Why does Mohammad Rizwan prefer speaking in English despite struggling with it?

hamzie

There are numerous videos of Mohammad Rizwan's interviews circulating on social media, with many people poking fun at his English-speaking skills.

He often uses a lot of words at a rapid pace without conveying much substance, which can make the interviews feel unproductive for both the interviewer and the broadcasters.

There’s absolutely no shame in using an interpreter to ensure clearer communication. It would save time and make the interactions more meaningful.

Younis Khan probably had flimsy English too, but no one cares as long as you are speaking the truth and facts.

That’s the difference.

Pashto is Rizwans go to language therefore he has less proficiency in English

Most of the current lot of Pakistani cricketers can't answer interviewer's questions even in their native language properly. They say lot of random, unwanted & illogical stuff and that's why they are mocked on social media. They should be advised to answer to the point even if they speak broken English or in their native language

Analyzing his mannerisms, he certainly lacks critical thinking, which is core to curating a meaningful response.

Bereft of a solid educational background, his predicament is further exacerbated by english-driven conversations.

He is fish out of water. Simply gasping for as long as it lasts.

Analyzing his mannerisms, he certainly lacks critical thinking, which is core to curating a meaningful response.

Bereft of a solid educational background, his predicament is further exacerbated by english-driven conversations.

He is fish out of water. Simply gasping for as long as it lasts.
Respect

You gave him this much thought.

It does not matter. Why care?

You should only really be worried about his cricketing skills which are NON EXISTENT in white ball formats.

He has no business playing T20s and even ODIs are questionable as he can’t do anything even on good batting surfaces.

His ideology isnt correct. We have eleven captains in the side and i am just there for toss isn't good way for whatever reason ut was said.
You have to be a leader and take the losses like a leader so you can celebrate the wins too. And i dont see anyone better in the current squad even.
We invested a bit too much in shadab and got nothing in return. We thought he ll be the captain by now
Its time that we give domestic captaincy to youngsters now like saim, shaheen, naseem, saud, kamran

Wasim Akram, Salman Butt, Misbah & Shan Masood, captains with fluency in English.

Inzimam, YK , Afridi, Hafeez captain with basic English.

Babar, Sarfraz, Rizwan captain with stammering English

It’s a personality flaw because he’s not a very good communicator in Urdu either.

He still speaks better English than English people can speak Urdu or Pashto, so he is already better than them.

There is no shame in speaking a language even if you don’t have good command over it. He is trying and he will improve in time. It takes courage to speak when your words will reach an audience of millions.

If you mock him for his English, it says nothing about his English but everything about your character and intelligence.

Most of the people here speak English as a second language while rizwans second language is urdu. English is the third language he speaks and honestly it’s not even bad. I’d rather see someone make mistakes and learn from them than just ignoring it altogether. Pathetic topic

I am not sure about third language preference and issues.For south Indians, it's quite common to learn 4 or 5 languages especially from bangalore region.most of them knows 4/5 and can speak fluently in communication is all about expressing and it can be stoic too (if the person thinks always before saying an exact word ).rizwan blabbering and parroting rehearsed lines is different issue altogether.

People will inspire on seeing an excellent leader and they will emulate them for ex Imran's body languageor english. what any captain will inspire a kid after blabbering so much nonsense

I don't see a problem with it. Non-Pakistanis can understand too if he speaks English.

My English is far superior than yours and most people who have lived all their lives in English-speaking countries.

However, Rizwan is uneducated. He is doing the best he can and only low, IQ insecure helmets are going to mock him for it.

Mocking someone’s English, especially when it’s not their first language, reveals just how deeply flawed and insecure you are as a person. Ridiculing their accent or language skills is not only pathetic but also a reflection of your own lack of decency and respect. This kind of behavior is disgraceful, classless, and completely unacceptable. If you think belittling others for something like this makes you superior, it only highlights how small minded you truly are.

Who is mocking
I'm encouraging him to make use of interpreters and feel comfortable in what he's saying

Have you seen the interview where every other word was momentum

English is a universal language that a person can use anywhere but If you don't know how to speak English then this is not a flaw.

Rizwan is weak in English but it does not matter TBH. He is not paid to learn and speak English.. People can make fun of him but really, speaking English is not the standard.

English is a universal language that a person can use anywhere but If you don't know how to speak English then this is not a flaw.

Rizwan is weak in English but it does not matter TBH. He is not paid to learn and speak English.. People can make fun of him but really, speaking English is not the standard.
It is the standard. In all commercial corporations.

Furthermore, it is human desire to articulate thoughts in words. A universal language scales this outreach. Think of amreekan media.

He is failing to own this role as country's spearhead. Hence his flimsy act is being questioned on merit. Either he steps up to the plate or pushed out eventually.

It is the standard. In all commercial corporations.

Furthermore, it is human desire to articulate thoughts in words. A universal language scales this outreach. Think of amreekan media.

