Who should be Pakistan's ODI captain after the 2015 World Cup?

There is no stand out candidate.

Shoaib Malik with a young team sounds good, and to be fair to him, he hasn't been given a consistent run in 2009, and yes I know he's been a failure in the games he's played in.

I personally would make it Fawad Alam, but he doesn't seem to be anywhere near the team now.

The rest? I feel if we go with Shehzad or Umar Akmal, we'll go the Bangladesh root.

PCB have groomed Mohammad Hafeez for the role but if he is not able to clear his bowling action and not able to perform with the bat then we have another crisis waiting for us , a lot of power-mongers will start chiseling their claws. Shoaib Malik has been awful for a long long time and hopefully wont make a comeback. Asad Shafiq has failed continuously in this format. What are the options available to pakistan after Misbah?
Azhar Ali can be a good option but him opening with shehzad will be a nightmare , I believe that he could have scored more 100s than shehzad in odis had he played around the same number of matches. But we cant have these two opening for us.

Does anyone have a name outside of the TTFs?

It should be Fawad alam or sarfaraz..Ideally Fawad is a fighter and he knows the importance of winning and fighting in every match..Due to stupid politics he is not getting selected..

I will make Misbah or Afridi (Afiridi being the 1st Choice) to stay at least for 1 year and groom Babar Azam for the next Captain.

Why do you want to sentence Misbah to another year of punishment? Hasn't the poor guy suffered enough?

His cricket IQ is lower than the Captain of Dadar Union or Shibaji Park. 'll challenge WY & MoYo on Captaincy competence.

He still plays how a modern batsmen should play. Keeps his strike rate high and is not afraid to go for shots.

It should be Fawad alam or sarfaraz..Ideally Fawad is a fighter and he knows the importance of winning and fighting in every match..Due to stupid politics he is not getting selected..

Our decline started in early 2000 when players having no guaranteed place in the team became captain. Sarfraz doesn't deserve to be near this ODI Team (just a 1 dimensional player) & Fawad he will have to cement his place in the team 1st.

Fawad Alam. Should have arguably been captain this world cup, but isn't even playing.

Only youngish guy with a good international record and tons of experience in captaincy in domestic. No one else has that. Even Sarfaz who doesn't regularly captain in domestic I believe anyway, doesn't have a good ODI (or list A record), and tbh handing captaincy to a wicketkeeper is too much responsibility given he's still relatively inexperienced in internationals.

Fawad Alam. Should have arguably been captain this world cup, but isn't even playing.

Only youngish guy with a good international record and tons of experience in captaincy in domestic. No one else has that. Even Sarfaz who doesn't regularly captain in domestic I believe anyway, doesn't have a good ODI (or list A record), and tbh handing captaincy to a wicketkeeper is too much responsibility given he's still relatively inexperienced in internationals.

some members have proposed Junaid Khan. JK is a good option, but a lot of work has to be done on him which is something PCB is allergic to, so the most logical option would be Hafeez ( Blessed in all facets of the game) leading a mediocre team to glory( which ever way one defines it).

Hafeez has practicaly ended his career with his stance against M Amir so i guess it will be a two horse race between Maqsood & (believe it or not) Malik

Maqsood looks like another one of the softy brigade.

Snakes in the PCB will crawl all over him.

We need a strong guy who gets what he wants, at present I do not see anyone in the side who seems capable of doing that.

Sarfaraz maybe..

He still plays how a modern batsmen should play. Keeps his strike rate high and is not afraid to go for shots.

I think absolutely opposite - Maqsood plays his game just what like 35 years ego Zaheer Abbas used to play. Modern cricket is based on athleticism, skill & intelligence. With 5 men inside, the biggest trap is the tendency of manufacturing the boundary- you have to score lots of singles & cashing on loose balls. If someone tries to chase 300 based on boundaries only, 9 out of 10 times his team 'll lose.

