"When will Pakistan media be accountable for their credibility?" : Shoaib Malik

When you cannot do the basics right, don't expect any sympathy.

I've no fondness for Pakistani media but even if we were winning every game these late night trips would be problematic.

Pakistani cricket fans can be impulsive and prone to extreme reactions but the passion and devotion is such that it's not unreasonable to demand professionalism and commitment from the players. For god's sake you are top level athletes not a gully team.

Nobody has a right to target a player's family. Or spread fake news.

However,

This wouldn't have happened at all if Malik was held accountable 5 - 10 years ago. The fact that he's playing even after mediocirty of 20 years (and he thinks it's a SERVICE!), that in itself is a disgrace.

Media should be accountable, but before that, Malik should've been held accountable.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On behalf of all athletes I would like to request media and people to maintain respect levels in regards to our families, who should not be dragged into petty discussions at will. It’s not a nice thing to do</p>— Shoaib Malik ���� (@realshoaibmalik) <a href="https://twitter.com/realshoaibmalik/status/1140697384919478272?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 17, 2019</a></blockquote>

I used to think our indian media was the tops in sensationalisic hysterical tripe...but your guys are no slouches.....
all in all ths is a classic example of how it is in life...when the going is good, everyone laughs with u.....when u loose u cry alone....
in cricket when u win...no one cares about the late nights/food u eat...
when u loose - every johny crawls out of the wood work and the conspiracy theories abound...
that said, i still feel Pak has a chance for semis....good luck

Its all part and parcel of the job.
Perform well and you will be praised and rewarded richly.
Perform poorly and you will be mocked and abused.

Still don't understand why wifes and family need to be present during a 6 week tournament.

Ah yes your post is not complete without mention of Harris. Don't let me scold you like last time when it came to performance of haris.

whats his world cup record like? he has played two world cups so yes he is as open to criticism as the rest..has a bigger belly than Imad!! Nobody should be immune to criticism!

Not sure, but did see GF/WIFE of nz players for couple of NZ matches on the stand. Shakib's wife was shown couple of times today when he got his century. Just because someone is not snapping their pics, i would argue that it doesn't mean they are not out with their fam/friends/team mates (as long as their individual respective team rules are ok with it during this edition of WC). You guys should criticize the players on their performance, what they do with their wifes and friends outside of match should not really matter much when it comes to simple dine and chill. Should rather bash team management for allowing such events/rules to take place late at night before match days.

Take our captain for an example. Guy can't be seen without anuska anywhere. Though this WC i haven't seen her yet.

Disagree on that. While he is on tour, he is on Pakistan's time, if he wants to spend time with him family he should've opted out of the WC.

I have no problem with who is in the stadium watching games, but (as reported) if you are going out with your wife/friends on the eve of a game, that is a huge cause for concern and extremely unprofessional.

Nobody has a right to target a player's family. Or spread fake news.

However,

This wouldn't have happened at all if Malik was held accountable 5 - 10 years ago. The fact that he's playing even after mediocirty of 20 years (and he thinks it's a SERVICE!), that in itself is a disgrace.

Media should be accountable, but before that, Malik should've been held accountable.

shows you his mentality if he thinks he's providing a service to the nation. Abay service kurni thi to fauj main jaatay..ab moan say kuch nikal nay wala hay!!

My indian work colleagues just call him damaad..we had a good laugh at his incompetence and useless performance..

hey do you remember that period when he didnt hit a fifty for five years yet kept getting selected?

There was no hype for Pakistan vs West Indies match . What was the result ? Pakistan lost to West Indies, a lower ranked team that had to play qualifying tournament to qualify for this world cup ! Performance of Pakistani players against West Indies was even worse but they escaped censure because that match was treated as just another match.

Hyping this India vs Pakistan match to the skies is the real cause behind all this heartburn. If one thinks dispassionately, losing to the number 2 team and a strong title contender is not really such a big deal. Pakistan were expected to lose this match. It was only hype that had deluded many people into believing that it was a match between two Equals. In reality it was a mismatch all along.

Coming to Shoaib Malik, I wonder how he manages to get selected for Pakistan team despite such glaring non performance. He used to perform against India in the past but that was mainly because India used to have trundlers those days. Ever since India have started playing penetrative fast bowlers, Daamaad e Hind has been failing regularly against India.