He is failing to own this role as country's spearhead. Hence his flimsy act is being questioned on merit. Either he steps up to the plate or pushed out eventually.
Where is it written that you have to speak English if you are playing any sport???

He can speak urdu if need be. Doesn't need to gibber away in angrazi. That's the entire premise of OP.

The captain of a cricket team, often referred to as the skipper, is the appointed leader, having several additional roles and responsibilities over and above those of the other players. As in other sports, the captain is usually experienced and has good communication skills.

They will get as low and pathetic because they are shameless

Pathetic mentality

Who cares about his English? It is the fact that he is a non performing captain that should worry people, not his English speaking skills.

At least he tries, which is more than what we can say for nearly all other Pakistani players past or present.

He speaks confidently but he tries to speak so fast that none of the words are understandable. He should remain calm while speaking.

Tabish Hashmi, a prominent TV host in Pakistan, mocks some of Rizwan's recent comments in press conferences:

"He represents 25 crore people. We want our representative to speak well, look well, say sensible things, play fearless cricket with honesty. When I watch my captain Mohammad Rizwan in press conferences, I'm not saying he should speak in English. He can talk in Urdu but he should make some sense. What is this 'sometimes you win, or you learn. Sometimes it's cramp, sometimes it's acting."

Intellectual captain with highly intellectual thoughts

Shrewd captain

Shrewd English

He still speaks better English than English people can speak Urdu or Pashto, so he is already better than them.

There is no shame in speaking a language even if you don’t have good command over it. He is trying and he will improve in time. It takes courage to speak when your words will reach an audience of millions.

People who criticize him or make fun of him will soil their own ***** if they are asked to speak in front of a group of people in their own language, let alone speak on TV.

If you mock him for his English, it says nothing about his English but everything about your character and intelligence.
You used to mock Babar's English and explain how it is very important for him to learn English, you are literally taking a 180 on all your posts, you have soiled your own pants here, once again.

He speaks from the heart- words of the heart can’t be translated to communication. 👍

Australia kept wickets in hand at the 40 over mark to chase down 350

The scored 140 in the last ten. This is what “other teams are doing” apparently.

Tell me I am being dishonest here!

Australia kept wickets in hand at the 40 over mark to chase down 350

The scored 140 in the last ten. This is what “other teams are doing” apparently.

Tell me I am being dishonest here!
Australians understand odi and test cricket more then any other country in history.

Current Pakistan is more clueless then any other team in history.

True that. Another truth is for someone who doesn't speak good english he has a better accent than majority of Indians :kp
Indians lecturing about English is funny. It is not our native tongue so not sure why people get all defensive.

I should be the last person to say something about english as this language is probably my 5th language and I struggle alot myself, but PCB should really take this seriously and get these boys into a classroom with a proper teacher. They only need a couple of hours weekly and with some effort they will master this.

The main issue is that they can not express what they really want to because of the language barriers, so it always ends up with not answering correctly to a question asked.

But to mock someone because you don't like him as a cricketer is not on.

I should be the last person to say something about english as this language is probably my 5th language and I struggle alot myself, but PCB should really take this seriously and get these boys into a classroom with a proper teacher. They only need a couple of hours weekly and with some effort they will master this.

The main issue is that they can not express what they really want to because of the language barriers, so it always ends up with not answering correctly to a question asked.

But to mock someone because you don't like him as a cricketer is not on.
I mean no one cares Messi can't speak English so why attack Rizwan? Problem is with jokers like Rameez who force our players to speak English. Ronaldo couldn't speak a word of English prior.

Why can't he reply in Urdu or Have a team mate translating for him in english. Speaks pure gibberish and makes no sense. His made up accent makes it more hilarious.

Because likes of Ramiz force it. Indians have some kind of inferiority complex, who cares if Riz or any of our players cannot speak English? Shan Masood can speak English and he averages 20 or something. Ronaldo the GOAT footballer could not speak a word of English before.

Pak media also mocking Rizwan's speaking skills with ex cricketers laughing sitting at the panel

Because likes of Ramiz force it. Indians have some kind of inferiority complex, who cares if Riz or any of our players cannot speak English? Shan Masood can speak English and he averages 20 or something. Ronaldo the GOAT footballer could not speak a word of English before.
It’s not about his English language skills, it’s about the confidence with which he delivers absolute gibberish—like he’s dropping the most profound wisdom. Should speak in Urdu and the sentences should make some sense.

It's a fallacy to blame linguistic skills. In his specific case. He lacks critical analysis process.

This is a predominant concern in pakistan society. Wherein you are discouraged to ask questions and analyze situations.

You end up being: lakeer da fakeer.

At least I am not attacking Rizwan. My comment was in general for whole team and especially captains. English is an official language in Pakistan, so it should not be difficult to learn it.

And you can't compare this to Messi and Ronaldo. They are from countries where they have languages they concider as World-language, besides Cricket can not be compared to Football. Cricket is mainly seen by enlgish sepaking countries and that make it even more relevant to learn english.

