What's so special about Sohail Tanvir? | Tanvir vs Akhtar vs Anybody Else

PakPrince

There have been several strange picks in the selection process employed by Mohsin Khan in his bidto get the right world cup squad. the non-selection of Yousuf and the selection of Misbah are contentious decisions to say the least. Add to that Fawad Alam and Shoaib Malik being droppedd and non-availabilty of the damned trio.
But for all these events there is atleast some explanation thatmakes sense.

What does not make sense is that how does Sohail Tanvir get to be in the World Cup squad. At best he was a one tournament wonder in T20 2007 and after that he has done nothing of note for Pakistan. His brand of bowilng will be utterly pointless in the subcontinent and if he plays he is likely to be thrashed all over the park.
What takes the cake in this whole messed up scenario is that he has not played any form on international cricket for almost 2 years. Then why the bloody hell is he in the team? What exactly does he add to our squad.? :sohail

Can't begin imagining the reasons right now. But all I can say, is that :rao is better than him.

Would've preferred Junaid Khan, but if Aamer is cleared im sure he'll replace Sohail.

There is no justification,

This makes no sense at all. He might have potential, but he hasn't played in so long, no one really knows what he will do there

he bowls beautiful leg stump volleys that any average international batsmen can majestically cream to the boundary evoking images of freshly mowed lawn, cream teas, rule Britannia and the sun never setting on the British Empire!!!

well he is a good new ball bowler and we dont have many of those around.
Hopefully he impresses. If not, they might be hinging their hopes on Amir being cleared.

I think PCB are certain of Amirs clearance that their brilliant plan is for Tanvir to get "injured" and then Amir to come in as his replacement- gotta admire the thinking of Butt and co. :)

Can't begin imagining the reasons right now. But all I can say, is that :rao is better than him.

:rao has been frozen by our fantastic board. his line and length and economical bowling would have been gold in the wc. esp with the other bowlers we are taking who tend be all over the place at times
pata nahee kya uss ne aisa kah diya jahaz butt sahab se ke un ko bechara ka international career khatam karna para

he bowls beautiful leg stump volleys that any average international batsmen can majestically cream to the boundary evoking images of freshly mowed lawn, cream teas, rule Britannia and the sun never setting on the British Empire!!!

Gayle and Jaysuriya don't think that.

There have been several strange picks in the selection process employed by Mohsin Khan in his bidto get the right world cup squad. the non-selection of Yousuf and the selection of Misbah are contentious decisions to say the least. Add to that Fawad Alam and Shoaib Malik being droppedd and non-availabilty of the damned trio.

What does not make sense is that how does Sohail Tanvir get to be in the World Cup squad. At best he was a one tournament wonder in T20 2007 and after that he has done nothing of note for Pakistan. His brand of bowilng will be utterly pointless in the subcontinent and if he plays he is likely to be thrashed all over the park.
What takes the cake in this whole messed up scenario is that he has not played any form on international cricket for almost 2 years. Then why the bloody hell is he in the team? What exactly does he add to our squad.? :sohail

It may not mean much but he was the best bowler of the inaugural IPL in India. I am guessing his extensive experience of bowling on Indian wickets and so well during that league probably helped get him the nod.

But I agree, that was quite a while back and in T20 so you cannot rely on those peformances.

It may not mean much but he was the best bowler of the inaugural IPL in India. I am guessing his extensive experience of bowling on Indian wickets and so well during that league probably helped get him the nod.

But I agree, that was quite a while back and in T20 so you cannot rely on those peformances.

So he is selected to play only one game, THE FINAL, or else we don't have any other game in India.

man with that action and his knee already messed, hes gonna be back in the dressing room in no time, just look at the cricinfo pic on the 15 man list for WC of Sohail Tanveer, see how his front knee is bent inward, there is no way he can support that action for a long time.

@ end of the day.. squad is ok from the 30 man choices they had. Tanveer Ahmed was brought into the team too late too see if he would be of any use. Otherwise it could have been different.

his chin can be used to distract batsmen from the sideline. Great move from PCB :yk

Due to this thread being created, I have a feeling Sohail Tanvir will bowl beautifully in the World Cup.

^yes this is jinx thread. Opposite will happen and Sohail Tanvir will win the word cup for Pakistan.

