Why is Imran Khan not going and staying in Karachi?

srh

Your country's most important city is in worst condition right now. Your party get the most seats from this city in national assembly. You himself won a seat of national assembly from that city. You would not have been able to become Prime Minister if you had not got those seats from that city.

So now when the city is in the most need, you are nowhere to be seen. The city's population is suffering big time but you are just enjoying having good time in power. Shame on you.

Hazrat Ali RA said that "Jis Par Ehsaan Karo Uske Shar Se Bacho" i.e. Beware of the evil of the one you do good to. Can this saying be applicable for Karachi and Imran Khan currently?

So you would like him to roll up his shalwar and wade through the streets?

There is nothing that could be done now. All that could be done is set up emergency team to look after

The CM, Ruling party of Sindh and the union council leaders should be taking lead here and start helping with transport and moving people accross

The ruling party of sindh should be spending its own money.

But nothing is going to happen. The elite class of PPP, MQM or PTI dont care and just like to play politics.

what they could do after this disaster is make K-electric fix its electricity poles. Make sure that the wiring is done as such that it doesn't come in contact with water that leads to electrocution.

THey are not going to make sewerage any bigger. They will keep on adding those plastered gutter wipes thats it which will keep on having garbage blockage.

yes why not? prove to people that he care

na, having the pm/cm/party leader walk into area having his hips on his shoulder and saying to the staff do this and that is just dramaybazi.

Infact, that creates more problems as protocol officiers block the passage for the locals here.

There is nothing that could be done now. All that could be done is set up emergency team to look after

The CM, Ruling party of Sindh and the union council leaders should be taking lead here and start helping with transport and moving people accross

The ruling party of sindh should be spending its own money.

But nothing is going to happen. The elite class of PPP, MQM or PTI dont care and just like to play politics.

what they could do after this disaster is make K-electric fix its electricity poles. Make sure that the wiring is done as such that it doesn't come in contact with water that leads to electrocution.

THey are not going to make sewerage any bigger. They will keep on adding those plastered gutter wipes thats it which will keep on having garbage blockage.

The PPP are punishing Karachi. They have had decades to work on solutions, instead they have opted to destroy Karachi for political reasons and although these rains are unprecedented, previous rains weren't and they also caused chaos. Karachi needs local govt with funds and democracy, not a set of crooks doing a heist.

Karachi walas should select PPP in next elections on all levels (national, provincial and local). This is only way to make sure that they will have things fixed properly on time as per Pakistan's rules and regulations.

If the PPP was doing any job of any note in interior Sindh then you could argue in a perverse way that this would be logical even though its anti Democratic but these crooks have made interior Sindh like poorest Africa. The PPP are backed by crooked Nooras and a lifafa media who care more about money than any accountability.

Yes because they have made Larkhana, Sukkur and Dadu as heaven on earth

We are being punished by PPP for not voting for them or doing sajda infront of Bhutto.

Ab bus Allah ki laathi ka hi intezaar hai. Bhutto family itself suffered Allah's wrath multiple times but still this shameless family does not learn. Waiting for more justice from the Lord.

I wish I could post videos from my own house on here. Our street is on a serious incline and water never holds here, still we have knee deep water on the street and at ankle level in the house. And we live in a 'posh' area my heart goes out to the poor unfortunate people living in less developed parts of the city. On top of that no power for 12 hours.

What is burning me like no tomorrow is that we have PPP apologists on here trying to shift the blame.

People think a guy can change a country which has been in self destruction mode for the last 50 years in 2 years.

It won't even change even in the next 50 either if the people who.are blaming him or the present government for the state the country is in right now. People firstly need to change themselves to see any changes.

The state Karachi is in today has not happened for the first time ever it is the same story every year and it happens all over the country just happens to be this year so far has seen far worse conditions than mostly before.

There's no point in taking shots at the current government as they're not in power for 50 years and not that they have not made any changes in society.

The problem is throughout the country as there is nothing known as planning or building control regulations either. There's barely any proper sewage pipework anywhere in the country from the poshest place to the worst.

This issue with the rains and having proper infrastructure will take many years to develop if they really want to do something about this otherwise year after year we will carry on like this.

Just for the optics? You can do everything remotely in 2020. This isn't Hurricane Katrina, even if it was I wouldn't appreciate some pics taken for PR.

yes why not? prove to people that he care

Yeah that will not do a thing and only thing it will prove is that he is a selfish individual who is only there for pictures. Maybe that’s why PPP seems like a good choice.

He can't do anything by himself Karachi is run by like 50 different admins all wanting piece of the pie. Only military danda can solve this mess democracy gaye kakh mein...

umm your millitary danda created this mess.

Making political parties to challenge other parties and than creating a local body system that barely operates. Even if it does operate it does so when elections are near

You have absolutely no idea what you are talking about and completely ignorant of the ground realities but you are here to defend PPP as if your life depends on it.

