Will Fakhar Zaman get found out?

Saj

His innings in the Champions Trophy final was superb but had a bit of luck about it after the no-ball by Bumrah.

He has some basic technical flaws that he needs to work on.

His scores for Pakistan since the Champions Trophy final are 8, 21, 27, 43 and 11.

Do you think he will get found out by bowlers or do you think he can improve and become a permanent feature for Pakistan?

First 3 innings were in a T20.
I’m not even sure T20 is his best format judging by his domestic record. He also got unlucky with run outs.

Think it’s too early to make a call. Anyway I hope Fakhar does work on his technical flaws and becomes a key asset for Pakistan.

Don't care if he does. He's cemented his name down as a legend with that one knock alone.

and LQ had to retain him in Diamond category in the retentions. I dont think so he deserve above gold as of now.

Don't care if he does. He's cemented his name down as a legend with that one knock alone.

No he hasn't. There is more to cricket than doing well against India in a tournament. If that is the case, then Suresh Raina is an Indian legend for delivering two match-winning innings against Pakistan in successive World Cups.

UAE is not the best place in the world for batsmen like him, you have much more restrictions imposed on yourself as far as going aerial is concerned. Think we should cut him some slack and just accept that he isn't going to fire everytime.

He is an impact player and this was his first low score. He is never going to be very consistent, but he is the type of opener who will give flying starts frequently, and that is good enough considering the fact that our team is full of accumulators.

Quick starts are his forte technically will struggle now and again not a great batsman in the long term.

No he hasn't. There is more to cricket than doing well against India in a tournament. If that is the case, then Suresh Raina is an Indian legend for delivering two match-winning innings against Pakistan in successive World Cups.

Winning your country an ICC tournament and being man of the match*** not just doing well against India. Many TTFs like Nasir Jamshed have done well against India.

Suresh Rainas knocks were in finals?
Was Raina a newbie?

Destructive hitters like Gayle, McCullum, and Pietersen have failed very miserably in UAE during the PSL. UAE pitches are just not good enough for shot making.

I do not think that he will have a long career with his technical limitations.Even in the the CT final,during the PP overs,he had been completely worked out by Indian fast bowlers.At one stage,his strike rate was even lower than Azhar's.Later in the innings,he made runs by bashing the spinners.Another problem is that his strike rotation skills are poor and during the first ten overs,he hardly rotates the strike.

In the World XI series we saw the likes of Morkel cramping him for room bringing the ball into him and not allowing him any width - and he was shut down. We've also seen him show a weakness against the short ball.

This is why its misguided to keep asking for his inclusion in Tests - he has to keep working on these technical deficiencies otherwise he'd get exposed.

Sharjeel was the only recent Pakistani opener who was not find out

He has to improve his technique. Only way up for him.

It's very difficult at his age to make any major changes.

I think we have to live with him the way he is.

Sometimes he will fail but sometimes he will play a very good innings. People got carried away after his CT heroics.

If we can provide support for players like hafeez(Major technical flaws), shezzy(dot ball king) UA(talented and never batted up the order). why not work with a player who have heart and courage and plays his shots to cash in runs?

It's very difficult at his age to make any major changes.

I think we have to live with him the way he is.

Sometimes he will fail but sometimes he will play a very good innings. People got carried away after his CT heroics.
Carried away? The guy hit a century and won us the game!

The guy scored 43 in 1st odi and usually gets us off to good starts, good striker of a ball and rotates strike. Yes technically he has flaws but hes a good player.

I would rather ask a different question.

Will Fakhar Zaman keep on improving?

he has technichal flaws but will give us some brisk starts which we need,,,his flashy 30s will be enough..

Carried away? The guy hit a century and won us the game!

Im talking about the long term. He had some luck being dropped but played brilliantly after. He has to be more consitent at the top level. You cant keep riding on old achievements forever. I hope he does improve.

Best thing about him is his intent. May not be a test specialist, but will do well as opener in ODIs.

His failure today only underlined the inability of the other batsmen to score runs quickly.

He is a real asset and we need more batsmen like him.

He should be given the backing by the management for a long run.

He's not technically the most correct but his intent is good and he can take away the game from the opposition.

If the ball is swinging though he should player straighter.

He clearly wants to improve. After the CT I saw on his twitter he was working on his technique against the short ball in the NCA.

In his innings of 44 he seemed to have refined aspects of his game. One failure means nothing.

He is restraining himself, isn't giving things the full monty from ball one

To be fair, today's pitch isn't made for a batsman like him.

It was a grafter's wicket.