I hear you.. I think its a punt they took. Aur koi new ball bowler hi nahi hai hamarey pass. Rao has not played in a while either. Who else would you have picked. Gul and Wahab are first change at best.

We need someone to partner shoaib with the new ball and his weird action and angle (though I admit the novelty of it may have worn off by now) may come in handy.

My dear fellows he has plenty of experience than junaid talha waqas SO thats why he is in side plus He is new ball bowler

I dont think he is there to be the first pick. Shoaib, Gul and Wahab will be in the first 11 with Razzaq in there too. So I dont see any other seamer getting that many games.

Yeah I would have gone with Rana myself.

But thats a good point you make Invictus. I think if you are right, the think tank may want to open with Razzaq and Shoaib and I dont really agree with that philosophy. Gul and Wahab have to be first change.

no rana, please no rana

i would have gone with hammad azam or another youngster if he had to have an all rounder there

err, why NOT have him in the squad?

has a very good ODI record, swings the new ball, and can pack a punch in the lower order.

don't see the issue here, really.

he was always in the team until he had his injury woes.

err, why NOT have him in the squad?

has a very good ODI record, swings the new ball, and can pack a punch in the lower order.

don't see the issue here, really.

he was always in the team until he had his injury woes.

Which was two years ago. He may have a good record but he is not that good for them to take such a huge risk and include him in the team right away without seeing him play.

he has nothing to prove - other than his match fitness - really.

and we have 8 ODIS before the WC starts, I'm sure he'll get into rhythm by then.

Yeah I would have gone with Rana myself.

But thats a good point you make Invictus. I think if you are right, the think tank may want to open with Razzaq and Shoaib and I dont really agree with that philosophy. Gul and Wahab have to be first change.

Since he has been playing I keep on hearing commys and other players mentioning how he is an "all-rounder" in the same mould as Rana. Both of these guys never did anything on the international circuit to be considered even a bits and pieces all rounder. But I think thats the perception of him in the PCB which helped him to get the nod ahead of other bowlers.
I dont mind him if he displays the same form that he displayed initially. He does get some swing with the new ball and is ok at the death too. We dont have any new ball bowlers in that line up besides Shoaib.
I doubt he will get games though.

I think on sub continental tracks Razzaq is going to be cannon fodder with the new ball.. Pakistan may scrap that experiment after a few games when he gets hit and go with Gul or Wahab with the new ball.

but in a way if we are to play shoaib, wahab, gul and rehman/ajmal, it doesnt leave us any room to play another bowler.. so you are right tanvir may not get a game at all. rana cannot replace razzaq t hats for sure.

39.JPG

Kisi nu koi masla hai to meynu dasso :sohail

I think he is in ODI Squad in NZ and will probably play all 7 matches. Let's wait and see how he does. May be good option. We should not jump to any conclusion.

The regular bowlers:
Shoaib Akhtar - 10 overs
Sohail Tanvir - 10 oves
Umar Gul - 10 overs
Saeed Ajmal - 10 overs
Shahid Afridi - 10 overs

The backup bowlers (only if a regular bowler is not performing):
Abdur Razzaq
Mohammad Hafeez

Sohail Tanvir can be declared out with injury if Aamir is cleared

That is his role ladies and gentlemen

My lineup for the 1st match:

1. Kamran Akmal
2. Mohammad Hafeez
3. Younus Khan
4. Misbah-ul-Haq
5. Umar Akmal
6. Shahid Afridi
7. Abdur Razzaq
8. Sohail Tanvir
9. Umar Gul
10. Shoaib Akhtar
11. Saeed Ajmal

Sohail Tanvir can be declared out with injury if Aamir is cleared

That is his role ladies and gentlemen

I think people need to put that pipe dream to rest.

the trio are NOT going to be at the World Cup.

The regular bowlers:
Shoaib Akhtar - 10 overs
Sohail Tanvir - 10 oves
Umar Gul - 10 overs
Saeed Ajmal - 10 overs
Shahid Afridi - 10 overs

Abdur Razzaq
Mohammad Hafeez

I would have rather have Wahab Riaz, he's a good death bowler and is much phaaster. :wahab

Gully should be first pick, and if he doesn't perform, get Wahabi in there.

