Who will have a more disputed, tainted and despicable legacy: Justice Munir, Qazi Faez Isa or Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhary?

Who has a more controversial and tainted legacy?

The Bald Eagle

Unfortunately, the annals of legal history of Pakistan are filled with many controversial and unjust decisions. These decisions not only had despicable effects on the history of Pakistan but also brought bad name to the authors of such judgements. For instance Maulvi Tameezudin Case, Dosso Case, Arsalan Iftikhar Case, PTI bat symbol case are few to name. So in your opinion which of the following judge of the Superior Court has a much controversial and bad legacy.

1. Justice Munir
2. Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhary
3. Justice Qazi Faez Isa
4. Justice Saqib Nisar

The cowards aren't even confident in their rigging skills. They're pulling all the strings just to try to make frauds like PMLN and PPP competitive.

Let's see how far these leaches want to take things come the elections.
I can remember people saying Qazi would show his true colours about being anti establishment but his true colours were always clear to us. The pathetic guy is a mafia man, a man that couldn't explain his millions in London, sits as a Qazi. What a loser

I can remember people saying Qazi would show his true colours about being anti establishment but his true colours were always clear to us. The pathetic loser is a mafia man, a man that couldn't explain his millions in London, sits as a Qazi. What a loser
So bro do you agree with Cyril Almeida's above tweet?

I had no respect for Isa, for me he made a deal to save his job over the money trail and we know now why. Cyril has only now realised what we knew 3 years ago. The Nooras told us many times that Isa was part of the London plan

Sorely disappointed by his decision but yep it was no surprise. He has a proven bias against Imran Khan and PTI. The upcoming elections would be nothing but joke now.

@Bewal Express do cast your vote too bro.

Sorely disappointed by his decision but yep it was no surprise. He has a proven bias against Imran Khan and PTI. The upcoming elections would be nothing but joke now.

@Bewal Express do cast your vote too bro.
@Mamoon said that Qazi was appointed to finish IK. Soon they will announce the death penalty and Qazi will try to play God. PK can't be saved through constitutional means.

Qazi is bitter because he wanted to be seen as a great Jurist. But this decision confirms what we knew, a crook that a made a deal to save his bacon. The Qazi needs to realise that neither Munir or NS are some special being and the public know exactly why we hated him so much

After such cogent and special case representation by Barrister Ali Zafar PTI would have retained bat but as they say when a judge has already made up his mind then there was no need of such drama today. Thank God the proceedings were shown live on tv.

I believe that for the past five or six decades, we haven't witnessed a reliable and merit based Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP). Every government has had its own Chief Justice to gain favors.

yep, it's bitter but true. Judiciary has become too polarized

The name that comes to my mind when I talk about honest and merit based judges in the history of Pakistan is Alvin Robert Cornelius.

Under IK we had Khosa who had relations in the PML, we had Bandiyal who had relations in the PML, Can you tell me how IK got any benefit from these CJPs. Saqib Nisar was also NS Lawyer.

Justice Khosa had relations with NS or IK?

Lol what is an independent CJP going to do?

The Supreme Court ruled that the Punjab Assembly elections were to be held in April May 2023 but the federal government blatantly defied the orders and they told the SC what are you going to do about it? We control the police, army, jo karna hai karlo.

Which big foreign investor is going to invest his money in a country where even the Supreme Court is impotent.

People who left Pakistan for greener pastures were and are wise. I know a lot of my friends, colleagues, college and school class fellows who are currently living in Pakistan who wish they had taken steps to move out of Pakistan ages ago

O really I didnt know that. Do know about Mr Bandial whose son was son in law of N league Late MNA Pervaiz Malik.
But Justice Khosa was a good man. He feared Allah and saw through Bajwa and forced the vote on extensions but IK and many of us didnt see what CJP saw about Bajwa and the gathering cloud which came to its fruition today under this crook. I apologise to him for doubting his motives because at the time i was very critical of his decision

Lol what is an independent CJP going to do?

The Supreme Court ruled that the Punjab Assembly elections were to be held in April May 2023 but the federal government blatantly defied the orders and they told the SC what are you going to do about it? We control the police, army, jo karna hai karlo.

Which big foreign investor is going to invest his money in a country where even the Supreme Court is impotent.

People who left Pakistan for greener pastures were and are wise. I know a lot of my friends, colleagues, college and school class fellows who are currently living in Pakistan who wish they had taken steps to move out of Pakistan ages ago
This.
Who will trust their kids future to a country where the CJP is corrupt, where the mafia control every aspect and the establishment do as they please. Which Foreign or local investor trust their money is safe in a country where being on the wrong side of the prefiling wind means you family can be kidnapped and your business can be smashed to pieces

But Justice Khosa was a good man. He feared Allah and saw through Bajwa and forced the vote on extensions but IK and many of us didnt see what CJP saw about Bajwa and the gathering cloud which came to its fruition today under this crook. I apologise to him for doubting his motives because at the time i was very critical of his decision
He was right about Bajwa and he was right on Mr Qazi too. The reference against him came at the end of Mr Khosa tenure. It's pity we lost Mr Ijaz ul Ahsan for the CJ like Qazi Faez Isa.

He was a good man. Thats difference between people that fear Allah and hypocrites like Isa

Qazi is bitter because he wanted to be seen as a great Jurist. But this decision confirms what we knew, a crook that a made a deal to save his bacon. The Qazi needs to realise that neither Munir or NS are some special being and the public know exactly why we hated him so much
A country of 220 million people, not one is capable of taking out this judge…
This is what international journalists felt about the decision last night. Do you agree?

Even anti PTI journalists are bashing CJ now.

The Hasnat guy is Qazis biggest fan boy and boot polisher and even he has finally realised that Qazi is a crook. I am not sure why he is surprised because we have been told by Nooras for a year that this was a plan.

Initially I thought Qazi was being dragged unnecessarily in 2021 now I feel he should have been sacked long ago. Unfortunately a disgrace for the institution.

A guy that couldn't provide a money trail for millions of £ and remember these are only the known amounts and then lies about it should never have been any sort of Judge, never mind a CJP. The fact that Nooras told us that he was part of the plan and would do as told ,should be an eternal sense of shame of embarrassment for the pathetic crook

Pity that We have already lost Justice Mazahar Ali Naqvi and jstc Ijaz ul Ahsan because of this CJ and now it appears he is after jstc Muneeb Akhter too.

@Major , @Rana,@Arzy8 and @RidiculousMan .Read OP and share your views. Especially after latest decision of SC.
Brother before I make any comment,

Can you please tell me (neutrally), how does the banning of a bat logo hinder a political party’s manifesto in elections? I don’t understand the intricate details of Pakistani politics as such…please explain this to me.

Brother before I make any comment,

Can you please tell me (neutrally), how does the banning of a bat logo hinder a political party’s manifesto in elections? I don’t understand the intricate details of Pakistani politics as such…please explain this to me.
Yep bro sure, the thing is without a common symbol by the members of a political party it would be too difficult for ppl to distinguish who is the actual candidate of a party and who is impersonator. This way there vote tally will get divided between different candidates and in turn will benefit rival parties.

Plus the most important thing even if a candidate does get elected with PTI’s support he would not be under any obligation to be part of the PTI party later. It means the establishment could sway the winning candidates thru threats to change their loyalties and switch parties after elections. So practically PTI has got extinct as a party and only individuals candidates with their backings would take part in election with no guarantee of being eventual party of the party even after winning the election on PTI’s good will.

