"When Karachi is strong in cricket, then Pakistan cricket also does well" : Ehsan Mani

Zeeraq

"Their is no comparison to the number of [top-class] cricketers produced by Karachi"

"Karachi is a very important center for Pakistan cricket; When Karachi is strong in cricket, then Pakistan cricket also does well"

"When the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup matches happen in December here, I will spend some more time here [in Karachi]"

"Change will come, PCB will be restructured, Pakistan cricket will be restructured too"

"But I will do this in my own time; Unless I am satisfied that I have looked at all aspects of Pakistan cricket, I will not rush into it"

"But I can assure you that already changes have started to take place as I am taking the board towards the direction of transparency and accountability"

"We have to improve our infrastructure and domestic cricket as well, and decisions about this cannot be taken at the spur of the moment"

"I asked the media in Lahore about who had actually read the Quyyum report and none had done so"

"The restrictions on Wasim Akram regarding his position [on Cricket Committee] were not relevant and should be looked at in perspective"

"Look Mohsin Khan has been a great cricketer and we seem to be very quick in speaking ill of our people"

"With respect what Mohsin said about captain was said about a year and half ago"

"The 4 people on the Cricket Committee have played 907 international games in total"

"Wasim Akram is the greatest left-arm fast-bowler the world of cricket has ever seen"

"The Cricket Committee has an advisory role and that is where it stops"

"I will be accountable and there is no one in PCB who will not be accountable"

"First of all its the first time in 10 years that PCB's accounts have been published on their website"

"My expenses will be published every quarter"

"Events sometimes overtake situations - when Multan Sultans bid for a franchise, they did so in good faith and their financial situation at that time was different"

"If we had let the situation with Multan Sultans continue as it was, the the problem would have increased [in magnitude] so we decided to take a decisive step"

"There is a lot of interest [for the taking over Multan Sultans]; I can tell you that there are 5-6 parties which have approached us, indicating an interest"

"Sarfaraz Ahmed is the captain of Pakistan - there is no restriction [in time] and no term for that"

"The Chairman has nominated Sarfaraz Ahmed as captain; my predecessor did that and it was a good choice, infact it was Shaharyar Khan did that and it was a great choice"

Q: Will Safaraz be there until World Cup? Mani: Yes, Inshallah

Question on Mickey Arthur/Azhar Mahmood conflict of interest

"Yes that is something I have mentioned and we will look at it, however the arrangements that have been made you know them better than I do, think this happens in IPL also?"

"We will have to look at their contracts and clauses; they have to be looked at"

"We are looking at a comprehensive reform of domestic cricket"

"The way cricket is being run in Pakistan today is not sustainable; Its not financially sustainable; we will protect the interest of all stakeholders"

"We have to think out of the box, we have to look at a Pakistani solution and there are no threats to anyone - we all have to move forward together"

"Next year we want to increase this [PSL matches in Pakistan]; As more overseas players play here, they get more confidence that there is no problem in playing in Pakistan"

"Once they have that confidence, their boards will also have the confidence [to visit Pakistan]"

"I am in discussion with a number of boards [about visiting Pakistan] but I am not going to name anyone because its premature"

"PSL will be owned by PCB - its not like PSL is running its own business; their accountability will be along with the PCB"

"We are already speaking to India [about cricket]"

"India has general elections next year and until they are done, I don't expect much progress on this issue"

"Lot of money and effort is being spent on NSK and the reason for that is to use this center and optimize it"

"I don't believe in advisories, I like proper committee structures"

He [Sharjeel Khan] wanted to meet me, so I met him"

"Whatever judgement happened [against Sharjeel] stands, he is free to challenge them as that is his right but as Chairman I will not do such things; this is not in my remit, nor do I have any authority to do this - I will not give an incorrect impression [to the player]"

"I don't have a place to live in Lahore; if you want I can live with Datta Sahib [At Datta Darbar]"

"I have to live somewhere?!"