The days of Viv Richards or Zaheer Abbas is gone - it's not that they won't have been success starting 35 years later, but I am sure, they were competent enough to adjust their game with contemporary context; Maqsood is just not dynamic enough. Still, 'll be a very good ODI player, particularly if used at 3; but he is just not calculative & strong enough to lead a team like PAK. If appointed, we 'll see someone as naive as Afridi, as soft yes-man like Misbah & as much confused as MoYo - in fact, I am afraid, he 'll lose his batting for if appointed Captain (just like MoHa).

PAK need someone who understands the modern game & can raise under pressure while PCB must back him to run the team - check around, only person left is Malik... may be in 4 years time, Aamir or Babar can be baptized to that level.

all players who are 30+ should be kicked out of odi team permanently ..... young captain and young team..... i would go for Fawad Alam as captain

Malik or Hafeez are good choices. We need a captain who knows what he's doing, and who can actually use some tactics! I won't mind Malik back as long as Younis, Afridi, and Misbah are gone...

It is my considered opinion that a captain has to be educated and i emphasize on education not skill, however having both is a bonus. He needs to understand the game, the life and people.

The education is mostly required for sound analytical skills, personality and maturity. An understanding of the game, is necessary for strategic thinking.

The understanding of highs and lows of life, reading between the lines, the value of hard work and knowing how to get one's self out of hole is also required for a good captain.

A huge part of a captain's job in cricket is man management especially in Pak cricket team.

I would think that Azhar Ali, Umar Amin (if he makes the team), Sami Aslam (when he makes the team) and Hafeez will be good choices.

Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik and Junaid Khan will be absolutely horrible choices and may cause the Pakistan cricket to regress.

Kaptan toh maine hi banana hai :ahmed

Fawad / Azhar/ Malik toh team mein bhi nahi liye :misbah ne :yk2

I think absolutely opposite - Maqsood plays his game just what like 35 years ego Zaheer Abbas used to play. Modern cricket is based on athleticism, skill & intelligence. With 5 men inside, the biggest trap is the tendency of manufacturing the boundary- you have to score lots of singles & cashing on loose balls. If someone tries to chase 300 based on boundaries only, 9 out of 10 times his team 'll lose.

The days of Viv Richards or Zaheer Abbas is gone - it's not that they won't have been success starting 35 years later, but I am sure, they were competent enough to adjust their game with contemporary context; Maqsood is just not dynamic enough. Still, 'll be a very good ODI player, particularly if used at 3; but he is just not calculative & strong enough to lead a team like PAK. If appointed, we 'll see someone as naive as Afridi, as soft yes-man like Misbah & as much confused as MoYo - in fact, I am afraid, he 'll lose his batting for if appointed Captain (just like MoHa).

PAK need someone who understands the modern game & can raise under pressure while PCB must back him to run the team - check around, only person left is Malik... may be in 4 years time, Aamir or Babar can be baptized to that level.

We talking about the fixer Amir?

Oh how the winds of time change...

From disgrace.. to dishonor.. to again playing for Pakistan, and one day captaining Pakistan...

Even Warne was not granted that luxury....

From disgrace.. to dishonor.. to again playing for Pakistan, and one day captaining Pakistan...

I cant even imagine if aamir was present at the casino with moin after the losses or in the night club along with afridi, shehzad.

What would people like basit ali be saying then ?

I think they should bring in a donkey as their captain. The donkey could also bat in the middle order and bowl some useful medium pace.

Warne was made ODI Captain after fixing allegations. He wasn't made Captain probably to reduce pressure on him; also, after Mark Tylor, SWaugh was much senior & already Captain of NSW. When SWaugh was made Captain, ACB 'll never appoint someone his deputy of similar age; so Panta was made SWaugh's deputy & at 23 was made Tasmanian Captain over Boon & few others at least 10 years senior to him. AUS appoints Captain for purpose, doesn't make their Cricket Captain a joke like PCB. Since WW I, AUS has about 16 regular Captains, PAK has more than that this century & some of them in multiple tenure. In last 100 years, all time greats like RR Lindwall, RK Miller, Neil Hervey, AK Davidson, G Mackenzee, DK Lillee, Rod Marsh, M Waugh, G McGrath... were never been appointed even as vice Captain; because their respect in the team was due the player they were, not for being Captain. In 1998, in a match, PAK had 9 players who were past or future PAK Captains ............. since WW II, AUS had 9 Captains in total........