Yep bro sure, the thing is without a common symbol by the members of a political party it would be too difficult for ppl to distinguish who is the actual candidate of a party and who is impersonator. This way there vote tally will get divided between different candidates and in turn will benefit rival parties.

Plus the most important thing even if a candidate does get elected with PTI’s support he would not be under any obligation to be part of the PTI party later. It means the establishment could sway the winning candidates thru threats to change their loyalties and switch parties after elections. So practically PTI has got extinct as a party and only individuals candidates with their backings would take part in election with no guarantee of being eventual party of the party even after winning the election on PTI’s good will.
Ok…pretty much in line with what I read here and there.

So my 2nd question is, how did the Supreme Court of one region (KPK) approve PTI to contest with a uniform symbol? Why does there seem to be a trend of PTI’s main support coming from this region only?

I live in the UK and follow UK politics quite closely.

I dont know who our CJ is here ( do we even have one) or our COAS or DG MI5.

Why do we all know Pakistans

Ok…pretty much in line with what I read here and there.

So my 2nd question is, how did the Supreme Court of one region (KPK) approve PTI to contest with a uniform symbol? Why does there seem to be a trend of PTI’s main support coming from this region only?
The taking of the symbol means that the PTI is banned. The reason they went Peshawar was that every else the reps were getting arrested and their houses getting raided to intimidate them.
The corrupt Qazi knew this but pretended to play dumb. He was humiliated when the PTI had to tell the law but the idiot had to stay with his handlers. Faisal vawda had told months ago that this would happen, how did he know when no case was even registered and the Nooras told us that this was the London plan.

I live in the UK and follow UK politics quite closely.

I dont know who our CJ is here ( do we even have one) or our COAS or DG MI5.

Why do we all know Pakistans
Bcoz Pakistan unfortunately is still a colony of the servants of British.

Will CJ Isa finally give relief to PTI?

After depriving the PTI of its election symbol, the Supreme Court is going to take up today the party’s petition seeking contempt proceedings against authorities, including the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), for violating its order about providing a level playing field to the party.

However, PTI supporters are depressed after the court’s Saturday ruling, with one section within the party urging the PTI legal team not to attend the hearing.

Interestingly, the same bench that restored the ECP's decision regarding the withdrawal of PTI's election symbol is hearing the contempt matter. Led by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJ) Qazi Faez Isa, the bench comprises Justice Muhammad Ali Mazhar and Justice Musarrat Hilali.

Sources indicate that the PTI has yet to submit its written response to the ECP and Punjab government’s replies. Both respondents have rejected the PTI’s claim that their party is being persecuted.

Sardar Latif Khosa is representing the PTI in this case. The sources revealed that PTI legal minds have yet to finalize their legal strategy after the Saturday order.

CJ Qazi Faez Isa is facing severe criticism on account of Saturday's verdict. PTI lawyers have always faced a tough time in the court of Justice Isa. Justice Isa discussed the PTI's 2014 marathon sit-in in the Faizabad Dharna case judgment, issued in February 2019.

Following this judgment, the PTI challenged the case verdict, while the party-led government filed a presidential reference against the judge, accusing him of financial misconduct.

While the Supreme Judicial Council was holding proceedings on the misconduct complaint, PTI supporters were running a malicious campaign against Justice Isa and his family members, apparently at the behest of the security establishment, according to some analysts.

During the term of CJ Gulzar Ahmed, Justice Isa had taken notice of former prime minister Imran Khan’s participation in a lawyers’ convention organized by the PTI’s legal wing in Islamabad.

However, in February 2021, the apex court ruled that Justice Isa should not hear cases involving Imran Khan, who was serving as the prime minister then.

Source : The Express Tribune

Will CJ Isa finally give relief to PTI?

After depriving the PTI of its election symbol, the Supreme Court is going to take up today the party’s petition seeking contempt proceedings against authorities, including the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), for violating its order about providing a level playing field to the party.

However, PTI supporters are depressed after the court’s Saturday ruling, with one section within the party urging the PTI legal team not to attend the hearing.

Interestingly, the same bench that restored the ECP's decision regarding the withdrawal of PTI's election symbol is hearing the contempt matter. Led by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJ) Qazi Faez Isa, the bench comprises Justice Muhammad Ali Mazhar and Justice Musarrat Hilali.

Sources indicate that the PTI has yet to submit its written response to the ECP and Punjab government’s replies. Both respondents have rejected the PTI’s claim that their party is being persecuted.

Sardar Latif Khosa is representing the PTI in this case. The sources revealed that PTI legal minds have yet to finalize their legal strategy after the Saturday order.

CJ Qazi Faez Isa is facing severe criticism on account of Saturday's verdict. PTI lawyers have always faced a tough time in the court of Justice Isa. Justice Isa discussed the PTI's 2014 marathon sit-in in the Faizabad Dharna case judgment, issued in February 2019.

Following this judgment, the PTI challenged the case verdict, while the party-led government filed a presidential reference against the judge, accusing him of financial misconduct.

While the Supreme Judicial Council was holding proceedings on the misconduct complaint, PTI supporters were running a malicious campaign against Justice Isa and his family members, apparently at the behest of the security establishment, according to some analysts.

During the term of CJ Gulzar Ahmed, Justice Isa had taken notice of former prime minister Imran Khan’s participation in a lawyers’ convention organized by the PTI’s legal wing in Islamabad.

However, in February 2021, the apex court ruled that Justice Isa should not hear cases involving Imran Khan, who was serving as the prime minister then.

Corrupt Isa isn't following the law or the constitution, he is following the orders from Pindi

PTI's legal hopes dim

ISLAMABAD: The legal team of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), wrestling with legal setbacks, has abandoned its contempt petition to signal its wanning optimism in finding an ally in Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Qazi Faez Isa for relief amid current political scenario.

The party's legal journey has witnessed a tense relationship with CJP Isa since September 17 last year. Despite its efforts, including a social media campaign, the PTI has struggled to sway CJP Isa's stance on seeking relief in political matters.

The CJP has also refrained from entertaining a letter from PTI founding chairman Imran Khan, urging notice regarding alleged harassment of party supporters. Similarly, Aitzaz Ahsan's petition, addressing the alleged enforced disappearance of PTI leaders, faced its own decline, adding to the party's legal woes.

The recent move by the Supreme Court, under CJP Isa's leadership, to reinstate the Election Commission of Pakistan's (ECP) decision, declaring PTI's intra-party elections unconstitutional, has dealt another blow.

Consequently, PTI finds itself stripped of its election symbol for the upcoming elections.

However, PTI appears poised for a countermove. Sources suggest that the party is gearing up to challenge the top court’s order, with a review petition in the works. However, senior PTI lawyer confirmed that the filing won't happen immediately,
Some legal experts find themselves perplexed by the party's seemingly contradictory stance. While PTI openly expresses mistrust in CJP Isa, its legal team prepares for a review petition—scheduled to appear before the same bench led by CJP Isa.

The scenario is not the first of its kind, as several political parties in the past have expressed mistrust in the top adjudicators. CJP Isa wouldn’t go down as the only chief justice to earn mistrust.

Notably, the Pakistan People's Party (PPP) voiced mistrust against former CJP Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry during his tenure. Former premier Yousuf Raza Gilani, similarly, refrained from filing an intra-court appeal against his contempt case conviction.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) joined the ranks by expressing mistrust in ex-CJP Mian Saqib Nisar. The party opted not to challenge Nisar's judgment, which resulted in Nawaz Sharif's disqualification as the party head.

The PML-N’s decision stemmed from the belief that seeking relief from ex-CJP Saqib Nisar might prove futile.