"I have had a very clear signal from Indian cricket administrators that we should resume playing cricket between both countries"

"If we dont pay people market rates, you will not get good people regardless of whether they are employees or coaching staff"

"PCB is the only board in the world that is running 8 stadiums; this is not the job of the PCB but that of associations and regions"

"I have detailed briefing here at the NSK and I am confident that the construction work will be complete before the PSL"

"We have a system where the position of the Chairman has been politicized and we need to end that"

"We have professional cricketers but why isnt the management professional? We need to professionalize the management"

"Such things [Multan Sultans type issue] are ground realities"

"There are no leagues that make profits from the start, IPL's profitability took approximately 8 years to achieve"

"The depth [in talent] of our women's cricket is very low - lets be honest about it"

Good to hear that Sarfraz Ahmed will most likely be the captain until the world cup but PCB should appoint a new vice-captain so he can easily takeover from Sarfraz Ahmed after he retires.

Very long press conference and some very aggressive questions by some in the media

At one point Mani said "Is this a bilateral discussion or am I supposed to be speaking?"

Karachi will not thrive in cricket until you create more fields and play grounds for the kids. I remember growing up in karachi I used to live next street to Shahid Afridi in Gulshan Iqbal. This was well before his debut. There was a play ground near us just next to the mosque. Afridi was locally very famous and he would play in that playground regularly. He was known as Shahid Pathan.

A few years back when I visited the area my heart broke when i saw that play ground convered into a park where only families are now allowed. I saw two couples walking in the park and the whole field was empty.

I remember when it was playfield at least 100 kids would be playing cricket. I am so angry at whoever cleverpants decided to do this.

When I grew up, teams had to take their number s to play in Nazimabad cricket grounds. Karachi changed since the Bushra incident - thanks to the marde-momin and his janwar Altaf. Everything taken away since the birth of MQM in karachi - this filth destroyed the essence of karachi.

Good on him to show up to answer some tough questions. But since I am biased, I can’t really praise the quality of these answers.
I mean, what are these platitudes:
If Karachi cricket does well, so does Pakistan- is that not the case for Lahore, Multan, Pindi etc etc
Domestic cricket unsustainable
Comprehensive reform
Talking to India
More cricket at home
Blah blah blah

Good on him to show up to answer some tough questions. But since I am biased, I can’t really praise the quality of these answers.
I mean, what are these platitudes:
If Karachi cricket does well, so does Pakistan- is that not the case for Lahore, Multan, Pindi etc etc
Domestic cricket unsustainable
Comprehensive reform
Talking to India
More cricket at home
Blah blah blah

Yes, the response is unsensitive. For Pakistan cricket to do well, it would need to pool all its resources from all cities and regions.

I am assuming idiot asked him why are you living in Karachi. The level of journalism in Pakistan is getting lower with every passing day.

The captain and coach of the team should be the most important people. Instead of making excuses for Mohsin Khans pathetic language, he should demand him to apologise regardless of how long ago the comment was made.

It;s good he see the importance of transparancy in the PCB, for years it has been looted by previous chairmen and others.

his solution will be to set up another committee...

When infact, he should take a helicopter ride over Karachi and find out out for himself that there are not many public spaces left to play.

Invest in school and college cricket that have grounds.

Mani backs Sarfraz as skipper, says changes in PCB inevitable

Khalid H. Khan|Updated November 15, 2018

KARACHI: Sarfraz Ahmed received a major boost on Wednesday when PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani reiterated his support for the doughty wicket-keeper-batsman as Pakistan captain with the World Cup barely eight months away.

Addressing his maiden media conference here in the city since being appointed the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) nearly two months ago, Mani voiced his support for Sarfraz as the national team leader.

“I think this (captaincy) issue has been unnecessarily raised for a while now. As the PCB chairman, I feel Sarfraz is doing a great job as the Pakistan captain across all formats. He was first appointed (as the T20 skipper) by Shaharyar M. Khan and then became captain of one-day and Test sides with the passage of time,” Mani told reporters at the Hanif Mohammad High Performance Centre in the vicinity of the National Stadium.