^

If you call that hhairstyle fancy then you really need to get upto date with fashion my friend.

he looks like a wierdo in that pic

hehe, agree with PakPrince there.

but one thing's for sure, he looks fierce :akhtar

The regular bowlers:
Shoaib Akhtar - 10 overs
Sohail Tanvir - 10 oves
Umar Gul - 10 overs
Saeed Ajmal - 10 overs
Shahid Afridi - 10 overs

Abdur Razzaq
Mohammad Hafeez
Agreed +1:akhtar

You have raised a very valid point - Fawad Alam would have utility with many other teams but Pakistan's culture, for the past 10 odd years, would not accommodate such an approach. This is not to demean it but Rahul Dravid is similarly not in contention for the Indians.

However, as far as Sohail Tanvir is concerned, my biggest concern is not that he cannot swing the ball back into the right hander or that he cannot bowl at more than 125kph or else - my biggest concern is that as far as I can recall, Sohail Tanvir has not played for Pakistan in an ODI for very long time. I think he played before Pakistan won the 2009 T20 WC. How they managed to get him back is baffling. But then again this is Pakistan and may be they had no realistic alternatives.

He can bowl well with the new ball. He will be used to give rest to frontline bowlers in a few games in between to make sure all are fresh to take on bigger teams in important games. He is not a great bowler but is a wicket taker, he does have an impressive strike rate in the shorter formats. I guess he is not a mug with the bat either and being a left hander brings variety in the side.

Sohail Tanvir is a good asset to the team... awkward action and moves the ball around and he can bat as well.

The only uncertainty is his fitness.... but hopefully it wont be too much of an issue.

Unless Wahab is injured, I do not see Tanvir playing from the start.

Nonetheless.... good addition.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=01IEzHBo2mE

excuse me has this :rao ever bowled a delivery like this???
i can't believe that out of all the millions of bowlers who play in pakistan...this trash :rao represented us internationally on many occasions :S even :sami is better...

KHAIR...:sohail is a good bowler...much better than wahab, tanvir ahmed etc...u guys just have a bad memory :) he would have always stayed in the team if it wasnt for the injury.

this one was even better:

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/3uDIAl1R6e8?fs=1&hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/3uDIAl1R6e8?fs=1&hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Because Pakistan have the following bowling styles.

Akhtar - Right Arm Express Pace (Usually bowls his best early in the innings)
Gul - Right Arm Fast (Best with old Ball if it's reversing)
Riaz - Left Arm Fast (Best with old Ball if it's reversing)
Razzaq - Right Arm Medium Pace (Gets some swing with the new ball)

You look at our quicker bowlers, and it's obvious Razzaq is the weak link. Also Gul and Riaz are somewhat redundant. Both perform best with the old ball.

Sohail Tanvir will compete with Razzaq for his spot. Razzaq is a better batsmen but Tanvir is a much better new ball bowler. The big question is if post-injuries he can still play at the international level. I think he can. He must have shown Waqar something in the nets.

I really like Akhtar/Tanvir opening the bowling with a Gul or Riaz available when the ball is old and reversing. It gives Pakistan 3 quality pacers, which is what they need. Think of it from a batsmen perspective, if Akhtar is coming over the wicket at express pace and Tanvir comes around the wicket with a medium-fast pace that is from a different angle completely, in theory it should make it harder for the batsmen to bat against that.

Now say you open with Akhtar/Gul you have Gul coming in at 5 mph slower than Akhtar and the batsmen will start picking his deliveries. Same with Riaz. You want to combine Akhtar's pace with a bowler who does not rely on pure pace to get wickets.

Relax bro, he is just filling in the place for M.AMIR to come becoz inshallah, there is a strong believe that AMIR could be free to go from the tribunal and will inshallah join the WC squad....So basically Tanvir will be named as injured and inplace of him AMIR will join the squad and inshallah AMIR will be a force to reckon with in this years WC.

that cleft on his chin can be used as a weapon against the opposition

back to title

nothing...he hasnt justified anything...hes in the squad for no ****in reason

Sohail Tanvir- A step backward or forward?

