Will Pakistan qualify for the 2019 World Cup semi-finals?

4 played, 1 win, 2 losses and a no-result.

Need to win at least four of the remaining five games to have a chance, I think.

Possible?

Do you see them beating India, New Zealand or South Africa, if the weather is good?

There is your answer.

Need to win all 5 games. No chance with 4 wins because India and New Zealand game is also washed out and they've been awarded 1 point.

4 wins will work if you are suggesting that Afghanistan and Bangladesh will beat all top teams now.

Give up hope, watch the Sunday game, and go to sleep, there’s no way Pakistan is going to win against India, and they might win last 4 but will fell short, Pakistan team just not good enough, we should rebuild with and stop cycling same players, bring in new faces change the culture within team. And most importantly STOP PLAYING IN UAE, on spinning tracks.

The NRR from the West Indies match and The Rain for the scheduled match against Sri Lanka have pretty much sealed our fate. It's not gonna be easy recovering from that and go on to win all 5 remainder games, maybe if somehow we can fluke a win against India that can be somewhat of a consolation, but the team is in for a major rehaul and reform after the tournament.

Can definitely beat Afghanistan, South Africa and Bangladesh. Issue is that beating NZ or India will be very tough.

Sunday is paks world cup final the defeat to windies put any chance of semis to bed.

Mushkil lag raha hai... really should have won Aus game after we restricted them to 308. That Windies loss and SL rained out match really hurt us.

Tough, but not impossible. 4 wins out of next 5 should do the job, but PAK’s NRR situation isn’t great - otherwise 3.5 wins (7 points) could have done the job.

From the remaining fixtures, PAK can win 4, even all 5; but can loose also 4 or even 5 considering AFGs did win the warm-up game. I think, from expectation (for SF) PAK is just one point behind due to the wash out; otherwise loss to WIN was well covered by the win against ENG. But, that WIN game was a double cut, PAK should have tried to make the game as longer as possible.

4 played, 1 win, 2 losses and a no-result.

Need to win at least four of the remaining five games to have a chance, I think.

Possible?

Pan can be knocked out even after winning all their remaining five matches if NZ manages to win three out of their five matches without losing the remaining two too badly.

Same with WI. if they manage to win even five out of 6 they will go through without having to depend no NRR. They can go through even if they win four out of their last six matches as they ahve a much better NRR. in that case they will have to depend on NZ not winning more than 2 matches nad Pak not more than 4 matches

NZ has the best chance to go through. they just need to win three more matches

Do you see them beating India, New Zealand or South Africa, if the weather is good?

There is your answer.

The game against SL was a point dropped because of the washout, and the game against Aus was a great chance considering they looked very ordinary. I think from here just enjoy the games left and try to win as many as possible and leave the tournament with some hope for the future. I wouldn't worry about qualifying anyway, it's not likely to happen.

Tough, but not impossible. 4 wins out of next 5 should do the job, but PAK’s NRR situation isn’t great - otherwise 3.5 wins (7 points) could have done the job.

From the remaining fixtures, PAK can win 4, even all 5; but can loose also 4 or even 5 considering AFGs did win the warm-up game. I think, from expectation (for SF) PAK is just one point behind due to the wash out; otherwise loss to WIN was well covered by the win against ENG. But, that WIN game was a double cut, PAK should have tried to make the game as longer as possible.

forget about 4 out of 5, even winning all remaining matches does not guarantee a spot in the top four. NZ can win the remaining four (barring Pak) and can go through only on points, same with WI. they can win four out of six and will knock out of Pak due to better run rate

This tournament is up in the air, no telling what will happen.

That being said, I think there is a 20% chance PAK make the semis.

13 points should be enough mate.

Nz has five matches left. if they win three out of their five matches they will easily edge out of Pak due to much better NRR. Same with windies, if they win four of their six matches. they will easily go through

Pak wins 5/5 - 13 points
NZ winds 3/5 - drops against Pk and say Windies - 13 points
Windies - four of any remaining six - 13 points.

in fact SA actually has a better chance than Pak if they can get their act together :).

Pan can be knocked out even after winning all their remaining five matches if NZ manages to win three out of their five matches without losing the remaining two too badly.