Coming to Aamir, if PAK decides to allow him play, I don't know why he shouldn't be considered for Captaincy. You can't be in between - BCCI has a clear sand on fixing - if you are proved crook, you never play. I think, allowing a fixer to play & them question his appointment as Captain on moral grounds is a double standard.

Personally, I think; once you have served your punishment, you have a fresh start, there shouldn't be any back tracking.

Gave up on Maqsood after his shot against Australia in the third ODI.

Should have been thrown out of the team for at least 3-4 series.

Gave up on Maqsood after his shot against Australia in the third ODI.

Should have been thrown out of the team for at least 3-4 series.

But but but....he has an MBA and can speak decent english :misbah

Say no to Sarfraz Ahmed.

We (Akmal Mafia) will never let that happen InshAllah. :inti

Afridi IS going to come back. Everything in the last few months, the media leak, etc is pointing towards this

Azhar showed great improvement vs. Australia/New Zealand. He had a slump in 2013, but came back in emphatic fashion which is the sign of a quality player, in spite of people wanting him to be dropped for good, an idea no sane person has ever entertained, because Azhar has always been a good Test batsman with excellent technique against the new ball.

He didnt show any improvement. Same hundreds at 35 SR while being a no.3 bat. When the time came to do something flopped as usual.
As for him being dropped, majority of people, you included wanted to replace him with Haris at the start of Aus series.

One good series and all of a sudden he is the next best thing since sliced bread.

If anyone has shown improvement/promise its been Shehzad and Sarfraz.Three hundreds each in their first test year.Sarfraz scored his at a SR of 80 and Shehzad has the lowest score of 130 odd(Thats what you call emphatic).

One of the chief delusions these days is that Shehzad is the answer to our opening problems and we have unearthed a quality batsman. This guy is nothing against the moving ball, and is as much of an opener as Hafeez is.

Yet he averages 45 in SA and NZ with a SR of 85(two tons also). How mediocre vs the new ball and must be kicked out.

That Azhar and Asad wont be able to ever acheive this is another story.

Come the away tours of 2016 and he will be exposed brutally.

Lets see. If he manages to get even a single century on each of those tours, it will be miles better than what both Azhar and Asad acheived on their first tours.
If you call that exposed, I wonder what will you call the outings those two had.

Azhar is comfortably the best batsman against the new ball in Pakistan and he will be a consistent run scorer everywhere. Yes his strike rotation is not good, but it can't be worse than Shehzad whose SR for the first 50 runs hovers around 65 and consumes 70% dots in PP overs. It can't get worse than that.

No, Azhar is not the best player of the new ball. He can only keep it out, ask him to score against the new ball and he is all at sea.

His strike rotation is worse than Shehzad. Its pretty obvious if you watch them play.

I've watched him the Pentangular Cups and he batted superbly and showed flair as well. I won't be judgemental and pass my verdict without giving him a fair chance, because I do think that he plenty of potential.

Azhar has potential?? To be what exactly?? He can't score fast to save his life(no power hitting abilities), is mediocre against spin and horrible when it comes strike rotation as well. Which means he can never catch up unlike Shehzad and Misbah.
And lets not forget he is 30 already.

Its funny how domestic stats are used to defend certain favourites, yet people are turning a blind eye to the fact that he averages 50 in LA. Apparently he is not good enough after just 14 games where he averages 41.

And what about the SR??

Yes pathetic SR, but 14 games in 5 years is no sample - you can make a case for Shafiq being a proven failure in ODIs (I disagree personally, its more of a mental block in my view and there is still time for him to come good) even though he too has a LA average of 50, but he has played many matches.