Both PML-N and PPP also expressed no confidence in the three-judge bench led by ex-CJP Umar Ata Bandial. The development occurred when the ruling on former deputy speaker Punjab Assembly Dost Mazari's case was contested, leading the parties to request the formation of a full court.

A PTI leader says that one faction had held a soft corner for CJP Isa. However, the decision to deny the election symbol has come as an embarrassment for this section of the party.

Notably, Hamid Khan stood by CJP Isa during PTI-led government's filing of a presidential reference against him.

Meanwhile, superior bar associations have maintained silence on the Supreme Court's order.

Press conferences scheduled for today may provide insights, with the Independent Lawyers group expected to voice consistent support for CJP Isa.

However, it is unlikely that representatives of the superior bars will raise objections on the judgement.
A similar ruling was indeed given by Saqib Nisar in 2018 when he disqualified Nawaz Sharif (NS) and rendered all his party decisions null and void, leading to PML nominees running in the Senate election independently. The strategies and procedures employed in by establishment are not new; they have been used in various forms throughout the country's political history.

The current situation has drawn more attention due to the incarceration of Imran Khan, the leader of Pakistan at the time. It's important to note that many top politicians in Pakistan's history have faced similar allegations and hardships, often being labeled as "chor" (thieves), "corrupt," or "deal makers." This reflects the complex and contentious nature of politics in the country.

Abhi aur bhi hai ishq ke imtehan.......

The judicial murder of democracy has opened a pandora box.

It is now very likely that independents will make up the biggest number in the National Assembly. This means that independents will have the luxury to decide the next PM of the country which now leaves every idiot vying for the top spot be it Nawaz, Bilawal, Shahbaz, Tareen or any other ****-up like Kakar.

The biggest embarrassment will be for our judiciary and especially Supreme Court.

Qazi Faiz Isa along with 2 other judges will be remembered infamously for this verdict. For every controversial verdict in the future the bar will be this verdict. Qazi will eventually move on and retire but this judgement will stay forever which means his name is tarnished forever. Respect is everything when it comes to judiciary and with one stroke of pen respect is the biggest causality today.

The judicial murder of democracy has opened a pandora box.

It is now very likely that independents will make up the biggest number in the National Assembly. This means that independents will have the luxury to decide the next PM of the country which now leaves every idiot vying for the top spot be it Nawaz, Bilawal, Shahbaz, Tareen or any other suck-up like Kakar.

The biggest embarrassment will be for our judiciary and especially Supreme Court.

Qazi Faiz Isa along with 2 other judges will be remembered infamously for this verdict. For every controversial verdict in the future the bar will be this verdict. Qazi will eventually move on and retire but this judgement will stay forever which means his name is tarnished forever. Respect is everything when it comes to judiciary and with one stroke of pen respect is the biggest causality today.
We knew Qazi was crook and his humiliation is thoroughly deserved and the fact that @Mamoon and @Major told us he would be anti establishment man was total rubbish and left them looking like total tools. The guy was caught red handed and got blackmailed, and took the deal. The deal will never be forgotten. NS will become PM but Qazi will live with a blackened face.

Chief Justice of Pakistan Qazi Faez Isa and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawyer Latif Khosa once again came face to face and had a dialogue during the hearing of a case.

While hearing a case related to employment in the Supreme Court, Latif Khosa requested the CJP fix another petition for hearing, filed on behalf of former prime minister Imran Khan against his disqualification in the Toshakhana case.

Addressing Khosa, CJP Isa told him he goes out of court and levels allegations. “On the one hand, you do not trust the judiciary, and on the other, you also ask for relief,” he remarked.

Justice Isa asked him to file an application for fixing the hearing soon, and it would be decided as per the law.

On Monday, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) withdrew its petition from the Supreme Court seeking a level playing field in the upcoming general elections.

As the hearing of the PTI’s appeal began, counsel Latif Khosa said the party would like to go to the people's court for the survival of democracy, and withdraw its appeal.

A three-judge bench of the Supreme Court, headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Qazi Faez Isa and comprising Justice Muhammad Ali Mazhar and Justice Musarrat Hilali, heard the case.

“We want to go to the court of 250 million people,” he asserted, and told the CJP: “Thank you very much.”

CJP Qazi Faez Isa asked: “Do you want to pursue the case or not?”

Khosa replied that he had been instructed to withdraw the application. “We came to you for a level playing field for fair and transparent elections, but you deprived us of 230 seats through the judgement,” he remarked, adding that people had been allotted symbols like glass, eggplant, bowl etc.

Source: Samaa News

We knew Qazi was crook and his humiliation is thoroughly deserved and the fact that @Mamoon and @Major told us he would be anti establishment man was total rubbish and left them looking like total tools. The guy was caught red handed and got blackmailed, and took the deal. The deal will never be forgotten. NS will become PM but Qazi will live with a blackened face.

Justice Isa losing support of bar leaders​

Despite the announcement of solidarity by superior bars, Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJ) Qazi Faez Isa is losing support from one section of lawyers—the Professional Lawyers Group. The Independent Lawyers Group, also known as the Asma Jahangir Group, holds the majority in the Pakistan Bar Council (PBC) and the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA).

Currently, this group is aligned with the PML-N, the PPP, and the security establishment. It played a key role in the successful no-confidence motion moved against former prime minister and PTI founder Imran Khan under Article 95 of the Constitution in March 2022.

The Professional Lawyers Group, which is pro-PTI, is in the minority in both superior bars. However, when the PTI-led government filed a presidential reference against Justice Isa in May 2019, both lawyer groups united in support of the judge.

The leadership of the Professional Group—Muneer A Malik, Salahuddin Ahmed, and Hamid Khan—were even part of Justice Isa's legal team. Hamid Khan had openly criticized PTI’s policy towards Justice Isa. However, members of the Professional Group are now expressing disappointment at the Supreme Court’s January 13 verdict, which dealt a heavy blow to the former ruling party by depriving it of its iconic election symbol—the cricket bat.

They believe the court order will have far-reaching implications for democracy, and the credibility of the upcoming elections is now at stake. PBC member Muneer Kakar, associated with the Professional Group, expressed wonder as to how the SC could deprive citizens of their constitutional right by knocking out one political party on technical grounds.

Meanwhile, the Independent Group demanded that the caretaker government take action against those running a malicious campaign against CJP Qazi Faez Isa. Responding to the call, the federal government has formed a Joint Investigation Team (JIT) to probe into the campaign.

========
Now CJ is even devoid of the support of the community that always supported despite his wrong doings. Good that ppl are seeing through things now.

Justice Isa losing support of bar leaders​

Despite the announcement of solidarity by superior bars, Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJ) Qazi Faez Isa is losing support from one section of lawyers—the Professional Lawyers Group. The Independent Lawyers Group, also known as the Asma Jahangir Group, holds the majority in the Pakistan Bar Council (PBC) and the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA).

Currently, this group is aligned with the PML-N, the PPP, and the security establishment. It played a key role in the successful no-confidence motion moved against former prime minister and PTI founder Imran Khan under Article 95 of the Constitution in March 2022.

The Professional Lawyers Group, which is pro-PTI, is in the minority in both superior bars. However, when the PTI-led government filed a presidential reference against Justice Isa in May 2019, both lawyer groups united in support of the judge.

The leadership of the Professional Group—Muneer A Malik, Salahuddin Ahmed, and Hamid Khan—were even part of Justice Isa's legal team. Hamid Khan had openly criticized PTI’s policy towards Justice Isa. However, members of the Professional Group are now expressing disappointment at the Supreme Court’s January 13 verdict, which dealt a heavy blow to the former ruling party by depriving it of its iconic election symbol—the cricket bat.

