Where will Asia Cup 2023 be played?

Make no mistake Pak boycotting the WC by refusing to travel to India will rock Cricket. It could very well lead to the cancellation of the tournament as a whole if even some other teams side with Pakistan. Time for Ramiz to show he's the real Rambo!:sendoff Pak must not back down here, never.

Tbh, this is a bit ridiculous now. You can’t confirm you’ll play and then suddenly withdraw.

I dunno if there is anything PCB can do, but it’s unfair. For once, I am hoping BCCI lose this one.

The solution is simple Indo-pak matches shall be played on neutral venues regardless if it’s an Asia cup or a World Cup. Period!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">When excellent comradery between the 2 sides in the past 12 months has been established that has created good feel-good factor in the 2 countries, why BCCI Secy will make this statement on the eve of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a> match? Reflects lack of cricket administration experience in India</p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1582381967852859392?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 18, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Tbh, this is a bit ridiculous now. You can’t confirm you’ll play and then suddenly withdraw.

I dunno if there is anything PCB can do, but it’s unfair. For once, I am hoping BCCI lose this one.

Same here. I too believe it's unfair on PCB and Pak fans.

I gotta feeling that Pak will do something big here. Pak boycotting the WC may lead to other teams putting pressure on India to explain their position. If NZ, Eng and Aus visited Pak successfully then it puts India on the spot. I can't imagine a Cricket WC going ahead if Pak boycotts it. We're in uncharted territory here folks.

Won't happen.

So a key cornerstone of your foreign policy is to not give Pakistan 2 points in a tournament?
Why should Sports be subservient to Political dictates?
Is the use of boycott a legitimate Political strategy?
What is the basis of a potential boycott?
Does'nt a boycott jeapordize the very goals and objectives of sports?
If one party unilaterally boycotts an event and does not travel to the neighboring country, does that not set a poor precendence for detente and rapproachement?
Can a member of the BCCI make a unilateral and impulsive decision on behalf of the ACC without the ACC convening?
Does'nt the threat of a boycott violate the very basis of diplomacy and peaceful engagement?
If India cannot come to Pakistan for an International event , then perhaps Pakistan should reciprocate in the same fashion. This will further widen the gap between the two countries.
Wisdom and sagacity dictates engagement and participation. It is upto India to decide where they stand on this issue but the implicatios and ramifications may not necessarily be contained on the cricket field!

What if they meet again in the SF or Finals?
Will they travel again to another country for those games. Is the entire schedule going to remain captive to this paranoia.
The extension of your argument is that both Pakistan and India will become ineligible to hold an International tournament due to this childish stance by India. You will need a "time out" when you throw these temper tantrums and demonstrate such bad behavior. Grow up!

Lets hope PCB shows the same bravado as some of the posters here and sticks to hosting the Asia Cup in Pakistan. Until then all this fake bravado holds no water. One thing is clear India won't travel to Pakistan. Period

What I think will happen is that Asia Cup will Go ahead without India.

Then it will be upto Pakistan to determine whether they want to go to the World Cup or not. That is open for debate unfortunately

Lets talk about who ignorant is when PCB sticks to its guns and hosts Asia Cup in Pakistan.

I am not sure what your rambling means as it is logically contradictory .
Let me make it easy for you to understand. When you are a member of a group, organization or council, there are certain obligations and commitments that you are held to. If you cannot uphold those commitments, then you are in violation. When you threaten to withhold participation, then you jeopardize both yourself and the organization. It is very simple. If India does not participate it may be expelled from the ACC. If they do not allow Pakistan to participate in 2023 WC or they decide not to come to Pakistan in 2025 for the CT, then they are in violation and subject to disciplinary and pecuniary damages and possible expulsion from the ICC. If they make the argument that they cannot visit Pakistan or cannot allow Pakistan to visit, then they are ceding their right to host International events on their soil. You are living in a fools paradise if you consider yourself beyond these reasonable dictates .I hope this clarifies the situation and allows common sense to prevail, as sometimes it is not so common and the current Indian setup does not consider it to be a virtue. Best of luck in your future endeavors!

