Will make Karachi a city the world admires, Nawaz Sharif promises

AssassinatedDevil

Local Club Star
Former prime minister Nawaz Sharif made a rare visit to Karachi on Thursday as the PML-N seeks to expand its influence in the sprawling metropolis ─ traditionally a stronghold of the MQM and PPP ─ in the run up to the General Election this year.

The ex-PM addressed a public gathering in the provincial capital where he spoke of the difficulties he faced when visiting Karachi.

"I have issues when I visit Karachi," he said. "It is not the Karachi it was supposed to be in 2018."

"There are trash heaps everywhere, pollution, and unhygienic water ─ if there is water at all," he observed.

Lahore has surpassed Karachi," he told the crowd which appreciated the government's efforts particularly in Lahore.

"No, this is not something to be happy about" he chided. "It pains my heart because Karachi could have been the best city in Pakistan. Sindh could have been a more developed province," he said.

"If we [the PML-N] are given a chance, I promise that Karachi will become a city that not only the people of Karachi appreciate, but that the world will admire," he vowed.

"And you know that when we make promises, we fulfil them," he claimed, explaining how his government had decreased loadshedding and terrorism and improved business.

Karachi has benefited a great deal from the steps taken by the PML-N government since 2013, Sharif reminded the crowd.

"It is not like it was in 2013... Where can you see terrorism? Torture? Extortion? Theft? Law and order issues? Mobile snatching? Kidnappings? Shootings? Strikes? The people of Karachi couldn't sleep peacefully. When mothers sent their children to school in the mornings, they would remain anxious until they returned home," he said.

"There was chaos in Karachi, and we ended it," Sharif told the crowd, recalling the launch of the Rangers operation in the city in 2013.

"Karachi has become a lively city again... What we promised, we delivered," he claimed.

"We will, God willing, change the face of Sindh and Karachi both," he said. "Karachi will become a city that the whole world admires," he vowed.

He is not the first PML-N leader to address the matter of development in Karachi.

In January, Chief Minister Punjab Shahbaz Sharif vowed his party would work day and night to make Karachi and Peshawar like Lahore if the PML-N was voted into power in the upcoming General Election.

Like his brother, Nawaz today also criticised the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf's government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

"They used to call the Metro bus a jangla bus. Now they're building the same jangla bus in Peshawar... when the elections are right around the corner. They should have started work on it in 2013," he said. "It was quite a u-turn."

He also criticised the BillIon Tree Tsunami project, claiming only 200 trees had been planted. "Where is the money for the trees?" he asked.

He reminded the crowd of a Mardan rapist and murderer who killed a minor girl in January and has yet to be traced.

"I couldn't even complete my term. I was removed because I did not accept a salary from my son," he said, repeating a common refrain of his since the July 28 Supreme Court Panamagate judgement that disqualified him from public office.

"They are plotting to keep Nawaz Sharif away from elections... maybe for my entire life," he added. "The people will not accept this."

Nawaz Sharif arrived in Karachi earlier today on a non-commercial flight with a retinue comprising PML-N leaders Pervaiz Rasheed, Ahsan Iqbal, Abid Sher Ali and Asif Kirmani.

The former PM is set to head a Provincial Executive Committee meeting in the city today, DawnNews reported.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1386627/will-make-karachi-a-city-the-world-admires-nawaz-promises

Chalay chal....

No right-minded Karachiite will vote for PML-N and be a ghulam to the Punjabi politicians.

Also.... he was in government for 4 years and these 4 years have seen the sharpest decline in Karachi. So Mr. Mughay Kyun Nikala please don't try to fool us we do not eat donkey meat.

Guess he forgot about Karachi last three times. Easy to forget as he was too busy looting the nation.

Why did the guy mention the mardan rapist?
That was quite foolish considering the kasur event

Why did the guy mention the mardan rapist?
That was quite foolish considering the kasur event

Because Nooras are just desperate to equate the 2 after their connivance and criminal negligence in Kasur after the events were first reported in 2015. The sad thing is that their supporters buy this rubbish.

Incompetent buffoon this guy

If PML-N ever wins majority in Karachi Im out

Foolish statements on Karachi, however, he is spot on as far as the "jangla bus" in Peshawar is concerned. Pathetic to see PTI work on it right before the election. It should have been initiated around 2015-2016.

"There was chaos in Karachi, and we ended it," Sharif told the crowd, recalling the launch of the Rangers operation in the city in 2013.
No mention of the bloodbath in the 1990s ?

I would vote for him If i was in Karachi .The guy delivered in Lahore and Karchi can use some of that . PPP's Sindh govt wont do jack for Karachi .MQM won't be given any powers to do anything in Karachi ,Why not vote for a party who is desperate to make in roads in Karachi and see them perform . They will always have the strength to arm twist PPP in Sindh to get things done in Karachi .

Lol yeh check kar... :ishant [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION]

Tou bhai federal government Pakistan main Modi ki tou nahi thi?

It's as laughable as Shahbaz Sharif's recent claim "Agar awaam ne moqa diya tou Zardari ki looti daulat waapis layeingay", this is after same claims before last elections and then he apologised to Zardari.

At this point I would take this guy over PPP. Atleast he's done something for the Lahoris, Karachi people are just suffering from decades of political drama and corruption which is keeping it from reaching its potential.

Karachi ka kachra saaf karado bohot mehrbani hogi aapki, 'admire' karwana bohot dur ki baat hai :facepalm:

At this point I would take this guy over PPP. Atleast he's done something for the Lahoris, Karachi people are just suffering from decades of political drama and corruption which is keeping it from reaching its potential.

Check post#13. N League is part of the Federal government, shouldn’t they have been taking care of corruption, infrastructure and Karachi’s politics already?

They are already in federal government so it's not like they don't have the mandate to do work in Karachi if they really wished to

They have the blood of many Karachiites on their hands since the early 90s which is why no Karachiite will ever seriously vote for them

Tou bhai federal government Pakistan main Modi ki tou nahi thi?

It's as laughable as Shahbaz Sharif's recent claim "Agar awaam ne moqa diya tou Zardari ki looti daulat waapis layeingay", this is after same claims before last elections and then he apologised to Zardari.

Jaaani vote PML-N koi nai pada karachi mien . Vote do gay to kaam hoo ga . Yeh pakistan hai !

Funny he mentions pollution level in Karachi, but has failed to address the unprecedented air pollution levels in Lahore (which his government in the last eight years should take responsibility for). In the eyes of these ignorant PML-N leaders and their supporters the only benchmark of development is roads.

PM Nawaz has an excellent sense of aesthetics right from his choice of salwars to architecture.

Although he has to come clean on the corruption allegations. I have vowed to not support corrupt leaders or humans.

Jaaani vote PML-N koi nai pada karachi mien . Vote do gay to kaam hoo ga . Yeh pakistan hai !

As Mayor Waseem Akhtar said, they need KPK like local bodies structure to fix basic issues and Shahbaz Sharif hasn't done that in Punjab either.

Remember PML-N free Karachi from reign of terror. They will always be remembered for making Karachi free again.

The blatancy with which leaders who have been in office 3 times in a row making false promises which they never honored and the shamelessness with which they make the same false promises 4 times in a row is sickening.

Why would they?
They know how smart the public is or better said how stupid...

Remember PML-N free Karachi from reign of terror. They will always be remembered for making Karachi free again.

Indian supporting PMLN?!?!. Why don't you guys just take this Sharif family? You know when Indians love Sharif that there is something wrong.