They believe the court order will have far-reaching implications for democracy, and the credibility of the upcoming elections is now at stake. PBC member Muneer Kakar, associated with the Professional Group, expressed wonder as to how the SC could deprive citizens of their constitutional right by knocking out one political party on technical grounds.

Meanwhile, the Independent Group demanded that the caretaker government take action against those running a malicious campaign against CJP Qazi Faez Isa. Responding to the call, the federal government has formed a Joint Investigation Team (JIT) to probe into the campaign.

========
Now CJ is even devoid of the support of the community that always supported despite his wrong doings. Good that ppl are seeing through things now.
These bar associations are just as crooked as Isa. They are looking for a pay rise. We have seen these groups back everything illegal and undemocratic for money. Don't fall for this rubbish

In Pakistan, unfortunately the pressure group look after their own interests instead of public interest. Still glad that they had the audacity to call out Mr Qazi on his stupendous folly.

Qazi will never live it down. I am glad that munafiq has been seen for what he is- a cr***.
As far as these Bars are concerned- rent seekers to support who ever pays the most and carries the biggest gun. Compare these guys to Salman Akram Raja, a guy who probably has no love for IK or the PTI but stood with them because it was the right thing to do for PK democracy. Same with the Karachi guy who spoke up when he has his own party.

The number of pending cases before the Supreme Court (SC) of Pakistan is more than 55,000 as of 16th December 2023, a report issued by the apex court read, ARY News reported.

According to a quarterly report (from 17th September 2023 to 17th December 2023), the top court of the country has disposed of 859 during the period. The report, issued under Article 19-A which guarantees right to information, read that the number of pending cases was 56,503 on 17th September 2023 and dropped to 55,644 on 17th December 2023.

The SC disposed of 859 cases in the three months.

The apex court is issuing a quarterly report for the first time under Article 19-A. “Access to information is the right of every citizen under Article 19A,” the SC maintained.

It is pertinent to mention here that earlier Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Qazi Faez Isa vowed to formulate a “comprehensive policy” on fixation of pending cases and formation of benches.

The development was shared by Pakistan Bar Council (PBC) Chairman Hassan Raza Pasha while addressing a press conference after a meeting with Chief Justice Qazi Faez Isa Senior Puisne Judge Justice Sardar Tariq Masood.

The apex court judges had summoned representatives of Pakistan Bar Council (PBC) and Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) to discuss issues related to formation of benches, pending cases, speedy administration of justice, and fixation and hearing of cases.

Source: ARY

Qasi Isa caused the most damage to the country , even more than Bajwa and Munir.

Anti-judiciary campaign: Pakistan to place names of guilty on ECL

In a significant move, authorities have officially decided to include the names of individuals leading anti-judiciary campaigns on social media in the Exit Control List (ECL) and the Stop List, ARY News reported, citing sources.

According to the details, the authorities decided to block the accounts found involved in the anti-judiciary campaigns on social media with the help of the Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (PTA).

The officials stated that a National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) officer is also added to the JIT, while the other relevant institutions are busy in the identification process of the social media accounts involved in the campaign.

Sources suggested that the social media account holders’ names, handling from foreign countries, will also be added to the ECL and the Stop List.

However, the Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting, along with officials from the FIA will address the media in a press conference today which aims to provide insights into the ongoing anti-judiciary campaign and shed light on the government’s strategies to counteract the situation.

Source: Ary News
--------------------------

Now where has the freedom of speech gone now???

The Supreme Court of Pakistan imposed on Monday a ban on the recording of V-logs, interviews, and other multimedia content within the court building, introducing new guidelines for media reporters.

The four-point directive, issued by the Public Relations Officer of the Supreme Court, outlines strict conditions for beat reporters covering proceedings within the esteemed institution.

Reporters are now required to present their original media cards issued by their respective media houses for entry into the Supreme Court building. This, the directive states, is to ensure the authenticity and credibility of media representatives gaining access to the premises.

Under the new guidelines, reporters will only be permitted entry after thorough checks and searches. The apex court stressed the importance of cooperation with security personnel during these procedures to maintain a secure environment within the court building.

In a move that signals a departure from previous practices, the Supreme Court directive explicitly prohibits media persons from recording video clips, interviews, and YouTube programs inside the court building.

Source: Samaa News

Solangi claims drop in drive against judiciary​

Interim federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Murtaza Solangi has said that about 600 social media accounts have been investigated and notices have been issued to 110 people, including 32 journalists, for the “malicious campaign” against judges.

“An investigation into the campaign against the superior judiciary by the joint investigation team (JIT) formed on January 16 is ongoing,” Solangi said while addressing a news conference on Sunday.

The minister said that the first meeting of the JIT was held on Jan 17 and the second meeting was held on Jan 23 and so far about “100 inquiries have been registered based on the investigation conducted regarding 600 social media accounts”.

The caretaker information minister said that notices had been issued to around 110 people, including around 22 political activists or politicians and 32 journalists, and so far only notices had been issued under the law.

He said that no one had been harassed and no first information report (FIR) had been filed against anyone, but the court and the law would take its own course and the action taken so far had been in accordance with the law.

Solangi said that under Article 19 of the Constitution, freedom of expression was not unlimited but there were appropriate restrictions on it.

It was stated in the supreme law of the land that no campaign against the armed forces and the judiciary could be carried out outside the scope of the Constitution and the law.

“This matter is not about criticism, it is about ridicule and character assassination,” Solangi said, adding that the campaign that was launched against the judiciary in the past days did not fall under the category of criticism. “Criticism should be kept civil and slander should be avoided.”

Read: ‘Malicious campaign’ against top judiciary being probed as per law: Solangi

The caretaker federal minister said, “Legislation is the authority of parliament and it is the authority of the relevant institutions to issue notices. No one has been arrested after the formation of the JIT.”

He claimed that there had been a clear decline in the campaign after the formation of the JIT.

He said that it was a matter of public opinion and the court of law, adding that legal questions would be placed in the court.

“It is not possible that the government, institutions and the higher judiciary can be attacked,” Solangi said, adding stating facts was necessary while legal questions would be answered in court.

Source: The Express Tribune

The Supreme Judicial Council (SJC) on Thursday recorded statements of seven witnesses in Justice (retired) Mazahar Ali Naqvi’s ‘misconduct’ case.

The SJC headed by CJP Justice Qazi Faez Isa took up the plea in which statements of seven witnesses have been recorded while four others have been summoned tomorrow.

On the request of Mazahar Ali Naqvi, who resigned as SC judge on the allegations of ‘misconduct’, SJC has made the proceedings of the council public.

Mazahar Ali Naqvi and anyone can join the proceedings for cross-examination of the witnesses, the SJC said.

Further, the hearing has been adjourned until Friday morning.

Naqvi, who is facing ‘misconduct’ allegations in the Supreme Judicial Council (SJC) forwarded his resignation to the President of Pakistan, Dr Arif Alvi in January.

It was an honour to work as Lahore High Court and Supreme Court judge, Naqvi said and added he could not continue discharging his duties.

“I, therefore. effective today resign as a Judge of the Supreme Court of Pakistan,” the letter added.

Source: ARY

Guys, please be cautious.

==============================================================================

Caretaker Federal Minister for Information, Broadcasting, and Parliamentary Affairs, Murtaza Solangi, issued a stern warning on Thursday against the use of social media platforms for inciting violence, labeling it as an illegal activity.