ST selection over Anwar Ali, Talha, Junaid Khan, Shoail Khan and Rana Naveed is

just mind boggling. ST has hardly played any cricket in past two years because of

fitness problems( even in 1st ODI he didn't look fit to bowl) but he still got

selected over bowlers who have been working so hard in domestic games to get

selectors attention. I don't think he will impress us much in the on going series but

that's just my opinion. In my opinion Anwar Ali, Talha and Sohail Khan deserve a

second chance and a decent run before being written off.

:rao 1000 times better then :sohail

its not that sohail tanvir doesnt deserve a chance, its moreso that he was automatically drafted into the world cup team without proving himself that is disturbing.

he should've played in the test matches to prove that he is fit/can still be a dangerous bowler.

in the event that he couldnt prove himself, he should've been dropped.

rana naved ul hasan clearly is the best option for opening bowler for Pakistan in the world cup, at this present time, with our present resources/knowns/unknowns.

i hope for the sake of Pakistan PCB/coach/captain figure this out.

he's a rubbish player, not good enough for tests or odi's, t20 he can play as they're meaningless anyway

He brings a different bowling style that IMO compliments the quicker bowlers (Akhtar, Gul) as he's a left armer coming around the wicket with a 120-130 pace range which can throw off batsmen.

He'll have more success pitching the ball up going away from batsmen in the South Asian wickets. Lets give him a chance ... he needs some time to regain form and confidence at this level.

He is probably the worst bowler to play for pakistan,I would even take sami over him

He brings a different bowling style that IMO compliments the quicker bowlers (Akhtar, Gul) as he's a left armer coming around the wicket with a 120-130 pace range which can throw off batsmen.

He'll have more success pitching the ball up going away from batsmen in the South Asian wickets. Lets give him a chance ... he needs some time to regain form and confidence at this level.

He will only have sucess bowling on the leg side constantly and eventually ending up giving 80 runs in his 10 overs quota, and 20 of those 80 runs will be extra's.

Well, yesterday he bowled 7 overs for 39 runs. Took a wicket. Meanwhile Shoaib Akhtar bowled 4 overs and gave away 47 runs.

I'm no stats guy, but to me Tanvir bowled decently for a guy playing his first 50 over match internationally in 2 years. Akhtar OTOH looked poor.

You won't have a great bowling lineup if all you have is right arm pace. Batsmen of quality figure it out and start to knock you around. If you pair Akhtar with Gul like so many want, you just have two guys trying to beat batsmen with pace. I would give Tanvir more chances. Since Amir is out, we need a left arm seam option.

I'd go with Gul or Akhtar, Tanvir, Riaz, Rehman and Afridi as my top 5 bowlers. With these sort of bowling options, I am in shock why Razzaq still bowls so much for Pakistan.

Well, yesterday he bowled 7 overs for 39 runs. Took a wicket. Meanwhile Shoaib Akhtar bowled 4 overs and gave away 47 runs.

I'm no stats guy, but to me Tanvir bowled decently for a guy playing his first 50 over match internationally in 2 years. Akhtar OTOH looked poor.

You won't have a great bowling lineup if all you have is right arm pace. Batsmen of quality figure it out and start to knock you around. If you pair Akhtar with Gul like so many want, you just have two guys trying to beat batsmen with pace. I would give Tanvir more chances. Since Amir is out, we need a left arm seam option.

I'd go with Gul or Akhtar, Tanvir, Riaz, Rehman and Afridi as my top 5 bowlers.

Bro you are not understanding the point. He hasn't played much cricket in the past

few years and therefore he's not a good pick for WC and NZ ODI series. We

have plenty of Left arm seamers who have been performing in domestic circuit so

no point picking a guy who is completely out of form doesn't make any sense.

I understand that point, but since he has already been picked, what can you do? And while there may be some talent out there, I don't think the PCB is that blind that they would sit home a superstar in the making for Tanvir.

The best left armer in the country is Riaz other than Tanvir. Junaid Khan, Irfan all these guys I hear about ... They aren't Mo Amir's or something like that.

The PCB are idiots, but not that blind when it comes to talent. In fact there biggest problem is they don't rotate within a pool of 16-18 players for a few years, they rotate within a pool of 30-35 players. They have too many guys not having played enough ODI cricket over the last 2 years.

