Who is the best Test batsman in the world today from Asia?

shaz619

Test Star
It could be a batsman from Pakistan, India Srilanka or even Bangladesh :yk

Who do you believe is the undisputed best ? Or would you say there is no clear number one.

Cheteshwar Pujara. Mr dependable. Clutch player. Performs when the chips are down.
Almost every-time when Pujara has performed his team has won the match and series unlike some other batsmen from his side.

I feel Rahane is very good, Azhar is quite underrated as well on this forum. Two blokes that actually know how to play a proper Test innings.

Pujara can only bat in the subcontinent

Atleast he can win his team matches and series in subcontinent. Plus scoring runs on rank turners of India is not that easy. Pujara is currently the best player of spin after Younis Khan.
Also, when was the last time a subcontinent team won overseas (except WI and Zimbawe)? SL in Eng and before that Pak in NZ. Thats just 2 in last 7 years as far as i remember.

Atleast he can win his team matches and series in subcontinent. Plus scoring runs on rank turners of India is not that easy. Pujara is currently the best player of spin after Younis Khan.
Also, when was the last time a subcontinent team won overseas (except WI and Zimbawe)? SL in Eng and before that Pak in NZ. Thats just 2 in last 7 years as far as i remember.

Personally I feel Haris Sohail and Kl Rahul are the best all conditions test batsman in Asia.

I rate both of them very high too. And yes in all conditions, as you said. Looking forward to see them more in test cricket and I hope Haris will soon be at the top.

Very confused about Babar Azam in test cricket. I feel he is in the same mould as KL RAHUL and Haris Sohail in terms of being an all conditions player. Has all the right ingredients; talent, technique, temperament. Never quite understood what he is lacking.

for me rahane because the innings he played at lord which was green pitch

Pujara edges it for now. Kohli and Rahane aren't that far behind. Azhar is also a brilliant test batsmen.

Kohli and Rahane (Kohli needs runs in England and Rahane is susceptible on slow surfaces)
Daylight
Pujara (Didn't score in NZ, Aus and England. Average in county cricket too. Long way to go)
Azhar Ali (Brilliant for a pakistani batsman. Fails too often when the team needs him)

1) Azhar Ali.
2) Cheteshwar Pujara.
3) Virat Kohli.

Most of the Indian fans love pujara.but the fact of the matter is he has to do a lot to be Asia's best test batsman.this guy was a failure in Eng,Aus,Nzl.yes he has a ton in SA.he played county cricket and was strictly average there too.If he didn't perform outside home India needs to give someone else chance.

It could be a batsman from Pakistan, India Srilanka or even Bangladesh :yk

Who do you believe is the undisputed best ? Or would you say there is no clear number one.

There is no clear number one from Aisa in the test format.

Current ranking table for test batsmen are,

1 Steve Smith AUS 936
2 Joe Root ENG 889
3 Kane Williamson NZ 880
4 Cheteshwar Pujara IND 876
5 David Warner AUS 807
6 Virat Kohli IND 806
7 Hashim Amla SA 795
8 Lokesh Rahul IND 761
9 Ajinkya Rahane IND 760
10 Azhar Ali PAK 755

There are 5 batsmen from Asia among the top 10. PPers can argue for one of them. I don't think that there is any undisputed best test batsman right now from Asia.

Pujara in Asia and Rahane outside it. But overall? It's Kohli closely followed by Azhar.

Most of the Indian fans love pujara.but the fact of the matter is he has to do a lot to be Asia's best test batsman.this guy was a failure in Eng,Aus,Nzl.yes he has a ton in SA.he played county cricket and was strictly average there too.If he didn't perform outside home India needs to give someone else chance.

Which Asian batsman has been a success outside Asia? Azhar, Pujara, Kohli and everyone below them have to do much more to be considered all-conditions batsmen.

Which Asian batsman has been a success outside Asia? Mominul Haque until recently before slight break of form he avaraged 60 odd.
So no one at the moment is close to Mominuls great rUn of form of then.
And also as others already stated, Azhar, Pujara, Kohli and everyone below them have to do much more to be considered all-conditions batsmen.

Pujara has done nothing outside Asia. The best is Kohli, followed by Rahane, Azhar and Rahul.