Speaking at a press conference alongside Prime Minister’s Special Representative on Interfaith Harmony, Hafiz Tahir Mahmood Ashrafi, Solangi announced that the government would take strict action against those involved in such unlawful activities, emphasising the limitations on freedom of expression as outlined in Article 19 of the Constitution.

Under Article 19, Solangi highlighted that derogatory remarks against the judiciary, armed forces, and friendly nations were prohibited. He specifically pointed out the misuse of social media platforms, including X (formerly Twitter), YouTube, Facebook, and Instagram, for propaganda, spreading lies, defaming government officials, and harassing individuals.

Solangi asserted that companies profiting from these platforms could not evade responsibility if their platforms were used to disrupt law and order, incite violence, and promote hatred.

"The state of Pakistan will not allow these platforms to spread baseless, false, and fabricated propaganda in the country," Minister Solangi declared. He warned that if social media platforms failed to curb baseless propaganda, the government would be compelled to take stringent measures within the confines of the law.

Furthermore, Solangi assured all foreigners residing in Pakistan that the government would guarantee their safety and security. He emphasised that Pakistan is a peaceful country governed by the rule of law, and any attempts to disturb the peace and tranquility of the nation would not be tolerated.

Meanwhile, in a significant development, law enforcement agencies swiftly apprehended Abdul Wasay, a resident of Pandora area in Rawalpindi, who had launched a threatening campaign on social media against Chief Justice of Pakistan, Qazi Faez Isa.

Wasay, participating in a vile and threatening campaign against the chief justice on social media platform X, was involved in character assassination as well.

The arrest of Wasay signaled the government's commitment to curbing illegal activities on social media. The ongoing process of identifying and taking legal action against other individuals involved in the social media campaign against the chief justice emphasised the authorities' dedication to maintaining law and order and safeguarding the principles of justice in Pakistan.

Express Tribune

Price for rebuking Justice Qazi Faez Isa:
=====
Journalist Asad Toor remanded in FIA custody for 5 days in case pertaining to online campaign against judiciary

An Islamabad district and session court on Tuesday granted the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) five-day remand of journalist Asad Ali Toor in a case pertaining to an online campaign against the judiciary.

In January, the caretaker government had formed a five-member joint investigation team (JIT) to “ascertain facts behind a malicious social media campaign” against the judiciary in the aftermath of the Supreme Court’s decision to deprive PTI of its iconic ‘bat’ symbol.

Last week, Toor was interrogated for nearly eight hours by FIA officials on the same matter. The interrogation had taken place despite the attorney general for Pakistan assuring the apex court last month that the FIA would not take action before the general election on the notices sent to journalists. The apex court had adjourned the hearing in the case till the first week of March.

Last night, Toor’s legal team confirmed that he had been arrested by the agency. Toor’s counsel Imaan Zainab Mazari-Hazir said the journalist had arrived at the FIA’s Cyber Crime Reporting Centre in Islamabad earlier in the day to “demonstrate his positive intent, answer a summons notice issued to him on Saturday and join the inquiry about the campaign against the judiciary”.

She said the team went to the FIA office after acquiring an order from the Islamabad High Court, which instructed the agency to not harass the journalist but he was still taken inside the FIA premises without his legal team.

She said an FIA official came out of the building, delivered the legal team a handwritten note from Toor and said that the journalist was “formally arrested”. The letter seen by Dawn.com contained various instructions from the journalist for his family.

Today, Toor was presented before Judicial Magistrate Mohammad Shabbir. During the hearing, the FIA sought the journalist’s physical remand.

Subsequently, the court accepted the requested and remanded Toor in FIA’s custody for for five days.

Source: Dawn News

What an irony, Qazi declared him guilty of a crime that he himself commited first. Still waiting for qazi's money trail
=====
The Supreme Judicial Council (SJC) has ruled that the apex court’s retired judge Sayyed Mazahar Ali Akbar Naqvi was “guilty of misconduct” and recommended that he “should have been removed from the office of judge”.

Headed by CJP Isa, the SJC comprises SC’s Justice Tariq Masood and Justice Mansoor Ali Shah, Lahore High Court Chief Justice (CJ) Muhammad Ameer Bhatti, and Balochistan High Court (BHC) CJ Naeem Akhtar.

Its recommendation is unlikely to be of any consequence as Naqvi, in a letter addressed to President Dr Arif Alvi on Jan 10, had already resigned, saying that it was no longer possible for him to continue due to circumstances which were “a matter of public knowledge”.

In a press release issued today, the SJC stated that its members met on Feb 29 when a series of matters were discussed, one of which was the allegations against Naqvi.

The council “rendered its opinion in respect of the nine complaints” against the judge under Article 209 (6) of the Constitution before making its recommendation against him.

References were filed before the SJC against Justice (retd) Naqvi early last year after his name surfaced in connection with an alleged audio leak.

In October, the SJC had issued a show-cause notice to Naqvi in connection with 10 complaints lodged against him and directed the judge to submit a reply within two weeks.

In a preliminary reply submitted in November, Naqvi had cited “serious prejudice” against him and said CJP Isa, Justice Masood and CJ Akhtar should recuse themselves and not hear the matter.

On Nov 20, Naqvi contested the SJC proceedings against him and also challenged the show-cause notice issued to him by the council, stating the initiation of proceedings was coram non-judice and without lawful authority.

Subsequently, the SJC had issued a fresh show-cause notice to Naqvi on Nov 22, with a direction to come up with his defence by filing a reply within a fortnight.

On December 4, Naqvi had again approached the apex court and expressed his intent to pursue the constitutional petition he had moved earlier seeking to quash the revised show-cause notice issued by the SJC.

Two days later, Naqvi had invited the attention of the SC committee comprising three senior-most judges to the silence over his petitions challenging the issuance of the show-cause notice (SCN) despite the lapse of time as stipulated in the Supreme Court (Practice & Procedure) Act, 2023.

Naqvi had also written a separate letter to the SJC secretary, asking the latter to furnish a number of documents without which, the judge said, he would not be in a position to prepare his reply to the show-cause notice within time.

On December 15, the SJC, in an open hearing, had given two weeks to the top court judge to respond to the misconduct allegations and directed him to submit a reply to the show-cause notice by January 1.

Subsequently, the judge had filed a detailed response to the show-cause notice, saying the allegations against him “absolutely and maliciously false”, giving a detailed response to each of the 10 allegations made against him.

In the detailed response, a copy of which is available with Dawn.com, he said the SJC was not empowered to entertain any complaint against a judge and was only entitled to receiving “information”.

On January 8, Naqvi had withdrawn his objection to the three-judge bench hearing his plea challenging the issuance of a show-cause notice to him.

On January 10, the Supreme Court rejected a request to stay Jan 11 SJC proceedings against Justice Sayyed Mazahar Ali Akbar Naqvi, as the then SC judge Ijazul Ahsan — who himself resigned a day later — described the council’s proceedings against his colleague “contrary to the established norms”.

Ahsan — part of the five-member SJC — who had refused to join other members of the council on Nov 22, 2023, in the issuance of the show-cause notice to Justice Naqvi, had regretted the hasty proceedings.

In his letter to the SJC members, Ahsan had regretted that debate and discussion have been non-existent and have not been permitted during the ongoing council proceedings. “Thus Nov 22, 2023 proceedings when the second show-cause notice was issued against Justice Naqvi were completely devoid of any discussion or deliberation whatsoever,” he said.

“This manner of proceedings has cast an unwelcome doubt over the whole process, therefore he disagreed with the process followed and the manner in which the proceedings were being conducted,” Ahsan had said.