Same with WI. if they manage to win even five out of 6 they will go through without having to depend no NRR. They can go through even if they win four out of their last six matches as they ahve a much better NRR. in that case they will have to depend on NZ not winning more than 2 matches nad Pak not more than 4 matches

NZ has the best chance to go through. they just need to win three more matches

NZ does have the best chance, but it’s not conclusive - they had the easiest draw and secured 6 points from first 3 games & one more from India game. For their better NRR, they should make it with 11 points and they have games against WIN & PAK; but they can lose 4 of the next 5 quite easily- AUS, ENG, SAF and one unexpected loss against PAK or WIN. I think, they’ll beat PAK, but other 4 are potential banana skin - 9 points won’t do the job.

Give up hope, watch the Sunday game, and go to sleep, there’s no way Pakistan is going to win against India, and they might win last 4 but will fell short, Pakistan team just not good enough, we should rebuild with and stop cycling same players, bring in new faces change the culture within team. And most importantly STOP PLAYING IN UAE, on spinning tracks.
Sundays game looks like it will be washed out half way through the match!

They can crash out but nz will have to win 3 out of the 5 to qualify.

or windies 4 out of 6. windies have leveled with full strength England and India in their last bilateral series. WI is also the kind of team India and England will fail. WI raise their game and England usually chokes when under pressure.

NZ does have the best chance, but it’s not conclusive - they had the easiest draw and secured 6 points from first 3 games & one more from India game. For their better NRR, they should make it with 11 points and they have games against WIN & PAK; but they can lose 4 of the next 5 quite easily- AUS, ENG, SAF and one unexpected loss against PAK or WIN. I think, they’ll beat PAK, but other 4 are potential banana skin - 9 points won’t do the job.

yeah that is possible. But going by the form they should beat Pak and SA. They also have a good chance of beating WI

funny thing is SA actually has a fairly good chance too :). They are currently flying under the radar. But if SA wins against Afg on Saturday and Pak loses to India, SA will be above Pak in the points table. SA remaining matches will be against SL, Pak, NZ and Aus. except Australia against all others they start as equals despite poor form. one upset against Aus and few failures for NZ/Pak and WI they can go to semis.. may be that is what is needed for SA to get to their first final :)

It can happen but I'd say 5% chance. We can win max 2 in a row. Just not good enough to win 5.

Possible but unlikely.

Will need the much-needed luck which hasn’t been in favor of Pakistan since a long time... :)

forget about 4 out of 5, even winning all remaining matches does not guarantee a spot in the top four. NZ can win the remaining four (barring Pak) and can go through only on points, same with WI. they can win four out of six and will knock out of Pak due to better run rate

If PAK wins remaining 5 games, their NRR will be comfortably better than other in the race for 4th spot. More than NRR, I think PAK won’t win more than 2 of the remaining 5 games. Apart from the ENG game, PAK looked quite flat actually.

I know the comparison with 1992 comes automatically, but that team was led by a great motivator and they were mentally much tougher - defeat made them stubborn & desperate, tougher fighters. This team is totally opposite - I am afraid, if they lose to India on Sunday, this team will mentally collapse and badly lose most of the rest games.

Pakistan going into the semis is as unlikely now as Pakistan lifting the trophy.

England and India are absolutely going to make it. Australia beating both West Indies and Pakistan has put them in a very strong position. New Zealand were lucky that their game against India was washed out today. Most likely, these 4 teams will proceed to the knockouts.

Both West Indies and Bangladesh have better chances to go to the next round if one of Australia and New Zealand have a shockingly bad world cup from now on which is extremely unlikely.

Losing to WI and gaining just one point from the SL game will hurt Pakistan. Their only option was to beat either of Australia or India but that too is turning out to be impossible.

yeah that is possible. But going by the form they should beat Pak and SA. They also have a good chance of beating WI

funny thing is SA actually has a fairly good chance too :). They are currently flying under the radar. But if SA wins against Afg on Saturday and Pak loses to India, SA will be above Pak in the points table. SA remaining matches will be against SL, Pak, NZ and Aus. except Australia against all others they start as equals despite poor form. one upset against Aus and few failures for NZ/Pak and WI they can go to semis.. may be that is what is needed for SA to get to their first final :)

That's too long a shot for SA. They needed a win against Windies last match and without that their chances look very bleak. They will beat SL and Afghanistan but im not sure they have it in them to beat NZ, PAK and OZ. If they do that and pick up their NRR as well , it will be a better miracle and they will sneak in as 4th semifinalist. They'll most likely ruin it for one of Australia/NZ/Pak as they are bound to click atleast in a couple of matches.