Political parties are meant to challenge each other. Municipal governments or what you guys call "local body system" are the grassroots of demoracy and the core principle of federalism - government roles have to devolved to the lowest level of governance.

Rubbish as usual, the PPP have been in power for 12 years and they have done nothing in Sindh except to loot with both hands. Your posts have become embarrassing

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Kya viper ly k Karachi punch jaye? <a href="https://t.co/fEBSPlArFz">https://t.co/fEBSPlArFz</a></p>— Asher. (@asherbaigzz) <a href="https://twitter.com/asherbaigzz/status/1299117499099774977?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 27, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

PPP filth using old pictures and trying to shift blame from their 12 years of loot, plunder and incompetence. If you still support PPP after millions are suffering/dying directly because of them, then I hope Allah's azaab falls on you inshallah.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My Uncle in Karachi had a heart attack this evening and relatives and neighbors tried everything from trying to drive him to physically carrying him on their shoulders to get to the hospital, but they couldn’t make it on time and he passed away. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KarachiRain?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KarachiRain</a></p>— Fatima Akram Hayat (@fatimakramhayat) <a href="https://twitter.com/fatimakramhayat/status/1299041927023800321?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 27, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">- do you even know anything? What’s been up all these years in Sindh ? What’s your party been really doing handing out ajrak’s ?? Where did the tax go ? Zero infrastructure ?? My city and the people both are underwater Mr.Zardari. <a href="https://t.co/f4wlrn4zXS">https://t.co/f4wlrn4zXS</a></p>— Feroze Khan (@ferozekhaan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ferozekhaan/status/1299196114508427264?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Any words for your murshid [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] ?

There is a precedent of Imran Khan not supporting the people who supported him before.

He has still not visited Karachi yet. Shows to you how much he value Karachi. People of Karachi are so stupid to support him and help him become Prime Minister.

I wish I could post videos from my own house on here. Our street is on a serious incline and water never holds here, still we have knee deep water on the street and at ankle level in the house. And we live in a 'posh' area my heart goes out to the poor unfortunate people living in less developed parts of the city. On top of that no power for 12 hours.

Sorry to hear that. Stay safe, buddy.

Terrible that big cities in South Asia go through this mess every year. Mumbai also has the same issue.

No this is on very big scale. Mumbai just gets urban flooding

He has still not visited Karachi yet. Shows to you how much he value Karachi. People of Karachi are so stupid to support him and help him become Prime Minister.

Yes we should have voted for PML-N who on top of being racist against Urdu speakers raped the country for 30 years.

He is supposed to visit on Saturday.

Yes we should have voted for PML-N who on top of being racist against Urdu speakers raped the country for 30 years.

He is supposed to visit on Saturday.

You are happy that Imran Khan is going everywhere but the place where is calamity and people need him the most?

I guess you like Shahbaz Sharif and want Imran Khan to do same gimmicks? If it Sharif he would go and do gimmicks like where he gets on road and is pulling water out with a bucket. And after the photo op, disappear

Glad you didn't even challenge how PML-N is racist and ruined the country, but then you still support them. Must have helped you financially.

Zardari and Billo Rani have not even visited any of the victims inspite of being in much closer proximity to the events. Lol, they don't care, they know that the PPP has without merit won re-election in Sindh for 12 years in a row, why should they fear anything?

You are real representation of Aam Admi who get excited seeing this kid of showbaazi rather than long term solution of the problems. PM is going to Karachi and they have been planing to resolve Khi issues before this disastrous rain season. Add to this the fact that PPP doesn't want anyone to interfere in Karachi due to 18th amendment. Shocking that you actually want people to vote for party that has been the biggest hurdle to karachi's development :facepalm: What sort of mentality is this??

KARACHI/ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan will unveil a massive development plan for Karachi worth Rs802 billion during his visit to the city tomorrow, according to papers seen by Geo News.

The Karachi Transformation Plan (KTP) has been prepared on the directives of the prime minister to address the city’s major problems including sewerage, transport and provision of clean drinking water to the masses.

Recent torrential rains wreaked havoc in the city claiming dozens of lives and exposing the delipidated infrastructure of the city.

According to the documents, the Karachi Circular Railway (KCR) — worth Rs300 billion — has been included as one of the projects under the Rs802-billion KTP's mass transit systems. While China would provide Rs250 billion, the government of Sindh would add Rs50 billion to the project.

Six mass transit system projects worth Rs447.43 billion would be announced under the KTP.

Among the development projects are eight sewerage projects, four solid waste management projects, two water drainage projects, and various road construction and repair projects costing an estimated Rs162.60 billion, Rs14.86 billion, Rs4.70 billion, and Rs62.30 billion, respectively.