Which Asian batsman has been a success outside Asia?

Rahane by a big margin has been the best Asian batsman outside of Asia in the last few years. He played in variety of conditions and contributed significantly. His first tours of Aus, SA, WI, Eng and NZ. Here are his contributions,

• Aus 399 runs - Avg 57
  • NZ 162 rus - Avg 54
  • SA 209 runs - Avg 69
  • WI 243 runs - avg 121
  • Eng 299 runs avg 33 [ lincluded one of the best knocks in green pitch and resulted in Indian win ]

Rahane has done fantastic in his first tours of all 5 different venues outside of Asia. If he was prolific in his home conditions, then he would have been an undisputed best from Asia over all. He is undisputed best in non-Asian conditions for me.

I don't think it's even debatable.

You are talking about Mominul Haque with 350 runs outside of Asia with average of 29? Not sure if we are talking about the same players here.

Pujara's away test record isn't good enough to be the best, even if he's one of the best.

Kohli's the best from asia even if he's a better ODI batsman. Better away record, more impactful. Though seriously impressive how Rahul has got up in the rankings from such few tests as such a young age, could end up the best of the lot.

Sadly Azhar's the fifth best of the lot. Kohli's better home and away, Rahane's a better away player, Rahul better record and took just a few tests to reach top 10 and Pujara's better consistency at home probably puts him a bit ahead of Azhar.

Part of the reason I want Azhar to open. Azhar can be one of the best openers in the world, and is the best opener from asia. Why settle for him being a very good middle order player, when he can be one of the best in his era opener. While the others might score more than Azhar at a faster rate, Azhar I believe often leads the chance in balls faced, he's extremely good at blunting the new ball making things easier for the players below. Make what would be his weakness to some degree as a middle order bat into a strength as an opener.

Which Asian batsman has been a success outside Asia? Mominul Haque until recently before slight break of form he avaraged 60 odd.
So no one at the moment is close to Mominuls great rUn of form of then.
And also as others already stated, Azhar, Pujara, Kohli and everyone below them have to do much more to be considered all-conditions batsmen.

Man averages 29 away from home. His stats at home are seriously impressive, but dunno when Mominul was ever a success outside of asia. He hasn't even got a century outside of home.

Since no one has had a perfect record, so the margins are very small. But given what they have done so far in the last round of home and away matches, I would rank them as such

1. Virat Kohli - Scored everywhere except England. If he scores in England and has some more impactful innings in the next couple of tours, clear daylight between him and the rest.
2. Ajinkya Rahane - Generally scores in the toughest away games. Needs to be consistent at home.
3. Azhar Ali - Great at home, needs to have more impact fun innings abroad
4. Cheteshwar Pujara - Same as Azhar Ali.

If these players

Pujara's match and series winning 145* in 3rd test against SL on a seaming track where all others failed is better than Kohli's 4 centuries against Aus on flat pattas. None of Kohli's century was fruitful for his team winning the match as the pitches were comparatively much easier and opposition cashed on too.

Luckily followed all the matches in patches. There is more to performance than just cricinfo stats.

Pujara's match and series winning 145* in 3rd test against SL on a seaming track where all others failed is better than Kohli's 4 centuries against Aus on flat pattas. None of Kohli's century was fruitful for his team winning the match as the pitches were comparatively much easier and opposition cashed on too.

Luckily followed all the matches in patches. There is more to performance than just cricinfo stats.

Pitches have been flat in Australia for a while. But which batsman was equal to the task like Kohli match after match?

Thats the point. Austalian pitches are far from being difficult. Even Pakistan players like Azhar (scored 200), Asad (scored 140 odd) and Sarfraz (averaged in 50s) in their last tour. Kohli was better than others comparatively but scoring in Aus on flat pitches is not a benchmark anymore. Hardly a great performance to be rank as best batsman in Asia. Once he plays some impactful innings I will be the first to praise him.

And I agreed to that. But that doesnt mean we can simply discount his 4 centuries, when the best anyone managed was 1 century in their tours. Also, Pujara has done of nothing of note outside Asia, thus including him before Kohli, Rahane and Ali is very difficult.