I am not sure what your rambling means as it is logically contradictory .
Let me make it easy for you to understand. When you are a member of a group, organization or council, there are certain obligations and commitments that you are held to. If you cannot uphold those commitments, then you are in violation. When you threaten to withhold participation, then you jeopardize both yourself and the organization. It is very simple. If India does not participate it may be expelled from the ACC. If they do not allow Pakistan to participate in 2023 WC or they decide not to come to Pakistan in 2025 for the CT, then they are in violation and subject to disciplinary and pecuniary damages and possible expulsion from the ICC. If they make the argument that they cannot visit Pakistan or cannot allow Pakistan to visit, then they are ceding their right to host International events on their soil. You are living in a fools paradise if you consider yourself beyond these reasonable dictates .I hope this clarifies the situation and allows common sense to prevail, as sometimes it is not so common and the current Indian setup does not consider it to be a virtue. Best of luck in your future endeavors!

Not sure which part if what I said was contradictory . India won't travel to Pakistan, its as simple as that. Pakistan are free to host the Asia cup in Pakistan. Again which part of that is contradictory? And if you think India will be thrown out of ACC or ICC you are living in a fools paradise.

It will. No team has ever boycotted the Cricket World Cup before. If Pak does so then it will be something new.

Pakistan should not and will not boycott the WC 2023 in India.
It will be an unmitigated pleasure for Pakistan to win it in India.

I feel that this whole situation could have been avoided and talked about after the WC was over. I am not sure why Shah even brought this up before the IND V PAK game.

On a side note, I think this is a bit ridiculous. We are hosting a WC in IND, and are expecting Pak to come and play there ... then what is the issue with touring Pak for the Asia cup? I honestly don't understand this.

Pakistan should not and will not boycott the WC 2023 in India.
It will be an unmitigated pleasure for Pakistan to win it in India.

The chances of us boycotting the tournament are much greater then winning the WC in India.

Make no mistake Pak boycotting the WC by refusing to travel to India will rock Cricket. It could very well lead to the cancellation of the tournament as a whole if even some other teams side with Pakistan. Time for Ramiz to show he's the real Rambo!:sendoff Pak must not back down here, never.

Nothing will happen.

1. Either ASIA CUP will be shifted to UAE or ASIA CUP wont be played ever again.

2. WORLD CUP 2023 will be played in INDIA only with or without PAK. 😏

Rameez can be the next NAZAM SETHI if he wants to be, by damaging PCB by not participating in WORLD CUP and this time it will be the ICC that would make them suffer.

Its not VINOD RAI led COA thats running BCCI that it will listen to anyone. Amit Shah must have told his son JAYESH SHAH to make this announcement that India wont travel to PAK, else BCCI were open to tour PAK few days ago. Its clear that Indian Govt. has instructed BCCI. Sports minister Anurag Thakur is a part of Govt. and he knows Govt.'s stance regarding this and said the same.

Nothing will happen.

1. Either ASIA CUP will be shifted to UAE or ASIA CUP wont be played ever again.

2. WORLD CUP 2023 will be played in INDIA only with or without PAK. 😏

Rameez can be the next NAZAM SETHI if he wants to be, by damaging PCB by not participating in WORLD CUP and this time it will be the ICC that would make them suffer.

Its not VINOD RAI led COA thats running BCCI that it will listen to anyone. Amit Shah must have told his son JAYESH SHAH to make this announcement that India wont travel to PAK, else BCCI were open to tour PAK few days ago. Its clear that Indian Govt. has instructed BCCI. Sports minister Anurag Thakur is a part of Govt. and he knows Govt.'s stance regarding this and said the same.

Why would Pakistan travel to India when team will have security threats and when India isn't a safe place? We see downfall of social communal peace in India daily in international news and saffron extremists are only multiplying there so its not a safe place for Pakistan.

Pakistan doesn't have to travel to India, and India doesn't have to travel to Pakistan. Asia Cup And CT should happen in Pakistan without India, and WC in India without Pakistan.

The quote is "it is decided that the Asia Cup 2023 will be held at a neutral venue"

Decided by who exactly?

Surely one man cannot decide the venue for a tournament.

Nationalism is unity when confronting a foreigner. Internally, you may disagree on everything, fight and kill each other for consuming beef, but when the word "India" is uttered, poof, unity. In Pakistan, people try to showcase their inner divide to the world as if it's some sort of an achievement.

