Why can't Bollywood produce quality?

Why did you choose " tiger zinda hai" at first place?
In today's time we get basic idea about what kind audience movie gonna cater from the trailer. So always watch trailer before watching full movie.
" Tiger zinda hai " looks unapologetic commercial masala action movie from the trailer itself.
It's like a school picks their dumbest student to participate in state level competition instead of brightest one.

Bollywood & Indian cinema in general doesn't have good visionary directors who can make technically brilliant sci-fi,fantasy or hardcore action genre movies.
Audience's taste is also big problem they want songs,masala,social commentary etc in the movie.
higher Budget is also big problem for this genre of movies.

Stick to Korean & Hollywood movies in action genre.

From Bollywood you can try baby, don 1& 2, fan, bhavesh joshi,airlift, phantom, agent vinod. All these movies treatment wise are not a typical Bollywood movies.

There are plethora of quality movies in other genres which you can find through internet.

I will also advise to explore malyalam cinema. They make the best story driven content based movies from what I read on internet.

I just caught the Saif Ali Khan movie Kaalakaandi last night and I thought the movie was brilliant barring a couple of minor flaws and a plot convenience at the very end. It made me laugh like crazy and it keeps you on you’re toes to want to know what happens next. It reminded me of Guy Ritchie movies. When I went online to understand how the movie did in India since it came this year, I was shocked that it only made a couple of crore and it flopped. I just couldn’t understand it.

But it comes down to this, Bollywood is basically made for the common man who lives on 1 rupee a day and also for mass global appeal. There are movies like Kahaani, Shor in the City, Pink that is content driven , but the average movie goer does not want to think and watch this. And when these movies don’t do well, producer sticks to movies like Race 3 which is pretty much a “leave you’re brains” at home type of movie.
It’s going to take a couple of decades before Bollywood changes.

But if you want to see true content driven movies which makes you think, watch movies that come from the Malayalam movie industry who does no marketing and does not want to cater to the whole world and mostly makes movies with good content like “ Drishyam” ( this was remade in Hindi and it flopped, go figure ) Mumbai Police, Memories, Iyobinte Pusthakam, Bangalore Days, Diamond Necklace, to name a few..

I just caught the Saif Ali Khan movie Kaalakaandi last night and I thought the movie was brilliant barring a couple of minor flaws and a plot convenience at the very end. It made me laugh like crazy and it keeps you on you’re toes to want to know what happens next. It reminded me of Guy Ritchie movies. When I went online to understand how the movie did in India since it came this year, I was shocked that it only made a couple of crore and it flopped. I just couldn’t understand it.

But it comes down to this, Bollywood is basically made for the common man who lives on 1 rupee a day and also for mass global appeal. There are movies like Kahaani, Shor in the City, Pink that is content driven , but the average movie goer does not want to think and watch this. And when these movies don’t do well, producer sticks to movies like Race 3 which is pretty much a “leave you’re brains” at home type of movie.
It’s going to take a couple of decades before Bollywood changes.

But if you want to see true content driven movies which makes you think, watch movies that come from the Malayalam movie industry who does no marketing and does not want to cater to the whole world and mostly makes movies with good content like “ Drishyam” ( this was remade in Hindi and it flopped, go figure ) Mumbai Police, Memories, Iyobinte Pusthakam, Bangalore Days, Diamond Necklace, to name a few..

I get tired of people recommending me to go watch Malayalam movies or something produced in Bihar or whatever. No one else watches these movies, why would I? They are of no relevance to me no matter how many Indian movie connoisseurs might rate them. Even the vast majority of Indians won't watch them.

You are right in that the common Indian is very basic and uneducated, and not that sophisticated, and thus the majority of Bollywood mega hits are made with them in mind. Nothing wrong with that, but of course, Hollywood audiences are a bit more advanced, so even the so called brainless Marvel superhero movies need some character development and plot. Western audiences are a lot more discerning, and that is because they are richer and generally far better read. Take it from me, as a British Pakistani coconut I have a very good understanding of the differences.

Choosing Tiger Zinda Hai to judge Bollywood for quality is like choosing Fawad Alam for the super over in T20s ......

Not saying that Bollywood has lots of classy films, but TZH is the ultimate "Masala" movie

Former Indian cricket captain Kapil Dev, who is prepping actor Ranveer Singh for the upcoming film “‘83”, is ecstatic about the surge in films on sports stars. He says it is a “good sign” as the country was not ready to make movies on sports around two decades ago.

In recent times, Bollywood has seen a slew of successful sports based movies such as Mary Kom, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag, Dangal and Sachin: A Billion Dreams.

“The fact that biopics and films are being made on sports stars goes on to show that India is now ready for real films...which is a good sign. Over 20 years ago, India was not ready to make movies on sports,” Kapil told IANS in an e-mail interview from the US.

The film “83 shows Kapil’s captaincy in leading the Indian cricket team to defeat the West Indies in the World Cup final in 1983. Ranveer will essay Kapil’s role in the film, directed by Kabir Khan and produced by Reliance Entertainment.

What makes Ranveer the perfect fit to play the part? Kapil said: “It was not up to me to decide who will play my character in the film. But Ranveer has such great energy. I know that he will give more than 100 per cent to the film and the entire team will make this movie a success.”