Kohli scoring 10 crore centuries outside asia in abroad will also never be useful as our bowlers wont take 20 wickets so kohli centuries will never ever be counted fruitful.
you guys have no knowledge of cricket. it takes bowlers to take 20 wickets to win a match. india were only able to take 20 wickets once at lords and we onlg won that match.

Kohli scoring 10 crore centuries outside asia in abroad will also never be useful as our bowlers wont take 20 wickets so kohli centuries will never ever be counted fruitful.
you guys have no knowledge of cricket. it takes bowlers to take 20 wickets to win a match. india were only able to take 20 wickets once at lords and we onlg won that match.

Yes bhaijaan i forgot only you have knowledge :) completely ignored the point I am making in this thread.

Bowling kralo kohli se...because batting wise he wont be able to win matches abroad for india unless our so called bowlers and slip catching start performing abroad.

Since 2016

Overall Record

[table= class: grid, align: center]
[tr][td]Player [/td][td]Mat [/td][td]Runs [/td][td]Avg [/td][td]SR [/td][td]100 [/td][td]50 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]V Kohli (INDIA) [/td][td]19 [/td][td]1664 [/td][td]64 [/td][td]62.6 [/td][td]6 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]CA Pujara (INDIA) [/td][td]19 [/td][td]1687 [/td][td]62.48 [/td][td]47.18 [/td][td]6 [/td][td]8 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]KL Rahul (INDIA) [/td][td]14 [/td][td]1086 [/td][td]57.15 [/td][td]60.16 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]9 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Azhar Ali (PAK) [/td][td]17 [/td][td]1702 [/td][td]54.9 [/td][td]44.05 [/td][td]5 [/td][td]7 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]AM Rahane (INDIA) [/td][td]18 [/td][td]1190 [/td][td]51.73 [/td][td]50.18 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]5 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]S Dhawan (INDIA) [/td][td]7 [/td][td]514 [/td][td]51.4 [/td][td]80.94 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Mushfiqur Rahim (BDESH) [/td][td]10 [/td][td]866 [/td][td]48.11 [/td][td]46.96 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]WP Saha (INDIA) [/td][td]17 [/td][td]745 [/td][td]43.82 [/td][td]48.62 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Shakib Al Hasan (BDESH) [/td][td]9 [/td][td]771 [/td][td]42.83 [/td][td]65.89 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]N Dickwella (SL) [/td][td]8 [/td][td]639 [/td][td]42.6 [/td][td]76.16 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]6 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]RA Jadeja (INDIA) [/td][td]16 [/td][td]663 [/td][td]41.43 [/td][td]69.78 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]7 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Younis Khan (PAK) [/td][td]14 [/td][td]983 [/td][td]39.32 [/td][td]48.37 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]FDM Karunaratne (SL) [/td][td]19 [/td][td]1438 [/td][td]38.86 [/td][td]47.02 [/td][td]4 [/td][td]6 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Tamim Iqbal (BDESH) [/td][td]10 [/td][td]768 [/td][td]38.4 [/td][td]53.89 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]6 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]DM de Silva (SL) [/td][td]10 [/td][td]726 [/td][td]38.21 [/td][td]55.12 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK) [/td][td]14 [/td][td]870 [/td][td]37.82 [/td][td]46.52 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]7 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]LD Chandimal (SL) [/td][td]16 [/td][td]1095 [/td][td]37.75 [/td][td]42.7 [/td][td]4 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]WU Tharanga (SL) [/td][td]10 [/td][td]637 [/td][td]35.38 [/td][td]57.8 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]M Vijay (INDIA) [/td][td]14 [/td][td]778 [/td][td]35.36 [/td][td]44.15 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[/table]