Everybody has weakness, key is how to over come your deficiencies or balance them. Sharjeel was found out too (outside off) but he did not change his strength (pull and cut), rather made his weakness less prominent. He needs to do the same, little adjustment is needed with his technique on off stump channel.

Short pitch is another area, where he needs to find a way to counter it...

Pakistan need dynamic opener, with Sharjeel gone, he is the beet option ATM.

At times i feel sorry for Fakhar as when hes in form he needs to be given most of the strike so he can score runs and go after the bowlers. instead once hes given strike away, the likes of azhar, babar, shezi all just eat up dot balls at other end which must add more pressure to fakhar and also cause him to lose momentum with the bat.

Tanda paani pillay yaar!

He has all the technical deficiencies of any left hander in cricket, namely he gets out playing wide of his body as the ball moves across it. He also gets out trying to hit big shots (even his short innings contain a boundary or two) which is what we want right? We dont want another Shehzad as opener. The likes of Warner and Finch have plenty of scores under 20 or 30.

Pillay yaar, pillay!

Winning your country an ICC tournament and being man of the match*** not just doing well against India. Many TTFs like Nasir Jamshed have done well against India.

Was Raina a newbie?

One of Raina's knocks was in the semifinal and so what if he wasn't a newbie? My point is that doing well against India in a tournament final is not remotely enough for a player to become a 'legend'; one or two innings don't define a career if you have not achieved anything special in your career overall.

Fakhar has a long, long, long way to go before we start contemplating about his standing in history. Let's not make the title of a legend so cheap.

Fakhar zaman is very naturally gifted player; has strong temperament how his body mechanics work is not easy to change at this age slight adjustments can be made he will give opportunity to other teams but punish them as well

One of Raina's knocks was in the semifinal and so what if he wasn't a newbie? My point is that doing well against India in a tournament final is not remotely enough for a player to become a 'legend'; one or two innings don't define a career if you have not achieved anything special in your career overall.

Fakhar has a long, long, long way to go before we start contemplating about his standing in history. Let's not make the title of a legend so cheap.

How can u compare a 36 not out to a century?
Sehwag's knock was more impactful, taking on Pakistan's best bowler of the tournement.

And yes newbie does matter, Fakhar was only in to his 3-4th match and was Pakistan's only hope of putting some runs on the board.
If fakhar had got out early Pakistan would have found it hard to score 250.

I don't think I've said Fakhar is a legend.

Think Fakhar should be considered for tests, given that we were close to bedding in Sharjeel at the top of the order. His first class average is decent, especially given his attacking nature - plays with intent.

I wouldnt be too concerned. Mcullum has seen him at close quarters and liked what he saw. That's good enough for me

What would you expect McCullum to say? Criticize a hyped Pakistani young one when he's being paid by a Pakistani team? Even if he wasn't, its the obvious thing to say that a player "looks good" or has "potential".

He was asked about which player he was impressed with and he specifically mentioned Fakhar.

I see that CT final innings still hurts the Indians. A hyped up Pakistani batsman who literally pummeled Indian bowling on the biggest stage is a tough one to swallow.

How can u compare a 36 not out to a century?
Sehwag's knock was more impactful, taking on Pakistan's best bowler of the tournement.

And yes newbie does matter, Fakhar was only in to his 3-4th match and was Pakistan's only hope of putting some runs on the board.
If fakhar had got out early Pakistan would have found it hard to score 250.

I don't think I've said Fakhar is a legend.

I am not making a numerical comparison. I'm simply contesting the notion that performing in a big Pakistan-India match is enough to make someone a legend. If you agree that Fakhar is nowhere close to legendary status yet, then we have nothing to disagree on.

No he will find a way out bcz hardwork is all what matters....
Lets hope for the best

Fakhar did not just play well against India. His performance in the CT as a whole was formidable considering he debuted against SA and all the matches from thereon were do or die.

The guy hasn't even played 10 Odis yet, give him some space to breath.

Good to see him take his time today - the advantage of having a scoring batsman on the other side.

Imam is not scoring that fast. The advantage that Fakhar has today is the pathetic score that Lanka has put on the board.

Would it not be better for fakhar to have an anchor at other end like azhar, shezhad or babar?

I believe he was the sole reason for us winning the CT. The guy has some weaknesses but who doesn't have? As long as he keeps giving those flying starts, he should be persisted with and should be given a decent run.

Even when this guy was scoring all those runs in England I said he was a hack. He was a hack then and he is a hack now.

No he said more than that. There are 12 other pakistanis in his squad but he said fakhar is made of the right stuff.
Could have mentioned anybody

These wickets are not conducive for his shot making. He needs to have more patience

I am not making a numerical comparison. I'm simply contesting the notion that performing in a big Pakistan-India match is enough to make someone a legend. If you agree that Fakhar is nowhere close to legendary status yet, then we have nothing to disagree on.