But my point is, if any of the guys you state were that talented or ready, Pakistan would pick them in a heart beat. Don't forget Amir came to side when Tanvir was still healthy and with them. Pakistan saw that Amir was better and chose him over Tanvir in the playing 11 for the World T20 that they won. After that Tanvir got hurt.

So what Pakistan is doing, they've just gone to the best 2nd option they had, who was previously their 1st option. Had Mo Amir not been involved in that crap over the summer, we'd not have to worry about this BS. I'm no fan of the PCB decision making, but IMO they made the right one in taking Tanvir. They took another option who is younger and still up and coming in Riaz. Who knows, maybe Riaz will take Tanvie's spot and you'll see the results there. What was certain is that they need a left arm seamer/pace bowler, and they chose the best of what they used to have (Tanvir) and a younger guy who has improved a lot over the last 12 months (Riaz). I can't complain ... Really it's not our bowling that's the weak link. It's our batting.

Bro you are not understanding the point. He hasn't played much cricket in the past
few years and therefore he's not a good pick for WC and even NZ ODI series. We

have plenty of Left arm seamers who have been performing in domestic circuit so
no point picking a guy who is out of form.

his perfomance in this domestic season was superb and his selected is justified :sohail

Yes thats a very good way to describe his action :wasim

I understand that point, but since he has already been picked, what can you do? And while there may be some talent out there, I don't think the PCB is that blind that they would sit home a superstar in the making for Tanvir.

The best left armer in the country is Riaz other than Tanvir. Junaid Khan, Irfan all these guys I hear about ... They aren't Mo Amir's or something like that.

The PCB are idiots, but not that blind when it comes to talent. In fact there biggest problem is they don't rotate within a pool of 16-18 players for a few years, they rotate within a pool of 30-35 players. They have too many guys not having played enough ODI cricket over the last 2 years.

But my point is, if any of the guys you state were that talented or ready, Pakistan would pick them in a heart beat. Don't forget Amir came to side when Tanvir was still healthy and with them. Pakistan saw that Amir was better and chose him over Tanvir in the playing 11 for the World T20 that they won. After that Tanvir got hurt.

So what Pakistan is doing, they've just gone to the best 2nd option they had, who was previously their 1st option. Had Mo Amir not been involved in that crap over the summer, we'd not have to worry about this BS. I'm no fan of the PCB decision making, but IMO they made the right one in taking Tanvir. They took another option who is younger and still up and coming in Riaz. Who knows, maybe Riaz will take Tanvie's spot and you'll see the results there. What was certain is that they need a left arm seamer/pace bowler, and they chose the best of what they used to have (Tanvir) and a younger guy who has improved a lot over the last 12 months (Riaz). I can't complain ... Really it's not our bowling that's the weak link. It's our batting.

A team doesn't have to have a left arm seamer to win matches. Our selectors are nothing but a joke. How can they not pick Yasir Arafat and other names that I have mentioned before. The thing with Tanvir is that, he bowls 25 crappy balls before he throws in a beauty. I don't think he is the solution to our left arm seam bowling problem. His line and length is always inconsistent and he bowls way to many leg side deliveries. If we need a seam bowler then we can't ask for anyone better then Anwar Ali. This guy needs a decent run and proper grooming under Waqi and Aqib and we can have something special.

his perfomance in this domestic season was superb and his selected is justified :sohail

How many domestic games has he played so far in the current season to deserve a call back?

not even close to the same level as wahab let alone gul.

Oh FFS.

You can't change the fact that he has already been selected, so
Instead of whining, let's all get together and back him.

I fink he was pretty decent but I am so unhappy about shoaib akhtar Aisay runs kha raha hai jaisay sawab ka kaam hai :D

What's so special about Sohail Tanvir? | Tanvir vs Akhtar vs Anybody Else [Merged]

Can anyone tell me what to expect from Sohail Tanvir in World Cup? What's his top delivery? What variety he brings to the attack which Rana/Arafat/Rao or even Gul/Wahab/Aamer/Asif cant?

For example in a tight situation where 40 runs is required from 30 balls, you'd expect Gul to bowl yorkers..but what do you expect Sohail Tanvir to bowl?...his top delivery? how will he contain runs?