For example the Ishaq Dar heckling at a US airport. The Americans don't know who Ishaq Dar, Nawaz Sharif or Imran Khan is. All they saw is two Pakistani groups creating a ruckus and using foul language. For Pakistanis, idol-worship, ethnicity, religion and humanity supersede their country.

This is a nice dream you are living in. You should pitch it to a Bollywood director and make some money off of it.

The quote is "it is decided that the Asia Cup 2023 will be held at a neutral venue"

Decided by who exactly?

Surely one man cannot decide the venue for a tournament.

Ultimately the decision doesn't lie with India or Pakistan. The decision lies with the other members.

If rest of the members decide that the tournament stays in pakistan, it stays. If they decide it moves to neutral territory, it moves.

Let's see who convinces

The conflict is not unilateral but bilateral.
The future of this region lies in engagement and not adversity.
Cricket can help bridge trust and confidence.
Decisions should not be made in the context of short term political gains but long term efforts to rapprochement and resolution. True leadership should recognize and promote this.
Threats will never bear fruit.

India has been foolish enough to believe in this for 70 years and suffered. Time to shut that door and keep the minimum required diplomatic relations. Thats all.

Ultimately the decision doesn't lie with India or Pakistan. The decision lies with the other members.

If rest of the members decide that the tournament stays in pakistan, it stays. If they decide it moves to neutral territory, it moves.

Let's see who convinces

Therefore Jay Shah had no right to say that the tournament will be at a neutral venue.

Let's see who convinces

pakistan has been awarded the rights to host the tournament

now unless there is a very good and logical reason the tournament cant be taken off them India doesnt want to come to pakistan isnt a good reason

if india doesnt want to come to pakistan thats upto them As things stand the tournament will be held in pakistan with or without india

pakistan has been awarded the rights to host the tournament

now unless there is a very good and logical reason the tournament cant be taken off them India doesnt want to come to pakistan isnt a good reason

if india doesnt want to come to pakistan thats upto them As things stand the tournament will be held in pakistan with or without india

The decision will be by ACC members. Loss of majority of revenue is a very good and logical reason to shift a tournament.

1. Proof? I can show you the relevant UN resolutions against pakistanis and pakistani organizations.

2. Sorry. You will not decide who will work and who will not work in India. Foreign NGOs or foreign funding in India is subject to govt permission. This is a sovereign right of every nation.

Try again.

You claimed Pakistan is supporting successionist organizations in India. UN has never accused the Pakistani state of doing that. So you are comparing apples to oranges by saying UN has accused non-state actors from Pakistan but never accused the Indian state. If UN accused the Pakistani state then you would have a point.

The decision will be by ACC members. Loss of majority of revenue is a very good and logical reason to shift a tournament.

and that will be due to india not anyone else The tournament will he played in pakistan

Let's see who convinces
Finally you understood that Jay Shah gave the statement in OP without discussing it with other members. He was wrong and shouldn't be defended. :inti

What will happen now is that BCCI will 'massage the egos' of other ACC members with a few promises and they will more than likely turn against PCB and say they won't play in Pakistan.

Watch this space.

What will happen now is that BCCI will 'massage the egos' of other ACC members with a few promises and they will more than likely turn against PCB and say they won't play in Pakistan.

Watch this space.

But then Pakistan will pull out of ACC

It won’t work for ACC

Watch this space.

Yep.
Afghanistan will be the first one getting on knees in a jiffy to give in.

Bangla and Sri Lanka will be forced to bend over.

^^
In which case, Pakistan should pull out of Asia Cup and let Indians watch boring games against UAE and Sri Lanka and Bangla and especially against Afghanistan who pose a spread-eagle when laid down in front of India.

Watch this space.

In that case if I was Ramiz I would calmly come out of ACC. Then India would no longer be interested in playing Asia cup without Pakistan until Pak returns. But boycotting the world cup would be like shooting in its foot as then they may not get to host any ICC events for a long time.

What if Bcci gets another country from another continent to replace Pakistan, if pakistan pulls out?

Name it Afro Asia cup or Australasia Cup?

Possible?

What if Bcci gets another country from another continent to replace Pakistan, if pakistan pulls out?

Name it Afro Asia cup or Australasia Cup?

Possible?

