1454852166133354497?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 31, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Yes the last thing we need is Indian cricketers to play even more cricket than they already do.

They need to play with a bit more heart and pride the bunch of cowards, not beating a spineless NZ team is shameful to say the least

Saying Ind need to play in other conditions. They have monopoly over every other International team and play regularly against teams they choose to play against..

This is like 2007.

A complete write-off.

India of the last 10 years are the most pathetic team of all time considering the resources at their disposal and the power of their board. If I were an Indian fan I would be truly disgusted.

Ironically, the last few years has coincided our best ever run as a side in our test cricket history.

But yes, in LOI cricket we have basically become South Africa under Kohli after Dhoni relinquished his captaincy.

One factor is that Dubai is a huge ground. These boundary-ish catches our batsmen have been susceptible to in these 2 games would have been sixes in India.

These same guys would be smoking it on the roads at the Wankhede and Chinnaswamy with short boundaries, but have struggled on sluggish wickets with long square boundaries which has exposed them a bit

This is the problem I am bringing for some years here - over rating.

Nothing wrong with them. They have an Okaish team, sometime they will win and sometimes they will loose.

About everyone is so over-rated in their team that he is considered 2 times the player he is.

In the real world, someone like Pandya is at par with cricketer like Mitchell, Fahim Ashraf etc...
Jadeja is a lesser T20 bowler than Santner, Imad Wasim etc...
Kohli is same level as Williamson...

But when you read guys here you think Pandya as Stokes, Jadeja as a better version of top Afridi, Kohli as if his acceleration is on Par with ABDV.

I just gave some examples but you can do it with every single Indian player.

Pant is seen as Gilly
Shami as an all format star, when he is THE worst T20I bowler ever, and I really challenge people to find me a worst bowler than him in the format.
Rahul/Sharma are not better than others, they really give it a wack only on 200+ tracks.

Bumrah is the only who is holding his own so far.

The other question to ask is how would India have done chasing as we know every match is being won by the team batting second.

Respectfully disagree with you.
This team has done wonders in test cricket lately.
I see that way probably due to I hate T20s.

This could be a blessing in disguise. Bcci might use this to kill international t20 cricket by raming IPL as the only t20 competition. Test cricket makes a big comeback as a result and we can focus on real cricket

The bowling - attack has been exposed.
It has always been below par.
I like bhuvi & shami still i dont know why but they just didnt bowl the variations.
I would give them 0/10. A big fat zero.

The batting -
If they arent able to hit why are they not playing proper cricketing shots?
They should have tried reverse sweeps etc, but they didnt , everyone is holing out to the deep.
The big boundaries have got to them a bit.
Yes, they played well in warmup games, but nz has exposed India today.
I would give them 6/10.

The intelligence-

Well they tried almost everything so i dont blame them too much. Ashwin wouldnt have done so much, plus captaincy was not too bad. Fielding was not too horrid although i didnt see both games after 10 overs. Dhoni is a laloo lal - atleast he kept his mouth shut & didnt come on tv, so thats one less irritant.
So i would give them 6/10.

All in all, not good enough. No excuses. Ipl i dont consider as a factor - good or bad.
Bad luck plus bad application overall.

In T20 -
Time to go - jadeja/ shardul/ varun/ ishan.
Capataincy - give to suryakumar.
We should not drop anyone else.

On a side note -

These trio of rellukattas - shardul, varun & ishan kishan - they should be permanently banned from contesting. Look at the faces of these 3 duds, they are totally lifeless & if they were in college,they would be ragged like anything.
If i see their face, i get angry and as i said before, i know the squealers when i see them.
Anyone who is supporting them need to be spanked.

I would probably factor in fatigue as well. They have been in continuous bubble since June and playing non stop cricket. They have looked extremely flat since the very first ball of the tournament and have looked like a side that lacks energy and passion.

And the schedule only gets worse. They immediately play a T20, ODI and Test series with NZ right after the WT20. One good thing is that they'll have a decent rest after the early exit. None of the players should play in the LOI series with NZ if they have any ambitions of winning the Test series against NZ at home and South Africa away.

I think this is one of the main reasons. India have played alot of cricket.
The ipl also didn't allow any rest to the Indian players.

Fatigue from IPL, mentally weak players, wrong team selection and some lack of skills. Where do I even begin with?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India's bowling figures so far at the T20 World Cup:<br><br>Overs 32.2<br>Runs conceded 263<br>Wickets 2<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvIND?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvIND</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NZvIND?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NZvIND</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1454855164075159554?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 31, 2021</a></blockquote>

IPL is the most overated sporting league in the world, in terms of quality in the sport.

When they face trundlers, average bowlers these rockstars will look like Afridi at his best every innings. When up against quality bowlers, they are lost.

India wont but if the board had a brain, they would allow their players to play other leagues too.