Source: Dawn News

Ousted SC judge Mazahar Naqvi to be deprived of ‘justice’ title

A five-judge Supreme Judicial Council (SJC), in a 33-page detailed reason of its opinion released on Friday, concluded that Sayyed Mazahar Ali Akbar Naqvi was guilty of misconduct and should have been removed from the office of the judge and the honorific ‘Justice’ or ‘Judge’ should not be henceforth used with his name.

The SJC found a number of instances of misconduct committed by the judge, thus, damaging the reputation of the judiciary.

While Mr Naqvi had resigned a day before the SJC began proceedings on nine complaints against him under Article 209(6), the council decided to continue with its proceedings, with Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Qazi Faez Isa saying it was “necessary to remove the misperception that the institution of judiciary is above the law”.

The CJP-headed SJC, however, commended the Pakistan Bar Council (the supreme supervisory body of lawyers) along with the four provincial bar councils and Advocate Mian Dawood, who filed the complaints in a bid to uphold the rule of law and the principle of accountability.

Since at least five allegations levelled by the complainants against Mr Naqvi were established, the council said it was constrained to conclude that the respondent had violated his oath of office which required him to abide by the Code of Conduct for judges by violating several provisions of this code.

The council explained that it could not be stated that Mr Naqvi was “untouched by greed”, “was above reproach”, his conduct was “free from impropriety expected of a judge” in his official and private affairs and thus he violated Article II and III of the Code of Conduct. According to the SJC opinion, it was clear that he violated Article IV as his actions were swayed by consideration of “personal advantage”.

He was involved to his personal advantage in the suit filed by Chaudhary Mohammad Shahbaz from whom Mr Naqvi had purchased 100 Saint John’s Park, Lahore, and had knowingly deprived some of their valuable property and thus violated Article VI.

According to Article VI, a judge should endeavour to avoid, as far as possible, being involved, either on his own behalf or on behalf of others, in litigation or in matters which are liable to lead to litigation such as industry, trade or speculative transactions.

To employ the influence of his position to gain undue advantage, whether immediate or future, is a grave fault. A judge must avoid incurring financial or other obligations to private institutions or persons such as may embarrass him in the performance of his functions.

By receiving substantial unexplained gifts, Mr Naqvi violated Article VI since the gifts included receiving Rs50 million, his sons receiving two commercial plots and two residential plots at a nominal price and his daughter receiving £5,000.

The prosecution witnesses such as Mohammad Safdar Khan, a businessman and owner of the Lahore Smart City (Pvt) Ltd Zahid Rafique, the SJC said, tried their best during the proceedings to help Mr Naqvi justify the price for 100 Saint John’s Park and the payment of Rs50 million made by the developer to acquire it. But they utterly failed to state, let alone justify, why a registered company would settle its liability of a substantial amount that it allegedly owed to Mohammad Safdar by not simply paying him the amount, the SJC said. It also noted that for Zahid Rafique, being a longstanding businessman as he claimed he was, and for a well-established company, this was not only inexplicable but also contrary to rudimentary account-keeping and would not be legally compliant.

The SJC said it would not place any credence on the testimonies of both Mr Safdar and Mr Zahid whereas Mr Naqvi offered no justifiable reason in his written reply for doing so and also shied away from testifying. In his reply, Mr Naqvi did not disclose why a company had paid a substantial amount to buy 100 Saint John’s Park, the SJC noted, adding that a judge accepting such largesse from a property developer who claimed he hardly knew him raised very serious questions of propriety. Since no viable explanation for paying the amount was forthcoming, the SJC was left to assume that such incomprehensible generosity to a judge was with the expectation that it would be handsomely recompensed.

The SJC regretted that Mr Naqvi was administered the oath of office on March 16, 2020, by former CJP Gulzar Ahmed and within a period of less than two years, he got four properties, three in Islamabad and one in Rawalpindi.

While the organisations from whom he got the four properties were set up for providing housing to its members, Mr Naqvi did not explain why he obtained the properties when he surely could not reside in all of them, the SJC deplored.

SOURCE: DAWN

Islamabad trial court approves bail of journalist Asad Toor

An Islamabad trial court on Saturday approved the bail of journalist Asad Toor in a case about an online campaign against the judiciary.

In Jan, the caretaker government had established a joint investigation team (JIT) to probe an alleged social media campaign against the judiciary following the Supreme Court’s ruling that stripped PTI party of its bat symbol. This investigation led to the questioning of journalist Toor by Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) officials for nearly eight hours on Feb 23, despite previous assurances to the Supreme Court that no action would be taken against journalists before the general elections. Toor was later arrested on Feb 26 and faced charges under the Prevention of Electronic Crimes Act for allegedly launching a malicious campaign against state institutions, leading to his being remanded into custody and eventually to jail.

As the case developed, the Islamabad High Court intervened, ordering an expedited bail hearing for Toor, which had been postponed to March 18 due to the investigating officer’s illness. This legal drama unfolded amid calls from the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) for Toor’s immediate release and an end to his harassment, highlighting concerns over freedom of expression and the press in Pakistan.

Hearing

Today, Special Judge Central Humayun Dilawar conducted the hearing of the case. The petitioner, Toor, was represented by Advocates Imaan Mazari-Hazir and Hadi Ali Chatha.

The investigation officer of the case and FIA prosecutor Ashfaq Hussain Shah were also present in court with the relevant case records.

At the outset of the hearing, Advocate Chatha submitted the Supreme Court’s observation that journalists should not be booked over a social media campaign against superior judges.

At this, Judge Dilawar asked the investigation officer of the case and the FIA prosecutor if the Supreme Court’s observation being referred to was true. “Yes this observation is true,” the FIA official told the court.

Subsequently, the court accepted Toor’s bail plea against surety bonds of Rs5,000.

Civil society reacts to Toor’s bail

Reacting to the development, journalist Hamid Mir stated that Toor’s bail approval proved that “all allegations were a pack of lies”.

In a post on X, he said: “Judge Humayun Dilawar ordered the release of journalist Asad Toor today but what about those who registered a fake case against the journalist?

“What about the 10-day physical remand given to FIA for the investigation? What about the anti-state allegations in the FIR? It is now proved that all allegations were a pack of lies.”

Barrister Ahsan J Pirzada lauded Toor’s counsel for the approval of Toor’s bail plea.

“Alhumdullilah, 20 days after his arrest, Asad Ali Toor has been granted bail by the FIA court. Congrats to everyone, especially Imaan Hazir and Hadi Chatha. The way they both fought, despite numerous hurdles, is a testament to their courage, determination, professionalism and friendship,” he posted on X.

Background

A day after Toor’s arrest, an Islamabad district and sessions court had granted the FIA a five-day physical remand of the journalist. On March 6, the same lower court had extended Toor’s physical remand for two days.

According to the FIR (first information report), Toor was booked under Sections 9, 10 and 24 of the Prevention of Electronic Crimes Act (Peca), which deal with the offences of glorification of an offence, cyber terrorism and cyberstalking.

The FIR stated that Toor “built a false narrative” and publically launched a “malicious/obnoxious and explicit campaign” against “civil servants/government officials and state institutions”.

SOURCE: DAWN​

What an hypocritical decision​

=====

SC set aside Justice Shaukat Siddiqui's dismissal by SJC​

The Supreme Court (SC) set aside on Friday the Supreme Judicial Council's (SJC) decision to dismiss from service ex-Islamabad High Court (IHC) judge Shaukat Aziz Siddiqui for a speech in which he claimed that judicial proceedings were being manipulated by the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) agency in the Panama case.