Home/Neutral Record

[tr][td]Player [/td][td]Mat [/td][td]Runs [/td][td]Avg [/td][td]SR [/td][td]100 [/td][td]50 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Azhar Ali (PAK) [/td][td]5 [/td][td]635 [/td][td]70.55 [/td][td]50.07 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]4 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]V Kohli (INDIA) [/td][td]12 [/td][td]1252 [/td][td]65.89 [/td][td]62.5 [/td][td]4 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]CA Pujara (INDIA) [/td][td]13 [/td][td]1316 [/td][td]62.66 [/td][td]47.27 [/td][td]4 [/td][td]8 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]KK Nair (INDIA) [/td][td]6 [/td][td]374 [/td][td]62.33 [/td][td]73.91 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]KL Rahul (INDIA) [/td][td]9 [/td][td]708 [/td][td]50.57 [/td][td]59.19 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]6 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Tamim Iqbal (BDESH) [/td][td]4 [/td][td]401 [/td][td]50.12 [/td][td]51.6 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]LD Chandimal (SL) [/td][td]10 [/td][td]838 [/td][td]46.55 [/td][td]41.32 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]WP Saha (INDIA) [/td][td]10 [/td][td]441 [/td][td]44.1 [/td][td]50.22 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]RA Jadeja (INDIA) [/td][td]13 [/td][td]556 [/td][td]42.76 [/td][td]68.55 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]6 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]N Dickwella (SL) [/td][td]8 [/td][td]639 [/td][td]42.6 [/td][td]76.16 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]6 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Asad Shafiq (PAK) [/td][td]5 [/td][td]381 [/td][td]42.33 [/td][td]51.69 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]DM de Silva (SL) [/td][td]5 [/td][td]376 [/td][td]41.77 [/td][td]58.38 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]FDM Karunaratne (SL) [/td][td]11 [/td][td]901 [/td][td]40.95 [/td][td]45.8 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]BKG Mendis (SL) [/td][td]11 [/td][td]885 [/td][td]40.22 [/td][td]61.07 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]AM Rahane (INDIA) [/td][td]11 [/td][td]718 [/td][td]39.88 [/td][td]50.17 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Sami Aslam (PAK) [/td][td]5 [/td][td]374 [/td][td]37.4 [/td][td]43.84 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]4 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]M Vijay (INDIA) [/td][td]12 [/td][td]771 [/td][td]36.71 [/td][td]44.41 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Sarfraz Ahmed (PAK) [/td][td]5 [/td][td]283 [/td][td]35.37 [/td][td]64.61 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[/table]

Away Record
[tr][td]AM Rahane (INDIA) [/td][td]7 [/td][td]472 [/td][td]94.4 [/td][td]50.21 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]KL Rahul (INDIA) [/td][td]5 [/td][td]378 [/td][td]75.6 [/td][td]62.06 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]S Dhawan (INDIA) [/td][td]6 [/td][td]496 [/td][td]62 [/td][td]83.64 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]CA Pujara (INDIA) [/td][td]6 [/td][td]371 [/td][td]61.83 [/td][td]46.9 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Mushfiqur Rahim (BDESH) [/td][td]6 [/td][td]608 [/td][td]60.8 [/td][td]52.01 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]V Kohli (INDIA) [/td][td]7 [/td][td]412 [/td][td]58.85 [/td][td]62.9 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Shakib Al Hasan (BDESH) [/td][td]5 [/td][td]550 [/td][td]55 [/td][td]73.13 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]R Ashwin (INDIA) [/td][td]7 [/td][td]367 [/td][td]52.42 [/td][td]45.76 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]WU Tharanga (SL) [/td][td]4 [/td][td]295 [/td][td]49.16 [/td][td]58.18 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Azhar Ali (PAK) [/td][td]12 [/td][td]1067 [/td][td]48.5 [/td][td]41.11 [/td][td]4 [/td][td]3 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]WP Saha (INDIA) [/td][td]7 [/td][td]304 [/td][td]43.42 [/td][td]46.48 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Soumya Sarkar (BDESH) [/td][td]5 [/td][td]386 [/td][td]38.6 [/td][td]61.26 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]4 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]FDM Karunaratne (SL) [/td][td]8 [/td][td]537 [/td][td]35.8 [/td][td]49.22 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]4 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK) [/td][td]11 [/td][td]673 [/td][td]35.42 [/td][td]44.74 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]5 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Younis Khan (PAK) [/td][td]12 [/td][td]776 [/td][td]35.27 [/td][td]46.52 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]2 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]DM de Silva (SL) [/td][td]5 [/td][td]350 [/td][td]35 [/td][td]52 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]1 [/td][/tr]
[/table]

Azhar ali and Cheteshwar pujara in the subcontinent.
Root in swinging conditions

Pujara, would be Kohli if you discount England. Kohli is brilliant on every pitch except the English ones.