Australia would love to fill the void left by Pakistan. @bhaag_viru_bhaag

Watch this space.

Offers may have been already made and deals done.

The conflict is not unilateral but bilateral.
The future of this region lies in engagement and not adversity.
Cricket can help bridge trust and confidence.
Decisions should not be made in the context of short term political gains but long term efforts to rapprochement and resolution. True leadership should recognize and promote this.
Threats will never bear fruit.

I agree. The people on both sides of the border need to live peacefully and enjoy their life. It is silly we are still fighting for land, pride, etc., at the cost of progress, peace, and prosperity.

I would want Indian and Pakistan cricket teams to play against each other more. Let the people interact and trust each other. Currently, there is mistrust between these two countries and this condition will not lead to lasting peace unless we, the people change.

I agree. The people on both sides of the border need to live peacefully and enjoy their life. It is silly we are still fighting for land, pride, etc., at the cost of progress, peace, and prosperity.

I would want Indian and Pakistan cricket teams to play against each other more. Let the people interact and trust each other. Currently, there is mistrust between these two countries and this condition will not lead to lasting peace unless we, the people change.

I am happy to see that there is resonance.
The reality is that with cooperation both nations can progress but with conflict both counties will continue to regress. The majority on both sides understand this but the fringe remain hostile. The real solution is to tame these elements and allow the majority to impel the leadership on both sides to identify, confront and solve these issues. This can only be achieved with bilateral engaement . Demonizing the other side will only inflame the issues and is highly irresponsible.

Bhai log, in today’s world both countries’ representatives should sit together and take advantage of this amazing sport in creating better relationship and well being of both countries. Come on India, come on Pakistan

Nothing will happen.

2. WORLD CUP 2023 will be played in INDIA only with or without PAK. �

No it will happen because we are living in historical times with war and energy shortages. It may not have anything to do with Cricket but I say this to prove that nothing remains the same forever. No one is really bothered if the Asia Cup is played or not however Pak boycotting the WC will have an effect on the entire tournament one way or another. We will see who suffers then the ICC or who else?

No one is disputing that the Indian government is behind this decision. This is beside the point.

Afridi said on ABP News,"Yahan pe BCCI ne thoda bachkana harqat ki hai. Thoda time le lete, koi baat nahi agar decision unhe yahi lena tha World Cup k baad le lete. India-Pakistan ka World Cup ka match, usse pahle is tarike ka bayan dena mere khayal se jaldbaazi thi. Hamesha hamare relation ko cricket ne achchha banaya hai. Humne jis tarah India ko welcome kiya 2003-04 mein phir hum jab India gaye toh jis tarah hame welcome kiya gaya woh dono deshon ke relation ko mazboot karta hai. Jitni cricket hogi utni relationship behtar rahenge. (BCCI gave a childish statement. They should have taken some time before coming out with such a statement. There was a World Cup match and, hence, there was no need for such a remark. Cricket has always unified India and Pakistan, improved relations between the two nations. I can clearly recall how the Indian team was welcomed in Pakistan in 2003-04 and we also received a warm welcome we went there. The more India and Pakistan play, the better their relations will be)."

https://www.wionews.com/sports/they...-slams-bccis-decision-on-asia-cup-2023-528565

BCCI president Roger Binny on Friday said that the decision on Team India travelling to Pakistan for the Asia Cup 2023 is not in BCCI's hands and the government takes a final decision. Flagship tournaments are supposed to be held in Pakistan as the country is scheduled to host the forthcoming edition of the Asia Cup in 2023 followed by the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy. Cricket rivalry between India and Pakistan is one of the most riveting in the sport.

"That is not in BCCI's hands. That has to be done from the Government's side. They give the clearances," BCCI chief Roger Binny said in Chennai (Tamil Nadu) when asked if the Indian Team will go to Pakistan for the 2023 Asia Cup.

Roger Binny had said last month also that the board does not take decisions on its own on the Indian team's travel to Pakistan or other countries and relies on the decision of the government.

"That is not our call. We cannot say where our team has to go. We need to take clearance from the government if we leave the country, or other countries come here. We cannot take that decision on our own, we have to rely on the government," Binny had said on team India's travel to Pakistan for Asia Cup.