I mean what is the issue here? I am against mocking or attacking, I am just saying they should have focus on that so they can say what they really want to say, and also give it back to players when sledged. Apna hi faiyda hai yaar.

It's a fallacy to blame linguistic skills. In his specific case. He lacks critical analysis process.

This is a predominant concern in pakistan society. Wherein you are discouraged to ask questions and analyze situations.

You end up being: lakeer da fakeer.
It starts from very top. When you cannot question and be critical of the establishment of the country without fear of reprisals, it trickles down to all institutions and agencies.

True.

But, religion as well. Another intrinsic component of our country. In my household, neighborhood we were reprimanded heavily for asking sincere questions.

It neutralizes sound judgement and debilitates critical thinking.

I feel it's churlish, low down to attack and mock some one on their english speaking skills when their primary task is doing their best on the field. i'd rather have 11 guys who do'nt speak a word of english but bat well, bowl well and field and catch everything tht comes their way....
What i agree with the original post is that he could have been interviewed with an interpreter or even in urdu.
As an indian, even in our social circles if someone is not upto it in english they are looked down upon as if they are of a lesser class, this sort of thing is pathetic. For me personally i am fluent in 5 indian languages which is due to living in different states in india but a lot of this is also confidence and practice, the more you speak and listen the easier to master those languages.

In my time of following cricket, i must admit i have seen people dramatically improve their english - people like Kapil, Veeru, Harbie, Zak, Irfan, Nehraji, Mo Kaif i feel can hold their own in an interview.

however i still say taking the mickey of someone's accents - as in a lot of bollywood movies or someone's lack of english expertisse is pathetic.

The guy just isn’t an intelligent person I’m afraid
He can speak 3 languages which I assume is more than you can speak so in this regard I wonder who is the intelligent one and who is the not so intelligent. If I had to guess I would say you since your demographic in the UK focuses on every other bad habit as opposed to actually going to university

First Language: Pashto
Second Language: Urdu
Third Language: English

He can speak 3 languages which I assume is more than you can speak so in this regard I wonder who is the intelligent one and who is the not so intelligent. If I had to guess I would say you since your demographic in the UK focuses on every other bad habit as opposed to actually going to university

I was wondering where you were.

Welcome back.

He can't speak English properly. He'd fail every single English speaking test if he were to give it.

Pashto and urdu is his native tongue? Why are you acting like speaking your native tongue is an achievement?

@mominsaigol

Another one in my many victims who I have buried during the streak.

“Many of them rose, all of them fell.”
That's fine and all but when they fall do you give them inspirational concept art painted by Van goh 🤣🤣. Cause i don't get this van goh and Picasso obsession.

On one hand he has a Picasso pfp, on the other hand he calls himself a badmash 🤣🤣.

He can't speak English properly. He'd fail every single English speaking test if he were to give it.

Pashto and urdu is his native tongue? Why are you acting like speaking your native tongue is an achievement?
The greatest footballer on the planet Lionel Messi is unable to string a sentence of English together and will probably make someone like Babar Azam look like a native speaker so tell me why is it such a major achievement?

Multilinguists are exponentially more impressive than those who can only speak one language. They have the intellectual capacity to speak multiple languages. For an uneducated guy to go up on the main stage with the world watching and attempt to speak in a language he is weak in takes a lot of guts.

Same applies to Babar Azam who everyone mocks.

The greatest footballer on the planet Lionel Messi is unable to string a sentence of English together and will probably make someone like Babar Azam look like a native speaker so tell me why is it such a major achievement?

Multilinguists are exponentially more impressive than those who can only speak one language. They have the intellectual capacity to speak multiple languages. For an uneducated guy to go up on the main stage with the world watching and attempt to speak in a language he is weak in takes a lot of guts.

Same applies to Babar Azam who everyone mocks.
Sportsmen aren't judged on their language skills, their judged on how good they are at sportsmen.

Messi is the face of football after Ronaldo. He's arguably the 2nd most popular person on the planet and easily top 5 greatest footballers of this generation and probs top 10 of all time. Some people rank him at no 2 or no 1 and I don't blame them.

Babar and rizwan aren't anywhere close to being even in the top 50 greatest cricketers of all time.

The issue is the hatred here from Rana and his little cult that goes well beyond cricketing levels. Why is there even a thread about languages being spoken in a cricket forum? It has nothing to do with cricket yet here you have the usuals spouting their toxicity.

Sportsmen aren't judged on their language skills, their judged on how good they are at sportsmen.

Messi is the face of football after Ronaldo. He's arguably the 2nd most popular person on the planet and easily top 5 greatest footballers of this generation and probs top 10 of all time. Some people rank him at no 2 or no 1 and I don't blame them.

Babar and rizwan aren't anywhere close to being even in the top 50 greatest cricketers of all time.
That isn’t what this thread is about is it. You are mocking someone for their English ability. Nobody is talking about sporting skill in this thread.