In a 23-page written order, authored by Chief Justice of Pakistan Qazi Faez Isa, the apex court noted, “The SJC’s Report/Opinion, dated 11 October 2018, which was submitted to the President and the Notification No. F.9(2)/2018-A.II, dated 11 October 2018, stated to have been issued on the advice of the Prime Minister and his Cabinet of Ministers are set aside. Consequently, Justice Siddiqui shall be deemed to have retired as a Judge of the Islamabad High Court and he will be entitled to receive all the benefits and privileges due to a retired Judge, by allowing these petitions in the above terms."

Siddiqui had challenged his removal. The plea was heard by a five-judge larger bench headed by CJP Isa and comprising Justice Amin-ud-Din Khan, Justice Jamal Khan Mandokhail, Justice Syed Hasan Azhar Rizvi, and Justice Irfan Saadat Khan.

The court regretted the delay in the case being heard and subsequently decided that Justice Siddiqui attained the age of sixty-two years in the interregnum - the age at which a judge of the high court retires. “Therefore, Justice Siddiqui cannot be restored to the position of Judge," the SC noted.

It further maintained that “Justice Siddiqui had undoubtedly levelled very serious allegations against General Faiz Hameed, who was then serving in the Inter Services Intelligence (‘ISI’), and a few of his subordinates in the ISI who he accused of manipulation of certain sensitive cases in the Islamabad High Court and in the Accountability Court, which was under the jurisdiction of the Islamabad High Court. However, Justice Siddiqui was not given an opportunity to establish his allegations nor brought face to face with those he had accused. When we noted this lapse we issued notices to all those against whom he made allegations and provided them with an opportunity to admit/deny them. All of them have denied their stated involvement.

“Therefore, it was all the more necessary for the SJC to have inquired into the matter and to have determined who was telling the truth. The SJC did not give any credence to Justice Siddiqui’s own words and to the contents of his replies; the SJC assumed that they were false; and having made this assumption concluded that Justice Siddiqui was guilty of misconduct. It would be difficult to categorize such a determination as fair or one which accorded with the requirements of due process. Justice Siddiqui was not given an opportunity to establish the veracity of his allegations, which was incumbent on the SJC when the same formed the basis of Justice Siddiqui’s removal from office. The Fundamental Rights enshrined in the Constitution include the right to a fair trial and due process (Article 10A) and all citizens, including Judges, must be dealt with in accordance therewith. However, Justice Siddiqui was deprived of his Fundamental Rights of fair trial and due process. Article 209 does not stipulate that in determining whether a Judge is guilty of misconduct he is denuded of the Fundamental Rights nor permits the SJC to act contrarily to them."

Source: The Express Tribune

Curses befalling on Pakistan, one after the other
=====
Govt mulls extending Chief Justice’s tenure
The federal government is considering to consolidate the tenure of Chief Justice of Pakistan for three years as CJP Qazi Faez Isa is set to retire on Oct 25, 2024, ARY News reported on Saturday, citing sources.

Sources told ARY News that the government would introduce amendments in the Constitution if a firm decision is taken to consolidate Chief Justice of Pakistan’s tenure for three years.

Sources added that a committee, constituted in this regard, has started preparations for the constitutional amendment. A decision in this regard will be made following the Seante elections.

=====
The federal government is considering to consolidate the tenure of Chief Justice of Pakistan for three years as CJP Qazi Faez Isa is set to retire on Oct 25, 2024, ARY News reported on Saturday, citing sources.

Sources told ARY News that the government would introduce amendments in the Constitution if a firm decision is taken to consolidate Chief Justice of Pakistan’s tenure for three years.

Sources added that a committee, constituted in this regard, has started preparations for the constitutional amendment. A decision in this regard will be made following the Seante elections.

The Qazi is a crook and a tout. The extension is The biggest secret that isn't really a secret. Qazi will get an extension and so will Munir. PK is in a perilous place because of these crooks

Munir probably ordered Qazi 'stooge' Faez to 'get back in the kitchen, little man, your dirty work isn't finished yet.'.

Let's see if Qazi can handle the heat.

Munir probably ordered Qazi 'stooge' Faez to 'get back in the kitchen, little man, your dirty work isn't finished yet.'.

Let's see if Qazi can handle the heat.
Without a doubt. Qazi is a disgusting piece of work. Betrayed 250mn for a few pieces of gold.

=====

One crook party is trying to do favors to the other one, who supported them throughout the whole process.

More International Shame for Aadliya
They are so far down the road that no amount of humiliation makes any difference. Instead we have the victims under pressure to withdraw their allegations

PHC CJ raises concern over alleged bias in elevation of judges to SC​

In a letter to Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Qazi Faez Isa on Wednesday, Peshawar High Court Chief Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Khan expressed concern over non-consideration for the elevation of judges to the Supreme Court from Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province.

“I hope this letter finds you in good health and high spirits. I am writing to your Lordship with a heavy heart and a sense of disillusionment in relation to prima facie arbitrariness, discrimination and favouritism in the appointment of judges in the Supreme Court of Pakistan. It is with utmost respect for your esteemed position and the principles of fairness and meritocracy that our judicial system purports to uphold, that I bring this matter to your attention,” Justice Ibrahim wrote.

He said that there were four vacancies in the Supreme Court but only one vacancy was filled by appointing his brother Honourable Judge Justice Naeem Akhtar Afghan of Balochistan High Court the then Chief Justice Balochistan High Court.

“It was a profound disappointment when I learnt that only one judge and that too from your own province, was appointed in the Supreme Court despite the fact that there were four vacancies. I am genuinely happy for my brother Mr Justice Naeem Akhtar Afghan but why my candidacy was not considered notwithstanding my seniority, eligibility and availability of vacancies in the Supreme Court,” he added.

Justice Ibrahim said that he is the second senior most chief justice among the chief justices of all high courts in Pakistan. “I am also a member of the Judicial Commission of Pakistan (JCP) and Supreme Judicial Council of Pakistan. I had legitimate expectation that my candidature would be at least included in the list for consideration to be appointed as a Judge of the Supreme Court of Pakistan. Had I not been found fit to be appointed as Judge of Supreme Court after due process by the Judicial Commission of Pakistan, I would have happily accepted the JCP's decision,” he added.

He expressed the belief that considering the substantial backlog, the CJP might feel inclined or even obligated to promptly fill the vacancies, particularly given the sentiment among the countrymen that they are being deprived of swift justice.

“The taxpayers, who pay for our salaries, expect that vacancies are filled immediately so that the court may operate at full strength and dispense justice. There is a duty to act diligently. This decision of solitary appointment has left me perplexed and seeking genuine answers. I have been thinking about possible reasons for not filling the vacancies but no logical and persuasive reason could come to mind,” he added.

Justice Ibrahim mentioned that he had been faithfully serving for 31 years, characterised by steadfast commitment, dedication, and numerous contributions that, in his opinion, not only benefited the community but also upheld the highest standards of the judicial system.

“Throughout my service, I have endeavoured to embody the virtues of integrity, impartiality, and a steadfast commitment to justice, principles I believed would naturally pave the way for recognition and career advancement based on merit. I have been deciding high-profile cases amidst peculiar law and order situation and political turmoil in our motherland wherein my commitment to uphold the rule of law and supremacy of constitution has been unshakable and unyielding,” the top judge wrote.

“My dedication to serve the masses and uproot injustice in each and every form, whatsoever, has been a source of personal pride and a testament to my commitment to the values, we hold dear in our profession. Similarly, it is yet a distinction that, while referring to my 31 years' judicial career wherein, I can safely hold my integrity before Almighty Allah that I have only performed to the best of my conscious, within the legal premise and without any fear or favour.”