Shafiq can come good, Azhar can come good, Amin can come good but Shehzad can't?? Despite him having a way better record than the three of them combined??

Shafiq, the more he plays the worse his record gets(currently the worst ever, even beating YK); same will be the case with Azhar yet they will come good.
BUT shehzad who has consistently gotten better (His average and SR went up from 25 to 35 and 64 to 73 in one year) won't??

Azhar hasn't had much of an opportunity.

And it should stay that way.

Anyhow, I commend you for showing utmost faith in Shehzad who will always remain a mediocre batsman and has been mediocre at every level he has played, barring junior. He has similar domestic stats to Umar Amin for crying out loud, who is supposed to suck in domestic cricket.

Shehzad averages around 45 in domestic FC as an opener something Amin and co can only dream of.

Shehzad's only problem is his lack of strike rotation. A skill than can easily be picked up. He has everthing else going for him( hunger to score big, has all the shots, runs around the world and perhaps the most mentally strong bat in the team).

If he can overcome that he can become a top ODI batsman.

[MENTION=132855]Arsal_AK[/MENTION]

Sarfraz and Shehzad's form in the UAE series represent false hopes, because its not a true reflection of their quality. Sarfraz batted like Dhoni did in his peak on subcontinent pitches, but in truth he is a Rahim/Ramdin calibre player.

Shehzad is an average opener, who cannot handle swing and seam. Even Hafeez averaged 47 in Tests in 2012 before he averaged 7 in South Africa. Take Shehzad's average with a barrel of salt.

His attitude sucks which means he will never be able to fulfil his potential. When you are not half as good as you think you are, you will not progress.

Azhar, Asad and Amin have good attitude and are level headed. They will make the most of their abilities if they are given a consistent run.

Like I said, Azhar's strike rotation in ODIs can't be worse than Shehzad, but he's going to score more runs because he's a better player. Yes he's not the most attacking player, but his defensive technique against the new ball is best in Pakistan easily. Its a shame that you don't rate it. He hardly gets out cheaply.

As far as Shehzad's domestic statistics are concerned, do the math yourself.

Averages 47 in Tests and 42 in FC including his Test average. Take his FC average in isolation and it'll probably drop to 39-40.

In LA, he averages around 37. These figures are hardly different to Amin's, who hasn't been given a decent run in any format in spite of having a better technique and attitude.

Shafiq hasn't justified his selection in ODIs I agree, but its a mystery why. Azhar on the other hand has had limited opportunity, so you can't chastise him for his SR.

If its still 71 after 60 ODIs, you can say that he's not good enough for this format.

Delusional to think that Shehzad's strike rotation will improve when it hasn't in 6 years under three different captains. He's simply not good enough so throw him out now instead of persisting with him and see him grow into Pakistan's Upul Tharanga with the most despicable attitude.

We have seen the best of him - 1 ton in 10 games, and 9 match-losing knocks.

If you think it is good enough to move forward with, that's your prerogative, but I don't agree.

I nominate three candidates as my top picks for ODI captaincy (in order):

- Malik

- Shafiq

- Azhar

:inti

I nominate three candidates as my top picks for ODI captaincy (in order):

- Malik

- Shafiq

- Azhar

:inti

you gave up on maqsood after his one shot against australia but you support azhar and more importantly asad shafiq who is a proven failure in ODIs?

maqsood has more match winning knocks in his short career than asad or azhar in their entire careers. and yes he too has not been given a consistent run at one position.

Asad shafiq's technique is over rated so much that its funny. In ODIs, where he has to score at a decent pace, his technique goes missing after he 'takes his time to get set'. truth is he only looks good while getting set and cant score fast and hence the pathetic stats that he holds in ODIs.

azhar is better than Asad in limited overs but not by much. atleast malik has something to show from 10 years ago.

Haris is a hundred times better bat than Azhar. Already has bettered Azhar's ODI career and soon will be the case in tests as well.