Nz has five matches left. if they win three out of their five matches they will easily edge out of Pak due to much better NRR. Same with windies, if they win four of their six matches. they will easily go through

Pak wins 5/5 - 13 points

in fact SA actually has a better chance than Pak if they can get their act together :).

NO. i think you are mistaken here.

At first H2H will be checked. If Pak beat NZ and they both get equal points, Pakistan will qualify.

If PAK wins remaining 5 games, their NRR will be comfortably better than other in the race for 4th spot. More than NRR, I think PAK won’t win more than 2 of the remaining 5 games. Apart from the ENG game, PAK looked quite flat actually.

I know the comparison with 1992 comes automatically, but that team was led by a great motivator and they were mentally much tougher - defeat made them stubborn & desperate, tougher fighters. This team is totally opposite - I am afraid, if they lose to India on Sunday, this team will mentally collapse and badly lose most of the rest games.

If i am not wrong, first H2H will be checked and then NRR will come into the game.

Realistically England, India, New Zealand and Australia should be in the Semis based on merit. Australia is the worst among them and they should lose matches here on to give Pakistan and West Indies a chance. I don't see New Zealand playing so badly in their remaining matches. So Pakistan's chances hinge on Australia and West Indies losing matches and Pakistan winning the remaining. Highly unlikely.

nope, not that easy. Pak currently has the worst NRR and NZ the best NRR. Lets assume that Pak wins their remaining five matches and NZ wins three out of their five matches. if Pak has to make up the difference they will have to win their remaining five matches by collectively around 500+ runs, which is like winning each and every match by 100+ runs. Not easy. Their opponents like India, NZ and SA will not lose by that big margin. Even BD will come closer than 100 runs. even against England BD lost only by around 100 runs even after conceding 380+.

Of course when NZ loses their two matches they will also take an hit on their NRR but they also will gain back some of that when they win 3 matches. remember they will win more than they lose in this hypothetical scenario. So there is still a big difference. Best path forward for Pak is to win all their matches and hope that NZ and WI lose three out of their remaining matches. that is the only guaranteed way. if it comes down to NRR to go through Pak is at disadvantage against NZ and WI and possibly even SA

Pakistan going into the semis is as unlikely now as Pakistan lifting the trophy.

England and India are absolutely going to make it. Australia beating both West Indies and Pakistan has put them in a very strong position. New Zealand were lucky that their game against India was washed out today. Most likely, these 4 teams will proceed to the knockouts.

Both West Indies and Bangladesh have better chances to go to the next round if one of Australia and New Zealand have a shockingly bad world cup from now on which is extremely unlikely.

Losing to WI and gaining just one point from the SL game will hurt Pakistan. Their only option was to beat either of Australia or India but that too is turning out to be impossible.
Lol at you saying bd have a higher chance of making it to the semis than pak.

Pakistan's road to qualification:
Exact scene yeh hai k Australia vs newzealand wala match jo team bhi haarey, wohi team dua karo k England aur South Africa se bhi haarey. Aur doosri taraf Pakistan India se haarney k baad apne saarey match jeetay. To qualify karega warna nahi karega

Don't lol too much. BD have Windies and Afg both of which they start favorites. They also have Pak where they start on equal footing and they have beaten India before in WC. the only real big upset they need is against Australia who are not as impregnable as they were earlier.

one thing is certain if both BD and Pak are locked on points, BD have a better chance.

in summary both BD and Pak have similar chances. for both of them to proceed they will have to have two upsets (Pak against India and NZ, BD against India and Australia) and hope NZ and Windies falter along the way.

https://www.news18.com/news/sports/...mi-final-qualification-explained-2184951.html

According to the rules of the quadrennial tournament, the team with the better 'net run-rate' will go through.