Chief Justice PHC expressed his “surprise and deep concern” over the decision to not even consider his candidacy for elevation, particularly in light of his dedication, performance, and contributions to the judiciary.

“I appreciate that decisions of appointing judges in the superior courts are complex and multifaceted, involving considerations that may not always be apparent to all. Nevertheless, in the spirit of transparency, the norms of fairness, and the continued trust in our judicial system, I take the honour to question as to what prompted the solitary elevation of my brother Justice Naeem Akhtar Afghan when three vacancies were and are still vacant where as none other was considered,” he said.

Justice Ibrahim said that it is also mind-boggling that presently, there are three honourable judges in the Supreme Court of Pakistan from Balochistan whereas from the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, there are only two.

“Therefore, while comparing the two provinces on any analogy whatsoever, desirably there would be one more vacancy for the province of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa. It seems that allocation of seats of Hon'ble Judges in Supreme Court is out of proportion giving rise to a genuine discontentment in provinces especially Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa which, in size as well as in terms of portfolio of cases, has enormously swelled after merger of the erstwhile FATA.”

“Unfortunately, I lack the personal connections that often play a role in such elevations. This lack of advocacy or lobbying on my behalf should not be a deterrent to recognising the merit and the commitment that I have demonstrated towards upholding justice. And it is with this faith that I am constrained by my conscience to pen down the facts before your lordship, the Hon'ble Judges and my Supreme Institution before I lay off the robes. It isn't a far cry as I am deeply contented within my heart and whatever is destined for me by Allah the Almighty shall be a blessing.”

He stated that his purpose in writing the letter was not to directly challenge the decision made, but rather to seek clarification and assurance that the principles of merit, fairness, and equality of opportunity are being maintained.

“I am confident that your Lordship would not hold it against me as you have been vocal in raising voice against arbitrariness, discrimination and favouritism through letters one of which I have cited above. I am fully committed to my constitutional duty. with the hope that my efforts and contributions will be recognised and rewarded by Allah Almighty in this world and thereafter, Insha'Allah,” he concluded.

PHC CJ raises concern over alleged bias in elevation of judges to SC​

In a letter to Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Qazi Faez Isa on Wednesday, Peshawar High Court Chief Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Khan expressed concern over non-consideration for the elevation of judges to the Supreme Court from Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province.

“I hope this letter finds you in good health and high spirits. I am writing to your Lordship with a heavy heart and a sense of disillusionment in relation to prima facie arbitrariness, discrimination and favouritism in the appointment of judges in the Supreme Court of Pakistan. It is with utmost respect for your esteemed position and the principles of fairness and meritocracy that our judicial system purports to uphold, that I bring this matter to your attention,” Justice Ibrahim wrote.

He said that there were four vacancies in the Supreme Court but only one vacancy was filled by appointing his brother Honourable Judge Justice Naeem Akhtar Afghan of Balochistan High Court the then Chief Justice Balochistan High Court.

“It was a profound disappointment when I learnt that only one judge and that too from your own province, was appointed in the Supreme Court despite the fact that there were four vacancies. I am genuinely happy for my brother Mr Justice Naeem Akhtar Afghan but why my candidacy was not considered notwithstanding my seniority, eligibility and availability of vacancies in the Supreme Court,” he added.

Justice Ibrahim said that he is the second senior most chief justice among the chief justices of all high courts in Pakistan. “I am also a member of the Judicial Commission of Pakistan (JCP) and Supreme Judicial Council of Pakistan. I had legitimate expectation that my candidature would be at least included in the list for consideration to be appointed as a Judge of the Supreme Court of Pakistan. Had I not been found fit to be appointed as Judge of Supreme Court after due process by the Judicial Commission of Pakistan, I would have happily accepted the JCP's decision,” he added.

He expressed the belief that considering the substantial backlog, the CJP might feel inclined or even obligated to promptly fill the vacancies, particularly given the sentiment among the countrymen that they are being deprived of swift justice.

“The taxpayers, who pay for our salaries, expect that vacancies are filled immediately so that the court may operate at full strength and dispense justice. There is a duty to act diligently. This decision of solitary appointment has left me perplexed and seeking genuine answers. I have been thinking about possible reasons for not filling the vacancies but no logical and persuasive reason could come to mind,” he added.

Justice Ibrahim mentioned that he had been faithfully serving for 31 years, characterised by steadfast commitment, dedication, and numerous contributions that, in his opinion, not only benefited the community but also upheld the highest standards of the judicial system.

“Throughout my service, I have endeavoured to embody the virtues of integrity, impartiality, and a steadfast commitment to justice, principles I believed would naturally pave the way for recognition and career advancement based on merit. I have been deciding high-profile cases amidst peculiar law and order situation and political turmoil in our motherland wherein my commitment to uphold the rule of law and supremacy of constitution has been unshakable and unyielding,” the top judge wrote.

“My dedication to serve the masses and uproot injustice in each and every form, whatsoever, has been a source of personal pride and a testament to my commitment to the values, we hold dear in our profession. Similarly, it is yet a distinction that, while referring to my 31 years' judicial career wherein, I can safely hold my integrity before Almighty Allah that I have only performed to the best of my conscious, within the legal premise and without any fear or favour.”

Chief Justice PHC expressed his “surprise and deep concern” over the decision to not even consider his candidacy for elevation, particularly in light of his dedication, performance, and contributions to the judiciary.

“I appreciate that decisions of appointing judges in the superior courts are complex and multifaceted, involving considerations that may not always be apparent to all. Nevertheless, in the spirit of transparency, the norms of fairness, and the continued trust in our judicial system, I take the honour to question as to what prompted the solitary elevation of my brother Justice Naeem Akhtar Afghan when three vacancies were and are still vacant where as none other was considered,” he said.

Justice Ibrahim said that it is also mind-boggling that presently, there are three honourable judges in the Supreme Court of Pakistan from Balochistan whereas from the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, there are only two.

“Therefore, while comparing the two provinces on any analogy whatsoever, desirably there would be one more vacancy for the province of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa. It seems that allocation of seats of Hon'ble Judges in Supreme Court is out of proportion giving rise to a genuine discontentment in provinces especially Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa which, in size as well as in terms of portfolio of cases, has enormously swelled after merger of the erstwhile FATA.”

“Unfortunately, I lack the personal connections that often play a role in such elevations. This lack of advocacy or lobbying on my behalf should not be a deterrent to recognising the merit and the commitment that I have demonstrated towards upholding justice. And it is with this faith that I am constrained by my conscience to pen down the facts before your lordship, the Hon'ble Judges and my Supreme Institution before I lay off the robes. It isn't a far cry as I am deeply contented within my heart and whatever is destined for me by Allah the Almighty shall be a blessing.”

He stated that his purpose in writing the letter was not to directly challenge the decision made, but rather to seek clarification and assurance that the principles of merit, fairness, and equality of opportunity are being maintained.

“I am confident that your Lordship would not hold it against me as you have been vocal in raising voice against arbitrariness, discrimination and favouritism through letters one of which I have cited above. I am fully committed to my constitutional duty. with the hope that my efforts and contributions will be recognised and rewarded by Allah Almighty in this world and thereafter, Insha'Allah,” he concluded.

Under Mr qazi, you can expect such stuff.

Qazi made a big deal of why Judges seat were left open by Bandial but here he is doing the same to avoid appointing Justice of PHC. He wanted appointments on seniority but not when they are honest. Isa the Corrupt thug