As for playing Steyn, he will be okay. In the warm-up he was playing Anderson with utmost ease.

on what basis? he'll fail in test cricket. you know why? because any captain worth a salt will simply ask a bowler to bowl slanting deliveries outside the off stump with a bit of nibble. Haris being an offside only hack will either hit it straight to the loaded offside field or get caught in the offside or in the slips. We'll see some nice 20's or 30's but thats about it.

Azhar has a proven record in the hardest form of the game. He's adapted and changed his game slightly too. Has great temprament and can easily adapt to the frivolous format! He's a must going forward as is fawad. What azhar can provide us is that guy up top who can help get our hitters ready for a blitz.

I totally agree with [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] in his previous post. Spot on, [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] jees looks like your off your meds today.

But coming back to shezad, you know I'm starting to get convinced by [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]s argument. He's starting to worry me.

you gave up on maqsood after his one shot against australia but you support azhar and more importantly asad shafiq who is a proven failure in ODIs?

maqsood has more match winning knocks in his short career than asad or azhar in their entire careers. and yes he too has not been given a consistent run at one position.

Asad shafiq's technique is over rated so much that its funny. In ODIs, where he has to score at a decent pace, his technique goes missing after he 'takes his time to get set'. truth is he only looks good while getting set and cant score fast and hence the pathetic stats that he holds in ODIs.

azhar is better than Asad in limited overs but not by much. atleast malik has something to show from 10 years ago.

annnnnd thats why many on PP should simply be ignored. That comment alone just made the rest of your post worthless!

:facepalm: i agree with your statement that some posters should be ignored. one reason for that is many here have comprehension problems.

did you care to read the post i was replying to? the poster had chosen malik as one of the three captaincy candidates. so while comparing the three, i just mentioned that him choosing malik can be understood as atleast malik has something to show compared to asad and azhar who have done nothing in ODIs. it was his opinion which i was trying to understand and give legs to.
personally i believe malik shouldn't be given another chance but knowing PCB , he will be back.

Not the biggest fan of who I am going to name but he has a brain, potential vision, has sense and can talk well. Also in comparison to anyone else, he is a better candidate. Shoaib Malik for me with Fawad Alam as vice captain.

Man Malik can't even make the side based on his batting, let alone captain it.

I'm hoping against hope that Maqsood has a stellar performance in the remaining matches and they chose him as captain. Might even curtail his brain-fades once he is given responsibility.

I say that immediately after the World Cup ends, we let Professor take over the reins for a while until his Vice Captain, who is going to be the actual replacement is properly groomed to become the captain.

None of the youngsters really seem to be captaincy material for me but Sohaib Maqsood seems like the best choice. Akmal and Shehzad are far too paindu to be captains ever in their lifetime and whoever becomes the captain, he will be receiving plenty of guidance from Hafeez who has captained our ODI side and been the regular T20 captain.

I say that immediately after the World Cup ends, we let Professor take over the reins for a while until his Vice Captain, who is going to be the actual replacement is properly groomed to become the captain.

None of the youngsters really seem to be captaincy material for me but Sohaib Maqsood seems like the best choice. Akmal and Shehzad are far too paindu to be captains ever in their lifetime and whoever becomes the captain, he will be receiving plenty of guidance from Hafeez who has captained our ODI side and been the regular T20 captain.

I for one have a bad feeling that Shehzad will be the Afridi of the future, always disrupting the team's unity and squabbling to get the captaincy.

Has Maqsood captained before? He lacks intelligence IMO. The guy plays shots in situation were a normal batsmen would not play a shot.

I'd go for Malik, once he proves it with the bat. Once YK is gone, either Azhar or Fawad should come in - they are a candidate too.

Ok first off why should a player who hasnt scored a fifty since God knows when, who hasn't played for Pakistan since God knows when and who has been involved in infighting and mismanagement in the past be allowed to become captain again? why? On what basis? we hear about merit and selection on this forum alot but then we listen to stupidity like this. No wonder we get what we deserve!

