Why are PCBs chances of legal success against the NZCB and the ECB being dismissed?

Savak

World Star
Am pretty surprised at the pessimistic attitude regarding PCBs chances. There have been so many inconsistencies and ambiguities regarding NZCB reasons for withdrawing its incredible. Now as recent revelations are showing that the so called threat that the NZ govt and the NZCB received was from the 5 eyes and NZ has the lowest threshold for tolerance ie they take a threat of even 5-10% credibility very seriously.

NZCB chose not to disclose the so called threat to the Pakistani security forces. The PCB if smart will argue that they showed not only utter disregard for the lives of Pakistani citizens, security forces, players, officials but also this episode highlights that the whole episode was fabricated. The fact that the NZCB is still refusing to properly disclose and authenticate the exact nature of the threat even though they are all safely back in NZ is very telling. If anything the PCB need to come very hard not only against the NZCB for the loss of broadcasting revenues, sponsorship and advertising revenues but also include the loss from the series against ECB and interest for the reputational damage they have caused to Pakistan Cricket and the nation of Pakistan

No need to go into much explanation for the ECB. Their HC has confirmed that the travel advisory, security experts did not call of the tour nor warned against it and that this was a decision taken by the ECB and last I checked I don't think excuses like player bubble fatigue are credible reasons to abandon a tour.

PCB have a very strong legal case here and both the NZCB and the ECB knows it which is why they will now desperately kiss BCCI on the backside begging them to intervene and to influence things in the ICC against Pakistan. I hope the PCB under RR and WK does not fall for the lollipops thrown by the NZCB and the ECB of promises of making up for these cancelled tours in exchange for promises of tours in the future. The PCB needs to strike hard when the iron is hot, deliver that swift Mike Tyson right hand right here and now. Take ECB and the NZCB to the CAS if the BCCI influences the decision against the PCB in the ICC.

Am pretty surprised at the pessimistic attitude regarding PCBs chances. There have been so many inconsistencies and ambiguities regarding NZCB reasons for withdrawing its incredible. Now as recent revelations are showing that the so called threat that the NZ govt and the NZCB received was from the 5 eyes and NZ has the lowest threshold for tolerance ie they take a threat of even 5-10% credibility very seriously.

NZCB chose not to disclose the so called threat to the Pakistani security forces. The PCB if smart will argue that they showed not only utter disregard for the lives of Pakistani citizens, security forces, players, officials but also this episode highlights that the whole episode was fabricated. The fact that the NZCB is still refusing to properly disclose and authenticate the exact nature of the threat even though they are all safely back in NZ is very telling. If anything the PCB need to come very hard not only against the NZCB for the loss of broadcasting revenues, sponsorship and advertising revenues but also include the loss from the series against ECB and interest for the reputational damage they have caused to Pakistan Cricket and the nation of Pakistan

No need to go into much explanation for the ECB. Their HC has confirmed that the travel advisory, security experts did not call of the tour nor warned against it and that this was a decision taken by the ECB and last I checked I don't think excuses like player bubble fatigue are credible reasons to abandon a tour.

PCB have a very strong legal case here and both the NZCB and the ECB knows it which is why they will now desperately kiss BCCI on the backside begging them to intervene and to influence things in the ICC against Pakistan. I hope the PCB under RR and WK does not fall for the lollipops thrown by the NZCB and the ECB of promises of making up for these cancelled tours in exchange for promises of tours in the future. The PCB needs to strike hard when the iron is hot, deliver that swift Mike Tyson right hand right here and now. Take ECB and the NZCB to the CAS if the BCCI influences the decision against the PCB in the ICC.

What exactly is the case that you are proposing? Breach of contract? Is there a signed contract?

Which jurisdiction would it be brought in?

Precisely whom is the defendant: NZ Cricket? NZ government? ECB? UK government?

But above all, what is the goal of a legal case? If the PCB won, and the defendant had to pay damages, no other country - not even Bangladesh or Sri Lanka - would agree to tour Pakistan ever again.

Because you would be sending a clear message: "You come on our terms, and you don't get to leave when your government says your lives are in danger, not unless we approve it".

How does that help Pakistan? You would be nailing yourselves into your own coffin!

The bootlickers in Pakistan, and bootlicking endorsers from certain countries (e.g. India) will always say nothing can be done. These should be ignored.

Pakistan will be self-harming by taking legal action against NZC. Winning may be hard, but that's a non-issue. It will ensure that no other team will visit Pakistan.

Against ECB, sure. They canceled citing fatigue and covid. The same ECB wanted the Indian team to stay longer even though they were in Eng for 3-4 months after getting covid break out in their camp. ECB has no leg to stand here unless the contract has absolutely no restrictions to pull out for whatever reason.

A Big zero as any tour happen subject to government permission .