NDTV

Jay Shah To Head Finance And Commercial Affairs Committee Of ICC: Report

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah will add another feather to his cap as he is slated to head the influential Finance and Commercial Affairs committee of the International Cricket Council (ICC). The international cricket governing body's Finance & Commercial Affairs committee decides budget allocations for ICC events and looks after the distribution of money to member countries from the overall revenue pool.

More than a week prior to this weekend's ICC Board meetings in Melbourne, the BCCI team, led by Jay Shah and IPL chairman Arun Dhumal, arrived in Australia. As the BCCI representative (BCCI president from 2019 to October) on the ICC Board, Shah took the seat of former India captain Sourav Ganguly.

Dhumal will be a member of the chief executives' committee. More significantly, Shah will also be a member of the F&CA and is prepared to succeed Ross McCollum, the former chair of Cricket Ireland, who will be retiring soon, as chair of the committee at its next meeting in March 2023 as quoted by ESPNcricinfo.

The ICC board unanimously re-elected Greg Barclay as the Independent Chair of the International Cricket Council (ICC) for a second two-year term as announced by the International cricket governing body on Saturday.

Barclay was unopposed following the withdrawal of Tavengwa Mukuhlani from the process, and the Board reaffirmed its full support of him to continue as Chair for a further two years.

Former Indian cricketer Roger Binny was elected as the 36th President of the Indian cricket body, BCCI, replacing Sourav Ganguly earlier in October after the 91st Annual General Meeting of the BCCI.

Notably, Binny was the only candidate to have filed a nomination for the top post and ended Sourav Ganguly's stint as BCCI President after three long years.

Jay Shah continued to serve as the BCCI Secretary. Ashish Shelar was appointed as BCCI Treasurer. Rajeev Shukla was declared as the vice president, whereas Devajit Saikia was chosen as the joint secretary. Arun Dhumal was appointed as the IPL Chairman.

NDTV

"Tournaments keep coming. Let's see," Jaishankar on India-Pakistan cricket ties

New Delhi [India], December 10 (ANI): India's External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar has given a strong message that cross-border terrorism will never be normalised.

When asked about the government’s views on the cricketing ties between India and Pakistan, Jaishankar at an event held on Friday in the national capital said there should be global pressure on Pakistan to end sponsoring terrorism and India will have to take leadership in maintaining that pressure.

“You know our stand on cricket. We should never accept that a country has the right to sponsor terror. Unless we don’t delegitimize this, it will continue. So, there should be global pressure on Pakistan. The pressure won’t come unless the victims of terror don’t voice themselves. India should, in a way, lead the way because our blood is spilled,” the external affairs minister said.

The recent announcement by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently stating that Indian players will not travel to Pakistan for Asia Cup 2023, triggered a huge row between the BCCI and Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

"Tournaments keep coming and you are aware of the government's stand. Let's see what happens,” Jaishankar said at the media conclave show ‘Agenda Aaj Tak.’

When asked about the resumption of ties between India and Pakistan, the minister said, “Will you talk to me if I put a gun on your head?”

“If your neighbour aids terrorism out in the open and there is no mystery about who the leaders are, where the camps are. We should never think that cross-border terrorism is normal. Give me another example where one neighbour is sponsoring terrorism against another. There is no such example. In a way, this is not even abnormal, but exceptional, " Jaishankar said.

Earlier this month Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chief Ramiz Raja said that Pakistan may consider pulling out of Asia Cup 2023 if their tournament hosting rights are withdrawn due to the Indian team not travelling to their country.

Previously, in October, BCCI secretary Jay Shah had completely dismissed the speculations of Team India travelling to Pakistan for the event and said that the Asia Cup would be held at a neutral venue. The last time these two teams played a bilateral series was way back in 2012.

Ramiz Raja had also threatened that if India chooses to opt out of the Asia Cup then Pakistan will also not travel to India to participate in the ICC ODI World Cup. (ANI)

the state of politics when your elections might be effected by whether your country plays in a specific location lmao

btw, no one cares about ODI's anymore so not a big miss if Pakistan doesn't go.

According to ACC president Jay Shah, the 2023 edition of men's Asia Cup will be an ODI format. The tournament will be held in September.