“Our team has been performing very well in recent times and there is tremendous camaraderie in the ranks. The credit for this definitely goes to Sarfraz and Mickey Arthur. The results speak for themselves and Sarfraz’s own form is extremely good now.”

“There is no doubt in my mind over Sarfraz being the Pakistan captain. We have full trust in his leadership qualities. So the question of who is going to lead at the (2019) World Cup is meaningless.”

He went on to add: “Under his captaincy, Pakistan won the Champions Trophy and we are the top-ranked T20 team in the world.”

Mani, who was accompanied by PCB chief operating officer Subhan Ahmad and National Cricket Academy’s director Mudassar Nazar, said that his visit to the city was brief because he wanted to monitor the progress of renovation work at the National Stadium. He stressed that the main priority for him was the overall betterment of Pakistan cricket.

“I am delighted to be amongst you because it was long overdue (for me) to be visiting the nursery of Pakistan cricket since becoming the board chairman,” he remarked. “I had always viewed Karachi as the backbone of Pakistan cricket and strategically it remains the most important centre of the country. The list of great cricketers coming from here is endless.

“When Karachi cricket is strong, so is Pakistan cricket. It was imperative for me to come and see myself the pace of renovation work and overall infrastructure of the National Stadium. This is a very short trip but I promise to come again during the emerging (ACC) tournament in December and meet you individually.”

Mani strongly indicated to a question that the face of PCB would be changed in due course.

“Despite apprehensions being expressed by different quarters that expected changes on the PCB front are not forthcoming following the general elections in July, I am saying this with conviction in clear terms — yeh mera waada hai kay tabdeeliyan aayen gi (I give my word that changes will come) — not just in the PCB but there will be a restructuring of the board as well as of Pakistan cricket on the whole,” the chairman asserted.

“However, I’ll do them at a suitable time when I feel they are necessary. But the changes are inevitable and the need of the hour for the overall betterment of Pakistan cricket. Further, we have already begun the process of changes in the PCB and we are taking the route towards a policy of transparency because I personally feel that we must strengthen the cricketing infrastructure for a better future.

“There are a number of issues that need be addressed as topmost priorities of our working. Domestic cricket is one area that has to be reorganised and rationalised from all aspects to bring it at par with most of the other top cricket-playing nations. But we need time because I don’t believe in taking spur-of-the-moment decisions and would act, from time to time, whenever there is need for a change.”

Mani said, “Questions pertaining to department and regional cricket have to be resolved after taking all stakeholders on board. Mind you, it won’t be an easy task. Every step going forward has to be monitored. The loopholes have to be removed to win the confidence of all concerned.”

In the meantime, the soft-spoken Mani calmly ducked underneath a lot of hard-hitting queries rela*ted to the appointment of Wasim Akram and Mohsin Khan on the newly-formed cricket committee that forced to retract his statement on the Justice Qayyum match-fixing report committee as well as Sethi threatening to take PCB to court over the publication of his expenses during his tenure in the board.

“I think we should learn to view these things in a broader perspective. I repeat again there was no intention of rubbishing the (Qayyum) report from all angles during the press conference in Lahore recently. There was no sanction on Wasim to stop him from working for the board,” Mani explained.

“As for Mohsin, he made those comments about Sarfraz a long time back. For me it holds no significance because as the chairman I have full confidence in Sarfraz’s ability as the team captain and there are no doubts in my mind.

“The committee we have constituted brings a lot of experience. The four people collectively bring a rich playing experience of more than 900 internationals. This (committee) has an advisory role and they will give us feedback when we require their expert opinion.”

Mudassar, meanwhile, told Dawn that the NCA would soon appoint the head of the Hanif Mohammad High Performance Centre following the abrupt departure of ex-Test spinner and former chief selector Iqbal Qasim. He said, “This is a key position that would be fulfilled through proper process. Very shortly we’ll be advertising for this vacancy. Hopefully, there will be a lot of activities at this centre once the position is filled.”

Published in Dawn, November 15th, 2018

Link: https://www.dawn.com/news/1445729/mani-backs-sarfraz-as-skipper-says-changes-in-pcb-inevitable