Rs723.25 billion were needed more for the completion of the transformation plan as Rs32 billion have already been allocated to the development projects in the current year’s budget while Rs47.18 billion have been spent so far.

Authorised administrator, local govt
A day prior, PM Imran had observed that Karachi's issues were primarily due to divided administrative powers and that that had time and again drawn the attention of federal and provincial governments.

In a high-level meeting he chaired on the KTP, the PM had said it was unfortunate that the resolution of numerous challenges that the people of Karachi face — including provision of clean water, sewerage, solid waste management, cleaning of nullahs, and transport — had been ignored in the past.

Read more: PM Imran says Karachi's problems primarily due to divided administrative powers

The unprecedented torrential rains of August laid bare the administrative lacunae, leading to heightened challenges for Karachiites — something the Centre was fully cognisant about, the premier had said during the meeting.

It was the need of the hour that powers pertaining to the municipalities be delegated to an authorised administrator or local government, he had added.

PM 'extremely concerned'
In this regard, Sindh Governor Imran Ismail had told media last night that the premier was "extremely concerned" for Karachi, especially after the recent spell of rain that disrupted daily life in the metropolis.

Speaking during Geo News' current affairs programme Aaj Shahzeb Khanzada Kay Sath, Ismail had said the worried PM and his aides had hammered a comprehensive plan to address the city’s issues.

All the issues of the mega-city had been discussed in the KTP, he had said.

Related: PM Imran extremely concerned for Karachi, says Sindh Governor

“The Karachi Transformation Plan was definitely shared with the Sindh government,” he said.

“To my understanding [regarding the coordination between the Centre and the provincial government], Asad Umar briefs PM Imran after discussing the plan with all the stakeholders in the province.”

CM Shah unaware
Ismail hoped that Sindh government would extend its full support to the Centre in implementing the plan for the residents of Karachi.

Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah, on the other hand, had commented on how he neither had any knowledge of PM Imran's plans nor knew about his schedule of the city.

Read more: Karachi traders say rain caused them losses worth Rs50bn

Sources, however, informed Geo News on Friday that PM Imran Khan would be arriving in Karachi this weekend, accompanied by officials of the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) and his party's top leadership.

He would meet Ismail and Shah, as well as lawmakers, coalition partners, and members of the business community, and visit the Karachi Stock Exchange (PSX), the sources added.

Pakistan's progress linked to Karachi's prosperity
He would present short-, medium-, and long-term plans and announce federal funds for transport and development projects in the port city.

Late August, the prime minister had directed concerned authorities to finalise the KTP in consultation with all stakeholders for its in-principle approval and implementation.

The Planning Ministry had prepared and showed a presentation on the KTP as well.

Pakistan's progress and development were linked with the prosperity of its economic hub, Karachi, PM Imran had said.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/306203-ch...-transformation-plans-kcr-mass-transit-system

You are real representation of Aam Admi who get excited seeing this kid of showbaazi rather than long term solution of the problems. PM is going to Karachi and they have been planing to resolve Khi issues before this disastrous rain season. Add to this the fact that PPP doesn't want anyone to interfere in Karachi due to 18th amendment. Shocking that you actually want people to vote for party that has been the biggest hurdle to karachi's development :facepalm: What sort of mentality is this??
First of all for government leader to visit people who are in distress and consoling them and standing with them and supporting them is not a bad thing. You are in west, you should know better. If you check with common public of Karachi, you will see that there is lot of anger in them right now against Imran Khan and PTI, although they know that PPP and MQM are more at fault than PTI. One of the main reason is Imran Khan neglecting Karachi for so long although he got so many votes from Karachi. He has visited Lahore and other parts of country who are not in distress but not Karachi which is in total distress. Looks selfish.

Second thing is that the system is corrupt and allow incompetent political parties to excuse from their responsibilities. PPP is using the excuse that since Karachi public does not vote for them so why work for them? I know this is the worst excuse ever and an abuse of majority in democracy. The judiciary should have catch them for this failure but it is not happening. So the best course for Karachi in this system is to elect PPP so that PPP has more pressure to perform their tasks. In a weird way because of 18th amendment, this is Karachi's best course of action to solve its issues.

First of all for government leader to visit people who are in distress and consoling them and standing with them and supporting them is not a bad thing. You are in west, you should know better. If you check with common public of Karachi, you will see that there is lot of anger in them right now against Imran Khan and PTI, although they know that PPP and MQM are more at fault than PTI. One of the main reason is Imran Khan neglecting Karachi for so long although he got so many votes from Karachi. He has visited Lahore and other parts of country who are not in distress but not Karachi which is in total distress. Looks selfish.

Second thing is that the system is corrupt and allow incompetent political parties to excuse from their responsibilities. PPP is using the excuse that since Karachi public does not vote for them so why work for them? I know this is the worst excuse ever and an abuse of majority in democracy. The judiciary should have catch them for this failure but it is not happening. So the best course for Karachi in this system is to elect PPP so that PPP has more pressure to perform their tasks. In a weird way because of 18th amendment, this is Karachi's best course of action to solve its issues.