The duo, along with the other members of the film’s cast had a preparation session at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala last month. “Making a film like ‘83’ is a beautiful idea and I know that Ranveer and team will do a great job,” added the former cricketer, who has come out with a coffee book titled “We The Sikhs”.

“83 holds an even more special place for the 60-year-old cricketer as his daughter Amiya is working as an assistant director in the film. He said: “My daughter has never seen me play cricket. However, she told me that she is extremely happy to be a part of this movie. I wish her all the luck.”

In his cricketing journey, Kapil is among the first players in the history of the game to have taken more than 400 wickets and scored over 5,000 runs in Tests.

Are records important to him? “Yes, it felt nice to make a world record. But when you play, records are made and broken,” said Kapil, who made his Test cricket debut in Faisalabad, Pakistan in 1978.

India and Pakistan matches are considered to be one of the most exciting contests in Test cricket. How does he look back on the competition with Pakistan over the years? “It sure felt great to make a debut in Faisalabad. It was fantastic playing against Pakistan after a gap of almost 18 years. Playing against Pakistan is always fun and over the years, both the countries would like to see their people playing against each other,” said Kapil, who was named by Wisden as the ‘Indian Cricketer of the Century’ in 2002.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/boll...re-than-100/story-zPZZjIXZAY7LMbg5gHXcQL.html

Movies are made to entertain people. People suffering from poverty don't want to watch depressive movies that enlighten them. Same reason why poor blacks in the US rap about money, car and wealth.

Kapil is obviously happy that he is the subject of a new film, but I beg to differ that this shows India is ready to make real films. on the contrary, it shows there is an acute poverty of original thought and subject matter that they are making more and more films about cricket, a sport which is barely acknowledged outside the subcontinent.

Bollywood needs to up it's game if they want to be taken seriously as an industry. Right now it is only good enough to please the generally uneducated masses in India, for better and more satisfying product the connoisseurs will flock to watch American produced shows.

Bollywood is the Walmart of cheesy movies because that’s the market over there. They like that sort of stuff. I hear South Indian films have much better quality but I don’t have the patience to read subtitles.

Am in the middle of a family reunion and over the last few days have watched Andhadhun, Badla and Gully Boy. All 3 imho break the stereotypical Bollywood movie mold

China is not considered a genuine yardstick for critical acclaim. Their public are not allowed access to free thought, their internet access is restricted, and even the standard of living for the average citizen is controlled, including the size of the family they are allowed. Some approval from a mature audience would make a better case, even a singular critic (non-desi) from a western country would do.

Which gem have they produced which has won fans outside of the subcontinent other than ex-pat communities?
Well yeah they dont necessarily make movies for the international audience.

I dont follow movies as I used to but from recent memory The three idiots, Munna Bhai, Drishyam, Bhajrangi Bhaijan, Rajneeti were very enjoyable movies.

well you are right most of the indian films like total dhamal,great grand masti etc are totally absurd, with no sense of good humor and content, the reason behind it could be that the audience wants such movies and absolutely okay while paying for watching 3 hrs trash, on the other hand movies like gully boy, andhadhun drishyam as mentioned in the comments below are not only good but are worth watching so i suggest you to pick movies very wisely(rating and recommendation) and you wont end up disappointing urself :)
P.s dont compare their level to that of Hollywood . LOL

The only thing worse then Bollywood is Lollywood. Pak movies just copy Bollywood culture from A to Z. Whilst agreeing that Bollywood today is total nonsense they have produced many great movies and playback singers in the past. Hundreds of millions of Pakistanis other then myself need Bollywood as much as oxygen to survive. Today Bollywood is about making money, they need to give the audience whatever the current trend is. I still enjoy and watch old Bollywood movies from time to time.

Karan Aanand plays a Pakistani fan in docu-drama on Indo-Pak cricket rivalry

The film, which blends documentary footage with fiction portions, is directed by former IFFI head Manoj Shrivastava and produced by Sports Flashes

Actor Karan Aanand, who has appeared in films like Baby, Lupt and Rangeela Raja, will soon be seen in a docu-drama on the India-Pakistan cricket rivalry. Titled 16/6 Battle of Cricket, the film is directed by Manoj Shrivastava, former CEO of the International Film Festival of India (IFFI), Goa.

Explaining the film's concept, Karan shares, “16/6 Battle of Cricket explores the Indo-Pak rivalry in World Cup Cricket using a unique blend of fiction and documentary. The documentary part features cricket experts and former cricketers like Sunil Gavaskar, Harbhajan Singh, Shoaib Akhtar, Wasim Akram, Shahid Afridi, and Boria Majumdar.”

“There are two leads in the fiction portion, who are Indian and Pakistani cricket fans, respectively. They have a bet on World Cup matches every four years and always the Pakistan side loses. The film depicts their journey from the ages of 24 to 52. I'm playing the role of the Pakistani fan,” says Karan.

16/6 Battle of Cricket is produced by Raman Raheja of Sports Flashes. The cast also includes Vipin Sharma, Sukhmani and Aanchal Kohli. The film is expected to release in four weeks.

https://www.cinemaexpress.com/stori...-drama-on-indo-pak-cricket-rivalry-11746.html

Tiger Zinda Hai (or Salman Khan films in general) is not a representation of all of Bollywood. Plenty of good films in Bollywood. Obviously not as good as Hollywood's best films, but they're appealing to completely different markets.