Specifically to the format Azhar Ali is simply brilliant. Scores heavily and has managed to score outside Asia as well.

It will be so good if we put Pujara's excellence at home + Rahane's brilliance in overseas + Kohli's impact in the team + Rahul's promise all in one batsman! But at least we have all of them in one team... So this is the best team from Asia (at least on paper) to play test cricket at home & away, as they are also backed by decent bowling unit. Hope they will live up to the expectation in upcoming away test series... (Only thing is that the LOI team is messed up so if they under-perform there that can make an impact on test matches as well...)

SRT : VK
SG: Rahul
RD: Pujara
VVS: Rahane

India can build on these players and might win a series in Aus/SA if their bowlers back them up.

SRT : VK
SG: Rahul
RD: Pujara
VVS: Rahane

India can build on these players and might win a series in Aus/SA if their bowlers back them up.

That batting unit was something else, it didn't had any particular weakness like the current ones. They were equally good against both pace and spin. The reason for today's hope is because of the bowling unit and the overall team combination (and the actual most important reason for the hope is the decline/fall in the quality of opposition team today - SA, Australia, England are all relatively weak today not to mention Pakistan if we happen to play them! That Indian team of Fab 4 with their weaker bowling unit would have probably won all the overseas test series today!)

Rahane is the best overseas. He had atleast 3 or 4 bad umpiring decisions abroad. Despite that he did everywhere. He also looks good. He never looked like a fish out of water in any of the series in any country. Also he does well with tail.

Kohli comfortably. The most complete batsman in Asia.

That batting unit was something else, it didn't had any particular weakness like the current ones. They were equally good against both pace and spin. The reason for today's hope is because of the bowling unit and the overall team combination (and the actual most important reason for the hope is the decline/fall in the quality of opposition team today - SA, Australia, England are all relatively weak today not to mention Pakistan if we happen to play them! That Indian team of Fab 4 with their weaker bowling unit would have probably won all the overseas test series today!)

Everything was better before. The quality has come down so much. The way they used to catch the ball. The amazing athleticism. You only needed one fielder for cover and point. The fat guys like Stokes have ruined it all. Fighting and not using two hands and all that.

Bowlers used to swing it 90 degrees. And ofcourse batsmen were good enough to play those. Every team had these great bowlers, that deadly attack of Daryl Tuffey and Chris Cairns. Today's batmen would be playing with their edges even with their 5km bat sizes.

Batting is so easy now that even Nayan Mongia and Chris Martin (yes, the Coldplay singer) would average 70+. The pitches were so tough then, and if not for those brilliant batsmen, we would never have seen 400+ scores then. Not to forget, the bats were 5 mm thick. Totally unforgettable, miss those days man!

Everything was better before. The quality has come down so much. The way they used to catch the ball. The amazing athleticism. You only needed one fielder for cover and point. The fat guys like Stokes have ruined it all. Fighting and not using two hands and all that.

Bowlers used to swing it 90 degrees. And ofcourse batsmen were good enough to play those. Every team had these great bowlers, that deadly attack of Daryl Tuffey and Chris Cairns. Today's batmen would be playing with their edges even with their 5km bat sizes.

Batting is so easy now that even Nayan Mongia and Chris Martin (yes, the Coldplay singer) would average 70+. The pitches were so tough then, and if not for those brilliant batsmen, we would never have seen 400+ scores then. Not to forget, the bats were 5 mm thick. Totally unforgettable, miss those days man!

Yes, I still remember Rahul Dravid's epic series in South Africa where he averaged 200+ with four centuries. What an invincible player. However, Sehwag's epic triple century in England was the stand-out innings of the noughties for me. Whattay knock! He's right, the Fab Four would have won every overseas series that India played today.

Yeah, how can we forget those. Good times!

Pujara, Azhar, and KL

Rahane has been disappointing in last 12 months, averages in 30s.

Pujara has done nothing outside Asia. The best is Kohli, followed by Rahane, Azhar and Rahul.