I think this is one of the main reasons. India have played alot of cricket.
The ipl also didn't allow any rest to the Indian players.

I don’t buy this excuse. There were non-Indian players as well at the IPL who are doing well here at the T20 WC. All the teams have endured bubbles so ide say that it is a constant.

Fatigue from playing IPL and Kohli just isn't a good captain.

But let's not just blame IPL. India's first two matches were against Pakistan and New Zealand, two teams that could very well end up winning the championship. It's not like India is losing to the likes of sri lanka or west indies.

We'll lose even the next game against Afghanistan, the way things are going.

But yes, the Indian team management doesn't seem to be too keen on winning the T20 World Cup. Shoddy team selection, insane decisions and a sense of cluelessness all point to a total lack of interest in the format.

The real reason is Karma
1. Leaving England without playing the last test match under the excuse of Covid and not allowing England a chance to equalize.
2. Getting England and New Zealand to abandon their trip to Pakistan.
3. Kohli being petty and favoring his buddies over Ashwin.

India having just too many off days. Totally outclassed by NZ today

Aur na khelen Pakistan sey! Keep mixing politics and sports. I believe the surprise element was also a factor in the big defeat to Pakistan

? Players are just fatigued. Playing the IPL so close to a major tournament! (It could have also worked in their favour)

Also different quality here

In the IPL you face bowlers 130K+/-
mentioned by Brett Lee and Brendon Julian

Here you are up against better bowlers

Windies are the defending champions, India were the pre-tournament favourites. Both struggling

Although there was a slight stutter towards the end, I thought Pakistan did well to chase 138 against NZ the other day esp. considering their bowling

You need 150+/- at least on these pitches. 110 was never going to be enough

It is a team thing!

Pak usually beat NZ in ICC tournaments

NZ usu (or more often) beat India in ICC events

Afghanistan could beat India too.

Some of the Indian players especially Kohli, Sharma gave the impression that they just didn't want to be there.

The decision to bring Dhoni in as a mentor, Kohli to resign his T20 captaincy. Am telling you that all is not well in that dressing room

Some of the Indian players especially Kohli, Sharma gave the impression that they just didn't want to be there.

The decision to bring Dhoni in as a mentor, Kohli to resign his T20 captaincy. Am telling you that all is not well in that dressing room

They want to be there, they just are not the player you think.

You will see how KL and Rohit will punish Scotland and Namibia.

Body language of every player is looking very dull.
Players are looking extremely tired and uninterested..
In the 1st match, Bhuvi was looking like he was sick and was forced to play by the management..
Batting from the ball one looks confidence less and ready to be out..
Seems like they haven't woke up from the IPL dream..
Kohli's legacy is ruining day by day..

No excuses this time around for Indian fans.

Absolutely smashed.

Fatigue is true but don't let that take the focus away from the fact that MANY in this team are out of form or just not good enough.

Rohit - Hasn't played well in IPL for the last 5 years (just poor in T20s these days)

Kohli - Out of form for years (sucked in IPL too)

KL - The new choking master (most disappointing of them all)

Pant - Out of form (hasn't done well in IPL in the last 2 years)

Sky - Out of form

Ishan - It's only 1 game. Performed in IPL last 2 seasons.

Pandya - Out of form / useless without his bowling

Jaddu - In form bat (can't slog well in internationals, bowling is poor as usual - never a good T20 bowler)

Varun C - Did decently considering we bowled 2nd

Bumrah - Out of form but was decent

Bhuvi - LOL he gets carted in IPL

Shami - Unreliable even in IPL (how the heck does he play in XI for T20s)

Thakur - Utility player even though he was bad today (he has the ability to pick wickets in middle overs - can get carted at the death badly - useful lower order bat)

Let's categorize these 13 players in the 2 games.

2 potentially over the hill / out of form players in T20s - Rohit & Kohli

3 out of form players - Sky, Pant & Pandya

1 choker - KL :(

2 not good enough players - Bhuvi & Shami

1 in form but has never been good in T20s player - Jaddu

That's 9 out of 13 players who have been COMPLETELY useless this World T20

Let's look at the rest.

2 newcomers who played 1 game and flopped - Ishan & Thakur

So 11 out of 13 players have been a flopshow

2 decent performers - Varun & Bumrah

But nothing crazy good too.

So out of 13 players:

11 have flopped
2 did decently

End result - Early exit

No excuses this time around for Indian fans.

Absolutely smashed.

Williamson absolutely dominated Kohli as far as captaincy is concerned in last three years. Think India should move on from Kohli's captaincy in ODIs also.

This is Bharat's tribute to the cornered tiger legacy of Pakistan. I fully expect them to make it to the semi-finals and after that, it's just a total lottery.

Fatigue is true but don't let that take the focus away from the fact that MANY in this team are out of form or just not good enough.