If the information about the so-called threat hasn't come from the NZ government yet, it's unlikely it will come now. Most likely this intelligence is either embarassing for NZ itself as it could be a hoax, or it could be embarassing for a third country such as India, and it doesn't want any information revealed in either case.

0 chance of even getting a single penny

As I said, one can see why Cricket South Africa did not sue both ECB and Australia for cancelling the tours (even if it was COVID related)
Because , all tours are mutually agreed tours and , no party can sue others if they provide reasons like security, covid safety , etc.

Just for the sake of it dont involve BCCI in it
Dushman koi aur hai, BCCI ko nishaana banake kucch nahi hoga

0 chance of even getting a single penny

As I said, one can see why Cricket South Africa did not sue both ECB and Australia for cancelling the tours (even if it was COVID related)
Because , all tours are mutually agreed tours and , no party can sue others if they provide reasons like security, covid safety , etc.

You can if the reasons are frivolous and cannot be proved. CSA did not sue at the time because there was a pandemic at its peak with the second wave and no vaccines.

The PCB has a much stronger case against the NZCB and the ECB

You can if the reasons are frivolous and cannot be proved. CSA did not sue at the time because there was a pandemic at its peak with the second wave and no vaccines.

The PCB has a much stronger case against the NZCB and the ECB

NZC also made a statement of compensating PCB. We should first ask politely for this compensation, if they refuse, then we should get ready to file a report.

Lol they are going to offer a fraction of what the courts will likely award us, they are now discussing compensation knowing full well they screwed up and are going to be seriously liable if the PCB takes this to the ICC dispute resolution committee or the CAS.

I seriously hope RR and WK do not fall for this lollipop and take them to the cleaners to send a message and set a precedent with other ICC members

Pakistan will be self-harming by taking legal action against NZC. Winning may be hard, but that's a non-issue. It will ensure that no other team will visit Pakistan.

Against ECB, sure. They canceled citing fatigue and covid. The same ECB wanted the Indian team to stay longer even though they were in Eng for 3-4 months after getting covid break out in their camp. ECB has no leg to stand here unless the contract has absolutely no restrictions to pull out for whatever reason.

Nope, what it will ensure is to make teams think twice or even thrice about unilaterally deciding to abandon tours over fake frivolous reasons

Zero chance. The NZ teams withdrawal was advised by their government. The PCB's already looked into whether they have grounds for raising a legal complaint with the ICC and found there to be none for that reason.

All this talk about NZ not sharing the intel because it'll be proven to be a hoax is silly. It's Top Secret government intelligence, NZC wouldn't legally be able to share the details even if they wanted to.

I'm sure NZ will look to try and reschedule, and maybe even offer some kind of compensation, but that'll be because they want to rebuild good relations with the PCB, not because they're worried about being taken to court.

Because global institutions are heavily in favor of the global north, particularly the Anglosphere.

Whether you win or lose, there won't be any tours by other teams after going forward with legal route.

Zero chance against NZC. As they were asked by their government to withdraw and no court will touch the sovereign right of a government to safeguard its citizens.

The intelligence not being shared is no point at all. NZ govt is not responsible for the security of pakistan. And they will not share their 5 eyes intelligence with Pakistan.

ECB is a different case. There was no govt advise. But they can site covid and low vaccination in pk as a reason.

Either way, if PCB sues anyone, that will be the end of their bilateral tour agreement with most countries, unless the neutral venue clause is added.

If PCB has a solid contractual argument then by all means they should pursue legal options but unless one reads the fine print of the agreement, everything is just speculation. My sense is agreement would certainly have clauses related to terrorism threats/security issue, which would be strong enough to ensure that there would be nothing held against NZ. With Eng its a different case though, but again everything depends upon what the contract say and i would be surprised if it doesn't give enough grounds for teams to back out on account of change in political climate etc etc.

What exactly is the case that you are proposing? Breach of contract? Is there a signed contract?

Which jurisdiction would it be brought in?

Precisely whom is the defendant: NZ Cricket? NZ government? ECB? UK government?

But above all, what is the goal of a legal case? If the PCB won, and the defendant had to pay damages, no other country - not even Bangladesh or Sri Lanka - would agree to tour Pakistan ever again.

Because you would be sending a clear message: "You come on our terms, and you don't get to leave when your government says your lives are in danger, not unless we approve it".

How does that help Pakistan? You would be nailing yourselves into your own coffin!

Pretty much this.

Even though I am against any long term action by PCB, but a legal action is the weakest discourse.

Win or lose, no team will tour again.

Pretty much this.

Even though I am against any long term action by PCB, but a legal action is the weakest discourse.

Win or lose, no team will tour again.

Yes. Thats the big thing. Legal cases and next time no one will even agree to go to pakistan.