Yes because they have made places like Larkhana, Dadu, Sukkur etc into heaven on earth. Don't tell us what to do and worry about your own PML-N and it's shrinking vote bank.

Have to agree with the criticism. The prime minister, president, governor, pti mna, pti mpas should have been in Karachi immediately

Prime Minister Imran Khan will visit Karachi today (Saturday) where he is expected to announce a financial package for the implementation of a transformation plan meant to address the city's issues and developmental requirements, according to Radio Pakistan.

During his visit, the premier will meet Governor Sindh Imran Ismail, Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah, members of the provincial assembly as well as businessmen, according to the Prime Minister's Office. He will also be briefed about the recent situation in Karachi after the rains.

In a tweet a day earlier, PTI leader Faisal Javed Khan said the Karachi Transformation Plan was aimed at addressing the provincial capital's long-standing problems such as "choked drainage and sewerage systems, encroachments, poor waste disposal, water supply and transport".

Meanwhile, Information Minister Shibli Faraz said the prime minster is determined to "restore Karachi's identity as a true industrial hub" of the country and the backbone of its economy.

"The people of the city cannot be left at the mercy of the Sindh government which has destroyed Karachi over the past 12 years," he said in a tweet hours before the premier's expected arrival.

Minister for Planning and Develop*ment Asad Umar added that the premier would announce the "biggest development package" in the country's history for any city during his visit.

"This historic work will be carried out by the federal and provincial governments. Politics will not stand in the way of development and the people's welfare. Similar work will also be carried out in other parts of Sindh."

On August 27, the premier had said his government would "not abandon" the city's people "in their time of crisis".

PM Imran had made the statement after a record-breaking monsoon spell wreaked havoc in the city, causing waterlogging and disrupting power in several areas for multiple days, in addition to claiming at least 20 lives.

The premier had said that the federal government was "fully cognisant" of the devastation brought about by the rainfall.

"We will be announcing a plan for a permanent solution to the problems caused by floods by cleaning of nullahs, fixing of the sewage system and resolving the huge challenge of water supply to the people of Karachi," he had announced in a series of tweets.

Bilawal hopeful for 'massive' support for rain-hit Sindh
On Friday, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari pinned hopes on the prime minister’s visit to Karachi, anticipating that the latter would be coming to the city with massive financial support for disaster-hit Sindh.

Addressing a press conference at the Chief Minister House, the PPP chairman came up with a list of demands and also with criticism ahead of the premier's visit, saying he expected the premier would come up with rehabilitation, reconstruction and relief plans not just for Karachi but for the entire province.

Asked about the financial assistance provided by the Centre to the PPP government in Sindh so far, Bilawal sounded angry reacted strongly and repeating the term “puppet government” for the federal government.

“They should know that it’s not their personal money,” he said. “On one hand, the premier makes promises for the betterment of Karachi and Sindh and on the other federal ministers assert that they will not pay a penny to Sindh.

"This is public money which should be spent on the public. This attitude in fact weakens the federation.”

He endorsed the demand made by Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah: for the Centre to provide matching funds for 24 uplift projects worth Rs802.39 billion for Karachi's transformation.

“If the amount we demand is allocated, we are sure that most of the city's issues can be resolved. We need massive support from the federal government to pull the city out of this disastrous situation,” Bilawal said.

Karachi Transformation Plan reviewed
PM Imran had reviewed the Karachi Transformation Plan on Thursday, officials said.

According to the Prime Minister Office, PM Imran said the biggest problems in Karachi's civic matters was a lack of transfer of administrative powers to the gross-root level.

“It is the need of the hour to shift control on water supply schemes, sewerage treatment and disposal, solid waste management and the building control authority from the provincial government to the city administrator or local government to address these problems in Karachi,” the prime was quoted as saying.

Unfortunately, nobody had thought about the problems being faced by the people of Karachi in the past, he said.

The prime minister added that recent torrential rains in Karachi had not only exposed the pathetic administrative system but also created a number of problems for the people of the city.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1578052/pm-to-unveil-historic-development-package-for-karachi-today

So it means more borrowings. Where is the $802 million coming from? Is there a secret savings pot somewhere?

A well run Karachi will be able to add billions to exports and at least a 1% per annum to GDP GROWTH.

na, having the pm/cm/party leader walk into area having his hips on his shoulder and saying to the staff do this and that is just dramaybazi.

Infact, that creates more problems as protocol officiers block the passage for the locals here.

Agree, Karachi needs real work , which can be done and monitored while PM sitting in his office in Islamabad. No room for " Awami dramabazi". Ik is not that kind of a person.