Malik should not be anywhere near the squad, he is a nothing player. neither a good allrounder or a bowler or a bastman. Gully t20 cricketer. As for his genius cuptaany, other than a successful 2007 t20 world cup what great karnamay did he do? Nothing other than drooping his shoulders and bending his topi to Dhoni. A weak uninspiring captain who cant keep his place in the side.

Also why sohaib maqsood? on what basis? has he captained before? has he got an ODI century? how about a test century? oh ok how about actually staying on the crease for more than 50 balls? I mean he completley flapped it in the India match. Would be a disaster to have him as a cuptaan.

Ultimatley the following players are our choices like it or not:

Hafeez. (Safe option can steady the ship and has done a reasonably competent job in T20 before. Players will respect him and there will be some continuity. Felt he had some good ideas.)

Azhar Ali. ( probably one of our best current test players. Has a good temprament and also has captained recently. I think he's matured alot from 4 years ago so could be groomed)

Sarfraz. ( A passionate, patriot, with fire in his belly. Has captained the youngsters in the past to a world cup and if he can keep performing a worthy candidate)

Fawad ( if he can be selected has played some good innings, shows responsibility, can fight till the last, a goodish fielder and looks like he can inspire with his form. Another worthy candidate although I dont know what his cuptanny experience is like)

And that's it. There are no other worthy candidates. Junaid cant keep fit enough, wahab is useless at his day job, and Ajmal is nearing retirement.

My suggestion is we give it to Hafeez and appoint his successor as VC. Make them both cuptaan and VC for a while before newbie takes over a year or two before the next world cup.

Well the dismissal against Australia was the tipping point. I've seen Maqsood throw his wicket away time and time again and I don't think he's going to learn from it.

Seems to be Umar 2.0, and 6 years down the road, people will have the same complaints. Both will blow hot n' cold and give false hopes. In spite of bursting onto the scene in flamboyant fashion, they have hardly progressed.

Azhar Ali first need to prove his batting in ODI. We can't so many have tuk tuk batsman. Look at Ireland, Zimbabwe, UAE. They scored 280+ in every single game.

Azhar showed great improvement vs. Australia/New Zealand. He had a slump in 2013, but came back in emphatic fashion which is the sign of a quality player, in spite of people wanting him to be dropped for good, an idea no sane person has ever entertained, because Azhar has always been a good Test batsman with excellent technique against the new ball.

One of the chief delusions these days is that Shehzad is the answer to our opening problems and we have unearthed a quality batsman. This guy is nothing against the moving ball, and is as much of an opener as Hafeez is.

Come the away tours of 2016 and he will be exposed brutally.

Azhar is comfortably the best batsman against the new ball in Pakistan and he will be a consistent run scorer everywhere. Yes his strike rotation is not good, but it can't be worse than Shehzad whose SR for the first 50 runs hovers around 65 and consumes 70% dots in PP overs. It can't get worse than that.

I've watched him the Pentangular Cups and he batted superbly and showed flair as well. I won't be judgemental and pass my verdict without giving him a fair chance, because I do think that he plenty of potential.

Its funny how domestic stats are used to defend certain favourites, yet people are turning a blind eye to the fact that he averages 50 in LA. Apparently he is not good enough after just 14 games where he averages 41.

Yes pathetic SR, but 14 games in 5 years is no sample - you can make a case for Shafiq being a proven failure in ODIs (I disagree personally, its more of a mental block in my view and there is still time for him to come good) even though he too has a LA average of 50, but he has played many matches.

Azhar hasn't had much of an opportunity.

Anyhow, I commend you for showing utmost faith in Shehzad who will always remain a mediocre batsman and has been mediocre at every level he has played, barring junior. He has similar domestic stats to Umar Amin for crying out loud, who is supposed to suck in domestic cricket.