FlrywEFaYAs4MmT.jpg

yet theyve decided its going to be odi format
how boring

The format of the Asia Cup depends on the World Cup cycle. If the Asia Cup precedes a T20 World Cup, it is in the T20 format & if it precedes an ODI World Cup, it is in the ODI format.

Sethi knows that taking on the BCCI is a futile excercise from experience. The tournament will likely be shifted out of Pakistan with Pakistan agreeing.

Pakistan can win any XYZ tournament they want. As long as they let themselves get stomped by bullies, no one will ever take them seriously. Keep on sacrificing national interest for temporary fixes and highs.

Afghanistan has far worse living conditions than Pakistan, but I've never seen them resort to self-deprecation. That's the definition of nationalism. E.g. when they built that fake supercar, Pakistani truth fairies started comparing it with locally assembled Mehran, while Afghans were constantly thumping their chests.

Indians are ahead because they realize that the only truth that matters is one that serves national interest. Everything else is a lie.

Getting to know from some sources that most probably Indian cricket team will be traveling to Pakistan for Asia cup… let’s see the outcome of 4th Feb meeting… most probably a positive outcome for Pakistan due to Sharifs.

What sources?

Can you provide your source?

Heard that the PCB could float that the Indian team can play all their games in the UAE will the rest of the teams will play in Pakistan and that the final will be played in Pakistan

Would be a reasonable outcome all things considered.

Having the final in Pakistan would be a tough one to get through though. India are more than likely to make it and they will have no shortage of fans happy to boycott an Asia Cup final as a power play to show that Pakistan are worthless to them.

Unfortunately these days the 'normal' Indian fan has been brainwashed by their establishment to follow the narrative that India should not play in Pakistan for 'promoting terrorism' or other nonsense which has nothing to do with cricket.

Lets say India make it to the finals, i doubt they would play the finals in Pakistan (they want to eliminate Pakistan from any sporting ties or events) so even to play one game I dont see it happening.

I can however see Pakistan hosting tournament with India playing all games at UAE, and finals being played at UAE.

Having the final in Pakistan would be a tough one to get through though. India are more than likely to make it and they will have no shortage of fans happy to boycott an Asia Cup final as a power play to show that Pakistan are worthless to them.

Unfortunately these days the 'normal' Indian fan has been brainwashed by their establishment to follow the narrative that India should not play in Pakistan for 'promoting terrorism' or other nonsense which has nothing to do with cricket.

When already there is no talk between the countries due to terrorism only, then how it wont impact cricket...😏😏

Who are you to call this nonsense? Its Indians who have suffered and its their decision.

I am speaking from an objective place.

I agree that Indians have suffered terrorism at the hands of Pakistan.

You have also suffered at the hands of the BJP who have manipulated it to it's fullest extent for their own gain and forced you to believe the narratives which yield them the biggest share of the votes.

The fact is that the PCB and BCCI have nothing to do with terrorism and Pakistan have shown that cricket can take place safely in the country.

I am speaking from an objective place.

I agree that Indians have suffered terrorism at the hands of Pakistan.

You have also suffered at the hands of the BJP who have manipulated it to it's fullest extent for their own gain and forced you to believe the narratives which yield them the biggest share of the votes.

The fact is that the PCB and BCCI have nothing to do with terrorism and Pakistan have shown that cricket can take place safely in the country.

Let Indians decide if they have suffered at the hands of BJP. They will vote and decide the fate of the BJP. There is no manipulation, their hardline stance on Pakistan has worked. Hardly any terrorist attacks outside of Kashmir in last 8 years.

PCB and its cricketers support their governments stance on Kashmir. And i dont blame them. They are supporting their government. But to normalise cricketing ties with Pakistan by visiting the country under these circumstances may not be acceptable.

Ok please stay off deep political stuff on this thread.

Not just based on yesterdays tragic event but it’s clear terrorists have been attacking Pakistan police and army recently.

Indian cricketers are high value targets. As brands they are worth millions of $.

I wouldn’t risk it.

India will travel to Pak but no way this is a good time to do that. Indian Players will spend time looking over their shoulder than playing cricket.

Not just based on yesterdays tragic event but it’s clear terrorists have been attacking Pakistan police and army recently.

Indian cricketers are high value targets. As brands they are worth millions of $.

I wouldn’t risk it.