Don't know why people keep mentioning his uselessness in his 20 year career as a reponse to him questioning the accountability of the Pakistan media. They are two different things.

He blames the media for not being held accountable for criticizing personal life, by fans ignoring that and going on to just comment about his 20 year career he mentioned, and that he wasn't held accountable for that, deviates from the actual topic and implies that the fans are okay with what the media does; and that is invading personal life.

The Pakistani media and fans generally, must be the worst in the cricket world, and possibly the whole sporting world. Imagine what would be happening if the world cup was held in Pakistan if teams actually went and played there, the players would be attacked by fans on a daily; and not throgh social media, but physically in real life. They would be attacked in the field, with litter thrown on them.

shows you his mentality if he thinks he's providing a service to the nation. Abay service kurni thi to fauj main jaatay..ab moan say kuch nikal nay wala hay!!

My indian work colleagues just call him damaad..we had a good laugh at his incompetence and useless performance..

hey do you remember that period when he didnt hit a fifty for five years yet kept getting selected?

There's no accountability for Don Malik. I have no idea what kind of connections he's had for the last 20 years.

Must be someone super powerful.

Pakistan media has zero to none credibility. Shoaib Malik absolutely should be criticized but on his performances; lethargic & unprofessional attitude - not on the basis of fake news.

Disagree on that. While he is on tour, he is on Pakistan's time, if he wants to spend time with him family he should've opted out of the WC.

I have no problem with who is in the stadium watching games, but (as reported) if you are going out with your wife/friends on the eve of a game, that is a huge cause for concern and extremely unprofessional.

It's definitely unprofessional. I would also blame management team for letting players chill outside this late before match days.

There's no accountability for Don Malik. I have no idea what kind of connections he's had for the last 20 years.

Must be someone super powerful.

Malik was banned for admitting plotting coup against Younis Khan. He should never have played for Pakistan. But due to our pathetic corrupt system he was brought back in 2014 to replace technically superior player Fawad Alam. The Governing board and the babus in PCB have had a role in this non-performing loser playing for Pakistan till now.

It's could be 24 hours before the game or a week before the game, it doesnt hide the fact the late night binge eating of unhealthy foods and sugary drinks isn't a good look, nor is it professional.

Classic politician move. Distract away from the main problem. This guy is world-class and will make a big businessman one day.

Look, has anyone seen videos/pics of other players from other teams socializing with their families/friends while playing this WC? If you do not want to be berated by the media, then in the words of Robocop - Stay out of trouble.

I think he's upset that some sections of the media are saying that he and some other players were out on Wilmslow Road Manchester into the early hours of Sunday morning.

I guess it's understandable that he's going to be upset when people question your professionalism.

Saw bhai, you have to show professionalism to be upset about people questioning it. These players haven't shown any responsibility this tournament.

He blames the media for not being held accountable for criticizing personal life, by fans ignoring that and going on to just comment about his 20 year career he mentioned, and that he wasn't held accountable for that, deviates from the actual topic and implies that the fans are okay with what the media does; and that is invading personal life.

The Pakistani media and fans generally, must be the worst in the cricket world, and possibly the whole sporting world. Imagine what would be happening if the world cup was held in Pakistan if teams actually went and played there, the players would be attacked by fans on a daily; and not throgh social media, but physically in real life. They would be attacked in the field, with litter thrown on them.

These guys are in the middle of the most high profile event in their chosen profession. It is extremely unprofessional to be out late at night smoking and eating whatever it is that they were. They're supposed to athletes, look at how Kholi handles himself as an athlete (that is the professionalism). When their "personal lives" begin to bleed over and affect their "professional lives" and causes issues then fans have every right to criticize what they see in public. Sitting in plain sight in a restaurant isn't "private", people have the right to take photos/videos (as Malik's wife criticized in her tweet). This would be like if a surgeon was out for a night on the town 2 nights before a career defining surgery instead of refining his plans and then blaming the family for criticizing when it goes completely bonkers.