But what if the teams still can't be separated and have the same net run-rate? Then the team who won the meeting of the teams in who have the same points, will go through.

And if finally the teams still can't be separated, with their game ending in a tie or a washout, the ICC's pre-tournament seeding, known as the "League Stage seedings", will come into effect.

ICC League Stage seedings:

1. South Africa
2. India
3. Australia
4. England
5. New Zealand
6. Pakistan
7. Bangladesh
8. Sri Lanka
9. Afghanistan
10. West Indies

From the knock out stage, the Super Over rule comes into effect, provided that a match has been possible and not washed out. In case there is rain, the ICC has reserve playing days for the semi-finals and final.

In the semi-final, if there is a washout, then the team with the better position in the group stage points table goes through to the final

If the final itself is washed out, then the ICC Cricket World Cup trophy will be shared.

Absolutely

Both teams have lost two matches, won one, and shared points with Sri Lanka.

Bangladesh's next games are against India, Australia, West Indies, Pakistan, and Afghanistan.

Pakistan's next games are against India, South Africa, New Zealand, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan.

Bangladesh has a very good chance of beating West Indies and Afghanistan.

Pakistan has a very good chance of beating Afghanistan only.

The Pakistan-Bangladesh can go either way.

So, yes. Bangladesh has a better shot to the next round because they have a better chances of winning at least one more game than Pakistan.

Extremely difficult now. Pakistan needs to win every game now which I can't see happening.

They won't finish 9th even if they lose each of their remaining matches apart from Afg and BD.

I'm not sure if they'll beat both Bangladesh and Afghanistan. Bangladesh have been the better team against us in the past few years and Afghanistan did beat us in the warm ups. The point is that its very much possible for us to loose against at least one, if not both these teams.

At first H2H will be checked. If Pak beat NZ and they both get equal points, Pakistan will qualify.

No, the criteria is as following in case of same points

1) total number if matches won

2) net run rate

3) head to head

nope, not that easy. Pak currently has the worst NRR and NZ the best NRR. Lets assume that Pak wins their remaining five matches and NZ wins three out of their five matches. if Pak has to make up the difference they will have to win their remaining five matches by collectively around 500+ runs, which is like winning each and every match by 100+ runs. Not easy. Their opponents like India, NZ and SA will not lose by that big margin. Even BD will come closer than 100 runs. even against England BD lost only by around 100 runs even after conceding 380+.

Of course when NZ loses their two matches they will also take an hit on their NRR but they also will gain back some of that when they win 3 matches. remember they will win more than they lose in this hypothetical scenario. So there is still a big difference. Best path forward for Pak is to win all their matches and hope that NZ and WI lose three out of their remaining matches. that is the only guaranteed way. if it comes down to NRR to go through Pak is at disadvantage against NZ and WI and possibly even SA

NRR calculation is quite complicated, it's based on weighted average - PAK's current NRR is -1.8, which means next game, as long as they don't lose by 100 margin, their NRR will improve (a 50 run defeat against IND takes NRR to -1.56 level from -1.80). Similarly, Kiwi's NRR is +2.16, means if they win the next game by less than 108 margin, their NRR will suffer. Both team's have built their NRR (positive or negative) from one massive win/loss against SRL & WIN - the more games they play, that impact of one game will be distributed, means impact will gradually be lesser. Or other way, to keep NRR at current level, PAK has to lose every game by similar margin of around 100 runs and Kiwis will have to win by around 108 runs.

Lets take PAK's case - say, they win next 5 games by 1 run margin each (250 vs 249). Their NRR after 9 games will be around -0.56. If they win just 1 game by 100 margin and another one inside 40 overs, this NRR will be almost 0. If against NZL, PAK wins by big margin, NRR will have a double impact. But still, it's a mountain to climb in NRR route - PCT has to do it with higher points.