HAHAHA!! Yasir Shah 2 games!! Lol- Funny guy

I happen to watch domestic cricket matches and tend to know a thing or two about the players before they debut. Of course you can't predict how a player will fare in international cricket because its a different ball game altogether, but Yasir has never struck me as a Limited Overs bowler.

He's very quick through the air and lacks variations. In Tests, he's more useful because he can bowl a persistent line and length and play with the batsman's patience. In ODIs, he doesn't have that luxury and when he's attacked, he has no plan B. Same thing is likely to happen against good batsmen at Test level..

Should have been selected in Tests in 2012. We persisted with the useless Rehman for too long. With Ajmal darting from the other end, he could have been quite successful.

The reason why he has been picked is because he's a good squad option. Excellent fielder and an energetic character - a good individual to have in the dressing room, but he doesn't have a long-term future in ODIs.

I would go for Ahmed Shehzad.

He is guaranteed to play in all formats of the game and has aggressivenes that is required in the modern game. He is very young and should have many years ahead of him.

Azhar Ali will be a Misbah 2.0 and is not guaranteed a place in the ODI team anyway. Same goes for Sarfraz who has struggled in ODI's and I get the feeling the Umer Akmal is going to get dropped after the WC too.

Haris sohail could also be a good choice.

I for one have a bad feeling that Shehzad will be the Afridi of the future, always disrupting the team's unity and squabbling to get the captaincy.

On what basis do you say this? A few media reports?

From what I have heard, he is one of the hardest working players in training and is one of our best batsman and fielders right now and does not mindlessly slog and throw away his wicket like afridi does..

He is not going to another afridi - shehzad has already cemented his place in all formats of the game whilst the same could never be said of afridi throughout his career.

I happen to watch domestic cricket matches and tend to know a thing or two about the players before they debut. Of course you can't predict how a player will fare in international cricket because its a different ball game altogether, but Yasir has never struck me as a Limited Overs bowler.

He's very quick through the air and lacks variations. In Tests, he's more useful because he can bowl a persistent line and length and play with the batsman's patience. In ODIs, he doesn't have that luxury and when he's attacked, he has no plan B. Same thing is likely to happen against good batsmen at Test level..

Should have been selected in Tests in 2012. We persisted with the useless Rehman for too long. With Ajmal darting from the other end, he could have been quite successful.

The reason why he has been picked is because he's a good squad option. Excellent fielder and an energetic character - a good individual to have in the dressing room, but he doesn't have a long-term future in ODIs.

One rule for one and one for another. Always a justification. I will take Shane warnes view.
Sure he bowls too quick but with the right mentoring could develop into something a lot better. He seems to have the right attitude for the game.
Wouldn't make the eleven if Hafeez was around but should be playing the remaining group games.

One rule for one and one for another. Always a justification. I will take Shane warnes view.
Sure he bowls too quick but with the right mentoring could develop into something a lot better. He seems to have the right attitude for the game.
Wouldn't make the eleven if Hafeez was around but should be playing the remaining group games.

Of course its up to you, but don't be disappointed later one when he doesn't make it.

Pakistanis love to set themselves up for disappointment.

I won't be surprised of Afridi takes back his retirement just to captain the ODI side.
Anyway Fawad, Haris or Malik (yes I said Shoaib Malik) will be a good choice.

My vote for Hafeez, only for LOIs and if he somehow comes good, knowing PCB credentials he will be made captain for Test matches for sure after Misbah retires. :facepalm

Mian Malik should be our next ODI Captain. Only he can save our future now.

He knows the art of grooming younger guys :haris

Of course its up to you, but don't be disappointed later one when he doesn't make it.

Pakistanis love to set themselves up for disappointment.

Do u not feel that after being selected in the first game he should have been given a run of 3 or 4 games. My expectations are well in check. I'm expecting a battle v Zimbabwe.

He will do well against weak teams.