ROFL Kohli has done nothing except makings centuries after centuries on highways. He is worst of all when it comes to playing on swing tracks.Rahane is ten times better technical player than kohli. KL Rahul has nothing proved in difficult conditions. Azhar and Rahane are best i would say.

What stopped Pujara from scoring on those highways? Kohli scored in Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and at home. Pujara has done nothing outside Asia (except in South Africa).

Did you see Rahul bat in the series against Australia?

What stopped Pujara from scoring on those highways? Kohli scored in Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and at home. Pujara has done nothing outside Asia (except in South Africa).

Did you see Rahul bat in the series against Australia?
You mean his two tests in Australia where he looked like a complete tailender against the short ball? And a century at the SCG where he was given a life thanks to spider cam?

Shikhar Dhawan. The Asian Warner. India need to give him more chances as Test opener.

You mean his two tests in Australia where he looked like a complete tailender against the short ball? And a century at the SCG where he was given a life thanks to spider cam?

No, I don't mean his first series where anyone would look bad. I'm talking about the most recent series against them where Rahul performed on very difficult pitches (for the first two tests).

I wanted to select Azhar Ali. His record proves it. He deserves it. Works so hard.

But then I asked myself one question. Do I want Kohli or Azhar Ali in my test team...........

.....I proceeded to vote for Kohli.

Rahul is a nice guy but he is yet to complete his first tour while others are on their way to complete second tour also.

Top 4 are Kohli, Pujara, Azhar and Rahane in no particular order.

I except the three Indians to surpass Azhar who himself is a very very good test bat but might not surpass Inzy or Younis when he retires.

Why no one has mentioned Murali Vijay?His average might be only 40 but he has played many brilliant knocks so far.People here are overrating Rahane.My top 5:
1 C Pujara
2 Kohli
3 Azhar Ali
4 M Vijay(inconsistent but still underrated)
5 Rahane

Why no one has mentioned Murali Vijay?His average might be only 40 but he has played many brilliant knocks so far.People here are overrating Rahane.My top 5:
1 C Pujara
2 Kohli
3 Azhar Ali
4 M Vijay(inconsistent but still underrated)
5 Rahane

Vijay is at par with Kohli as India's 4th best test batsman now. 1.5 years back he was 2nd after Pujara.

Yup 1.5 yrs ago vijay was 2nd after Pujara,but kohli's stat are hard to ignore now.His avg against top bowling attack(Sa,Aus,Eng,NZ) is 50.8 overall and 48.84 overseas.If i purely judge them by stats then kohli would be easily be no 1 as he has been equally good against top sides both home and away but i haven't judge them by only stats.

I somewhat agree with you that there is not much difference between Vijay and kohli(even though kohli stats are significantly better).Vijay and Azhar has no doubt face much tougher conditions as they are openers and regularly face against New ball bowlers.if vijay would've average around 44-45 instead of 40 then i would've considered him as slightly better test batsman than kohli(who avgs 49).there is not much difference between vijay,Kohli and A Ali but due to their stats i've given benefit of doubt to kohli.

Terrific innings from Pujara recently vs Lanka in testing conditions and under pressure given the batting collapse

Yup 1.5 yrs ago vijay was 2nd after Pujara,but kohli's stat are hard to ignore now.

Bro averages dont tell the whole story. You have to see matches to know in which conditions, match situations and against what kind of bowling the innings was played and how much impact and value the innings had. If you ask me Vijay was better than Kohli even though his average is not good as Kohli. Dont know where the guy is now. Average to Samaraweera ki bhi 49 hai but he is nowehere near to likes of Arvinda who has an avg of 42.

I usually dont comment when i don't see matches or highlights myself but as Pujara is one of my favorite player since u-19 wc 2006, I followed his test career from start and try to watch India matches whenever he is batting and I have time. Thats why you will see me commenting on India matches often :) and in my limited knowledge from what I saw in past Vijay has outperformed Kohli.

Pujara followed by Azhar

Both of these men have the hardest job in test cricket and deserve more credit than they get.

Pujara
Rahane
Azhar
Vijay
Rahul

Test cricket is about performing in difficult conditions and in tough match situations not scoring runs heavily on flat tracks. These are the top5 test batsmen from Asia IMO.