There was a thread few weeks back on how PAK can make SF - my most critical point was that PAK must not blow NRR in 1-2 games, because there'll be several teams cuing for the last spot and NRR will be crucial. That time many PAK posters were flying high in cloud 99 with the mercurial talunt that they have in their disposal and dreaming about winning 6, 7, even 8 games including the easy fixtures of ENG-IND-AUS-NZL ........ hence my post didn't "seek" enough "attention"; BUT their team has done exactly what I feared in first try against WIN; which means a loss on Sunday, PCT management should book fights from London to Lahore early, which should avail them some discounts.

I personally think Pakistan deserves to be in the semi final. Australia on the other hand has been very luck against WI, and Pakistan and they do not deserve to be in the semis. I know the results say something else but that my opinion.

Bangaldesh can produce an odd upset against a weaker side like SA , SL but they cannot compete against India, England, Australia , WI, NZ in the tournament.

Just look at the performance of Pakistan against England, Pakistan defeated the best team of the tournament while Bangaldesh were no match to England. Pakistan also gave a tough fight to Australia something Bangaldesh is not capable of. I see Australia setting up a mammoth score of 370+ against Bangaldesh and Bangaldesh somehow scoring 280 runs in 50 overs. No fight no challenge just meek surrender.

Even against India, Pakistan has a bigger chance of defeating them than Bangaldesh.

For all we know Bangaldesh might even lose against Afghans in this tournament. Even a win against Afghanistan isnt guaranteed for Bangaldesh that's why the chances for Pakistan qualifying are much higher than Bangaldesh.

Bangaldesh can produce an odd upset against a weaker side like SA , SL but they cannot compete against India, England, Australia , WI, NZ in the tournament.

Just look at the performance of Pakistan against England, Pakistan defeated the best team of the tournament while Bangaldesh were no match to England. Pakistan also gave a tough fight to Australia something Bangaldesh is not capable of. I see Australia setting up a mammoth score of 370+ against Bangaldesh and Bangaldesh somehow scoring 280 runs in 50 overs. No fight no challenge just meek surrender.

Even against India, Pakistan has a bigger chance of defeating them than Bangaldesh.

For all we know Bangaldesh might even lose against Afghans in this tournament. Even a win against Afghanistan isnt guaranteed for Bangaldesh that's why the chances for Pakistan qualifying are much higher than Bangaldesh.

That weaker side is ranked number 3. BD have 7-2 record against WI in WI, BD, and IRE. Also, 60% of the time BD is favorite against NZ outside of NZ conditions.

The rest you are correct. BD have no chance against ENG, IND, Aus.

No, don't live in false hope. This team is incapable of winning all the remaining games or let's be honest even a couple of the remaining games. Just enjoy the game on Sunday and forget about the world cup after that.

I'm not sure if they'll beat both Bangladesh and Afghanistan. Bangladesh have been the better team against us in the past few years and Afghanistan did beat us in the warm ups. The point is that its very much possible for us to loose against at least one, if not both these teams.

Just stop this non sense. We played Bangla team once in the last 3 years. PAK has to give it their best shot remaining games and see where it ends.

Its all about having the believe.

The game against SL was a point dropped because of the washout, and the game against Aus was a great chance considering they looked very ordinary. I think from here just enjoy the games left and try to win as many as possible and leave the tournament with some hope for the future. I wouldn't worry about qualifying anyway, it's not likely to happen.

This. just enjoy the games, keep expectations back to 6th ranked team, if we even finish 5th with having beaten England we overachieved.

We have games against India, NZ, SA, Bangladesh and Afghanistan left.

There's still chance. We should win against SA, Bang and Afg. If we can beat at least once of Ind or NZ then who knows what might happen.

Just need to get the team selection correct. Shadab is a must for his fielding alone. Our fielding has been the biggest culprit of all our losses so far.

one match will be washed out, and Pakistan will end up losing three of them.

One win will bring us nothing also Afghanistan can also beat Pakistan in a dead rubber.

We won’t qualify for the semis. If another team not named Pakistan was in this situation we would say the same thing. We aren’t good enough.

Pakistan always somehow make it to QF/SF stage (guess we are already in QF stage now!)

Jeez. Qf stage where we have to win 5/5 to go through (even that isn't guaranteed). It will be nothing short of a miracle if pak make it.