You're in the most prestigious and high profile tourney of your field. for 2 months out of 4 years put aside any personal things and focus completely on your game. Fans shouldn't expect anything else. Players shouldn't expect anything else from their teammates. We have this disgusting "seniors" culture where they don't call each other out for doing stupid ****. Babar, Amir, Imad and Captain should be calling out Malik, Hafeez, Wahab for their miserable attitudes and horrendous body language. Coaches and selectors can't hold you accountable if you can't even hold yourself accountable. This team is playing well below its talent level.

There was no hype for Pakistan vs West Indies match . What was the result ? Pakistan lost to West Indies, a lower ranked team that had to play qualifying tournament to qualify for this world cup ! Performance of Pakistani players against West Indies was even worse but they escaped censure because that match was treated as just another match.

Hyping this India vs Pakistan match to the skies is the real cause behind all this heartburn. If one thinks dispassionately, losing to the number 2 team and a strong title contender is not really such a big deal. Pakistan were expected to lose this match. It was only hype that had deluded many people into believing that it was a match between two Equals. In reality it was a mismatch all along.

There was no heartburn after Windies match because it was the first match for Pakistan and people were hoping that the performances will get better in next matches. Loss against Aus was hard to take in because Pakistan could have won that. However,loss against India has made people really angry.

valid point.

I guess one question is whether you consider it professional for a player to be on duty at a major event, and be out his with family/friends.

I'd be curious to know if players from Aus or NZ go out to dinner with their wives and their friends in the middle of the WC

this is to say nothing of what time they were out, what they are eating, and so forth...

Dinner with spouse during WC should be put under capital punishment

Saw bhai, you have to show professionalism to be upset about people questioning it. These players haven't shown any responsibility this tournament.

I get that. But making up stuff that the sheesha restaurant incident was a different night is pretty poor.

So why can't Pak fans only restrict the discussion to cricket, talk about his poor cricket and put pressure on team mgmt to drop him ( if you can ).

Why bring in his family ? No one will like it

Look, has anyone seen videos/pics of other players from other teams socializing with their families/friends while playing this WC? If you do not want to be berated by the media, then in the words of Robocop - Stay out of trouble.

Yeh photo wikileaks inside job hai

So why can't Pak fans only restrict the discussion to cricket, talk about his poor cricket and put pressure on team mgmt to drop him ( if you can ).

Why bring in his family ? No one will like it

I'm not too happy with people attacking players families (our media is even worse for propagating it). Families shouldn't be attacked. However, players in my book are fair game. You have to agree that being out late at night in the middle of a WC isn't exactly professionalism (doesn't matter if it isn't the night before a game.

Bhai agar team curfew tha or if the coach / mgmt were not okay with it, then it's wrong and he should be pulled up. But if he had taken permission then he is well within his rights.

Having said that, frankly this late night , 2 days before a match is not that important.

You are probably too young to know what cricket in 70's or 80's was like, the main question is that his performance has been poor and that he should be dropped basis that...

More importantly the think tank who play both Hafeez and Malik, even after playing 5 bowlers should also be questioned as to what the rationale was.

This whole Sheesha drama will just obfuscate the main issue and frankly won't help at all

Here is an idea when you have only won, 1 game at the WC, averaging less than 3 in the WC, don't go out partying with your family. Because those pictures will end up on the media, doesn't take a genius to figure that out.

Secondly can anyone confirm, i thought families weren't allowed before pak - india game ? So did malik get an exception or was he breaking the rules by going out with family on june 13th?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Criticise a player's performance ✅<br>Criticise the team's performance ✅<br>Suggest improvements ✅<br>Make criticism constructive✅<br>Stick to facts ✅<br>Never abuse a player ❌<br>Never bring families into it ❌<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/cwc19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#cwc19</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1141067876704628736?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 18, 2019</a></blockquote>

Here is an idea when you have only won, 1 game at the WC, averaging less than 3 in the WC, don't go out partying with your family. Because those pictures will end up on the media, doesn't take a genius to figure that out.

Secondly can anyone confirm, i thought families weren't allowed before pak - india game ? So did malik get an exception or was he breaking the rules by going out with family on june 13th?

Very good question.

The Maestro’s PR firm are earning their rupees.

Shifted the focus off his performance and on to fractions within the team.

But the best is yet to come.

After this humiliation he will use the excuse of these fractions to justify his non-performance. They might even put him forward as a “martyr” to rebuild the team as the reluctant captain.