India will travel to Pak but no way this is a good time to do that. Indian Players will spend time looking over their shoulder than playing cricket.

After this its sure and certain that at least India isnt going to PAK. Even Asia Cup would be shifted to UAE.

Let Indians decide if they have suffered at the hands of BJP. They will vote and decide the fate of the BJP. There is no manipulation, their hardline stance on Pakistan has worked. Hardly any terrorist attacks outside of Kashmir in last 8 years.

This can also mean the other thing - that Pakistan aren't the threat the BJP would love you all to believe. It is often best to get an objective view on things. Modi may be very popular at home but his nature is well documented elsewhere where he doesn't have the resources to manipulate the population.

The status remains that BCCI and PCB have nothing to do with terrorism and Pakistan is safe for cricket.

Asian Cricket Council Executive Board Meeting held February 4th, 2023

The Asian Cricket Council held its Executive Board Meeting on Saturday, 4th February 2023 in Bahrain.

The ACC had a constructive dialogue on the upcoming Asia Cup 2023. The Board agreed to continue discussions on on operations, timelines and any other specifics with a view to ensure the success of the tournament. An update on the matter would be taken on the next ACC Executive Board Meeting to be held in March 2023.

UAE Set To Host Asia Cup Which Was Initially Alloted To Pakistan: Report

The Asian Cricket Council will decide on an alternate venue for the Asia Cup ODI tournament in March after BCCI secretary Jay Shah and PCB chairman Najam Sethi had their first formal meeting in Bahrain on Saturday. The Asia Cup was initially allotted to Pakistan and was scheduled in September this year but Shah, who is also the ACC chairman, had announced last October that India will not travel to Pakistan. It is understood that United Arab Emirates with three venues -- Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah -- are favourites to host the tournament but the decision has been withheld for the time being.

All heads of ACC member nations attended the emergent meeting which was called at the behest of PCB chairman Sethi after ACC under chairmanship of Shah released the continental body's itinerary where Pakistan wasn't named the hosts.

"The ACC affiliates met today and there were a lot of constructive discussions. But the shift of venue has been postponed till March. But be rest assured that with India not going to Pakistan, the tournament will have to be shifted. A tournament without Virat Kohlis, Rohit Sharmas and Shubman Gills will have the sponsors back out," a senior BCCI official privy to the development told PTI.

One ACC insider said Sethi has just taken over PCB and if he would have ceded ground on the hosting rights in the first meeting itself, then it would have led to a bad impression at home.

Pakistan is currently going through an economic crisis and inflation has hit the country very hard with the country's currency (PKR) plummeting to Rs 277 against 1 US Dollar. Organising a high profile tournament like Asia Cup, even if ACC pays a grant could burn a hole in PCB coffers.

So strategically, if the tournament is held in the UAE, there is every possibility that all the member nations will also get to earn apart from the broadcast revenues.

In another decision, the ACC has decided to increase the annual budget allocated for Afghanistan Cricket Association to 15 percent from six.

The ACC has assured that it will help the Afghanistan board in all possible ways so that women's cricket can be revived in the country. Women are banned from playing sport under Taliban rule.

NDTV

According to reporters, Sethi told Jay Shah and all the other ACC members to go back to their governments and confirm if they have permission to tour Pakistan or not. If all the members except India get permission then the tournament will be held in Pakistan and all of India's games will be held in the UAE and if India plays in the final then the final will be played in UAE but all the other games will be held in Pakistan and the overall tournament hosting rights will belong to Pakistan.

In the event India refuses to tour Pakistan then the PCB will do the same for the 2023 ODI WC and the BCCI will be responsible for hosting Pakistani games in a neutral venue.

According to reporters, Sethi told Jay Shah and all the other ACC members to go back to their governments and confirm if they have permission to tour Pakistan or not. If all the members except India get permission then the tournament will be held in Pakistan and all of India's games will be held in the UAE and if India plays in the final then the final will be played in UAE but all the other games will be held in Pakistan and the overall tournament hosting rights will belong to Pakistan.

In the event India refuses to tour Pakistan then the PCB will do the same for the 2023 ODI WC and the BCCI will be responsible for hosting Pakistani games in a neutral venue.

fair enough!

The first part will happen.

The second part wont happen.