We need NZ to lose against SA and WI to lose against the giants like Ind, Eng.
India wala washout hojaey ga IA (The game against Ind would be washed out IA)
baaki then we will have 4 points, after than I would give us a 50-50 chance against NZ and SA, and if we win those two games, then we would be good to go, winning against against Ban and Afg will be easy if we stick to the basics.

India ko bhi Sunday ko Harasaktay hain (we can also beat india), but yeh waali energy final main unhay haranay kay liay bachaani hay (but we want to save that performance for the finale), which is why I think a washout will be good for us xD

#wehavewewill
#WChamarahay

We need NZ to lose against SA and WI to lose against the giants like Ind, Eng.
India wala washout hojaey ga IA (The game against Ind would be washed out IA)
baaki then we will have 4 points, after than I would give us a 50-50 chance against NZ and SA, and if we win those two games, then we would be good to go, winning against against Ban and Afg will be easy if we stick to the basics.

India ko bhi Sunday ko Harasaktay hain (we can also beat india), but yeh waali energy final main unhay haranay kay liay bachaani hay (but we want to save that performance for the finale), which is why I think a washout will be good for us xD

#wehavewewill
#WChamarahay

So basically we now need a lot of luck, results going our away and a washout to reach semis.

Remember your other thread where you claimed Pakistan was the best team in this World Cup after England?

Now best team suddenly needs luck, change of fortunes and washouts to reach semis?

So basically we now need a lot of luck, results going our away and a washout to reach semis.

Remember your other thread where you claimed Pakistan was the best team in this World Cup after England?

Now best team suddenly needs luck, change of fortunes and washouts to reach semis?

We were going to win against Aus and WI but brain fades resulted in all this. We have actually lost both the games by not sticking to the basics. I think we still are the best team after Eng and Ind, but our cricketers are lacking the right mentality.

Nope its not like that. If teams are equal on point
First it will be seen which team has more number of wins
Then comes NRR and
Then the Head to head
and if head to head is a No Result or tie
last is points standings which again depends on NRR

No, we have been effectively knocked out. I don't see this panicked Pakistan team beat India, and then win the remaining five games aswell.

Also, Bangladesh and Afghanistan might not be as easy as people are expecting them to be. That loss against Windies and the washout against Lanka has well truly finished our campaign before it started.

No. We are not good enough unless something amazing happens.

There is lot of world cup which needs to be played stop with this qualification issue.Enjoy the ride.

We were going to win against Aus and WI but brain fades resulted in all this. We have actually lost both the games by not sticking to the basics. I think we still are the best team after Eng and Ind, but our cricketers are lacking the right mentality.

I would say we are 5th best behind New Zealand and Australia (although we nearly defeated them).

Absolutely not, England, India, Australia and New Zealand will be the qualifiers. the rest will just be playing for pride as they far below the quality of those four teams.

Pak wins 5/5 - 13 points

If WI win 4 more, they will be at only 11 points

The moment you are depending on other teams match results to enhance your chances of qualifying, Know that your team is in big big trouble.

Ummm guys, you do realize that with five games left, Net Run Rate will change significantly right? Especially given Pakistan finishes the tournament with Bangladesh and Afghanistan...

In every tournament [including 1992] it almost seems as if Pakistan has to depend on someone else failing for them to make it. For once can we just have Pakistan make it on its own?

Who did we bank onto fail in 2009 T20 WC and Champions Trophy 2017?

let's get some record straight. T20 World cup 2009, Pakistan was not dependent on any team to reach all the way to final and win it. Same is with T20 World cup 2007, they reached final on their own.

2017 ICC Champions Trophy, they managed to win all their games after India defeat (opening game) they were not dependent on anyone and reach final and won it.

1979/83/87 World cup semi finals Pakistan reached semi final on their own. No help needed.
1992, Pakistan were robbed off 2 points against South Africa, a match they were winning.

1999 world cup. Pakistan was entirely dependent on their own and reached final, managed to beat zimbabwe in last super 6 match. We were not dependent on anyone.

Sri lanka managed to win 1996 world cup by playing only 6 matches. Got 4 gifted points in group stages.
You are new comer here with only 45 runs, so generally debutants i am not keen to even reply to them.