Some people wanting Hafeez as captain? :facepalm:

1) Hes still banned as a bowler so as a batsmen alone hes not worth his place in the side
2) Hes a pretty mediocre batsmen and not someone who will lead from the front
3) In 4 years time Hafeez aint exactly going to be a spring chicken interms of age etc... and i doubt he will improve much as a player in next 4 years.

Time to get rid of all the dead wood after world cup and make a fresh start!

Who knows Hafeez may grow as captain if he has a young team. Him and Haris would be my 5th n 6th bowlers in england world cup. But age is a factor and before he should be clear we are looking for a captain for a world cup cycle or not. Should bat in the middle somewhere.

Ok first off why should a player who hasnt scored a fifty since God knows when, who hasn't played for Pakistan since God knows when and who has been involved in infighting and mismanagement in the past be allowed to become captain again? why? On what basis? we hear about merit and selection on this forum alot but then we listen to stupidity like this. No wonder we get what we deserve!

Malik should not be anywhere near the squad, he is a nothing player. neither a good allrounder or a bowler or a bastman. Gully t20 cricketer. As for his genius cuptaany, other than a successful 2007 t20 world cup what great karnamay did he do? Nothing other than drooping his shoulders and bending his topi to Dhoni. A weak uninspiring captain who cant keep his place in the side.

Also why sohaib maqsood? on what basis? has he captained before? has he got an ODI century? how about a test century? oh ok how about actually staying on the crease for more than 50 balls? I mean he completley flapped it in the India match. Would be a disaster to have him as a cuptaan.

Ultimatley the following players are our choices like it or not:

Hafeez. (Safe option can steady the ship and has done a reasonably competent job in T20 before. Players will respect him and there will be some continuity. Felt he had some good ideas.)

Azhar Ali. ( probably one of our best current test players. Has a good temprament and also has captained recently. I think he's matured alot from 4 years ago so could be groomed)

Sarfraz. ( A passionate, patriot, with fire in his belly. Has captained the youngsters in the past to a world cup and if he can keep performing a worthy candidate)

Fawad ( if he can be selected has played some good innings, shows responsibility, can fight till the last, a goodish fielder and looks like he can inspire with his form. Another worthy candidate although I dont know what his cuptanny experience is like)

And that's it. There are no other worthy candidates. Junaid cant keep fit enough, wahab is useless at his day job, and Ajmal is nearing retirement.

My suggestion is we give it to Hafeez and appoint his successor as VC. Make them both cuptaan and VC for a while before newbie takes over a year or two before the next world cup.

Thank you for providing the most sensible post in this thread.

I'm amazed how people are welcoming that two-bit cricketer back for simply zero credibility. The guy who
- forfeited a domestic game on his tantrum only
- have worse avg and S/R then YK in last 5 years (that says about his performance)
- had a public outburst against a teammate Yousuf. Have called him manufacturing fault, video available on youtube
- have a long history of infighting and mastermind of the whole oath-taking scene

I simply cant believe he has some fans left after all of his antics on and off the field.

Some people wanting Hafeez as captain? :facepalm:

1) Hes still banned as a bowler so as a batsmen alone hes not worth his place in the side
2) Hes a pretty mediocre batsmen and not someone who will lead from the front
3) In 4 years time Hafeez aint exactly going to be a spring chicken interms of age etc... and i doubt he will improve much as a player in next 4 years.

Time to get rid of all the dead wood after world cup and make a fresh start!

Hafeez is a good option for many reason

1. Hafeez was more likely to clear his bowling action than Ajmal 1 month ago. He missed the chance due to injury but I'm still certain he can start bowling again
2. Despite of all criticism on his batting, he still is our best batsman in last 5 years. Even last year, he has done better than Misbah/Umar but he always gets criticism for being an opener. He is FTB, he is not Sehwag but still a solid option at the start. And he gets centuries which are a rarity among our batsmen.
3. The captain doesnt have to be appointed till the next WC. He can take control of 1-2 years while grooming a Sarfraz/Fawad as his vice
2. Has been captain/vice captain for last 2-3 years and shares good rapport with team management and PCB.