I disagreed on bracketing the performances of Raina and Fakhar together

Looks pretty off balanced when coming down the pitch, needs to address that, he will come through against pace. No bowler is consistent enough to limit his strokes. He can do a sehwag for us. He is mentally tough, expect him to improve
And sharjeel was very poor against spin, especially anything loopy.

He has a 43 and a 30 in the three matches of the series and people are baying for his blood as if he scored <10 in each match.

Pakistani fans ke liyay ikhees toppon ki salami

He has a 43 and a 30 in the three matches of the series and people are baying for his blood as if he scored <10 in each match.

I was literally about to say the same thing. I can't watch the games but even if he is playing badly at least he is still grinding and getting OK scores; signs of a good player.

In cricketing terms hasn't accomplished enough to be a legend since he's so new to international cricket but in Pakistan's eyes he is a legend because he finally allowed all the nightmares demons accrued from 2011 Mohali WC loss to finally fade away!

I can't emphasise enough what he achieved in that match and in the whole tournament (made an impact/match winning contribution in each game) and is sadly quite underrated by many PPers on here - no Pakistani ATG/legendary ODI batters have been close to matching him in from start to finish in an ICC 50 over tournament and vs India in a knockour match alone in an ICC tournament. For that reason he achieved the unthinkable and what previous batsman Miandad, Saeed Anwar, Moyo, Inzy, YK, Misbah (and list goes on) have failed to achieve.

That's what the guy who called him a legend on here was trying to convey in a line and he is dead right.

Was Raina a newbie?

His knock will definitely go down as an epic knock but this doesn't give him any sort of legendary status. Faulkner ain't a legend right even though he won the latest world cup.

Fakhar Zaman more than anything would be an impact player for Pakistan. I don't expect him to be averaging over 35 over his career. But having said that at the moment Pakistan does not have a cupboard full of stroke makers. When we find enough decent stoke players then Fakhar would make his way out but for the time being he is there as its a necessity for Pakistan.

Fakhar Zaman will serve Pakistan’s LOI teams extremely well for years to come.

That is because Babar, Malik and even the debutant Imam have all comfortably outperformed Fakhar throughout this series.

His fluke century in the CT final, where he should've been out, has inflated his skills in the eyes of fans, but he is still a very good player for our standards, filled the hole sharjee left behind as he is an attacking batsman and that is valuable in these flat roads.

Oh i see Fakhar has not lived up to the high Pakistani standards of batting which they are known for.

Let the guy play 10 matches first

It's strange as Kohli put it he plays high risk (against pace). Surprisingly consistent for someone who plays like that as someone put it, first real failure was on his 6th game, he most always gets a start.

He looks like one of those players who's very inventive/busy that it's hard to pin down/predict. Thus bowlers struggle to bowl the right line, and bowler/captain struggle to set the right fields for him. He plays a lot like someone down the order. Really makes me question whether he'd do better down the order. If he does start failing, I wouldn't drop him right away, I'd demote him down the order and see how he does.

He seems to have luck going his way.lots of mishits,edges all seems to go his way. will be pathetic once his luck runs out.

sharjeel khan is bradman compared to fakhar.he is a classic example of hack who had so much luck in every innings of champions trophy.

even in final he was scoring at 50 strike rate untill he played 50 balls after which he got going against indian spinners.

sharjeel khan is bradman compared to fakhar.he is a classic example of hack who had so much luck in every innings of champions trophy.

even in final he was scoring at 50 strike rate untill he played 50 balls after which he got going against indian spinners.

He is great against spinners on flat tracks. Against pacers, he struggles to score at faster rate. The good thing for him is that he at least tries to take singles.

Still new to the international level even people like Saj questioning his abilities at this point of his career. Give him more time and more series to make a proper judgment. He hasn't even done that bad this series to start wondering about teams finding him out and whatnot.

every batsman gets found out. The question should be "Will that batsman improve his mistakes", those who don't end up being a burden

He will score a century in one of the next 2 games.

Agar nahi karega to mai apna account delete kardoonga :)
[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] and [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] can you make sure this happens please ^^

Doesn't look like the smartest player around, teams are going to set plans for him and he will fall for it.

He will score a century in one of the next 2 games.

Agar nahi karega to mai apna account delete kardoonga :)

[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] and [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] can you make sure this happens please ^^

aik match rehta hai abh
i hope u are right

Last 2 matches he has seriously been a letdown. Being stumped like that back to back is uncalled for.