Rohit - Hasn't played well in IPL for the last 5 years (just poor in T20s these days)

Kohli - Out of form for years (sucked in IPL too)

KL - The new choking master (most disappointing of them all)

Pant - Out of form (hasn't done well in IPL in the last 2 years)

Sky - Out of form

Ishan - It's only 1 game. Performed in IPL last 2 seasons.

Pandya - Out of form / useless without his bowling

Jaddu - In form bat (can't slog well in internationals, bowling is poor as usual - never a good T20 bowler)

Varun C - Did decently considering we bowled 2nd

Bumrah - Out of form but was decent

Bhuvi - LOL he gets carted in IPL

Shami - Unreliable even in IPL (how the heck does he play in XI for T20s)

Thakur - Utility player even though he was bad today (he has the ability to pick wickets in middle overs - can get carted at the death badly - useful lower order bat)

Let's categorize these 13 players in the 2 games.

2 potentially over the hill / out of form players in T20s - Rohit & Kohli

3 out of form players - Sky, Pant & Pandya

1 choker - KL :(

2 not good enough players - Bhuvi & Shami

1 in form but has never been good in T20s player - Jaddu

That's 9 out of 13 players who have been COMPLETELY useless this World T20

Let's look at the rest.

2 newcomers who played 1 game and flopped - Ishan & Thakur

So 11 out of 13 players have been a flopshow

2 decent performers - Varun & Bumrah

But nothing crazy good too.

So out of 13 players:

11 have flopped
2 did decently

End result - Early exit

This is perfect summary of the fiasco

Just to add - Rohit , KL Rahul and Kohli play anchor roles well for their PL teams. The are perfect for ODIs - take 5 overs to get set and then get a big score. But in T20s u need batters who can go big after playing 3-4 balls. U cannot afford 3 run accumulators in same T20 side

This is call management has to take - drop 1 out of Kohli and KL Rahul ( assumng Rohit reetains his place as captain ) and build a team of hitters like Ishan Kishan , Prithvi SHaw , Vennky Iyer and Ruturaj Gaekwad.

Kohli and Sharma finished. The other batsmen overated. And one of the worst bowling attacks I have seen for one of the top nations in many years. A truly abysmal bowling attack. Watching pot bellied trundlers like Shardul and Shami run in to bowl followed by negative non-wicket taking spinners like Jadeja was mind boggling. The Bangladesh and Afghan attacks in this tournament are frankly far superior to the indian attack. Compare them to the Kiwi (and Pakistan) attacks and it's a joke.
Boult, Milne, Southee, Santner and Sodhi were on a different planet to the Indian attack.

Ask [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

He has been telling us for years how this Indian team is the best thing since sliced bread.

The pitches require skill and batsman have been found out.

As we speak BCCI are in discussion with ICC to ban 90 mph bowlers and the boundaries should not exceed 60 meters.

This will ensure the success of Indian team.

loosing toss, and bowling second..IPL, bubble fatigue, looks lethargic team

Team selection is still okay. its about perspective.. defeated team always look weak

Ask [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

He has been telling us for years how this Indian team is the best thing since sliced bread.

The pitches require skill and batsman have been found out.

These are fluke losses.

I do not buy the fatigue nonsense. They were playing 20 overs cricket not test matches and had breaks between these games. The world t20 schedule was also manufactured to give india the biggest break - they played their last game 5 days ago. Remember also, Pakistan just finished contesting PSL in their own country.

If anything, India had a HUGE advantage because they were playing on Dubai wickets in the IPL for several weeks and are familiar with the conditions. Yes, I am not overuling a small factor of mental fatigue. But I am not convinced that fatigue is the reason why Shardil and Shami are overweight trundlers in this format. Ishan Kishan is 24 and excited at playing his first world cup game - so please don't tell me he was suffering from fatigue. This fatigue factor has provided a ready made excuse for the Indian team. I hope they buy into it because they will be ignoring the underlying cause - a simple case of lack of talent.

What is wrong with the Indian team in T20 World Cup 2021?

Barring Kohli and Bumrah, most of these are a bunch of heavily over-rated cricketers if you ask me. Also, except for an innings here or there, I'm proud of the fact that I never ever rated Rohit, never. I've an extreme kind of dislike the way this guy is talked about, as if he is some Tendulkar or something.

"Best" league in the world, so much money invested into the game, and they've zero trophies to show from the last seven years. I mean, we live in an age where a global event is played every calendar year!

Barring Kohli and Bumrah, most of these are a bunch of heavily over-rated cricketers if you ask me. Also, except for an innings here or there, I'm proud of the fact that I never ever rated Rohit, never. I've an extreme kind of dislike the way this guy is talked about, as if he is some Tendulkar or something.

"Best" league in the world, so much money invested into the game, and they've zero trophies to show from the last seven years. I mean, we live in an age where a global event is played every calendar year!
Kohli is a brilliant player, some can even consider him the best but he is still so over-rated.
Talking to some of his fans it feels like mentioning another batsman next to him is a crime.

Rohit Sharma is way way over rated, mentionned in the Tendulkar league as you said but he has done some great things in LOIs still.

Bumrah, well as I Said in my previous post is doing good. One of the best in the format and bowling like it.

Ashwin clearly their best spinner even today I think even with small total he would caused havoc for New Zealand batsmens. Mithun guy too raw he will come good but hey just pushed him to play of IPL performances and was very costly. Aswhin in these conditions would caused lots of problems to Pakistan and New Zealand. Or even Kuldeep Yadav who wasn't even in squad or Chahal.

[MENTION=139664]street cricketer[/MENTION] your analysis about India's problems with left-arm swing ended up being dead-on once again.

I do not buy the fatigue nonsense. They were playing 20 overs cricket not test matches and had breaks betweek these games. The world t20 schedule was also manufactured to give india the biggest break - they played their last game 5 days. Remember, Pakistan just finished contesting PSL in their own country.

If anything, India had a HUGE advantage because they were playing on Dubai wickets in the IPL for several weeks and familiar with the conditions. Yes, I am not overuling a small factor of mental fatigue. But I am not convinced that fatigue is the reason why Shardil and Shami are overweight trundlers in this format. Ishan Kishan is 24 and excited at playing his first world cup game - so please don't tell me he was suffering from fatigue. This fatigue factor has provided a ready made excuse for the Indian team. I hope they buy into it because they will be ignoring the underlying cause - a simple case of lack of talent.

loosing toss, and bowling second..IPL, bubble fatigue, looks lethargic team

Team selection is still okay. its about perspective.. defeated team always look weak

Losing toss would have some credence if they managed to score more than 110 odd tonight! Absolute flop show Hahaha

Probably infighting, hopefully this acts as a catalyst for a better team.

IPL is actually going to be the downfall of India.

Nasser Hussain did a short documentary where he asked a young kid his cricketing aspirations - his response was 'I want to play IPL'. You can't blame poor kids for having such dreams. There are now many very average indian players who are very wealthy becaise of IPL and good luck to them. But the negatives to this are : loss of hunger to play for their country, learning poor techniques playing T20 only and playing a poor standard of cricket.

India was beaten convincingly by New Zealand after the men in blue set a paltry target of 111 for the Black Caps in their crucial Super 12 encounter on Sunday. It was spectacular bowling from New Zealand as none of the India batters could cross even 30 in the innings. Trent Boult was the pick of the bowlers with 3/20.

India’s score of 110/7 was also their lowest ever score batting first in a T20 World Cup. Their next lowest: 130/4 versus Sri Lanka in 2014 final. India’s poor performance was compounded by the fact that they played 54 dot balls. This meant that India didn’t score any runs in nine of their 20 overs.

There were no demons on the track but India’s shoddy show with the willow was a consequence of poor team selection, not relying on form players and the failure to have any flexibility in the side, which lacked proper multi-skilled cricketers. And true to ‘Murphy’s Law’ (it states “anything that can go wrong will go wrong”), it caught up with the team.

India’s miserable outing can also be gauged by the number of boundaries scored in the middle overs (7-16) – an astonishing – zero. In T20I history, when India have batted through the entire middle overs (7-15), they’ve only not hit a boundary on five occasions. Two have come this year: one tonight, and one v Sri Lanka in July.

India was rocked by early wickets but their numbers make for very grim reading. No team has a lower attacking shot percentage than India. Only Ireland, Papua New Guinea and the Netherlands have a worse timing rating (according to cricviz).

India failed to hit a boundary in the eight overs bowled between Kiwi spinners Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner. In their combined spell of 8 overs, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi conceded only 32 runs and picked two wickets today.

Three of India’s six heaviest defeats in T20Is (in terms of balls remaining) have come in 2021-

52 balls vs Aus (2008)
33 balls vs NZ (2021)
33 balls vs SL (2021)
31 balls vs Aus (2012)
27 balls vs Eng (2021)
27 balls vs Aus (2017)

No team has won the T20 WC unbeaten. However, for India to turn this stat around will be an arduous task from here.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...-total-batting-first-india-flop-show-7600881/

I still don’t understand how Hardik and pant who played the lions Shari played this like it’s a test match.. these are both strikers at over 150, and when you are batting in the 18th over while the score is still under 100 snd you have only lost 5 wickets at that point.. it makes no sense.. team India will have to answer a lot of questions as how their batting failed in such a do or die match.. granted wickets were falling, but this is T20, wickets do fall its part of the game.. it’s evident that every player was playing scared